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Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information
Materials can be provided in alternative formats by calling the ADA Compliance Manager 
at 360-705-7097. Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing may contact that number via the 
Washington Relay Service at 7-1-1.

Title VI Notice to Public
It is the Washington State Department of Transportation’s (WSDOT) policy to assure that 
no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, national origin, or sex, as provided by Title VI 
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, 
or be otherwise discriminated against under any of its federally funded programs and activities. 
Any person who believes his/her Title VI protection has been violated, may file a complaint 
with WSDOT’s Office of Equal Opportunity (OEO). For Title VI complaint forms and advice, 
please contact OEO’s Title VI Coordinator at 360-705-7082 or 509-324-6018.

To get the latest information on WSDOT publications, sign up for individual email updates at  
www.wsdot.wa.gov/publications/manuals.

Washington State Department of Transportation 
Commercial Vehicle Services 
PO Box 47367 
Olympia, WA 98504-7367 
360-704-6345 
www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle
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Chapter 1	 General Information

Purpose
The purpose of this guide is to clearly describe the common procedures that will  
be used to issue permits for movement of certain non-divisible oversize and/or 
overweight vehicles on highways designated by the jurisdictions participating in 
the “Western Regional Agreement for the Issuance of Permits for Oversize and 
Overweight Vehicles Involved in Interstate Travel.”

This guide is designed to be dynamic, allowing for additional North American 
jurisdictions to join the Agreement. This guide will be revised and supplemented 
as additional jurisdictions are added, or when member jurisdictions request changes.

Envelope Vehicle
Each member jurisdiction may issue regional permits allowing operations in any 
other member jurisdiction of the following non-divisible maximum dimensions:

Weight
1.	 600 pounds per inch of tire width.

2.	 21,500 pounds per axle.

3.	 43,000 pounds per tandem axle.

4.	 53,000 pounds per tridem (wheelbase more than 8 feet and less than 13 feet).

5.	 160,000 pounds gross weight.

6.	 In no case may the gross weight exceed the sum of the permitted axle, axle group 
weights, or the weight specified by the permit, whichever is less.

7.	 A minimum of five axles required when hauling. Self-propelled or towed vehicles 
may have less than five axles.

8.	 The weight on any group of axles shall be determined by the weight table attached 
hereto as Appendix A. Other provisions of this section shall also apply, the lesser 
of these weights shall be the determining factor.

Length
110 feet overall.

This agreement does not authorize permits for a semi-trailer longer than 53 feet to 
carry more than one item, or for any unladen semi-trailer longer than 53 feet used in 
a truck-tractor and semi-trailer combination.

Movement of unladen vehicles must comply with the limitations of the jurisdiction 
being traveled through (i.e. loading jeep and/or booster onto trailer when semi-trailer 
exceeds 62 feet in Oregon).

Note:  To avoid unnecessary enforcement action in certain jurisdictions, 
both overall length and trailer length must be included on the permit.
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Width
14 feet

Height
14 feet

Note:  Movement of mobile homes is not covered under the Western Regional 
Agreement due to the numerous variances between jurisdictions.

Jurisdiction of Issuance
For vehicles falling within the size and weight limitations as described in the envelope 
vehicle definition, Member Jurisdictions may issue permits and collect fees for all 
Member Jurisdictions when they are either the entry/origin, destination/exit, or a pass 
through jurisdiction on the route. This restriction is designed to allocate the burden of 
permit writing to the member jurisdictions affected by the move.

Regardless of which Member Jurisdiction writes the permit, the permit must be acquired 
prior to any significant movement within any of the Member jurisdictions.

Jurisdiction Contacts
A list of the contact person for each member jurisdiction is included in Appendix E. 
Each member should notify all other members of any changes in this list.

Routes:  Regional Highway Network
The Member Jurisdictions jointly develop and maintain a regional highway network 
map. The current set of maps is shown in Appendix B. Each regional permit may only 
authorize a permittee to travel on routes designated as part of the regional highway 
network, with the following exceptions:

1.	 The issuing jurisdiction may issue a regional permit authorizing travel off of 
the regional highway network within the borders of the issuing jurisdiction.

2.	 The issuing jurisdiction may issue a regional permit authorizing travel off  
the regional highway network when authorization is obtained from the  
affected jurisdiction.

a.	 Current Map Maintained by a Designated Jurisdiction

	 The State of Idaho has been designated to maintain the current regional highway 
network map. Map revisions are to be provided to that state representative.

b.	 Regional Highway Network Modifications

	 Each Member Jurisdiction is responsible to notify Idaho of all restrictions on the 
network, such as detours due to construction or spring load limits. Notification 
of changes shall be made at least (7) days prior to the effective date of the 
proposed change, unless an emergency occurs which would not allow advance 
notice. The State of Idaho has been designated to maintain the list of restrictions 
for each state and distribute copies to each member. Updates are sent out within 
three days of when Idaho is notified of a change.
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	 In the event of an emergency change in the network, the Member Jurisdictions 
should make reasonable efforts to notify all other Member Jurisdictions by 
telephone or FAX of the change and immediately follow up with written 
notification.

Routes Covered
The Agreement applies only to the highways of the Regional Network. When a 
permittee must use highways off the Regional Network (i.e., local jurisdiction), 
the permittee must contact the non-member jurisdiction to obtain any necessary 
permit. Member jurisdictions must make a notation on any regional permits issued 
when the permittee must contact a non-member jurisdiction for route approval.

Special Conditions
Each jurisdiction involved in the Agreement has provided basic special conditions 
for travel. These conditions are attached as Appendix C and include such restrictions 
as days or times of travel, overhangs and load projections, weather, speed limits, etc. 
When issuing a permit, these conditions must be attached to the permit.

1.	 All Current Special Conditions Maintained by Designated Jurisdiction

	 The State of Washington has been designated to maintain the list of special 
conditions for each state and distribute copies to each member. Updates are 
sent out within three days of when Washington is notified of a change.

2.	 Modifications

	 Any changes to a member’s special conditions must be conveyed to Washington 
14 days prior to the effective date. In the event of an emergency change in 
conditions the member making the change should notify the other members by 
Fax and follow up with written notification.

The “Permit Conditions” attachment is not all-inclusive; however, it does contain 
contact information for each participating jurisdiction as an additional resource.

Application and Permit Form
A sample permit form is included as Appendix D. This single trip permit will be 
valid for a period of five working days, for use by the permitted vehicle only (tractor 
and trailer).

Period of Permit Validity, Extensions, and Amendments
Permits may be issued not more than five (5) calendar days in advance of the effective 
date to assist permittee scheduling and permit offices in leveling work load. Additional 
advance issuance could jeopardize safety due to the changing status of the system, such 
as detours, maintenance activities, etc.

One extension of up to five days may be granted upon a showing by the permittee that 
weather or road conditions or a mechanical failure of the vehicle precluded completion 
of the permitted trip during the initial five-day period.

An amendment may be allowed for vehicle information, weight and/ or dimension due 
to a mechanical failure and resulting equipment transfer while in route. Routes may 
also be amended due to an emergent restriction put in place while in route.
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An extension or amendment should be made by the issuing jurisdiction, unless either 
of these only affect your jurisdiction. A hard copy of the extension and/or amendments 
must accompany the original permit for review by other affected jurisdictions. Hand 
written corrections on the original permit are not acceptable unless they affect only 
your jurisdiction.

A jurisdiction may charge for amendments to permits. 

Permitting Process
Overview

When all of the procedures required to implement this program are in place, the 
following briefly describes how the process will work:

1.	 Interested members of the trucking industry, permit service companies, and all 
other interested parties will be given copies of the regional highway network 
map and a summary of the requirements for operating envelope vehicles under 
the Regional Agreement (as contained in this document). Each truck driver using 
these procedures is strongly encouraged to carry a copy of this map on board the 
permitted vehicle.

2.	 Each jurisdiction will be responsible for publicizing the regional permitting program 
and related procedures.

3.	 The truck operator requiring a regional permit for a non-divisible overweight 
or oversize vehicle that falls within the limits of the Agreement will contact the 
issuing jurisdiction and request a permit for a specific trip (with a specific origin 
and destination) and for a specific vehicle.

4.	 If the vehicle and the highway route required to make the trip falls entirely within 
the limits of the Agreement, the issuing jurisdiction will:

a.	 Issue the regional permit.

b.	 Collect the fees, that are the sum of all the individual fees of each jurisdiction 
through which the envelop vehicle will travel.

c.	 Designate the specific routes that can be used.

5.	 If you are issuing a permit that terminates in another member jurisdiction, and the 
permittee is going to leave the designated system, you must contact the member 
jurisdiction in which the movement is exiting the regional network. They must 
give permission to exit the network before the permit is to be issued. The name 
of the contact person should be included on the permit

6.	 If one (or more) of the requirements of this common procedure are not met for one 
or more jurisdictions, then the issuing jurisdiction will require the truck operator to 
obtain individual state permits in those states where the requirements cannot be met.

7.	 After receiving the regional permit, the truck operator must comply with all the 
special conditions described in Appendix C of this document.

8.	 Each jurisdiction will be responsible for the enforcement of the non-divisible 
oversize and overweight laws within its own boundaries. The regional permit 
will be valid in each jurisdiction for which it has been issued. However, if the 
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requirements of the permit have been violated in a particular jurisdiction, the 
individual requirements of that jurisdiction will be enforced. Any fines collected 
within that jurisdiction will continue to be retained in that jurisdiction with no reim-
bursement being made to any other jurisdiction (including the issuing jurisdiction).

Transmittal of Fees
A log and/or copies of regional permits must be maintained. A summary report, item-
izing permits affecting a specific jurisdiction, or copies of the permits, are to accompany 
the transmittal to each jurisdiction as support for the fees being remitted.

The summary report, if used, must contain a list of permit numbers, the name of the 
carriers, issue date, fee, and type of permit (i.e., oversize, overweight, size and weight, 
or overlength). This information is used by the state for federal reporting and other 
statistical purposes.

Transmittals are to be prepared monthly with the actual remittance occurring as timely 
as possible after the completion of each calendar month. See Appendix E for mailing 
addresses.

Fee Calculation
Each jurisdiction has developed its own current fee schedule and method for collecting 
the fees. The most current fees are described in the following pages:

page 2-1:	 Arizona

page 3-1:	 Idaho

page 4-1:	 Montana

page 5-1:	 Oregon

page 6-1:	 Utah

page 7-1:	 Washington

page 8-1:	 Texas

page 9-1:	 New Mexico

page 10-1:	 Colorado

page 11-1:	 Oklahoma

page 12-1:	 Nevada

page 13-1:	 Louisiana

Note:  No permit fees will be charged when issuing a Regional Permit 
to marked vehicles belonging to, and operated by, government entities  
(i.e., marked military vehicles).
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Chapter 2	 State of Arizona

Fee Assessment
For size and weight limits not requiring a fee, refer to Appendix F, Truck Size and 
Weight Limits for Vehicles in Regular Operation.

Oversize only between 8 feet 6 inches and 14 feet wide is $15.00.

Overweight only GVW and/or axle loads is $75.00.**

Oversize and Overweight features is $75.00.

**An additional administrative fee for tridem groups exceeding 50,400 pounds  
with a wheelbase less than 10 feet 6 inches is $15.00.
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Chapter 3	 State of Idaho

Fee Assessment 
For size and weight limits not requiring a fee, refer to Appendix F, Truck Size and 
Weight Limits for Vehicles in Regular Operation.

Oversize only, with no overweight features is $28.00.

Overweight only and Oversize/Overweight are $71.00 plus a fee based on the gross 
weight, number of axles and miles to be traveled, as shown on the Idaho Road Use 
Assessment Fee chart (page 3-2).

Procedure for determining Road Use Assessment Fees:

1.	 Determine gross weight and number of axles.

2.	 Look up Road Use Assessment Fee in cents per mile on the chart for the number 
of axles (across the top of the chart) and gross weight (down the left side of chart). 
The minimum fee per mile is four cents (4¢).

3.	 Multiply number of Idaho miles by the Road Use Assessment fee in cents per mile.

Example:

Vehicle is 132,000 pounds, on 6 axles, traveling 100 miles.

Go to Road Use Assessment Fee chart. Looking down the left column, find the row 
where 132,000 pounds belongs (130,001 to 132,000). Then move right along the row 
to the column corresponding to the correct number of axles, 6. The cross section of 
row and column provides the correct fee per mile, 72 cents. Multiply the fee per mile 
by the number of Idaho miles .72 x 100 = $72. Add the Road Use Assessment Fee to 
the Administrative fee to get the total fee: 

	 $  72.00	 Road Use Assessment Fee 
	     71.00	 Administrative Fee
	 $143.00	 Total Fee
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Road Use Assessment Fees - Cents Per Mile 

Number of Axles 

GVW in Pounds 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

40,000 to 42,000 $0.04

42,001 to 44,000 $0.08

44,001 to 46,000 $0.12

46,001 to 48,000 $0.16

48,001 to 50,000 $0.20

50,001 to 52,000 $0.24

52,001 to 54,000 $0.28

54,001 to 56,000 $0.32 $0.04

56,001 to 58,000 $0.36 $0.08

58,001 to 60,000 $0.40 $0.12

60,001 to 62,000 $0.44 $0.16

62,001 to 64,000 $0.48 $0.20

64,001 to 66,000 $0.52 $0.24

66,001 to 68,000 $0.56 $0.28

68,001 to 70,000 $0.60 $0.32 $0.04

70,001 to 72,000 $0.64 $0.36 $0.08

72,001 to 74,000 $0.68 $0.40 $0.12

74,001 to 76,000 $0.72 $0.44 $0.16

76,001 to 78,000 $0.76 $0.48 $0.20

78,001 to 80,000 $0.80 $0.52 $0.24

80,001 to 82,000 $0.84 $0.56 $0.28 $0.04

82,001 to 84,000 $0.88 $0.60 $0.32 $0.08

84,001 to 86,000 $0.92 $0.64 $0.36 $0.12

86,001 to 88,000 $0.96 $0.68 $0.40 $0.16

88,001 to 90,000 $1.00 $0.72 $0.44 $0.20

90,001 to 92,000 $0.76 $0.48 $0.24

92,001 to 94,000 $0.80 $0.52 $0.28

94,001 to 96,000 $0.84 $0.56 $0.32

96,001 to 98,000 $0.88 $0.60 $0.36 $0.04

98,001 to 100,000 $0.92 $0.64 $0.40 $0.08

100,001 to 102,000 $0.96 $0.68 $0.44 $0.12
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	 State of Idaho

Road Use Assessment Fees - Cents Per Mile 

Number of Axles 

GVW in Pounds 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

102,001 to 104,000 $1.00 $0.72 $0.48 $0.16

104,001 to 106,000 $1.04 $0.76 $0.52 $0.20

106,001 to 108,000 $0.80 $0.56 $0.24

108,001 to 110,000 $0.84 $0.60 $0.28

110,001 to 112,000 $0.88 $0.64 $0.32

112,001 to 114,000 $0.92 $0.68 $0.36

114,001 to 116,000 $0.96 $0.72 $0.40 $0.04

116,001 to 118,000 $1.00 $0.76 $0.44 $0.08

118,001 to 120,000 $1.04 $0.80 $0.48 $0.12

120,001 to 122,000 $0.84 $0.52 $0.16

122,001 to 124,000 $0.88 $0.56 $0.20

124,001 to 126,000 $0.92 $0.60 $0.24

126,001 to 128,000 $0.96 $0.64 $0.28

128,001 to 130,000 $1.00 $0.68 $0.32

130,001 to 132,000 $1.02 $0.72 $0.36 $0.04

132,001 to 134,000 $1.09 $0.76 $0.40 $0.08

134,001 to 136,000 $1.16 $0.80 $0.44 $0.12

136,001 to 138,000 $1.23 $0.84 $0.48 $0.16

138,001 to 140,000 $1.30 $0.88 $0.52 $0.20

140,001 to 142,000 $1.37 0.92 $0.56 $0.24

142,001 to 144,000 $1.44 $0.96 $0.60 $0.28

144,001 to 146,000 $1.51 $1.00 $0.64 $0.32

146,001 to 148,000 $1.58 $1.02 $0.68 $0.36

148,001 to 150,000 $1.65 $1.02 $0.72 $0.40 $0.04

150,001 to 152,000 $1.72 $1.09 $0.76 $0.44 $0.08

152,001 to 154,000 $1.79 $1.16 $0.80 $0.48 $0.12

154,001 to 156,000 $1.86 $1.23 $0.84 $0.52 $0.16

156,001 to 158,000 $1.93 $1.30 $0.88 $0.56 $0.20

158,001 to 160,000 $1.37 $0.92 $0.60 $0.24
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Chapter 4	 State of Montana

Fee Assessment
Oversize only is $10.00.

Overweight or Overweight with Oversize

The current method of calculation is as follows:

	 $10.00 for distances to and including 100 miles
	 $30.00 for distances from 101 to 199 miles
	 $50.00 for distances of 200 miles traveled

The charge for the permit to move a load that exceeds the single axle, tandem axle or 
axle group limits set forth in 61-10-107 (Federal 30B Formula), the following fee is 
based upon the sum excess in axle or axle group weights. The new fees are listed below.

	 Total Excess	 Cost of Miles  
	 Axle Weight	 Traveled
	 5,000	 .............................................................................	 $3.50
	 10,000	 .............................................................................	 7.00
	 15,000	 .............................................................................	 10.50
	 20,000	 .............................................................................	 14.00
	 25,000	 .............................................................................	 17.50
	 30,000	 .............................................................................	 21.00
	 35,000	 .............................................................................	 24.50
	 40,000	 .............................................................................	 28.00
	 45,000	 .............................................................................	 31.50
	 50,000	 .............................................................................	 35.00
	 55,000	 .............................................................................	 38.50
	 60,000	 .............................................................................	 42.00
	 65,000	 .............................................................................	 45.50
	 70,000	 .............................................................................	 49.00
	 75,000	 .............................................................................	 52.50
	 80,000	 .............................................................................	 56.00
	 85,000	 .............................................................................	 59.50
	 90,000	 .............................................................................	 63.00
	 95,000	 .............................................................................	 66.50
	 100,000	 .............................................................................	 70.00

Over 100,000 pounds is $70.00 plus $3.50 per 5,000 pounds or part of 5,000 pounds 
in excess of 100,000.

The mileage must be rounded off in units of 25 miles and mileage in excess of a  
25-mile increment must be assessed at the next higher 25-mile increment.

The weight must be rounded off in 5,000 pound increments and weight in excess of 
a 5,000 pound increment must be assessed at the next higher 5,000 pound increment.
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There will be an annual overweight permit for $200.00 for a load that is in excess of the 
limits set forth in 61-10-107, but that does not exceed a total of 5,000 pounds in excess 
axle weight.

Below are some examples of the more common combinations and the new fee cost.

Example 1:

21 3 4 5

17ʹ6ʺ 23ʹ6ʺ4ʹ 4ʹ  
	 Weight	 12,000	 47,500	 48,000
	 Legal	 12,000	 34,000	 34,000
	 Excess	 0	 13,500	 14,000

A load traveling from Helena to Butte is 27,500 pounds in excess of legal axle or axle 
group weights.

		  Actual	 Rounded
	 Excess	 27,500	 30,000	 @ $21.00
	 Miles	 65	 75	 3-25 Mi. increments

The rounded 30,000 pound fee of $21.00 multiplied by the 3-25 mile increments 
provides a permit of $63.00.

Example 2:

21 3 4 5

17ʹ6ʺ 23ʹ6ʺ4ʹ 4ʹ6ʺ

6

4ʹ6ʺ  

	 Weight	 12,000	 49,800	 60,000
	 Legal	 12,000	 34,000	 42,750
	 Excess	 0	 15,800	 17,250

A load traveling from Kalispell to Missoula.  This load is 33,050 pounds overweight.

		  Actual	 Rounded
	 Excess	 33,050	 35,000	 @ $24.50
	 Miles	 115	 125	 5-25 Mi. increments

The rounded 35,000 pound fee of $24,50 is multiplied by the 5-25 mile increments 
provides a permit fee of $122.50
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Example 3:

21 3 4 5

17ʹ6ʺ 23ʹ6ʺ4ʹ 4ʹ  

This is not exceeding a total of 5,000 pounds. This qualifies for a $200.00 term permit.

	 Weight	 12,000	 36,000	 36,000
	 Legal	 12,000	 34,000	 34,000
	 Excess	 0	 2,000	 2,000

A load traveling from Radersburt to the Three Forks. This load is 4,000 pounds  
overweight.

		  Actual	 Rounded
	 Excess	 4,000	 5,000	 @ $3.50
	 Miles	 29	 50	 2-25 Mi. increments

The rounded 5,000 pound fee at $3.50 is multiplied by the 2-25 mile increments 
provides a permit fee of $7.00.
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Chapter 5	 State of Oregon

Fee Assessment
Oversize only (with gross weight at or below 98,000 pounds) is $8.00.

Overweight (may also include oversize) State Administrative Fee is $8.00 plus the 
Road Use Assessment Fees, as shown in Oregon Fee Chart on the following page.

Procedure for determining Road Use Assessment Fees:

1.	 Determine gross weight and number of axles.

2.	 Look up Road Use Assessment fee in cents per mile on the chart for the number 
of axles (across the top of the chart) and gross weight (down the left side of chart).

3.	 Multiply number of Oregon miles by the Road Use Assessment fee in cents 
per mile.

Example:

A carrier requests a gross weight of 154,000 pounds, using a 9-axle combination, 
traveling from the OR/WA border on I-205 to the OR/ID border on I-84.

Using the chart, find the number of axles (9) across the top of the chart, and go down 
to the line for 154,000 pounds (152,001 to 154,000). The Road Use Assessment fee 
in cents per mile is 45.

Multiply the Road Use Assessment fee of 45 cents per mile by the total miles  
traveled in Oregon (376 miles used for this example) to get a Road Use Assessment 
Fee of $169.20.

	 $169.20	 Road Use Assessment Fee 
	       8.00	 Administrative Fee
	 $177.20	 Permit Total
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Oregon Department of Transportation  |  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

98,001 to 100,000 53 31 18 12 10 8 6 3 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
100,001 to 102,000 59 34 20 12 11 9 7 4 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
102,001 to 104,000 68 36 21 14 11 10 8 5 3 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
104,001 to 106,000 77 39 23 15 12 11 9 5 3 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
106,001 to 108,000 87 42 25 15 12 11 9 5 4 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
108,001 to 110,000 98 45 27 16 12 12 10 6 4 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
110,001 to 112,000 109 52 29 17 14 12 10 6 4 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
112,001 to 114,000 120 54 31 19 15 12 11 6 4 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
114,001 to 116,000 135 56 33 22 15 13 11 7 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
116,001 to 118,000 152 61 35 24 16 13 11 8 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
118,001 to 120,000 170 66 37 26 17 13 12 9 5 5 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
120,001 to 122,000 70 39 27 19 14 12 9 9 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
122,001 to 124,000 75 41 30 22 14 12 10 9 5 4 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
124,001 to 126,000 82 44 31 24 14 12 11 9 9 4 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
126,001 to 128,000 86 47 32 25 15 14 11 10 9 4 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
128,001 to 130,000 95 51 36 26 16 14 11 10 9 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
130,001 to 132,000 102 55 39 27 16 14 12 11 10 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
132,001 to 134,000 110 59 40 27 17 15 12 11 10 5 4 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
134,001 to 136,000 117 63 42 30 17 15 12 11 10 9 4 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
136,001 to 138,000 130 67 45 31 19 15 12 12 10 9 5 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
138,001 to 140,000 140 71 47 32 22 16 12 12 11 9 5 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
140,001 to 142,000 152 76 52 34 24 17 13 12 11 10 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
142,001 to 144,000 82 56 37 25 17 14 12 11 10 9 5 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
144,001 to 146,000 86 59 39 26 19 15 14 11 10 9 5 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
146,001 to 148,000 93 60 40 27 22 16 14 12 11 10 5 4 2 1 1 1 1 1 1
148,001 to 150,000 98 66 41 29 24 17 15 12 11 10 5 4 2 2 2 2 2 1 1
150,001 to 152,000 103 69 44 30 24 18 15 12 12 10 5 5 2 2 2 2 2 1 1
152,001 to 154,000 110 72 45 31 25 19 16 12 12 11 9 5 4 2 2 2 2 2 1
154,001 to 156,000 115 75 47 32 26 21 16 12 12 11 9 5 4 2 2 2 2 2 2
156,001 to 158,000 122 81 54 36 27 22 17 14 12 12 10 9 4 2 2 2 2 2 2
158,001 to 160,000 128 83 56 37 29 23 17 15 14 12 10 9 5 4 4 2 2 2 2
160,001 to 162,000 132 87 59 40 30 24 19 15 14 12 10 9 5 4 4 2 2 2 2
162,001 to 164,000 141 95 61 41 31 25 19 16 14 12 11 10 5 4 4 4 2 2 2
164,001 to 166,000 146 98 66 42 31 26 22 16 15 12 11 10 9 4 4 4 4 2 2
166,001 to 168,000 154 102 70 45 34 27 22 17 16 14 11 11 9 5 4 4 4 4 2
168,001 to 170,000 159 108 73 47 34 29 24 17 16 14 12 11 10 5 5 4 4 4 2
170,001 to 172,000 168 112 76 52 37 31 24 17 17 14 12 12 10 5 5 4 4 4 2
172,001 to 174,000 176 117 82 55 39 32 25 19 17 15 12 12 11 9 6 5 4 4 2
174,001 to 176,000 183 126 85 56 40 34 26 22 19 15 12 12 11 9 6 5 4 4 4
176,001 to 178,000 193 131 88 59 42 36 27 24 19 16 14 12 12 10 7 6 5 4 4

Numbers of AxlesGross Weight (lbs.)

Oregon Road Use Assessment Fees  —  Cents Per Mile  —  Effective October 1, 2010

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION  
MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION  
550 CAPITOL ST NE   
SALEM OR 97301-2530

FORM 735-9926 (7-10)

Page 1 of 10

The Oregon Road Use Asessment Fees – Cents Per Mile chart in its entirety is located at the 
following website:  www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/reg/9926.pdf
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Chapter 6	 State of Utah

Fee Assessment
Oversize Permits
Single Trip (96 hours) 	 $30.00

Combination Oversize/Overweight for Divisible Loads
Single Trip (96 hours) 	 $60.00

Combination Oversize/Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads 125,000 GVW and Under
Single Trip (96 hours) 	 $60.00

Combination Oversize/Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads Exceeding 125,000 GVW
Single Trip (96 hours) 	 $80.00 – $540.00

The oversize/overweight permit fee in this category is determined from the following 
table. Actual weights and miles shall be rounded to the next higher increment.



State of Utah
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Fee Table for Non-divisible Loads Exceeding 125,000 lbs.

Miles 50 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450 500 550 600 650

Pounds

125,001 – 150,000 $80 $80 $130 $170 $210 $250 $290 $340 $380 $420 $460 $500 $540

150,001 – 175,000 $80 $110 $170 $230 $290 $340 $400 $460 $510 $540

175,001 – 200,000 $80 $140 $220 $290 $360 $430 $500 $540

200,001 – 225,000 $90 $170 $260 $350 $440 $520 $540

225,001 – 250,000 $100 $200 $310 $410 $510 $540

250,001 – 275,000 $120 $230 $350 $470 $540

275,001 – 300,000 $130 $260 $400 $530

300,001 – 325,000 $150 $300 $440 $540

325,001 – 350,000 $160 $320 $490

350,001 – 375,000 $180 $350 $530

375,001 – 400,000 $190 $380 $540

400,001 – 425,000 $210 $410

425,001 – 450,000 $220 $440

450,001 – 475,000 $240 $470

475,001 – 500,000 $250 $500

500,001 – 525,000 $270 $540

525,001 – 550,000 $280

550,001 – 575,000 $300

575,001 – 600,000 $310

600,001 – 625,000 $330

625,001 – 650,000 $340

650,001 – 675,000 $360

676,001 – 700,000 $370

700,001 – 725,000 $390

725,001 – 750,000 $400

750,001 – 775,000 $420

775,001 – 800,000 $430

800,001 – 825,000 $450

825,001 – 850,000 $460

850,001 – 875,000 $480

875,001 – 900,000 $490

900,001 – 925,000 $510

925,001 – 950,000 $520

950,001 – 975,000+ $540



Western Regional Permit Desk Guide  M 3038.01	 Page 7-1 
February 2008

Chapter 7	 State of Washington

Fee Assessment
For size and weight limits not requiring a fee, refer to Appendix F, Truck Size and 
Weight Limits for Vehicles in Regular Operation.

Oversize only, with no overweight feature is $10.00.

Overweight for the State of Washington is based on weight that exceeds the licensed 
gross weight or over axle weight and the number of miles traveled on state highways. 
Use the following chart in determining fee.

	 Excess Weight Over 	 Fee Per Mile  
	 Legal Capacity	 on State Highways

	 0-9,999..............................................................   .07
	 10,000-14,999..............................................................   .14
	 15,000-19,999..............................................................   .21
	 20,000-24,999..............................................................   .28
	 25,000-29,999..............................................................   .35
	 30,000-34,999..............................................................   .49
	 35,000-39,999..............................................................   .63
	 40,000-44,999..............................................................   .79
	 45,000-49,999..............................................................   .93
	 50,000-54,999.............................................................. 1.14
	 55,000-59,999.............................................................. 1.35
	 60,000-64,999.............................................................. 1.56
	 65,000-69,999.............................................................. 1.77
	 70,000-74,999.............................................................. 2.12
	 75,000-79,999.............................................................. 2.47
	 80,000-84,999.............................................................. 2.82
	 85,000-89,999.............................................................. 3.17
	 90,000-94,999.............................................................. 3.52
	 95,000-99,999.............................................................. 3.87
	 100,000 or more.............................................................*4.25

*The fee for weights in excess of 100,000 pounds is $4.25 plus fifty cents for each 
5,000 pound increment or portion thereof exceeding 100,000 pounds.

Note:  Minimum fee for any overweight permit is $14.00.

Use the following as an example in determining the overweight fees for the state 
of Washington.

	 160,000	 Total gross weight 
	   80,000	 Licensed gross weight
	 80,000	 Excess weight



State of Washington
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By looking at the above chart, the fee for weights of 80,000 pounds or more, the fee 
would be $2.80 per mile.

	 $2.80 times 120 miles = $ 336.00

If the weight of the vehicle does not exceed the licensed gross weight for the state of 
Washington but exceeds the legal axle weight, you will calculate the fee as follows:

	 42,000	 pounds tandem axle weight 
	 34,000	 pounds legal axle weight
	 8,000	 pounds over legal axle weight

You will figure the fee the same way as you did with the excess gross weight fee.  
Use the same chart to determine fee and multiply by the number of miles.

	 $.14 times 120 miles = $ 16.80

Fees are to be rounded off to the nearest dollar amount. If the fee is .50 cents or 
greater you will round off to the next highest dollar amount. If the fee is .49 cents 
or less you will round down to the lesser dollar amount.

	 $17.00	 Overweight fee
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Chapter 8	 State of Texas

Fee Assessment
Oversize Only
Single Trip	 $60.00 for general oversize 
			     15.00 for portable buildings

Overweight (with or without oversize) for Non-Divisible Loads
Single Trip 	 $210.00  (80,001 to 120,000 lbs GVW)  
			   $285.00  (120,001 to 160,000 lbs GVW)1

Examples:		 10′ wide only permit transporting a dozer is $60.00 
			   12′ wide, 14′ high, 100′ long and 110,000 lbs is $210.00

1The fee becomes all inclusive when both oversize and overweight are covered by the same permit, the oversize fee is not added  
on to this fee.
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Chapter 9	 State of New Mexico

Fee Assessment
Oversize Only
Single Trip	 $ 25.00

Overweight only, or Oversize and Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads
Single Trip	 $ 25.00 — plus 2.5 cents per ton per mile for loads in excess  
			   of 86,400 lbs.

Example of determining Overweight, or Oversize and Overweight, Fees when the load 
exceeds 86,400 lbs.:

	 A vehicle/load weighing 119,000 lbs. is being transported 100 miles within the 
State of New Mexico.

In addition to the $25 base fee, the additional fee is computed by subtracting 86,400 
from 120,000 to get 33,600 lbs. Divide the 32,600 by 2,000 to find the number of excess 
tons. The answer is 16.3, which is then rounded to the next whole ton, getting 17 as the 
number for further computation. Multiple the 17 excess tons by 2.5 cents (.025) and 
again by the distance of 100 miles to get $42.50 (17 X .025 X 100), the additional fee.

	 $25.00	 Base Fee 
	   42.50	 Additional Weight/Distance Fee
	 $67.50	 Total Fee
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Chapter 10	 State of Colorado

Fee Assessment
Oversize Permits Under 80,000 Pounds GVW
Single Trip	 $15.00 x 2 (surcharge) = $30.00

Combination Oversize and/or Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads Exceeding 
80,000 Pounds GVW
Single Trip	 $15.00 
	 plus 		  $  5.00 per axle 
			   subtotal 
			        x  2 (surcharge) 
			   Total Permit Fee

Example:  A six-axle combination carrying 120,000 pounds GVW would cost 
$15.00 for the trip plus $30.00 (6 axles times $5.00) for the number of axles,  
a subtotal of $45.00 x 2 = $90.00 total permit fee.



Page 10-2	 Western Regional Permit Desk Guide  M 3038.01 
	 February 2008



Western Regional Permit Desk Guide  M 3038.06	 Page 11-1 
September 2010

Chapter 11	 State of Oklahoma

Fee Assessment
Oversize Only
Single Trip	 $40.00

Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads1

Single Trip	 $40.00
Plus: 

Interstate

$10.00 per thousand pounds or any part thereof in excess of 80,000 pounds GVW 
or their legal maximum weight, whichever is least. Must be registered to maximum 
gross weight.

Example:  A six-axle combination carrying 120,000 pounds, both oversize and 
overweight, would be charged:

	 $  40.00	 (Oversize) 
	 $  40.00	 (Overweight) 
	 $400.00	 (40* x 10)
	 $480.00	 (Total state fee)
		  *Number of 1,000 pound increments in excess of 80,000 pounds.

Off-Interstate

$10.00 per thousand pounds or any part thereof in excess of 90,000 pounds GVW or 
their legal bridge maximum weight, whichever is least. Must be registered for their 
maximum weight up to 90,000 lbs.

Warning:  Due to the condition of several bridges on designated routes, configurations 
with 9 and 10 axles are restricted to the weight limits of an 8‑axle configuration as 
shown in Appendix A.

Example:  A 9‑axle configuration, 68 feet long, carrying a non-reducible load, is limited 
to a maximum of 146,800 GVW as shown for an 8‑axle configuration, rather than 
154,400 GVW as shown for the 9-axle configuration.

1Both the overweight and the oversize fees apply when both conditions exist.
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Chapter 12	 State of Nevada

Fee Assessment
Oversize Only
Single Trip	 $25.00

Combination Oversize and/or Overweight for Non-Divisible Loads
Single Trip	 $25.00
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Chapter 13	 State of Louisiana

Fee Assessment
Overdimensional Permit Fee
$10.00 per day traveling within Louisiana

Overweight Permit Fee Schedule
This schedule is for combinations of vehicles with five (5) or more axles* (including 
the steering axle) when the gross weight exceeds 80,000 pounds. When vehicles are 
both oversize and overweight, Fees are assessed for weight only.

Gross Weight			   Distance (in Miles) 
   (in Pounds)	 0-50	 51-100 	 101-150	 151-200	 Over 200

80,000-100,000	 $30.00	 $45.00	 $65.00	 $80.00	 $100.00

100,000-108,000	 50.00	 95.00	 135.00	 180.00	 220.00

108,001-120,000	 70.00	 130.00	 190.00	 250.00	 310.00

120,001-132,000	 90.00	 170.00	 250.00	 330.00	 415.00

132,001-152,000	 120.00	 225.00	 335.00	 445.00	 555.00

152,001-160,000	 150.00	 295.00	 440.00	 585.00	 730.00

*“Axle” here refers to single or individual axles. Tandem axle groups will be counted as two (2) axles and  
tridum axle groups as three (3) axles.

Overweight Permit Exceptions
If the gross vehicle combination weight exceeds 120,000 pounds, the following 
conditions apply:

•	 The maximum weight allowed on a single axle will be 20,000 pounds.

•	 Tandem axles are limited to 40,000 pounds if there is less than 12 feet between 
the tandem axle set and adjacent axle groups and/or there is less than 4 feet 
between the tandem axles.
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Appendix A	 Vehicle Weight Table

Distance in Feet  
Between First and  
Last Axle of Any Group  
of Consecutive Axles

		 Maximum load in pounds carried on any group of two or more consecutive axles
	 2 Axles	 3 Axles	 4 Axles	 5 Axles	 6 Axles	 7 Axles	 8 Axles	 9 Axles	 10 Axles
4	 43000								      
5	 43000								      
6	 43000								      
7	 43000								      
8	 43000	 53000							     
9	 43000	 53000							     
10	 43000	 53000							     
11		  53000							     
12		  53000	 70000						    
13		  53000	 70900						    
14		  64500	 71900						    
15			   72800						    
16			   73700	 81200					   
17			   74700	 82100					   
18			   75600	 83000					   
19			   76500	 83300					   
20			   77500	 87400					   
21			   78400	 85600					   
22			   79300	 86500					   
23			   80300	 87300					   
24			   81200	 88200					   
25			   82100	 89100					   
26			   83100	 90000					   
27			   84000	 90800					   
28			   84900	 97200	 99100				  
29			   85900	 92600	 100000				  
30			   86000	 93400	 100800				  
31				    94300	 101600				  
32				    95200	 102500				  
33				    96100	 103300				  
34				    97000	 104200				  
35				    97800	 105000				  
36				    98700	 105800				  
37				    99600	 106700				  
38				    100500	 107500				  
39				    101300	 108400				  
40				    102200	 109200				  
41				    103100	 110000				  
42				    104000	 110900				  
43				    104800	 111700				  
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	 2 Axles	 3 Axles	 4 Axles	 5 Axles	 6 Axles	 7 Axles	 8 Axles	 9 Axles	 10 Axles

44				    105700	 112600				  
45				    106600	 113400				  
46				    107500	 114200	 121600			 
47					     115100	 122400			 
48					     115900	 123200			 
49					     116800	 124000			 
50					     117600	 124800			 
51					     118400	 125700			 
52					     119300	 126500			 
53					     120100	 127300			 
54					     121000	 128100	 135600	 143300	 151200
55					     121800	 128900	 136400	 144100	 152000
56					     122600	 129700	 137200	 144900	 152800
57					     123500	 130600	 138000	 145700	 153500
58					     124300	 131400	 138800	 146500	 154300
59					     125200	 132200	 139600	 147300	 155100
60					     126000	 133000	 140400	 148100	 155900
61					     126800	 133800	 141200	 148800	 156600
62					     127700	 134600	 142000	 149600	 157400
63					     128500	 135500	 142800	 150400	 158200
64					     129000	 136300	 143600	 151200	 159000
65						      137100	 144400	 152000	 159800
66						      137900	 145200	 152800	 160000
67						      138700	 146000	 153600	
68						      139500	 146800	 154400	
69						      140400	 147600	 155100	
70						      141200	 148400	 155900	
71						      142000	 149200	 156700	
72						      142800	 150000	 157500	
73						      143600	 150800	 158300	
74						      144400	 151600	 159100	
75						      145300	 152400	 159900	
76						      146100	 153200	 160000	
77						      146900	 154000		
78						      147700	 154800		
79						      148500	 155600		
80						      149300	 156400		
81						      150200	 157200		
82						      150500	 158000		
83							       158800		
84							       159600		
85							       160000		

Note:  In Oklahoma, a 9- or 10-axle configuration is limited to the allowances under the 8-axle 
configuration column.
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Appendix B	 Designated Route Maps

Refer to fold out maps.
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Appendix C	 Western Regional Permit Conditions

THIS PAGE MUST ACCOMPANY EACH REGIONAL PERMIT
Cancellation:  When terms have been violated, obtained through misrepresentation, or the public interest served.
Convoy Movement:  The convoy movement of two or more over-dimensional vehicles is prohibited.
Crossing Structures in Montana:  Configurations of 9 and 10 axles must not exceed 5 mph when crossing all structures.
Curfew Hours:  Carriers are required to comply with curfew restrictions imposed by any jurisdiction.
	 Arizona:  Between 7-9 am and 4-6 pm within city limits of Greater Phoenix and Greater Tucson area, see State Information Sources.
	 Colorado:  Within Denver, Colorado Springs, Pueblo, and the I-70 West Corridor areas, based on times, see State Information Sources.
	 Idaho:  See curfew restrictions at www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/poe/pilot.pdf
	 Louisiana:  Between 7-9 am and 3:30-5:30 pm, Monday through Friday, no loads over 12´ wide on interstate in Baton Rouge,  
	 Lake Charles, Monroe, New Orleans, and Shrevport, see State Information Sources for specific routes.
 	 New Mexico:  Between 7-9 am and 4-6 pm in Albuquerque, Espanola, and Santa Fe (also 11:30 am-1:30 pm in Santa Fe).
	 Oklahoma:  No oversize loads through Oklahoma and Tulsa Counties between 7-9 am and 4-6:30 pm, except Saturday and Sunday.
	 Oregon:  Movement is not allowed on Interstate 5 from the Oregon/Washington border to the Junction of OR217 (Northbound and  
	 Southbound) in the Portland area and in Medford between Exit 24 and Exit 33 between 7-9 am and 4-6 pm.
	 Texas:  Within Austin, Beaumont, Dallas, Dallas County, El Paso, Houston, Lubbock, San Antonio, Tarrant County, Texarkana, Vidor,  
	 Waco, Wichita Falls, based on size, times, and specific routes, see State Information Sources.
	 Utah:  Monday through Friday during 6-9 am and 3:30-6 pm., South of Perry Exit #360 (Box Elder County); all of Weber, Davis, and  
	 Salt Lake Counties; and north of the Springville Interchange #265 (Utah County).
	 Washington:  Within greater Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia, and Vancouver areas by size, time, direction, and specific routes, see State  
	 Information Sources. 
Escort Vehicles:  Operation must comply with individual state requirements, see State Information Sources.
Impaired Clearance:  Carrier is responsible for determining adequate clearance, both vertical and horizontal.
Overhang:  Allow 3 feet front and/or 20 feet rear.  In AZ/NV/UT over 10 feet rear, daylight travel only (AZ Monday through Friday only).
Projecting Load Provision for Arizona:  Limited to a maximum of 3 feet of projection on either side of the hauling equipment, except loads of 
less than 12 inches thickness above the bed of the hauling equipment are limited to 2 feet of projection.
Refund Policy:  No refund, credit, or substitution of a Western Regional Permit fee is allowed after issuance.
Road/Weather:  No movement when roads are hazardous due to ice, snow, or frost or visibility less than 500 feet (1,000 feet in WA and 2/10 
of a mile in TX) due to fog, smoke, or other conditions, if the width is in excess of 8 feet 6 inches or if the overall length is in excess of 80 feet, 
except Arizona and Texas where the restriction applies to all movement under permit, and Idaho where the carrier makes the determination, 
however, enforcement may restrict travel.
Speed Limits:  Permitted loads may move at posted speed limits, except NM—the lesser of posted or 65 mph and AZ limited to 55 mph.   
In MT 65 mph on interstate—day and night, 60 mph on non-interstate day, 55 mph night.
State Information Sources:
	 Arizona:   www.dot.state.az.us/mvd/commercialenforcement/commvehenforce.asp   Phone:  623-932-2257 (press 0)
	 Colorado:   www.dot.state.co.us/truckpermits/   Phone:  303-757-9539
	 Idaho:   www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/poe/poe.htm   Phone:  208-334-8420
	 Louisiana:   perba.dotd.louisiana.gov/welcome.nsf   Phone:  225-377-7100
	 Montana:   www.mdt.mt.gov/business/mcs/   Phone:  406-444-7262
	 New Mexico:   www.dps.nm.org/lawenforcement/index.php   Phone:  505-476-2475
	 Nevada:   www.nevadadot.com/business/trucker   Phone:  775-888-7410
	 Oklahoma:   www.dps.state.ok.us/swp/   Phone:  405-522-9002  or  405-522-9003
	 Oregon:  www.oregon.gov/odot/mct/od.shtml   Phone:  503-373-0000
	 Texas:   www.txdot.gov/business/motor_carrier/overweight_permit/multi_state.htm   Phone:  1-800-299-1700, press 1, 1 
	 Utah:   www.utahnc.com   Phone:  801-965-4892
	 Washington:   www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle/   Phone:  360-704-6340
Travel Restrictions:  See State Information Sources for times of day for operation by dimension, and Holiday restrictions.
Turnpikes-Oklahoma:  Will Rogers and Turner Turnpikes, max width 10 feet cash customer and 12 feet for Pike Pass holders.  
H.E. Bailey Turnpike, max width 12 feet cash customers (outer toll booths only) and Pike Pass holders.
Warning Signs/Lights/Flags and Other Safety Equipment:  Carriers must comply with individual state requirements,  
see State Information Sources.
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Appendix D	 Sample Permit Form/Format
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Appendix E	 State Contacts and Addresses

For Off-Route Approvals Any Permit Specialist

State Contact Phone Number

Arizona Any Permit Specialist 602-712-8851

Colorado Any Permit Specialist 303-757-9537

Idaho Any Permit Specialist 208-334-8421, 8422, 8423, 
8425

Louisiana Any Permit Specialist 225-377-7100

Montana Any Permit Specialist 406-444-7638 

Nevada Any Permit Specialist 775-888-7410

New Mexico Any Permit Specialist 505-476-2475 (Santa Fe) 
505-841-9212 (Albuquerque)

Oklahoma Carolyn Owings
Carolyn Price
Norma Hopkins

405-522-9002
405-522-9003
405-522-9004

Oregon Any Permit Specialist 503-373-0000

Texas Any Permit Specialist 1-800-299-1700 press 1,3,1

Utah Bryon Stuart 
bstuart@utah.gov

Adam Anderson 
adamanderson@utah.gov

Ken Knowlden 
kknowlden@utah.gov

Brad Dean 
bradlydean@utah.gov

801-965-4880 (office) 

801-964-4588 (office) 

801-965-4508 (office) 

435-673-9651 (office) 
801-707-1027 (after hours)

Washington Any Permit Specialist 360-704-6340



Offices and Agencies Issuing Permits

Western Regional States Contacts and Addresses for Remittances

State Contact/E-mail Address Phone and Fax

Arizona Danny Moreno
Sgt. of Central Permits
dmoren@azdot.gov

ADOT Central Permits
1225 North 25th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85009

602-712-8851
Fax:  602-272-1887

Colorado Teresa Lawser
Transport Permit Manager
teresa.lawser@dot.state.co.us

Department of Transportation
4201 East Arkansas Ave., Room 290
Denver, CO 80222

303-757-9843
Fax:  303-757-9719

Idaho Regina Phipps
Vehicle Size and Weight Specialist
reggie.phipps@itd.idaho.gov

Transportation Department
PO Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129

208-334-8418
Fax:  208-334-8419

Louisiana Debbie Sanders
Transportation Permits Manager
deborahsanders@dotd.louisiana.gov

Louisiana DOTD
PO Box 94042
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9042

225-377-7102
Fax:  225-377-7149

Montana Tom Winfield
License/Permit Supervisor
twinfield@mt.gov

Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Services Division
PO Box 4639
Helena, MT 59604-4639

406-444-6130
Fax:  406-444-7670

Nevada Susan Peterson
Permit Supervisor
speterson@dot.state.nv.us

Department of Transportation
1263 South Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89712

775-888-7410
Fax:  775-888-7101

New Mexico Louisa Paiz, Manager
Oversize/Overweight Permit
louisa.paiz@state.nm.us

Motor Transportation Division
Oversize/Overweight Permit Office
PO Box 1628
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1628

505-476-2475
Fax:  505-476-2477
         505-476-2479

Oklahoma Carolyn Owings
Size and Weight Permits
cowings@dps.state.ok.us

Department of Public Safety
Size and Weight Permit Division
PO Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK 73136

405-522-9002
Fax:  405-522-9060

Oregon Doug Hedlund, Manager
Over-dimensional Permit
william.d.hedlund@odot.state.or.us

Department of Transportation
Transportation Permit Unit
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-2530

503-378-6192
Fax:  503-378-2873

Texas Scott McKee, Permit Supervisor
OS/OW Permit Office
MCD_Permit_WR@dot.state.tx.us

Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Division
125 E 11th Street, Bldg. 22
Austin, TX 78701

512-467-3788
Fax:  512-465-3585

Utah Adam Anderson, SLCT Leader
MC Division
adamanderson@utah.gov

Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Division
PO Box 141210
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1210

801-964-4588

Washington Jim Wright
Permit Program Manager
wrightji@wsdot.wa.gov

Department of Transportation
Commercial Vehicle Services
PO Box 47367
Olympia, WA 98504-7367

360-704-6345
Fax:  360-704-6350
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	 Truck Size and Weight Limits 
Appendix F	 for Vehicles in Regular Operation
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	 AZ	 CO	 ID	 LA  	 MT  	 NV	 NM	 OK	 OR	 TX	 UT	 WA

Height	 14´	 13´	 14´	 13´6˝	 14´	 14´	 14´	 13´6˝	 14´	 14´	 14´	 14´

Width	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´-8´6˝a	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝	 8´6˝

Truck/Trailer Overall Length	 68´6˝	 70´	 75´	 65´	 75´	 70´	 65´	 70´	 75´	 65´	 65´	 75´

Tractor-Semitrailer 
   *Overall Length	 65´b	 –	 –	 –a	 –	 70´	 65´	 –	 60´	 –	 –	 – 
  **Trailer Length	 57´6˝	 57´4˝	 48´	 50´-59´6˝	 53´	 53´	 57´6˝	 53´	 48´**	 59´	 48´	 53´

Tractor-Semitrailer-Trailer 
(Doubles) 
   *Overall Length	 –	 –	 75´g	 –	 –	 70´b	 –	 –	 75´	 –	 –	 – 
  Combined Trailer Length	 –	 –	 61´	 –	 61’	 –	 65´	 110´	 –		  61´	 61´ 
  Individual Trailer Length	 28´6˝	 28´6˝	 –	 30´	 28´6˝	 28´6˝	 28´6˝	 53´	 40´	 28´6˝	 –	 53´

Weights/inch of Tire Width 
  Steering Axle	 –	 –	 600#	 exempt	 exempt	 600#	 600#	 –	 600#	 600#	 600#	 600# 
  Other Axle	 –	 –	 600#	 exempt	 exempt	 500#	 600#	 –	 600#	 600#	 600#	 500#

Axle Weights (in 1,000 lbs) 
  Steering Axle	 20	 20	 20	 20	 20	 –	 20	 20	 –	 20	 20	 20 
  Single Axle	 20	 20	 20	 20	 20	 20	 21.6	 20	 20	 20	 20	 20 
  Tandem Axle	 34	 40	 37.8	 34	 34	 34	 34.32	 34	 34	 34	 34	 34

Gross Weight (in 1,000 lbs.)	 80	 85	 105.5	 83.4-88a	 –	 80	 86.4	 90	 80	 80	 80	 105.5

  *Does not apply to National Network Highways
**On National Network Highways, grandfather rights apply which may be different from lengths shown here.
   aCheck desinated vs non-designated highways and interstate vs non-interstate
   bNone unless the semitrailer exceeds 51´.
   gNone unless trailer combination length is exceeded.
   kOn some restricted routes.
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