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Oregon 2012 Corporation Excise Tax  
Form 20 Instructions

Go Electronic!
Fast • Accurate • Secure

File corporate tax returns through the Federal/State E-Filing Program. If you are mandated to e-file your federal 
return, you are required to e-file for Oregon. 

With approved third party software you can e-file your return complete with all schedules, attachments, and required 
federal return. You can also now conveniently include an electronic payment with your e-filed original return.  See 
E-file on page 5.

Visit us online: www.oregon.gov/dor.

• Obtain tax forms and instructions. 
• Get answers to common questions.
• Register for electronic funds transfer (EFT).
• Check out the Oregon Revenue Bulletins.

Important
If your registered corporation or insurance company isn’t doing business in Oregon and has no Oregon-source income, 
then you don’t need to file a corporation tax return. 
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What’s new?

Tie to federal tax law 

In general, Oregon income tax law is based on federal 
income tax law. Oregon is tied to the federal definition of 
taxable income as of December 31, 2011, however Oregon 
is still disconnected from:

• Federal subsidies for prescription drug plans (IRC 
§139A; ORS 317.401).

• Domestic production activities (QPAI) (IRC §199; ORS 
317.398).

Important: The disconnect from federal law for tax 
years 2009 and 2010 may have affected reporting dif-
ferences between federal and Oregon expenses for sub-
sequent years. If you had assets placed in service for a 
year beginning on or after January 1, 2009, and before 
January 1, 2011, and bonus depreciation on your federal 
return created an addition on your Oregon return, you 
will likely have modifications to Oregon income. 

Oregon tax rate

For tax years beginning January 1, 2011 and before Janu-
ary 1, 2013, corporations calculate Oregon tax as follows:

• If Oregon taxable income is $250,000 or less, multiply 
Oregon taxable income by 6.6 percent. Enter -0- if the 
result is a negative number or zero.

• If Oregon taxable income is more than $250,000, mul-
tiply the amount that is more than $250,000 by 7.6 per-
cent, and add $16,500.

• Excise tax filers pay the greater of calculated tax above 
or Oregon minimum tax.

Agricultural and horticultural cooperatives 

Retroactive to tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2005, the amount deducted for federal income tax pur-
poses by agricultural or horticultural cooperatives under 
IRC §199 and passed through to cooperative patrons 
under IRC §199(d)(3)(A) is not subject to the add-back 
provisions of ORS 317.398.  

Biomass production or collection credit

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, 
woody biomass is measured by its dry weight. For tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2012, woody biomass 
is measured by its wet (green) weight.

Film production development contribution 
credit

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the 
maximum credit amount that the Oregon Film and 
Video Office can certify during a fiscal year is reduced 
from $7.5 million to $6 million.

Qualified equity investment tax credit
For investments made on or after July 1, 2012, and before 
July 1, 2016, a tax credit is allowed for qualified equity 
investments in low-income community businesses. The 
credit is certified by the Oregon Business Development 
Department.

For more information on qualifying investments and 
entities, visit www.oregon4biz.com/NMTC or see Ore-
gon Revised Statute (ORS) 315.533.

The credit is equal to 39 percent of the purchase price of 
the qualified equity investment. It must be taken over 
seven years, beginning with the year of investment. The 
credit cannot be more than your tax liability. You can 
carry forward any unused credits to any succeeding tax 
year. This credit cannot be transferred or sold.

The allowable tax credit for each of the seven years is:

•	-0- percent in the first and second years.
•	7 percent of the purchase price in the third year.
•	8 percent of the purchase price in each of the fourth 

through the seventh years.

Note: No credit may be claimed until tax year 2014 for 
qualified investments made in tax year 2012.

Qualified research activities credit
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the 
maximum credit amount that can be claimed under ORS 
317.152 or ORS 317.154 is reduced from $2 million to $1 
million.

Wolf depredation credit 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and 
before January 1, 2019, a tax credit is allowed for the cur-
rent market value of any livestock that is killed by a wolf. 
Taxpayer must submit evidence that includes finding by 
Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) or by a peace 
officer that a wolf was probable cause of loss. Taxpayer 
must retain details for audit verification. For corporation 
tax purposes the credit has a three year carryforward.

Tax credit sunsets
Beginning January 1, 2012, these tax credits are not avail-
able except for carryforward purposes:

• Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fueling Stations Credit, ORS 
317.115.

• Crop Donation, ORS 315.156. 
• Diesel Engine Repower or Retrofit Credit, note follow-

ing ORS 315.356.
• Lender’s Credit: Energy Conservation, ORS 317.112.
• Reforestation Credit, ORS 315.104.
• Voluntary Removal of Riparian Land from Farm Pro-

duction Credit, ORS 315.113.
• Water Transit Vessel Manufacturing Credit, ORS 315.517.
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Schedule ASC-CORP, Oregon Adjustments 
(150-102-033)
We have a new schedule to help corporations report other 
additions, other subtractions, and other credits. Instruc-
tions are different for each form-type. For more detail, 
see specific line instructions for Forms 20, 20-I, 20-INS, 
and 20-S.

Electronic payments now accepted when 
e-filing
Payment may now be included with your original 
e-filed return. Please do not mail a paper voucher as this 
will slow the processing of your return. For details on 
payments made with your return, see Filing checklist on 
page 7.

Looking ahead

Oregon tax rate change beginning 2013
For tax years beginning January 1, 2013 and later, corpo-
rations calculate Oregon tax as follows:

•	If Oregon taxable income is $10 million or less, multi-
ply Oregon taxable income by 6.6 percent. Enter -0- if 
the result is negative or zero.

• If Oregon taxable income is more than $10 million, 
multiply the amount that is more than $10 million by 
7.6 percent, and add $660,000.

• Excise tax filers pay the greater of calculated tax above 
or Oregon minimum tax.

IRC §108(i) income from cancellation of debt 
(COD)
Taxpayers with income that arose from cancellation 
of debt for the reacquisition of a debt instrument after 
December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, for less 
than its adjusted issue price, were allowed to elect defer-
ral of income recognition for federal purposes, but not 
for Oregon. The exclusion from federal income created 
an addition on the Oregon return. As this income is 
subsequently recognized on your federal return begin-
ning as early as 2013, you may subtract for Oregon the 
amount that was previously included in Oregon income. 
ORS 317.301.

Estimated tax payments

Requirements
Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 
estimated tax laws. You must make estimated tax pay-
ments if you expect to owe tax of $500 or more with 
your return. This includes Oregon’s minimum tax. This 
requirement also applies if you are an S corporation pay-
ing tax on income from built-in gains or excess passive 
investment income.

If you don’t make estimated payments as required, you 
may be subject to interest on underpayment of estimated 
tax (UND). If you have an underpayment, refer to Form 
37, Underpayment of Oregon Corporation Estimated Tax, 
150-102-037.

Payment due dates

Estimated tax payments are due quarterly, as follows:

•	Calendar year filers: April 15, June 15, September 15, 
and December 15.

•	Fiscal year filers: The 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and 
12th months of your fiscal year.

•	If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, use the next regular business day.

Payment options

Important: For details about making payments with your 
return, see Filing checklist on page 7.

Estimated payments may be made by electronic funds 
transfer (EFT) or by mail. EFT reduces expenses and ensures 
accuracy. 

EFT payments for corporation estimated taxes must be 
made using our EFT program. This program allows pay-
ments to be initiated by touch-tone telephone, a secure 
Internet site, or through your financial organization. If 
you pay by EFT, do not send Form 20-V payment voucher.

You must make your Oregon estimated payments by 
EFT if you are required to make your federal estimated 
payments by EFT. We may grant a waiver from participa-
tion in the EFT program if you would be disadvantaged 
by the requirement. (OAR 150-314.518)

If you do not meet the federal requirements for manda-
tory participation in the EFT program, you may partici-
pate on a voluntary basis.

A business is required to have an authorization agree-
ment filed with us before it can start initiating EFT 
payments. The EFT help/message phone number is 
503-947-2017. 

For more information, visit www.oregon.gov/dor/e-fil-
ing, then on the left navigation bar, click on “Electronic 
filing,” then click on “Tax professionals.”

Mail. If paying by mail, send each payment with a Form 
20-V, Oregon Corporation Tax Payment Voucher and Instruc-
tions, 150-102-172.

Worksheet to calculate Oregon estimated tax

(Keep for your records—do not file with payment.)

1. Oregon net income expected in 
upcoming tax year.

1.
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2. Tax on Oregon net income (see 
tax rate tables for corporation tax 
rate and minimum tax).

2.

3. Subtract tax credits allowable 
in upcoming tax year. Tax 
credits cannot be used to reduce 
minimum excise tax.

3.

4. Net tax (line 2 minus line 3). 4.

If the amount on line 4 is less 
than $500, stop. You don’t have 
to make estimated tax payments. 
Caution: If your final tax 
liability when you file your 
return is $500 or more, you may 
be subject to interest on UND.

5. Amount of each payment. 
(Divide line 4 by the number of 
payments you need to make. 
This is usually 4.)

5.

If your expected net tax changes during the year, divide 
the amended net tax amount by the number of required 
payments (usually four) to determine the correct amount 
of each required installment.

To avoid additional charges for interest on UND, you 
must pay the amount of any prior underpayment plus 
the amount of the current required installment. [OAR 
150-314.515(2)]

Example: During the year, Corporation A’s expected net 
tax increased from $2,000 to $6,000. Corporation A made 
timely first and second quarter estimated payments of 
$500 before its expected net tax increased.

Corporation A’s correct amount of each required install-
ment is $1,500. Because of its increased net tax, Corpora-
tion A will be subject to UND charges for the first and 
second quarters. To avoid UND charges for the third 
and fourth quarters, Corporation A must make a timely 
third-quarter estimated payment of $3,500* and a timely 
fourth quarter payment of $1,500.

*$1,000 for the first-quarter underpayment, plus $1,000 
for the second-quarter underpayment, plus $1,500 for the 
required third-quarter installment, equals $3,500.

For more information, see Oregon statutes (ORS) and 
rules (OAR) concerning underpayment of estimated 
tax, Chapter 314 [ORS 314.525, OAR 150-314.525(1)-(A),  
150-314.525(1)-(B), 150-314.525(1)(c)-(A), 150-314.525(1)(d), 
150-314.525(2)-(A), and 150-314.525(2)-(B)].

Filing information

Who must file with Oregon?
Corporations that are doing business in Oregon, or with 
income from an Oregon source, are required to file an 
Oregon corporation tax return. If you have tangible 
or intangible property or other assets in Oregon, any 
income you receive is Oregon source income. Public Law 
(Pub.L.) 86-272 provides exceptions to this requirement.

Note: Oregon follows the federal entity classification 
regulations. If an entity is classified or taxed as a corpo-
ration for federal income tax purposes, it will be treated 
as a corporation for Oregon tax purposes.

Excise or income tax?
Oregon has two types of corporate taxes: excise and 
income. Excise tax is the most common. Most corpora-
tions do not qualify for Oregon’s income tax.

Excise tax is a tax for the privilege of doing business 
in Oregon. It is measured by net income. All interest 
is included in income, no matter what its source. This 
includes interest on obligations of the United States, its 
instrumentalities, and all of the 50 states and their sub-
divisions. Excise tax filers are subject to corporate mini-
mum tax. Corporation excise tax laws are in Chapter 317 
of the Oregon Revised Statutes.

Income tax is for corporations not doing business 
in Oregon, but with income from an Oregon source. 
Income tax filers are not subject to corporate minimum 
tax. Corporation income tax laws are in Chapter 318 of 
the Oregon Revised Statutes.

What form do I use?
All corporations doing business in Oregon must file 
Form 20, Oregon Corporation Excise Tax Return, 150‑102‑020, 
and pay at least the minimum excise tax. Any corpora-
tion doing business in Oregon is also required to regis-
ter with the Secretary of State, Corporation Division. See 
www.filinginoregon.com.

“Doing business” means carrying on or being engaged 
in any profit-seeking activity in Oregon. A taxpayer 
having one or more of the following in this state is clearly 
doing business in Oregon:

•	A stock of goods.
•	An office.
•	A place of business (other than an office) where affairs 

of the corporation are regularly conducted.
•	Employees or representatives providing services to 

customers as the primary business activity (such as 
accounting or personal services), or services incidental 
to the sale of tangible or intangible personal property 
(such as installation, inspection, maintenance, war-
ranty, or repair of a product).
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•	An economic presence through which the taxpayer 
regularly takes advantage of Oregon’s economy to pro-
duce income.

Corporations not doing business in Oregon, but with 
income from an Oregon source, generally must file Form 
20-I, Oregon Corporation Income Tax Return, 150‑102‑021. 
Most corporations do not fall within Oregon’s income 
tax provisions.

Corporations not doing business in Oregon, and with 
no Oregon source income, even if incorporated in or 
registered to do business in the state, are not subject to 
the minimum tax, and aren’t required to file a corpora-
tion tax return.

Filing requirements
Consolidated returns (ORS 317.705-317.725). If a corpora-
tion is a member of an affiliated group of corporations 
that filed a consolidated federal return, it must file an 
Oregon return based on that federal return.

A consolidated Oregon return is required when two or 
more affiliated corporations are:

•	Included in a consolidated federal return;
•	Unitary; and
•	At least one of the affiliated corporations must be 

doing business in Oregon or have an Oregon-source 
income.

Note: S corporations cannot be included in consolidated 
federal returns. IRC §1361(b) provides that a corporation 
that is a Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSSS) is not 
treated as a separate corporation. All income, deduc-
tions, and credits of the QSSS will be treated as belong-
ing to the parent S corporation.

Unitary business. A business that has, directly or indi-
rectly between members or parts of the enterprise, either 
a sharing or an exchange of value shown by:

•	Centralized management or a common executive force.
•	Centralized administrative services or functions 

resulting in economies of scale.
•	Flow of goods, capital resources, or services showing 

functional integration.

Corporations that are not unitary are excluded from the 
consolidated Oregon return.

Separate returns. Any corporation that files a separate 
federal return must file a separate Oregon return if they 
are doing business in Oregon or have income from an 
Oregon source.

A corporation subject to Oregon taxation must also file 
a separate Oregon return if it was included in a consoli-
dated federal return, but was not unitary with any of the 
other affiliates. Oregon taxable income is calculated by 
subtracting the income of the nonunitary affiliates from 
the taxable income from the consolidated federal return.

E-file
Important: Electronic tax due payments may now be 
made when e-filing your original return. For more 
details about making payments with your return, see 
Filing checklist on page 7.
If you’re required to e-file with the IRS, you’re also 
required to e-file for Oregon. We accept calendar year, 
fiscal year, short year, and amended electronic corpora-
tion tax returns utilizing the IRS Modernized e-file plat-
form (MeF). Beginning January 2013, we’ll accept e-filed 
returns for tax year 2012, and will continue accepting 
returns for 2011 and 2010. Your tax return software also 
allows you to make electronic payments when e-filing 
your original return.
For a list of software vendors go to  www.oregon.gov/
dor/e-filing, then on the left navigation bar, click on 
“Electronic Filing,” then click on “Approved software 
vendors.”
For more information, visit www.oregon.gov/dor/e-fil-
ing, then on the left navigation bar, click on “Electronic 
Filing,” then click on “Tax professionals.”

Federal audit changes
If the IRS changes your federal return for any tax year, 
you must notify us. File an amended Oregon return and 
attach a copy of the federal audit report. Mail this sepa-
rately from your current year’s return to:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14777
Salem OR 97309-0960

If you do not amend or send a copy of the federal report, 
we have two years from the date we’re notified of the 
change by the IRS to issue a deficiency notice. You must 
file an amended return within two years after the date of 
the federal report to receive a refund.

Amended returns and protective claims
If you change taxable income by amending your federal 
return you must file an amended Oregon return within 
90 days. 

Attach a copy of your amended federal return to your 
amended Oregon return and explain the adjustments 
made. Oregon doesn’t have a different amended return 
form. Use the form for the tax year you are amending 
and check the “Amended” box.

If you filed Form 20-S, Oregon S Corporation Tax Return, 
150-102-025, and later determined you should file Form 
20 check the “Amended” box on Form 20.

Do not make payments for amended returns with EFT 
(Electronic Funds Transfer). This also applies to e-filed 
amended returns. For paper returns, include check 
or money order with your return. For e-filed returns, 
send check or money order separately. Make sure to 
write “Amended” on the payment itself. You must also 
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include a completed Form 20-V with the “Amended” box 
checked.

If check or money order is not clearly marked as 
“Amended payment,” our system will apply the pay-
ment to your account before the return is processed 
causing an automatic refund which could result in 
additional penalty and interest.

Do not amend your Oregon return if you amend the 
federal return to carry a net operating loss back to prior 
years. Oregon allows corporations to carry net operat-
ing losses forward only.

On the estimated tax payments line on your Form 20 
amended, enter the net excise tax per the original return 
or as previously adjusted. Do not include any penalty or 
interest portions of payments already made.

Pay all tax and interest due when you file your amended 
return or within 30 days after receiving a billing notice 
from us to avoid being charged a 5 percent late payment 
penalty.

If paying additional tax with your amended return, you 
must include interest with your payment. Interest is fig-
ured from the day after the due date of your original 
return up to the day we receive your full payment. See 
interest rates on page 17.

An amended return may be filed as a protective claim 
to extend the statute of limitations for a refund request 
for a tax year while an issue is being litigated. Check 
the “Amended” box and write the words “Protective 
claim for refund” at the top. We’ll also accept a written 
letter in place of an amended return. Include the same 
information in the letter as is required on an amended 
return. We’ll hold your protective claim until you notify 
us the litigation has been completed.

Note: If a deficiency is assessed against any taxpayer, 
because of a retroactive adoption of federal law changes, 
we will cancel any penalty or interest pertaining to the 
changes. If a taxpayer files an amended return showing 
a refund due based on the retroactive adoption of federal 
law changes, we will not pay interest.

Other entities and how they file

Agricultural or horticultural cooperatives
For purposes of the corporate minimum tax only, the 
Oregon sales of agricultural or horticultural coopera-
tives does not include sales representing business done 
with or for the cooperative’s members. If you’re an agri-
cultural or horticultural cooperative, write “Ag Co-op” 
in only black or blue ink across the top of your Oregon 
Form 20. Provide a schedule showing the calculation of 
Oregon gross sales for sales not done with or for mem-
bers of the co-op.

Exempt organizations

 If you are an exempt organization under IRC §§ 501(c) 
through (f), 501(j), 501(n), 521, or 529, you are exempt from 
Oregon Corporation taxes [ORS 317.080 (1)–(8)]. Apply 
to IRS for exempt status. You don’t have to apply to the 
Oregon Department of Revenue. Two exceptions are 
nonprofit homes for the elderly and people’s utility dis-
tricts established under ORS chapter 261.

If you are exempt from Oregon tax and do not have unre-
lated business taxable income (UBTI) as defined in IRC 
§512 you do not have to file an Oregon tax return. 

If you do have UBTI, file a Form 20 (Oregon Corpora-
tion Excise Tax Return) and attach a copy of your fed-
eral Form 990-T. Organizations exempt from federal 
tax but not exempt for Oregon must also file a Form 20 
and attach a copy of federal Form 990-T. Some religious 
organizations that qualify under IRC §501(d) may file as 
partnerships. 

An exempt organization filing an Oregon Form 20 is sub-
ject to the greater of computed excise tax based on UBTI 
or Oregon minimum tax. For minimum tax purposes, 
include in “Oregon sales” only gross Oregon unrelated 
business income. Tax-exempt income is not included.

Homeowners associations

A homeowners association organized and operated 
under IRC §528(c) may elect to be treated as a tax-exempt 
organization (ORS 317.067). The association must make 
the election no later than the time prescribed by law for 
filing the return. A copy of the Form 1120-H filed with 
IRS will constitute this election when filed with us. Tax-
exempt status will only exempt the association from tax 
on the exempt function income, such as membership 
dues, fees, and assessments from member-owners of 
residential units in the particular condominium or sub-
division involved. Oregon follows the federal definition 
of nonexempt function income. 

If you don’t have nonexempt function income, for Ore-
gon tax purposes, only file a copy of your federal Form 
1120-H with us; don’t file a Form 20. 

File an Oregon Form 20, with a copy of federal Form 
1120-H, if the association has taxable income. Homeown-
ers association taxable income for Oregon is generally 
the same as for federal purposes. It is gross nonexempt 
income less directly-related deductions, less the specific 
$100 deduction. However, net capital gains are included 
in the computation and received no special treatment.

An association filing Oregon Form 20 is subject to the 
greater of computed excise tax or Oregon minimum tax. 
For minimum tax purposes, include in “Oregon sales” 
only Oregon nonexempt function income.
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Limited liability companies (LLC)
Oregon follows federal law in determining how an LLC 
is taxed. Federal law does not recognize an LLC as a 
classification for federal tax purposes. An LLC business 
entity must file a corporation, partnership or sole pro-
prietorship tax return, depending on elections made by 
the LLC and the number of members. An LLC is always 
classified under federal law as one of these types of tax-
able entities.

A multi-member LLC can be either a partnership or a 
corporation, including an S corporation. A single mem-
ber LLC (SMLLC) can be either a corporation or a single 
member “disregarded entity.” Refer to federal law for 
more information and requirements.

An LLC taxed as a C corporation must file Form 20 if 
doing business in Oregon, or Form 20-I if not doing busi-
ness in Oregon but the LLC is receiving Oregon-source 
income. The LLC must file Form 20-S if the entity files 
federal Form 1120-S.

An LLC taxed as a partnership must file Form 65, Ore-
gon Partnership Return, 150-101-065, if doing business in 
Oregon, or is receiving income from an Oregon source, 
or if it has any Oregon resident members. If the LLC has 
a corporate member, the member is taxed on its share of 
the LLC’s Oregon income.

If an LLC is part of a corporation’s overall business oper-
ations and is treated as a partnership, include the corpo-
ration’s ownership share of LLC property, payroll, and 
sales in the apportionment percentage calculation on 
Schedule AP, Apportionment of Income for Corporations and 
Partnerships, 150-102-171. (OAR 150-314.650)

Foreign LLCs are identified as unincorporated associa-
tions organized under the laws of a state other than Ore-
gon, or a foreign country. Oregon’s definition of a foreign 
LLC includes an unincorporated association organized 
under the laws of a federally recognized American 
Indian tribe, no matter when organized.

Political organizations
Political organizations (for example, campaign commit-
tees and political parties) normally don’t pay state or fed-
eral taxes. However, income earned from investments is 
taxable. Examples include interest earned on deposits, 
dividends from contributed stock, rents or royalties, and 
gains from the sale of contributed property. We follow 
the federal definitions of political organizations and tax-
able income.

A political organization that is not incorporated is treated 
as a corporation under both federal law and Oregon law 
[ORS 316.277(1)]. If your organization is unincorporated, 
you are not required to file an Oregon tax return unless 
your organization has taxable income. If it has taxable 
income, file Form 20-I.

Organizations that are incorporated must file Form 
20, 150-102-020. A minimum tax is required, even if 
the corporation has no taxable income. For purposes of 
determining minimum tax, only non-exempt income is 
included in Oregon sales.

For more information, search for Political Organizations at 
www.oregon.gov/dor/business.

Publicly traded partnerships
A “publicly traded partnership” is a partnership treated 
as a corporation for federal tax purposes under IRC §7704.

The partners in a publicly traded partnership are not 
subject to tax on their distributive shares of partnership 
income. A publicly traded partnership taxed as a cor-
poration must file Form 20 if doing business in Oregon, 
or Form 20-I if not doing business in Oregon but the 
publicly traded partnership is receiving Oregon-source 
income.

Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit 
(REMICs)
A REMIC is not subject to Oregon tax; the income is tax-
able to the holders of the REMIC’s interests under ORS 
chapter 316, 317, or 318, whichever is applicable. A REMIC 
must file Form 20-I if it gets prohibited transaction 
income from Oregon sources or has any resident holders 
of a residual interest. Income is from an Oregon source 
if it comes from tangible property located in Oregon or 
from intangible property used in an Oregon business.

All REMICs required to file must file Form 20-I and 
attach a complete copy of federal Form 1066. The REMIC 
must also attach a federal Schedule Q for each residual 
interest holder for each quarter of the tax year. Enter the 
amount of net income from prohibited transactions from 
federal Form 1066 Schedule J. (ORS 314.260)

Filing checklist
•	Due date of your return. Returns are due by the 15th 

day of the month following the due date of your fed-
eral corporation return. When the 15th falls on a Sat-
urday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is the next 
business day.

•	Extensions. See the instructions for the extension 
checkbox below.

•	Business identification number (BIN). Oregon iden-
tifies each corporation using a BIN we assign. You 
have a BIN if you have made payments to the state 
of Oregon for payroll taxes; workers’ compensation; 
unemployment; or estimated tax for corporation excise 
or income tax payments. If you do not have a BIN, one 
will be assigned when your return is received.

•	Estimated payments and prepayments. Please iden-
tify all estimated payments claimed by completing 
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Schedule ES on your return. List all payments that 
were submitted prior to filing your return. Include the 
corporation name and Federal employer identification 
number (FEIN) if a payment was made by an affiliate 
of the filing corporation.

•	Making electronic payments with your E-filed 
return. We accept electronic payments when e-filing 
your original return. 

•	Making check or money order payments with your 
paper return. Make your check or money order pay-
able to Oregon Department of Revenue. Write the fol-
lowing on your check or money order:

		  – FEIN
		  –	Oregon BIN
		  –	Tax year 2012
		  –	Daytime telephone number

To speed processing, DO NOT:

		  –	Use Form 20-V payment voucher
		  – Staple payment to return
		  –	Send cash or postdated checks 
		  – Use red or purple or any gel ink

•	Sending check or money order payments separate 
from filing your return. Follow the instructions above 
except DO use a Form 20-V payment voucher.

•	Assembling and submitting your return. Submit 
your Oregon return forms in the following order: 

	 1.	Form 20;
	 2.	Schedule AP, Apportionment of Income for Corporations 

and Partnerships;
	 3.	Schedule AF, Schedule of Affiliates;
	 4.	Schedule ASC-CORP, Oregon Adjustments (150-102-033);
	 5.	Form 37, Underpayment of Oregon Corporation Esti-

mated Tax;
	 6.	Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 

Conversions;
	 7.	Worksheet FCG-20, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capi-

tal Gain Tax Rate;
	 8.	Other Oregon statements;
	 9.	Oregon credit forms including notice of credit 

transfers;
	10.	Form 7004, Federal extension;
	11.	Copy of federal tax return and schedules.

Tax-due returns, mail to:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14790
Salem OR 97309-0470

Refunds or no tax-due returns, mail to:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14777
Salem OR 97309-0960

Form instructions
Name

Generally, a consolidated Oregon return is filed in the 
name of the common parent corporation. If the parent 
corporation is not doing business in Oregon, file the 
return in the name of the member of the group having 
the greatest presence in Oregon. “Having the greatest 
presence” means the member that has the largest Ore-
gon property value as determined under ORS 314.655 
(see Schedule AP).

Enter the FEIN and BIN of the corporation named as the 
filer on the consolidated Oregon return.

Extension checkbox

Oregon does not have an extension form. Form 20-V 
payment voucher is not an extension of time file or to 
pay tax.

For an Oregon extension when also filing for a federal 
extension: Send the federal extension with the Oregon 
return when you file. (Oregon extension due date is 
the 15th day of the month following the federal exten-
sion’s due date.) Make sure the “Extension” checkbox is 
checked on the Oregon return,

For an “Oregon only” extension: Answer question 1 on 
federal extension Form 7004, write “For Oregon Only” 
at the top of the form, and include it with your Oregon 
return. Make sure the “Extension” checkbox is checked 
on the Oregon return.

To avoid penalty and interest, mail tax due prepayments 
with Form 20-V on or before the original due date of your 
return. More time to file does not mean more time to pay 
your tax.

Form 37 checkbox

If you have an underpayment, you must include a com-
pleted Form 37 and check the “Form 37” box in the 
header of your return.

Use Form 37 to:

•	Calculate the amount of underpayment of estimated 
tax;

•	Compute the amount of interest you owe on the under-
payment; or

•	Show you meet an exception to the payment of interest.

Amended checkbox

Check the “Amended” box if this is an amended return.

Form 24, Deferred gain checkbox

Corporations may defer, for Oregon tax purposes, all 
gains realized in the exchange of like-kind property and 
involuntary conversions under IRC §1031 or §1033, even 
though the replacement property is outside Oregon. 



150-102-020-1 (Rev. 10-12) 	 9	 Form 20 instructions

Oregon will tax the deferred gain when it is included in 
federal taxable income.

Attach a copy of your Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind 
Exchanges/Involuntary Conversions, 150-800-734, to the 
back of your Oregon return and check the “Form 24” box 
if all of the following apply:

•	The corporation reported deferred gain on a federal 
Form 8824;

•	All or part of the property exchanged or given up was 
located in Oregon; and

•	All or part of the acquired property was located out-
side of Oregon.

For a more detailed explanation, see OAR 150-314.650 
and 150-314.665(5) regarding apportionment of deferred 
gain.

FCG-20, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital Gain 
checkbox

Reduced tax rate is available if you sold or exchanged 
capital assets used in farming.

Complete the FCG-20 worksheet, Farm Liquidation Long-
Term Capital Gain Tax Adjustment, 150-102-167, and check 
the box in the header of the form.

Federal Form 8886 checkbox, REIT/RIC checkbox, and 
reportable transactions

If you participate in listed or reportable transactions, you 
must report it on your Oregon tax return.

If you’re required to report listed or reportable transac-
tions to the IRS on federal Form 8886 or if you partici-
pated in a real estate investment trust (REIT) or regu-
lated investment company (RIC), you must check the 
appropriate boxes in the header area of the Oregon tax 
return.

We’ll assess penalties if you don’t comply with this 
requirement or if we discover such other transactions.

Accounting period change checkbox

Check the “Accounting period change” box only if both 
of the following apply:

•	The excise tax return covers a period of less than 12 
months, and

•	The short-period return is due to a qualified change in 
accounting period per IRC §§441 to 444.

Note: A short-period return does not automatically con-
stitute a qualified change in accounting period. A tax-
payer that is not in existence for the entire year should 
not check this box. This includes subsidiaries that join or 
leave a consolidated filing group, and newly formed or 
dissolved corporations.

If you file a short-period return due to a qualified change 
in accounting period and you are subject to the mini-
mum tax, your minimum tax shall be apportioned as 
follows:

Annualize Oregon sales by multiplying actual Oregon 
sales by 12 and dividing by the number of months in the 
short period. Use the minimum tax table on page 15 to 
determine minimum tax on annualized Oregon sales.

Apportion the minimum tax determined above by mul-
tiplying by the total number of months in short period 
and dividing by 12.

Questions
Questions A–D. Complete only if this is your first return 
or the answer changed during the tax year.

Question E(1). If you checked the box, attach a list of the 
corporations included in the consolidated federal return.

Question E(2). If you checked the box, complete Sched-
ule AF, Schedule of Affiliates (found with forms 20, 20-I, 
and 20-INS), to list only the corporations included in the 
consolidated Oregon return that:

•	Are doing business in Oregon; or
•	Have income from Oregon sources.

Question E(3). If you checked the box, attach a list of 
corporations included in the consolidated federal return 
that are not included in this Oregon return. List each 
corporation’s name, FEIN, and Oregon BIN.

Question F. A “low-income taxpayer” is one that did not 
have federal taxable income, before net operating loss 
and capital loss carryovers and carrybacks, of $1 million 
or more in any one of the last three tax years, not includ-
ing the current year.

Question G. If the Oregon corporation is a subsidiary 
in an affiliated group, or a parent subsidiary controlled 
group, enter the name and FEIN of the parent corpora-
tion. For definition of a subsidiary in an affiliated group 
or a parent subsidiary controlled group, see IRS Form 
1120, Schedule K.

Question H. Enter the total number of corporations 
doing business in Oregon that are included in this return.

Question M. Taxpayers primarily engaged in utilities 
or telecommunications may elect to apportion income 
using double-weighted sales factor formula [OAR 150-
314.280(3)]. Check the box if making this election.

Question N. Nonapportioned returns.

Enter the amount of sales as defined by ORS 314.665. 
Generally, C corporations doing business only within 
Oregon will calculate Oregon sales by adding:

•	Gross receipts from sales of inventory (less returns 
and allowances), equipment, and other assets;

•	Gross rent and lease payments received;
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•	Gross receipts from the performance of services;
•	Gross receipts from the sale, exchange, redemption, 

or holding of intangible assets derived from the tax-
payer’s primary business activity and included in the 
taxpayer’s business income; and 

•	Net gain from the sale, exchange, or redemption of 
intangible assets not derived from the taxpayer’s pri-
mary business activity but included in the taxpayer’s 
business income. 

Generally, for purposes of determining minimum tax, 
the calculation for Oregon sales includes gross business 
income amounts from federal Form 1120, line 1e, and 5 
through 10. Include positive numbers only.

Line instructions
Line 1. Taxable income from U.S. corporation income 
tax return. Enter the taxable income reported for federal 
income tax purposes before net operating loss or special 
deductions (federal Form 1120, line 28).

Additions
Line 2. Certain interest excluded on the federal return. 
Oregon gross income includes interest on all state and 
municipal bonds or other interest excluded for fed-
eral tax purposes. Reduce the addition by any interest 
incurred to carry the obligations and by any expenses 
incurred in producing this interest income. (ORS 317.309)

Line 3. Oregon excise tax and other state taxes on or 
measured by net income. Oregon excise tax may not be 
deducted on the Oregon return. Taxes of other states or 
foreign governments on or measured by net income or 
profits may not be deducted on the Oregon return. If you 
subtracted these taxes on your federal return, you must 
add them back on your Oregon return. However, the 
Oregon minimum tax and local taxes, such as the Mult-
nomah County Business Income tax, are deductible,  and 
are not required to be added back. (ORS 317.314)

Line 4. Income of related FSC or DISC. Net income or 
loss must be included in the net income of the related 
U.S. affiliate. (ORS 317.283 and 317.286)

Line 5. Total other additions. The amount by which any 
item of gross income is greater under Oregon law than 
under federal law, or the amount by which any allowable 
deduction is less under Oregon law than under federal 
law, is an addition on your Oregon return.

Use Schedule ASC-CORP, Oregon Adjustments (150-
102-033) to report the amount and description of each 
difference not already reported elsewhere on your 
return. Use the numeric description code from the list in 
Appendix A. The total of all other additions is entered on 
Form 20, line 5.

Important: Do not report an addition that’s already 
included on lines 2 through 4. 

Other additions include:

•	Bad debt reserve addition of a financial institution 
to the extent that federal exceeds the amount that is 
allowable for Oregon. The bad debt method of finan-
cial institutions is tied to the federal method. For tax-
payers required to use the specific write-off method, 
an addition must be made if the amortization of the 
federal reserve is less than the amortization of the Ore-
gon reserve. (ORS 317.310)

•	Capital construction fund. Amounts deferred under 
section 607 of the Merchant Marine Act of 1936 and 
IRC §7518 must be added back to income. (ORS 317.319)

•	Child Care Division and community agency contri-
butions. The deduction claimed on the federal return 
must be added back to federal taxable income on the 
Oregon return if the Oregon credit is claimed. (ORS 
315.213)

•	Claim of right income repayment adjustment when 
credit is claimed. The deduction under IRC §1341 on 
the federal return must be added back to federal tax-
able income on the Oregon return if the Oregon credit 
is claimed. (ORS 317.388)

•	Contributions of computers or scientific equipment 
for research to educational organizations credit. The 
amount of federal deduction must be added to federal 
taxable income if the Oregon credit is claimed. [ORS 
317.151(4)]

•	Deferred gain from out-of-state disposition of prop-
erty. See ORS 317.327 regarding the computation of the 
addition if gain is recognized for federal tax purposes 
but not taken into account in the computation of Ore-
gon taxable income.

•	Dependent care credits. The business expense 
deducted for providing dependent care assistance, 
information, or referral services must be reduced by 
the amount of dependent care credit claimed. [ORS 
315.204(7)]

•	Depletion (percentage in excess of cost). Percentage 
depletion is allowed only on metal mines. All other 
assets are limited to cost depletion. (ORS 317.374)

•	Depreciation differences. If your Oregon deprecia-
tion is not the same as your federal depreciation, the 
difference is a required modification to your Oregon 
return. (ORS 317.356) Use the Depreciation Schedule for 
Individuals, Partnerships, Corporations, and Fiduciaries, 
150-101-025 to determine the Oregon modification.

•	Film production development contributions. Add 
back the amount of contribution for which a tax credit 
certification is made that is allowed as a deduction for 
federal tax purposes. (ORS 315.514)

•	Gain or loss on the disposition of depreciable prop-
erty. Add the difference in gain or loss on sale of busi-
ness assets when the Oregon basis is less than it is for 
federal purposes. (ORS 317.356)

•	Income from sources outside the United States. 
Income not included in federal taxable income under 
IRC §861 to §864. (ORS 317.625)
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•	Individual development accounts credit. Donations 
deducted on the federal return must be added back to 
Oregon income if the credit is claimed. [ORS 315.271(2)]

•	Intangible and interest expense add-back and credit. 
Intangible and interest expenses must be added back 
to federal taxable income for Oregon purposes when 
paid to a related member, not included in the same tax 
return, and they are paid in connection with a transac-
tion with the related member. If the related member 
paid tax on the income in Oregon or another tax juris-
diction, a credit is allowed. You must attach a schedule 
showing how you calculated the credit. (ORS 314.296)

•	Inventory costs. The costs allocable to inventory are 
the same as those included in IRC §263A. Differences 
in depreciation and depletion allocable to inventory 
result in a modification. [ORS 314.287(3)]

•	IRC §139A federal subsidies for prescription drug 
plans. For federal purposes, taxpayers can exclude 
from taxable income certain federal subsidies for 
prescription drug plans per IRC §139A. However, for 
Oregon purposes, this federally excluded income is an 
addition on the Oregon return.

•	IRC §631(a) treatment of timber is not recognized by 
Oregon. Both beginning and ending inventories must 
be adjusted for IRC §631(a) gain. For Oregon purposes, 
there is no taxable event until actual sale. (ORS 317.362)

•	Long-term care insurance premiums. Premiums 
deducted on the federal return must be added back if 
the Oregon credit is claimed under ORS 315.610. (ORS 
317.322)

•	Losses of nonunitary corporations. Net losses of 
nonunitary corporations included in a consolidated 
federal return must be eliminated from the Oregon 
return. Net losses include the separate loss as deter-
mined under Treasury Regulations adopted for IRC 
§1502, and deductions, additions, or items of income, 
expense, gain, or loss for which the consolidated treat-
ment is prescribed. Attach a schedule showing compu-
tation of the net loss eliminated. [ORS 317.715(2)]

•	Net federal capital loss deduction. If the Oregon and 
federal capital loss deductions are different, add the 
federal capital loss back to income. The Oregon capital 
loss will be deducted after subtractions (and apportion-
ment for corporations required to apportion income) to 
arrive at Oregon taxable income. (OAR 150-317.013)

•	QPAI deduction. Add to federal taxable income the 
amount of QPAI deduction per IRC §199 claimed on 
the federal return. Agricultural or horticultural coop-
eratives, reduce the addition by the amount passed 
through to cooperative patrons under IRC §199(d)(3)
(A). (ORS 317.398)

•	Qualified research and development credit. After 
you’ve calculated the credit, you must add the amount 
back to your Oregon taxable income.

•	REITs and RICs. A REIT or RIC meeting the federal 
affiliate definition, must be included in the consoli-
dated Oregon return. This is an Oregon modification 
(addition or subtraction) to federal taxable income. For 

apportioning taxpayers, factors from the REIT or RIC 
are included in the apportionment calculation.

•	Safe harbor lease agreements. Oregon does not tie 
to the federal safe harbor lease provisions. See OAR 
150-317.349-(A) and 150-317.349-(B) for details about the 
adjustments required for Oregon.

•	Trust for cultural development account contributions. 
Add to federal taxable income the amount deducted as 
a charitable contribution on the federal return.

•	University venture fund contributions. Add to fed-
eral taxable income the amount of contributions used 
to calculate the University Venture Fund Contribution 
credit that were deducted from federal taxable income. 
(ORS 315.521)

•	Unused business credits. Unused business credits 
taken as a federal deduction under IRC §196 must be 
added back to Oregon income. (ORS 317.304)

Subtractions
Line 8. Work opportunity credit wages not deducted 
on the federal return. Enter the amount of wages that 
were not deducted on the federal return because the 
work opportunity credit was claimed. (ORS 317.303)

Line 9. Dividend deduction. Claim all Oregon divi-
dend deductions on this line. A 70 percent deduction 
is allowed for qualifying dividends regardless of geo-
graphic source. An 80 percent deduction is allowed for 
dividends received from corporations whose stock is 
owned 20 percent or more. Use the following worksheet 
for computing the Oregon dividend deduction. (ORS 
317.267)

The following are also included in the Oregon dividend 
deduction calculation, if they were included in federal 
taxable income carried to the Oregon return:

•	Dividends from debt financed stock, to the extent 
deductible for federal tax purposes (see IRC §246A). 
[ORS 317.267(2)]

•	Dividends from foreign sales corporations and 
domestic international sales corporations, the net 
income of which was included on line 4. (ORS 317.283, 
317.286)

•	Dividends from other corporations in this consoli-
dated Oregon return. Subtract 100 percent from fed-
eral taxable income. [ORS 317.267(1)]

•	IRC §78 dividends (gross-up dividends) are sub-
tracted in full from federal taxable income. (ORS 
317.273)

Worksheet for computing dividend deduction

1. Dividends included in federal 
taxable income before “special 
deductions”

1.   ________ 

2. Subtract:  
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a. Dividends described in IRC 
§243(d)(1) that are actually 
interest on deposits

2a. ________ 

b. Dividends described in IRC 
§245(c) and §246(d) (from FSCs 
and DISCs)

2b. ________

c. Dividends from debt financed 
stock

2c. ________ 

d. Dividends from corporations 
included in consolidated 
Oregon return

2d. ________ 

e. IRC §78 Gross-Up 2e. ________ 

f. Dividends not treated as 
dividends under IRC §243(d) or 
§965(c)(3) 

2f. ________ 

g. Dividends described in IRC 
§246(a) or (c) that do not receive 
a deduction

2g. ________

3. Total (add lines 2a through 2g) 3.   ________

4. Balance subject to 70% (or 80%) 
deduction (line 1 minus line 3)

4.   ________

5. Percentage deduction 5.   ________

6. Subtotal deduction (line 5 × line 4) 6.   ________ 

7. Add:

a. Dividends described in IRC 
§245(c) and §246(d) (from FSCs 
and DISCs) (100%)

7a. ________ 

b. Dividends from debt financed 
stock (same as federal 
deduction)

7b. ________ 

c. Dividends from corporations 
included in consolidated 
Oregon return (100%)

7c. ________

d. IRC §78 Gross-Up (100%) 7d. ________

8. Total Oregon deduction 8.   ________

Line 10. Income of nonunitary corporations. Net income 
of nonunitary corporations included in a consolidated 
federal return must be eliminated from the Oregon 
return. Net income includes the separate taxable income, 
as determined under Treasury Regulations adopted for 
IRC §1502, and any deductions, additions, or items of 
income, expense, gain, or loss for which consolidated 
treatment is prescribed. Attach a schedule showing com-
putation of the net income eliminated. [ORS 317.715(2)]

Line 11. Total other subtractions.  The amount by which 
an item of gross income is less under Oregon law than 
federal law, or the amount by which an allowable deduc
tion is greater under Oregon law than federal law, is a 
subtraction on your Oregon return. Note: Do not include 
Oregon dividend deductions on line 11. All allowable 
Oregon dividend deductions are subtracted on line 9. 

Use Schedule ASC-CORP, Oregon Adjustments (150-102-
033) to report the amount and description of each differ-
ence not already reported elsewhere on your return. Use 
the numeric description code from the list in Appendix 
A. The total of all other subtractions is entered on Form 
20, line 11.

Important: Do not report a subtraction that’s already 
included on lines 8 through 10. 

Other subtractions include:

•	Bad debt reserve addition of a financial institution 
to the extent that Oregon exceeds the amount that 
is allowed on the federal return. A subtraction is 
also made if the amortization of the federal reserve is 
greater than the amortization of the Oregon reserve. 
(ORS 317.310)

•	Charitable contribution. Subtract the amount by 
which a corporation must reduce its charitable contri-
bution deduction under IRC §170(d)(2)(B). (ORS 317.307)

•	Deferred gain from out-of-state disposition of prop-
erty. See ORS 317.327 regarding the computation of the 
subtraction if loss is recognized for federal tax pur-
poses but not taken into account in the computation of 
Oregon taxable income.

•	Depletion. Oregon deduction in excess of federal 
allowance. (ORS 317.374)

•	Depreciation differences. If your Oregon deprecia-
tion is not the same as your federal depreciation, the 
difference is a required modification to your Oregon 
return. (ORS 317.356) Use the Depreciation Schedule for 
Individuals, Partnerships, Corporations, and Fiduciaries, 
150-101-025 to determine the Oregon modification.

•	Federal credits. Subtract the amount of expense not 
deducted on the federal return attributable to claiming 
a federal credit. (ORS 317.303)

•	Federal investment tax credit on certain assets. If you 
take a federal tax credit on certain assets, and your 
federal basis is less than your Oregon basis, you must 
refigure the gain or loss on disposal of those assets 
and subtract the difference. (ORS 317.356)

•	Film production labor rebate. Subtract the amount 
received as a labor rebate and included in federal 
taxable income in determining your Oregon taxable 
income. (ORS 317.394)

•	Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property. The 
difference in gain or loss on the sale of business assets 
when the Oregon basis is greater than it is for federal 
purposes. (ORS 317.356)

•	Inventory costs. The costs allocable to inventory are 
the same as those included in IRC §263A. Differences 
in depreciation and depletion allocable to inventory 
result in a modification. [ORS 314.287(3)]

•	Land donation or bargain sale of land to educa-
tional institutions. Enter the fair market value of land 
donated or the amount of the reduction in sales price of 
land sold to a school district. The subtraction is limited 
to 50 percent of Oregon taxable income. (ORS 317.488)
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•	Losses from outside the United States. Losses not 
included in federal taxable income under IRC §861 to 
§864. (ORS 317.625)

•	Manufactured dwelling park tenant payments made 
under ORS 90.505 to 90.840 to compensate a tenant for 
costs incurred due to the closure of the park may be 
subtracted. (ORS 317.092)

•	Oregon Investment Advantage (ORS 317.391). To 
qualify, facilities must be certified by the Oregon Busi-
ness Development Department (dba Business Oregon). 
For more information about the program or to get an 
application, visit www.oregon4biz.com. This applies 
to excise tax filers only.

	 How is the subtraction computed? Multiply the Ore-
gon taxable income figure (Form 20, line 15) as com-
puted without applying this subtraction by the sum of 
50 percent of the ratio of the payroll from the certified 
facility over the corporation’s total payroll within Ore-
gon, plus 50 percent of the ratio of the average value of 
property from the certified facility over the corpora-
tion’s total average value of property in Oregon.

	 Corporations that do business both inside and outside 
of Oregon and complete Schedule AP must claim the 
subtraction on Schedule AP-2, line 10b.

•	REITs and RICs. A REIT or RIC meeting the federal 
affiliate definition, must be included in the consoli-
dated Oregon return. This is an Oregon modification 
(addition or subtraction) to federal taxable income. For 
apportioning taxpayers, factors from the REIT or RIC 
are included in the apportionment calculation. 

•	Sale of manufactured dwelling park. The taxable 
gain attributable to the sale of a manufactured dwell-
ing park to a tenant’s association, facility purchase 
association or tenant’s association supported nonprofit 
organization is exempt from tax (note following ORS 
317.401).

Line 14. Net loss and net capital loss deductions

Net loss deduction

•	A net loss is the amount determined under IRC chap-
ter 1, subtitle A, with the modifications specifically 
prescribed under Oregon law.

•	The Oregon deduction is the sum of unused net losses 
assigned to Oregon for preceding taxable years.

•	Enter the deduction on line 14 if taxable only by 
Oregon.

•	Enter the deduction on Schedule AP-2, line 10a if tax-
able both in Oregon and another state.

•	Net losses can be carried forward up to 15 years.
•	Oregon does not allow net losses to be carried back.
•	For losses, and built-in losses occurring before a 

change in ownership (SRLY limitations), Oregon is 
tied to the federal limitations. (IRC §382 and §384; ORS 
317.476 and 317.478)

•	The total net loss deduction on a consolidated Oregon 
return is the sum of the net losses available to each 

of the corporations subject to the limitations in OAR 
150-317.476(4).

•	Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs), if qualified 
under IRC §856, are not allowed a net loss deduction. 
[ORS 317.476(5)]

Net capital loss deduction

•	Enter the deduction on line 14 if taxable only by 
Oregon.

•	Enter the deduction on Schedule AP-2, line 10b if tax-
able both in Oregon and another state.

•	Oregon allows a net capital loss deduction for losses 
apportioned to Oregon and carried from another year.

•	The deductible loss is limited to net capital gain 
included in Oregon income.

•	Attach a schedule showing your computations includ-
ing the tax year the net capital loss originated. OAR 
150-317.013

Tax calculation
Line 16. Excise tax calculation. Don’t enter the mini-
mum tax on this line.

Determine your calculated tax as follows:

Is Oregon taxable income $250,000 or less? If so, multi-
ply Oregon taxable income by 6.6 percent and enter the 
result. Enter -0- if the result is negative or zero.

Is Oregon taxable income greater than $250,000? If so, 
multiply the amount that is greater than $250,000 by  
7.6 percent, and add $16,500. Enter the result.

Line 17. Tax adjustments

•	Interest on certain installment sales. If you owe inter-
est on deferred tax liabilities with respect to install-
ment obligations under ORS 314.302, enter the amount. 
Attach a schedule showing how you figured the 
interest.

•	Net long-term capital gain from farm property. Sub-
tract the amount of adjustment for tax on net long-term 
capital gain from farm property (ORS 317.063) from 
line 9 of Worksheet FCG-20.

•	Tax paid on composite return. Subtract the amount of 
tax that was paid on behalf of any corporation included 
in the consolidated return if they elected to be part of 
an Oregon Composite Return, 150-101-154. The amount 
can be found on Schedule OC2, column g, “net tax.”

Credits
For a complete list and description of all 2012 Oregon 
corporation credits, including links to certifying agencies 
and forms, visit www.oregon.gov/dor/business, then on 
the left navigation bar, click on “Corporate Taxes,” then 
click on “2012 Credits.”

Important: 

•	All credit carryforwards are claimed on Schedule 
ASC-CORP.
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•	All carryforward amounts are claimed separately 
from current-year credits.

•	Remember to attach any documentation required to be 
submitted to claim credits.

Taxpayers must take the full amount of a credit allowed 
per year (ORS 314.078). Credits can’t be used to offset cor-
poration minimum tax. 

Line 19. Pollution control facilities credit. Enter the fol-
lowing information from the face of the Pollution Con-
trol Facility Certificate to compute the annual tax credit.

1. Actual cost of pollution control 
facility

1. ____________

2. Percent of actual cost properly 
allocable to pollution control

2. ____________

3. Line 1 multiplied by line 2 3. ____________

4. Maximum tax credit allowed 
(50%)

4. ____________

5. Eligible tax credit (line 3 multi-
plied by line 4)

5. ____________

6. Remaining useful life (see 
below)

6. ____________

7. Yearly allowable credit (line 5 
divided by line 6)

7. ____________

Remaining useful life 

The useful life of the facility begins on the date the tax-
payer places the facility into operation. The taxpayer 
may take the tax credit over the remaining useful life 
at the time of certification but not less than one year or 
more than 10 years. Calculate the spent life by subtract-
ing the date you placed the facility into operation from 
the date of certificate issuance.

Example

Year in date of issue _________ 2001

Year in placed in operation _________ 2000

Spent life _________ 1

Subtract the spent life from the useful life (one-year min-
imum, 10-year maximum).

The 2001 legislature provided an additional three-year 
carryforward on any unexpired tax credit that exists as 
of the tax year of the taxpayer that begins in the 2001 
calendar year. This means the certificate holder of these 
certificates may carry forward unused credits for a total 
of six years. 

An expired tax credit is defined as “Any tax credit oth-
erwise allowable under this section which is not used by 
the taxpayer in a particular year may be carried forward 
and offset against the taxpayer’s tax liability for the next 
succeeding tax year.” ORS 315.304(9)

Computation of credit for current year:

1. Annual credit 1. _________

2. Add credit carryover from prior 
years

2. _________

The certificate holder may carry forward any unused 
credit in any one tax year for up to three years. The 
taxpayer should carry forward the oldest credit first. 
Prepare and attach a schedule to show how you com-
puted the credit carryover amount entered on line 2.

3. Total credit available 3. _________

4a. Net tax after other credits 4a. ________

4b. Less: minimum tax per table 4b. ________

4c. Maximum tax that can be offset 
by credit

4c. ________

You may choose the order in which tax credits will 
reduce the current year tax. Prepare and attach a 
schedule to show which credits you want to apply to 
your tax liability before the pollution control credit. 
Enter the net tax from your schedule on line 4a.

5. Pollution control facility tax credit 
for this year (lesser of line 3 or line 
4c)

5. _________

Carry this amount to the line on your Oregon corpo-
ration, fiduciary, or individual tax return.

6. Credit potentially carried forward 
to future years (line 3 minus line 5)

6. _________

Lines 20-24. Energy credits. After July 1, 2011, the Ore-
gon Business Energy Tax Credit (BETC) for renewable 
and conservation projects is replaced with three separate 
energy credits: the renewable energy contribution credit, 
the energy conservation project credit, and the energy 
transportation project credit. The Oregon Department of 
Energy is responsible for the certification of these new 
credits. More information is available on our website and 
on the Oregon Department of Energy website.

Line 20. Renewable energy contribution credit. 

Line 21. Energy conservation project credit. 

Line 22. Energy transportation project credit. 

Line 23. Business energy credit. This credit is for final 
certifications received from the Department of Energy 
on or before December 31, 2012.

Line 24. Energy manufacturing facility credit. The 
renewable energy resource equipment manufactur-
ing facility component of the business energy credit is 
claimed on line 24 of your Form 20. The Oregon Business 
Development Department (OBDD) administers and cer-
tifies this credit as of January 1, 2012. 

Line 25. Dependent care credits. 

Line 26. Qualified research activities credit.  
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Line 27. Total other credits. 

Use Schedule ASC-CORP, Oregon Adjustments (150-102-
033) to report the amount and description of other credits 
not already reported on a specific line on your return. 
Use the numeric description code from the list in Appen-
dix A. The total of all other credits is entered on Form 20, 
line 27.

Excise tax: Calculated or minimum tax tables
Line 29. Excise tax after credits. Oregon excise tax is the 
greater of calculated tax or the minimum tax (use tables 
shown below).

Note: Corporations and partnerships not doing business 
in Oregon are not subject to the minimum tax.

Some entity structures have specific filing instructions 
beginning on Page 6. These include:

•	Agricultural and horticultural cooperatives.
•	Exempt organizations.
•	Homeowners associations.
•	LLCs.
•	Political organizations.
•	Publicly traded partnerships.
•	REMICs. 

Tax rates for tax year 2012
Calculated tax table

Oregon taxable income Tax rate

$250,000 or less  6.6%

$250,001 or more  $16,500 plus 7.6% of the 
amount over $250,000

Minimum tax table  
(C corporations only)

Oregon sales of filing group  
(see definitions below)  Minimum tax
 under $500,000 $  150
 $500,000 to $999,999 $  500
 $1,000,000 to $1,999,999 $  1,000
 $2,000,000 to $2,999,999 $  1,500
 $3,000,000 to $4,999,999 $  2,000
 $5,000,000 to $6,999,999 $  4,000
 $7,000,000 to $9,999,999 $  7,500
 $10,000,000 to $24,999,999 $  15,000
 $25,000,000 to $49,999,999 $  30,000
 $50,000,000 to $74,999,999 $  50,000
 $75,000,000 to $99,999,999 $  75,000
 $100,000,000 and above $ 100,000

The minimum tax for C corporations doing business in 
Oregon is based on Oregon sales.

•	Consolidated returns: the minimum tax is based on 
Oregon sales of the affiliated group of corporations fil-
ing an Oregon return. 

•	Consolidated filers: one minimum tax applies to the 
affiliated group filing the consolidated return, not to 
each individual affiliate included in the consolidated 
return doing business in Oregon.  

•	The minimum tax is not apportionable for a short tax 
year (except a change of accounting period). 

•	The minimum tax is payable in full for any part of the 
year during which a taxpayer is subject to tax. 

•	Oregon follows the federal entity classification regula-
tions. If an entity is classified or taxed as a corporation 
for federal income tax purposes, it will be treated as a 
corporation for Oregon tax purposes.

Nonapportioned returns

C corporations doing business only within Oregon will 
calculate Oregon sales by adding: 

•	Gross receipts from sales of inventory (less returns 
and allowances), equipment, and other assets; 

•	Gross rent and lease payments received; 

•	Gross receipts from the performance of services; 

•	Gross receipts from the sale, exchange, redemption, 
or holding of intangible assets derived from the tax-
payer’s primary business activity and included in the 
taxpayer’s business income; and 

•	Net gain from the sale, exchange, or redemption of 
intangible assets not derived from the taxpayer’s pri-
mary business activity but included in the taxpayer’s 
business income.

•	Generally, for purposes of determining minimum tax, 
the calculation for Oregon sales includes gross busi-
ness income amounts from federal Form 1120, lines 1e, 
and 5 through 10. Include positive numbers only.

Apportioned returns

C corporations and insurance companies doing business 
in more than one state that apportion business income 
for Oregon tax purposes, use the Oregon sales amount 
from Line 21(a) on Schedule AP.

Note: Computed tax may be reduced by certain tax cred-
its, but not below the minimum tax as outlined above 
and in ORS 317.090. The minimum tax is the least tax to 
be paid by a corporation required to file an excise tax 
return.

Line 30. LIFO benefit recapture

This amount is a subtraction from the total tax. Oregon 
has adopted the provisions of IRC §1363(d) for S corpora
tions. LIFO benefits are included in taxable income for 
the last year of the C corporation under these provisions. 
On a separate schedule, compute the difference between 
tax (after credits and any surplus refund) on income per 
the return and income without the recapture of LIFO 
benefits. Multiply this difference by 75 percent and enter 
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the result on Form 20, line 30 as a subtraction from the 
total tax. Attach the computation schedule to the Oregon 
return.

On the tax adjustment line of each of the first three 
returns of the new S corporation, add one-third of the tax 
that was deferred from the last year of the C corporation. 
The tax on LIFO benefit recapture will be in addition to 
the Oregon minimum tax, if any. (ORS 314.750)

Payments, penalty, interest, and UND
Line 32. Estimated tax and prepayments

Schedule ES—Estimated tax payments or other pre-
payments. Fill in the total estimated tax payments made 
before filing your Oregon return. Include any payments 
made with Form 20-V. Also include any refund applied 
from your previous year’s tax return or an Oregon 
amended return on line 5. List name and FEIN of payer 
only if different from corporation filing this return. On 
line 6, enter payments made with your extension or other 
prepayments.

Claim of right credit. A claim of right exists when you 
are taxed on income and later find you have no right to 
that income and must repay it. Oregon allows a claim 
of right credit if your federal tax liability is computed 
under IRC §1341(a). See OAR 150-315.068 for more infor-
mation on computing the credit.

Consolidated return filers. If estimated payments were 
made under a different name, fill in the paying corpora-
tion’s name and FEIN on the schedule for correct appli-
cation of estimated payments.

Total. On line 8, enter the total of lines 1 through 7, then 
carry total to Form 20, line 32.

Line 33. Withholding payments

If taxes were paid on the corporation’s behalf, enter the 
amount on line 33.

Beginning with transactions occurring on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2008, there is a requirement to withhold tax from 
the proceeds of sales of Oregon real property by non-
residents. This applies to individual nonresidents as 
well as C corporations that are not doing business in 
Oregon. The amount to be withheld is the least of three 
amounts:

•	4 percent of the consideration (sales price);
•	4 percent of the net proceeds (amount dispersed to the 

seller); or
•	10 percent of the gain that is includible in Oregon tax-

able income for the year.

Withholding is not required if one of the following 
requirements is met:

•	The consideration for the real property does not exceed 
$100,000;

•	The property is acquired through foreclosure;

•	The transferor (owner) is a resident of Oregon—or if a 
C corporation—has a permanent place of business in 
this state; or

•	The transferor receives professional advice that the 
transfer will not result in Oregon taxable income.

See instructions for Oregon Form OR-18, Report of Tax 
Payments on Real Property Conveyances, 150-101-183, or 
OAR 150-314.258 for more information.

Pass-through entity withholding requirement. A 
pass-through entity (S corporation, partnership, or LLC 
treated as a partnership) with one or more nonresident 
owners that have no other Oregon-source income are 
required to withhold tax on the nonresident owner’s dis-
tributive share of income.

The requirement is waived if the nonresident owner 
makes an election to join in the filing of a composite 
return, sends us a signed Oregon Affidavit for a Nonresi-
dent Owner of a Pass-through Entity, or meets another 
exception listed in OAR 150-314.775. See instructions for 
Oregon Form OR-19, Annual Report of Nonresident Owner 
Tax Payments, 150-101-182, for more information.

Line 36. Penalty

To avoid penalty and interest, you must mail any tax 
payment owed by the original due date of the tax return. 
You must also mail your tax return by the original due 
date, or by the extended due date if you file with a valid 
extension attached. 

Enter the following penalties on your return if they 
apply. 

5 percent failure-to-pay penalty

Include a penalty payment of 5 percent of your unpaid 
tax if you don’t pay by the original due date, even if you 
have an extension of time to file. 

Exception:

You won’t be charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay pen-
alty if you meet all of the following requirements:

•	You have a valid federal or Oregon extension, and 
•	You pay at least 90 percent of your tax after credits by 

the original due date of the return, and
•	You file your return within the extension period, and
•	You pay the balance of tax due when you file your 

return, and
•	You pay the interest on the balance of tax due when 

you file your return or within 30 days of the date of the 
bill you receive from us.

If you file with a valid extension but did not pay 90 per-
cent of your tax by the original due date, you will be 
charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay penalty.

20 percent failure-to-file penalty

Include a penalty payment of 20 percent of your unpaid 
tax if you don’t file your return within three months 
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after the due date (including extensions). The failure-to-
file penalty is in addition to the 5 percent failure-to-pay 
penalty.

100 percent late pay and late filing penalty

Include a penalty payment of 100 percent of your unpaid 
tax if you don’t file returns for three consecutive years 
by the original or extended return filing due date of the 
third year. 100 percent penalty is assessed on each year’s 
tax balance.

Line 37. Interest

•	You must pay interest on unpaid taxes if you don’t pay 
the tax balance by the original filing due date.

•	An interest period is each full month, starting with 
the day after the due date of the original return. For 
example, April 16 through May 15 is one full interest 
period.

•	Interest is figured daily for a fraction of a month, based 
on a 365-day year.

•	Interest owed on tax starts the day after the due date 
of your original return and ends on the date of your 
payment.

•	Even if you get an extension to file, you still owe inter-
est if you pay after the return’s original due date.

•	If you file an amended return and have tax to pay, we 
will charge interest starting the day after the due date 
of the original return until the date you pay in full.

•	If your taxable income is changed because of a federal 
or state audit and you owe more tax, we will charge 
interest from the due date of the original return to the 
date you pay in full.

To calculate interest:

Tax  ×  Annual interest rate  ×  Number of full years.

Tax  ×  Monthly interest rate  ×  Number of full months.

Tax  ×  Daily interest rate  ×  Number of days.

Interest rates and effective dates:

 For periods 
beginning  Annually  Monthly  Daily

 January 1, 2013 4% 0.3333%  0.0110%
 January 1, 2012 5% 0.4167%  0.0137%
 January 1, 2011 5% 0.4167%  0.0137%
 January 1, 2010 5% 0.4167%  0.0137%

Interest accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension 
of time to file.

Interest will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month 
(4 percent yearly) on delinquencies if:

•	You file a return showing tax due, or we assessed an 
existing deficiency; and

•	The assessment is not paid within 60 days after the 
notice of assessment is issued; and

•	You have not filed a timely appeal.

Line 38. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax 
(UND)

You must make quarterly estimated tax payments if 
you expect to owe $500 or more with your return. 
This includes Oregon’s minimum tax. Oregon charges 
UND if:

•	The quarterly payment is less than the amount due for 
that quarter; or

•	We receive the quarterly payment after that quarter’s 
due date; or

•	No quarterly payments are made during the year and 
the final tax debt is $500 or more.

Use Form 37 to:

•	Calculate the amount of underpayment of estimated 
tax;

•	Compute the interest you owe on the underpayment; 
or

•	Show you meet an exception to the payment of interest.

If you have an underpayment, attach Form 37—with 
the “Form 37” box checked—to your tax return, and file 
them before the due date of the return.

If your current year corporation tax liability, including 
the minimum tax, is less than $500, you don’t need to 
make estimated payments. Don’t complete this form. 
However, this provision does not apply to a high-income 
taxpayer. A “high-income taxpayer” is one that had fed-
eral taxable income, before net operating loss and capital 
loss carryovers and carrybacks, of $1 million or more in 
any one of the last three years, not including the current 
year.

Line 40. Total due

See Filing checklist on page 7.

Special instructions

•	If you owe penalty or interest and have an overpay-
ment on line 35, and your overpayment is less than 
total penalty and interest, then fill in the result of line 
39 minus line 35, on line 40.

•	If you mail a check or money order to pay tax, penal
ties, or interest separate from filing your tax return, 
include Form 20-V, 150-102-172. (Do not send the 
Department Form 20-V payment voucher unless it 
includes a check or money order payment.).

Schedule AF instructions
If you file a consolidated Oregon return and have more 
than one affiliate doing business in Oregon or with Ore-
gon-source income, you must complete Schedule AF and 
submit it with your Oregon return.

List on Schedule AF only those affiliates doing busi-
ness in Oregon, or with Oregon-source income, that are 
included in the Oregon consolidated return.

Please report the following on Schedule AF:
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•	Name and address of each affiliate doing business in 
Oregon or with Oregon-source income;

•	FEIN;
•	BIN;
•	Date the affiliate became part of the unitary group if 

this occurred during the tax year being reported;
•	Date the affiliate left the unitary group if this occurred 

during the tax year being reported.

Include as many schedules as necessary to list all the 
appropriate corporations.
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Appendix A
Corporation Form 20

2012 Schedule ASC-CORP Codes
Other Additions	 Code
Bad debt reserve federal exceeding Oregon.............................................................................................................................156
Capital construction fund...........................................................................................................................................................152
Child Care Division & community agency contributions......................................................................................................153
Claim of right income repayment..............................................................................................................................................173
Contributions of computers or scientific equipment..............................................................................................................154
Deferred gain from out-of-state disposition of property.......................................................................................................118
Dependent care credits................................................................................................................................................................155
Depletion (percentage in excess of cost)...................................................................................................................................166
Depreciation differences.............................................................................................................................................................174
Film production development contributions...........................................................................................................................157
Gain or loss on disposition of depreciable property...............................................................................................................158
Income from sources outside U.S..............................................................................................................................................159
Individual development accounts credit..................................................................................................................................113
Intangible and interest expense add-back................................................................................................................................160
Inventory costs.............................................................................................................................................................................161
IRC §139A federal subsidies for prescription drugs...............................................................................................................123
IRC §631(a) treatment of timber not recognized by Oregon..................................................................................................162
Long-term care insurance premiums........................................................................................................................................163
Losses of nonunitary corporations............................................................................................................................................164
Net federal capital loss deduction.............................................................................................................................................165
QPAI deductions..........................................................................................................................................................................102
Qualified research and development credit.............................................................................................................................167
REITs and RICs.............................................................................................................................................................................168
Safe harbor lease agreements.....................................................................................................................................................169
Trust for cultural development account contributions ..........................................................................................................170
University venture fund contributions.....................................................................................................................................171
Unknown addition.......................................................................................................................................................................199
Unused business credits..............................................................................................................................................................122

Other Credits	 Code
Alternative fuel vehicle fueling stations carryfoward............................................................................................................401
Biomass production or collection..............................................................................................................................................743
Biomass production or collection carryfoward.......................................................................................................................943
Business energy conservation facilities carryfoward..............................................................................................................903
Child Care Division and community agency contributions..................................................................................................705
Child Care Division and community agency contributions carryfoward...........................................................................905
Claim of right................................................................................................................................................................................706
Contribution of computers or scientific equipment for research..........................................................................................800
Contribution of computers or scientific equipment for research carryfoward...................................................................900
Crop donation carryfoward........................................................................................................................................................403
Dependent care assistance (employer provided) carryfoward.............................................................................................907
Dependent care facilities (employer provided) carryfoward................................................................................................901
Diesel engine replacement carryfoward...................................................................................................................................404
Diesel engine repower or retrofit carryfoward........................................................................................................................405
Electronic commerce in enterprise zone or city.......................................................................................................................710
Electronic commerce in enterprise zone or city carryfoward................................................................................................910
Employee and dependent scholarship program payments...................................................................................................711
Employee and dependent scholarship program payments carryfoward............................................................................911
Energy conservation project Carryforward.............................................................................................................................950
Energy manufacturing facility carryfoward............................................................................................................................948
Energy transportation project carryfoward.............................................................................................................................951
Farm machinery and equipment income carryfoward..........................................................................................................407
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Farmworker housing construction............................................................................................................................................712
Farmworker housing construction carryfoward.....................................................................................................................912
Film production development contributions...........................................................................................................................737
Film production development contributions carryfoward....................................................................................................937
First break program carryfoward..............................................................................................................................................406
Fish screening devices.................................................................................................................................................................714
Fish screening devices carryfoward..........................................................................................................................................914
Individual development accounts.............................................................................................................................................715
Individual development accounts carryfoward......................................................................................................................915
Lender’s credit: affordable housing..........................................................................................................................................802
Lender’s credit: affordable housing carryfoward...................................................................................................................902
Lender’s credit: energy conservation carryfoward.................................................................................................................409
Lender’s credit: farmworker housing.......................................................................................................................................803
Long-term care insurance...........................................................................................................................................................716
Long-term rural enterprize zone facilities................................................................................................................................804
Long-term rural enterprize zone facilities carryfoward.........................................................................................................904
Mile-based or time-based motor vehicle insurance................................................................................................................805
On-farm processing facilities carryfoward...............................................................................................................................408
Pollution control facilities carryfoward....................................................................................................................................925
Qualified equity investment.......................................................................................................................................................806
Qualified equity investment carryfoward................................................................................................................................906
Qualified research activities carryfoward................................................................................................................................919
Qualified research alternative carryfoward.............................................................................................................................913
Reforestation carryfoward..........................................................................................................................................................410
Renewable energy contribution carryfoward..........................................................................................................................949
Reservation enterprise zone.......................................................................................................................................................728
Tax paid on intangible expense add-back................................................................................................................................809
Trust for cultural development account contributions...........................................................................................................722
University venture development fund contributions ............................................................................................................739
University venture development fund contributions carryfoward......................................................................................939
Unknown credit............................................................................................................................................................................899
Unknown credit carryfoward.....................................................................................................................................................999
Voluntary removal of riparian land from farm production carryfoward............................................................................411
Weatherization lender’s credit ..................................................................................................................................................817
Weatherization lender’s credit carryfoward............................................................................................................................917
Wolf depredation..........................................................................................................................................................................818
Wolf depredation carryfoward...................................................................................................................................................918

Other Subtractions	 Code
Bad debt reserve Oregon exceeding federal.............................................................................................................................359
Charitable contribution...............................................................................................................................................................351
Deferred gain from out-of-state disposition of property.......................................................................................................352
Depletion Oregon in excess of federal allowance...................................................................................................................362
Depreciation differences.............................................................................................................................................................353
Federal credits..............................................................................................................................................................................354
Federal investment tax credit on certain assets.......................................................................................................................355
Film production labor rebate......................................................................................................................................................336
Gain or loss on sale of depreciable property............................................................................................................................356
Inventory costs.............................................................................................................................................................................357
Land donation or bargain sale of land to educational institutions.......................................................................................350
Losses from outside U.S..............................................................................................................................................................358
Manufactured dwelling park tenant payments.......................................................................................................................344
Oregon Investment Advantage..................................................................................................................................................342
REITs and RICs.............................................................................................................................................................................360
Sale of manufactured dwelling park.........................................................................................................................................338
Unknown subtraction..................................................................................................................................................................399

Items with a specific line on the form do not have a code. See Form 20.


