A Private Pesticide Applicator’s license
allows a person to purchase, apply,

or supervise the use of restricted-

use pesticides on agricultural land
owned, rented or leased by the private
pesticide applicator. Agricultural land
includes farmland, rangeland, forests,
greenhouses, nurseries, orchards, etc.

Once you take and pass the Private
Applicator’s exam, you become
certified, and are able to apply for a
Private Pesticide Applicator’s license.

RECERTIFICATION

The license certification is valid for up
to five consecutive calendar years, and

expires December 31st of the final year.

At the end of five years, you can renew

your certification by:

v Retaking and passing the Private
Applicator exam at the end of the
fifth certification year

or

v Attend approved recertification
courses (must be completed before
the end of the 5 year certification
period).

+ 16 total hours required - 4 of the
hours must by “Core”.

+ 8 hours maximum per year.

+ A list of classes is available on the
ODA website.

SOIL FUMIGATION

The following soil fumigants are
restricted-use products and contain
new label requirements:

e Chloropicrin

e Dazomet

e Metam sodium

e Metam potassium
e Methyl bromide

If, as a private pesticide applicator,

you will be making soil fumigant
applications on property that you own,
rent, or lease, you will need to complete
EPA-approved Soil Fumigant Applicator
Training every 36 months. The training
is available online through EPA’s Soil
Fumigant Toolbox at:

www.epa.gov/pesticides/reregistration/
soil_fumigants/

More information can be found about
soil fumigant label changes on the ODA
Pesticide Program website.

WEB SITE

http://oregon.gov/ODA/PEST/
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CONTACT US

Oregon Department of Agriculture
Pesticides Program

635 Capitol St NE

Salem, OR 97301

Phone: 503-986-4635

Fax: 503-986-4735
http://oregon.gov/ODA/PEST
pestx@oda.state.or.us

This publication will be made available in alternate

formats upon request.
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READING THE LABEL

It’s the Law!!
Read it...

Read the label before you purchase a
pesticide product, each time you apply
it and when you store or dispose of it.

Follow it...

Always follow label directions exactly.
Wear required personal protective
equipment, apply correct rates on
listed sites, and observe other special
precautions.

PROTECTING POLLINATORS

AVOIDING PROBLEMS

v Select insecticides that are lowest in
toxicity to pollinators.

v Do not make pesticide applications
while pollinators are foraging.

v If commercial hives are present,
inform the beekeeper of when and
where pesticide applications will be
made and notify them if you intend to
apply a pesticide.

v Observe buffer zones around
beehives.

For more information on protecting
pollinators see “How to Reduce Bee
Poisoning from Pesticides” (PNW 591)
available from Oregon State University
Extension.

v Apply a pesticide only if the crop or
site is specifically listed on the label.

v Keep application equipment in good
condition and calibrated correctly.

v Prevent particle and vapor drift.
v Avoid areas where runoff is likely.
v’ Protect local endangered species.

v’ Be especially careful near sensitive
sites, such as schools, hospitals and
beehives.

v Observe buffer zones around certain
waterways. See the ODA website for
details.

v Use required personal protective
equipment (PPE).

v Adequately supervise all applications
made by unlicensed employees.

v Report any adverse effects to humans,
animals, or the environment to the
ODA Pesticides Program at 503-986-
4635.

Recordkeeping elements
v Pesticide brand or product name.
v’ Pesticide EPA registration number.

v Total amount applied-record Ibs., oz.
or gal. of actual product used.

v’ Size of the area treated.

v Crop, commodity, stored product or
site.

v’ Location of application-not the
address of farm. Acceptable locations
include:

+ County, range, township and
section;

+ Maps or written descriptions;

+ USDA identification system:;

+ The legal property description.

v Date (Month/Day/Year).

v Certified applicator’s full name (no
nicknames or initials) and license
number.

v Restricted-use pesticides must
be recorded within 14 days of the
application.

v Records must be maintained for 2
years.

v Provide records to ODA personnel,
USDA personnel and attending

licensed health care professionals
when requested.

Recordkeeping is required for

restricted-use pesticides

PROTECTING WORKERS

Call OR-OSHA 1-800-922-2689 for
more information on...

v Worker Protection Standard (farm,
forest, nursery and greenhouse sites)
+ Pesticide safety training
+ Central posting and notification
+ Decontamination supplies
¢+ Emergency Assistance
+ Restricted-entry intervals
+ Personal protective equipment (PPE)
v' Hazard Communication Standard
+ Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
available for workers to view.

¢+ Train workers on how to use an
MSDS.

PREVENTING DRIFT

It is your responsibility to keep your
application on the intended target site
only. In addition to the label, these
steps can help you reduce the potential
for drift.

v Keep application equipment
maintained and accurately calibrated.

v Use the lowest pressure setting
possible and spray as close to the
target while maintaining adequate
coverage.

v Use drift control technology such as
drift retardants, etc.

v Do not spray during temperature
inversions, or during other
unfavorable weather.




