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Frequently Asked 
Questions

Q. How do I know if a driver 
education course is approved 
by the Oregon Department of 
Transportation?
A. The department has a list of approved 
courses offered through public schools 
and private companies. You can check 
with TSD to see if their program is 
ODOT-approved, at: 
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/de.shtml.

Q. I had a permit from another 
state for three months. Do I 
only need one for three months 
in Oregon?
A. No,you need a permit from Oregon for 
six months or you need a permit from 
another state for six months.

Q. How do I certify my hours of 
supervised driving practice?
A. You will need to keep a driving log to 
track your hours. You and your parent or 
legal guardian must certify driving hours 
at DMV when getting your license.

Q. Can my parent take my 
license away?
A. Yes. If you are under age 18, the 
parent who signed your original driver 
license application can send a written 
request for cancellation to the DMV.

Q. I am 15 years old. My dad 
had his driver license revoked 
and there are no other relatives 
who can supervise my driving. 
What can I do?
A. Try asking a school counselor, a church 
pastor or a friend‛s mom or dad to help. 
The supervising driver must be at least 21 
years old and have had a valid license for 
at least three years.

Q. What happens if I‛m caught 
driving outside the night driving 
restrictions and/or the 
passenger restrictions?
A. Law enforcement can cite you and your 
license can be suspended. Further 
violations can mean your license will still 
be suspended even after you turn 18.

Q. Does the law mean that I 
can‛t ever drive after midnight?
A. For the first year after receiving your 
license you can‛t be driving after midnight 
unless you‛re driving between home and 
work, driving home after a school event 
for which no other transportation is 
available, driving for employment purposes 
or driving accompanied by a licensed 
driver who‛s at least 25 years old.

What You Need To Know About 
Oregon‛s Teen Driving Law

What You Need To Know About 
Oregon‛s Teen Driving Law

More Tips On Steering 
Clear of Trouble

DRIVE SOBER. It saves lives. And if you get 
caught in possession of alcohol or drugs, don’t 
expect to see your license again until you’re 21.

RIDE WITH SOBER DRIVERS. 
48 percent of people who die in car 
crashes are passengers. Don’t be one 
of them. If the driver has been drinking 
or doing drugs, find another way to get 
where you’re going.

ALWAYS WEAR YOUR SAFETY BELT– 
IT’S THE LAW IN OREGON. And failing to 
wear your safety belt while you have a provisional 
license could cause your license to be suspended. 
Not pretty.

GET TO KNOW YOUR CAR. There’s a reason it 
has a sun visor, door locks and parking brakes – to 
make driving easier and safer for you. Also, make 
sure your car is in good working order.

STAY OFF THE PHONE. Under Oregon law, it is 
illegal for drivers under 18 years of age to use 
mobile communication devices, including talking or 
texting on the cell phones, while driving.

FOCUS ON DRIVING, not on eating, putting on 
make-up or messing with the radio. Remember if 
you are caught messaging you can be cited for 
distracted driving!

BE A DEFENSIVE DRIVER AND STAY 
ALERT. Tailgating is a lame reason to get in a 
crash. Keep at least four seconds of following 
distance between your car and the vehicle in 
front of you.

SLOW DOWN. Speeding isn’t 
impressive, just stupid. Stay within the 

speed limit. It’s there for a reason.

DON’T LOAD UP YOUR CAR WITH 
TOO MANY FRIENDS. It’s distracting and 

there are restrictions, especially while you’re 
still getting the hang of driving. Make sure you 

can have friends in the car and know how many 
you can have. Remember, you’re responsible for 
the lives of your passengers as well as your own.

DON’T GET MAD AT THE OTHER 
DRIVERS. Nobody wins with road rage.

CHECK YOUR REAR VIEW MIRROR before 
and after you brake, every time.

FOLLOW TRAFFIC RULES and pay attention 
to what’s going on around you.

NEVER LET FRIENDS DRIVE YOUR CAR. If 
they crash, you could lose money, car privileges 
and a friendship. Worse yet, your parent could 
even lose their house.

REMAIN AWAKE, even as a passenger to help 
keep the driver alert.

When you are driving, you have 
approximately 1,000 skills constantly 

demanded of you. 

The safest place for your hands on the 
steering wheel is in the clock positions 
of 9:00 and 3:00 – or –8:00 and 4:00.

With air bags in newer cars, you shouldn’t 
drive with your arms across the steering 
wheel.

ABS brakes should not be pumped. Instead, 
use constant pressure. 

The top three contributing causes of crashes 
involving young drivers are driving under the 
influence of intoxicants, speeding and failure 
to maintain lane position. 

Windows rolled down halfway may become 
guillotines in a crash.

An emergency safety kit should have, at a 
minimum, jumper cables, flares, reflectors, a 
first aid kit and a flashlight. You never know 
when you might need them. 

Practice is the best way to 
turn safe driving skills 
into habits.

Did You Know?

PUBLISHED BY THE 
OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

1905 Lana Ave.,NE 
Salem,OR 97314

For more information about 
graduated driver licensing 

requirements and getting your 
license, you can call the DMV at 

503-945-5000. Or, visit the 
Oregon DMV Web site at 

www.oregondmv.com
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If you’re under 18 and getting your license for the first time, here’s what you need to do.

1
2

3

456

7
8 9

The Road To Getting Your LicenseThe Road To Getting Your License

Practice, 
Practice,
Practice 

For the first six months you can’t 
drive with a passenger under the 
age of 20 who isn’t a member of 
your immediate family and you can’t 
drive between midnight and 5am.
Why? You still need time to get 
used to driving solo, without a lot of 
distractions. It’s hard to focus on the 
road if your friends are bugging you 
to change the radio station or stop 
and get nachos. For right now, 
concentrate on getting into safe 
driving habits.

Covering New 
Territory — the 
First Six Months 
After You Get 
Your License

Learning to drive? Cool. 
Oregon‛s teen driving law 
is designed to keep you 
safe in the process. The 
fact is, as a young driver, 
you‛re more likely to be 
involved in a fatal crash 
within the first six months  
of getting your license 
than at any other time.
And nobody wants to see 
that happen. The new law 
lets you ease into driving, 
with plenty of time for 
practice so you can learn 
how to do it right — 
without wrapping yourself 
around a tree.
To get started down the 
road to your license, just 
follow these directions. 
And learn how to drive 
safely — for life.

Starting Off in the 
Right Direction

For the second six months you can’t drive 
with more than three passengers who are 
under the age of 20 who are not members 
of your immediate family and you still 
can't drive between midnight and 5am.
Makes sense. At this point, you’re still 
getting comfortable handling the car 
safely and following traffic rules. Besides 
— how big is your car anyway?

For the first year, you can’t drive between midnight 
and 5:00 a.m. unless you are:
a) driving between home and work.
b) driving between home and a school event for which  
 there is no other transportation available.
c) driving for employment purposes.
d) accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least   
 25 years old.
The reason for this is simple. As a young driver,your 
greatest risk of being involved in a fatal or injury crash 
is at night.

The Home 
Stretch

YOU’RE OFF AND ROLLING. But 
there are still some restrictions 
after you get your provisional 
license. These are designed to 
keep you safe (and alive) during 
that crucial first year of licensed 
driving.

PASS THE DRIVING TEST AND 
GET YOUR PROVISIONAL 
LICENSE. (This is where all that 
practice starts to pay off.) 

The Big Test

The First Leg 
of the Trip

And Practice 
Some More

You have to:
Complete a driver education course 
that’s approved by the Oregon 
Department of Transportation.

Seriously. You have to certify 
that you’ve had at least 50 
HOURS of supervised 
driving practice*.

GET YOUR OREGON 
INSTRUCTION PERMIT.
You have to have your permit for at 
least six months before you can get 
a license. (To get your permit — if 
you haven’t already — you need to 
be at least 15 years old and pass a 
written test.) 

unless you
Complete an additional 50 
HOURS of supervised driving 
practice*. Both you and a parent 
or legal guardian will need to 
certify your hours of supervised 
driving and/or your driver 
education course completion.
*Your supervising driver needs to 
be someone who’s at least 21 
years old and who’s had a valid 
license for at least three 
years.(Hint: Like Mom or Dad. 
Believe it or not, they actually 
know more about driving than 
you think. Besides, it’s a chance 
to do that whole bonding thing. 
Humor them — you may need to 
borrow money someday.)

All of the restrictions listed are only for the first year. Then 
you’re off driving in the real world. But remember to play it 
smart. There are a lot of cars out there. So drive safely — for 
life. Remember to be extra cautious at night since your greater 
risk of being involved in a fatal or injury crash is at night.

Passenger restrictions do not apply 
while driving with an instructor as part 
of a certified driver education course or 
with a parent or stepparent who has 
valid driving privileges(per ORS 
807.122(3) a & b).

Getting 
Comfortable — 
The Second Six 
Months After 
You Get Your 
License

Entering the 
Restricted Zone

So, now you get to strut your 
stuff and show us what you 
know about driving safely by 
taking the Safe Driving 
Practices written exam.

The halfway stretch

1 MILE
REST AREA

Wow! Do you realize that 
100 hours of driving is 2 
hours a week for almost 
2 years!
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Frequently Asked 
Questions

Q. How do I know if a driver 
education course is approved 
by the Oregon Department of 
Transportation?
A. The department has a list of approved 
courses offered through public schools 
and private companies. You can check 
with TSD to see if their program is 
ODOT-approved, at: 
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/de.shtml.

Q. I had a permit from another 
state for three months. Do I 
only need one for three months 
in Oregon?
A. No,you need a permit from Oregon for 
six months or you need a permit from 
another state for six months.

Q. How do I certify my hours of 
supervised driving practice?
A. You will need to keep a driving log to 
track your hours. You and your parent or 
legal guardian must certify driving hours 
at DMV when getting your license.

Q. Can my parent take my 
license away?
A. Yes. If you are under age 18, the 
parent who signed your original driver 
license application can send a written 
request for cancellation to the DMV.

Q. I am 15 years old. My dad 
had his driver license revoked 
and there are no other relatives 
who can supervise my driving. 
What can I do?
A. Try asking a school counselor, a church 
pastor or a friend‛s mom or dad to help. 
The supervising driver must be at least 21 
years old and have had a valid license for 
at least three years.

Q. What happens if I‛m caught 
driving outside the night driving 
restrictions and/or the 
passenger restrictions?
A. Law enforcement can cite you and your 
license can be suspended. Further 
violations can mean your license will still 
be suspended even after you turn 18.

Q. Does the law mean that I 
can‛t ever drive after midnight?
A. For the first year after receiving your 
license you can‛t be driving after midnight 
unless you‛re driving between home and 
work, driving home after a school event 
for which no other transportation is 
available, driving for employment purposes 
or driving accompanied by a licensed 
driver who‛s at least 25 years old.

What You Need To Know About 
Oregon‛s Teen Driving Law

What You Need To Know About 
Oregon‛s Teen Driving Law

More Tips On Steering 
Clear of Trouble

DRIVE SOBER. It saves lives. And if you get 
caught in possession of alcohol or drugs, don’t 
expect to see your license again until you’re 21.

RIDE WITH SOBER DRIVERS. 
48 percent of people who die in car 
crashes are passengers. Don’t be one 
of them. If the driver has been drinking 
or doing drugs, find another way to get 
where you’re going.

ALWAYS WEAR YOUR SAFETY BELT– 
IT’S THE LAW IN OREGON. And failing to 
wear your safety belt while you have a provisional 
license could cause your license to be suspended. 
Not pretty.

GET TO KNOW YOUR CAR. There’s a reason it 
has a sun visor, door locks and parking brakes – to 
make driving easier and safer for you. Also, make 
sure your car is in good working order.

STAY OFF THE PHONE. Under Oregon law, it is 
illegal for drivers under 18 years of age to use 
mobile communication devices, including talking or 
texting on the cell phones, while driving.

FOCUS ON DRIVING, not on eating, putting on 
make-up or messing with the radio. Remember if 
you are caught messaging you can be cited for 
distracted driving!

BE A DEFENSIVE DRIVER AND STAY 
ALERT. Tailgating is a lame reason to get in a 
crash. Keep at least four seconds of following 
distance between your car and the vehicle in 
front of you.

SLOW DOWN. Speeding isn’t 
impressive, just stupid. Stay within the 

speed limit. It’s there for a reason.

DON’T LOAD UP YOUR CAR WITH 
TOO MANY FRIENDS. It’s distracting and 

there are restrictions, especially while you’re 
still getting the hang of driving. Make sure you 

can have friends in the car and know how many 
you can have. Remember, you’re responsible for 
the lives of your passengers as well as your own.

DON’T GET MAD AT THE OTHER 
DRIVERS. Nobody wins with road rage.

CHECK YOUR REAR VIEW MIRROR before 
and after you brake, every time.

FOLLOW TRAFFIC RULES and pay attention 
to what’s going on around you.

NEVER LET FRIENDS DRIVE YOUR CAR. If 
they crash, you could lose money, car privileges 
and a friendship. Worse yet, your parent could 
even lose their house.

REMAIN AWAKE, even as a passenger to help 
keep the driver alert.

When you are driving, you have 
approximately 1,000 skills constantly 

demanded of you. 

The safest place for your hands on the 
steering wheel is in the clock positions 
of 9:00 and 3:00 – or –8:00 and 4:00.

With air bags in newer cars, you shouldn’t 
drive with your arms across the steering 
wheel.

ABS brakes should not be pumped. Instead, 
use constant pressure. 

The top three contributing causes of crashes 
involving young drivers are driving under the 
influence of intoxicants, speeding and failure 
to maintain lane position. 

Windows rolled down halfway may become 
guillotines in a crash.

An emergency safety kit should have, at a 
minimum, jumper cables, flares, reflectors, a 
first aid kit and a flashlight. You never know 
when you might need them. 

Practice is the best way to 
turn safe driving skills 
into habits.

Did You Know?
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For more information about 
graduated driver licensing 

requirements and getting your 
license, you can call the DMV at 

503-945-5000. Or, visit the 
Oregon DMV Web site at 

www.oregondmv.com
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