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The 2015 Strategic Planning session was deemed a 
great success.  Thirty-two individuals (including 
licensees, interested parties, OMCB board members 
& staff) gathered together at the Red Lion in 
Pendleton and had very productive conversations 
relating to the implementation of HB 2471 
(addresses FSP and Embalmer apprenticeships, 
internships, testing & industry entry), HB 2472 
(allows for self-inspections and industry members to 
perform certain inspections), HB 3242 (grants OMCB 
authority to issue a permit to certain persons to 
facilitate an interment in an unlicensed cemetery 
when a pre-existing interment right exists and there 
is an imminent need) & HB 3243 (makes 
improvements to Indigent Disposition Fund 
management and transfers management of the fund 
to OMCB). 
 
The administrative rule advisory committees were 
designated in early October and each committee 
met weekly during the month.  The meetings 
included great discussions related to the 
development of the administrative rules and other 
issues that should be addressed legislatively in a 
future session. 
 
Each committee discussed the policy impacts of the 
law changes, and made recommendations and 
raised questions to be addressed.  This input was 
used to develop draft administrative rules by OMCB 
staff and were presented to the OMCB board for 
review and approval. 
 
During the November 3, 2015 meeting, the Board 
voted to approve and move forward with the 
proposed administrative rules. 
 
The proposed administrative rules for HB 2471, HB 
3242 & HB 3243 were filed with the Oregon 
Secretary of State and will be published in the 
December Oregon Bulletin and have been posted on 
our website for your review and comment at 
http://www.oregon.gov/MortCem/Pages/Rulemakin
g.aspx. 
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There will be a public hearing for the proposed 
administrative rules for HB 2471, HB 3242 & HB 
3243 on December 22, 2015 at 10 am.   
 
Additionally, written public comments may be 
submitted until December 22, 2015 by 4 pm. 
 
The committee members clearly illustrated that 
they are passionate about what they do and the 
people they serve and want the best for the 
industry – both today and in the future. 
 
The OMCB board and staff would like to recognize 
the advisory committee members and thank them 
for their participation and effort: 
 
Cynthia Beal, Christina Cilley, Ty Cochrane, 
Craig Collins (Chair), Gene Drake, Doug Ferrin, 
Rachel Fox, Rick Harvey, Terri Makinson, Melisa 
McDonald, Angela McKenzie-Tucker, Kim Morley 
(Chair), Mark Musgrove (Chair), Wally Ordeman, 
Timothy Proctor, Deon Strommer, Amy Terry & 
Randy Tjaden. 
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A licensee must notify the Board when: 
 

 An apprentice’s employment/supervision terminates (OAR 830-011-
0020[7]) 

 An apprentice transfers from one licensed funeral service 
practitioner or embalmer to another (ORS 692.148[2][c]) 

 A licensee (renewing a license) begins active military duty (OAR 830-
020-0020[4]) 

 A facility manager is assigned to a licensed facility (OAR 830-030-
0000[12]) 

 Human remains are going to be held longer than 10 days before 
undergoing final disposition (OAR 830-030-0010[4]) 

 Human remains cannot be cremated & processed within 48 hours of 
being released to crematory authority (OAR 830-040-0000[11]) 

 Prior to a change in ownership (OAR 830-040-0040) 
 A licensee’s name changes (ORS 692.148[2][a]) 
 The location of the funeral establishment, immediate disposition 

company or crematorium changes (ORS 692.148[2][b]) 
 A licensee is convicted of a misdemeanor or felony or is arrested for 

a felony crime (within 10 days after the conviction or arrest) (ORS 
676.150[3]) 

 Human remains or partial human remains, other than processed 
cremated remains, are discovered in a presumed unoccupied grave 
or crypt when opening for purposes of an interment (OAR 830-030-
0000[8]) 

 Processed cremated remains are discovered in a presumed 
unoccupied grave, crypt or niche when opening (OAR 830-030-
0000[9]) 

 There is an actual or suspected incident of client or corpse abuse 
(OAR 830-030-0090[4]) 

 At the time of license renewal, a complete list of all licensed 
employees (full-time, part-time & licensed independent contractors) 
(OAR 830-040-0060[1]) 

 Conduct by any death care industry licensee that violates Oregon law 
relating to death care (OAR 830-030-0090[1) 
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2015 Board Members 
Dwight Terry President 
Funeral Service Practitioner/Embalmer 

Jane Woodward Vice President 
Funeral Service Practitioner 

Laurie Goolsby Secretary/Treasurer 
Public Member 

Nancy Corr 
Public Member 
Sirpa Duoos 

Cemetery Operator, City/County 
Larry Gyure 

Cemetery Operator, Special District 
Marie Henry 

Cemetery Operator, For Profit 
Judy Juntunen 
Public Member 

Kevin Loveland 
Crematorium Operator 

RCA Moore 
Public Member 

Morris Pearson 
Embalmer 

Members are volunteers serving 3 year terms. Members are appointed by the Governor & confirmed by the Senate. 

Board Mission 
The Board's programs affect 
those who have suffered a 
loss, those who make final 
arrangements and those who 
provide death care goods 
and services. It is the Board's 
responsibility to license and 
regulate the practice of 
individuals and facilities 
engaged in the care, 
preparation, processing, 
transportation and final 
disposition of human 
remains, to educate the 
general public, and advise 
on relevant issues of public 
policy. 

There are certain situations when a licensee is required to 
“notify” or “report to” the Board. We’ve collected those 
situations here for easy reference. Please note that these 
must be reported in writing, which includes fax and email. 



 

 
 
  
 
  
  

Marijuana Use in the Workplace Relevant to: All Licensees  
As you are most likely aware, Measure 91 legalized the recreational use of 
marijuana effective July 1, 2015. 
 
The State of Oregon (as an employer), will continue to comply with the 
federal Drug Free Workplace Act of 1988, which prohibits the possession, 
use, manufacturing or distribution of marijuana in the workplace. 
 
For those private companies who also choose to comply with the federal 
act, the following State of Oregon Q&A may be helpful: 
 
Q: Does the law allow employees to consumer marijuana on breaks or 
lunch hours? 
 
A: The legalization of recreational marijuana use does not allow 
employees to report for work impaired or to possess or use controlled 
substances in the workplace. 
 
Q: What is considered the “workplace?” 
 
A: The workplace is all property and facilities owned, leased or rented by 
the Oregon state government, including grounds, buildings, vehicles and 
any other equipment and any site where an employee performs work. 
 
Q: How do agencies determine if an employee is “impaired?” 
 
A: When a supervisor receives a complaint or witnesses abnormal behavior 
of an employee, in most cases it is advisable to manage the employee’s 
behavior or conduct (rather than assuming the cause of the employee’s 
behavior or perceived impairment).  In some situations, reasonable 
suspicion testing may be permitted, such as where reasonable suspicion 
testing is permitted by the applicable collective bargaining agreement.  
Agencies should seek advice before testing an employee.  It is 
recommended and by the terms of some collective bargaining agreements 
required, that two managers assess the employee to determine if the 
employee is impaired.  It is important that supervisors document their 
observations, any conversations with the employee and note any 
witnesses. 
 
Q: If an employee smokes marijuana, will this jeopardize their 
employment? 
 
A: It may, under some circumstances.  Under the Drug-Free Workplace Act, 
if an employee’s use or conduct involving marijuana occurs in the 
workplace and results in a criminal drug statute conviction, he or she 
must notify the employer no later than 5 days after the conviction.  
Depending on the circumstances, an employee may be subject to 
discipline up to and including dismissal. 
 
Note: This article is for informational purposes only and is not 
intended to provide legal advice.  If you have any questions about this 
topic, we recommend that you contact an attorney. 
 
(Taken from: http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/CHRO/docs/advice/Marijuana_FAQs.pdf) 

“The legalization of recreational marijuana use does not allow employees to report for work impaired or to possess or use controlled substances in the workplace.” 

“Agencies should seek advice before testing an employee.”  
  “Under the Drug-Free Workplace Act, if an employee’s use or conduct involving marijuana occurs in the workplace and results in a criminal drug statute conviction, he or she must notify the employer no later than 5 days after the conviction.”  



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Washington Post: In Theory  (Part I) 
Relevant to: All Licensees  Similar to FRONTLINE’s Facing Death & Being Mortal, The Washington 

Post’s In Theory series recently explored the myriad of issues surrounding 
death and dying from a variety of perspectives.  The authors questioned 
how end-of-life experiences can best be honored by the US medical 
system.  Additionally, the articles sought to expose many of the myths 
that Americans tend to bring to the end-of-life process. 
 
Amanda Bennett, columnist for The Post, says that awareness about the 
needs of individuals at the end of life has grown immensely in recent 
decades.  However, while more people have gained familiarity with how to 
talk about death and dying, it can still be challenging to find an end-of-life 
experience that is open, honest, meaningful and humane. 
 
There is very little doubt anymore about what is needed.  “You have only 
to talk to a room of doctors, patients, medical educators or hospice 
providers to hear everyone agree on what is needed; more planning for 
the last year of life; more doctors having the difficult conversations; less 
automatic treatment for conditions that can’t be cured and more attention 
paid to the emotional and spiritual sides of dying – not just the medical 
part.”  This keen awareness and knowledge, however, doesn’t seem to be 
enough to prevent over two-thirds of individuals from dying in a medical 
facility, rather than at home, where most people say they would prefer to 
die. 
 
Despite all the gains made in recent years, cultural taboos against talking 
about death and dying are still strong.  The tools that we have at hand to 
ensure that we get the kind of end-of-life experience we want are still far 
too fallible.  Families and doctors alike are often reluctant to give up an 
illusory hope for a cure.  Too often, we shy away from making the 
emotionally challenging decisions that lead to a better experience of 
dying. 
 
Given all of the advances in awareness of hospice and palliative care in 
recent decades, it is perhaps surprising to learn that many doctors are still 
intimidated by conversations around death and dying.  But according to 
Aaron Kheriaty, specialist in psychiatry at the University of California-
Irvine, there is a deeply entrenched culture among physicians that 
eschews mention of death and emphasizes proactive treatment, even in 
cases where such treatment is futile.  This culture will not be easily 
banished, because it has become so embedded in the formation of 
America’s doctors. 
 
Kheriaty notes that many doctors practically refuse to utter the word 
“death” in the course of their practice.  Kheriaty recounts a time when he 
noticed the absence of a patient and inquired about where he had gone.  
“Matter-of-factly, the resident physician said, ‘He expired last night.’  I 
remember thinking: ‘He… expired?’  Coupons expire.  Milk expires.  But 
people die.  There was that word again – the ‘d’ word – being carefully 
avoided by doctors who dealt with death routinely.” 
 
To be continued… 
 
 
(Taken from: http://us3.campaign-
archive2.com/?u=163e18111683bc0d5746e6f89&id=00794f1e45) 

“You have only to talk to a room of doctors, patients, medical educators or hospice providers to hear everyone agree on what is needed: more planning for the last year of life; more doctors having the difficult conversations; less automatic treatment for conditions that can’t be cured and more attention paid to the emotional and spiritual sides of dying – not just the medical part.” 

“I remember thinking: ‘He… expired?’  Coupons expire.  Milk expires.  But people die.” 



 

 

Pre-Printed Document Review: 
 
The Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (OMCB) 
is pleased to offer a full review of changes made 
to documents, (i.e. GPL, CPL, Authorizations, 
etc.), prior to final printing. These document 
reviews will help to decrease deficiencies noted 
during regular biennial inspections as well as 
costs of reprinting. They can also help prevent 
potential FTC violations. 
 
Sample Documents Available: 
 
We offer many sample documents either in hard 
copy, Word or PDF format.  There’s no need to re-
create the wheel! Word documents allow you to 
easily make changes to facility forms without 
incurring expensive printing costs. Examples of 
sample documents include the 
Interment/Scattering Authorization, Statement of 
Funeral Goods and Services Selected (SFGSS), 
Embalming Authorization, Certificate of 
Interment/Inurnment Rights, Cemetery Rules and 
others. Please contact me to request any of these 
sample documents. I may also have something to 
offer even if it is not specifically listed above. 
 
Cemetery Informational E-mail: 
 
I have a helpful informational email that I send 
out to anyone who requests cemetery 
information. The email lays out very clearly a 
cemetery’s responsibilities and duties as well as 
what forms and records each cemetery is 
required to maintain. The email attachments 
include sample Word documents as well as OAR 
830 and ORS 97. 

Inspection Corrections: 
 
If you have a question regarding a recent inspection, 
please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss it. If we 
do not agree on a particular issue, we can seek an 
opinion from our Executive Director, Michelle Sigmund-
Gaines, the FTC or the Board. If I wrote a deficiency in 
error, please bring it to my attention. I review hundreds 
of photos for each inspection, sometimes over a 
thousand photos a day. Although I do my best to find 
all of the required information from the inspection 
photos, I do miss things. Sometimes I even get 
something wrong altogether! Please bring these issues 
to my attention so that I can correct the follow up letter 
as well as the Board’s records and databases. It is our 
goal to report and maintain accurate information and 
records. 
 
Questions: 
 
I am available by phone or email to answer questions. 
Email is the best and quickest way to reach me: 
Brenda.Biggs@state.or.us or (971) 673-1505. I am in 
the office and generally return phone calls on Tuesdays 
and Thursdays. If I don’t know the answer, I will 
research the question and get back to you. 
 
I am here to help. Please feel free to contact me at any 
time, for any reason. It is my goal to assist Oregon 
licensees to be in compliance with both State and FTC 
statutes, rules and regulations.  
 

And Now, a Word From Our Inspector… 
Relevant to: All Licensees  

When to Use Preneed & At Need Contracts 
Relevant to: All Licensees  As a reminder, contracts must be pre-need (prearrangement 

sales contract) or at-need and the difference in law is based 
on if the death has occurred.   Because of this, you cannot 
use an at-need contract if the death hasn’t occurred, even if 
the death is imminent. 
 
Preneed/prearrangement sales contract is defined in ORS 
97.923(9) as “any sale, excluding the sale and 
contemporaneous or subsequent assignment of a life 
insurance policy or an annuity contract, made to a purchaser, 
that has as its purpose the furnishing of funeral or cemetery 

merchandise or services in connection with the final 
disposition or commemoration of the memory of a dead 
human body, for use at a time determinable by the death 
of the person or persons whose body or bodies are to be 
disposed and where the sale terms require payment or 
payments to be made at a currently determinable time.” 
 
At need is defined in OAR 830-011-0000(5) as 
“arrangements entered into after a death has occurred, 
‘at the time of need.’” 
  



  
 

Upcoming OMCB Meetings 
Oregon Mortuary 

 & Cemetery Board  
800 NE Oregon Street 

Suite 430 
Portland, OR 97232 

Phone: 
971.673.1500 

Fax: 
971.673.1501 

We’re on the Web! 
Visit us at: 

http://www.oregon.gov/mortcem 

Regulating Death Care 
Facilities & Practitioners in Oregon. 

Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 430 
Portland, Oregon 97232 
  

 Tuesday, December 29, 2015 @ 9am OMCB Board Meeting Location: 800 NE Oregon Street, Room 445  Tuesday, February 9, 2016 @ 9am 
OMCB Board Meeting Location: TBD  Tuesday, April 12, 2016 @ 9am 
OMCB Board Meeting Location: TBD  

To conserve resources, we have distributed only one copy per facility. The full color version of this publication can be read or printed from our website. 

Notice of Public Hearing & Administrative Rulemaking 
Tuesday, December 22, 2015 @ 10am Location: 800 NE Oregon Street, Room 445  Details at http://www.oregon.gov/MortCem/Pages/Meetings.aspx 


