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License Requirements for Pesticide Applications on School Property

Senate Bill 637 was signed into law by the Governor on June 24, 2009 and is now

Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 634.700-634.750. This law addresses the implementation
of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) in Schools and requires applications of pesticides on
public or private school property (K-12 and community colleges) to be conducted by a licensed
pesticide applicator. If the applicator is an employee of a public school, he/she will need to have
a Public Pesticide Applicator license. If the applicator is an employee of a private school, he/she
will need to have a Commercial Pesticide Applicator license.

Another option would be for any school is to hire a licensed Commercial Pesticide Operator
(company) to make any pesticide applications deemed necessary.

Examples (beginning July 1, 2012): A Pesticide Applicator (either Public or Commercial)
license will be required for every pesticide application made by an employee of a school (except
disinfectants). A few examples of applications requiring a Pesticide Applicator license include:

* Applying weed control products with a backpack sprayer or pump-up pressure sprayer

* Applying over-the-counter pesticides like wasp killers or ant bait in ready-to-use packages

* Placing mouse or rat bait on any school property location

* Spraying for wasps, cockroaches, silverfish or other pests inside or outside of buildings

Anyone applying pesticides on school property must have an applicator license by July 1, 2012.

License categories must match the type of pesticide application that will be done. Examples of
categories most likely to be needed to make pesticide applications in school settings are:

L.I.H.S. General Pest Control L.I.LH.S. Moss Control
Ornamental and Turf/Herbicide L.LLH.S. Structural Pest Control
Ornamental and Turf/Insecticide and Fungicide

Minimum examinations required: Oregon Laws & Safety exam and at least one category exam
with a 70% minimum pass rate. (see http://oregon.gov/ODA/PEST/docs/pdf/licguide.pdf for
more information).

To get a license: (1) fill out the correct form, (sent to you after passing the exams), and (2) pay
the licensing fee. Passing the required tests alone does NOT mean you are licensed! It can take
three weeks to receive your license. Do not apply pesticides until you get your license in the
mail or you see your name on the ODA website in a license search.

Certification begins when both initial exams are passed and is valid for a five-year period. To
maintain certification, you need to attend recertification classes to acquire 40 credit hours
during your five-year certification period. No more than 15 hours per year can count towards
the 40 hours. Another option to “recertify” is to retake all certification exams.

For more information, see http://egov.oregon.gov/ODA /PEST /licensing index.shtml
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