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New information
New for 2015. You may file your transit district self-employ-
ment tax return through the federal/state e-filing program. For 
more information about e-filing, to make payments, or check 
account status, go to our website at www.oregon.gov/dor.

Important reminders
TriMet (TM) has its own payment voucher, Form TM-V. 
Please include this voucher with your payment.

If your partnership uses a fiscal year, you still must file on 
a calendar year basis.

Self-employment income is apportioned to Oregon using a 
100 percent sales factor unless you are a taxpayer primarily 
engaged in utilities or telecommunications and elect to use 
the double-weighted sales factor formula. 

What is the TriMet self-employment tax?
The TriMet tax helps fund mass transportation in the TriMet 
District. This tax is applied to self-employment earnings of 
individuals doing business or providing services in the dis-
trict. This includes portions of Multnomah, Clackamas, and 
Washington counties. The Oregon Department of Revenue 
collects the tax for TriMet.

A list of ZIP codes included in the district boundary is on 
page 4. For more information, call TriMet at 503-962-6466, or 
visit www.trimet.org/taxinfo.

The tax rate is 0.007237 (0.7237 of 1 percent).

Who must file and pay this tax?

Individuals

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from business 
or service activities carried on in the TriMet District must 
pay this tax.

People who must pay the self-employment tax include:

• Self-employed individuals, sole proprietors, independent 
contractors, members of a partnership, and persons who 
have net self-employment earnings greater than $400 from 
doing business or providing services within the TriMet 
District.

•	Real estate agents. Federal laws generally treat real estate 
agents as self-employed. This includes those who provide 
services to real estate brokers under contract. This means 
that commissions on sales are subject to the TriMet self-
employment tax.

•	Fiscal year filers. If you're a fiscal year filer and your tax 
year begins in 2015, you should file on a 2015 tax return.

Partnerships

Partnerships are not subject to the TriMet self-employment 
tax.

The individual self-employed members of the partnership 
are responsible for filing and paying the tax. However, a 
partnership may choose to file one transit self-employment 
tax return and pay the tax for all of its individual partners. 
See “Partnership election” instructions on page 3.

Exemptions

•	Ministers—Compensation received by a minister or mem-
ber of a religious order when performing religious services 
is not subject to this tax. However, compensation received 
for performing religious services as an independent con-
tractor has been and remains subject to this tax.

•	Insurance agents—The exemption applies only to 
insurance-related income. Noninsurance-related self-
employment activities are subject to this tax (ORS 731.840).

•	C and S corporation distributions are not subject to this 
tax. However, all employers who pay wages for services 
performed in the district must pay a transit payroll tax. 
This includes corporation officers who receive compensa-
tion for services performed. For more information about 
payroll transit tax, call 503-945-8091.

How to file
Visit us online at www.oregon.gov/dor for current informa-
tion about electronic filing.

Complete Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return and 
include the following:

• Federal Schedule SE.
• Form TSE-AP if you are apportioning.

Payments

To make payments online, visit us at www.oregon.gov/dor.

2015 Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District Form TM and Instructions

These instructions aren't a complete statement of laws and rules that apply to the Tri-County Metropolitan 
Transportation District self-employment tax. For more information, visit www.oregon.gov/dor/business, 
on the left menu, go to Self-Employment Taxes, then click on Transit District Self-Employment Taxes.

TriMet Self-Employment Tax
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To pay by mail, make your check or money order payable 
to "Oregon Department of Revenue" and include it with a 
Form TM-V payment voucher.
On your check, write the following:

•	Daytime telephone number.
•	Tax year.
•	"Form TM."
•	SSN or FEIN.

Mail to: TMSE
 Oregon Department of Revenue
 PO Box 14003
 Salem OR 97309-2502

Important filing information

•	Do not combine your TriMet self-employment tax pay-
ment with any other tax payment made to the Oregon 
Department of Revenue.

•	Do not attach your Form TM to your Oregon income tax 
return.

•	E-file or mail your transit return to the Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue. 

File one TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return for all of your 
self-employment earnings.

To avoid penalty and interest, file your return and pay your 
tax by the due date.

Frequently asked questions

I have more than one business. How should I file my 
TriMet return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities within 
the district, include a schedule that shows net earnings or 
losses for each business. Compute the TriMet self-employment 
income from the total net income of all your Schedule C 
activities within the same transit district. See instructions  
for line 1 on page 3.

Can I file a joint return?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings must 
file a separate Form TM. That’s true even if you and your 
spouse filed a joint federal income tax return. The only 
exception is a partnership filing for all partners. Both 
spouses could be members of the same partnership.

I’m getting a refund on my Oregon individual income 
tax return. Can I have that refund applied to this tax?

No. We cannot apply any income tax refund to pay your 
TriMet self-employment tax.

Can I file my transit self-employment tax  
return electronically?

Yes. Visit us online at www.oregon.gov/dor for current 
information about electronic filing.

Can I file an amended transit self-employment  
tax return?

Yes. File an amended transit return any time you need to 
correct your return as originally filed. Generally, you are 
allowed three years from the due date of the return or 
the date the return was filed, whichever is later, to file an 
amended return to claim a refund. Check the “amended 
return” box on your transit return.

What if business is done both inside and outside of  
the district?

Use an apportionment formula by completing Form TSE-AP. 
Self-employment income is apportioned using a 100 percent 
sales factor unless you are a qualifying taxpayer in utilities 
or telecommunications. A taxpayer primarily engaged in 
utilities or telecommunications may elect to use the double-
weighted sales factor formula.

What if I’m audited by the IRS?

If changes are made that affect your self-employment 
earnings, file an amended return to report and pay any 
additional tax due. If the change reduces your transit tax, 
you have two years from the date of the audit report to claim 
a refund.

See more FAQs at www.oregon.gov/dor/business, on the 
left menu, go to Business FAQs, then click on Transit District 
Self-Employment Taxes.

When to file
Your TriMet return is generally due the same day as your 
federal and Oregon individual income tax returns. For most 
taxpayers, the 2015 due date is April 18, 2016. For individuals 
filing a fiscal year return, the return is due on the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the end of the fiscal year. When 
the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
due date will be the next business day.

Extensions to file
If you received a federal extension or an extension to file 
your federal or Oregon individual income tax return, it will 
also extend your TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return. Check 
the “An extension has been filed” box on your Form TM. 
Do not include your extension but retain with your records. 

Extensions are for more time to file a tax return only. 
There are no extensions for paying tax. If you have 
an extension, you must make your payment by the 
original due date of the return to avoid a penalty and 
interest charge. Complete Form TM-V and send it 
with your payment of tax. Form TM-V is available at  
www.oregon.gov/dor.  Be sure to use the same name and 
Social Security number (SSN) or federal employer identifica-
tion number (FEIN) that you will use on your return when 
you file.
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If you can't pay all the tax you expect to owe, pay what you 
can, then call us as soon as possible to set up a payment plan 
to reduce penalties and interest.

Partnership election
A partnership may elect to file and pay the transit self-employ-
ment tax for the individual partners. The partnership must use 
net earnings from self-employment as reported on federal Form 
1065 to figure the tax. Do not make Oregon modifications to 
the partnership’s earnings. If some partners have different tax 
years than others, net earnings from self-employment is deter-
mined using amounts from different tax years.

The partnership’s return and payment shall be based upon 
the net earnings from self-employment of the individual 
partners from the partnership for their taxable years ending 
with or within the calendar year.

You must provide, on a schedule included with Form TM, 
the name, SSN, share of partnership income, and individual 
exclusion for each partner. Your return cannot be processed 
without this information.

Due date: April 18, 2016. The partnership must file a return 
and pay the tax due on or before April 18, 2016.

Example: If a partnership has a tax year ending August 31, 
2015, the partnership must pay on or before April 18, 2016, 
the tax due from the partners' net earnings from the partner-
ship for its taxable year ending August 31, 2015.

Partners: If your partnership is filing on behalf of all part-
ners, you do not need to file a separate Form TM unless 
you have net self-employment earnings from sources other 
than the partnership. Report only these additional net self-
employment earnings on your individual Form TM.

Amended returns
If you need to amend your tax return, use the Form TM for 
the specific tax year. You must file an amended return to 
claim a refund of tax paid. To file an amended return, use 
the appropriate form for the year of the original return and 
check the “amended return” box. Include an explanation 
of the changes made with the return. Oregon doesn't have a 
separate amended transit tax return.

Form TM instructions
If you are amending your return, check the "amended 
return" box in the upper right corner.

Name and address section

Individuals: Fill in your name, business address, telephone 
number, and SSN.

Important. Do not include a FEIN (federal employer identi-
fication number) if you are filing as an individual.

The request for your SSN(s) is authorized by Section 405, 
Title 42, United States Code. You must give us this informa-
tion. It will be used to establish your identity.

Partnerships: Fill in the partnership name, address, tele-
phone number, and FEIN. 

Check the box if any apply:

•	An extension has been filed.
•	Utility or telecommunications.

Line instructions—Form TM
Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the return.

Rounding to whole dollars. Enter amounts on the return and 
accompanying schedules as whole dollars only. Example: 
$4,681.55 becomes $4,682; and $8,775.22 becomes $8,775.

Line 1. Self-employment earnings. 

•	Individuals: Fill in the amount from federal Schedule SE, 
Section A, line 3; or Section B, line 3 unless you meet one 
of the exemptions.

More than one business included on federal Schedule SE? 
Only include businesses from line 3 of your federal Sched-
ule SE that are doing business or providing services in the 
TriMet District. You may use a business with a net loss to 
offset a business with net earnings if they are both within 
the TriMet District.  

Example: Business A has net earnings of $20,000 and Busi-
ness B has a net loss of $10,000. Both businesses are in the 
TriMet District. The amount on line 3 of your federal sched-
ule SE is $10,000. Fill in line 1 on Form TM the amount of 
$10,000. File one return. Include a schedule with the return 
and list each separate business and their net earnings or 
losses. There are no carry-forward of losses to another year.

Did you receive Partnership income? Did the partnership 
file Form TM and pay the tax for the partners? If so, reduce 
the amount from your federal Schedule SE, Section A, line 
3; or Section B, line 3 by the amount of your income from 
that partnership. 

Important. Do not make Oregon changes or modifications to 
federal income on Form TM. Your earnings that are subject 
to TriMet self-employment tax will generally be the same as 
the earnings you report on your federal Schedule SE, Section 
A, line 3; or Section B, line 3.

•	Partnerships: Fill in the net earnings from federal Partner-
ship Form 1065. Do not include Oregon modifications. 

	 Note: Partnership net earnings may be netted with Sched-
ule C gains or losses for TriMet tax purposes.

Line 2. Apportionment:
•	Percentage cannot be less than 0 percent or more than  

100 percent.
•	Round the percentage to four decimal places. For example, 

12.34558 percent should be 12.3456 percent.
•	If all of your business activity is within the transit district 

do not fill out the Form TSE-AP.
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•	Fill out and include a completed Form TSE-AP with Form 
TM if your business activity is carried on both in and out 
of the district.

Note: If you have multiple businesses within the district 
that must apportion income or losses: determine each busi-
ness's apportionment percentage separately; apply each 
percentage to the earnings of the respective business; add 
the amounts; and enter on line 3. Include a schedule showing 
your calculations.

For example: Business 1 Business 2
Sales in District $20,000 $5,000
Gross Sales 100,000 5,000
Apportionment 20.0000% 100.0000%
Total Earnings (Loss) 25,000 (1,000)
Earnings in District 5,000 (1,000)
Net earnings to enter on line 3 $4,000

Line 4. Exclusion. Each taxpayer’s exclusion is the lesser of 
the taxpayer’s self-employment earnings (line 3), or $400.

Individuals: Enter $400 or the amount on line 3, whichever 
is less. Was the exclusion partially or completely used on 
another 2015 Form TM filed by your partnership? If so, fill 
in only the unused amount of the $400 exclusion.

Partnerships. Enter $400 for only those partners whose 
share of positive earnings are included in the amount on 
line 3. If any partner’s exclusion was partially or completely 
used on another 2015 Form TM, include on line 4 only that 
partner’s unused amount of the $400 exclusion. Each partner 
is responsible for ensuring that the total of all exclusions 
does not exceed $400.

Do not include any partner with a loss.

Line 7. Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any advance pay-
ments you made for TriMet self-employment tax for this 
tax year.

Line 8. Tax to pay. Include your check or money order payable 
to the Oregon Department of Revenue. Write your daytime 
telephone number and “2015 Oregon Form TM” on your 
check and include the Form TM-V payment voucher. An 
expected refund from your state income tax cannot be used 
to pay your transit tax.

Line 9. Penalty and interest. For filing or paying late.

Due date. Form TM is generally due the same day as your 
federal and Oregon income tax returns. For a calendar year 
return, this is April 18, 2016.

Interest. If you are paying your tax after the due date, 
include interest on any unpaid tax.

If you do not pay the tax by the due date, interest will be 
charged on the unpaid tax. Interest periods generally begin 
the day after the return is due. Interest is figured daily for 
periods of less than a month. A month, for example, is May 
16 to June 15. Interest rates may change once a calendar year.

To calculate interest due:

•	Tax  ×  Annual interest rate  ×  Number of full years.
•	Tax  ×  Monthly interest rate  ×  Number of months.
•	Tax  ×  Daily interest rate  ×  Number of days.

Interest rates and effective dates:

For periods beginning Annual Monthly Daily
January 1, 2016 4% 0.3333% 0.0110%
January 1, 2015 4% 0.3333% 0.0110%
January 1, 2014 4% 0.3333% 0.0110%

Interest accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension of 
time to file.

Additional interest on deficiencies and delinquencies. 
Interest will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month on 
unpaid tax. If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, 
the interest rate increases by 4 percent per year.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you: 

• Mail your payment of tax due after the due date (even if 
you have an extension), or

• File your return showing tax due after the due date, includ-
ing any extension.

Possible penalties may include:

•	5 percent for failure to pay by the due date of the return.
•	20 percent for failure to file the return within three 

months of the due date of the return.
•	100 percent if you do not file three or more required 

returns by the due date of the third year's return.

Sign your return. Please sign and date your return before 
mailing.

TriMet ZIP codes

TriMet serves the Portland Metropolitan area, which includes 
parts of Multnomah, Washington, and Clackamas counties. 
For information on TriMet boundaries, call 503-962-6466 or 
access the TriMet website at www.trimet.org/taxinfo.

ZIP codes completely in TriMet Transit District

97005 97036 97206 97216 97225 97256
97006 97068 97209 97217 97227 97258
97008 97077 97210 97218 97229 97266
97024 97201 97211 97219 97230 97267
97027 97202 97212 97220 97232
97030 97203 97213 97221 97233
97034 97204 97214 97222 97236
97035 97205 97215 97223 97239



	 5 150-555-001 (Rev. 10-15)  

ZIP codes partially in TriMet Transit District

97007 97022 97062 97089 97124
97009 97023 97070 97113 97140
97015 97045 97080 97116 97224
97019 97060 97086 97123 97231

PO Box ZIP codes completely in TriMet District          

97075 97228 97268 97282 97291 97296
97076 97238 97269 97283 97292 97298
97207 97240 97280 97286 97293
97208 97242 97281 97290 97294

Taxpayer assistance

Have questions? Need help?
General tax information.......................... www.oregon.gov/dor
	 Salem.................................................................. 503-378-4988 
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix.....................1-800-356-4222
	 Email..............................................tse.help.dor@oregon.gov

	 This email address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. 

Asistencia en español:
	 En Salem o fuera de Oregon........................... 503-378-4988
	 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon.........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
	 Salem area or outside Oregon.........................503-945-8617
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix.................. 1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers above for information in alternative formats.

TriMet Transit District boundary information

	 Telephone........................................................... 503-962-6466 
	 Internet...........................................www.trimet.org/taxinfo
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•	
	
•	   

For office use only
Date received

Payment

•

•

• •
1 2 3

Fiscal year
beginning:

• Mo Day Year

/ /
Mo Day Year

/ /• Fiscal year
ending:

An extension has been filed

Utility or telecommunications

	 1. Self-employment earnings from federal Schedule SE or Partnership Form 1065......................     1
	 2. Apportionment percentage (round to 4 decimal places)...................................................................2
	 3. Net self-employment earnings. Multiply line 1 by line 2..............................................................     3
	 4. Less: Exclusion. Not more than $400 per taxpayer....................................................................     4
	 5. Net earnings subject to transit district tax. Line 3 minus line 4..................................................     5
	 6. Net tax. Multiply the amount on line 5 by 0.007237....................................................................     6
	 7. Prepayments...............................................................................................................................     7
	 8. TAX TO PAY. Is line 6 more than line 7? If so, line 6 minus line 7.........................TAX TO PAY      8
	 9. Penalty and interest for filing or paying late......................................................................................9
	 10. Total amount due. Line 8 plus line 9................................................................................................ 10
	 11. REFUND. Is line 7 more than line 6? If so, line 7 minus line 6....................................REFUND    11

Individuals: Include a copy of your federal Schedule SE.  Business activity:       Sales      Services       Other: _ __________________
Partnerships:	 Include a schedule listing each partner’s name, Social Security number, partnership earnings, and exclusion.
Apportioning? Include a copy of TSE-AP. 

• •
Last name (if an individual filing)

Partnership name (if a partnership filing)

Business address

City State ZIP code

Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

Did you file Form TM for 2014?

Social Security number (SSN)First name and initial

County Telephone

Yes

No (if No, give reason) ________________________________________________________________________

Include your payment with this return.                                                                                                 Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar. 

•

•
•
•
•
•
•

•
%

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature

/ /
Date

License No. Telephone

Address of preparer

City State ZIP code

X X

S
IG

N
 H

E
R

E

Under penalty of false swearing, I declare that the information in this return and any enclosures is true, correct, and complete.

•

Do NOT attach your TM self-employment tax return to your Oregon income tax return, or any other form.

Make check or money order payable to:
Oregon Department of Revenue

Mail your return to: 
TMSE, Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14003, Salem OR 97309-2502

•

••

•

•

• •

•

 If you have previously 
filed a return, indicate if:

Name change

Address change

2015•

Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District

Self-Employment Tax

FORM

TM•
Amended Return •

08541501010000
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