
 

Oregon Construction Contractors Board 

700 Summer St. NE, Suite 300 

PO Box 14140 

Salem, Oregon 97309 

 (503) 373-2007 FAX 

www.oregon.gov/ccb 

 

 

 

 

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 
 

DATE:  October 4, 2011 (11-15 BSN) 

CONTACT: Gina Fox (503-934-2195) Media Only 

 

Understanding CCB’s Residential Continuing Education  
Exemption for “No Touch” Rule 

 
 

On September 27, 2011, the Construction Contractors Board (CCB) adopted rules exempting 

contractors who business practices do not and will not “touch” a residential dwelling or outbuilding 

from the Residential Continuing Education Core Building Exterior Shell Training (BEST) and 

Building Codes requirement.  

 

This exemption is not permitted for contractors whose work includes excavation, grading, concrete 

work or paving. 

 

Contractors taking the exemption (3 hours in BEST and 2 hours of building codes) must increase the 

amount of elective hours required by 5 hours. 

 

If a contractor changes their business practices and intends to perform work on residential dwelling or 

outbuilding, they must complete the education prior to providing the work. 

 

The CCB strongly recommends all contractors complete BEST and the Building Codes requirement. 

Completing the education eliminates the potential for a contractor to violate the law by “touching” the 

residential dwelling or outbuilding. Additionally all contractors have an interest and a role (directly or 

indirectly) in ensuring buildings do not leak.  

 

What does it mean by “no touch”? 

The law says “Unless otherwise provided, contractors that do not perform work on a residential 

structure that is a dwelling or outbuilding” may exempt themselves from BEST and Building Codes. 
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Perform work means at any time during your license period you perform: 

 Actual hands-on work on a residential dwelling or outbuilding 

 Offer or arrange work on a residential dwelling or outbuilding 

 Inspection on a residential dwelling or outbuilding 

 Construction Management on a residential dwelling or outbuilding 

 Other activities defined as “Work as a Contractor”. (OAR 812-002-0780) 

 

Some examples of touching a structure include a fencing contractor that attaches the fence to the 

residential dwelling; or when a deck is attached to the dwelling.  

 

If one project “touches” the residential dwelling or outbuilding, it means the contractor does not 

qualify for the exemption.  

 

Why is excavation, grading, concrete work or paving not exempt for the BEST and Building 

Codes requirement? 

The Board concluded that contractors performing excavation, grading, concrete work or paving impact 

the building’s shell and have an important role in preventing any compromise to the building 

envelope.  

  

What is the core and elective requirement if a contractor utilizes the exemption? 

Contractors taking advantage of the exemption from BEST and Building Codes are still required to 

take the total number of hours required. (16 hours for Residential General and Residential Specialty 

Contractors and 8 hours for Residential Limited Contractors)  

 3 hours of CCB Laws, Regulations and Business Practices (LRB) 

 13 hours of electives for most contractors. For the small number of Residential Limited 

Contractors it will be 5 elective hours. 

 

How to I take the exemption?  

The exemption must be renewed each license period. After receiving your renewal form, you can 

request the agreement form from the CCB.  Complete the form, have it notarized and return the 

original agreement form to the CCB with your completed renewal form.  

 

You renewal form must show you have completed the required elective education, including the 

additional five hours. 

 

 



Under this agreement you have certified and agreed you do not “touch” a residential dwelling or 

outbuilding, and if you change your business practices to include work on a residential dwelling or 

outbuilding, you will complete the BEST and building codes requirements prior to performing the 

work. 

 

Contractors failing to abide by the agreement may receive a $5000 civil penalty and have their CCB 

license suspended. 

 

The CCB is a state agency licensing more than 39,000 contractors. Anyone who is paid to repair, 

improve or build a home must be licensed by the CCB. For more information, visit 

www.oregon.gov/CCB . Information is also available by calling 503-378-4621. 
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