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Continuing education is a requirement for apprais-
ers registered under Oregon Revised Statute (ORS)
308.010. To maintain registration, you must complete
technical training in accordance with administrative
rules established by the Department of Revenue [Or-
egon Administrative Rule (OAR) 150-308.010-(A)].
You must meet the training requirements even if you
do not work in an assessor’s office or for the Depart-
ment of Revenue. You must be recertified each year
by the assessor in your county, by your manager at
the Department of Revenue, or by certifying yourself.

Credit requirements

Appraisers are required to obtain 30 technical cred-
it hours every two calendar years. If you have less
than three years of appraisal experience with either
the Department of Revenue or an Oregon county as-
sessor’s office, you must complete 60 credit hours
within the first two calendar years after registration.

Assessors and appraisal supervisors are required to
obtain 60 credit hours within the first two calendar
years after appointment/election (20 hours manage-
ment, 20 hours technical, and 20 hours in any combi-
nation of management or technical). You must then
obtain 45 credit hours every two years thereafter
(15 technical credits, 15 management credits, and 15
credit hours in any combination of technical or man-
agement credits).

Nonappraisal supervisors are required to receive 30
credit hours in the first two calendar years follow-
ing appointment to management, of which 15 hours
must be management credit. You must then obtain 30
credit hours every two years thereafter in any combi-
nation of technical or management.

How to obtain credit

Generally, you will obtain one hour of continuing
education credit for each class hour in a course ap-
proved by the Department of Revenue.

Sources of continuing education training include:

* Department of Revenue—Training is provided
by the department on an annual basis for coun-
ty appraisers and Department of Revenue staff.
These classes will be open to enrollment for
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www.oregon.gov/dor

non-government appraisers on a space-available
basis.

Appraisal Institute

550 W Van Buren Street
Suite 1000

Chicago IL 60607
312-335-4100

312-335-4400 fax
www.appraisalinstitute.org

International Association of Assessing Officers
(IAAO)

314 W 10th Street

Kansas City MO 64105-1616
800-616-4226 toll-free
816-701-8149 fax
www.iaao.org

* Appraisal courses offered by institutions of higher
education.

Other courses directly related to assessment and
appraisal.

¢ Courses in other related fields, such as real estate,
forestry, and farm use.

¢ Computer courses on systems and software used
to perform your appraisal duties.

Notify the Department of Revenue of course com-
pletion by submitting a completed Request for Train-
ing Credit form (150-338-002). Attach a copy of the
course certificate indicating the number of course
hours completed.

If you need to know whether or not credit will be
allowed for a class before you attend, submit the
Request for Training Credit form before taking the
class. Include a copy of the course outline with this
request. If the Department of Revenue approves the
course, you will still need to notify the department of
course completion by providing a copy of the course
completion certificate.

How to waive credit

Any registered appraiser may request a waiver of re-
quired credits. Waivers are granted when an event

(over)



outside your control prevents you from completing
the continuing education credit requirements. Con-
tact the Department of Revenue for more explana-
tion of waivers. To request the waiver form, see “To
order forms.”

Address changes

Please notify both the Department of Administrative
Services and the Department of Revenue of address
changes.

Your registration is issued by the Department of
Administrative Services. Therefore, you must notify
them of name or address changes.

Write to:

Human Resources Services Division
Statewide Training and Recruitment
155 Cottage St NE, U40

Salem OR 97301-3968

Or call: 503-378-8344
Fax: 503-378-4596

To ensure that you receive your annual certification
packet, you will need to notify the Department
of Revenue of name and address changes as well.
Send changes to the address or call the number listed
under “To order forms.”

Annual recertification of
appraiser registration process

Registered appraisers will receive recertification
information from the Department of Revenue at
the latter part of each year. Complete the informa-
tion and return it to the department by December
31. The department will notify the Department of
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Administrative Services by January 31 that you have
met the continuing education requirements. The De-
partment of Revenue will also inform you or the as-
sessor in the county of your employment that you
have been recertified. Appraisers who do not certify
to the Department of Revenue by December 31 will
have their registration revoked.

To order forms or
request more information

You may download forms from our website: www.
oregon.gov/dor.

Or mail your request to:

Oregon Department of Revenue

Property Tax Division, Continuing Education
955 Center Street NE

Salem OR 97310

Or call: 503-945-8276
Fax: 503-945-8737
Taxpayer assistance

General tax information............ www.oregon.gov /dor
SaleM .o 503-378-4988
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix........ 1-800-356-4222

Salem .......cccovvviiiiiie 503-378-4988
Gratis de prefijo de Oregon............. 1-800-356-4222

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the
help numbers for information in alternative formats.



