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COMMERCIAL SHELLFISH HARVESTERS & GROWERS INFORMATION

Commercial shellfish* harvesters and growers intending to sell for human consumption
must pay the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) certification fee with the license
application or renewal and conduct business as follows:

1. ODA Shellfish Sanitation Certificates are required for commercial harvesting for human
consumption. Applications are available from Oregon Department of Agriculture, 635
Capitol St. NE, Salem, Oregon, 97301-2532, (503)-986-4720. Shellfish Program
Information on web:

oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/FSLicensing/Pages/CommercialShellfish.aspx

2. Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) Commercial Fishing License is
required for harvesting wild shellfish.

3. ODFW Shellfish Harvest Permits are required and available from ODFW offices.

4. Commercial shellfish harvesters and growers, harvesting for human consumption, are
limited to ODA classified shellfish harvesting areas (see ‘Shellfish Coast Map”).
Harvesters must provide ODA with a list of their current harvest areas. Contact ODA
regarding a current management plan for areas where you plan to harvest**.

5. Shellfish Tagging — Harvesters and growers must attach to each container of shellfish
durable, waterproof tags sized at least 13.8 square inches with information in the following

order:

a. Harvester’s certificate number (i.e., OR 777 HV, use assigned certificate number)
b. Harvest date and time

c. Harvest area (bay or beach)

d. Type and Quantity of shellfish

e. This statement: “This tag shall be attached until container is empty or retagged and

kept on file for 90 days.”
Shipper tags should have the above information and:

Shipper name and address

Original shellstock shippers’s certification number

The statement “Keep Refrigerated”

All shellstock intended for raw consumption shall include a consumer advisory:
“Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, shellfish or eggs, may
increase your risk of foodborne illness, especially if you have certain medical
conditions.”
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6.  Harvesters must sell to buyers who are ODA certified shellfish dealers and ODFW
licensed wholesale fish buyers. Obtain a list of ODA certified shippers or distributors from
ODA. Harvesters cannot distribute shellfish for human consumption to restaurants or
retail stores. Any such sales will be prosecuted under ODA laws for food safety (ORS 622).

7. Shellfish must be protected from contamination and temperature abuse. Deliveries to
certified shellfish shippers must be made in clean containers within 24 hours of harvest or
less. See current year’s Harvest Matrix for oyster harvesting times. Deliveries should be
made on drained ice.

8. All shellfish harvested as bait must be dyed on landing with ODFW approved dye (red dye
#40), regardless of the area’s classification.

9.  Harvesters are not permitted to ‘wet store’ shellstock on the near-shore, alongside

harvesting boats, or in any manner. Only certified shellfish shippers can apply to wet store
shellfish.

10.  Overboard discharge of human waste into shellfish growing areas is strictly prohibited.

11.  Commercial harvesting of inter-tidal and sub-tidal clams is a limited participation program.
Contact ODFW, Marine Region Office in Newport at (541)-867-4741 for information.

* Shellfish means oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops, except scallops where the final product is
adductor muscle only.

** Growing Areas currently approved for commercial harvest of shellfish for human

consumption include Clatsop Beaches, Tillamook Bay, Netarts Bay, Yaquina Bay, Umpqua
River and Triangle, Coos Bay and South Slough.
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