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Final Order on Default 

 
State Mortuary and Cemetery Board 

State of Oregon 
 
 

In the Matter of the Application   
For Preneed Salesperson 
Registration of 
 

 
 
 

 
Case No.: 10-1069 
 

DAVID J. OVERSON, 
                                     
                                  Applicant  
 

 
 
 

 
FINAL ORDER on DEFAULT 

  
 
On February 14, 2011, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (OMCB, Board) properly 

served a Notice of Proposed Denial of Application and Opportunity for Hearing (Notice) on 
David J. Overson (Applicant) that it intended to deny his application for Preneed Salesperson 
Registration for violation of OAR 830-050-0050(2), OAR 830-030-0090(2)(c)(D), OAR 830-030-
0090(2)(d)(B) and pursuant to OAR 830-011-0080(2), ORS 692.180(1)(a), ORS 692.180(1)(g) 
and ORS 97.931(3). 

 
The Notice offered Applicant an opportunity for a hearing if requested within 60 days 

from the date the Notice was mailed. Applicant did not request a hearing within this 60-day 
period or otherwise. The Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for 
purposes of default.  
  
 NOW THEREFORE, after considering the Board’s file relating to this matter, the Board 
enters the following Final Order by Default: 
 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

  
1. Applicants for Preneed Salesperson Registration must apply on a form provided by the 

Board and consent to a background check. OAR 830-011-0070; ORS 97.931(3). 
 
2.   Applicants are informed by means of written notice on the application, that any 

misrepresentation or omission is cause for refusal to issue a certificate. 
 
3.  By application received on December 13, 2009, Applicant applied to the Board for 

Preneed Salesperson Registration. 
 
4.   The Application’s Background Information section, asks Applicant, “Have you ever 

been arrested, charged or cited for anything other than traffic violations;” and “Have 
you ever been convicted, or are you currently charged with, committing a crime 
whether or not adjudication was withheld?” Applicant answered “No” to both 
questions. 
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5.  A background investigation revealed that Applicant failed to disclose at least the 
following criminal charges and convictions:    

 

DATE OF 

OFFENSE 

ARRESTING 

AGENCY 
CHARGE COURT COURT DATE  STATUS  SENTENCE 

04/27/1

985 
OSP 

Angling on 

a Closed 

River 

Tillamook 

District 
05/06/1985 Unknown Unknown 

01/31/1

982 

West Linn 

P.D. 

Fail to  

Appear 1
st
 

Degree 

Circuit 

Court 
Unknown Unknown Unknown 

09/10/1

982 

Clackamas 

Co. S.O. 

Fail to 

Appear 2
nd

 

Degree 

Clackamas 

District 
03/31/1983 Convicted $55 Fine 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
 1.   In applying to the Board for a preneed registration salesperson certificate, Applicant 

misrepresented his arrest and conviction history. Making a misrepresentation to obtain a 
certificate is grounds for certificate denial pursuant to OAR 830-030-0090(2)(c)(D), OAR 830-
030-0090(2)(d)(B) and OAR 830-050-0050(2); and also ORS 692.180(1)(a).  

 
 2.   The foregoing are cause for refusal to grant a preneed salesperson certificate pursuant to 

OAR 830-011-0080(2), ORS 97.931(3) and ORS 692.180(1)(a) and ORS 692.180(1)(g).   
  
3.  Denial of Preneed Salesperson Registration application is appropriate under the 
circumstances. 
 

ORDER 
  

1. Applicant’s Application for Preneed Salesperson Registration is hereby denied. 
 

2.  This Final Order shall become effective when signed by the Executive Director of the Board. 

 
 
 DATED and ENTERED this __9th__ day of May, 2011. 
 
       
      _<s> Michelle Gaines___________________________ 
      Michelle Gaines 
      Executive Director 
      Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board 
 
Date of Service: __May 9, 2011___________ 
 
Appeal Rights:  You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS 
Chapter 183.482.  You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals 
in Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date of service of this order.    


