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Chapter I 
Security Interest Perfection 
Introduction 
Security interests are the only types of liens that may be recorded on Oregon titles and 
Oregon title records.   
Perfection creates a public record so persons such as the 
debtor’s creditors have a means of knowing of the existence of 
a security interest. 
Timely perfection may give the security interest holder certain 
priority rights when there are disputes or the debtor files for 
bankruptcy.  This chapter does not deal with these or similar 
issues such as who has priority and what is considered timely 
perfection.  THESE ISSUES DO NOT FALL WITHIN THE 
JURISDICTION OF DMV.  THIS CHAPTER ONLY 
ADDRESSES PROCEDURAL PROCESSES BY WHICH 
SECURITY INTERESTS MAY BE RECORDED WITH DMV.  
Oregon law provides for perfection of security interests in 
vehicles by making application for notation of a security 
interest on the Oregon title within 30 days of the date of sale.  
This only applies to vehicles that are subject to title, and does 
not include interests in vehicles that are part of a dealer’s 
inventory.  Perfection of security interest is covered in more detail under ORS 803.097,  
and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR 020-0020 through 020-0030).   
To perfect a security interest in a timely manner, an application must be received by DMV 
within 30 days of the date of sale.  Requirements for perfection are met on the date DMV 
receives the application if the application includes:  

• VIN;  
• Name of each owner;  
• Name and address of the security interest holder;  
• The primary ownership document (MCO, title, etc.).  For vehicles built in multiple 

stages, the ownership documents must cover each stage of manufacture.  
In most cases, you should use an Oregon title application when making application for 
perfection.  If you use some other written form (such as a letter stating the purpose for 
submitting the documents or a TOD), you need to state that you are submitting the 
information and documents for the purpose of perfecting a security interest.  
The “primary ownership document” is the document that must be submitted as the 
ownership document.  This is the main ownership document that is required to obtain title.  
In most cases, the primary ownership document is the previous title for a used vehicle or 
the MCO for a new vehicle.  
Other documents may be considered the primary ownership document in some cases.  For 
example, if an Oregon title is lost, a properly completed application for replacement title 
and transfer is acceptable if the vehicle is NOT subject to federal odometer requirements.  
If a vehicle is sold under some type of operation of law, then lien foreclosure papers, a 

A security interest is 
defined under ORS 
801.465 to mean 
“…an interest in a 
vehicle reserved or 
created by 
agreement and 
which secures 
payment or 
performance of an 
obligation as more 
particularly defined 
by ORS 71.2010 
(2)(ii)."  

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB803.pdf
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_700/oar_735/735_020.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_700/OAR_735/735_020.html
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB801.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors071.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors071.html
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certificate of sale or a court order may be acceptable as the primary ownership document.  
When the primary ownership document is available, the only way to perfect interest is by 
submitting that document along with the other requirements for perfection within 30 days of 
the date of sale.  When these requirements for perfection are submitted:  

• All requirements and fees for title should be submitted with the application, or  
• If you have the requirements for perfection but are missing the requirements for title 

(i.e., missing releases, signatures, powers of attorney, and odometer disclosure), all 
requirements and fees available should be submitted with the application for 
perfection.  DMV will hold the incomplete application until title requirements are met.  
When you submit the additional requirements, you need to indicate that documents 
were previously submitted, when and where they were submitted and the name(s) 
on the application.  

If the primary ownership document is not available, application for perfection may still be 
made using a Transitional Ownership Document (TOD) which MUST be accompanied by a 
$13 fee.  Following is more information about the TOD.  

Purpose/limitations on use  
The use of the TOD is restricted to those situations where the primary ownership 
document is not available to submit to DMV.  The TOD may only be used when the selling 
dealer, new security interest holder or their agent:  

• Does not have possession of the primary ownership document, and  
• To the best of their knowledge will not have possession of the document within 30 

calendar days of the date of sale, or if no sale, within 30 calendar days from the 
date of the security agreement or contract.  

The TOD must be received within 30 days from the date of sale, or if no sale, the date of 
the security agreement or contract.  To determine the 30 days, exclude the first day (i.e., 
date of sale) and count each calendar day thereafter.  If the 30th day falls on a weekend, 
holiday or mandatory closure day, it is not counted.  The last date the TOD will be 
acceptable is bumped to the next DMV working day.  
A properly completed TOD, accompanied by the $13 fee, meets all the requirements for 
perfection.  The form contains space for the required information.  
The TOD is acceptable as an “ownership document” on a transitional basis for the 
purposes of perfection of a security interest while the primary ownership document is being 
obtained.  Use of a TOD will allow perfection of a security interest to occur sooner, since 
you will not have to wait until the primary ownership document is available.  The TOD 
MUST be accompanied by a $13 fee or will otherwise be invalid.  

Submission of primary ownership document required  
When a TOD is used to determine the date of security interest perfection, the primary 
ownership document must be received by DMV within 90 calendar days from the date of 
sale, or if no sale, within 90 calendar days from the date of the security agreement or 
contract.  Although DMV allows 90 days to submit the primary ownership document, after 
30 days from the date of sale or security agreement/contract the transaction is still subject 
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to late presentation fees (does not apply if an Oregon dealer submits the transaction).  To 
determine the 90-day period, exclude the first day (i.e., day of sale) and count each 
calendar day thereafter.  
If the 90th day falls on a weekend, holiday or mandatory closure day, the last date the 
TOD may be used to determine date of security interest perfection is bumped to the next 
DMV working day.  If the primary ownership document is not received within 90 days, the 
TOD is invalidated and the TOD fee WILL NOT be refunded.  If the TOD is invalid, the date 
used to determine security interest perfection is the date the primary ownership document 
is received by DMV.  

Date requirements for perfection are considered met  
Requirements for perfection shall be considered to have been met on the date DMV 
receives the TOD, unless DMV invalidates the TOD.  A TOD is considered received by 
DMV when it is:  

• Submitted to any local DMV office.  
• Mailed (date received by DMV will be used) to DMV headquarters, Attention: TOD 

Desk, 1905 Lana Avenue N.E., Salem, Oregon 97314-2252.  
• Submitted to DMV by facsimile machine (FAX).  The FAX telephone number is 

(503) 945-5143.  In order to submit a TOD by FAX, the person or firm MUST have a 
TOD billing account with DMV so the fees can be billed to that account.  For 
information in obtaining a TOD Billing Account, call ODOT Finance at (503) 986-
3960.  

TOD may be invalidated  
All owners on a TOD and Application for Title must be 
identical or the TOD will be invalidated.  A TOD may also 
be invalidated when it is determined that the TOD does 
not contain all required information, if it contains a false 
certification, if the person shown on the TOD does not 
have a security interest or if the TOD is received by DMV 
more than 30 days from the date of the sale.  
The TOD will also be invalidated if it is received without the TOD fee or if it is FAXED and 
the person or firm does not have a TOD billing account.  
When submitting a TOD by FAX, write your TOD Billing Account Number on the TOD.  If 
you have a record inquiry account with DMV, it cannot be used for this purpose.  
A monthly invoice will be sent to each TOD account holder.  If the TOD Billing Account 
Number written on the TOD is invalid or delinquent, the TOD will be invalidated.  The only 
billing allowed against the TOD Billing Account will be TOD filing fees. 
When a TOD is invalidated, any perfection based on the TOD is also invalidated.  The fee 
WILL NOT be refunded for an invalidated TOD.  If the TOD is invalidated, requirements for 
perfection will be considered met on the date DMV first receives the primary ownership 
document and application for notation, (i.e., title application containing name of each 
owner, name, and address of security interest holder and VIN).  

A TOD will be invalidated if 
the primary ownership 
document is not received 
within 90 days of the date 
of sale. 
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TOD form  
The TOD is a three-page form (Form 227).  The first page is the TOD.  The second page 
(yellow) may be submitted with the TOD if you want a receipt.  If you would like the second 
page mailed back to you, please include your return address in the space provided.  
The third page (pink) is to be submitted along with the primary ownership document when 
it is submitted.  The third page may also be used to withdraw a TOD.  (TOD withdrawals 
are discussed later in this chapter.)  
The TOD form contains more detailed instructions on its use.  
DMV will accept a reproduction of a TOD form.  If you use a copy, make sure you copy the 
first (top) page, not the receipt or withdrawal page.  

Accuracy in completing form important  
Accuracy in completing TOD forms is important.  Perfection involves creating a public 
record. If the information required is inaccurate, this could invalidate the perfection.  
Persons completing TODs should initial any changes or alterations made to the 
information before submitting the TOD to DMV.  If this is not done, the TOD will be 
invalidated or rejected by DMV.  Changes or alterations to TODs will not be accepted once 
DMV has marked a TOD as received.  If you have a need to change information on a form 
after that date (and there is still time to get it to DMV within the 30-day time limitation), you 
may submit another TOD along with another $13 fee and withdraw the first TOD 
submitted.  However, if you submit another TOD, the date used for determining perfection 
will be the date the second TOD is received.  

Submitting a TOD  
If you determine you need to use a TOD, complete the form and submit it to DMV with a 
fee of $13.  
TODs, and any transactions for which a TOD has been 
submitted, should be kept separate from any other title 
and registration applications you may be submitting.  
One check should be submitted for TODs and one 
check for any other title and registration documents.  
If a number of TODs are submitted and the check 
contains insufficient fees to cover all the TODs received, the fees will be applied to as 
many TODs as possible and all others will be invalidated.  DMV will apply the fees to the 
documents in order of processing and will not try to determine which TOD is more 
important.  
If the TODs are submitted with other documents and the check contains insufficient fees to 
cover all TODs and all documents, the money will be applied to the TODs first and as 
many documents as possible thereafter.  Some other transaction(s) may have insufficient 
fees.  
If you need a receipt, follow the instructions for completion and submission of the receipt 
copy, and send this with the TOD.  If you are sending the TOD by FAX and need a receipt, 

To set up a TOD account 
for submitting TODs by 
FAX, contact the ODOT 
Finance Section at (503) 
986-3960. 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/227fill.pdf
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TOD date charts are included in 
this Chapter and are also on the 
DMV Web site at 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/D
MV/pages/dealers/index.aspx. 
 

write “receipt requested” at the very top of the TOD form.  DO NOT send the receipt copy 
(part 2) of the TOD form by FAX.  
Keep the third part of the TOD form until you are ready to submit the primary ownership 
document, or need to withdraw the TOD.  
When the primary ownership document is available, submit that document to DMV along 
with the third part of the TOD form.  (You will need to place the third copy on top of the 
transaction.)  You need to submit Page 3 so DMV can connect the primary ownership 
document with the TOD.  However, when you submit this part of the TOD, DO NOT 
COMPLETE OR SIGN THE WITHDRAWAL PORTION unless you intend to withdraw the 
TOD that was previously submitted.  
When you submit Page 3 of the TOD with the 
primary ownership document, you should also 
submit any necessary title or registration 
requirements and fees.  DMV will accept the 
primary ownership document without all the 
requirements for the purpose of perfection.  
However, the title will not be issued until all title requirements are met.  
Remember, to perfect interest based on the TOD, DMV must receive the primary 
ownership document within 90 calendar days of the date of sale, or if no sale, within 90 
calendar days of the date of the security agreement or contract.  
When submitting the primary ownership document where a TOD has previously been 
submitted, keep that transaction separate from other title and registration transactions you 
may be submitting, and TODs not previously submitted.  If you are submitting more than 
one primary ownership document for TODs that have been submitted, these documents 
may be grouped together.  
It is important that the primary ownership document be joined with the TOD as soon as 
possible.  This may not occur if such documents are not kept separate from routine title 
and registration business or if you do not provide the third part of the TOD so the 
documents can be connected.  

Withdrawal of TOD  
The third part of the TOD form may be used for withdrawing a TOD that has been 
submitted to DMV.  There are instructions on the form.  Withdrawal notices must be in 
writing.  The notice may be submitted to a local DMV office 
or mailed to DMV headquarters.  Withdrawal notices may 
be sent by facsimile machine (FAX) when they are not 
required to be attached to title transactions.  When the mail 
or FAX is used for sending a withdrawal, use the same 
mailing address or FAX telephone number as used for 
sending a TOD.  
DO NOT SIGN Page 3 of the TOD unless you intend to withdraw the previously submitted 
TOD.  
There are certain situations under which you must submit a withdrawal notice:  

There is NO 
REFUND of the TOD 
fee when a TOD is 
withdrawn. 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/dealers/index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/dealers/index.aspx
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• A second TOD for the same vehicle may be submitted under certain circumstances 
such as, the first one received was incorrect or the vehicle has been sold since the 
first TOD was submitted.  If a second TOD is being submitted for the same vehicle, 
a withdrawal notice must be submitted for the first TOD.  This should accompany 
the second TOD, and may be submitted to a local DMV office, or mailed or sent by 
FAX to DMV headquarters.  

• If a title will be applied for within 90 calendar days from the date of sale or, if no 
sale, the date of security agreement or contract (as reflected on the TOD submitted) 
and the interests shown on the title application conflict with the ones shown on the 
TOD, the security interest holder or person who submitted the TOD must submit a 
withdrawal notice.  An example is where the TOD reflects a different registered 
owner than what will be shown on the application for title. 

• The title could potentially be applied for by someone else within the 90 day time 
period, such as where the primary ownership documents have been released to a 
third party (i.e., a new buyer).  

When submitting the title transaction to DMV, the withdrawal notice should be attached to 
that transaction.  Keep the title transaction separate from other title and registration 
transactions that do not involve TODs.  
If the primary ownership documents have been released to a third party, the security 
interest holder or person who submitted the TOD should send the withdrawal notice 
directly to DMV (i.e., local office, mail, or FAX).  
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Example of TRANSITIONAL OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT, FORM 227 
Actual size 8½” x 11” 

(first page)  
 

 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/227fill.pdf
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Example of TRANSITIONAL OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT, FORM 227 
Actual size 8½” x 11” 

(second page - Receipt)  
 

 



DMV TITLE AND REGISTRATION HANDBOOK 
Chapter I:  Security Interest Perfection 

 
 

 
11/01/16     I9 

Example of TRANSITIONAL OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT, FORM 227 
Actual size 8½” x 11” 

(third page – Request to Withdraw)  
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2017 TOD DATE CHART 
January – April Sale Date 
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2017 TOD DATE CHART 
May – August Sale Date 
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2017 TOD DATE CHART 
September – December Sale Date 
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