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**** Fee Reduction For 2013 License Renewal **** 
 
If you renew your license by March 31, 2013, you will be entitled to a one-time renewal 
fee reduction.  Based upon a Reserve Analysis Report, presented to the Board at its             
October 26, 2012 meeting, the Board determined that it held a surplus of funds in its     
reserve  account.  The Board tries to maintain a reserve funding balance equal to one year 
operating expense.  The Board voted to implement a ONE-TIME fee reduction for 
2013 which will adjust the reserve account balance accordingly.  The total estimated fiscal      
impact to the Board is a reduction in income of approximately $110,000.   
 
All Licensees will benefit equally with a renewal fee reduction of 25% which will reduce  
fees to the following:   
 

PT Renewal Fee = $75 
PTA Renewal Fee = $48.75 

 

 It is also important to note, that in an effort to keep your renewal fees down, the PT 
Board has already chosen to absorb the $2.50 charge per licensee from the Oregon 
Healthcare Workforce Institute for the collection, processing and analysis of the             
healthcare professional demographics survey data.  This has an annual fiscal impact to the 
Board of $10,000.  The Board has also chosen to absorb the bank processing fee for use 
of the online renewal system; with an annual fiscal impact of approximately $8,000.  Most 
of the other health boards have passed these charges along to their licensees. 
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This year, unlike in years past, the Board will not be sending out a Renewal Form,        
Announcement or Instruction Letter.  During the week of January 7, 2013 the Board will 
open the online renewal system and mail out a Renewal Reminder Postcard.  Renewal   
instructions will be available on the Board website at www.ptboard.state.or.us.  You will 
have until March 31st to complete the renewal process without penalty and with a reduced 
fee (see below).    
 
If you do not receive the postcard by February 1st,  contact the Board office, or go to the 
Board website and follow the on-line instructions to complete your renewal.  There  is no 
continuing education requirement for renewal in 2013 (the current CE certification period 
is 4.1.12 through 3.31.14). As part of your 2013 renewal, you will be required to complete 
the Healthcare Demographic Survey. The Demographic Survey was mandated by the 
2009 Oregon Legislature and your license cannot be renewed if you do not complete the 
survey.  
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Do You Need To Update Your Address and Contact Information? 
 

It’s quick, it’s easy and yes it is the law! ORS 688.160(9)(a) requires the Board to maintain a current contact list              
including a persons’ name, current business and residential addresses, telephone number and electronic mail         
address. ORS 688.100(4)  requires you, as a Licensee of the Board, to notify the Board within 30 days after any 
change of  contact information.  The Board can take administrative action against Licensees who are in                    
non-compliance.  OAR 848–010-0035(1) states “failure to receive a renewal notice shall not excuse any licensee from the             
requirements of renewal”. Other states ( i.e. California) routinely  issue citations of up to $250 for failure to submit a 
change of address!   
 

The  Name/Address Change Forms can be found on the Board’s website at www.ptboard.state.or.us 
 

In the left navigation bar click on Forms & Application/Administrative Forms.  You may fax , mail or scan and 
email the form to the Board office.  If you cannot access the form, send the Board a written letter or an email with 
the updated information.  It is estimated that the Board spends more than $500 annually on returned postage.  
Please keep the Board informed of any changes, it will save time and money while ensuring that you receive all 
necessary Board communication.  

  

Are You Interested In Serving On A Rules Advisory Committee? 
 

At its October 26, 2012 meeting at Lane Community College in Eugene, the Board instructed staff to form a Rules 

Advisory Committee to review the Board Rules (Division 35) on “Continuing Education” in its entirety.   The 

Board has completed two CE certification periods and audits and staff has presented the Board with several cases 

of abuse and non-compliance, particularly relating to the completion of on-line CE courses.  Within the next few 

months,  Board staff will assemble a 7-10 member Rules Advisory Committee to review Division 35 and eventually 

propose amended rule language and changes for Board consideration. The Board encourages licensees from all 

practice settings (including new graduates and new licensees) to participate.  If you are interested in serving on the      

committee, contact Sherri Paru, PT Clinical Advisor/Investigator at sherri.paru@state.or.us by February 1, 2013.  

How Can You Receive CE Credit For Being a CI? 
 

In order to received CE credit for being a clinical              

instructor, you must complete a Board  approved CI      

credentialing course.  Approved courses are currently being 

offered by the APTA and also by the Texas Consortium.  

You will get CE credit for completing the course and you 

may also receive up to 1/3 of your  required CE provided 

that you obtain a letter from the students school indicating 

the number of hours of clinical instruction you provided to 

a student. You will receive 1 CE credit hour for each 40 

hours of direct clinical supervision.  Although a course on 

completion of the CPI will not count as a CI  credentialing 

course, you may still obtain CE credit for  attending such a 

course. 

Do CPR Courses Count For CE Credit ?                                         
 

The Board no longer requires completion of a CPR 

course for any licensee or aide.  If a licensee completes 

any CPR course (initial or refresher) during a certification 

period, the licensee may receive a maximum 1 hour of CE 

credit regardless of the length of the course and regardless 

of the number of CPR courses completed during the       

certification period.  On-line CPR courses count.            

As with any other CE course, a licensee must be able to 

provide the Board with evidence of course completion.   

Licensees who complete an instructor certification course 

for  CPR or First Aid may be able to receive additional 

CE credit and should contact the Board for further        

information.  

http://www.ptboard.state.or.us
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DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS  

NAME &  

LICENSE  NO.  

DATE OF 

ACTION  

ACTION TAKEN 

 

REASON FOR  

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

Victoria Vestal, PT           

License # 0865       

8/14/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:         

5 years probation with conditions       

Improper use of aides 

Andre Tate, PT              

License # 5285 

8/16/2012 FINAL ORDER OF DEFAULT:                      

Revocation of License 

Failure to cooperate with an Order            

of the Board 

Karen Counts, PT            

License # 4046 

9/05/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:              

Voluntary Surrender of License 

Medical condition interfering with          

ability to safely practice 

Jeanne Jaeger, PTA         

License # 8826 

9/26/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:   

$500 civil penalty and 1 year probation           

Practicing with a temporary permit       

without required supervision 

Nancy Geller, PT              

License # 1633 

11/07/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:           

$100 civil penalty 

Failure to complete all required              

continuing education 

Karin Monger, PT          

License # 5174 

11/15/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:   

$100 civil penalty  

Failure to complete all required              

continuing education 

Holly Gullickson, PT          

License # 4039 

11/19/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:         

$450 civil penalty 

Failure to complete all required              

continuing education 

Heidi Engbersen, PT          

License # 1708 

11/21/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:         

$100 civil penalty 

Failure to complete all required              

continuing education 

James Walker, PT           

License # 8898 

11/27/2012 STIPULATION & FINAL ORDER:    

Issued license with restrictions 

Applicant with prior                                

misdemeanor  convictions  

2012 CASE INVESTGATION SUMMARY 
 

The Board opened 45 new investigative cases in 2012 and carried over 13 cases from 2011.  Cases were opened 

due to complaints received, random criminal background checks, a continuing education compliance audit, or 

licensure  applications/renewals requiring investigation.  Of the cases investigated, the outcome was as follows: 
 

 Nineteen cases closed without any disciplinary action. 

 Seven cases closed with non-disciplinary Confidential Advisory Letter to the Licensee. 

 Sixteen cases resulted in a Stipulated Order or Final Order of Disciplinary Action. 

 Sixteen cases remain open and are still being investigated.  
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BOARD OFFICE - SCHEDULED CLOSURES 

 

 The Board Office will be closed on the following dates: December 24, 2012 (holiday), December 25, 

2012 (holiday), December 31, 2012 (holiday), January 1, 2013 (holiday),  January 18, 2013 (state furlough 

day), January 21, 2013 (holiday), February 18, 2013 (holiday), April 19, 2013 (state furlough day), May 24, 

2013 (state furlough day), May 27, 2013 (holiday), July 4, 2013 (holiday), September 2, 2013 (holiday),       

November 11, 1013 (holiday),  November 28, 2013 (holiday),  December 25, 2013 (holiday). 

 

 Additional closure dates, including any added mandatory state furlough days will be posted on the 

Board website, as they are determined.   Please call ahead if you have a need to come to the Board office.   


