
Oregon
Kate Brown, Governor 

Board of Massage Therapists 
728 Hawthorne Ave NE 

Salem, OR 97301 
Phone: (503) 365-8657 

Fax: (503) 385-4465 
www.oregon.gov/OBMT 

Due Date:  The first day of the month of your expiration date.  Your renewal form must be postmarked no 
later than the 1st of your birth month NOT your actual birthday in order to avoid a late fee.  If it is postmarked 
after the 1st the late fee schedule will apply.   

LATE FEE SCHEDULE (if applicable) 
If postmarked: 

Continuing Education:  Unless this is your first renewal you are required to submit a completed Continuing 
Education Form (see reverse). The total number of CE hours required is 25 and the minimum number of 
“contact hours” required is 12. 

CPR:  Effective for January 1, 2008 or later, you are required to maintain proof of current adult basic CPR as 
part of your Active renewal requirement.  CPR may be claimed for continuing education. If taken in the 
presence of an instructor, the hours may be applied toward your “contact hours”. Online courses are 
acceptable and can count toward "non-contact" hours.    

Inactive OR Inactive to Active Status:  If you wish to change to Inactive status you need only submit the 
completed renewal form and pay the Inactive fee of $50.  If you wish to reactivate your Inactive license you 
must submit the completed mid-cycle to active renewal form, pay a renewal fee of $100, and provide proof of 
continuing education hours from each renewal period that you were inactive up to a maximum of 50 CE hours, 
proof of current CPR, complete electronic fingerprinting and pay the fingerprint processing fee of $43.  Contact 
the office if you have any questions.   

Address/Name Changes:  Changes must be submitted in writing via fax, US mail, website or renewal form. 
Name changes must be accompanied by legal verification (e.g. a government issued ID, driver’s license, 
marriage certificate, passport or divorce decree).  A penalty of up to $1,000 may be imposed for failing to notify 
the Board within 30 days of any change. 

Practicing Without a License:  Advertising or practicing massage without a current Active Massage License 
issued by the OBMT is a violation of state law and subject to civil penalties of up to $1,000 per violation 
assessed by the Board. 

Remember to: 
 Verify the information in all sections is accurate and complete.
 Provide all required documents. (name change, arrest record, etc.)
 Sign the application.
 Enclose appropriate payment including the late fee if applicable. You may pay by check, money

order payable to OBMT or credit card (Visa or MasterCard).

A LICENSE CANNOT BE ISSUED UNTIL ALL APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS ARE COMPLETE 
AND ALL FEES HAVE BEEN PAID.  

Week Days past due: Late Fee: 
1 1st to 7th $25 
2 8th to 14th $50 
3 15th to 21st $75 

4+ 22nd and above $100 

OBMT RENEWAL FORM 

Renewal Fee:  Active $155; Inactive $50 

R01202015EU 



Oregon
Kate Brown, Governor 

Board of Massage Therapists 
728 Hawthorne Ave NE 

Salem, OR 97301 
Phone: (503) 365-8657 

Fax: (503) 385-4465 
www.oregon.gov/OBMT 

LMT License #:     Last 4 digits of SSN:  Birth Date:    

Last Name:    First Name: Middle Initial:     

Nickname:    Other Names:    

Private Email Address: 

Public Email Address: 

Home Address:        
(Must be physical address) 

City:  State: Zip: 

Phone: Cell: 

Work Name:        
(Location where the majority of massage is performed)

Address: 

City:  State: Zip: 

Work Phone:  Work Cell: 

Mailing Address: 

City:  State: Zip:     

Do you want to be excluded from the mailing list:  NO   YES (If you mark yes, you will still receive Board mailings) 
The mailing list allows companies or individuals to distribute information about CE’s, products, etc. 

Mark which address that you want to appear on the website Licensee Verification screen: 
 Home       Mailing       Work    None   (If “None” is selected, the City, State and Zip will still appear) 

List the primary modalities you are practicing: (e.g.: Swedish, Reiki and Reflexology)

1. _________________________ 2. _________________________ 3. _________________________

4. _________________________ 5. _________________________ 6. _________________________

I hold a license to practice in the following health related field(s):   
(Please include the state where the license is held)  

OBMT RENEWAL FORM 

R01202015EU 



STOP!  Read the instructions completely before answering the following character  questions. 
Any FALSE STATEMENT knowingly made in this application is grounds for revocation or suspension of your license.  If in doubt, 
disclose and explain rather than conceal.  If you answer ‘no’ to question 4 based upon an “expungement”, order “setting aside” or “sealing” 
of a record of a conviction or conditional discharge (diversion) you must personally verify with the court directly involved that the 
expungement, setting aside or sealing actually has taken place.  An erroneous belief that a conviction has been expunged, set aside or 
sealed, when in fact it has not, will be deemed a false statement. 

Please read each question completely.  You must answer each question “yes” or “no”, whichever is true. 

NOTE:  If you are requesting inactive status, you are not required to respond to the below questions. 

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions above you MUST attach a detailed written explanation of the 
circumstances leading to and the outcome of the situation AND include copies of all related official documentation, 
including but not limited to: police reports, court documents, final actions and/or order, treating physician 
documentation, etc. 

In completing this renewal application, I understand that any misrepresentation on my part or failure to fully 
disclose background information will be cause for disciplinary action by the Board, up to and including fines and 
license revocation.  

I understand that if I fail to complete any portion of this renewal application, it will be deemed incomplete and 
reinstatement fees may accrue, which could include late fees and a fingerprint processing fee. 

By my signature below, I am stating I have completed 25 hours of verifiable continuing education and have a valid  
CPR at the time of this renewal – or this is my first renewal and CE is not required. I certify that this information is 
true and accurate.  I understand that per OAR 334-010-0050 (5),”If the board finds indications of fraud or 
falsification of records, investigative action shall be instituted.  Findings may result in disciplinary action including 
revocation of the licensee’s license.” 

1. Since your last active renewal are you required to register in this, or any other state as a sex 
offender? 

2. Since your last active renewal have you been investigated, disciplined or denied licensure by this or 
any other governmental licensing agency? 

3. Since your last active renewal have you surrendered any professional license in any State, territory or 
jurisdiction? 

4. 

Since your last active renewal have you been arrested or convicted for: (a) any felony; (b) 
misdemeanor; or (c) any major traffic violation, such as: driving under the influence of intoxicants or 
drugs 

• STOP: Major traffic violations such as: Tickets for Driving under the influence of drugs or
intoxicants (even if you received diversion or if the case was dropped or dismissed);
MUST BE REPORTED!

5. Since your last active renewal have you abused or been treated for the abuse of alcohol, a controlled, 
or mind altering substance? 

6. Since your last active renewal have you received any in-patient mental health care for a 
psychological, addiction, or chemical dependency issue that affected your ability to safely practice? 

SIGN HERE FOR INACTIVE STATUS: 

I certify that I am not advertising or providing professional 
services in Oregon and request inactive status. 

Signature: ___________________________________ 

SIGN HERE FOR ACTIVE STATUS: 

I certify that I am in compliance with all active status 
requirements. 

Signature: ___________________________________ 



OBMT Continuing Education Form 
 “Contact hours” are in the physical presence of an instructor with other massage, bodywork or healthcare professionals.  Examples: 
Attendance in a class, workshop or training; Serve as a board/committee member, examiner or attend a board meeting. 

“Non-Contact Hours”:  Maybe in the following categories: Research work or published author; Volunteer massage at an organized event; 
Telecommunication or on-line course(s); Self-study based on media (ie. book/video, periodical, audiocassette, VHS/DVD; Teaching, 
mentoring or peer supervision. 

Instructions: 
• Fill in the title, location, date, type (contact or non-contact) and number of hours for each course completed.
• You will not be required to provide documentation unless you are selected for the CE Audit.
• A total of 25 continuing education hours must be reported.
• A minimum of 12 hours must be contact hours.

IF YOUR LICENSE IS CURRENTLY LAPSED OR YOU ARE RETURNING FROM INACTIVE STATUS, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT 
DOCUMENTATION OF CE HOURS, PROOF OF CURRENT CPR AND A COMPLETED ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINT AND PROCESSING FEE OF 
$43.00 PAYABLE TO OBMT. 
(Example) – ABC Therapy, OneWorld Institute of Massage, 7/20/2015, 19 contact hours 
(Example)– Understanding the Fundamentals of ABC Therapy, Online at www.abctherapy.org, 7/25/2015, 6 non-contact hours 

Number of contact hours completed:   __________ 

Total number of CE hours completed:  __________ 

CPR Expiration Date:  __________ 

PAYMENT INFORMATION 
***Please provide payment information below*** 

By my signature below, I authorize the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists to debit my credit card or debit card the 
indicated authorized amount. 
_______________________________________ ____________________ 
Signature        Date 

Note:  Once payment has been processed, please remove  this section and shred 

Check:   Please circle option: Visa / MasterCard 
(Make payable to OBMT) 

  Card #:  __________________________________  Exp Date:  _________ 

Check #:   __________ V-code:  _______ (for Visa only, reverse side of card)

Amount:   $ __________   Authorized Amount to Charge:   $  __________ 

  Billing Address of Card:  Street #:     _________  Zip Code:      __________ 
(Example:  Write 728 for 728 Hawthorne Ave NE.  Do not write the entire address.) 

Complete and Return to: OBMT 728 Hawthorne Ave NE, Salem, OR 97301 or via fax at 503-385-4465 


	Remember to:

