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A driver’s guide.

What you need to know about  
OREGON 

CROSSWALK LAWS

Safety Tips
•	Remember, under Oregon law there 

is a crosswalk at every intersection.

•	Do not pass a vehicle stopped 
at a crosswalk. A stopped car 
may be a clue that a pedestrian 
is crossing. When stopping for a 
crosswalk on a multi-lane road, you 
should stop about 30 feet before 
the crosswalk so you don’t block 
visibility to a driver in a second lane. 

•	When stopping at an intersection, 
do not block the crosswalk. 
This forces pedestrians to go 
around your vehicle and puts 
them in a dangerous situation.

•	Watch for pedestrians, especially 
children, when exiting driveways 
or when backing out of parking 
spaces in parking lots.

•	Pedestrians move at different 
speeds. Be alert for children who 
may suddenly dart into the street. 
Be patient with older adults who 
take extra time to cross the street.

•	Around taverns and bars, be alert 
for people with slowed reaction 
times or impaired judgment.

•	Be alert for people or animals 
during low-light conditions, 
especially in areas where they 
are likely to cross the road.

Be prepared
Oregon’s laws affect pedestrians, too3. 

Pedestrians are required to obey traffic 
signals and walk safely. But, pedestrians 
are unprotected and vulnerable. 

You, as the driver, can prevent 
a life-changing crash by being 
prepared to stop and yield no 
matter who has the right of way. 

3 - ORS 814.010, 814.020, 814.040



1 - ORS 801.220       2 - ORS Chapter 811         

What’s the problem?
•	 In Oregon, from 2009 to 2013, 

798 pedestrians on average were 
injured and 52 were killed in motor 
vehicle crashes each year. 

•	The majority of pedestrian-
involved motor vehicle crashes 
are a result of the failure of drivers 
to yield to the pedestrian. 

•	A quarter of pedestrians who are 
struck by vehicles are hit while 
they are in a crosswalk. 

•	Pedestrians are always the loser. 
Studies show that a pedestrian hit at 
40 mph has an 85% chance of dying. 

Always remember – pedestrians 
and motorists both share in the 
responsibility for pedestrian safety. 

What’s the law? 
A crosswalk1 exists at any public street 
intersection, whether marked with paint 
or unmarked. Crosswalks also exist 
between intersections (mid-block) only if 
they are marked with white painted lines.

Under Oregon law2, a pedestrian is 
crossing the roadway in a crosswalk 
when any part or extension of the 
pedestrian, including but not limited 
to any part of the pedestrian’s body, 
wheelchair, cane, crutch or bicycle, 
moves into the roadway in a crosswalk 
with the intent to proceed.

At any other crosswalk, it’s your 
lane plus the next lane: Stop for the 
pedestrian, who must clear the lane in 
which the vehicle is traveling or turning and 
at least the next lane, before you proceed. 

When turning at a signal, it’s your lane 
plus six feet: Stop for the pedestrian, 
who must clear the lane into which the 
vehicle is turning and at least 6 feet of 
the next lane, before you proceed.

Marked Crosswalks Mid-block Crosswalk Unmarked Crosswalks

A driver has specific duties to a pedestrian in a crosswalk. 
When turning at a traffic signal:
•	Stop and remain stopped for pedestrians until they have cleared the lane 

into which your vehicle is turning and at least 6 feet of the next lane.

At any other crosswalks—whether marked with paint or unmarked:
•	Stop and remain stopped for pedestrians until they have cleared the lane in 

which you are traveling (or into which you are turning) and the next lane. 

•	Stop and remain stopped for students as you are directed by a crossing guard.

•	Stop and remain stopped for a blind pedestrian using a white cane or a 
guide dog until the pedestrian is completely across the roadway.

If a driver fails to stop for a pedestrian crossing with a traffic control device 
or crossing in a crosswalk, the driver may be cited for a fine over $250.


