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Generally, Oregon Law requires employers who
employ one or more individuals in any part of
18 weeks during a calendar year or pay wages of
$1,000 or more in a calendar quarter to register
with the Employment Department, file quarterly tax
reports, and pay unemployment insurance taxes.

Nonprofit employers must register and file quarterly
tax reports like other employers. Certain nonprofit
employers have an option on financing their unem-
ployment insurance costs as explained below.

Options for Financing Unemployment 
Insurance Cost
Nonprofit employers that are exempt from federal
taxes under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Rev-
enue Code may choose to either:

• Pay unemployment insurance taxes, or
• Reimburse the State Unemployment Insurance 

Trust Fund on a pro-rated basis for benefits 
paid. This includes 100% of regular benefits 
and all additional benefits; and one-half of ex-
tended unemployment insurance benefits paid 
to former employees. Please note that there is 
no provision to grant relief of charges for ben-
efits attributable to reimbursing employers.

How to Register, Choose, and Change 
an Option
Complete a Combined Employer’s Registration
Report to register as an employer.

The tax paying method will automatically be as-
signed unless a reimbursing option request is made. 
To request the reimbursing method, an employer 
must provide the following:

1.   Completed Form 601 – Notice of Election to 
Reimburse or a written application requesting 
the reimbursing option.

2.  	A completed Form 483 - Surety Bond, or a de-
posit (made by check payable to the Oregon 
Employment Department) of two percent (2%) 
of their annual or anticipated annual payroll.

Nonprofit Employers
3.   A copy of a statement from the Internal Rev-

enue Service showing that the organization 
is exempt from federal tax under IRS Section 
501(c)(3).

These forms can be obtained from any Employ-
ment Department Tax field office or by writing to:

	 Oregon Employment Department
	 Tax Section, Room 107
	 875 Union St. NE
	 Salem OR 97311-0030

The initial request for the reimbursing option 
must be made within 30 days after the end of the 
quarter in which the organization became liable 
for unemployment insurance tax. The organiza-
tion will remain under the option selected for a 
minimum of two full calendar years. To change 
an option, a written request must be filed by Janu-
ary 31 of the year in which the option is to be 
effective.

When an account with a surety bond or deposit
on file closes, the bond or deposit shall not be re-
leased until two full years after the calendar quar-
ter in which the account closes. This will allow for 
payment of benefits that may be filed after the ac-
count has closed.

The workers described below are not eligible for 
unemployment insurance benefits related to work 
performed for the non-profit organization. There-
fore they are not included on the quarterly reports 
and the organization would not be responsible for 
reimbursements of benefits.

Excluded Workers
Individuals who are hired and compensated for 
services are employees and the compensation for 
their services is reportable wages unless specifi-
cally excluded by law.

Certain workers of charitable, educational, and 
other nonprofit organizations described in Section 
501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code are ex-



cluded from unemployment insurance coverage as follows:

• Individuals in a facility conducted for the purpose of 
carrying out a program to provide rehabilitative or com-
pensative work for individuals with certain impairments 
due to age or physical or mental deficiency and who 
cannot be absorbed in the competitive labor market.

• Certain individuals receiving work-relief or work-train-
ing in a program financed, at least partially, by any fed-
eral agency or agency of a state or political subdivision.

Volunteers
By definition, a volunteer is a person who performs services 
for no remuneration or without expectation or contempla-
tion of remuneration as the adequate consideration for the 
services performed for a religious or charitable institution or 
a governmental entity (ORS 657.015).

House Bill 3632 created a specific exclusion from unem-
ployment tax on individuals who provide services related 
to ski activities on a volunteer basis, and who receive no 
remuneration other than a ski pass worth $50 or less.

Any remuneration for services that exceeds $50.00 per in-
dividual per quarter may be subject to unemployment insur-
ance tax. This does not include reimbursements for expenses 
when the employee submits to the employer, or has knowl-
edge of, an accurate detailed expense account that meets the 
requirements of the IRS. The employer must keep these re-
cords for a period of at least three calendar years.

Religious Organizations
Payments made for services performed by members of reli-
gious orders have been taxable for unemployment tax
purposes since January 1, 1997. Payments made to clergy 
members for services performed have been taxable for un-
employment tax purposes since October 1, 1996.

These changes to Oregon Employment Department Law
were due to court actions and opinions by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor and the Oregon Department of Justice.

Remuneration for services performed by a minister is con-
sidered reportable. This includes wages, salary, bonuses, 
gifts and such non-cash compensation as housing, utilities 
and food.

WorkSource Oregon Employment Department is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services, alternate formats and language 
services are available to individuals with disabilities and limited English proficiency free of cost upon request. For more information please call  
503-947-1488. TTY/TDD – dial 7-1-1 toll free relay service. Access free online relay service at: www.sprintrelayonline.com

WorkSource Oregon Departamento de Empleo es un programa que respeta la igualdad de oportunidades.  Disponemos de servicios o ayudas auxili-
ares, formatos alternos y asistencia de idiomas para personas con discapacidades o conocimiento limitado del inglés, a pedido y sin costo. Para mayor 
información llame al 503-947-1488. TTY/TDD – marque gratis al N° 7-1-1 servicio de remisión. Acceda al servicio gratis de remisión en-línea:  
www.sprintrelayonline.com
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Questions
If you have questions or need additional information, please contact the Employment Department tax representative 
in your area or call 503-947-1488. To find your tax representative, view the web page at www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/
TAX/TaxOffices.shtml. TDD/Nonvoice Users 711 or by email at taxinfo@emp.state.or.us. You may also visit our web 
site at www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/TAX/.

www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/TAX/TaxOffices.shtml

