You have been issued a disabled person
parking permit by the Driver and Motor
Vehicle Services (DMV). This allows you to
park in marked parking spaces reserved for
persons with disabilities.

Additional space is necessary for persons
with disabilities using a van to load and
unload their wheelchairs or power chairs.
The van accessible designated spaces should
be left open for the their access.

Some of these spaces are on public property
and some of them are on private property. Your
permit authorizes you to park in any space

that has a sign with the international disabled
insignia clearly marking the area as a space
reserved for permit holders. The space may
have a sign, logo, or both.

Your permit is registered to you, identified
by your driver’s license or identification card
number.

You may use your permit in any vehicle you
occupy. It must be clearly visible from the
outside of the vehicle.

All other states honor your permit.

If you have any questions regarding your
permit, you may call your local law enforcement
office or any local DMV office.

Your permit is for your use only. Each person
with a disability needs to obtain their own
permit unless DMV issues a family permit.

The striped area next to or between disabled
parking spaces, is known as the access aisle
and are for persons with disabilities that use
wheelchairs or other similar devices to exit their

vehicles. Under no circumstances can anyone
park in or block an access aisle. Parking any
part of your vehicle in the access aisle, could
prohibit the use of a ramp and is a violation that
can be cited.

Individuals who use a wheelchair may be
eligible for a WHEELCHAIR USER ONLY
permit that allows use in a WHEELCHAIR
USER ONLY space or any other regular
disabled parking space.

Disabled parking laws can be enforced 24 hours
per day, 7 days a week, including holidays.

Your permit must be conspicuously visible with
the expiration date, date punches and permit
number fully visible for law enforcement
purposes.

DO NOT deface your permit by trying to mark
over faded dates. A replacement permit must be
obtained from DMV when legibility becomes an
issue. Your old permit must be turned into DMV
upon receiving a new one. Parking patrols will
issue a citation if they cannot read the expiration
date or permit number on your permit.

The law prohibits a space reserved for a
disabled person to park to be blocked for any
reason. This includes vehicles, signs, shopping
carts, fences, promotion displays, etc.

You may want to check with local authorities
about regulations governing parking fees in
cities where you will be parking in reserved
spaces for persons with disabilities.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is my permit registered to my vehicle?
A: NO, it is registered to you.

Q: May I use my permit in another state?
A: YES

Q: May I park in a disabled parking space,
display my permit, enter a building and leave
someone that is riding with me (disabled or not)
in my vehicle while I am gone?

A: YES

Q: May my spouse/friend use my permit if they
are disabled?
A: NO

Q: If I am disabled, may I use the permit of
another disabled person?
A:NO

Q: Is it unlawful to block a disabled parking
space or access aisle?
A: YES

Q: Can I park in a disabled space without a
permit for just a minute while I run into the
building?

A: NO. You must have a permit.

Q: If I move to Oregon, may I use the permit
from my other state until it expires?

A: NO, you must go to the DMV to get an
Oregon permit.

Q: If I park in a disabled space in a privately
owned parking lot, do I need to display my
permit?

A: YES, premises open to the public are subject
to Oregon laws.



Q: Do I have to hang my permit on my rear
view mirror?

A: YES, per Oregon Administrative rule 735-
080-0050(2). The proper display of a disabled
person parking permit is to hang the permit
from the rearview mirror so the expiration date
is visible from the outside of the vehicle. The
permit must be removed from the rearview
mirror prior to the operation of the vehicle.

Q: Is there any limitation for parking in a
disabled space?
A:NO

Q: What if my expiration date is faded and hard
to read or my permit is mutilated?

A: Obtain a new permit from DMV. NEVER
write on your permit. The permit would then be
considered invalid.

Q: May I park in a wheelchair only parking
spot if I have a regular disabled Permit?

A: NO, you must obtain a wheelchair

only permit provided by DMV to park in a
wheelchair only space.
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