
  ■  �Teen drivers under 18 must have an 
instruction permit for at least six months, 
and…

  ■  �be able to certify that they’ve had at least 
50 hours of supervised driving practice.*

THEN, teen drivers need to: 

  ■  �Complete an approved 
driver training course**  
or complete an additional 
50 hours of supervised  
driving practice.***

* �Graduated Driver License law

** �Remember, you can waive 
the DMV drive test if you 
pass an approved course!

*** �The supervising driver 
must be at least 21 years 
old and have had  
a valid driver’s license for 
at least three years.

Oregon has a provisional license (or GDL*) 
law to help keep teen drivers safe.  

Know the rules, and help get them started 
on the road to safe driving. 
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For the first six months,  
teens can’t drive with a passenger 
under the age of 20 who 
isn’t an immediate 
family member.

For the second 
six months, 
teens can’t drive 
with more than 
three passengers 
under the age 
of 20 who aren’t 
immediate family 
members.

For the first year, 
teens may not drive 
between midnight 
and 5:00 a.m., 
unless they are:

  ■  �driving between 
home and work;

  ■  �driving between home and a school event 
for which there is no other transportation;

  ■  �driving for employment purposes; 

  ■  �accompanied by a licensed driver who is 
at least 25 years old.

Stay off the phone: Under Oregon law, 
drivers under 18 may not operate a car while 
using mobile communication devices for either 
texting or talking (including hands-free devices).

All of these restrictions apply for the first year – or until the driver 
turns 18. Passenger restrictions do not apply if accompanied by a 
parent or stepparent who has valid driving privileges. 

Drive Safely. The Way to Go. 
Transportation Safety – ODOT

For more information, call 503-945-5000  
or visit www.oregondmv.com

737-3523 (5/13) 330558
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