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STATE OF OREGON MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD 
 

 

In the Matter of the Application for Oregon 

Preneed Salesperson Registration 

Certificate of   

 

 

STEVEN MICHEAL KILLION, 

 

                                    APPLICANT 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

FINAL ORDER ON DEFAULT 

 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION 

 

CASE NO. 14-1020 

 

 

 

 

On September 2, 2014, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (Board) properly 

served a Notice of Proposed Denial of Application and Opportunity for Hearing (Notice) on 

Steven Michael Killion (Applicant) that it intended to deny his application for an Oregon 

Preneed Salesperson Registration Certificate in accordance with OAR 830-050-0050(4) and  

ORS 692.180(1)(a) and (g). 

 

The Notice offered Applicant an opportunity for a hearing if requested within 60 

days from the date the Notice was mailed. Applicant did not request a hearing within this 

60-day period or otherwise. The Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the 

record for purposes of default.  

  

 NOW THEREFORE, after considering the Board’s file relating to this matter, the 

Board enters the following Final Order on Default: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
  

1. On May 21, 2014 the Board received a completed application from Steven Michael 

Killion (Applicant) for an Oregon Preneed Salesperson Registration Certificate 

(Application). 

2. Application and a background investigation for Preneed Salesperson Registration 

Certificates are required pursuant to OAR 830-011-0050(1) and OAR 830-011-0070(1).  See 

also ORS 97.931. 

3. The Application advises applicants that misrepresentation, with or without intent, is 

cause for denial of an Application.  

4. The Application asks: “Do you currently hold or have you ever held, or applied for, any 

type of occupational or professional license, certification, or registration or business license 

in Oregon or any other state or country.” Applicant failed to disclose licenses held as a 

mortgage broker in the State of Washington. 

5. The Application asks about an applicant’s background regarding legal actions civil and 

criminal. Applicant failed to disclose a 2009 arrest. Applicant disclosed action taken against 

his personal and business licenses by Washington’s Department of Financial 

Institutions/Division of Consumer Services (Division), but did not provide the required 

signed, dated, written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident. In June 2014, 
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the Division confirmed that both Applicant’s personal and business licenses have been 

revoked and a penalty of $73,000 is still owed.  

6. The Application also requires the applicant to list arrests, charges or citations for any 

offense other than traffic violations; and to specify if applicants have ever entered into a 

diversion agreement. The Application specifically defines Driving Under the Influence of 

Intoxicants (DUI) as a crime. A subsequent background investigation by the Board’s 

investigator revealed Applicant’s failure to disclose a 2004 Driving Under the Influence 

conviction, a 2010 dismissed felony charge, and parole violations from 2005.  

7. The Application asks “Have you ever been convicted of, or are you currently charged 

with, committing a crime, whether or not adjudication was withheld?” Applicant failed to 

disclose a 2009 conviction. 

8. The Application asks “Do you have any ongoing criminal charges or civil legal matters 

that are currently unresolved?” Applicant failed to disclose the $73,000 still owed to the 

Division. 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Applicant’s conduct as described in Sections 4 through 8 above is a misrepresentation in 

obtaining a license in violation of ORS 692.180(1)(a). 

 

2. Violation of a provision of ORS chapter 692 or any rule adopted thereunder is grounds 

for denial of a Preneed Salesperson Registration Certificate application pursuant to OAR 

830-050-0050(4), ORS 692.180(1)(a) and ORS 692.180(1)(g). 

 

3.  Denial of a Preneed Salesperson Registration Certificate application is appropriate under 

the circumstances. 

 

ORDER 
  

1. Applicant’s Application for a Preneed Salesperson Registration Certificate is hereby 

denied. 

 

2.  This Final Order on Default shall become effective when signed by the Executive 

Director of the Board. 

 

 

 DATED and ENTERED this 27 day of October, 2014. 

      

       

      ________<Signed>___________________ 

      Michelle Gaines 

      Executive Director 

      Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board 

 

 

 

Date of Service: October 28 2014 
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APPEAL RIGHTS:  You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with 

ORS Chapter 183.482.  You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court 

of Appeals in Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date of service of this order.    

 

NOTICE TO ACTIVE DUTY SERVICEMEMBERS: Active duty service members have 

a right to stay these proceedings under the federal Service members Civil Relief Act. For 

more information contact the Oregon State Bar at 800-452-8260, the Oregon Military 

Department at 800-452-7500 or the nearest United States. 

 
 


