
HOW TO REQUEST A SPEED ZONE RECORD FROM ODOT 
 

General Information About ODOT Records 
Per Oregon Revised Statute 192.420, every person has a right to inspect any public record of a public 
body in this state, except as otherwise expressly provided by ORS 192.501 to 192.505 [regarding exempt 
public documents].  You may visit our Salem office at 4040 Fairview Industrial Drive SE; or contact us 
via phone, fax or email.  Some information is also available on our website. 
 
You may also obtain copies of records subject to the below.  ODOT will certify true copies of public 
record(s) upon request.  A reasonable period  of up to 10 days is necessary for the records to be located 
and assembled. 
 
ODOT Record Fees 
We are happy to fulfill document requests. In accordance with Oregon Law, Rules and Procedures, we are 
required to recoup costs in excess of $13 to provide requested copies or other documentation.    
 
Often the document requests will have costs under the $13.00 limit.  Copies of speed zone orders are 
usually in that category.  In those cases where production costs exceed the limit, we must have the 
payment in advance or at the same time as the requested copies are received. 
 
Fees charged include some combination of the time needed to handle the request (the first 15 minutes is 
free), cost of generating additional documentation if requested, a certified copy fee if requested, materials, 
and the cost for some delivery modes (fax, regular mail, overnight, etc.).  There is no charge for an email 
delivery.  Current unit costs are listed below to give you an idea of what to expect. Upon receiving your 
request we will let you know if a charge is likely. 
 

Costs for Copies of Speed Zone Investigations 
Task Unit Cost 
Research/Labor, etc @ $6.25 per quarter hour increment after 1st 15 minutes $6.25 
Additional Charge - any Large size Map (color copying - Specify Unit Cost) Varies 
Copies @ 25¢ a page $0.25 
Certification @ $5.00 each $5.00 
Compact Disc @ 5.00 each $5.00 
Fax @ $5.00 first page $5.00 
Fax additional pages @$1.00 additional page $1.00 
Postage @ 46¢ up to 2 ounce $0.46 
Additional Postage @ 9¢ to13¢ (and up) for each additional ounce Varies 
Overnight Delivery @ about $8.00 to about $13.50 depending on weight/distance Varies 

 
Note:  If you have read or received advice that speed zone investigation documents will be an effective 
defense against a traffic ticket, it would be prudent to consult a qualified attorney for a second opinion. 

 
See Oregon Constitution, Article IX, Section 3a; ORS 162.305, ORS 192.001, ORS 192.005, ORS 192.410, ORS 192.410(6), ORS 192.420, ORS 192.440, ORS 
192.450, ORS 192.501, ORS 192.502, ORS 825.517, ORS 826.008, OAR 166.030-0016, OAR 731-001-0025, ODOT Records Manual 


