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RENEWAL UPDATE    

 
 

You will not be able to practice on 
or after April 1, 2008 if you do not 
complete the required CE and renew 
your license by March 31, 2008. 
***See exceptions in box below and 
see page 2 for lapsed license options.  
 
If you need more time to complete the 
CE and you are not practicing, you 
may allow your license to lapse and 
reinstate it at a later date.  If you 
choose this option, you must submit 
the renewal form, along with a late fee, 
and provide proof of your CE         
completion before your license can be         
reinstated. Any courses taken after 
April 1, 2008 to  satisfy the CE        
requirement for the current certifica-
tion period, may not be used for CE 
credit in the next certification period.   
 
The Board will conduct random audits 
of CE completion  and if you are found 
to be in violation, you may be subject 
to disciplinary action by the Board.  

 

HAVE YOU RENEWED YOUR 
LICENSE?    

 

LICENSE RENEWALS ARE DUE MARCH 31, 2008 

 

 

DUE DATE FOR              
COMPLETION OF THE 

MANDATORY PAIN        
MANAGEMENT CE  FOR    
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS   

 

In the fall 2007 Newsletter, the due 
date for completion of the mandatory 
pain CE for PTs was incorrectly    
listed as January 1, 2010. The correct         
completion date is March 31, 2010.  
Specific rules regarding this new law 
will be drafted in the upcoming months 
and will be communicated to all licen-
sees in the next Newsletter.  For now, 
any course 6 hours or greater listed as 
“approved” by the Oregon Pain    
Commission, will satisfy this require-
ment.  All PTs will also have to com-
plete the free one-hour online-training 
offered by the Pain Commission by 
MARCH 31, 2010. Frequently asked 
questions regarding this requirement 
can be found on the Board website.  

COMPLETION OF CE HOURS – NEW LICENSEES 
 

⇒ If you received your initial Oregon license on or after April 1, 2007, you are only 
required to complete 1/2 of the CE requirement for this certification period 
(1/1/06-3/31/08).  Qualifying courses may have been taken anytime during the 
certification period, even if you were not yet licensed in Oregon. 

⇒ If you received your initial Oregon license on or after January 1, 2008, you are 
exempt from completing CE for this certification period.  You are required to 
obtain the full amount of CE in the next certification period (4/1/08-3/31/10). 



 

 

 QUESTIONS ABOUT LAPSED LICENSES 

Page 2 Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board 

 
 

 

 

If I choose to let my license lapse because I am not practicing and/or I can not complete the required CE, 
can I reinstate it at a later date? 
 YES. In Oregon a therapist may reinstate a lapsed license anytime during the five years following the lapsed 

date.   If your license is lapsed for greater than 5 years, you must reapply for a license.  The requirements to 
obtain a license at that time will depend on whether you hold a license to practice in another state and what 
the Oregon Rules regarding licensure are at that time.   

 
What do I have to do to reinstate a lapsed license? 

To reinstate a lapsed license you must contact the Board office and request a renewal form.  You must   
complete the renewal form and pay the renewal fee plus a late charge for each year the license has been 
lapsed. (i.e. If a PT were to reinstate a license that has been lapsed for 3 years, the total cost to reinstate 
would be $450 (3 years renewal fee @ $100/year and 3 years late charge @ $50/year).  *** Note: If the late 
fee increases, you would need to pay whatever the fee is at the time of the reinstatement.   

 
If I want to reinstate my lapsed license anytime this year, before March 31, 2009, what do I do about the 
mandatory CE? 

If you choose to allow your license to lapse and subsequently reinstate it anytime this year (between April 1, 
2008 and March 31, 2009), you must complete a renewal form, pay the renewal fee and late fee, and provide 
evidence, to the Board, that you completed the entire amount of required CE for the prior CE certification 
period.   If renewing a lapsed license, CE taken to fulfill the requirement may be taken before or after your 
license has lapsed.  

 
If I am renewing a lapsed license and I take CE classes after my license lapses in order to fulfill the CE re-
quirement, can I use those same CE credit hours to satisfy the CE requirement for the next certification 
period? 
 NO. CE taken to make up for or satisfy the CE requirement for a prior certification period can not be used 

as credit for CE during the current certification period.   
 
If I allow my license to lapse for greater than one year and reinstate my license, between April 1, 2009 and 
March 31, 2010,  what will be required of me?  

Current Rules state that, if you reinstate your license on or after April 1, 2009, you must complete a renewal 
form, and pay the applicable renewal fees and late fees. You will not be required to provide evidence of CE     
completion for the previous certification period (January 1, 2006  through  March 31, 2008).  However, to    
maintain (renew) your reinstated license, you will be required to complete 1/2 of the required CE for the 
certification period of April 1, 2008 through March 31, 2010.  

 
What will be the CE requirements if I reinstate my lapsed license after April 1, 2010?   

It depends on what the Rules are at the time of reinstatement.  Rules can change at anytime and it is difficult 
to project what the rules will be, especially since this certification period marked the first time CE was    
mandatory.  You should continue to read the Board Newsletters and website regarding CE Rule changes.   

 
I would like to let my license lapse and I do not intend to practice for at least 5 years, what should I do?  

If you know that you will not practice, for at least 5 years, and you hold a current license in another state, 
you will be allowed to reapply via endorsement.  If you do not hold a license in another state at that time, 
current Rules require you to prove competence to the Board.  You may be required to take a refresher 
course, complete an internship or retake the national examination.   
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ONGOING QUESTIONS ABOUT CE  

 
If I take greater than the required number of hours this certification period, is it possible to carry over the CE 
hours to be counted in the next certification period?   
 NO.  By Rule, CE can only be counted for the period in which it is completed.  The only exception is if you fail to 

complete the required CE on time and allow your license to lapse. In that case, you must take CE courses to satisfy 
the requirement for the previous certification period before you can reinstate your lapsed license.  Those courses 
taken will only count for the previous certification period, not the current one.   

 

I need to complete some more CE hours, by the end of March, and I keep getting information in the mail 
from on-line course providers, do these courses count for CE?   

YES.  The Board has received the most questions about the following on-line courses:  
1. Cheap CEUs: www.cheapceus.com  
2. Wild Iris Medical: www.therapyceu.com.   
Both are acceptable providers of CE courses. In addition, World Wide Learn: www.worldwidelearn.com is an or-
ganized site with links to many on-line CE    providers (including the APTA).   If a course on any of these websites 
is listed as approved in any other state, it will be accepted for CE in Oregon.  
 

I had surgery this year and am unable to complete the CE requirements for this certification period. Are there 
any exceptions to the CE requirements? 

NO. The current rules do not allow for any exceptions to the CE requirements.  If you can not complete the CE, 
you must allow your license to lapse.  You will not be permitted to practice until the CE requirement is met.  

 

On my renewal form I stated that I would complete the required CE by March 31, 2008. I have already   re-
ceived my license for 2008-2009.  A course that I am signed up for has been cancelled, so now I can not com-
plete the CE on time.  What should I do?    

You must call the Board to inform us that you will not complete the CE.  You will need to return your 2008-2009 
license to the Board. Your license will lapse on March 31, 2008, and you will not be permitted to practice until the 
CE is completed.  The Board will retain your license renewal fee and, when you complete the CE, you can reinstate 
your lapsed license by paying the late renewal fee and showing proof of CE completion.   

FREQUENTLY REQUESTED WEBSITES  
CONTAINING CE INFORMATION   

 

American Physical Therapy Association: www.apta.org 
Oregon Physical Therapy Association: www.opta.org 

Oregon Pain Commission: www.oregon.gov/DHS/pain/ 
Advance for Physical Therapists: www.ptadvanceweb.com 

North American Seminars: www.healthclick.com 
North American Institute of  Orthopedic Manual Therapy: www..naiomt.com 



 

 

QUESTIONS ABOUT PTA SCOPE OF PRACTICE   
 

PERFORMANCE & DOCUMENTATION OF REASSESSMENTS BY A PTA 
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• The Board has received several complaints and has imposed disciplinary action upon licensees for violations of 
Board Rules regarding the performance of reassessments by PTAs.  Current Rules require a reassessment to be 
performed, by a PT, at least every 30 days. The PT must personally examine the patient on the day the           
reassessment is performed.  Co-signing a reassessment note written by a PTA does not satisfy this requirement.  
The PTA may play a role in the documentation of the reassessment; however, the PT must personally perform 
and document that the reassessment has been completed. In addition, any therapist (PT or PTA), who continues 
to treat a patient beyond the 30 days, when the required  reassessment has not been conducted, is subject to   
disciplinary action from the Board.  These rules supersede any less restrictive requirements of third party payors.   

 

• Board rules do not require you to send any documentation to the referring provider.  If a reassessment is       
performed and documented by a PT, a PTA can write a separate status or summary report to be sent to the        
provider.  Although this is not required by the Board, third party payors may have other requirements. 

 

*** A Rules Advisory Committee is currently looking at several Rules relating to the scope of practice of a PTA 
(including a  PTA’s role in reassessments), and there may be proposed rule changes in the future.   

Any proposed rule changes will be communicated to all licensees and all licensees will have the opportunity to    
provide input prior to the Board’s adoption of any rules. 

SET UP OF A CPM MACHINE BY A PTA 

 

• The Board has received many questions about the ability of a PTA to set up a CPM machine the first time it is 
placed on a patient.  If the PTA is sufficiently trained and the order for the CPM specifically states the           
parameters for use  (ROM, settings, on/off time, etc), the PTA can set it up for the patient prior to the PT 
evaluating that patient.  No treatment can be provided until a PT evaluation has been performed.  If the         
parameters have not been specifically ordered, by the physician, the PTA can not evaluate the patient and       
determine the settings of the CPM machine. A PT must do so.   

PERFORMANCE OF HOME VISITS & HOME ASSESSMENTS BY A PTA 

 

• The Board has received many questions about the ability of a PTA to perform a home visit, home assessment or 
home evaluation with a patient.  The Board solicited input from many licensees and determined that a home 
visit  with the patient, for the purpose of determining if a patient can safely access their home environment, is an    
evaluation and must be performed by a physical therapist.  It is acceptable for a PTA to go to the patient’s home 
and gather data to later be interpreted by the PT.  For example, a PTA can go to the home, without the patient, 
and take photographs or measurements of the home.   
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NAME &  
LICENSE  NO.  

DATE OF 
ACTION 
TAKEN 

ACTION TAKEN 
 

REASON FOR  
DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

Richard Kreider, PTA 
License # 7037 

12/27/07 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:           
$250 Civil Penalty  

PTA performed and documented         
reassessments, required to be      

completed by a PT 

Kathleen Thelander, PT 
License # 2428 

01/07/08 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:           
$1000 Civil Penalty  

Failed to perform a required         
reassessment and allowed a PTA to 

perform a reassessment  

 

 
 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS  

 

During the license renewal process, the Board received many returned renewal forms due to insufficient or incorrect 
addresses.  Board staff then took the time to contact these licensees to obtain their correct address.  At its meeting on  
February 1, 2008, the Board determined that, by Rule,  it is the licensee’s responsibility to keep the Board informed 
of any changes in contact information, including address.  With only 3 employees, the Board does not have enough 
staff  resources to allocate time to locate licensees.  In the future, Board staff will not be contacting licensees to ob-
tain a valid address when their  renewal form is returned as undeliverable.   It will be up to the licensee to contact the 
Board if they fail to receive a renewal application. 
 

In addition, beginning April 1, 2008, any licensee who fails to notify the Board of a change in contact information, 
within 30 days will receive a written warning (advisory letter) from the Board.  Any subsequent failure to report 
changes in contact information may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the Board.  Several states, including  
California, impose large civil penalties (fines) upon licensees for failing to provide the Board with current contact  
information.  Address change forms can be found on the Board website: www.ptboard.state.or.us under “Forms”.  

 

Why does the Board need your address and contact information? 
 

⇒ So you can receive your license renewal forms 
⇒ So you can receive Board mailings such as this Newsletter  
⇒ So you can receive information on proposed rule changes and have the ability to provide input 
⇒ So the Board can contact you if a complaint is filed against you 
⇒ So the Board can contact you if a complaint is filed against another licensee and you may be a witness  
⇒ ORS 688.100(4) and OAR 848-005-0030 requires licensees to provide the Board with all contact information and 

to report all changes within 30 days 
 

IMPORTANT REMINDER REGARDING ADDRESS CHANGES 
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