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STATE OF OREGON 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD 

JURISPRUDENCE EXAM 
 

Please circle the correct answers, sign and date the exam, and submit this exam with your license 

application. Your application will be returned if it is not accompanied by this form. (Note: This exam is 

based on Oregon Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and may differ from Medicare or other 

insurance regulations.) 

 

1. The qualifications for licensure as a physical therapist include: 
 

a. Must be at least 18 years of age  

b. Must be of good moral character 

c. Must be a graduate of an accredited program 

d. All of the above  

 

2. The grounds for discipline of a licensee include: 
 

a. Practicing under the influence of intoxicating liquors 

b. Practicing with a lapsed license 

c. Knowingly making a false entry in a patient record 

d. All of the above 

 

3. A new graduate temporary permit holder, waiting to take the national licensing exam may: 
 

a. Supervise a physical therapist aide 

b. Reapply to the Board for another temporary permit if he/she fails the exam 

c. Practice under general supervision 

d. All of the above 

 

4. Unprofessional conduct includes acts involving moral turpitude. This includes: 
 

a. Fraud 

b. Dishonesty  

c. Violence 

d. All of the above 

 

5. How many hours of continuing education is a PT/PTA required to complete in a certification 

period? 
 

a. 12/12 

b. 12/6 

c. 18/9 

d. 24/12 

 

6. Oregon Statutes and Rules allow an applicant to sit for the national licensing exam: 
 

a. A maximum of four times  

b. A maximum of five times in a twelve-month period 

 c. A maximum of three times in a twelve-month period 

 d. Any number of times until the applicant passes the exam 
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7. The permanent record of a physical therapy service must: 
 

a. Be prepared on the day of service 

b. Be prepared within seven calendar days of the date of service 

c. Be written entirely by the treating PT or PTA 

d. Not contain any abbreviations 

 

8. A physical therapist aide is prohibited from performing the following: 
 

a. Transporting  patients 

b. Ambulating with a patient 

c. Administering mechanical traction 

d. All of the above 

 

9. A treatment-related task performed, by an aide, requires the supervising therapist to be: 
 

a. In the same building and within sight or earshot of the aide 

b. Available by phone 

c. In the same building and available by phone 

d. All of the above 

 

10. As of January 1, 2006, who may evaluate and treat a patient for 60 days without a referral? 
 

a. Only therapists who hold a DPT degree 

b. Any licensed physical therapist 

c. Only physical therapists who have met additional education requirements 

d. None of the above 

 

11. A physical therapist shall perform, at a minimum, a hands-on reassessment: 
 

a. Every 30 days  

b. Every 2 weeks 

c. Every week 

d. Quarterly 

 

12. When an error is discovered, in a patient record, an acceptable way to correct the error is to: 
 

a. Erase it 

b. Cross out, date and initial the error 

c. Correct the error with white-out liquid 

d. None of the above 

 

13. The following may be used to authenticate a patient record: 
 

a. Therapist signature 

b. Therapist initials  

c. Rubber stamp 

d. All of the above 
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14. According to Oregon Administrative Rules, unethical or unprofessional conduct relating to 

licensure is: 
 

a. Failure to provide documents requested by the Board 

b. Being issued a traffic ticket 

c. Voluntarily participating in an alcohol treatment program 

d. None of the above 

 

15. The certification period for continuing education is from: 
 

a. January 1
st
 of an even numbered year through December 31

st
 of that same year    

b. January 1
st
 of an odd numbered year through December 31

st
 of that same year 

c. April 1
st
 of an even numbered year through March 31

st
 of an even numbered year 

d. April 1
st
 of an even numbered year through March 31

st
 of an odd numbered year 

 

16. A physical therapy screening:  
 

a. Must be documented and followed up with a written plan of care  

b. Can be performed by a PT or PTA 

c. Can be performed by a physical therapy aide as long as a PT subsequently evaluates the 

patient  

d. All of the above 

 

17. An aide may do the following on the patient’s first day of treatment:  
 

a. Perform joint mobilization  

b. Determine the placement of electrodes for electrical stimulation  

c. Write dictated information in the patient chart 

d. Initiate an exercise program with a patient 

 

18. A student physical therapist may practice under which type of supervision: 
 

a. Supervising therapist available via e-mail 

b. On-site supervision  

c. Under supervision of a licensed physical therapist assistant 

d. A and B only  

 

19. A physical therapist assistant may: 
 

a. Work alone in a facility if a supervising physical therapist is available by phone 

b. Prepare a discharge summary 

c. Make recommendations in regards to revision of a plan of care 

d. All of the above     

 

20. A physical therapist assistant may supervise how many physical therapist aides? 
 

a. A maximum of two aides who are performing treatment related tasks 

b. A maximum of two aides who are performing non-treatment related tasks 

c. A maximum of four aides  

d. None.  Only a physical therapist may supervise an aide 
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21. The record of an initial evaluation must include all of the following except: 
 

a. Funding source  

b. Referral source 

c. Co-existing medical conditions that may affect the goals or plan of care 

d. Interpretation of evaluation results 

 

22. Which of the following are grounds for disciplinary action: 
 

a. Failure to report name or address change to the Board within 30 days following the change 

b. Failure to notify the Board of unprofessional conduct by another licensee  

c. Practicing physical therapy with a lapsed license  

d. All of the above 

 

23. A patient must be discharged from physical therapy for all of the following reasons except 

when: 
 

a. The referring provider directs that the patient be discharged 

b. The patient can no longer pay for the physical therapy services 

c. The patient has reached all physical therapy goals  

d. Physical therapy is contraindicated for psychosocial reasons 

 

24. Which of the following is not considered patient exploitation: 
 

a. Influencing a patient to purchase a piece of equipment based on your own financial interests 

b. Obtaining compensation for physical therapy services that were not provided 

c. Accepting a gift of nominal value from a patient 

d. Failing to maintain an appropriate patient/therapist relationship 

 

25. In Oregon, physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licenses expire: 
 

a. Annually on March 31
st
  

b. Annually on your date of birth  

c. Annually on December 31
st
  

d. Annually on the anniversary of your initial licensure date 

 

 

 

 

Name:        _________  

                        (Print Name) 

 

 

Signature:       _________ 

 

 

 

Date:        _________ 


