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NEW BOARD CHAIR

Cathy J. Zarosinski, PT, MS was elected
Board Chair at the June 21, 2000 meeting.
Cathy became a member of the Board in
1997.

Cathy is active in the OPTA, served as its
past President, and is the Chief Delegate
of the Oregon Chapter of the APTA. Cathy
also serves as a member of the APTA's
advisory panel on Practice.

In her work life, Cathy is the Regional
Clinical Coordinator for HealthSouth.

INEW ADMINISTRATOR

In July 2000, the Board hired Patti
Gustafson as their new Executive Director.
Patti brings a knowledge of State
government to the job as well as
experience in the private sector. She spent
10 years at OHSU as Fiscal Officer to the
Dean of the Medical School and gained
considerable management/administrative
experience there and in other positions.

Patti grew up in a "medical/scientific"
environment and feels right at home with
the PT Board. She brings a sense of humor
to a demanding position and is already an
expert at calculating those confusing Direct
Access continuing education time lines!

INEXT BOARD MEETING

Monday, April 16, 2001

8:30 AM

Portland State Office Building

800 NE Oregon Street, Room 445
Portland, OR 97232

Date:
Time:
Place:

PT/PTA LICENSE RENEWAL|

License renewals are underway and you
should have received your renewal notice(s)
by the time you read this newsletter.

A few reminders: (1) make certain you write
a SEPARATE check for each renewal or
direct access notice!l The bank cannot
assign payments to the correct accounting
codes if a payment covers more than one
type of ftransaction; (2) make checks
payable to: Physical Therapist Licensing
Board; (3) make certain you indicate any
changes in home and/or work address and
phone number; (4) complete both sides of
the renewal notice, answer the questions on
the back side and SIGN both sides; (5)
PT's with Direct Access: (a) make certain
you complete the direct access form, SIGN
it and include a separate check for $15.00;
(b) if you decide not to renew your direct
access, you still must sign and return the
form; (6) per ORS 688.100 "Any license that
is not renewed before April 1 of each year
shall automatically lapse". In order to issue
licenses by April 1, the Board asks that you
have all renewal notices to us by March 15,
2001. We have one staff person to process
3,500 renewals, so you can imagine the
amount of work involved and the time it
takes to enter data and print each license.
Please assist us by sending your renewal
forms in as soon as possible and not
waiting until the last minute. Any license
renewal postmarked after March 31, 2001
will be subject to a $50.00 delinquent fee.

THANK YOU
FOR YOUR
HELP!




NOTIFICATION OF
HOME AND/OR WORK|
ADDRESS & PHONE

NUMBER

A reminder, per ORS 688.180, the
Board is required by law to keep a
current record of each licensee's legal
name, current home/work address and
phone number on file. It is the
responsibility of the licensee to notify
the Board of any changes when they
occur.

Please help us comply with the law by
calling or writing us, if you move,
change jobs, change name, or your
phone number(s) change.

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS

Pulsatile Lavage with
Concurrent Suction

Is pulsatile lavage with concurrent
suction a modality the PTs/PTAs are
permitted to use for wound care?

In accordance with Board rules and
regulations, the Board noted that
wound care modalities are within the
scope of physical therapy practice.

Issues regarding efficacy or
endorsement of specific wound care
equipment, however, are not within the
jurisdiction of the Board.

Initial Treatment & Follow-up
Treatment for Direct Access
Patients

The Board noted that the intent of the
Practice without Referral law means
that ONLY the PT certified for direct
access may conduct the initial
evaluation and treat the patient during
the initial 30-day period. Other PTs,
PTAs or PT Aides may not provide any

clinic patient treatment under the direct
access provision.

Manipulation

May PTs advertise for and administer
“manipulation” services?

Manipulation is within the scope of
practice for PTs. Oregon statue and
administrative rule do not differentiate
between manipulation and
mobilization.

Osteoporosis Exercise Class

Does a PT need to be certified for
direct access in order to teach an
osteoporosis  exercise class to
participants who do not have a
physician’s referral?

If the osteoporosis class is part of the

treatment plan for a diagnosed
condition, the PT is providing
treatment and must comply with

physical therapy statues and rules. If
the class is directed at general fitness
and promotes community health
education, the statues and rules do not

apply.
Drug Regimen

Is it within the scope of practice for
PTs to perform drug regimen reviews
as part of the OASIS (Home Health
Assessment) evaluation?

it is within the scope of practice for a
PT to assess a patient's ability to
follow directions, physically take their
own medications, and to document
current medical regimes.

identification of adverse effects, drug
reactions, significant side effects and
drug interactions are not within the
scope of PT practice.

PAP AP

Therapist/Patient Business
Relationship
Is it appropriate for a PT/PTA to enter

into a business relationship with a
patient or former patient?

A therapist/patient business
relationship is not inappropriate
because the potential for patient

exploitation is minimal. However, the
therapist enters into such a
relationship at his/her own risk.

Signature on Physician's
Orders

Is the referring physician required to
sign orders?

Per OAR 848-040-0000(2)(d),
signatures may be by written signature
or initials, rubber-stamp signature or
computer key. The issue of written
signatures comes into play because
Medicare, Medicaid and other third
party billing entities require it.

Physicians' Orders in a Skilled
Nursing Facility

Are physician referrals required in a
skilled nursing facility?

Skilled nursing facilities do not require
PTs to obtain a physician's referral,
however a PTA must always have a
PT's evaluation and treatment plan
before working with a patient.
Medicare and other payers may
require a referral.

Sub-Leasing Space to a
Fitness Facility
May the owner of a PT practice sub-
lease space to a senior citizen fitness
center for a few hours per day?

There is nothing in the administrative




rules that indicate a business cannot
lease space to another organization. It
is the Board's recommendation, that in
order to minimize potential confusion
for PT patients and fitness clients,
steps be taken to distinguish between
the two services.

Does PT have Responsibility to
Supervise Restorative Aides?

In a Skilled Nursing Home setting,
does PT have responsibility fto
supervise a Restorative Aides?

No, supervision of Restorative Aides is
the responsibility of Nursing. Further,
the PT is professionally responsible for
exercising sound judgement in
appropriately discharging the patient
from physical therapy, but not for the
actions of a Restorative Aide after
discharge.

Using EEG Biofeedback to
Treat Drug and Alcohol
Patients

Is it within the scope of PT practice to
use EEG biofeedback to treat drug
and alcohol patients?

No. It is not within the scope of a PT
practice to use EEG biofeedback. If a
PT has had ftraining as an EEG
technician, and is acting in that
capacity, it is not within the jurisdiction
of the Physical Therapist Licensing
Board.

Supervision of PTA in
Hospital Setting on Weekends

If a PTA is working a rotating weekend
shift in a hospital, does a PT need to
be on-site while the PTA is
administering care?

No, but the PT must be available by
phone at all times and the PTA must
be following a treatment plan already

established by the PT in charge of the
patient.

Challenging the PT/PTA
Examination in Oregon

Is it possible to "challenge” the PT or
PTA licensure examination in the State
of Oregon?

No. Oregon does not permit
challenging the examination for either
PT or PTA licensure. All candidates
must attend and graduate from an
accredited physical therapist or
physical therapist assistant school and
meet all educational requirements.

Discharging Patients
May a PTA discharge a patient?

No. A PTA may write a "discharge
summary" which outlines the patient's
treatment while in care, but only the
PT may discharge the patient and sign
the patient's chart accordingly.

Wound Care

Are there restrictions on PTs doing
wound care?

There are no restrictions on PTs doing
wound care. A therapist may do any
and all aspects of wound care, up to
and including sharp debridement.
Wound pathology, healing and care
are taught in the core curriculum of all
PT programs.

Revision of Patient Goals

May a PTA revise goals that have
been established by the PT?

No. ONLY PTs may set goals. A PTA
may report goal achievement and
document changes that have

occurred.

INEW LICENSEES

FROM 06/20/00 TO 02/22/01

PHYSICAL THERAPISTS

Olanrewajic Adetula, PT
Natalie Beltram, PT
Matthew Booth, PT
Emilie Brewster, PT
Christina Buettell, PT
Melodie Burdette, PT
Susan Capps, PT
John Carzoli, PT
Johathan Caulley, PT
James Cenova, PT
Michelle Chabot, PT
Emily Daniels, PT
Stephen Davis, PT
Nadine de Klerk, PT
Kent Factora, PT
Ryan Farr, PT

Doris Frank, PT
Joanne Gordon, PT
Mary Gorman, PT
Emily Grady, PT
Gary Gray, PT
Naomi Grossman, PT
Elizabeth Hahne, PT
Avilio Halme, PT
Richard Hansen, PT
Brad Henry, PT
Gloria Holman, PT
Patricia lanora, PT
Bradley Kelly, PT
Jenifer Kiernan, PT
Melissa Lathrop, PT
Jonna Leighton, PT
Stacy Lipscomb, PT
Teresa Lynch, PT
Erik Meira, PT
Gregory Miles, PT
Beata Moreno, PT
Megan Munsell, PT
Christian Nihem, PT
Mariane Pape, PT
Sharna Prasad, PT
Bethany Schumacher, PT
Sarah Spooner, PT
Suzanne Sterrett, PT
Jill Sutkus, PT
Brandon Tilton, PT
Brenda Timms, PT




PHYSICAL THERAPISTS
Continued

Erik Aspengren, PT
Nancy Banasky, PT
Sherri Barash, PT
Crae Berrett, PT

Sara Bogner, PT
Janine Boyer, PT
Kelly Brunsman, PT
Lindsey Burdick, PT
Kenji Carp, PT

Scott Colling, PT
Karen Counts, PT
Christen Davidson-Juhnke, PT
Serena DeTienne, PT
Michel Edgerton, PT
Beth Finkbeiner, PT
Dana Fleck, PT

Dana Forti, PT

Holly Fritz, PT

Mark Gardner, PT
Leslie Goldstein, PT
James Gorham, PT
Anne Huffinton-Carroll, PT
Amy Hussey, PT
Janelle Jaszczak, PT
Julie Johnson, PT
John Kenney, PT
Jeremy Kern, PT
Laurie King, PT
Adam Laraway, PT
Kathleen Litke, PT
Ronald Lopez, PT
Neisha Lundberg, PT
Cuong Luong, PT
Carrie Macek, PT

Lori Mathis, PT
Marina McCulloch, PT
Rachel Menasche, PT
Brandon Millar, PT
Molly Murphy, PT
Donna Mussitsch-Manning, PT
Thomas Niggel, PT
Jeffrey Patterson, PT
Kaireen Patton, PT
Michael Pennington, PT
Eric Percy-Fine, PT
Nancy Puth, PT
Stanley Schrader, PT
Lioyd Shell, PT
Kathleen Vasquez, PT
Scott Wallace, PT
Betty Wright, PT
Bonnie Yeisley, PT

Kathryn Anderson, PT
Gina Asher, PT
Darren Benton, PT
Ingrid Black, PT
Jocelyn Bohnet, PT
Tyler Bohnet, PT
Clara Burich, PT

Jodi Cady, PT

Eric Carlson, PT
Daniel Chudleigh, PT
Julie Dresch, PT
Carrol Esterhuizen, PT
Dustin Fieldsted, PT
Stephanie Friedman, PT
Peggy Funk, PT
Kimberly Gaskin, PT
Nick George, PT
Jennifer Gramlich, PT
Greg Halvorson, PT
Kimberly Hillis, PT
Mark Hyder, PT

Lori Janosek, PT
Amy Johns, PT
Zachary Jones, PT
Nicholas Karayannis, PT
Emily Kruger, PT
James Lee, PT
Romen Lu, PT
Homer Mays, PT
Steven McKenzie, PT
April Milan, PT

Julie Minson, PT

Eric Mozeleski, PT
Tamara Mucha, PT
Julianna Myaing, PT
Robert Nee, PT
Tawney Nelson, PT
Krista O'Brien, PT
Cynthia Ohnheiser, PT
Julie Robertson, PT
Jason Roda, PT

Kelly Ross, PT

Willie Sandry, PT
Burke Selbst, PT

Alva Shumway, PT
Timothy Slinger, PT
Kathryn Smith, PT
Christina Stamey, PT
Janelle Sunnarborg, PT
Robert Tucker, PT
Jennifer Tuttle, PT
Laurie Van Cott, PT
Krista Walter, PT

Jill Wenneson, PT
Sharyn Witmer, PT

Christopher Dayger, PT
Tanya Druffel, PT
David Golda, PT
David Henry, PT
Kerry Hertel, PT
Laura Hoffman, PT
William Horning, PT
Megan Ledyard, PT
Laura Parker, PT
Thomas Pugh, PT
Keith Reagan, PT
Valerie Romanello, PT
Julie Rosenberg, PT
Jeffrey Schlosser, PT
Michele Shivack, PT
Judy Sills, PT
Jennifer Sweany, PT
Candis Synsvoll, PT
Chad Tenney, PT
Shendra Thorpe, PT
Ann Topping, PT
Sarah Wecker, PT
Kurt Wessenberg, PT
Terri West, PT
Joanna Yant, PT
Gregory Zadow, PT
Jennifer Zimney, PT
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CONGRATULATIONS!
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS

PHYSICAL THERAPIST
ASSISTANTS

FROM 06/15/00 TO 02/21/01

Sara Barba, PTA

Janet Benjamin, PTA
Kari Brotnov, PTA

Jill Christner, PTA

Tami Cochran, PTA
Kimberly Cornie, PTA
Lisa Farnen, PTA
Andrea Farnsworth, PTA




PHYSICAL THERAPIST Karen Gilmore, PTA
Jennifer Koivisto, PTA
ASSISTANTS Katie Kopec, PTA
Continued Joanne Lenz, PTA

Gayle Fenwick, PTA
Susan Gabriel, PTA
Jacqueline Gallegos, PTA
Alicia Garza, PTA

Kari Hamstra, PTA
Debra Hawks, PTA
Tiffany Henry, PTA
Emily Herndon, PTA
Nicole Henry, PTA
Jennifer Kanyuch, PTA
llene Kindorf, PTA
Steven Ramos, PTA

Kristen Lidgren, PTA
Gabriel Martin, PTA
Malia McDevitt, PTA
Jason Mendell, PTA
Deanna Milner, PTA
Michele O'Leary, PTA
Jason Paulsen, PTA
Marie Perry, PTA
Toni Rickman, PTA
Melody Sanchez, PTA
Jamie Sertic, PTA
Michele Thompson, PTA
Juan Valdes, PTA

Elizabeth Vanderzanden, PTA
Kara Voth, PTA

Debra Wernowsky, PTA
Eleanor Wild, PTA

CONGRATULATIONS!
PHYSICAL THERAPIST
ASSISTANTS

THE FOLLOWING ADMINISTRATIVE RULES HAVE BEEN APPROVED AND ADOPTED
BY THE BOARD AND FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE AS FINAL RULES

ATTORNEY GENERAL
MODEL RULES OF PROCEDURE

848-001-0005

Describes the Model Rules of Procedure the Board is
required to follow in contested case hearings.

TIME FOR REQUESTING A
CONTESTED CASE HEARING

848-010-0115

Requests for a contested case hearing must be in writing
and must be received by the Board within twenty-one (21)
days from the date the Order was served.

BOARD FEES
848-010-0110

Adopts new fees and amends existing fees to reflect direct
and indirect costs of operation. Brings fees closer in line to
those charged by other physical therapist licensing boards.
Provides funding to allow Board to hire a part- time physical
therapist to assist with investigations and respond to
practice related inquires.

FILING EXCEPTIONS AND ARGUMENTS
TO THE BOARD

848-010-0120

After a proposed Order has been served, the Board shall
notify the party regarding the time frame that written
exceptions must be filed and the date the party may appear
before the Board to present arguments.

PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION OR
REHEARING AS CONDITION FOR
JUDICIAL REVIEW

848-010-0125

All parties must file a petition for reconsideration or
rehearing with the Board, to obtain a judicial review of any
Order issued by the Board.

TEMPORARY PERMITS
848-010-0026

Defines criteria for Board to issue Temporary Permits to: (1)
first time US educated graduates; (2) US educated
endorsement applicants; and (3) foreign educated
applicants. Temporary permits are effective for three
months and cost $50.00.




DIRECT ACCESS)

DIRECT ACCESS IN TERMS
YOU CAN UNDERSTAND. . . HOPEFULLY!

Per OAR 848-030-0000, Practice without Referral, or Direct
Access for short, is awarded to physical therapists who
complete additional education and maintain a current
American Heart Association CPR, Level C certificate.
Under Direct Access, a physical therapist is permitted to
treat patients, up to 30 days, without a doctor's referral.

To become certified for Direct Access, PTs are required to
complete an 18-hour Medical Screening course, pass an
open book test with a score of 80% or higher, and complete
an additional 32 hours of continuing education that meet
the criteria set forth in the rule. The 32 hours of continuing
education must be completed within the first three years of
certification. For example: if a PT becomes certified on
03/13/98, count forward three years to determine the date
all continuing education must be completed, or 03/13/01.

During this first three-year period, you must complete a
total of 50 hours of continuing education; 18 hours + 32
hours = 50 hours. Eighteen hours of this requirement have
already been met by taking the Medical Screening course,
50 you have 32 hours to go!

NOTE: Your Direct Access initial certification date is always
used to count forward and determine the subsequent three-
year time frames. For example: if your initial certification
date is 03/13/98, your first three-year period ends 03/13/01.
Your new three-year period begins on 03/13/01 and ends
on 03/13/04, and so forth. The month and date do not
change, only the year.

Now, the fun part! After completing the first three-year
period, you must continue to complete 50 hours of
continuing education every three years.

Ten of these hours must be the Medical Screening
Refresher course and must be completed six months prior
to the beginning of the new three-year period or within the
first year of the new three-year period. For example:

03/13/98 18hrs
03/13/01 32 trs
09/13/00 through 03/13/02 10 hrs

Initial certification date
End of first three-year period
Time frame to complete Medical

Screening Refresher course for
second three-year period

End of second three-year period
Time frame to complete Medical

Screening Refresher course for
third three-year period

End of third three-year period

03/13/04 40 hrs
09/13/03 through 03/13/05 10 hrs

03/13/07 40 hrs

And so forth.

DIRECT ACCESS continued

NOTE: If you fail to complete the Medical Screening
Refresher course or the 40 hours of continuing education
within the time permitted in OAR 848-030-0000 (3), you
must begin over again, by taking the Medical Screening
course. You will be asked to return your license to the
Board's office, pay a fee for a Duplicate License and will not
be permitted to Practice without Referral until you pass the
Medicai Screening course with a score of 80% or higher.

Remember, it is incumbent upon the PT with Direct Access
to understand the requirements and assure completion of
the continuing education requisites. If you have any
questions regarding Direct Access in general or need
assistance in determining your continuing education
timelines, please call the Board office at 503-731-4047 and
ask to speak with Patti Gustafson. She will be happy to
assist you.

ICHANGE IN DIRECT ACCESS PROCEDURE|

BEGINNING MARCH 1, 2001, all PTs with Direct Access
will be required to submit to the Board's office: (1) proof of
current CPR, Level C certification; and (2) a copy of the
Certificate of Completion for all continuing education
courses taken to meet the requirements of Direct Access.
The certificate must include the date of the class, total
hours attended, the name of the course and the
name/signature of the instructor. You do not need to submit
a copy of the course curriculum, however, you should keep
a copy for your files, as the Board may request this
information if they have questions about the course. This
documentation will be kept in your licensing file and entered
into the computer database under continuing education.
YOU DO NOT NEED TO SUBMIT DOCUMENTATION
FOR COURSEWORK TAKEN PRIOR TO MARCH 1, 2001.

IDIRECT ACCESS COURSES OFFERED IN 2001

The Oregon Physical Therapy Association (OPTA) 503-
262-9247 will offer the Medical Screening course and the
Medical Screening Refresher course on the following dates:

04/6-8/01 - Medical Screening for the PT
Providence Medical Center, Portland, OR

09/22-23/01 - Medical Screening Refresher for the PT
Salem Hospital, Salem OR




IMPORTANT POINTS|

(1) Never say anything to a patient that you would not be
willing to say in front of your licensing Board, your
employer, the patient's spouse or partner or your
spouse or partner.

(2) Jokes and bantering of a sexual nature with patients
are always inappropriate.

(3) The therapist controls the atmosphere and tone of the
therapy session. The tone may be friendly and relaxed,
but should be professional at all times.

(4) The therapist must be fully aware, at all times, of any
physical contact with the patient.

(5) It is inappropriate, unprofessional and potentially illegal
to begin a personal relationship with a patient while the
patient is in the therapist's care.

(6) Hostile environment sexual harassment is in the "eye
of the beholder". The impact of behavior carries more
legal weight than the intent.

Reprinted with permission from: Nancy Huppertz, M.Ed., Consuitant

MANDATORY REPORTING!

Just a reminder, that physical therapist law requires
licensees, or any person, to report all suspected violations
of statute or administrative rule to the Board (ORS
688.230). Failure to do so could result in disciplinary action.
Reports are confidential as provided under ORS 676.175.

IBOARD VACANCIES|

The Board will have two openings for Board positions this
year. The first is to replace the Board's public member,
Dorthea Petersen, whose second four-year term expires
May 27, 2001. The second is to replace the Board's
physical therapist member, Arlene Harris, whose four-year
term expires September 15, 2001. Arlene has chosen not to
serve a second term. Both have provided dedicated, valued
service to the Board and their expertise will be missed.
Thank you Arlene and Dorthea for your contribution!

If any of you are interested in serving on the Board or know
a physical therapist or member of the public who is, please
contact Patti Gustafson, at the Board's office, at 503-731-
4047. The Board encourages ethnic and racial minorities or
those who are bilingual to apply.

MEETING WIT
BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS)

On January 18, 2001, Cathy Zarosinski, Board Chair and
Patti Gustafson, Executive Director met with the Director
and members of the Health Licensing Office to discuss a
variety of topics regarding the Board of Athletic Trainers.

Some of the items discussed included: investigation of
complaints; enforcement; respective scopes of practice;
education of school districts regarding scope of practice
and duties of athletic trainers; and effective ways to work
together to protect consumers.

Regarding scope of practice issues, the group discussed
practice requirements for athletic trainers and physical
therapists. Cathy explained that the athletic trainer's scope
of practice does not include:

(1) industrial medicine

(2) workers compensation

(3) serving as consultants to industry; or
(4) ergonomics

Both agencies will continue to work together, discuss
issues that may arise and share information.

FSBPT SPRING MEETING|

The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
(FSBPT) will hold their 2001 Annual Meeting, April 19-23 in
Scottsdale, AZ. The Board Chair and Administrator will both
attend.

The program will include discussion regarding: continuing
competence; scope of practice; technology; changes in
physical therapy education, accreditation and legislation;
post-baccalaureate degree requirements and implications
for licensure; evaluating educational credentials: FCCPT;
educational systems and curricula of FEPTS; and the
application process and score reporting.

INEWSLETTER ON WEBSITE

This Newsletter will be available on the Physical Therapist
Licensing Board website at www.ptboard.state.or.us.




PT/PTA | DATE/STATUS ACION TAKEN REASON FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OF ACTION
PT 03/22/99 ORDER OF IMMEDIATE LICENSE Licensee engaged in sexual impropriety with two different
Hearing SUSPENSION; NOTICE OF PROPOSED patients on two separate occasions (violation of OAR 848-
Requested by | LICENSE REVOCATION 010-0050; ORS 688.140 (2) (d).
Licensee

PT 06/16/99 CONSENT ORDER: One-year probation. Licensee engaged in sexual impropriety with patient
Licensee must obtain referrals per ORS (violation of OAR 848-010-0050; ORS 688.140 (2) (d).
688.130 before treating patients; patients
must be appropriately gowned; licensee must
obtain counseling approved by the Board.

PT 01/24/00 CONSENT ORDER: $500 Civil penalty; six- Complaint against PT for failure to perform re-evaluation
month probation; provide Board with copy of: | of returning patient, who was assigned to a PTA, prior to
policy & procedure manual for clinic; treatment after patient had break in treatment of more
employee disciplinary procedures; standards | than 30 days (violation of OAR 848-040-0040); failure to
& employee requirements for documenting perform re-assessment of patient at least once each
patient care; policy for PT supervision of month thereafter (violation of OAR 848-040-0040).

PTAs & PT aides; policy for patient
evaluations & reassessments; position
descriptions for PTs, PTAs & PT aides
employed in clinic.

PT 02/16/00 CONSENT ORDER: Six-month probation; Licensee allowed physical therapist assistant to practice
licensee to provide Board with copy of facility | under the supervision of an Occupational Therapist
policies & procedures regarding: (1) patient (violation of OAR 848-010-0045).
referrals between Occupational Therapy and
Physical Therapy; (2) evaluation of patients
prior to treatment administered by PTAs; and
(3) supervision of PTAs.

PTA 02/28/00 CONSENT ORDER: Reprimand. PTA practicing under the supervision of an Occupational

Therapist (violation of OAR 848-010-0045).

PT-1 09/29/00 CEASE & DESIST LETTER: Cease and Inappropriate use of aides. Allowing home health aides to
desist immediately the use of any type of aide | provide in-home patient exercise instruction and/or
to perform physical therapy tasks or instruction in new exercises without the direct supervision
treatment unless under direct supervision of a | of a physical therapist (violation of OAR 848-020-0030,
physical therapist. OAR 848-020-0050 and OAR 848-020-0060 (9) and (11).

PT-2 09/29/00 CEASE & DESIST LETTER: Cease and Inappropriate use of aides. Allowing home health aides to
desist immediately the use of any type of aide | provide in-home patient exercise instruction and/or
to perform physical therapy tasks or instruction in new exercises without the direct supervision
treatment unless under direct supervision of a | of a physical therapist (violation of OAR 848-020-0030,
physical therapist. OAR 848-020-0050 and OAR 848-020-0060 (9) and (11).

PT 10/16/00 INTERIM CONSENT ORDER: Suspension of | Patient allegation of sexual contact (violation of OAR 848-

Hearing License 010-0050; ORS 688.140 (2) (d). Suspension of license
Requested by pending further Order of the Board.
License
PT 11/13/00 CONSENT ORDER: One year probation; Patient charting violations and Practice without Referral

Civil penalty of $5,000; licensee to pay $500,
$4,500 stayed on condition license comply
with Consent Order; six-month suspension of
Practice without Referral certification;
licensee to provide Board with written policies
& procedures regarding medical record
management; licensee shall allow Board to
conduct unannounced audit(s) of facility
during license probation.

violations: (1) providing treatments to Direct Access
patient for eight months without obtaining physician
referral; (2) failure to record treatments administered in
patient records; and (3) inadequate recording of
information in patient charts (violation of OAR 848-040-
0000, OAR 848-040-0010, OAR 848-040-0020, OAR 848-
040-0030, OAR 848-040-0040, OAR 848-040-0050; OAR
848-030-0000).




PT/PTA | DATE/STATUS ACION TAKEN REASON FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OF ACTION
PT 11/15/00 CONSENT ORDER: Reprimand Inadvertently, hired employee without a current license.
Failure of employer to ask employee for proof of current
licensure. Incumbent on employer to assure that all
employees hold current licenses (violation of ORS
688.020).
PT 11/17/00 CONSENT ORDER: Reprimand Failure to renew license by March 31 deadline.
Inadvertently continued to practice physical therapy
without a current license (violation of ORS 688.020).
PT 11/13/00 CONSENT ORDER: Five years probation; Applicant for licensure by endorsement provided false
Appli- licensee must provide copy of Consent Order | information on license application (violation of OAR 848-
cant to all potential physical therapy employers; 010-0050 (1) (c); ORS 688.140).
licensee shall cause employer to provide
Board with written performance appraisals
every six months; licensee shall obey all laws
and rules applicable to physical therapy
practice; licensee shall not engage in any
conduct involving dishonesty.
PT 11/23/00 NOTICE OF PROPOSED DISCIPLINARY Inappropriate touching of patients and co-workers
ACTION (violation of OAR 848-010-0050 () (i) (B).
PT 12/14/00 CONSENT ORDER: Reprimand; Civil penalty | Unprofessional conduct: failure to supervise interns during
$1,000. patient care; incomplete progress notes on patients;
conducting personal activity during patient treatment time;
and misstating treatment time spent with patients
(violation of ORS 688.140 (1) & (1) (e).
PT 01/12/01 ORDER OF IMMEDIATE LICENSE Licensee engaged in sexual conduct with patient during
Hearing SUSPENSION treatment; licensee engaged in a sexual relationship with
Requested by a patient while patient was receiving treatment (violation
Licensee of OAR 848-010-0050 (I) (i) (B); ORS 688.140 (1) (c) and

ORS 183.430 (2).

"Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot
keep it from themselves." - James Matthew Barrie

"The most important thing in communication is to hear what
isn't being said." - Peter F. Drucker




