
Sex Offender Registration 

Requirements 

 

Moving Into the State of Oregon 

The following information describes what is required of those persons convicted 

in another United States court, outside of Oregon, of a crime: 

(a) That would constitute a sex crime if committed in Oregon; or 

(b) For which the person would have to register as a sex offender in that court’s 

jurisdiction, or as required under federal law, regardless of whether the crime 

would constitute a sex crime in Oregon. 

When a person described above moves into this state and is not otherwise 

required by ORS 181.806 (Reporting by sex offender discharged, paroled or 
released from correctional facility or another United States jurisdiction), 181.807 
(Reporting by sex offender discharged, released or placed on probation by court 
or another United States jurisdiction) or 181.809 (Reporting by sex offenders 
adjudicated in juvenile court) to register as a sex offender, the person shall 
report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city police 
department or a county sheriff’s office, in the county of the person’s 
residence, in order to complete an Initial Registration no later than 10 days 
after moving into this state. 

If a person has complied with the initial registration requirement, the person shall 
subsequently report, in person, in the following circumstances, to the Department 
of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office, in the county 
of the person’s residence reported on his or her most recent registration: 

1.) Within 10 days of a change of residence; 
 

2.) Once each year within 10 days of the person’s birth date, regardless of 
whether the person changed residence; 

 
3.) Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a vocation at 

or attends an institution of higher education; and 
 

4.) Within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status at an 
institution of higher education. 
 

*NOTES-   

 “Attends school” means enrollment in any type of school on a full-time or part-time basis. 

http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.806
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.806
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.807
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.807
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.807
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.809
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.809


 “Works” or “carries on a vocation” means full-time or part-time employment whether 
financially compensated, volunteered or for the purpose of governmental or educational 
benefit. 
 

 

Additional Information may be obtained from: 

OregonLaws.org     http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.808    

Oregon State Police – Sex Offender Registration 

 http://www.oregon.gov/osp/SOR/Pages/index.aspx  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sex Offender Registration 

Requirements 

 

 

Attending School or Working in Oregon 

(…but living outside of this state) 
 

The following information describes what is required of a person who 

attends school or works in Oregon*, resides in another state, and has been 

convicted of a crime: 

(a) That would constitute a sex crime if committed in Oregon; or 

(b) For which the person would have to register as a sex offender in that 

court’s jurisdiction, or as required under federal law, regardless of whether 

the crime would constitute a sex crime in Oregon. 

A person described above when not otherwise required to register as a 

sex offender under ORS 181.806 (Reporting by sex offender discharged, 
paroled or released from correctional facility or another United States 
jurisdiction), 181.807 (Reporting by sex offender discharged, released or 
placed on probation by court or another United States jurisdiction) or 
181.809 (Reporting by sex offenders adjudicated in juvenile court), the 
person shall report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city 
police department or a county sheriff’s office, in the county in which 
the school or place of work is located, no later than 10 days after: 

1.) The first day of school attendance or the 14th day of employment in 
this state; and 

http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.808
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/SOR/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.806
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.806
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.806
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.807
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.807
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.809


2.)  A change in school enrollment or employment. 

 
 
 
*NOTES-   

 “attends school” means enrollment in any type of school on a full-time or part-time basis. 

 “works” means full-time or part-time employment whether financially compensated, 
volunteered or for the purpose of governmental or educational benefit. 

 

 

 

 

Additional Information may be obtained from: 

OregonLaws.org     http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.808    

Oregon State Police – Sex Offender Registration  http://www.oregon.gov/osp/SOR/Pages/index.aspx  

 

http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/181.808
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