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Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide 
If eligible for a hardship permit, “Yes” will be noted in the “HARDSHIP?” column along with the wait time a person must 
serve before DMV can issue a permit. Wait times begin on the suspension effective date or incarceration release date. 

 

A person may be suspended for the same offense under the IC laws and the DUII 
laws. IC actions are DMV administrative suspensions separate from any suspension or 
revocation imposed by a court on the DUII conviction for the same offense. 
• Any wait time served on a DUII/IC suspension resulting from the same offense 

will be credited to the wait time for the corresponding DUII/IC suspension. 
 

 

CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS 
 

CONVICTION ORDERED BY TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Aggravated Driving While Suspended or Revoked 
(DWS / DWR)  ORS 163.196, 809.409(2) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Not<10 
years 

No 

Assault Resulting from the Operation of a Motor Vehicle 
First Degree ORS 163.185, 809.235(1)(a) Court 

Form 735-6116 
Revocation Permanent No 

Second Degree ORS 163.175, 809.411(10)(b) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Not<8 yrs Yes 
(4 years) 

Third Degree ORS 163.165, 809.411(10)(c) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Not<5 yrs Yes 
(2 years) 

Fourth Degree ORS 163.160, 809.411(10)(d) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Not<1 year Yes 
(6 months) 

Attempt to Elude Police ORS 811.540, 809.411(5) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Criminal Mischief Resulting from Op of MV  
ORS 164.345, 164.354, 164.365, 809.411(2) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Criminal Trespass II w/MV ORS 164.245, 809.411(8) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 6 months Yes 

DWS / DWR (Felony) ORS 809.409(5), 811.182 Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation 1 year No 

DUII ORS 813.010 See DUII section above 

Implied Consent (IC) 
(ORS 813.100) 

 

TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal 1 year Yes (90 days) 
Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal – Increased 3 years Yes (3 years) 
BAC Failure 90 days Yes (30 days) 
BAC Failure – Increased  1 year Yes (1 year) 
Urine Test Refusal (Consecutive suspension) 1 years Yes (180 days) 
Urine Test Refusal – Increased (Consecutive suspension) 3 years Yes (3 years) 
• Suspension lengths are increased if any of the following occurred in Oregon or any other jurisdiction within 5 years 

prior to current arrest: DUII conviction; participation in a diversion or similar alcohol or drug program; or a suspension 
of driving privileges under the Implied Consent Law. (ORS 813.430) 

 

• A suspension for refusing to take a urine test shall be consecutive to any other suspension imposed under the Motorist 
Implied Consent law and the wait time for a hardship permit shall double. (ORS 813.132) 

• A court may impose a fine of $650 if the person refuses to submit to a breath or urine test. This is separate from any 
other court fine resulting from the DUII arrest. (ORS 813.095) 

DUII 
(ORS 813.010) 

 

CONVICTION ORDERED BY TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
DUII-  1st Conviction ORS 813.400, 809.428 Court or DMV 

Form 735-6116 
Suspension 1 year *Yes  

2nd w/in 5 yrs ORS 813.400, 809.428 Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 3 years Yes  
(90 days) 

3rd or Felony DUII  
ORS 813.400(2), 809.235 
       

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation **Permanent No 

DUII by Controlled Substance or Inhalant ORS 809.265 
This suspension is in addition to the (1 or 3 year) suspension 
or permanent revocation noted above for the DUII conviction. 

Court 
Form 735-6115C 

Suspension 6 months No 

* There is a 30 day wait time if the person has been convicted of a separate traffic crime within the previous year. 
**Person may petition the court to restore driving privileges after minimum 10 years from the revocation effective date. 
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CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS (Continued from page 1) 
 

CONVICTION ORDERED BY TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver – 
Injury/Serious Injury/Fatal   ORS 811.705, 809.409(3) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Injury 1 yr 
Serious-not<3 yrs 
 Fatal-not<5 yrs 

No 

Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver– 
Property Damage   ORS 811.700, 809.411(4) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

False Affidavit to DOT re: registration/operation MV 
laws ORS 809.409(4) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation 1 year No 

False App for DL or ID  
ORS 807.430, 807.530, 809.310(3)(a) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension
/Cancel 

1 year No 

False Info to Police Officer Enforcing MV Laws 
ORS 807.620, 809.310(3)(h)  

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension
/Cancel 

1 year No 

False Swearing to Receive DL  
ORS 807.520, 809.310(3)(b) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension
/Cancel 

1 year No 

Fleeing Police Officer ORS 811.540, 809.411(5) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Hit and Run  See Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver 

H
O

M
IC

ID
E 

Aggravated Vehicular Homicide 
ORS 163.149, 809.235(1)(a) 

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Permanent No 

Criminally Negligent Homicide Resulting from Op of 
MV  ORS 163.145, 809.235(1)(a) 

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Permanent No 

Manslaughter 1st or 2nd Degree Resulting from OP of MV 
ORS 163.118, 163.125, 809.235(1)(a) 

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Permanent No 

Murder (any Degree) w/MV used as a dangerous 
weapon  ORS 809.235(1)(a) 

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation Permanent No 

ALL - Vehicular Homicide, Murder resulting from Op of a 
MV, Aggravated DWS or DWR, Assault I, Criminally 
Negligent Homicide or Manslaughter ORS 809.409(2) 

DMV Revocation Not<10 yrs No 

Menacing Resulting from Operation of MV  
ORS 163.190, 809.411(2) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Minor in Possession by Misrepresentation of Age  
ORS 471.430(5), ORS 809.280(8) 

Court 
Form 735-6115D 

Suspension Not >1 yr Yes 

Misrepresentation of Age to Purchase/Consume 
Alcohol ORS 165.805(3), ORS 809.280(8) 

Court 
Form 735-6115D 

Suspension Not >1 yr Yes 

Permit Misuse of DL or ID  
ORS 807.430, 807.590, 809.310(3)(d) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 1 year No 

Reckless Driving ORS 811.140, 809.411(3) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Reckless Endangering Resulting from Op of MV 
ORS 163.195, 809.411(2) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Reckless Endangerment of Highway Workers  
ORS 811.231, 809.411(6) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Schedule 1 Yes 

Perjury to DOT re: laws on registration/operation of 
MV ORS 809.409(4) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation 1 year No 

Theft (1st, 2nd or 3rd Degree) of Gasoline  
ORS 164.043, 164.045, 164.055, 809.411(7) 

Court 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 6 months Yes 

Transfer of Docs for the Purpose of 
Misrepresentation ORS 807.510, 809.310(3)(g) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension
/Cancel 

1 year No 

Unlawfully Producing ID/DL/Permits, Etc.  
ORS 807.500, 809.310(3)(f) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension
/Cancel 

1 year No 

Using DL or ID of Another  
ORS 807.430, 807.600, 809.310(3)(e) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 1 year No 

Using Invalid DL or ID  
ORS 807.430, 807.580, 809.310(3)(c) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension 1 year No 

Unlawful Use of MV (Felony) ORS 809.409(5) Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation 1 year No 

Vehicular Assault of Bicyclist/Pedestrian  
ORS 811.060, 809.411(10)(d) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Suspension Not<1 year Yes 
(6 months) 

O
TH

ER
 

Any Offense Involving manufacturing, possession 
or delivery of controlled substance ORS 809.265 

Court 
Form 735-6115C 

Suspension 6 months No 

Any Felony w/Material Element Involving Op of 
Motor Vehicle ORS 809.409(5) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 

Revocation 1 year No 

Guilty Except for Insanity of Traffic Offense and 
Committed to PSRB ORS 809.419(6) 

Court or DMV 
Form 735-6116 Suspension 

Until Eligible 
ORS 807.090 No 
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JUVENILE 
 

CAUSE ORDERED BY TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Any Offense Involving (ORS 809.260): 
• Alcohol - Possession, Use or Abuse (13-20 years of age) 
• Controlled Substance - Unlawful Possession, 

Manufacture, or Distribution (13-17 years of age) 
• Possession of Weapon in a Public Building or 

School (13-17 years of age) 

Court 
Form 735-6115A 

Suspension See below Eligible for 
either Hardship 

Permit or 
Emergency 

Driver Permit 

   

   

    

The suspension remains in effect for :  (809.280(6)) 
 

• 1 year or until the juvenile turns 17 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the juvenile’s 1st order 
• 1 year or until the juvenile turns 18 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the juvenile’s 2nd or subsequent order 
Note:  If the person is 18-20 years of age, suspension is for 1 year because the “until 17” or “until 18” 

options do not apply 
 

On all above actions, the court may reinstate privileges after 90 days (180 days if controlled substance offense) 
for 1st conviction; 1 yr on 2nd or subsequent conviction (ORS 809.260) 
 

Failure to Appear on MIP (alcohol or marijuana) 
ORS 809.280, 419C.472, 475B.260 

Court 
Form 735-6115 

Suspension Not >10 yrs No 

MIP by Misrepresentation of Age (alcohol or marijuana) 
ORS 471.430(5), ORS 809.280(8), 475B.260 

Court 
Form 735-6115A 

Suspension Not >1 year Yes 

Misrepresentation of Age to Purchase/Consume 
Alcohol ORS 165.805(3), ORS 809.280(8) 

Court 
Form 735-6115D 

Suspension Not >1 year Yes 

Withdrawal from School ORS 339.257, 809.423(3) School 
District 

Form 735-7186 

Suspension Until enrolled 
or 18 yrs old 

No 

Withdrawal of Parent/Guardian License Approval  
ORS 809.320 

DMV Cancellation Until re-
approved or 
18 yrs old 

No 

School Administration Suspension  
ORS 339.254, 809.423(1)  

School 
District 

Form 735-7186A 

Suspension Not > 1 yr  
or Until 21 

yrs old 

Yes 

Tobacco Purchase/Possession by Misrep of Age  
(2nd or subsequent offense) ORS 167.401, 809.423(2) 

Court 
Form 735-6115 

Suspension Not > 1 year Yes 

 
DMV DRIVER IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMS 

 

CAUSE TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Adult Driver Improvement Program: 
ORS 809.480, OAR 735-072-0027 

Three convictions, three accidents, 
or a combination that totals three, 
in an 18-month period.   

Restriction 30 days No 

Four convictions, or four accidents, 
or a combination that totals four, 
in a 24-month period.   

Suspension 30 days Yes 

Provisional (under 18 yrs) Driver 
Improvement Program: 
ORS 809.480, OAR 735-072-0023 

Two convictions, two accidents, or 
a combination that totals two.   

Restriction 90 days No 

Three convictions, or three 
accidents, or a combination that 
totals three. 

Suspension Six months Yes 

 A conviction for a traffic crime, such 
as DUII, Reckless driving, etc.   

Suspension One year Yes 

Habitual Incompetent, Reckless, or Criminally Negligent 
Driver/Serious Violation of MV Laws ORS 809.421(1) 

Suspension Indefinite  

Habitual Offender Program: 
ORS 809.600, 809.610, 
809.640, 809.650(2) 

Two convictions or a combination that totals 
two, within a 5-year period for DUII; Criminal 
DWS/DWR; Reckless driving; Failure to 
perform duties of a driver; Flee/Attempt to 
elude; Vehicular homicide; Aggravated 
DWS/DWR, Murder, Manslaughter, Negligent 
homicide, Assault, Reckless endangering, 
Menacing or Criminal mischief resulting from 
operation of a MV. 

Restriction --- No 

Nineteen convictions within a five-year period.   Restriction --- No 
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DMV DRIVER IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMS (Continued from page 3) 

 

CAUSE TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Habitual Offender (continued) Three convictions or a combination that totals 

three, within a 5-year period for DUII; 
Criminal DWS/DWR; Reckless driving; Failure 
to perform duties of a driver; Flee/Attempt to 
elude; Vehicular homicide; or Murder, 
manslaughter, negligent homicide, assault, 
reckless endangering, menacing or criminal 
mischief resulting from operation of a MV.   

Revocation Not < 5 yrs No, but may 
be eligible for 
a Probationary 

Permit 

 Twenty convictions within a five-year period.   Revocation Not < 5 yrs No, but may 
be eligible for 
a Probationary 

Permit 
 

NON-CRIMINAL CAUSES 
 

CAUSE ORDERED BY TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP? 
Accident – Cause or Contribute to Death by Operating 
a MV –  DMV Determined Immediate Endangerment   
ORS 809.417(3)(c) 

DMV Suspension 1 year No 

Accident – Cause or Contribute to Death by Operating 
a MV    ORS 809.417(3)(a)   

DMV Suspension 1 year Yes 

Accident Report – Fail to File ORS 809.417(1) DMV Suspension Not > 5 yrs Yes 
Careless Driving w/Serious Injury/Death to 
Vulnerable User  ORS 811.135, 809.280(13) 

Court 
Form 735-6115D 

Suspension 1 year Yes 

Driver Improvement Course –Court Order to Complete 
ORS 809.270 

Court 
Form 735-6115B 

Suspension Not > 5 yrs Yes 

Failure to Appear for Major or Other Traffic Offense 
ORS 809.220, ORS 809.280(4) 

Court 
Form 735-6115 

Suspension Not >10 yrs No 

Failure to Install Ignition Interlock  
ORS 813.602(7) 

DMV Suspension Not > 5 yrs Yes 

Failure to Make Future Responsibility Filing  
ORS 809.415(3) 

DMV Suspension Not > 3 yrs No 

Failure to Obtain Medical Clearance  
ORS 809.419(2), 807.070, 807.090 

DMV Suspension Indefinite No 

Failure to Pay Child Support ORS 25.750, 25.780 DOJ or DA Suspension Indefinite No 
Failure to Pay Traffic Offense Fine ORS 809.210 Court 

Form 735-6115 
Suspension Not > 20 yrs No 

Failure to Appear or Satisfactorily Complete Required 
Exam   ORS 809.419(1) 

DMV Suspension Indefinite No 

False Certification of Financial Responsibility  
ORS 809.415(2) 

DMV Suspension Not > 3 yrs No 

Hospital Notice of Mental Condition  
ORS 809.419(5), 807.700 

DMV Suspension Indefinite No 

Incompetence to Drive MV Because of Mental/Physical 
Condition  ORS 809.419(3) 

DMV Suspension Indefinite No 

Motor Vehicle Registration – Court Order  
ORS 809.010 (Suspension only impacts vehicle registration 
– not driving privileges) 

Court 
Form 735-6128 

Vehicle 
Suspension 

Up to 120 
days 

No 

Tampering of Ignition Interlock Device ORS 813.602(7) DMV Suspension Not > 5 yrs Yes 
Uninsured Accident ORS 809.417(2) DMV Suspension 1 year Yes 
Unsettled Judgment ORS 809.415(1) Court 

Form 735-6702 
Suspension Not > 7 yrs Yes 

Violation of Driving Restrictions ORS 809.421(3) DMV Suspension Not > 1 yr No 
Incompetence to Operate Motorcycle ORS 809.419(4) DMV Revocation Indefinite No 
Speeding: 
ORS 811.109(4)(5), 
809.280(11)(12) 

Speeding over 30 mph and 
has a previous speeding 
conviction within 12 
months.   

Court 
Form 735-6115C 

Suspension Up to 30 
days 

Yes 

Speeding over 100 mph. Court 
Form 735-6115C 

Suspension 30-90 days Yes 
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COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL) / COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE (CMV) 
- DMV can NOT issue a Hardship Permit for commercial driving privileges 
- Other than Implied Consent, DMV provides the notice for all suspensions of CDL/CMV privileges 
 

CAUSE TYPE LENGTH 
Implied Consent: 
While operating a commercial motor 
vehicle (>.04% BAC)  
ORS 813.410(2), 809.510 

Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal Suspension 3 years 
Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal – Transporting 
Hazardous Material 

Suspension 5 years 

Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal – Increased Suspension Lifetime 
BAC Failure Suspension 1 year 
BAC Failure – Transporting Hazardous Material Suspension 3 years 
BAC Failure – Increased Suspension Lifetime 

DUII: 
While operating a commercial motor 
vehicle. ORS 809.510, 809.520 

1st conviction Suspension 1 year 
1st conviction – Transporting Hazardous Material Suspension 3 years 
2nd or subsequent conviction Suspension Lifetime 

Driving CMV While Suspended/Revoked for CMV Violations  
ORS 809.510(1)(c) 

Suspension 1 year 

Driving CMV While Suspended/Revoked for CMV Violations – Transporting Hazardous 
Material  ORS 809.510(2) 

Suspension 3 years 

Failure to File a Tax Return or Pay a Tax ORS 305.385 Suspension Indefinite 
Failure to Pay Child Support ORS 25.750, 25.780  Suspension Indefinite 
Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver ORS 809.510(1)(a), 811.700, 811.705 Suspension 1 year 
Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver – Transporting Hazardous Material  
ORS 809.510(2), 811.700, 811.705 

Suspension 3 years 

Felony Involving Op of MV ORS 809.510(1)(b) Suspension 1 year 
Felony Involving Op of MV – Transporting Hazardous Material  
ORS 809.510(2) 

Suspension 3 years 

Hit & Run – Injury/Property ORS 809.510(1) See Failure to Perform 
Duties above  

Imminent Hazard ORS 809.515(2) Suspension Not>1 year 
Murder/Manslaughter/Criminally Negligent Homicide or Assault Conviction while in a 
CMV – ORS 809.510(1)(d) 

Suspension 1 year 

Murder/Manslaughter/Criminally Negligent Homicide or Assault Conviction while in a 
CMV – Hazardous Material – ORS 809.510(2) 

Suspension 3 years 

Out-of-Service Order Violation ORS 809.530(1), 809.530(3) Suspension 180 days or 
3 years 

Out-of-Service Order Violation – Transporting Hazardous Material  
ORS 809.530(2), 809.530(4) 

Suspension 1 year or 
5 years 

Railroad Related Violation ORS 809.535, 811.455, 811.460, 811.475, 811.462 Suspension 60 days, 
120 days 
or 1 year 

Serious Traffic Violation Two or three convictions within a 3-year period 
ORS 809.525, OAR 735-063-0130 

Suspension 260 days 
3120 days 

Use of Commercial MV in felony involving Manufacture/Distribution of Controlled 
Substance ORS 809.520(1) 

Suspension Lifetime 

Violation of Posted Weight Limits ORS 809.120(1) Suspension Not>90 days 
Two or more below circumstances in any combination (ORS 809.520(2)): 
• DUII Conviction in MV or CMV 
• Implied Consent Breath Test Refusal in MV or CMV 
• Implied Consent Suspension (>.04% in CMV) 
• Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver in MV or CMV 
• Felony Conviction in MV or CMV 
• DWS/DWR Conviction in MV while suspended or revoked for CMV Violation 
• Murder/Manslaughter/Criminally Negligent Homicide/Aggravated Driving While 

Suspended or Revoked, or Assault Conviction while in CMV 

Suspension Lifetime 
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MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION 
 

Incarceration  
Other than Habitual Offender, any suspension or revocation “Length” noted with “not<” indicates the time length is 
established by the persons release from incarceration.    

• If the sentencing did not include incarceration, the sanction time length is as noted above from the beginning date of 
the revocation or suspension.   

• If the sentencing included incarceration, the sanction time length is as noted above from the date the person is 
released from incarceration for all crimes arising out of the same criminal episode. 

 
Non-Resident / No Current Driving Privileges 
A court may suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any nonresident for any cause for which the driving privileges of a 
resident of this state may be suspended or revoked. ORS 809.230 
 

If a person is not currently licensed or the person’s privileges expire within the suspension period, DMV or the Court shall 
suspend or revoke the person’s right to apply for driving privileges to operate motor vehicles in this state. ORS 809.360 

 
Out-of-Jurisdiction  
DMV may suspend Oregon driving privileges and/or commercial driving privileges if the driver is suspended or revoked 
out-of-state or based on an out-of-state conviction. ORS 809.400, 809.510(6) 

 
Suspension Schedule (ORS 809.428)  
                                   Schedule I               Schedule II 
 

1st Offense                     90 days                     1 year 
2nd Offense                     1 year                      3 years 
3rd or subsequent            3 years                     3 years 
     w/in 5 years 

 
Court Possession of License (ORS 809.240 and 809.275)  
A court shall take immediate possession of any license or driver permit held by a defendant upon ordering a suspension 
or revocation under:  

ORS 165.805               ORS 809.240               ORS 809.409               ORS 811.135 
ORS 471.430               ORS 809.260               ORS 809.411               ORS 813.400 
ORS 809.120               ORS 809.265               ORS 809.413               ORS 813.403 
ORS 809.235               ORS 809.270               ORS 811.109           

 
Hardship Wait Times   
Oregon Revised Statutes 807.252 and 813.520  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/form/oregon_suspension_guide.pdf                                 Last Revised: 06/16 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/form/oregon_suspension_guide.pdf

