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Using this Handhook

This handbook contains general instruc-
tions and basic information about Work
Share Unemployment Insurance benefits.

This handbook supplements the Claimant
Handbook which has information about
traditional Unemployment Insurance
benefits.

To protect your rights, it is important you
read and understand the information in
both handbooks.

These handbooks do not cover all laws
and rules that affect Unemployment In-
surance benefits. The applicable laws are
identified under ORS 657.370 to 657.390.

You can find additional information,
including the laws and rules associated
with Work Share on our website:

www.oregonworkshare.com.
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What is Work Share?

Work Share is a program that offers em-
ployers an alternative to laying off their
employees. Instead, the employer reduces
the hours of work for the employee. The
employer reduces its payroll expenses,
while workers may receive partial Unem-
ployment Insurance benefits to partially
offset their reduced wages.

This handbook covers the difference be-
tween a Work Share claim and a regular
Unemployment Insurance benefit claim
including:

* How to file a Work Share initial claim
application

* How to claim weekly benefits within
the Work Share program

+ Taking time off work
* Actively seeking work

* Calculating Work Share benefit
payments

Work Share Initial Claim Application
When your employer applies to participate
in the Work Share program, they send a
written plan to the Oregon Employment
Department. The plan lists the employees
selected to participate in the Work Share
program and certifies the hours of their
regular work week, that they have worked
full time for the last six months, or part
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time for the last 12 months, and that they
are not seasonal, temporary or intermit-
tent workers.

Your employer lists you as an employee
whose hours will be reduced by at least
20%, but no more than 40% per week.
This means that you may receive Work
Share benefits.

You will receive a Work Share Initial
Claim Application (Form 1697) from your
employer. Complete your application and
return it to your employer as soon as pos-
sible. Your employer will submit it to the
Oregon Employment Department.

Please respond immediately to forms,
questionnaires, emails or phone calls from
the Oregon Employment Department. We
request information to process your claim
and ensure proper payment of benefits.

Filing Weekly Claims for
Work Share

When do | file a weekly Work Share
claim?

You can claim Work Share benefits over
the 52 week life of your claim. This is
called your benefit year.

Your employer will provide a Work Share
report form to the Oregon Employment
Department for each week you wish to
claim Work Share benefits.

Unlike traditional Unemployment Insur-
ance, this process is completed by your
employer. To check the status of any
week that you want to claim, you can call
the Unemployment Insurance Special
Programs Center.



Work Share benefits are deducted from
your available maximum benefit amount
during your benefit year. You may receive
total benefits of up to 26 times your week-
ly benefit amount during this time.

You cannot receive Work Share benefits if
you have a current Unemployment Insur-
ance claim for which benefits are exhaust-
ed or if your only valid claim is in another
state. You cannot receive Work Share
benefits for a week if, during that week:

*  Your weekly hours were reduced by
more than 40% or less than 20%
(you may be eligible for regular
Unemployment Insurance benefits in
this situation);

* You were not available for additional
work that your Work Share employer
might have available;

* You did not remain in contact with
your Work Share employer; or

* You miss any work with your Work
Share employer for any reason.

The first week you file a weekly claim is
your waiting week. Oregon law requires

a waiting week. You will only serve one
waiting week per benefit year and you
will NEVER receive payment for that
week. We use this week to gather infor-
mation we need to properly pay benefits.
It does NOT mean you should wait a week
before filing your first weekly claim.



To qualify for waiting week credit under
the Work Share program you must:

e Have a valid claim; claim the week;
AND meet all eligibility requirements
of the Work Share program

You will NOT qualify for waiting week
credit if:

* You didn’t claim the week; the week
was denied by the Employment
Department; you did not meet all
eligibility requirements of the Work
Share program

How is my Work Share
henefit amount calculated?

Your Work Share benefit amount is calcu-
lated by multiplying your regular weekly
benefit amount by the percentage of your
reduced weekly hours of work.

For example: If your regular weekly ben-
efit amount is $270 and the employer’s
plan calls for a 20% reduction in your work
hours, your weekly Work Share benefits
would be $270 x 20% = $54.

Earnings must also be reported for any
other work you have performed.

For example: You have a second job and
you performed some work for that em-
ployer during a week that you are going to
claim Work Share benefits.

If your earnings from a non-Work Share

employer exceed either 10 times the state
hourly minimum wage or 1/3 of your week-
ly benefit amount (whichever is more), the
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excess amount is deducted dollar for dol-
lar from your Work Share benefit.

For example: Your regular weekly benefit
amount is $500. Your employer’s Work
Share plan outlines a 20% reduction in
your work hours for which you receive

a potential Work Share benefit payment
of $100. If you earn $175 from a second
employer, we disregard the first $166 (1/3
of your regular weekly benefit amount)
then we deduct the remaining $9 from
your $100 Work Share benefit, so you
would receive a net payment of $91 for
the week.

Maintaining Eligibility
What must | do to be eligible for the
Work Share program each week?

You may not be eligible for Work Share
benefits in a week if, during that week:

* Your weekly hours were reduced by
more than 40% or less than 20%
(you may be eligible for regular
Unemployment Insurance benefits in
this situation);

* You were not available for additional
work that your Work Share employer
might have available;

*  You did not remain in contact with
your Work Share employer; or

* You miss any work with your Work
Share employer for any reason.

Work Share claimants are only required to
accept work with their Work Share em-
ployer. You do not have to actively seek
or accept work with employers other than
your designated Work Share employer.
Also, while participating in the Work Share
program, you are not required to
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register with iMatch Skills, the state’s job
seeker network.

Layoff during a Work Share claim
Layoffs of a brief, temporary nature are
coordinated between your employer and
the Unemployment Insurance Special Pro-
grams Center of the Oregon Employment
Department.

If an indefinite layoff or permanent sep-
aration occurs, you are no longer in the
Work Share program. Call the Unemploy-
ment Insurance Center at 1-877-345-3484
(1-877-File 4 Ul), and ask to transfer your
claim from Work Share to regular Unem-
ployment Insurance.

If you have a remaining balance available
after your Work Share eligibility ends, and
your benefit year hasn’t ended, you can
continue to claim regular Unemployment
Insurance benefits on a weekly basis. The
Work Share benefits that you received will
not impact your weekly benefit amount,
but it will reduce the maximum benefit
amount for that particular claim.

Meeting eligibility requirements for
regular Unemployment Insurance

Work Share claimants must meet all other
eligibility requirements for regular Unem-
ployment Insurance. Refer to your Claim-
ant Handbook for information about:

*  What is unemployment?

* How to qualify for a claim includ-
ing weekly and maximum benefit
amounts;

e Customer Identification Number;
*  Waiting Week;



Maintaining Unemployment Insur-
ance benéefit eligibility;

Reporting work and earnings;
Payment of benefits;

Tax Withholding;

Denial of benefits;

Appeal rights and hearings;

Fraud,;

Overpayments and underpayments;
Stopping and restarting claims; and
Employment services and resources.



State of Oregan

EmpicmesiE Lephetinent Authorization for Electronic Deposit O start O Terminate

MName: (please print) Sacial Security Number: BYE: (office use)

Financial Institution: Branch Telephone Number:
o
I
2| Branch Address: City, State: Zip:

| authorize the State of Oregon Employment Department to electronically deposit weekly payments in the above named financial institution. | authorize the
above named institution to accept and distribute said funds in the manner designated by me.

] Checking (pleaze attache a voided check) Bank Routing Number:

] Savings (please attach a voided deposit =lip) Personal Account Number:

| understand that this authorization overrides any previous authorization, and remains in effect until the Employment Department receives written notification
from me to terminate, or one year has passed since | last claimed. If | am receiving benefits when my claim expires, and file a new claim or extension effective
the next week, this authorization continues until the subsequent claim or extension expires.

Signature: {required) Date: (required)

www Employment Oregon. gov + Ul Form 117HE




Please print clearly and use regular blue or black ink

Did you remember to:
- Sign and date the form?

Please mail or fax this form with a voided check or deposit slip to:

When the Employment Department discontinues the use of paper checks,
payments will be issued by ReliaCard® Visa uniil the account is verified.

Employment Department

Records & Redeterminations - Rm 105
875 Union Street NE

Salem, OR 97311

Fax: (503) 947-1335




Equal Opportunity is the Law

The Oregon Employment Department is an equal
opportunity program and does not discriminate in
employment or the provision of public services on the
basis of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation,
national origin, citizenship status, age, disability, political
affiliation or belief, or veteran status. The following ser-
vices are available free of cost, upon request: Auxiliary
aids or services, alternate formats, such as Bralille, large
print, audio CD or tape, oral presentation, and electron-
ic format to individuals with disabilities, and language
assistance to individuals with limited English proficiency.

La Igualdad de Oportunidades es La Ley

El Departamento de Empleo de Oregon es un pro-
grama que respeta la igualdad de oportunidades y
provee empleo y servicios al publico sin discriminar en
base a raza, color, religiéon, sexo, orientacion . sexual,
nacionalidad, estado de ciudadania, edad, discapaci-
dad, filiacion o creencia politica, o estado de veterano.
Disponemos de los siguientes servicios a pedido y sin
costo: Servicios o ayudas auxiliares, formatos alternos
para personas con discapacidades y asistencia de
idiomas para las personas con conocimiento limitado
del inglés.

What to do if you believe you have experienced
discrimination

If you think that you have been subjected to discrimi-
nation you may file a complaint within 180 days from
the date of the alleged violation with either the Oregon
Employment Department’s Universal Access Coordina-
tor (OED_Equal_Opportunity@ oregon.gov or 503-947-
1794) or in writing to the Director, Civil Rights Center
(CRC), U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution
Avenue NW., Room N-4123, Washington, DC 20210.

Que’ hacer si cree que ha experimentado discrimi-
naciOn

Si usted cree que ha sido discriminado puede pre-
sentar una queja dentro de los 180 dias a partir de la
fecha de la alegada violacion al Coordinador de Acceso
Universal del Departamento de Empleo de Oregon
(OED_Equal_Opportunity@oregon.gov o 503-947-
1794) o por escrito al Director del Centro de Derechos
Civiles (Civil Rights Center (CRC), del Departamento
de Trabajo de Estados Unidos (U.S. Department of
Labor), 200 Constitution Avenue.

10




Contact Us:

State of Oregon Employment
Department
Attn: Ul Special Programs Center
In Salem: (503) 947-1800
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 436-6191
Fax: (503) 947-1833
TDD: 711

Main Office Address:
875 Union St. NE
Salem, OR 97311

\ State of Oregon
Employment
Department

Oregon Employment Department
www.Employment.Oregon.gov
Ul PUB 350-WS (0316)




