
Should I file?

When to file the transit tax
Your transit tax is reported quarterly using the 
Oregon Quarterly Tax Report (Form OQ). Make your 
payment using the payment coupon, Form OTC, or 
through the department’s electronic fund transfer 
(EFT). For EFT information, please call 503-945-8100 
option 4 then option 1.

How to figure the transit tax
Multiply the gross taxable payroll earned within 
the transit district by the current transit rate. The 
current rate should be printed in the TriMet/LTD 
portion of the Oregon Quarterly Combined Tax 
Report (Form OQ).

Exempt payroll
The following are exempt from transit payroll taxes:

1.	 Federal credit unions.
2.	 Public school districts.
3.	 501(c)(3) nonprofit and tax-exempt institutions 

(except hospitals).
4.	 Insurance companies (except domestic 

insurers).
5.	 Domestic service in a private home.

The following are exempt from LTD, but subject to 
TriMet taxes:

1.	 Public education districts.
2.	 Public special service and utility districts.
3.	 Port authorities.
4.	 Fire districts.
5.	 City, county, and other local governments.

For more definitions of exempt payroll for payroll 
taxes, refer to the Oregon Business Guide.

Penalty and interest
We charge:

•	 A 5 percent penalty on any unpaid tax after the 
return’s due date;

•	 An additional 20 percent penalty on any tax due 
if Form OQ is filed more than one month late;

•	 A 100 percent penalty on any tax due if Form OQ 
is not filed for three consecutive years;

•	 Interest, at the current rate, on the unpaid tax 
from the return’s due date.

Contact
For more information on TriMet or LTD tax, call the 
Oregon Department of Revenue, 503-945-8100.

Self-employment transit tax
If you have self-employment earnings within a transit 
district, they may be subject to transit self-employment 
tax. For more information, call 503-378-4988.

Download forms from:  
www.oregon.gov/dor/pages/index.aspx 

or write to:

Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990
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If you use a payroll service or a 
tax preparer, please be sure your 
preparer is filing and depositing 
correctly for transit taxes.
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Transit district taxes
The Oregon Department of Revenue administers tax 
programs for the Tri-County Metropolitan Trans-
portation District (TriMet) and the Lane County 
Mass Transit District (LTD). Nearly every employer 
who pays wages for services performed in these 
districts must pay transit payroll tax.

The transit tax is imposed directly on the employer. 
The tax is figured only on the amount of gross payroll 
for services performed within the TriMet or Lane 
Transit Districts. This includes traveling sales repre-
sentatives and employees working from home.

Who must file and pay?
All employers, including nonresident employers, 
who are paying wages earned in the TriMet or LTD 
districts must register and file with the Oregon 
Department of Revenue. Wages include all sala-
ries, commissions, tips, bonuses, fees, payments 
to a deferred compensation plan, or other items of 
value.

Your payroll service may not be aware that you 
have employees working in the transit districts. If 
so, you need to contact the service regarding your 
reporting and payment responsibility.

How to register
If you are a new employer and subject to the transit 
tax, you may register online at sos.oregon.gov/
business/pages/register.aspx or by completing 
the Combined Employer’s Registration, 150-211-055, 
including the transit tax section.

If you’re registered and have employees in the tran-
sit tax districts, complete the Oregon Combined Pay-
roll Tax Business Change in Status Form, 150-211-156.

You can download these forms from: 
www.oregon.gov/dor/bus, or order them by 
calling 503-945-8100.

ZIP code list
Use this list as a guideline to help determine if you 
have employees in the TriMet Transit District. Some 
ZIP codes may not coincide with the district bound-
aries. For TriMet boundary information, call TriMet, 
503-962-6466.

ZIP codes completely in TriMet Transit District
97003 97036 97209 97218 97230
97005 97068 97210 97219 97232
97006 97077 97211 97220 97233
97008 97201 97212 97221 97236
97024 97202 97213 97222 97239
97027 97203 97214 97223 97256
97030 97204 97215 97225 97258
97034 97205 97216 97227 97266
97035 97206 97217 97229 97267
 
ZIP codes partially in TriMet Transit District
97007 97023 97078 97116 97231
97009 97045 97080 97123
97015 97060 97086 97124
97019 97062 97089 97140
97022 97070 97113 97224

Counties
Clackamas, Multnomah, Washington

TriMet Transit District rate
1/1/09 to 12/31/09	 0.006718
1/1/10 to 12/31/10	 0.006818
1/1/11 to 12/31/11	 0.006918
1/1/12 to 12/31/12	 0.007018
1/1/13 to 12/31/13	 0.007137
1/1/14 to 12/31/15	 0.007237
1/1/16 to 12/31/16 	 0.007337
1/1/17 to 12/31/17 	  0.007437

Deleted from TriMet
(Transit still subject before the deletion date)
Boring	 1/1/13
Canby	 1/1/02
Sandy	 1/1/00

Wilsonville	 1/1/89
Molalla	 1/1/89
Damascus	 1/1/89

ZIP code list
Use this list as a guideline to help determine if you 
have employees in the Lane Transit District. Some ZIP 
codes may not coincide with the district boundaries. 
For Lane Transit boundary information, call LTD, 
541-682-6100.

City	 ZIP code
Blue River	 97413
Coburg	 97408
Cottage Grove	 97424
Creswell	 97426
Dexter	 97431
Elmira	 97437
Eugene	 97401–97405
Eugene	 97408
Eugene	 97440
Fall Creek	 97438
Finn Rock	 97488
Goshen	 97405
Jasper	 97438
Junction City	 97448
Lancaster	 97448
Leaburg	 97489
Lowell	 97452
Maywood	 97413
McKenzie Bridge	 97413
Pleasant Hill	 97455
Springfield                       97475, 97477, 97478
Thurston	 97482
Trent	 97431
Veneta	 97487
Vida	 97488
Walterville	 97488

County 
Lane

Lane Transit District rate
1/1/10 to 12/31/10 0.0066
1/1/11 to 12/31/11 0.0067
1/1/12 to 12/31/12 0.0068
1/1/13 to 12/31/13 0.0069
1/1/14 to 12/31/15 0.0070
1/1/16 to 12/31/16  0.0071
1/1/17 to 12/31/17    0.0072


