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In Oregon, performing construction work for compensation requires a license  with the Oregon Construction 
Contractors Board (CCB). Before applying for a license, applicants must complete at least16 hours of 
training on construction business practices and law and pass a state test.

The individual taking the training and passing the test is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI). Every 
licensee must have an RMI.

GENERAL CONTRACTOR LICENSING INFORMATION

STUDENT EDUCATION & TEST REQUIREMENT

Pre-licensure training consists of a minimum of 16 clock hours of training given by an approved training 
provider. The test is based on the Oregon Contractor Reference  Manual.  Students  must score 70 percent or 
higher to pass.

The test is a  randomly generated 80-item multiple choice test. Students schedule and pay for the test with the 
test  administrator after they complete the training.

The training and test are valid for 24 months from the date the training was completed. The student must 
become  licensed within 24 months from the  completion date. Students that do not become licensed within that 
time period  must complete the training and pass the test again to become licensed.

Community colleges, private businesses/schools and trade associations interested in offering the CCB pre-licensure
training must apply and become approved as a provider. The process involves:

1. Training provider approval, and
2. Training material  approval. This must compliment  the learning from the manual.

BECOMING A TRAINING PROVIDER
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Education Section
Construction Contractors Board 
PO Box 14140 Salem  OR  
97309-5052:

Providers can purchase a manual through Builders Book Depot at 800-234-3434  or buildersbookdepot.com.

Training materials
All training materials (except the required manual) used to instruct students must be included with the 
application.

Mail the completed application packet to:

If approved, the agency will send an agreement for you to sign and return. The CCB will sign the agreement 
and one copy will be returned to you.You must have a signed agreement before holding the training. 
Questions? Call CCB Education Section 503-934-2227
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TRAINING ADMINISTRATION INFORMATION
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Approved providers set their own prices and fees, schedule and market their courses, answer telephone inquiries, 
register students, pay instructors for instructional time and office hours, and provide classrooms, supplies and 
equipment needed to offer the training.
Approved providers may not use class time to solicit business such as insurance, business services, etc. 
Approved providers must develop and provide to students their policies on refunds, length of support for 
questions (this has a required minimum of  90 days) and the length of time to complete self study courses.
Providers should be familiar with the laws governing pre-licensure education, found in OAR 812 Division 6.

The CCB will offer the names, telephone numbers and email and/or website addresses of all approved providers 
on the CCB website.
The CCB may publicize the pass/fail rates of providers after a provider has offered training for three months. 
Approved providers may offer CCB training as long as they meet the requirements of the program. The CCB may 
terminate a provider for violating one or more of the standards in OAR 812 Division 6 or any of the requirements 
in the written agreement.
The test provider offers a Candidate Information Booklet (CIB) that helps students register and prepare for the 
test and know what to expect at the test site. These should be made available to students in paper or online.
Approved providers or their instructors may not be an RMI of an active license.
Approved providers must keep student records for six years.
Approved providers must enter students into the test administrator's database within two business days of the 
student completing the training.
Approved providers acquiring or attempting to acquire agency test questions will be terminated.

TRAINING MATERIALS
 Providers must revise their training material when a new manual is released.
All instructional delivery formats are allowed (CD, DVD, self study, classroom, etc.).
Training must consist of a minimum of 16 hours. For live classes: Breaks, lunch, registration time, etc. are not 
to be included. Keep a daily class roster or other attendance proof. For self study training: You must develop a 
study log or other method that certifies the amount of time a student has spent studying. You may be required 
to provide proof.
Approved providers should develop training material based on the current manual. When making significant 
changes or updates, revised materials must be provided to the agency at least two weeks prior to using, unless 
otherwise requested by the agency.
The agency does not review training materials for similarities from other providers. Providers, if concerned, 
should copyright their materials.
The CCB will  review materials for approval. Proofing, editing and complete accuracy are not the agency 
responsibility. Significant errors will stop the review and the materials will not be approved.
Students must not be required to pass quizzes or tests in to continue or complete the training.

The information contained in this application is not a complete summary of the requirements in the provider 
agreement.
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MAJOR REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVED PROVIDERS
Please review the following checklist of the major requirements. These requirements will help you
determine that you will be able to comply with the major requirements for offering the training.
Additional  requirements are detailed in the administrative rules (OAR 812 Division 6) and in the
provider agreement.

1. Approved providers and their trainers will use the current CCB-approved course manual to prepare for and 
teach the 16 hours of training. The manual is divided into ten sections (subject areas) on construction 
business practices and laws.

2. Approved providers will make sure that each student has a current CCB-approved manual, which the 
student may keep for reference after completion of the 16 hours of training and the test. Providers can buy 
course manuals directly from the publisher, Prometric. Manuals currently cost $50.50 each. Single copies 
are available through Builders Book Depot at 1-800-284-3434.

3. New or revised materials used to instruct students must be provided to the CCB at least 2 weeks before 
first  instruction period.  The CCB may review for accuracy and comprehension.

4. All trainers must have at least four years experience teaching adults or practical experience in the trainers’ 
subject area or a combination of both. (Trainers are anyone who develops content, teaches the courses, 
responds to email inquiries or answers questions about course content, etc.)

5. Approved providers will submit all trainer changes to the CCB for approval at least 10 days before the 
trainer is scheduled to teach a CCB course.

6. Approved providers will give students information on contacting trainer(s) and hours of availability during 
the time students are completing the 16 hours of training. Additionally, approved providers will provide a 
mechanism for students to contact trainer(s) outside of the course for at least one hour a week for 90 days 
after enrollment in course.

7. An approved provider will maintain an acceptable test passing rate after three months of offering CCB 
classes.

8. Approved providers will enter accurate electronic course completion records to the test administrator's 
database within two business days of when the student completes the course. Access to the Internet using 
Internet Explorer is required.

9. Approved providers will allow CCB staff and board members to attend their trainer-led courses free of 
charge and as space allows for the purpose of reviewing the courses. Approved providers will provide a set 
of home study materials to CCB staff and board members free of charge for purposes of evaluation. 

4



Business/school/organization

Contact person Date

Phone  Fax Email

Mailing address City, state, zip

Office location (for certified mail) City, state, zip

Construction Contractors Board
Office: 201 High St. SE, Suite 600 

Mail: PO Box 14140 Salem, OR  97309-5052
503-378-4621, Fax: 503-373-2007

www.oregon.gov/ccb

APPLICATION FOR PRE-LICENSURE PROVIDER APPROVAL

Answer the following in a maximum of three total pages (minimum 11-size font). Please number each of your answers
to match the questions below and attach answers to this application.
1. Outline the goals of your training program, the experience your organization has in providing training and curriculum

for this training. (The curriculum  might be a course outline or draft outline of the program)
2. What is your method to ensure each student completes 16-hours of training and the training it covers all education

subjects outlined in 812-006-0250. For live classes include the make up of missed class time.
3. Provide a policy statement explaining how the business/school will ensure a quick response to CCB and student

questions and concerns.
4. Include a copy of the business policy you will provide to students on refunds; and for self study training, the length of

time the student has to complete the program.
5. Explain the policy used to evaluate instructors’ sessions/performance and core materials used in training. Will you

provide a copy of the review to the CCB on request?

The following information will be published on the CCB website.

________/_______________________ __________________________________________________
Phone #  for information about classes Email and/or website address

______________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________
Description of course/ Type of classes to be offered (classroom instruction, CD, DVD, web-based, etc.)
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Subject Area Instructors

List everyone who will be teaching the courses, developing course content,  responding to or answering questions 
about course content, next to one or more subject areas they will be involved in. All of the subject areas must 
have at least one instructor listed. (Attach additional pages if needed.)

Include a one or two-page resume or work history summary for each instructor listed below. Each resume or 
work summary must clearly show at least four years experience in either teaching adults or working in subject 
areas outlined in the Oregon Contractors Reference Manual or a combination of both.

I am using materials (CD, DVD, handouts, booklets) purchased from an individual or business. I have enclosed
a copy of this material and a letter of authorization or purchase agreement  from the business that includes their
contact information.

Training Materials  (Check only one)
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Training providers must make sure that all students have a current edition of the Oregon 
Construction Contractor Reference Manual.

Instructor List

Contract law

Oregon construction lien law

Project management/scheduling

Employer obligations and employees’ rights

Construction Contractors Law and Regulations

Building codes

Oregon-OSHA and safety issues

Sound environmental laws and practices

Building Exterior Shell Training

Taxes, record keeping and business practices

I am using materials that I have developed and have included them with this application.




