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IMPORTANT REMINDER
REGARDING LICENSE RENEWAL

All licenses for the current vyear
(April 2005 - March 2006) must be
renewed by March 31, 2005. In order to
allow for processing of your renewal
application, applications must be mailed
ASAP. If you do not renew your license
by April 1, 2005, you are not permitted to
practice.

If you have not received your license
renewal application in the mail, contact
the Board immediately. OAR 848-010-
0035 states “failure to receive a renewal
notice shall not excuse any licensee from
the requirements of renewal”.

If you do not renew your license and
you continue to work, you are subject to
disciplinary action from the Board. In
addition, if your employer is a physical
therapist he/she may also be disciplined
by the Board for permitting you to work
without a valid license. ** See page 7 for
the civil penalty schedule for practicing
with a lapsed license.

Within the past year, several therapists and
employers have been disciplined by the
Board for practicing with a lapsed license
or for allowing a therapist to work without
a valid license.

In addition to a civil penalty and possible
probation, a disciplinary action by the
Board will be reported to the Healthcare
Integrity and Protection Data Bank
(HIPDB). The disciplinary action also
becomes a public record and will be
published in the Board newsletter.

DON’T

FORGET
TO

RENEW

Phone: 503-731-4047

B 0 Administrative Rules Hearing

and Board Meeting

: A public meeting will be held on Friday, April 1, 2005 regarding1 the Board’s proposed :
: 2005-2007 operatln% budget. The meeting will be held in Room 445 of the Portland State :
: Office Building, 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland, Oregon, and will begin promptly at 8:30:
:AM. At the meetlng, the Board will hear public testlmon?/ and comments on the proposed :
: budget. If you would like to make comments, but are unable to attend the meeting, you may :
: submit written testimony or comment to the Board. For consideration, all written’comments :
: must_be received in the Board office by 4:30 PM, Thursday March 31, 2005. Copies of the :
: Hearing Notice with the Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact can be found on the Board:
: website. For a copy of the detailed proposed budget, contact the Board office. :

E-MAIL
james.heider@state.or.us
sherri.paru@state.or.us
dorothy.danovich@state.or.us
physical.therapy@state.or.us

BOARD WEBSITE

www.ptboard.state.or.us

OFFICE HOURS

: The Board’s April 1, 2005 meeting will immediately follow this hearing. All licensees and
: interested parties are welcome to attend the public portion of this meeting. :

Monday through Friday
8:00 AM to0 4:30 PM
(Closed Holidays)

Copy of NEW PHYSICAL THERAPY RULES enclosed:
Important information regarding recent rule changes on pages 4 and 5.




APPROVED INITIAL MEDICAL SCREENING COURSES

There are now several courses available to licensees wishing to be certified for practice without referral

(direct access). If you are enrolled in a transitional DPT program not listed below and wish to be certified for direct
access, you may contact the Board to request approval of the course content. A few reminders regarding direct access
(practice without referral) certification:

Board Rules require an initial medical screening course to be 12 hours long and a refresher course to be 6 hours long.
If you choose to take a course that is longer than the required hours, the additional hours may be applied toward the
three-year continuing education requirement.

Board Rules require that you take an examination following completion of a medical screening course. Not all
courses automatically offer an exam. It is your responsibility to ensure that the course provider gives an exam and
provides the results to the Board. The providers indicated below, with an *, will give an exam to Oregon licensees
upon request.

Board Rules require that the course provider must notify the Board when a licensee has completed the course and
passed an associated exam with a score of 80% or higher. You can not begin to practice without referral until you
are notified, in writing, that the Board has received all necessary documentation from the course provider and/or you.
It is your responsibility to ensure that a refresher course is taken and the exam is graded within the appropriate
timeframe. (Reminder: the refresher course can be taken 6 months before or anytime during the first year of a new
certification period.)

Board Rules require that you must hold a current Healthcare Provider (or equivalent) CPR card and provide a copy
to the Board before you can become certified for direct access. Your card must be kept current in order to maintain

your direct access certification.

Course Title

Sponsor

Hours

Location

Contact Info

Diagnosis by PT’s: Screening
for Medical Referral

APTA

*exam must be requested

13 contact hours

Various locations around
the US— approx 4 x year

Www.apta.org

Physical Therapist - Refresher

Medical Screening for the OPTA 12 contact hours Home Study- DVD www.opta.org
Physical Therapist - Initial
Medical Screening for the OPTA 6 contact hours Home Study-— DVD www.opta.org

Medical Screening for the
Physical Therapist

Orthopedic Section
APTA

30 contact hours

Home Study

www.orthopt.org

Medical Screening and
Differential Diagnosis with
special topics ...

North American

Seminars, Inc
* exam must be requested

15 contact hours

Various locations around
the US— approx 4x year

www.healthclick.com

Differential Diagnosis

University Transitional
DPT Program

licensee must be enrolled
in program

Medical Screening and Pacific University varies Pacific University - www.pacificu.edu
Differential Diagnosis Transitional DPT licensee must be

Program enrolled in program
Medical Screening and Creighton University varies Creighton University - www.creighton.edu
Differential Diagnosis Transitional DPT licensee must be

Program enrolled in program
Medical Screening and Rocky Mountain varies Rocky Mountain U - www.rmuohp.edu




COMPLAINT, INVESTIGATION & DISCIPLINARY PROCESS

The Physical Therapist Licensing Board licenses
physical therapists and physical therapist assistants
and is responsible for the oversight of physical
therapy practice in Oregon. In fulfilling this
responsibility, the Board investigates complaints
filed against physical therapists and physical
therapist assistants concerning inadequate or
incompetent  treatment, concerning licensee
misconduct or concerning any other violation of the
laws and rules governing physical therapy practice.

When the Board receives a complaint,
a confidential investigation is initiated. This
investigation includes a review of the physical
therapy record and other appropriate patient
records; interviews of the complainant, the therapist
and other witnesses; and a review of any other
records or documents related to the complaint.
Depending on the nature of the complaint, such an
investigation may take from several weeks to
several months to complete. A report of the
completed investigation is reviewed by the Board to
determine whether the physical therapist or physical
therapist assistant, who is the subject of the
complaint, has violated the laws and rules
applicable to physical therapy practice.

If the Board determines from the investigation that
a violation has occurred, the Board may initiate a
disciplinary proceeding that can result in the
therapist being sanctioned. The Board has authority
to impose the following sanctions: reprimand,
probation, monetary penalty, license restrictions,
license suspension and license revocation.

A disciplinary proceeding is begun when the Board
issues a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action.
The licensee is entitled to a hearing to contest the
Board's allegations of misconduct. If a hearing is
requested, an Administrative Law Judge hears the
testimony of the witnesses, considers the other
evidence and prepares a proposed order for the
Board's consideration. The hearing is closed to the
public. Upon receipt of the proposed order, the
Board deliberates and issues a Final Order. The
case may also be resolved without a hearing,
through an agreement between the Board and the
therapist, resulting in a Stipulation and Final Order.

If the Board determines from the investigation that
no violation has occurred, the Board will close the
case and notify the licensee. In all cases, the Board
notifies the complainant of the outcome of the case.

The Board is prohibited, by law, from disclosing to
the public whether it has received a complaint
regarding a particular therapist, from disclosing the
name of the person filing a complaint, and from
disclosing any information developed in the course
of an investigation. Upon request, the Board is
required to disclose to the public the Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action that initiates the
disciplinary proceeding, an Emergency License
Suspension Order, if one is issued in the case, and
the Final Order that concludes the case.

The complaint form can be found on the Board
website, www.ptboard.state.or.us or by contacting
the Board office.

|
DID YOU KNOW ?

OAR 848-045-0020 (2) (y) requires all licensees to report conduct by another licensee which reasonably appears
to be illegal, unethical or unprofessional as defined by Board Statute and Administrative Rules. Failure to report
could result in disciplinary action against your license.

For the period of January 1, 2003 through December 31, 2004, the Board received 66 complaints. Of these 66

complaints, 14 cases were unfounded and closed, 29 cases involved disciplinary action, 2 cases are pending
hearing and 21 cases remained open with ongoing investigations.
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NEW RULES and RULE CHANGES
EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 29, 2004

On October 22, 2004, the Board held a public hearing in regards to proposed changes in the Board Administrative Rules. Many
licensees, including representatives from the OPTA and several hospital systems, testified at the hearing. The Board thanks all
licensees who provided valuable input. The final rules were drafted with consideration of all the input and suggestions
provided. On December 29, 2004 the new Board rules went into effect. A copy of the rules are included with this newsletter
and the rules are also posted on the Board website. The format of the rules has significantly changed. The following is a
summary of the most substantial content changes. This summary does not include all of the rule changes.

Please make sure that you, your co-workers and your employer are familiar with all of the new rules .

New Division 5 Board Administration

e Subsection 848-005-0020 (1)(e), increase in renewal fee for practice without referral from $15 to $50.

e New Rule 848-005-0030 requires licensee to maintain a current name, mailing address, home address, place of
employment, and telephone numbers of record on file with the Board. A licensee has 30 days to provide written
notification of any changes. Changes may be submitted via regular mail, e-mail or fax.

Division 10 Licensing of Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants and Temporary Permit Holders

THE RULES REGARDING TEMPORARY PERMIT HOLDERS HAS BEEN REORGANIZED AND REWRITTEN.
PLEASE CAREFULLY READ AND FAMILIARIZE YOURSELF WITH THIS DIVISION.

o 848-010-0026 (3) states that a temporary permit holder, who is a new graduate or who is foreign educated, must practice
with “on-site” supervision.

e 848-010-0026 (4) states that a temporary permit holder, who holds a valid license in another state, must practice under
“general supervision”. Both general and on-site supervision are clearly defined in the rules.

e 848-010-0026 (7) requires a temporary permit holder to submit an Employer letter to the Board within 5 working days of
beginning practice.

New Division 15 Physical Therapist Assistants

e New Section 848-015-0010 (2) adds definition to the term “supervising physical therapist”. The supervising physical
therapist is either the last PT to see the patient or the PT who is designated to be in charge on the day that the patient is
being treated.

e New Section 848-015-0020 (2) states that a PTA can only provide treatment when a supervising PT is readily accessible
for consultation either in person of by means of telecommunication.

e New Section 848-015-0030 lists prohibited acts. A PTA can not perform the required reassessment, make modifications to
the treatment plan or make the decision to discharge a patient; however, a PTA may collaborate with the PT and make
suggestions based on the PTA’s treatment of the patient. Please read this entire section carefully .

Division 20 Physical Therapist Aides

e Subsection 848-020-0000 (5)(a) adds wording, to clarify supervision requirements and criteria, for Aides. A PT or PTA
must be in eyesight or earshot of the aide when the aide is performing a treatment-related task.

e Section 848-020-0010 deleted requirement for an aide to maintain a Healthcare Provider CPR certification.

e New Section 848-020-0030 (3) added wording to allow a PT or PTA to supervise more than 2 aides when the aides are
performing non-treatment related tasks.

e Sections 848-020-0060 (2), (3), (5), (7), and (10) have been changed or rewritten to add clarity, definition and explanation
in regards to prohibited treatment-related tasks. Please read this entire section carefully .

o Sections 848-020-0060 (9) clarifies that an aide is prohibited from determining or modifying a plan of care, or initiating or
administering a procedure or modality the first time that procedure or modality is administered to a patient.




NEW RULES and RULE CHANGES
EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 29, 2004

Division 40 Minimum Standards for Physical Therapy Practice and Records

THIS ENTIRE DIVISION HAS BEEN REORGANIZED AND REWRITTEN.
PLEASE CAREFULLY READ AND FAMILIARIZE YOURSELF WITH THIS DIVISION.

o New Section 848-040-0110 (3) clarifies requirement that a patient record shall be prepared on the date of service.

o New Section 848-040-0110 (5) describes the means for authentication of a patient record. The use of initials and
rubber stamps are no longer permitted.

e New Section 848-040-0110 (6) adds rule defining criteria to use non-licensees and aides for preparation of
treatment-related entries in a patient record.

e New Section 848-040-0110 (7) defines requirement for accessibility of treatment related records to licensees
providing subsequent treatment.

e New Section 848-040-0110 (9) clarifies use of abbreviations. Abbreviations in a patient record may only be used
if they are recognized standard abbreviations or if they are approved for use in the specific practice setting.

e New Sections 848-040-0110 (12) through (15) clarify record authentication requirements for temporary permit
holders and students.

o New Section 848-040-0110 (16) states that patient records must be kept for a minimum of seven years measured
from the date of the last entry.

e New Subsection 848-040-0115 (3)(b) states that if the referral specifies the duration, frequency, diagnosis or
condition to be treated or physical therapy interventions, physical therapy shall not be provided beyond the
specifications of the referral without further authorization.

e New Subsection 848-040-0115 (3)(c) states that if the referral specifies the number of authorized treatments,
additional treatments shall not be provided without further authorization.

e New Section 848-040-0120 (3) requires an oral referral to be confirmed in writing by the referring provider.

e New Rule 848-040-0165 defines the standard for discharging a patient from therapy. Please read this entire
section carefully .

New Division 45 Grounds and Sanctions for Discipline

THIS ENTIRE DIVISION HAS BEEN COMPLETELY REORGANIZED AND REWRITTEN.
PLEASE CAREFULLY READ AND FAMILIARIZE YOURSELF WITH THIS DIVISION.

e New Subsections 848-045-0020 (2)(L) adds authority to the Board to take action against a licensee who engages in
conversation, with a patient, that is not necessary for the provision of treatment, and is personally intrusive or
otherwise inappropriate.

e Subsections 848-045-0020 (2)(m) and (n), condensed from original rule, omits specific and explicit sexual wording.
These subsections have been worded to encompass all previously listed offenses and defines the term “patient”.

e New Subsections 848-045-0020 (2)(p)(A) through (D) adds authority to the Board to take action against a licensee
who, by definition, is exploiting a patient. Please read this entire section carefully .

e New Subsection 848-045-0020 (2)(r)(D) clarifies the use of the term “doctor" as associated with a PT. A PT who
holds a doctoral degree in physical therapy may not use the title “doctor” without the addition of the words “doctor
of physical therapy”. Such PTs may only be referred to as “[name of therapist], doctor of physical therapy”.

e New Subsections 848-045-0020 (2)(u) requires a licensee to report, in writing, to his/her employer if the licensee
has provided PT services with a lapsed license. A copy of this report must also be provided to the Board.

e New Subsections 848-045-0020 (2)(v)(A) through (E) have been added to detail the definition of failure to
cooperate with the Board.

e New Subsection 848-045-0020 (2)(z), allows the Board to discipline a licensee who fails to maintain current
addresses and phone numbers on file with the Board.

Physical Therapist Licensing Board Page 5




CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Physical Therapists & Physical Therapist Assistants

Licensed from 8/10/04 through 02/25/05

PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT

First Name

MIGUEL
THERESA
AARON
EDWARD .
EDWARD
JENNIFER
MINDY
SHAWN
KAREN
HOLLY
TOM
SUSAN
ELIZABETH
DENISE
ABIGAIL
LINDSEY
JUSTIN
MICHAEL
EDWARD
ALLEN
SONJA
CHRISTIAN
EMILY
TONI
ELIZABETH
DAVID
CATHERINE
ANN
DOROTHY
REBECCA
MAGDALINA
MARY
PAMELA
AMY

KELLI
ERIN
VALERIE
DARREN
LISA

JON

GAVIN
KATHERINE
PAUL
REBECCA
ELLIE
BRET
LINDA
STEPHEN
MICHELLE
ERICA

Last Name

ALONSO-DIAZ
ALVILLAR
ANDERS
ANDERSON
ARELLANO
ARELLANO
BACHELOR
BAGLEY
BALTZ GIBBS
BEINERT
BENNETCH
BOYKEN
BRADLEY
BRUSCHI
BULAN
CAREY
CARSON
CLOSE
COOK, JR
CORNISH
CREEL
CUKA
DEAN
DELZER
DEMPSTER
DOWD
FETTERS
FOLEY
FREEBAIRN
GARDNER
GOFMAN
RAMLING
GROVES
GUEBARD
HALL
HLADIUK
HUNTER
JOFFS
KENNEDY-LEARY
KERN
KLEIMAN
KRANTZ
LABRECHE
LABRECHE
LALLMAN
LAUTT
LAW-KENNEDY
LEARY
LINDE
LODER

PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT
PT

PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA
PTA

First Name

JAIME
DAVID
MICHELLE
JUSTIN
LISA
JENNIFER
GREGG
TRACY
KATHARINE
JENNIFER
NIRIT
TRAVIS
ANDREW
LAUREL
LISA
SHERRIL
DANIEL
CHRISTINE
ROBIN
LIBBY
JOYCE
KELLY
ANDREA
JOANNA
JOHN
ELIZABETH
KATHRYN
ELIZABETH
TODD
PAUL
STEVE
ELSIE
JENNA
AMY

ANDREA
LINDA
KATHLEEN
TOM
BRENDA
KAREN
DIANE
KELLY JO
PAVLA
SARA
PAULETTE
RACHEL
DARREN
TINA

Last Name

MAGUIRE
McDARBY
McGAVRAN
McKINNEY
McKINNEY
MILLER
PALZER
PETRI
PHILLIPS
RAINEY-YATES
REDLICH
ROHNER
ROOF

ROOF
SAVERUS
SHELTON
SINNESS
SLANINKA
SOCITO
SPICER
STEELE
STRYCHARZ
SWANSON
THROCKMORTON
THROCKMORTON IIT
TOLLESON
TONER
VENABLE
WARD
WESTGARD
WHITAKER
WILSON
WOODFORD
ZALINSKI

BOCHART
COOK
FOWLES-SZABLYA
GORDON
HARVEY
HYNNING
LIGUORI
LUEDKE
PUDILOVA
QUAN
REX
RUTH
TERRY
ZEGA



DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

NAME & AE):"AI'-II-OEN ACTION TAKEN REASON FOR
LICENSE NO. TAKEN DISCIPLINARY ACTION
Thomas LeBlanc, PT | 08/25/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Failure to maintain patient
License No. 0671 $1500 Civil Penalty; $750 stayed records as required.
Brenda Harvey, PTA | 12/17/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Failure to disclose information
License No. 8338 2 years probation with conditions. on application for licensure.
Gail Weisgerber, PT | 09/07/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Allowing a PTA to practice 4 days
License No. 0617 $500 Civil Penalty with a lapsed license.
Nancy Cicerillo, PT | 02/18/05 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Identified herself as currently
License No. 0364 $1000 Civil Penalty licensed and treated a patient
while her license was lapsed.
Richard Badger, PT | 08/25/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Unprofessional conduct.
License No. 1064 $1000 Civil Penalty;
one year probation with conditions
George Eischen, PT | 12/17/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Allowing a PTA to practice with
License No. 1517 $2000 Civil Penalty a lapsed license for > 6 months.
Karla Wooley, PTA | 12/27/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Practicing with a lapsed
License No. 7738 $562.50 Civil Penalty license for > 6 months.
Tyrone Teal , PT 12/17/04 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Conviction of a misdemeanor,
License No. 1629 License Revocation sexual misconduct.
Kendall Neu, PT 03/01/05 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER: Documentation violations.
License No. 2499 $5000 Civil Penalty

RENEW YOUR LICENSE!!

Current civil penalty schedule for practicing with a lapsed license

1 day to 1 month 1-3 months 3-6 months 6-9 months 9-12 months 12 month +
Physical Therapist $100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 Case by case
Physical Therapist $75.00 $187.50 $375.00 $562.50 $750.00 Case by case
Assistant
Employer and/or $500.00 $1000.00 $1500.00 $2000.00 $2500.00 Case by case
Supervisor
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NEWSLETTER

Physical Therapist Licensing Board
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 407
Portland, OR 97232-2162

gAVAILABLE ON THE BOARD’S WEBSITE: _www.ptboard.state.or.us

. THIS NEWSLETTER AND PREVIOUS NEWSLETTERS

te  COMPLAINT FORMS

e LICENSE VERIFICATION ((for employers and credentialing agencies)

e COPIES OF THE PHYSICAL THERAPY STATUTES AND RULES

e RECENTLY ADOPTED RULE CHANGES AND PENDING RULE CHANGES




