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Approved Driver Education Program  
 
 
 
Approved Provider Definition, responsibilities, and relationship with others: 
 

• An Approved Provider may be a County, Public School, Private School or Commercial 
Driver Training School.  

 
• The Approved Provider is responsible for the entire program, whether or not instruction is 

contracted to someone else. The Provider receives student fees, administers the program, 
manages teachers, maintains records, and may be eligible for state subsidy.  

 
• The Approved Provider may contract with a Commercial Driving School or another Public 

School. However, program responsibility remains with the Provider and only the Provider 
can request state subsidy.  

 
• A County or other entity may provide financial or other assistance to an Approved Provider. 

Financial assistance received by a Provider must be subtracted from expenses when 
calculating eligibility for state subsidy. The Provider remains responsible for the entire 
program.  

 
• A Commercial Driver Training School must be certified by DMV prior to obtaining Approved 

Provider status. See: 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/dealers/commdrtrnschool.aspx 

 
• Every Approved Provider will be held to requirements in Oregon Revised Statute and 

Oregon Administrative Rule.  
 

 
Approved Program Summary (see OAR 737-015-0010 thru 0130) 
 

• A program must be approved by ODOT-TSD (Transportation Safety Division) before 
implementation. As part of the approval process, the applicant must submit the full 
curriculum (classroom and in-car) and required assurance documents. As part of the 
DMV skills test waiver, each final drive route and narrative must also be submitted for 
approval, along with required backup documentation.   

 
• The Oregon Driver Risk Prevention Curriculum Playbook® and DVD 

interface includes lesson plan templates, quizzes, activities, video 
clips, drive route templates, etc. to use during curriculum 
development. The Playbook® is student classroom manual. 
Supplemental text books are optional. 
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• The course must be a minimum of 35 days long.  
 

• Parent involvement is required, including a parent meeting and documented home driving 
practice.  

 
• Thirty hours face-to-face classroom instruction must be provided to each student. Daily and 

weekly limits apply.  
 

• Six hours behind-the-wheel instruction must be provided to each student, as well as six 
hours practice driving observation. Daily and weekly limits apply. Written drive routes that 
meet lesson objectives are required.  

 
• Classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction must be well integrated. The first behind-the-

wheel lesson must occur within the first 4-10 hours of classroom. Concepts must be 
learned in the classroom and practiced in the car soon afterward.  

 
• The driver education vehicle must be equipped with an instructor brake, instructor rear-view 

and eye-check mirrors, and must have appropriate Student Driver signage.  
 

• ODOT provides free instructor training. A teacher must 
hold a valid Approved Instructor Certificate and must 
maintain a driving record that meets requirements.  

 
• Both student records and instructor records must be 

maintained and must clearly document course 
requirements.  

 
• State subsidy is $210 per student, maximum, for the 

purpose of keeping student cost as low as possible.  
 

• For public providers, driver education is a break-even program; a county or public school 
program cannot make a profit from driver education. 

 
• Commercial Driver Training Schools may make up to 12% profit. 
 
• Additional subsidy, up to $75 per pupil, may be granted when a provider offers scholarships 

to low-income pupils and documents verification. 
 

• Approved programs are subject to routine audit. 
 

• Free mentorship is available to Approved Providers. Contact Western Oregon University, 
503.838.9237 or trafficsafety@wou.edu 

 
• For program information see: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/Pages/de.aspx  
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