IMPROVEMENTS

When the Department acquires an interest in your
land, it must acquire an equal interest in your house or any
other improvements located on the land acquired. If
buildings are required to be removed, the Department may
allow the owner to retain the improvements. If you are
interested, this can be discussed with the Right of Way
Agent.

PAYMENT

If you sign a deed and any accompanying
agreements, and the Transportation Commission approves
it, then the transfer of title and payment may proceed. As in
a private sale, you are responsible for clearing
encumbrances to the title such as unpaid taxes, as-
sessments, mortgages, outstanding leases and other liens
against your property. The Right of Way Agent will assist
you in clearing title. No payment can be made until a
warranty deed conveying clear title to the Department has
been recorded in the appropriate county records.

At the time the deed is available for recording,
authorization is given to prepare a check for your property.
Normally, when no cloud obscures the title, you will
receive payment for your property about four weeks after
you give the Department a deed to the property.

If the condemnation action has been filed, the amount
established by the Department as just compensation will be
deposited with the court for distribution in accordance with
the order of the court.

You are entitled to be reimbursed for fair and
reasonable costs you incur for expenses incidental to
conveying your property to the Department. Such expenses
could be, but are not necessarily limited to, penalty costs
for prepayment of any pre-existing recorded mortgage
encumbering your property, mortgage release fees, and the
State’s portion of real property taxes.

POSSESSION

You are not required to surrender possession of
your property until you have been paid the agreed
purchase price or an amount equal to the Department’s
established estimate of just compensation has been
deposited with the court for your benefit.

When negotiations begin, you, as well as any
tenants occupying your property, will be notified
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in writing that it is the Department’s intent to acquire the
property. You will not be required to move from your
home, farm, or business location earlier than 90 days
following that notice or within 30 days after payment,
whichever is later. However, if the purchase does not
require you to move, the agreement to purchase your
property may require you to surrender possession of your
property upon payment.

The Department is aware of the need for a reasonable
time for relocation. If your property is not needed for
several months, your continued occupancy may be
permitted on a short term basis. The amount of rent the
Department may charge you, or another tenant, may not
exceed the fair rental value of the property to a short term
occupant.

RIGHT OF WAY OFFICES

For your convenience the Department maintains
Regional Right of Way Offices at the following locations:

123 NW Flanders 63020 O. B. Riley Road
Portland, Oregon 97209 Bend, Oregon 97701-9001

Telephone No. Telephone No.
(503) 731-8400 (541) 388-6196
FAX (503) 731-8458 FAX (541) 388-6381

3500 NW Stewart Parkway, Suite 164
Roseburg, Oregon 97470
Telephone No.

(541) 957-3559
FAX (541) 957-3563

455 Airport Rd. Bld. A 3012 Island Avenue
Salem, Oregon 97310-5397 La Grande, Oregon 97850
Telephone No. Telephone No.

(503) 986-2601 (541) 963-7552
FAX (503) 986-2622 FAX (541) 962-9819

734-3773 (10-01)
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When improving highway facilities, the Department
of Transportation has the task of acquiring right of way. It
is the aim and desire of the Department to obtain right of
way with fairness and equity.

The State is empowered to acquire private property
for public use. With this power goes the obligation to
protect the rights of the individual property owner. The
Department thus has a dual responsibility. It is to recognize
and protect the individuals who are affected by acquisition
of land, as well as competent and efficient service to the
public.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

Public hearings, when required, are held during the
location and design stages of a project. Such hearings
provide opportunities for public participation to ensure that
highway locations and designs are consistent with Federal,
State and Local goals and objectives.

The corridor hearing is held after preliminary studies
have been made on several possible routes. During the
course of this hearing, testimony is recorded for study by
Department personnel and the Transportation Commission.

Upon selection of a corridor, a detailed survey within
that corridor is made and a preliminary design plan
developed for presentation at a "Design Hearing."

The "Design Hearing" provides an opportunity to
present testimony about the final highway design.

In an instance where a choice of corridors is not
involved, such as the case of an improvement to an existing
highway, a single "Combination Corridor-Design Hearing"
may be held.

After all data and testimony has been studied, a final
design is adopted by the Transportation Commission and
the acquisition of rights of way is authorized.

JUST COMPENSATION

Owners of property needed for a highway project will
be offered Just Compensation for the required rights-of-
way. Just Compensation includes the estimated value of all
the land and improvements within the needed area. In
addition, if only a part of a property is to be acquired, Just
Compensation will also include any measurable loss in
value
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to the remaining property due to the partial acquisition.

Just Compensation is based on the Department’s
valuation of the needed property and its estimation of any
damages to the remaining property. Department
procedures, guided by Federal Regulations, have been
designed to protect both owners of properties needed for
highway rights-of -way as well as other taxpayers. The
valuation process will be conducted either by an
experienced and qualified employee of the Department or
by an independent fee appraiser under a contract with the
Department. The value arrived at will be by comparison of
similar properties in the market that have recently sold, by
knowledge and consideration of costs and depreciation for
any improvements to be acquired, and when applicable, by
the property’s income potential. The final value
determination will be based on this type of information
from the local real estate market.

The property to be acquired is inspected by a qualified
appraiser during the first part of the valuation process. With
complex acquisitions involving large portions of the
property, major buildings or improvements on the property,
displacement of residents, and/or damages to the remaining
part of the property not being acquired, property owners
will be given 15 days to prepare the property, and the
opportunity to accompany the appraiser during a detailed
inspection of your property.

Any increase or decrease in the value of needed
property brought about by public knowledge of the
upcoming highway project is disregarded in the valuation
process.

The final value estimate is reviewed for completeness
and accuracy, and Just Compensation is established by the
Department’s Review Appraiser. In addition to this estimate
of Just Compensation, the Department will make an offer to
purchase any remaining property determined to have no
remaining economic value to the owner.

ACQUISITION PROCEDURE

The Right of Way Agent who calls on you has studied
the Department’s valuation of the needed property and can
illustrate with maps and other data how the acquisition will
affect your property. The Department’s offer will be
confirmed in writing together with an acquisition summary
statement, and
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appraisal, or evaluation sheet, which provides the basis for
that amount. The Agent is authorized to obtain a deed from
you to purchase your property, subject to the approval of
the Transportation Commission. The Agent is unable,
under Department procedures governing acquisitions, to
engage in "horse trading"; rather the Agent is confined to
those monetary values indicated by the appraisal process.

However, the Department is ready and willing to
reconsider its position in light of any new evidence of value
presented by you including a documented professional
appraisal.

The Department may not take ally action which would
coerce you into accepting its offer. Prohibited actions
include advancing the time of condemnation, deferring
negotiations or condemnation, or postponing the deposit of
funds in court for your use.

You need not accept the State’s offer or enter an
agreement felt to be unfair. Owners have a minimum 40-
day period to accept or reject the offer, unless an
emergency has been declared. A refusal is simply a case of
disagreement between the two parties on the value of the
property.

In the event the parties are still unable to agree as to
the compensation to be paid, or you cannot clear the title,
mediation of differences between parties, conducted by an
independent mediator, can be arranged by the Department
in order to reach settlement prior to filing any
condemnation action. Mediation is a non-binding process
where all parties reach agreement.

In the event parties are still unable to agree as to
compensation to be paid, or if title cannot be cleared, a
condemnation action will be filed. Once condemnation is
filed, a trial date will be determined. However, an owner
can elect binding arbitration prior to trial, through the
Court, for amounts of $20,000 or less, and non-binding
arbitration for amounts between $20,000 and $50,000.
Arbitration is not available above $50,000.

Discussions and mediation can, of course, continue
even after a condemnation action is filed in an effort to
resolve differences. The filing allows the State to proceed
with the construction project.
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No relocation payment received by a displaced person
under this part shall be considered as income for the purpose
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, which has been re-
designated as the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 or for the
purpose of determining the eligibility or the extent of eligi-
bility of any person for assistance under the Social Security
Actor any other Federal law, except for any Federal law pro-
viding low-income housing assistance.

RELOCATION SERVICES

The Department of Transportatlon maintains Regional
Right of Way offices in the following locations:

123 NW Flanders 63020 O.B. Riley Road
Portland, Oregon 97209 Bend, Oregon 97701
Telephone No. Telephone No.
(503) 731-8400 (541) 388-6196
FAX (503) 731-8458 FAX (541) 388-6381

3500 NW Stewart Parkway, Suite 164
Roseburg, Oregon 97470
Telephone No.

(541) 957-3559
FAX (541) 957-3563

455 Airport Rd St. SE 3012 Island Avenue

Building A La Grande. Oregon 97850
Salem, Oregon 97301 Telephone No.
Telephone No. (541) 963-7552
(503) 986-2600 FAX (541) 963-9079

FAX (503) 986-2622

These offices maintain current lists of replacement
dwellings, businesses, and farms for displaced persons, as
well as current data regarding required deposits for utilities,
closing costs, typical down payments, interest rates, and FHA
and VA requirements and information. The offices also have
maps showing the location of schools, parks, playgrounds,
and shopping areas. Public transportation routes are shown,
and schedules and fare information is available. Experienced
right of way agents are available to aid displaced persons to
the fullest extent. Right of way agents do not expect and will
not accept any fee for any service rendered.

ELIGIBILITY

It is important to note that eligibility for any of the
following benefits is not established until you have received
a written notice of eligibility from the State.

GENERAL MOVING EXPENSES

Service charges for reconnecting utilities are reimburs-
able except under schedule move procedures.

INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY
MOVING EXPENSES

Any individual or family displaced by a Department of
Transportation project is entitled to receive a payment for
actual and reasonable expenses of moving personal property
a distance not to exceed a 50-mile radius or to the nearest
available and adequate site.

In order to obtain a moving expense payment, a displaced
person must file, within 18 months after displacement, a
written claim with the Department of Transportation on a
form provided for that purpose. In some cases, where it is to
the benefit of the displaced person, a written arrangement
with the Department of Transportation will allow the dis-
placed person to present an unpaid commercial moving bill,
and the Department of Transportation will make payment
directly to the mover. If the residential displacee chooses,
costs may be reimbursed according to a set schedule based
upon the number of rooms of furniture to be moved.

RESIDENTIAL MOVING SCHEDULE

Unfurnished
[Relocatee owns furniture]
$350[1rm] $700[ 3 rms ]
$500 [ 2 rms ] $900 [ 4 rms ]

plus $175 for each additional room

Furnished
[Relocatee does not own furniture]

$ 300 for first room plus $50/each added room

REESTABLISHMENT PAYMENT
(businesses, farms, nonprofit organizations only)

Displaced small businesses, farm operations and
nonprofit organizations may receive a payment not to exceed
$10,000 for expenses actually incurred to relocate and
reestablish themselves at a replacement site. Eligible expenses
can include repairs and improvements required by law,
replacement of soiled and worn surfaces at the replacement
site and other modifications, exterior signing, advertisement
of the replacement location, and estimated increased cost of
operation for the first two years.

BUSINESS, FARM & NONPROFIT
ORGANIZATION
MOVING EXPENSES

Displaced businesses, farm operations, and nonprofit
organizations are entitled to receive actual reasonable
moving expenses for moving personal property a distance
not to exceed a 50-mile radius or to the nearest available
and adequate site. The actual and reasonable cost of
searching for a replacement location may be claimed in an
amount up to $1,000 for a farm, nonprofit organization or
business. Such payments must be supported by receipted
bills or other evidence of expenses incurred.

As an alternate moving expense procedure, in the case
of a self move, the business, farm operation, or nonprofit
organization may be paid an amount not to exceed the
lower of two estimates secured by the Department of Trans-
portation from qualified moving companies.

Under certain conditions, businesses, farms, and non-
profit organizations may receive payments for direct losses
of tangible personal property resulting from the necessity
to relocate.

A displaced or discontinued business, nonprofit organ-
ization or farm operation, except advertising sign owners,
may, under certain conditions, elect to receive a fixed pay-
ment in an amount equal to the average annual net earnings
of the business or farm operation during the two tax years
immediately preceding the year in which such business or
farm operation is displaced. The payment cannot exceed
$20,000 and will not be less than $1,000. Those who
choose the fixed payment are not eligible for any other
relocation benefit payment.

STORAGE OF PERSONAL PROPERTY

Storage of personal property requires the written
approval of the Department of Transportation and may not
exceed twelve months except in unusual circumstances. It
should be clearly understood that those dislocatees who
accept the scheduled move or fixed payment are not
eligible to receive the storage expense benefit.

REPLACEMENT HOUSING

A displaced owner-occupant of a dwelling owned and
occupied for 180 days or more immediately prior to the
initiation of negotiations for such property may be eligible
for additional payments, the combined total of which may
not exceed $22,500.

The replacement housing payment is the amount, if any,
which when added to the amount for which the State
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acquired his or her dwelling, equals the actual cost which the
owner is required to pay for a decent, safe, and sanitary
replacement dwelling or the amount determined by the State
as necessary to purchase a comparable dwelling, whichever
is less. This payment includes compensation for increased
interest costs for financing the replacement dwelling and
actual closing costs incidental to the purchase of replacement
housing.

A displaced owner-occupant of a dwelling actually owned
and occupied by the owner for 90 days or more but less than
180 days or a tenant-occupant of 90 days or more immediately
prior to initiation of negotiations for such property may be
eligible for additional payments, the combined total of which
may not exceed $5,250. This payment is the amount necessary
to make a down payment on the purchase of a replacement
dwelling and to reimburse the relocatee for the actual closing
costs incidental to the purchase of the replace-
ment dwelling. Necessary deposits for taxes and insurance
are not considered as closing costs. In those cases where an
owner-occupant of 90 days or more but less than 180 days or
a tenant-occupant of 90 days or more chooses to rent instead
of purchase a replacement dwelling, he or she may, under
certain conditions, be eligible for a payment of up to $5,250
to rent a decent, safe, and sanitary replacement dwelling.

The rent payment is the increase in rent necessary to rent
a comparable dwelling for 42 months or the amount
determined by the State as necessary to rent a comparable
dwelling for 42 months, whichever is less. To be eligible for
these benefits, the displaced occupant must purchase or rent
and occupy a decent, safe, and sanitary replacement dwelling
within one year after the required date of displacement or
within one year after the actual date of displacement,
whichever is later.

Claims for replacement housing differential payment and
rent supplements must be made in writing on a Department
of Transportation form supplied for this purpose and must be
filed with the Department of Transportation no later than 18
months after the date of displacement.

Before payments for any replacement dwelling benefits
can be made, the replacement dwelling must be checked by
Department of Transportation personnel to ascertain that it
meets the decent, safe, and sanitary standards established by
the Federal Department of Transportation. It is recommended
that this determination be made prior to a commitment to
rent or buy. The decent, safe, and sanitary inspection of the
replacement dwelling by agency personnel is for the sole
purpose of determining a relocatee’s eligibility for a relocation
payment.
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