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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.
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STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT
A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing accompanies this form.
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Board of Chiropractic Examiners 811
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Amends rule to reflect use of a national testing agency to administer Oregon Examination

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)
In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

OAR 811-010-0085 Application and Examination of Applicants

ORS 684.050, 684.052

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 684.050, 684.052

Need for the Rule(s):
Amends rule to reflect a change to using a national testing agency to administer a portion of the Oregon Specifics Examination

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
A possible positive impact as it will save staff hours in proctoring and grading, and applicants will be able to take the examination anytime
during the year instead of only four times a year as it is offered now.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

None.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

Unknown.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

None.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
None.

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

No involvement at this time.

-

No

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
None.

Printed Name Email Address

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007

Kelly J. Beringer kelly.beringer@oregon.gov
Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time

for public comment

03-17-2016 Close of Hearing



Application and Examination of Applicants 
811-010-0085 (1) Applicants shall be examined according to ORS 684.050 or 684.052. 
 (2) The Board shall provide a Candidate’s Guide, which contains all necessary 
examination information.  
 (3) Fee and application deadlines requirements includes the followingare as follows: 
 (a) Application and $250100  $250 current actual examination(do we need current 
and actual in here? What are we trying to say?) fee for chiropractic exams must be 
postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first exam day received prior to approval to 
write the examinations. 
 (b) Request for reexamination take of of the Ethics and Jurisprudence exam must be 
made to the Board, submitted in writing, with the $100 reexamination fee. the current actual 
reexamination fee. Request for reexamination of the Minor Surgery/Proctology and /or the 
Obstetrics/Gynecology examination(s) any section of the exam must be submitted in writing 
with a $100 reexamination fee postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first exam 
day.submitted directly to the  national testing agency.   
 (c) Supporting documentation must be postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the 
first exam day. 
 (d) Deadlines may be waived by the Board for good cause. 
 (ec) A complete set of fingerprints or LiveScan Transmittal Verification form and 
the criminal background check results obtained from any state or local law enforcement 
agency, or from any other agency approved by the Board. Applicants shall use forms or 
method prescribed by the Board.  
 (fd) Applicant must pay to the Board the current actual cost of conducting the state 
and federal background check.  
 (g) Criminal background check results must be submitted prior to the 30 day 
deadline. 
 (4) Documents to be submitted prior to approval to take the Oregon Specifics 
Examinations: 
 (a) A completed, official application including a recent photograph and 
fingerprints or LiveScan Transmittal Verification form; 
 (b) Social Security Number Authorization form; 
 (cb) Evidence of the applicant's good moral character on the letterhead stationary 
of a Chiropractic chiropractic physician;  
 (dc) A signed affidavit attesting to successful completion of at least two years of 
liberal arts and sciences study in an accredited college. Original transcripts must be 
provided if requested by the Board; and 
 (ed) A transcript certified by the registrar, from an approved chiropractic college, 
including transcripts of coursework as required by OAR 811-020-0006 (minimum 
Educational Requirements for physiotherapy and minor surgery/ proctology).  A 
transcript of grades is necessary from each chiropractic college attended. 
 (fe) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners on Part I, II, and III and physiotherapy. 
 (5) Documents and fee to be submitted prior to licensure include: 
 (a) $150The $100$150 current actual initial license fee. (do we need both words; 
current and actual in here?). 
 (b) A diploma or other evidence of graduation certified by the registrar from an 



approved Cchiropractic college. 
 (c) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners Part IV.  
 (6) All applicants must take and pass the Oregon Specifics Examination 
consisting of written examination in ethics and jurisprudence, obstetrics and gynecology, 
minor surgery and proctology.  Applicants who have previously taken and passed 
obstetrics and gynecology, and/or minor surgery and proctology within the last five years 
from the date of application as received by the Board are not required to retake these 
tests, however, all applicants must take and pass ethics the Eethics and Jjurisprudence 
examination. 
 (7) Oregon Specifics Examination Grades: 
 (a) The Board shall determine the passing scores. Each section of the examination 
shall be graded separately using the Angoff Method, a criterion referenced model. Passing 
scores fluctuate between sections and between examinations. All examinations are designed 
to test minimal competency to protect the public health and safety. 
 (b) Examination grades will be released within 30 days of the examination date.  
 (8) Regrades: any request for regrade of the Ethics and Jurisprudence examination 
must be submitted in writing to the Board. no later than 45 days after the date of the 
examination. A regrade involves a manual tally of points earned. for the specific 
examination requested. 
 Any regrade of the  Minorthe Minor Surgery/Proctology and /or the 
Obstetrics/Gynecology examination(s) requires contact to be made directly to the national 
testing agency and the regrade procedures are determined by them.    
 
 (9) An applicant failing to achieve a passing grade, as determined by the Board for 
the Ethics and Jurisprudenceeach examination section, may make application to the Board 
for a re-examination in of the failed sections . An applicant failing to achieve a passing 
grade, as determined by the Board for the Minor Surgery/Proctology, and /or the 
Obstetrics/Gynecology examination(s), must contact the national testing agency for 
reexamination of the failed section(s).   Do we want to say what the re exam fees are here? I 
added it above in 3(b) 
 
 (10) An applicant must take at least one of the failed section(s) within 13 months 
following the date when the applicant took the entire examination. If the applicant fails to 
re-test on at least one failed section within 13 months of the last examination, the file shall 
become inactive and the applicant must re-apply and take the entire examination.  
 (11) An applicant attempting to give aid or accepting aid from another while 
examinations are in progress shall fail the examination and will not be allowed to take the 
examination for a period of five (5) years. 
 (12) Refunds:  
 (a) The application fee is non-refundable; and 
 (b) The retake fee for the Ethics and Jurisprudence exam is refundable upon request. 
can be refunded. until 10 days prior to the test date. 
 (c) The criminal background check fee is non-refundable. 
 (13) The Board may reject applications for good cause, including evidence of 
unprofessional behavior. 
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 (14) Effective June 1, 2001 applicants who have completed all requirements for 
licensure, including passage of all required examinations, must submit the initial license fee 
to obtain license within one year from the date they completed all the requirements.  An 
applicant’s initial license will be valid for a minimum of 180 days.  However, if the 
applicant’s next birth date is within the 180 days, the initial license will be valid for an 
additional 12 months beyond the applicant’s birth date. 
 
Statutory Auth.: ORS 684 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.050; 684.052 
Adopted Eff. 7-1-2015 
 


	Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing (for March 17, 2016)

	Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact

	Proposed Language for OAR 811-010-0085 Applicants and Examination...

