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HOW TO FILL OUT THE
CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS BOARD (CCB)
LICENSE APPLICATION

Complete every section of the application, using black or dark blue ink (no other colored ink or pencil).
This form may ONLY be used to apply for a new license, not to renew an existing license.

If you are sole proprietor, complete only pages 1-2 and 7-12.

If your business is a corporation, limited liability company, or trust, complete only pages 3-4 and 7-12.
If your business is any type of partnership or a joint venture, complete only pages 5-12.

Attach the Surety Bond(s) for the proper amount in the exact name(s) listed on line “A” to your completed and
signed application. (Limited partnerships must have the bond in the name of the general partner(s) as well as the
limited partnership name.)

Attach a Certificate of Liability Insurance, in the exact name listed on line “A”, naming CCB as the certificate
holder, to your completed and signed application.

Submit your completed and signed application, with $325, the original Surety Bond, and the Certificate of Liability
Insurance to CCB. Payment must be made by credit card, check, or money order. Cash is not accepted.

All documents — the application, bond and insurance — MUST be

submitted together. Licensing will be delayed if application is
incomplete or documents are missing.

Who needs a Construction Contractors License?*
*per ORS 701 and OAR 812

Work that does require a license: Work that does not require a license:
Oregon law requires anyone who works for compensation Some common examples include:
in any construction activity involving improvements to real e Gutter cleaning
property to be licensed with CCB. e Power and pressure washing for

Examples include:

the purpose of cleaning (siding,
Roofing sidewalks, etc.)
Siding e Debris clean up (yard or

Painting construction site)

Carpentry

Floor covering
Concrete

Heating

Air conditioning
Electrical

Plumbing

Tree servicing

On-site appliance repair
Land development
Home inspection

Most construction and repair services




CCB use only: License No.

CCB LICENSE APPLICATION Efl to

OENF OCBO 0O CORPDV OABN

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP [ NAME CHECK

Educ. Test

ENTITY (OWNERSHIP) The owner must be 18 years or older. All information is REQUIRED.

A)
Full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name
Date of birth Social Security number
Driver’s license number State driver’s license issued
B)
Business mailing address City State Zip County
Business physical address City State Zip County
/ /
Telephone number Fax number E-mail address

*You must provide your Social Security number for any individuals licensed or certified by the CCB, per
42 USC 666(13)(a), ORS 25.785, and ORS 701.046.

ASSUMED BUSINESS NAMES (IF APPLICABLE)

(Business name**) (ABN registry number if applicable)

(Business name**) (ABN registry number if applicable)

**Contact the Oregon Secretary of State to register your business name(s).




WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLASSES AND EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS
1) Determine your workers’ compensation class by answering the following question:

Do you have employees? O Yes (Nonexempt) O No (Exempt)

2) If you checked “Yes/Nonexempt” for question #1, you must provide:

Workers’ Compensation Policy Carrier Policy Number
For leased employees, use the leasing company’s workers’ compensation information.
3) All commercial contractors must have workers’ compensation insurance

If you checked “No/Exempt” for question #1, you must complete the following:

O | certify that the license applicant has a workers’ compensation insurance policy that includes personal election
coverage for the owner(s), member(s) or partner(s) of the business.

Carrier Policy Number

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS:

4)  Oregon Business ldentification Number (BIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988 for more information.

5)  Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Internal Revenue Service at www.irs.gov for more information.

Skip to page 7
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CCB LICENSE APPLICATION
CORPORATION, TRUST or
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY (LLC)

CCB use only: License No.

Eff. to

OENF OCBO 0O CORPDV OABN

O NAME CHECK

Educ. Test

ENTITY (OWNERSHIP) All owners must be 18 years or older. All information is REQUIRED.

A)

Corporate or LLC name. Print/type exactly as filed at Corporation Division* Oregon corporate or LLC registry number

Corporate or LLC mailing address City State Zip County

Corporate or LLC physical address City State Zip County

/ /

Business phone number Business fax number Business e-mail address
B)

Officer/member full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name

Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
Officer/member full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name

Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
Officer/member full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name

Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number

You must provide the above information for all corporate officers or members per ORS 701.046. If necessary, attach an

additional page to list additional officers or members. Include full legal name, date of birth, and driver’s license number. If a member is
another entity, please include the full legal name, date of birth, and driver’s license number for each officer of the member entity.

ASSUMED BUSINESS NAMES (IF APPLICABLE)

(Business name*)

(ABN registry number if applicable)

(Business name*)

(ABN registry number if applicable)

*Contact the Oregon Secretary of State to register your business name(s).




WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLASSES AND EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS
1) Determine your workers’ compensation class by answering the following questions:
Do you have employees? O Yes (Nonexempt) [ No (Exempt)

Do you have three or more officers, members or trustees who
are not all immediate members of the same family? O Yes (Nonexempt) [ No (Exempt)

Do you have three or more unrelated officers, members or trustees
and at least one of them is a working officer, member or trustee? O Yes (Nonexempt) O No (Exempt)

2) If you checked any box in number 1 as “Yes/Nonexempt”, you must provide:

Workers’ Compensation Policy Carrier Policy Number

For leased employees, use the leasing company’s workers’ compensation information.

3) All commercial contractors must have workers’ compensation insurance, so if you checked any of the boxes in
number 1 as “No/Exempt”, you must complete the following:

O | certify that the license applicant has a workers’ compensation insurance policy that includes personal election
coverage for the owner(s), member(s) or partner(s) of the business.

Carrier Policy Number

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS:

4)  Oregon Business ldentification Number (BIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988 for more information.

5)  Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Internal Revenue Service at www.irs.gov for more information.

FAMILY RELATIONSHIP IDENTIFICATION:

6) If you have three or more corporate officers, or members or trustees, and they are all part of the same family,
complete the information below.*

Self Spouse
son(s) Daughter(s)
Daughter(s)-in-law Son(s)-in-law
Grandchildren Parents
Brother(s) Sister(s)

* |f this is an all-family corporation, limited liability company or trust, the business may be exempt from workers’ compensation insurance. However if the
family relationship is not listed above (for example, cousins, aunts or uncles), then your business is nonexempt and workers’ compensation must be
provided.

Skip to page 7
4
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CCB LICENSE APPLICATION
PARTNERSHIP, JOINT VENTURE,

LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP (LLP)

or LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (LP)

CCB use only: License No.
Eff. to

OENF OCBO 0OCORPDV [OABN

O NAME CHECK

Educ. Test

ENTITY (OWNERSHIP) All owners must be 18 years or older. All information is REQUIRED.

A Partner’s full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name
Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
Partner’s full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name
Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
Partner’s full legal first name Full legal middle name Full legal last name
Date of birth Driver’s license # & state issued Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
B)
Business mailing address City State Zip County
Business physical address City State Zip County

/ /

Business telephone number Business fax number

You must provide the above information for all partners per ORS 701.046. If necessary, attach an additional page to list additional

Business e-mail address

partners/ventures. Include full legal name, Social Security number, date of birth, and driver’s license number for all partners. If a
partner is a business entity, please provide the full legal name, SSN, date of birth and driver’s license number for each entity’s

members or corporate officers.

*You must provide your Social Security number for any individuals licensed or certified by the CCB, per
42 USC 666(13)(a), ORS 25.785, and ORS 701.046

BUSINESS NAMES AND ASSUMED BUSINESS NAMES

(LLP Business name, if applicable**)

(LLP registry number if applicable)

(LP Business name, if applicable**)

(LP registry number if applicable)

(ABN Business name, if applicable**)

(ABN registry number if applicable)

If necessary, attach an additional page to list additional ABN(s)/registry numbers used by the partnership, joint venture or LLP.

**Contact the Oregon Secretary of State to register your business name(s).




WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLASSES AND EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS
1) Determine your workers’ compensation class by answering the following questions:
Do you have employees? O Yes (Nonexempt) [ No (Exempt)

Do you have three or more partners who are not all
immediate members of the same family? O Yes (Nonexempt) [ No (Exempt)

Do you have three or more unrelated partners and at least
one of them is a working officer, member or trustee? O Yes (Nonexempt) O No (Exempt)

2) If you checked any box in number 1 as “Yes/Nonexempt”, you must provide:

Workers’ Compensation Policy Carrier Policy Number
For leased employees, use the leasing company’s workers’ compensation information.

3) All commercial contractors must have workers’ compensation insurance, so if you checked any of the boxes in
number 1 as “No/Exempt”, you must complete the following:

O | certify that the license applicant has a workers’ compensation insurance policy that includes personal election
coverage for the owner(s), member(s) or partner(s) of the business.

Carrier Policy Number

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERS:

4)  Oregon Business ldentification Number (BIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988 for more information.

5)  Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN):
e Usually required if the business has employees.
e Itis not the Social Security Number or the business registry number.
e Contact the Internal Revenue Service at www.irs.gov for more information.

FAMILY RELATIONSHIP IDENTIFICATION:

6) If you have three or more partners, and they are all part of the same family, complete the information below.*
Self Spouse

son(s) Daughter(s)

Daughter(s)-in-law Son(s)-in-law

Grandchildren Parents

Brother(s) Sister(s)

* |f this is an all-family partnership, the business may be exempt from workers’ compensation insurance. However if the family relationship is not listed
above (for example, cousins, aunts or uncles), then your business is nonexempt and workers’ compensation must be provided.
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COMMERCIAL ENDORSEMENTS

Select a Commercial Endorsement classification from the list below. For more information, see the Endorsement Chart at
the back of this application.

Commercial General Contractor Level 1
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1
Commercial General Contractor Level 2
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2
Commercial Developer

Oooooo

CERTIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE FOR COMMERCIAL CONTRACTORS

(Commercial Developer applicants may skip this section.)

Commercial Level 1 or 2 applicants must certify that their Key Employee(s) have the appropriate amount of construction
experience. A ‘key employee” is an owner or employee who is a Corporate Officer, Manager, Superintendent, Foreperson, Lead
person or any other person who exercises management or supervisory authority over the construction activities of the business.

Key Employee(s) must have:
e Experience gained as a licensed contractor, journeyman, foreperson, supervisor, or as any other employee
engaged in construction work for a licensed contractor.
e The following may substitute for up to three years of experience.
a. Completion of an apprenticeship program may substitute for up to three years of experience
b. A bachelor’'s degree in a construction-related field may substitute for up to three years of experience
c. A bachelor's degree or master’s degree in business, finance or economics may substitute for up to two years
of experience
d. An associate’s degree in construction or building management may substitute for up to one year of
experience

How many Key Employee(s) do you have?

If you selected: Commercial General Contractor Level 1 (CGC1) or Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1 (CSC1)
O Check this box if you selected Level 1 to certify that together your key employees have 8 years of construction
experience.

If you selected: Commercial General Contractor Level 2 (CGC2) or Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2 (CSC2)

O Check this box if you selected Level 2 to certify that together your key employees have 4 years of construction
experience.
|
CONSTRUCTION DEBT

1) Check each box below if the business, or any person listed in this application, has outstanding:
A final, unpaid order or a final, unpaid arbitration award issued by the Construction Contractors Board.

A final, unpaid court judgment; a final, unpaid arbitration award; or a final, unpaid civil penalty arising from
construction activities within the United States.

O A final, unpaid court judgment or final, unpaid civil penalty arising from failure to maintain workers’ compensation
insurance or pay workers’ compensation awards.
O An amount owed to employees of a construction contracting business for unpaid wages..

2) Check here if:

O Neither the business, nor any person listed in this application, have an outstanding obligation as indicated
in number 1.

3) If any box is checked in number 1 above, provide copies of the order(s), arbitration award(s), judgment(s), civil
penalties or evidence of other obligation.



CRIMINAL BACKGROUND*
Has any person listed on this application been indicted for or convicted of any of the following crimes?

ONo 0OVYes

If “Yes,” check the appropriate box(es) and fill in the information below. Please provide a detailed explanation of the
crime on a separate piece of paper. Include police reports, court documents and letters of reference.

Date State County Date State County
O Murder O Robbery 1
O Assault 1 O Theft 1
O Kidnapping O Arson 1
O Sexual abuse O Theft by extortion

O Rape, sodomy
or unlawful sexual penetration

If you are under court supervision, list that individual’'s name and contact number:

*PLEASE NOTE: Providing incomplete or inaccurate information may delay or prevent approval of your license
request. The CCB has the authority to do a criminal history check on all applicants.

RESPONSIBLE MANAGING INDIVIDUAL (RMI) AND REQUIRED PRE- LICENSE TRAINING AND TEST

You may sKkip this section if you are applying for a Commercial Developer license. All other commercial endorsement
type applicants must complete this section.

Most licenses must have an RMI at all times, and may be an owner, officer, partner or employee of the business applying
for the license. The RMI must manage or supervise the construction activities of the business by participating in (1) the
administration of construction contracts; or (2) the administration of the day-to-day operations.

To qualify to be the RMI, the individual must:
e Complete the 16-hour pre-license training and pass the Oregon contractor exam, OR
e Pass the NASCLA national exam and pass the Oregon contractor exam OR

e Provide a previous or current license number that the owner, officer, member, or RMI has been actively
associated with during the 24-months prior to the date of this application.

RMI INFORMATION

1) The business’ RMl is (Print full legal name.)
2) The RMT’s identifying information: Driver’s License number: State issued in:

3) Date of Birth: Last 4 digits of Social Security Number:

4) The RMlis an: O Owner [ Employee

5) Attach a copy of the test site score report, OR, if the RMI meets the qualifying experience requirement, list the
previous CCB license Number:

6) As the RMI, I certify that:
a) | have management or supervisory authority over the construction activities of the business; and
b) If this business incurs a construction debt that it does not pay, | understand that | may be prohibited from
serving as an owner, officer, or RMI of another licensee until that construction debt is satisfied, paid, or
discharged.

Signature of Responsible Managing Individual Date



|
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR CERTIFICATION

All Construction Contractors Board (CCB) applicants must certify that their business activities will be performed in
compliance with Oregon’s independent contractor law (ORS 670.600) by completing items 1-4 below:

At all times while conducting business as a CCB licensee:

YES | NO
1 The applicant will be free from a client’s direction and control over the means and manner of providing
the services. The applicant is subject only to the right of the client, for whom the services are provided,
to specify the desired results of the work.
2 The applicant will be customarily engaged in an independently established business by at least three
of the following criteria:

a. Maintaining a business location that is separate from the business or work location for whom
the services are provided; or that is in a portion of the applicant’s residence and that portion is
used primarily for the business.

b. Bearing the risk of loss related to the business or provision of services as shown by factors
such as: entering into fixed-price contracts; a requirement to correct defective work; warranties
the services provided or the applicant negotiates indemnification agreements or purchases
liability insurance performance bonds or errors and omissions insurance.

c. Providing contract services for two or more different persons within a 12 month period, or
routinely engaging in business advertising, solicitation or other marketing efforts reasonably
calculated to obtain new contracts to provide similar services.

d. Making significant investment in the business, through means such as: purchasing tools or
equipment necessary to provide the services; paying for the premises or the facilities where the
services are provided; or paying for the licenses, certificates or specialized training required to
provide the services.

e. Having the authority to hire other persons to provide or to assist in providing the services and
has the authority to fire those persons. Contractors hiring employees must be licensed under
the non-exempt class of independent contractor and carry proper workers’ compensation
insurance to protect subject workers.

3 The applicant will maintain an active license with the CCB in accordance with ORS 701 while
performing construction activities.
4 The applicant is responsible for obtaining other licenses or certificates necessary to provide the

construction services.

|
SIGNATURE (Continued on next page)

1)
2)

3)

4)

5)
6)
7

8)

9)

To the best of my knowledge, the information on this application is complete, correct and accurate.
For as long as this license is in effect, the applicant will continue to carry the required liability insurance and surety bond.

Effective the date of this application, if the applicant hires employees, the applicant is required to comply with workers’
compensation laws, and will maintain a workers’ compensation insurance policy as long as the applicant is an employer.

If the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) or qualifying individual leaves the business, the applicant will notify the CCB in writing
Immediately, and will provide CCB with a new RMI or qualifying individual’'s name.

The applicant will operate as an independent contractor per ORS 670.600.
The applicant understands that any and all information regarding their license may be shared with other government agencies.
The applicant has one or more key employees who satisfy the construction experience requirements.

The applicant must remain in compliance with the terms of this license. Failure to do so could result in a civil penalty of up to
$5,000 per offense and/or license suspension or revocation.

If this business incurs a construction debt that it does not pay, the individual(s) understands that they may be prohibited from serving
as an owner, officer, or RMI of another license applicant until that construction debt is satisfied, paid, or discharged.



10)The applicant understands that signing below as an owner, partner, corporate officer, LLC member, trustee, or RMI of this
application; he/she will be held liable for the licensee’s compliance with all applicable statutes and rules.

By signing below, | certify that | have read and understand the statements listed above.

PLEASE NOTE: All owners, officers, members AND the RMI or Qualifying Individual MUST sign, or licensing will be delayed.

Signature of RMI or Qualifying Individual, if applicable Printed name Date
Signature of sole proprietor Printed name Date
Signature of corporate officer/LLC member/partner/trustee Printed name Date
Signature of corporate officer/LLC member/partner/trustee Printed name Date
Signature of corporate officer/LLC member/partner/trustee Printed name Date
Signature of corporate officer/LLC member/partner/trustee Printed name Date

If necessary, attach an additional page to list additional partners, corporate officers, LLC members/managers, or trustees.
|

APPLICATION FEE
By signing below, | understand that once the license has been issued, the $325 application fee is non-refundable.

SELECT A PAYMENT OPTION BELOW. CCB DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH.

OCheck or money order enclosed made payable to the Construction Contractors Board
O Debit card Credit Card: [ Visa O MasterCard O Discover
| authorize the $325 application fee to be charged to my credit card.

Account #: Expiration Date (Mo/Yr):

Print Name as Displayed on Card:

Credit Card Holder’s Billing Address:

(Street) (City, State, Zip)

Signature:

Please allow 7-10 business days for processing. Faxes cannot be accepted

SUBMIT COMPLETED APPLICATION, BOND AND INSURANCE TO:
MAIL: PO BOX 14140, Salem, OR 97309-5052.

IN-PERSON or OVERNIGHT MAIL: 201 High St SE, Suite 600, Salem, OR 97301
Lobby hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each business day, except Tuesdays, which are from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Please arrive before 4 p.m. to allow time for processing your application that day.
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

v' IMPORTANT: Incomplete applications will delay licensing. AMOUNT PAID
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LICENSE ENDORSEMENTS

To use this application, you must select a commercial endorsement which relates to the type of structure that
you intend to construct or develop for construction. The law defines three types of structures:

TYPE OF STRUCTURE: DESCRIPTIONS: EXAMPLES:
Residential Structure . A site-built home . Single-family residence
e Astructure that contains one or more dwelling units e  Apartment complex or condos 4
and is four stories or less above grade stories or less
e A condominium, rental residential unit or other . Individual units in a high rise building
residential dwelling unit that is part of a larger
structure, if the property interest in the unit is separate | Does not mean:
from the property interest in the larger structure e  Motels/Hotels
e A modular home constructed off-site e  Dormitories
¢ A manufactured dwelling . Prisons/Jails
e  Afloating home e  Summer camps
e Row houses
Small Commercial Structure e A nonresidential: . 7-11 stores
e  Structure of 10,000 square feet or less and not more e  Gas stations
than 20 feet high . Fast food restaurants
e Leasehold, rental unit or other unit that is part of a e  Tenant space in malls
larger structure, if the unit has 12,000 square feet or . Under $250,000 construction projects
less and is not more than 20 feet high
e  Structure of any size for which the entire contract
price of all construction work to be performed on the
structure does not total more than $250,000
e Apartment Complex or Condos more
Large Commercial Structure Any structure that is not a residential structure or small than 4 stories
commercial structure e  Hospitals
. Parking Garages
e  Shopping Malls
. Manufacturing Facilities
COMMERCIAL CONTRACTOR ENDORSEMENTS
Endorsement Scope of Work Limitations Bond and
Classifications Insurance
Commercial These contractors may supervise, arrange for, or perform (partly Commercial general $75,000 Commercial
General or completely) an unlimited number of unrelated building trades contractors may perform the bond
Contractor involving any small or large commercial structure or project. same work as commercial
Level 1 specialty contractors. $2 million aggregate
(CGC1) Level 1 and 2 contractors can perform the same work. . insurance
Commercial A Level 1 contractor must have 8 years of construction $20,000 Commercial
General experience. bond
Contractor -
Level 2 A Level 2 contractor must have 4 years of construction experience $1 million aggregate
(CGC2) insurance
Commercial These contractors perform work involving one or two unrelated The building trades may $50,000 Commercial
Specialty building trades for small or large commercial projects. change from job to job. bond
Contractor For example, a commercial
Level 1 (CSC1) Level 1 and 2 contractors can perform the same work. specialty contractor may _ _$1 million aggregate
perform masonry and roofing insurance
Commercial A Level 1 contractor must have 8 years of construction work on one project and $20,000 Commercial
Specialty experience. concrete work on another. bond
Contractor | h ¢ . .
Level 2 (CSC2) A Level 2 contractor must have 4 years of construction experience $500,000 per
occurrence insurance
Commercial These contractors meet all of the following: This classification is for $20,000 Commercial
Developer 1. The licensee owns the properties, or an interest in the commercial developers who bond
(CD) properties, on which it arranges for construction work; arrange for the construction of

2. The licensee arranges for construction work or improvement of
small or large commercial real property, with the intent to sell the
property;

3. The licensee acts in association with one or more licensed
general contractors who have sole responsibility for overseeing all
phases of construction activity on the property; and

4. The licensee does not perform any construction work.

structures, or the development
of property, that they intend to

sell.

$500,000 per
occurrence insurance
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