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BEFORE THE MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD

OF THE STATE OF OREGON
In the Matter of the Funeralk Service Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action
Practitioner License of Holly Kroening and
(FS-0391) Opportunity for a Hearing
RESPONDENT CASE NO. 05-1051B

Pursuant to ORS 692.180, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board proposes to
take disciplinary action against Respondent on the grounds noted below. For statutory
and rule violations the Board may impose one or more of the following sanctions:
Reprimand; license revocation; civil penalty of up to $1000 for each vioiation; or other

sanctions as authorized by law.

Grounds for Disciplinary Action:

1. At all times mentioned herein, Respondent was licensed by the Oregon Mortuary
and Cemetery Board (“Board”) as a funeral service practitioner (OMCB License No. FS-
0391); and at all times mentioned herein Respondent was the manager of a funeral
establishment: Cornerstone Funeral Services and Cremation Corporation (OMCB
License #FE-8488) (hereafter “Cornerstone”).  Cornerstone is licensed by the
Department of Consumer and Business Services as a certified provider of
prearrangement sales contracts (Certified Provider Registration No. 266).

2. On or about December 19, 2003, Respondent met with Marie L., an elderly
woman residing at Fernhill Care Center, to make trust-funded prearrangements for
Marie's funeral goods and services. Respondent completed, and both Respondent and

Marie signed, an American Funeral & Cemetery Trust Services (AFCTS) prearranged,

Case No, 05-1051B
Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action
Page 1 of 3




Certified Mail: 7003-2260-0001-3347-3399

guaranteed sales contract. The contract references Oregon law that requires the debosit
of 90 percent of funds paid on a guaranteed prearrangement sales contract into a trust
depository. Such deposits must be made within five (5) days of receipt. ORS
97.941(1)(a)(2)

3. Respondent also completed, and Respondent and Marie sighed, a statement

describing the funeral and cemetery goods and services selected by Marie in the amount

of $4296.00. This amount included a charge for $350.00 for the purchase of a cemetery |

plot at Rock Creek Cemetery.

4, On or about March 27, 2004, Respondent received a check in the amount of
$4,296.00 from the Fernhill Care Center trust account on behalf of Marie. On March 29,
2004, the check was»deposited into Cornerstone’'s business account at Clackamas
County Bank. On April 7, 2004 Respondent wrote a Cornerstone check in the amount of
$350.00 to Rock Creek Cemetery for Marie's plot.

5. On October 5, 2005 Respondent self-disclosed to the Board that she did not
deposit the appropriate amount (90%) of Marie’s money into a trust depository, but
instead the funds were used to opgrate the funeral establishment.

6. The Board proposes to take disciplinary action in the form of imposing civil
penalties against Respondent because Respondent failed to follow through with agreed
upon arrangements with Marie L. when failing to properly deposit Marie's funds into a
trust depository within five days. The foregoing is a violation of OAR 830-030-0090 and
OAR 830-030-0090(1)(d) which is cause for discipline under ORS 692.180(1)(g).

7. In addition, Respondent was the manager of Cornerstone and either used or
knew that Marie's funds were used in the operation of the funeral establishment. The

foregoing is considered fraudulent and dishonest conduct which is a violation of ORS

692.180(1)(b).
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8. Definitions that may be relevant to this notice may be found in ORS 97.923, ORS

97.010 and OAR 830-011-0000.

Rights and Procedures

You are entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures
Act (ORS Chapter 183) and ORS 692.265(1). If you want a hearing, you must file a
written request for hearing with the State Mortuary & Cemetery Board (the
“Board”) within 20 days from the date this notice was mailed. If a request for
hearing is not received within this 20-day period, your right to a hearing shall be
considered waived. Hearing requests may be mailed to State Office Building, 800
NE Oregon St., Suite 430, Portland, Oregon 97232-2195.

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time and place of the
hearing. You have the right to be represented by legal counsel at a hearing. A
Notice of Contested Case Rights and Procedures is enclosed with this Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action. If you do not request a hearing within 20 days, or if
you withdraw a hearing request, notify the Board or hearing officer that you will
not appear or fail to appear at a scheduled hearing, the Board may issue a final
order by default imposing the discipline as determined by the Board. If the Board
issues a final order by default, it designates its file on this matter as the record for

purposes of establishing a prima facie case.

“o
DATED this | ( ) ~day of April, 2007

STATE MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD

XAANQ /\\B—QLL?\

L3

esignee: Lynne Nelson, Compliance Manager
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