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Rules and Regulations for the Oregon Shell Egg 
Producer 

	
  
The following is a brief summary that will assist producers in understanding the 
rules and regulations for shell eggs. 
 
 

I. EGG HANDLER’S LICENSE - costs $25.00 per fiscal year (July 1 - 
June 30). 
 
The producer is required to have an egg handler’s license if eggs are 
to be sold at: retail establishments, food service establishments, food 
processors, and/or food distributors. 
 
A producer does NOT need a license if eggs are to be sold: 
1. Directly to the consumer (from the farm, farmers market, on 

route off producer’s farm directly to individual for home 
consumption). 

2. Ungraded to a dealer 
3. Additional labeling requirements apply, see the Labeling section** 
 

II. OREGON EGG FEE AND EGG PERMIT NUMBER 
 

Administration of the egg law is financed by an egg fee of $.0025 per 
dozen eggs first sold in Oregon.  This fee is payable monthly to the 
Department based on the dozen eggs reported on a filed Oregon 
Monthly Egg Fee Assessment Report.  This is applicable to all eggs 
first sold in Oregon EXCEPT: 
 
1. Eggs sold to the United States Government 
2. Eggs sold to another egg handler for processing into egg products 
3. Eggs sold by producer from producer’s own production to 

ultimate consumer.  This includes sales to consumers that 
purchase eggs off producers farm, from producer at farmers 
market, and on route to individuals for home consumption. 

Fee is also not applicable to eggs first sold and shipped outside of 
this state. 
 
All producers responsible for paying an egg fee will be assigned an 
egg permit number by the Department.  This number must be 
displayed on the side or end of all consumer containers sold in 
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Oregon in bold face letter at least 1/8 inch in height.  This number 
may be printed on the container by the egg container manufacturer 
or may be applied by the label with a permit number on it, or by any 
other means the producer might devise. 

 
 
III. USED CARTONS OR CASES 

 
No person shall sell eggs for human consumption in previously used 
consumer containers bearing the brand, trademark or officially 
designated number of another egg handler, unless the same is 
removed or defaced. 
 

IV. INVOICE 
 

An invoice showing the grade and size, number of eggs, the name 
and address of the seller must accompany each sale to retail 
establishments, food service establishments, food processors, and or 
food distributors.  Buyer must keep receipt for 60 days and one year 
by seller.  No invoice shall be required on eggs when sold to the 
United States Government or the individual consumer. 
 

V. LABELING 
 

All containers of eggs must be labeled with: 
1. Correct grade and size of eggs in the container* 
2. Name and address of producer, wholesaler, or retail by or for 

whom the eggs were packed 
3. Oregon egg permit number and pull date (JUN 20 or 06 20). 
4. The safe handling statement must appear on the label 

prominently, conspicuously, and in a type size no smaller than 
one-sixteenth of one inch.  The statement must appear in a 
hairline box and the words “safe handling instructions” must 
appear in bold capital letters.  For example: 

 
 

 
 

 
On carton of one dozen, the grade and size must be unabbreviated in 
bold face letter at least 1/4 inch in height. 
 

SAFE HANDLING INSTRUCTIONS:  To prevent illness 
from bacteria: keep eggs refrigerated, cook eggs until yolks are 
firm, and cook foods containing eggs thoroughly. 
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On cases, grade and size must be unabbreviated in bold face letter at 
least 1/2 inch in height and placed on either end or sides of case. 
 
The pull date must be easily read and in view of consumer. 
 
No eggs other than AA or A shall be sold, offered for sale, or 
advertised for sale in any manner as “fresh eggs,” “ranch eggs,” 
“farm eggs,” or to represent the same to be fresh. 
 

  * Grades and size only pertain to chicken hen eggs.  Eggs other than 
chicken hen need to follow all other requirements and need to be 
clean and edible. 

 
   ** The principal display panel of shell eggs that are sold directly to 

the consumer without a license, shall contain in a prominent location 
the following statement in legible, all capital, and bold-faced type no 
less then one-eighth inch: 
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT PREPARED IN AN INSPECTED 
FOOD ESTABLISHMENT. NOT FOR RESALE. 
 

VI. The chart listed below shows the grades that may be marketed and 
the requirement for each grade.   

      
            Egg size   Average wt/doz.  Minimum wt/doz. 
  Jumbo   30 oz.    29 oz. 
  Extra Large   27 oz.    26 oz.   
  Large    24 oz.    23 oz.   
  Medium   21 oz.    20 oz.  
  Small    18 oz.    17 oz. 
  Pee Wee or Pullet  15 oz. 

 
VII. CANDLING AND GRADING ROOM 
  

Below is a brief summary of the sanitation standards for grading and 
candlin Eggs (603-022-0500). 

      1.   A separate room shall be provided of adequate size and location 
to accommodate in a sanitary manner the equipment and volume 
of eggs being candled and graded. 

2. Floors, walls, and ceiling shall be kept clean and constructed of 
washable materials, tight, reasonably smooth, and in good repair. 
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3. There must be a potable water supply, a clean storage area for 
supplies, and a refrigerated space large enough to hold producer’s 
supply of eggs at a temperature of 45ºF or less. 

4. Firms with private septic systems shall obtain Authorization 
Notice for changing their septic system from residential to 
commercial use or additional waste disposal due to commercial 
activity. Note that in some cases the agency issuing the 
authorization notice will be DEQ, and in other jurisdictions the 
City or County Building/Planning Department. 

5. Eggs may be dry cleaned if dry cleaned equipment is kept clean 
and in good repair.   

6. Where necessary, washing facilities must be provided.  This 
should include at least one handsink and a two-compartment sink.   
The washing solution must be maintained in a reasonably clean 
condition.  The temperature of the wash water must be at least 20 
degrees Fahrenheit higher then that of the eggs.  Eggs can’t be 
submerged for any length of time during any step of the cleaning 
procedure. No rags or washcloths may be used.   

7. All eggs that are wet washed shall be spray rinsed with water 
containing an approved sanitizing agent.  The following website 
lists approved cleaning, destaining, and sanitizing agents for shell 
eggs www.nsf.org/usda/psnclistings.asp (go to the box in middle 
of page that says nonfood compounds and scroll down until you 
see Q1, 2, 3, 4, and 6). 

 
VIII. INFORMATION AND FORMS 
 

To obtain further information, forms or copies of the Oregon Egg 
Law and regulations, please contact: 
 
Oregon Dept. Of Agriculture   Phone: (503) 986-4720 
Food Safety Program    Fax: (503) 986-4729 
635 Capitol St NE Salem, OR 97301-2532 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 


