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Chapter J 
Damaged/Totaled Vehicles  
Definition of “totaled” vehicle:  

• A vehicle declared a total loss by the insurer obligated to cover the loss, or a vehicle 
the insurer takes possession of, or title to.  This applies to both damaged and stolen 
vehicles.  

• A stolen vehicle, if not recovered within 30 days of the date of the theft, when an 
insurer does not cover the loss.  

• A vehicle that has sustained damage that is not covered by an insurer and the 
estimated cost to repair the vehicle is equal to at least 80 percent of the retail 
market value of the vehicle prior to the damage.  “Retail market value” is determined 
by using publications relied upon by financial institutions doing business in Oregon.  

The word “totaled” appears on Oregon titles or salvage titles issued for vehicles that have 
been declared totaled.  The word “totaled” is in addition to any other brand or designation 
such as “assembled,” “reconstructed,” “replica,” or “flood.”  However, it may appear alone 
on a salvage title.  
The owner of a vehicle totaled due to damage must surrender the certificate of title to DMV 
within 30 days of the date the vehicle became totaled, and apply for a salvage title.  
Instructions to apply for a salvage title are later in this chapter. 

Stolen vehicles   
When loss covered by an insurer 
When an insurer declares a vehicle a total loss because it was stolen, the vehicle is 
subject to salvage title provisions. 
Sometimes the vehicle is recovered and it is not totaled because of damage.  The vehicle 
will not have to be titled as a totaled and assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle if the 
application for title includes proper evidence that indicates the vehicle is not “totaled” due 
to damage.  The insurer that covered the theft loss must provide a written statement.  The 
written statement must accompany the title application and must say that the vehicle is 
NOT totaled according to Oregon law.  Unless the insurance company provides this 
statement, the vehicle can only be retitled as totaled and either assembled, reconstructed, 
or replica.  
A VIN inspection and VIN inspection fee are required when a new title is applied for.  Only 
DMV or a designated law enforcement agency may perform the VIN inspection.  

When loss not covered by insurer 
A stolen vehicle not recovered within 30 days of the theft is a totaled vehicle according to 
Oregon law.  The owner should report the theft to law enforcement immediately.  After 30 
days from the date of theft, if the vehicle is still not recovered, the owner must complete 
Section 1 of the Stolen Vehicle Notification, Form 6927, submit it to DMV within 60 days 
from the date of the theft, with evidence that the vehicle theft was reported to law 
enforcement.  DMV will place a notation on the vehicle record indicating the vehicle was 
totaled and title was not surrendered.  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6927fill.pdf
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If the vehicle is recovered after reporting to DMV, the owner should notify DMV whether 
the vehicle is totaled due to damage or not.  The owner does this by submitting Section 2 
of Form 6927 and all requirements (such as surrendering title and applying for new title, 
etc.).  A VIN inspection and VIN inspection fee are also required when a new title is 
applied for.  

Stolen Vehicle Notification, Form 6927 

Back  
Information about stolen vehicle procedures and instructions to complete the form.  

Front (Section 1 and Section 2)  
• Vehicle description:  Plate number, year, make, and body style.  
• Vehicle identification number (VIN):  List the complete VIN here.  
• Oregon title number: If applicable.  
• Police agency reported to: Name of the law enforcement agency where the police 

report was filed.  
• Police report number: Case number of the police report that was filed.  
• Date of theft, date reported: (These may be the same dates.) 
• Name(s) of registered owner(s): Full name of owner(s).  
• Address: Must indicate where the registered owner may be contacted if more 

information is needed.  
• Signature:  Registered owner’s signature.  

Submit Section 1 to report the unrecovered stolen vehicle.  When the vehicle is recovered, 
submit Section 2.  Before the vehicle can be registered, DMV must perform a VIN 
inspection of the vehicle.  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6927fill.pdf
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Example of STOLEN VEHICLE NOTIFICATION, FORM 6927 
Actual size 8½ x 11" 

(front) 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6927fill.pdf
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Example of STOLEN VEHICLE NOTIFICATION, FORM 6927 
Actual size 8½ x 11" 

(back) 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6927fill.pdf
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Selling a totaled vehicle 
Any business or individual who declares a vehicle totaled must give the buyer the salvage 
title.  If the title was surrendered to Oregon DMV and no salvage title was issued, the seller 
must give the buyer a bill of sale that states:  

• The vehicle is totaled;  
• The title has been surrendered to DMV; and  
• The vehicle must be retitled as an assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle; or 

the vehicle is a recovered stolen vehicle that is not totaled because of damage.  

Buying or selling a totaled vehicle  
Anyone who acquires a totaled vehicle with a title that has not been surrendered must 
surrender the title to DMV.  The title must also include releases from all persons or 
companies shown on the title. 
If the vehicle is going to be rebuilt or sold, a salvage title must be applied for.  The offense 
for failing to surrender a title for a totaled vehicle is a Class A misdemeanor which carries a 
maximum penalty of up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $6,250 or both.  

Notice of Vehicle to Be Dismantled/Proof of Compliance, Form 
6017  
When individuals or businesses that are not required to have a dismantler’s license wreck, 
disassemble, substantially alter, or dismantle a vehicle, they must notify DMV with a Notice 
of Vehicle to be Dismantled/ Proof of Compliance, Form 6017.  (Licensed dismantlers do 
not use Form 6017 to notify DMV.  They use the Dismantler’s Notice to DMV, Form 270.  
See Chapter P, Dismantlers.) 
The first copy of Form 6017 must be submitted to DMV at least 7 days before starting such 
activity.  Within 30 days after the vehicle is dismantled, the vehicle registration, plates and 
title or other primary ownership document must be submitted to DMV.  If no salvage title is 
required, the second and third copies must be submitted to DMV with the primary 
ownership document.  If the vehicle is subject to salvage title requirements, an application 
for salvage title and the title fee is required.  See the second and third copies of the form 
for further instructions.  

 
  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6017.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/270fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_P.pdf
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Example of NOTICE OF VEHICLE TO BE DISMANTLED/PROOF OF 
COMPLIANCE, FORM 6017 

(Three-part form; top part shown below) Actual size 8½” x 11” 
 

 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6017fill.pdf
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Definitions 
The following definitions are summarized from DMV Administrative Rules.  

Disassemble, dismantle, wreck  
• Total destruction of the vehicle such as where the vehicle is taken apart with the 

intention of never again being operated as a vehicle (regardless of whether or not 
the frame or unibody will be used to repair, rebuild, or construct another vehicle).  

• The crushing, compacting, or shredding of the vehicle.  
• The engine, drive train, and transmission are removed and the frame or unibody is 

sold or transferred separate from these parts.  
• The permanent removal of the wheels and frame or undercarriage of a trailer.  
• The vehicle no longer meets the definition of a vehicle under ORS 801.590.  
• The destruction of the frame or unibody of the vehicle.  
• The clipping of any quarter, section, or half of the vehicle.  

Substantially altered  
• The frame or unibody is cut, severed, or welded together with parts of two or more 

vehicles or other materials.  
• Changes or alterations to the body of a vehicle which cause the body to no longer 

resemble the original vehicle, or which cause the vehicle to meet the definition of an 
assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle.  

Salvage titles  
An Oregon Salvage Title Certificate is a legal document that indicates the vehicle was 
totaled, wrecked, dismantled, stolen, or abandoned.  It also indicates ownership of the 
vehicle.  DMV mails the salvage title to the person or firm shown on the document as 
owner.  (No security interest holders, lessors, or lessees are shown on salvage titles.) 
The Oregon salvage title is valid until the vehicle is rebuilt, dismantled, or recovered, and a 
regular Oregon title is issued.  Salvage titles follow the frame or unibody of a vehicle.  If the 
frame or unibody is sold or transferred, the salvage title should be assigned and given to 
the new buyer.  
Under OAR 024-0170:  

• Dealers, dismantlers, and insurers are not required to apply for an Oregon salvage 
title in their name when they acquire a vehicle: 

• Already covered by a salvage title issued by Oregon, or 
• Covered by a salvage title or salvage certificate issued by some other state. 

If the vehicle frame or unibody is acquired by a party other than a dealer, dismantler, or 
insurer, they must apply for salvage title in their name.  Information on how to apply for a 
salvage title appears later in this chapter.  
If the frame or unibody is destroyed, the salvage title should be surrendered with a signed 
statement indicating this has been done; or, if a dismantler surrenders the salvage title, a 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB801.pdf
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_700/oar_735/735_024.html


DMV TITLE AND REGISTRATION HANDBOOK 
Chapter J: Damaged/Totaled Vehicles  

 
 

 
J8     02/01/16  

Dismantler’s Vehicle Notice to DMV, Form 270, must be submitted with the salvage title.  
(See Chapter P, Dismantlers, for instructions on completing Form 270.)  
If the vehicle is repaired, rebuilt, or if the frame or unibody is used in constructing another 
vehicle, the salvage title must be surrendered to DMV when applying for a title for the 
assembled or reconstructed vehicle.  See section titled “Assembled/reconstructed/replica 
vehicles,” in this chapter.  
There are several situations when a salvage title must be applied for:  

• When the vehicle has been wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or substantially 
altered (ORS 819.010) and you intend to rebuild or repair the vehicle.  

• When the vehicle is totaled and the title is required to be surrendered (ORS 819.012 
or 819.014).   

• When you buy an abandoned vehicle sold under ORS 819 (appraised at $500 or 
less).  

You do not need to apply for a salvage title if you do not intend to rebuild or repair the 
vehicle, to transfer the vehicle, or to use the frame or unibody for repairing or constructing 
another vehicle.  
If the vehicle has been repaired or is otherwise operable before a salvage title can be 
applied for, a regular Oregon title may be applied for following the guidelines found later in 
this chapter regarding assembled, reconstructed, and replica vehicles.  

Vehicle types subject to salvage titles  
These vehicle types are subject to salvage title requirements: 

• All vehicle types required to be titled or registered in this state,  
• Any other vehicle that has been issued a certificate of title by a DMV or another 

jurisdiction.  

Registration/security interests  
When a salvage title is issued, any existing registration for a vehicle is canceled.  DMV 
cannot issue registration and the vehicle may not be operated on the highways of Oregon, 
until an application for certificate of title for the assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle 
is applied for, or the vehicle has a valid trip permit.  
Salvage titles do not have security interest information.  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/270fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_P.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB819.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB819.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB819.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB819.pdf
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Oregon Salvage Title Certificate, Form 417  
Below is an example of the most current version of the Oregon Salvage Title (dated 
September 2010).  It is blue and pink rainbow colored with a red border.  The size is 8" X 
7".   

(front)       (back) 

  
Submitting salvage title applications  
Mail salvage title applications directly to DMV headquarters office at the following address:  

DMV 
Attn: Totaled Vehicle Desk 
1905 Lana Avenue NE 
Salem OR 97314-2251 

If salvage title applications are not mailed to the address above, the processing time will be 
longer.  

Salvage title requirements  
The basic requirements to issue a salvage title are listed below.  You may need further 
items depending on the individual transaction.  

Primary ownership document has not been surrendered to DMV: 
• A primary ownership document is required for all vehicles.  A primary ownership 

document may include but is not limited to an Oregon title, an MCO, an out-of-state 
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title, a salvage title, or a sheriff’s bill of sale. 
• A completed Application for Salvage Title, Form 229, signed by at least one owner.  

A letter or computer printout is an acceptable application as long as it contains all 
the information needed in a format acceptable to DMV.  

• Title fees (see Chapter M).  

Primary ownership document has been surrendered to DMV:  
• A completed Application for Salvage Title, Form 229, (a letter or computer printout 

as noted above is acceptable) signed by at least one owner.  
• Title fees (see Chapter M).  

Requirements for transferring salvage titles  
If the vehicle is a totaled stolen vehicle recovered with little or no damage, see 
requirements below.  If not, see the section titled “Assembled/reconstructed/replica 
vehicles,” in this chapter.  

Totaled stolen vehicles - no damage  
• The current Oregon salvage title certificate with proper releases from all persons or 

firms who previously had an interest.  
• A completed Form 226, signed by at least one new owner.  
• If the vehicle is not totaled due to damage, a signed statement to that effect from 

the insurance company.  
• A VIN inspection and fee.  
• Appropriate fees (see Chapter M). 

Registration for salvage vehicles  
The registration is cancelled when a salvage title is issued.  Salvage titled vehicles may 
not be operated on the highways of the state, unless the vehicle has a valid trip permit.  
Registration may be applied for after the vehicle is rebuilt and an Oregon title is applied for.  
DMV will assign a new plate with a new expiration date.  Registration may be applied for at 
the same time as the title application, or later.  (See Chapter K for more information on 
how to apply for registration.)  

Application for Salvage Title, Form 229 

Completing the Application  
Please read the section titled Customer Name, Number, and Address in Chapter A before 
completing the application. 

REASON FOR SALVAGE TITLE:  
Check the appropriate box.  

Gray shaded area:  
• Title Fee:  See Chapter M for Fee Charts.  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/229fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_M.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_M.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/226fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_M.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_K.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/229fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_A.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_M.pdf
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(Other boxes in this area are for DMV office use only.)  

Line 1 
• Present Oregon Plate or File #:  Plate number of vehicle at time of salvage.  
• Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):  The VIN on the application must match the 

VIN on the vehicle and the ownership documents (exceptions are in Chapter A).  
• Oregon Title #:  If applicable. 

Line 2 
• Vehicle Description:  Year, make, and body style.  
• Motor Power:  Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of motor power.  If 

“other” is checked, write in the type of power that propels the vehicle.  If powered by 
more than one type of motor power, write in all types used.  

• Equipment #:  If applicable.  
• Reference #:  Optional.  Prints an insurance claim/policy number and date of loss 

on the title (cannot exceed 16 characters). 

Line 3 
• Odometer Reading and Date of Reading:  Must be completed to show the 

mileage on the odometer and the date the mileage was recorded by the applicant.  
In signing the application, the applicant certifies this information is correct.  

• Odometer Disclosure Certification:  Must be completed if the odometer reading is 
not actual mileage or exceeds mechanical limits. 

Line 4 
• Name of Owner:  Full legal name of the registered owner.   
• ODL/ID/Customer # and Date of Birth: This information enables DMV to locate the 

customer in the DMV database files.  Enter the customer number for all owners, 
including businesses.  

Lines 5 & 6  
• Owner’s Residence Address:  Address must be the actual residence address of 

the registered owner(s) or lessee(s), including the city, state, and zip code.  If the 
registered owner is a business, use the actual Oregon location of the business.    

• County of Residence:  Fill in the owner’s county of residence.  
• Mailing Address:  Complete if the mailing address is different from the residence 

address listed on line 4, including city, state and zip code.  If the salvage title is to 
be mailed to an insurance company or other interested party, include “c/o” 
indicating “in-care-of” with the insurance company or other interested party name 
and address.  The name and address information on the first registered owner’s 
customer file will be printed on the title.  

• County of Mailing:  Fill in the county of the mailing address. 

Line 7 
• Name of Joint Owner or Lessee:  Full legal name of the joint registered owner or 

lessee (for individuals, complete as shown on ODL, ID card or instruction permit.)  

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_A.pdf
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• Customer # and Date of Birth:  This information enables DMV to locate the 
customer in the DMV database files.  Enter the customer number for all owners, 
including businesses.  

Lines 8 - 10 
• One-Time Mailing Address:  If DMV should mail the title to an insurance company 

or other interested party not listed as the owner, be sure to list the insurance 
company or other interested party name and address.  This information will not be 
printed on the title.  

Line 11 
• Survivorship:  Check the YES or NO box to indicate survivorship.  If neither box is 

checked, no survivorship will be shown on the title.  

Line 12 
• Insurance Companies: If an insurance company is applying, they certify by signing 

the form that all previous owners’ interest has been satisfied.  

Lines 13 & 14 
• Signature of Owner:  The signature of at least one owner is required.  
• Telephone #:  Optional, but is helpful if more information is needed.  
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Example of APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE TITLE, FORM 229 
Actual size 8½” x 11” 

 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/229fill.pdf
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Application for salvage title on applicant’s form  
Below is an example of an acceptable application for salvage title in letter form.  

 

An Insurance Company 
112 Main Street 

Anywhere,  OR 97000 
 

Application for Salvage Title 
 

Salvage title is being applied for because the vehicle has been totaled. 
 
Plate: XYZ123    Year: 2006  Make: Chev 
Style: PU    Model ¾ ton extended cab 
VIN:  2GCFK29KXN000000  Title: 0712203401 
 
By completing and signing the statement below, I am certifying that under Oregon Law, it is a 
crime to knowingly make any false statement on application for title (ORS 803.070).  Offense is 
a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a jail sentence up to one year, a fine up to $6,250, 
or both. 
 
Federal and state laws require I state the mileage when there is a transfer of ownership.  Failure 
to completed an odometer disclosure or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or 
imprisonment.  Under Oregon Law, the offense of submitting a false odometer statement is a 
Class C Felony (ORS 815.430). 
 
Odometer reading:  96,123  Date of reading:  06/25/12 

 
____ I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the odometer reading is the actual mileage. 
 
____ I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge, the odometer reading reflects the amount 
of mileage in excess of its mechanical limits. 
 
____ I certify that the odometer reading is not the actual mileage. 
 
 
I certify that all prior interests have been satisfied. 
 
I certify that the information on this application is true can correct. 
 
Signature ______________________        Date: ____________________ 
 
Claim Representative:  An Insurance Company representative 
Telephone number:  (503) 333-0000 
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Replacement salvage title requirements  
A replacement salvage title may be applied for if the original salvage title is lost, destroyed, 
or mutilated.  An application for replacement salvage title must be made by the person or 
persons to whom the salvage title was originally issued.  DMV will issue the replacement 
salvage title in the same owners’ names as the previous salvage title.  The only exceptions 
are:  

• When the owner of record is deceased or their interest is transferred by operation of 
law, or  

• When the whereabouts of the owner are unknown or the owner is otherwise 
unavailable to apply.  “Unavailable to apply” does not pertain if the owner of record 
is an insurer currently doing business in this state, or is a dealer or dismantler 
currently licensed by Oregon DMV.  

• When no odometer disclosure is required, and the new owner provides releases of 
interest from all owners, the new owner may apply for salvage replacement title and 
transfer at the same time. 

Application for Replacement Salvage Title, Form 230  

Completing the Application  
Please read the section titled Customer Name, Number, and Address in Chapter A before 
completing the application.  Fill in all applicable boxes and spaces.  

FRONT  

Gray shaded area:  
• Title Fee:  See Chapter M for Fee Charts. 

(Other boxes in this area are for DMV office use only.) 

Line 1 
• Present Oregon Plate #:  Plate number of vehicle as shown on DMV records.  
• Vehicle Description:  Year, make, and body style.  
• Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):  The VIN on the application must match the 

VIN on the vehicle and the VIN listed on DMV records (exceptions in Chapter A).  

Line 2 
• Motor Power:  Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of motor power.  If 

“other” is checked, write in the type of power that propels the vehicle.  If powered by 
more than 1 type of motor power, write in all types used.  

• Reference #:  Optional.  Prints an insurance claim or policy number and date of 
loss if this information is desired on the title (cannot exceed 16 characters).  

• Title Number:  List the current Oregon salvage title number if known.  

Line 3 
• Name of Owner:  Full legal name of registered owner.    

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/230.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_A.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_M.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_A.pdf
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• ODL/ID/Customer # and Date of Birth:  This information enables DMV to locate 
the customer in the DMV database files.  Enter the customer number for all owners, 
including businesses.  

Lines 4 & 5  
• Owner’s Residence Address:  Must be the actual residence address of the 

registered owners or lessees, including the city, state, and zip code.  If the 
registered owner is a business, use the actual Oregon location of the business.   

• County of Residence:  Fill in the owner’s county of residence.  
• Mailing Address:  Complete if the mailing address is different from the residence 

address listed on line 4 & 5, including the city, state, and zip code.  If the salvage 
title is to be mailed to an insurance company or other interested party, be sure to 
include “c/o” indicating “in-care-of” with the insurance company or other 
interested party name and address.  The name and address information on the first 
registered owner’s customer file will be printed on the title.  

• County of Mailing:  Fill in the county of the mailing address.  

Lines 6 & 7 
• Name of Joint Owner or Lessee:  Full name of the joint registered owner or 

lessee. 
• Customer # and Date of Birth:  This information enables DMV to locate the 

customer in the DMV database files.  Enter the customer number for all owners, 
including businesses.  

Lines 8 & 9 
• One-Time Mailing Address:  If DMV should mail the salvage title to an insurance 

company or other interested party not listed as the owner, be sure to list the 
insurance company or other interested party name and address.  This information 
will not be printed on the title. 

Lines 10 & 11 
• Signatures of Owners: All owners shown on DMV records must sign.  Signatures 

of registered owners are required even if they have released interest.  
EXCEPTION: DMV will accept a replacement title/title transfer transaction without 
the signatures of the owners of record on the replacement title application when no 
odometer disclosure is required and all ownership releases (for example, 
connecting bills of sale) are provided within the transaction.  Line 12 of the Form 
230 must be signed by a person who can attest to the disposition of the title, if the 
owners of record do not sign the Form 230.  

Line 12 
• Signature of Person Certifying the Salvage Title is Lost, Destroyed, Or 

Mutilated, If Not an Owner Shown on DMV Records:  This line must be signed by 
the person certifying the title has been lost, destroyed or mutilated if this person is 
not an owner shown on DMV records (for example, a new owner who purchased 
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the vehicle and lost the title before they applied to DMV for title transfer).  If the 
person is from a business, it must be signed and countersigned. 

  
 

Example of APPLICATION FOR REPLACEMENT SALVAGE TITLE, FORM 230 
Actual size 8½” x 11” 

 

 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/230fill.pdf
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Assembled/reconstructed/replica vehicles  
Vehicles are titled as assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicles when they meet the 
definition of a totaled vehicle, a substantially altered vehicle, or are sold under certain laws.  

An assembled vehicle:  
• Has a body that does not resemble any particular year, model or make of vehicle;  
• Is not a vehicle rebuilt by a manufacturer;  
• Is not a vehicle built in a factory where the year, model and make are assigned at 

the factory; and  
• Is not an antique vehicle, a vehicle of special interest, a reconstructed vehicle, or a 

replica.  (ORS 801.130)  
The title will indicate the year model as the year in which the building of the vehicle was 
completed.  

A reconstructed vehicle either:  
• Has a body that resembles and primarily is a particular year, model or make of 

vehicle;  
• Is not a vehicle rebuilt by a manufacturer;  
• Is not a vehicle built in a factory where the year, model and make are assigned at 

the factory; and  
• Is not a replica (see definition of a replica below); or  
• Is a motor truck that has been rebuilt using a component kit if the manufacturer of 

the kit assigns a vehicle identification number and provided a Manufacturer’s 
Certificate of Origin for the kit.  

The title will show the original year model and make of the body.  The word 
“RECONSTRUCTED” will be printed on the title and shown on the DMV title record.  

A replica is a vehicle:  
• With a body built to resemble and be a reproduction of another vehicle of a given 

year and given manufacturer.  (Example: A reproduction of a 1957 MG built with 
1985 parts.)  

The title for a replica vehicle will show the year and make the vehicle resembles.  The 
word “REPLICA” will be printed on the title and shown on the DMV title record.  

Title requirements for assembled, reconstructed and replica 
vehicles  
The following items are required for DMV to issue a title for assembled, reconstructed and 
replica vehicles:  

• The title or salvage title (or equivalent documents) for the frame of the vehicle or 
evidence that the title has been surrendered to Oregon or another state.  

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/vcb/VCB801.pdf
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Equivalent title documents:  
• Replacement title application certifying the current Oregon title has been lost, 

destroyed, or mutilated, if the vehicle is not subject to federal odometer 
requirements.  

• Operation of law documents, such as a bill of sale by an appropriate authority, court 
order, divorce decree or other legal document showing ownership.  

Evidence that the title was previously surrendered:  
• A salvage title.  
• If the title was surrendered to another state’s DMV and that state does not issue 

salvage titles, a bill of sale from an insurer or auto wrecker/dismantler, which must 
state the title has been surrendered for cancellation to that state, or a letter from the 
other state’s DMV telling us the title was surrendered for cancellation to a DMV 
office in that state.  

• A letter from another state telling us the title was surrendered for cancellation to a 
DMV office in that state.  

• Indication on Oregon DMV records that the title was previously surrendered.  

Other requirements and information 
• Original bills of sale, title, MCO, or equivalent documents for each major part.  
• All vehicles titled for the first time as assembled, reconstructed, or replica need a 

VIN inspection by DMV or a designated law enforcement agency.  
• Motor vehicles titled for the first time as assembled will have an odometer message 

of “Not Actual” entered into the vehicle record.  This applies when the vehicle type is 
subject to odometer requirements and when the newly assembled vehicle retains an 
odometer mechanism from another vehicle.  DMV does not add a “Not Actual” 
odometer message for newly assembled vehicles when the odometer mechanism is 
replaced during the vehicle assembly, is set at 0 (zero), and an Odometer Repair or 
Replacement Certification, Form 6747 is submitted.   

• A completed Assembled, Reconstructed or Replica Vehicle Certification, Form 
6511, or the certification on the back of Form 226.  

If you have met all of the above requirements, follow normal title application procedures as 
listed in Chapter A.  

Lemon Law Buyback  
Effective September 21, 2009, Oregon’s consumer warranty law requires manufacturers to 
notify DMV that a vehicle must be branded “Lemon Law Buyback” when they have 
repurchased and titled the vehicle in their name.  Manufacturers and dealers acting as the 
manufacturer’s agent must signify “Lemon Law Buyback” in the “Remarks” section of the 
application for title.  
Manufacturers and subsequent sellers must also notify the buyer of the status of the 
vehicle with the following statement accompanying the transaction:  

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6747fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6511fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6511fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/VTRH/Chapter_A.pdf
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This vehicle was re-purchased by its manufacturer in accordance with Oregon’s 
consumer warranty law because of a defect in the vehicle.  The title to this vehicle 
has been permanently inscribed with the notation “Lemon Law Buyback.” 
 

A statement signifying the buyer, lessee or transferee has received and understands the 
notice must include a space for their signature.  For example:  

“I acknowledge the above statement and understand the condition of the vehicle.” 
______________________________  __________________________ 
  Signature      Date 

(DMV does not require a copy of the statement.  However, dealers may want to keep a 
copy of the signed statement for their records.)   

Previous damage in another jurisdiction  
When an owner applies for title for a vehicle from another jurisdiction and submits 
documents that show the vehicle has been damaged or words of similar import, DMV 
places a notation (brand) on the Oregon title. 
Currently used title brands include Flood (State Name), Glider Kit (State Name), Lemon 
Law (State Name), Replica (State Name), and Branded (State Name).  
DMV no longer uses the “Previous Damage” notation.  DMV will not convert current title 
records showing “Previous Damage” notations until the titles are received for transfer. 
When the title is transferred in Oregon, DMV will convert the “Previous Damage” brand to 
“Branded (state name).”  
If an out-of-state title has multiple brands or there is not an equivalent Oregon brand to 
match, DMV will issue the certificate of title with the notation “Branded” and the name of 
the previous jurisdiction (for example, “Branded-California”).  If the title does not have any 
previous brands, “NONE” will appear in the brand box on the title.  
Oregon DMV will place a “Totaled” brand on the Oregon title when an out-of-state title, 
salvage title or salvage certificate or other ownership document is received showing the 
name of an insurer as owner, or when an insurer is shown as an interim owner on any 
reassignment area submitted with the title transaction.  The only exception is when an 
insurer submits an out-of-state title and is applying for an Oregon title in their own name for 
a vehicle already in their possession.  These vehicles are primarily fleet vehicles titled in 
the insurance company’s own name.  DMV will remove the “Totaled” brand if we receive 
information that the vehicle is a theft-recovery vehicle that no longer meets the Oregon 
“Totaled” definition, just as we do for vehicles currently titled in Oregon.  
DMV will not brand an Oregon vehicle title with the “Glider Kit” brand unless the 
transaction includes a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin stating the kit was manufactured 
and sold as a glider kit.  The new brand will appear as Glider Kit (without a state name).  
A brand will not be placed on the Oregon title solely because the out of state title is a 
bonded title.  However, a Certification of Ownership Facts, DMV Form 550, must 
accompany the application for Oregon title when a bonded title is submitted as the 
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ownership document.  If additional evidence of ownership is available, it must be submitted 
with the application and certification form.  

Totaled in Oregon  
The word “TOTALED” will appear on any subsequent Oregon title or salvage title issued 
for a vehicle that declared totaled under Oregon laws.  This will be in addition to any other 
brand or designation indicating “lemon law buyback,” “assembled,” “reconstructed,” 
“replica” or “Flooded.”  For vehicles that must be titled as assembled, reconstructed, or 
replica, for reasons other than for totaled, the “totaled” notation will not appear on the title.   
For more information on title branding, call DMV Headquarters in Salem at (503) 945-
5000.  

“Non-repairable” vehicle certificates 
Some states also issue “Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificates,” “Junk Certificates,” or a title 
with other brands that indicate the vehicle cannot be retitled, or that the vehicle has no 
resale value except as a source of parts or scrap.  When an ownership document for a 
vehicle from another jurisdiction contains a word, term, brand, or notation indicating the 
vehicle is not intended to be retitled, DMV will not issue an Oregon title.  
The following are some of the terms that indicate DMV cannot issue a title: 

• Destroyed 
• Dismantled 
• Hulk 
• Junk 
• Non-rebuildable 
• Non-repairable 
• Parts only 
• Scrap 
• Wreck, Dismantler, or Wrecker only  
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