
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the
publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list,
whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon
Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.
The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

735-062-0007
AMEND:

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 807.021, 807.040, 807.050, 807.060, 807.120, 809.310, 807.050
Statutory Authority:

None
Other Authority:

ORS 807.021, 807.040, 807.060, 807.066, 807.130
Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

ORS 807.060 requires that an application for driving privileges for a person under 18 years of age, unless the applicant is an emancipated
minor, must be signed by the applicant's mother, father or legal guardian. OAR 735-062-0007 currently defines mother, father and legal
guardian for purposes of ORS 807.060. DMV recently decided that the definition of mother and father should be revised to specify that a
mother or father does not include a person whose parental rights have been terminated.

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
for public comment

Rules Coordinator Name Email Address

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.

Lauri Kunze lauri.g.kunze@odot.state.or.us

Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

ADOPT:

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing

Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division 735
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Rules Coordinator Telephone

Lauri Kunze (503) 986-3171

Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division, 355 Capitol St. NE, MS 51, Salem, OR 97301

Address

Definition of Mother and Father for Purpose of Signing Application for Driving Privileges for Child

Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULE CAPTION

03-21-2016 Close of Business
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Secretary of State

STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT
A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form.

FILED

ARCHIVES DIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE

2-11-16 2:05 PM

Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division 735
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Definition of Mother and Father for Purpose of Signing Application for Driving Privileges for Child

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)

Printed Name Email Address
Lauri Kunze lauri.g.kunze@odot.state.or.us

In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

the amendment of 735-062-0007

ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 807.021, 807.040, 807.050, 807.060, 807.120, 809.310, 807.050

Other Authority:
None

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 807.021, 807.040, 807.060, 807.066, 807.130

Need for the Rule(s):
ORS 807.060 requires that an application for driving privileges for a person under 18 years of age, unless the applicant is an emancipated
minor, must be signed by the applicant's mother, father or legal guardian. OAR 735-062-0007 currently defines mother, father and legal
guardian for purposes of ORS 807.060. DMV recently decided that the definition of mother and father should be revised to specify that a
mother or father does not include a person whose parental rights have been terminated.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
None

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

None

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

None

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

None

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
None

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

DMV sent draft rules to 14 organizations representing small businesses. No responses were received.

This rulemaking is not a change in policy or a new regulation but rather a clarification. Therefore no assistance was needed from a rule
advisory committee.

No

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
None

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
03-21-2016 Close of Business



Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007
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