
 

Adoption Advertising and Use of Intermediaries or Facilitators 
in Adoptive Placement 

 
The following Oregon statutes regulate or limit the use of adoption advertising or 
intermediaries, also known as facilitators:  ORS 109.311; ORS 418.300; ORS 418.215, 
and ORS 163.537. 
 
109.311(3), in part states that, “A person may not charge, accept or pay or offer to 
charge, accept or pay a fee for locating a minor child for adoption or for locating 
another person to adopt a minor child, except that Oregon licensed adoption agencies 
licensed under ORS 412.001 to 412.161 and 412.991 and ORS chapter 418 may charge 
reasonable fees for services provided by them.” 

 (4)(a) It is unlawful for any person to advertise:  

(A) A child offered or wanted for adoption; or (B) That the person is able to place, 
locate, dispose of or receive a child for adoption.  

(b) The provisions of paragraph (a) of this subsection do not apply to: (A) The 

department or a licensed Oregon adoption agency or an agent, employee or person with 

whom the department or adoption agency has a contract authorizing such actions; or (B) 

A person who has completed a home study as required by ORS 109.309 (6)(a)(C) and has 

received a favorable recommendation regarding the fitness of the person to be an 

adoptive parent or the person’s attorney or uncompensated agent. A written declaration 

by the person who prepared the home study is sufficient verification of compliance with 

this subparagraph. The person’s attorney must be licensed to practice in Oregon. (c) 

Nothing in this subsection prohibits an attorney licensed to practice in Oregon from 

advertising the attorney’s availability to provide services related to the adoption of 

children. (d) As used in this subsection, unless the context requires otherwise, 

“advertise” means to communicate by newspaper, radio, television, handbills, placards 

or other print, broadcast or electronic medium that originates within this state.  

ORS 418.300 (When child placement by private persons prohibited), states that,“No 
private individual, including midwives, physicians, nurses, hospital officials and all 
officers and employees or representatives of unauthorized agencies, organizations or 
institutions, shall engage in child-placing work, except that relatives of the first and 
second degrees may thus provide for children of their own blood. 

ORS 418.215, states that , “ No private child-caring agency shall provide or engage in 
any care or service described in ORS 418.205 (Definitions for ORS 418.205 to 418.310 
and 418.992 to 418.998) unless the agency is at the time: (a) Duly incorporated under 



the corporation laws of any state; and (b) Licensed to provide or engage in the care or 
service by the Department of Human Services under the provisions of ORS 418.205 
(Definitions for ORS 418.205 to 418.310 and 418.992 to 418.998) to 418.325 (Medical 
examinations required). (2) The fine which may be imposed for violation of the provisions 
of this section, as provided in ORS 412.991 (Criminal penalties) and 418.990 (Criminal 
penalties), may be assessed by any court of competent jurisdiction upon presentation of 
evidence of such action.” 

ORS 163.537 (Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age), in part states that, “A 
person commits the crime of buying or selling a person under 18 years of age if the 
person buys, sells, barters, trades or offers to buy or sell the legal or physical custody of 
a person under 18 years of age.” 

 

 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 


