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NEWSLETTER

	 The Board has adopted new rules that expand 
opportunities for CVTs from other states to become 
licensed in Oregon.  Reconsideration was needed 
for individuals who had not graduated from an 
AVMA-accredited program, but were otherwise 
highly qualified.  Some had years of licensed 
CVT experience in practice or academia and had 
completed veterinary technology programs prior to 
the advent of AVMA accreditation.  Under the new 
rule, applicants will need to show proof of 3-5 years 
of licensed experience in another state, pass the 
VTNE, and meet all other eligibilty requirements.  	
	 Criminal background checks will soon be 
required for new license applicants who have 
resided in Oregon for less than five years.  The 
Board may waive the requirement in some cases.   
Using the state Law Endorcement Data System 
(LEDS) a background check for each renewing 
licensee will be conducted annually at no cost 
to licensees.  LEDs provides information about 
criminal activity in Oregon. ‘Hits’ will be compared 
to your self-reporting on renewal applications.  
Make sure to follow self-reporting instructions 
when you renew your license.
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—NEW RULES— 
CV T Eligibility and Criminal 
Background Checks

THIS IS YOUR ONLY
 LICENSE RENEWAL 

NOTICE  	
	 All licenses expire on December 31st of 
each year.  Online renewal will be available by 
November 15th at the Board’s website, www.
oregon.gov/ovmeb.  Look for the link under 
the Chihuahua.  For those who don’t wish to 
renew online with a credit card, there will be a 
link to a paper form.  Be sure to fill in all parts 
before sending it in with payment. Renew before  
December 31 to avoid late fees.  Practice owners:  
please ensure all your licensees renew on time. 

LEGISLATIVE CONCEPTS
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR 

	 The Governor’s Financial Office has 
approved two legislative concepts submitted by 
the Board.  If the Legislature passes the bills, 
rulemaking and implementation will occur in 2015.
	 LC 658 authorizes the Board to join 
approximately 36 other states that regulate 
veterinary facilities. Substandard facility 
conditions imperil the health of pets and people.   
Current law allows the Board to investigate a 
facility only in response to a complaint.  Since 
clients rarely see the ‘back of the house,’ the 
Board relies on tips from employees or former 
employees or on information relating to an 
existing investigation.  The concept will require 
designation of a veterinarian-in-charge, which will 
increase practice ownership and sale options, as 
well as improving regulation of corporate-owned 
practices.  Establishment of facility designations 
and registration fees will occur through public 
rulemaking.
	 LC 659 will allow the Board to issue citations 
in-lieu-of public discipline for low-level violations 
of the Veterinary Practice Act, e.g, failure to post 
licenses or notify the Board of address changes, 
with a maximum fine of $100.  Citations will not be 
reported to the National Disciplinary Database.   
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	 The Board is required to investigate every 
complaint filed against a licensee.  There are 
currently 54 cases in various stages of review.  
For best resolution, the Board requests a detailed 
written response from the licensee.  Here are 
some tips for helping the Board—and yourself—if 
you are ever the subject of a complaint.
1.	 Be forthcoming in your response.  If you 
have pertinent written clinic protocols, include 
them.
2.	 Write a clear and concise account of the 
case from beginning to end.  Don’t over-edit; there 
may be mitigating details in your favor.  Interviews 
are often required because a licensee does not 
provide enough information in writing.
3.	 Assume that the Board already has a copy 
of the patient record.  Submitting altered records 
to the Board is a violation.
4.	 The same statute that protects your identity 
during the investigation also prevents the Board 
from revealing information that might lead to the 
identification of the complainant.  The investigator 
will give you as much information as possible 
about the nature and substance of the complaint.
	 The Board’s job is consumer protection.  
There are about five two-day meetings per year, 
with additional meetings by teleconference.  
Members do many hours of ‘homework’ preparing 
for evaluation of the licensee’s compliance with 
the minimum standards of the Veterinary Practice 
Act.   Should discipline result, you may be sure the 
decision was made only after careful deliberation, 
and with advice from the Board’s attorney.

COMPLAINT & INVESTIGATION
BASICS

	
WHY YOU NEED TO KEEP GOOD
RECORDS 

	 The most important thing the Board sees 
when reviewing complaints is the patient record.  
This is also where the Board finds the most 
violations.  Please remember that in addition 
to physical exam findings, you must also chart 
recommended treatments and tests—and this is 
very important—whether or not the client accepts 
or declines.  Please make legible  records.  This 
is what the Board says:  if it can’t be found in the 
record, it didn’t happen.    

sCan I refill a prescription for a patient I haven’t 
seen in 15 months?
	 No.  The VPA requires that a VCPR 
(veterinary-client-patient-relationship) exist in order 
for you to treat, including filling prescriptions and 
administering vaccines.  The VCPR is established 
by at least an annual documented physical exam 
or, for equines and herd/flock animals, by timely 
visits to the place where they’re kept.

sWiegand has advanced heart disease, but 
his owner consents only to minimal, inexpensive 
treatment because ‘it worked so well last time.’  
What should I do?
	  Do your best to convey the gravity of a dire 
prognosis, and note prognosis, recommendations 
and the client’s rejections in the patient record. 

sCan a CVT perform dental extractions?
	 Yes, if the extraction does not require the 
use of tools, surgery or sutures, or in other words, 
if the tooth is about to fall out. More rulemaking to 
clarify this is planned for December.

sMy feuding clients are each demanding that the 
other not have a copy of their jointly owned pet.  
What to do?
	 Veterinary medical records are not 
confidential or protected by law.  You may provide 
a copy to anyone you choose.  Good luck!

sA client whom I fired for nonpayment of the bill 
is now demanding a copy of Mondrian’s record.  
Can I require payment before providing the record 
copy?
	 No.  (Arrrgh!)  Record copies may not be 
withheld for payment or any other reason, including 
absence of a veterinarian.  Please provide record 
copies, including images if requested, within 72 
hours, and ASAP in emergencies.  No buts.

VETERINARY PRACTICE ACT 
Q & A

HAPPY AUTUMN, EVERYONE!

It’s all in your Veterinary Practice Act. 
 www.oregon.gov/ovmeb

Click on Oregon Administrative Rules
Division 11 (dishonorable conduct—don’t do it) 
Division 15 (minimum requirements—do it)

HAPPY AUTUMN, EVERYONE!


