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 On-line Renewals  
If everything goes according to plan, you will have the option to renew your physical 
therapist license on-line this year.  By using the on-line system you may pay via credit 
card, debit card or electronic check. There will be an additional convenience fee charged 
for anyone choosing to use the on-line system. Paper renewals will still be an option with 
no extra charge.  Paper renewal forms, along with instructions for use of the on-line   
system will be mailed to all licensees during the first two weeks of January, 2010. 

Mandatory Demographics Survey  
Oregon Laws  HB 2009 mandates that most medical professionals (including PTs       
and PTAs) must complete an on-line demographics survey upon renewal of  their           
professional license.  The Physical Therapist Licensing Board can not issue your license 
until you provide evidence of completion of the survey.  The survey data, which will be          
de-identified, will become the property of the Oregon Health Policy & Research Group. 
The purpose of the information is for the State to analyze the data and look at work force 
trends across the state.  The actual costs relative to the collection and analysis of the data 
will be tracked, and filtered back to licensees in subsequent renewal periods.  As the    
survey questions, process and procedure have yet to be finalized, make sure you       
carefully read your renewal form for detailed instructions and requirements. 

CE Required to Renew for 2010-2011 
 

All licensees must complete the required number of CE hours in order to renew their  
license for 2010-2011. The timeframe for course completion is 4/1/2008 - 3/31/2010.    
In addition, CE completed by physical therapists initially licensed before April 1, 2008, 
must include 7 hours of CE relating to the management of pain. (6 hr + 1 hr free on-line 
course offered by the Oregon Pain Commission). On your license renewal form, you 
must attest as to whether you have already completed the CE or plan to complete the CE 
by March 31, 2010.   

You may not renew your license if you do not complete the CE.  
Frequently asked questions regarding CE and a link to the free 1 hour on-line course can 
be found on the Board website.  Prior Board Newsletters (published on the website) also 
contain a great deal of information regarding CE.   

***INSIDE THIS NEWSLETTER*** 
 

♦ Proposed Rule Changes (page 2) 
♦ Notice of Rulemaking Hearing (page 3) 

♦ Board Statement on Dry Needling (page 3) 

 

CHANGES FOR LICENSE RENEWAL IN 2010 



 

 

PROPOSED RULE CHANGES  
with impact to your career & practice 

 
With the help of a volunteer Rules Advisory Committee made up primarily of  Licensees from around the state, the 
following Administrative Rule changes are being  proposed at this time.   Prior to adoption of these proposed Rules, 
there will be a hearing allowing public comment (see page 4 of this newsletter for detailed information regarding the 
Hearing).  Once adopted, the new Rules will take effect on March 1, 2010; however, many of the proposed Rule 
changes are a result of  new statutes passed during the 2009 legislation and these statutes have an effective date of 
January 1, 2010 (noted below).   
 
• Physical therapists have been added to the list of mandatory reporters of child abuse.  Statute relating to     

medical professionals, in general, has changed. No new PT Board Rules have been added.  (effective Jan 1, 2010) 
 

• Licensees must report any arrest for a felony, or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony to the Board within 10 
days of the arrest or conviction. Statute relating to medical professionals, in general, has been changed and new 
PT Board Rules have been added. (effective Jan 1, 2010) 

 

• Physical therapists with a DPT degree will be allowed to use the title “doctor”.  Statute relating to medical     
professionals, in general, has been changed.  Rule prohibiting the use of the title “doctor” has been removed 
from PT Board Rules. (effective Jan 1, 2010) 

 

• Licensees must report another licensed medical provider to the Board that licenses that provider, if you have 
“reasonable cause to believe that the person has engaged in prohibited or unprofessional conduct”.  You must 
report the suspected licensee “without undue delay” but no later than 10 working days after you learn of the 
conduct.    Statute relating to medical professionals, in general, has been changed and new PT Board Rules have 
been added. (effective Jan 1, 2010) 

 

• Licensing Boards will continue to have jurisdiction over a person who is the subject of an investigation or              
disciplinary proceeding relating to acts or omissions that occurred while the person was licensed by the Board      
regardless of whether the person has relinquished or not renewed their license to practice. Statute relating to 
medical professionals, in general, has been changed and new PT Board rules were added. (effective Jan 1, 2010) 

 

• Changes in Rules regarding temporary permits.  Temporary permits will now be valid for 60 days, rather than 
90 days and proof of a passing score on the National PT Examination (for endorsement applicants) will be re-
quired prior to the issuance of a temporary permit.   

 

• Licensees, who are newly licensed between January 1st and March 31st of an even numbered year, will be ex-
empt from the CE requirement for that certification period.   

 

• Removal of Rule restricting the number of times an applicant may take the National PT examination (limit had 
been 5 times). 

 

• Board will withhold the personal email address, home address and personal telephone number of licensees, 
unless in emergency circumstances or when otherwise required by law.  

     

• New Rule added which allows the Board to charge a convenience fee for online license renewals.  

 

• Licensees, who have received a Proposed Notice of Disciplinary Action from the Board, will now have 30 days 
(changed from 21 days) to request a contested case hearing.  

  

• Repeal of Division 50 regarding the Board’s substance abuse diversion program.  The Board will begin to            
participate in a new state-wide diversion program for health care practitioners.   
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NONE !!! Please read entire newsletter for very important information                                
regarding mandatory changes in the process of license renewals,                             

CE requirements  and newly proposed rules 

 

  
DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS  

 

A Public Hearing, regarding the Board’s proposed Administrative Rule changes, will be held at 8:30 am on   
FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2010 in  Room 1-C of the Portland State Office Building, 800 NE Oregon Street, 
Portland, Oregon, 97232 
 
At the Hearing, the Board will welcome public testimony and comments on the proposed Rule changes. If you 
would like to make comments, but are unable to attend the meeting, you may submit written testimony or      
comments to the Board.  For consideration, all written comments must be presented at the Hearing or received in 
the Board office by noon, Thursday, February, 4, 2010. The Board appreciates and encourages all comments and 
suggestions from licensees.   
 
Copies of the Notice Of Proposed Rule Making Hearing, The Statement of Fiscal Impact, and the actual        
proposed Rule language can be found on the Board website at  www.ptboard.state.or.us  

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING HEARING 

 

After the Board issued its initial opinion that dry needling was in the PT scope of practice , the Oregon Medical 
Board met and determined that dry needling constitutes the practice of acupuncture in the State of Oregon.   This 
determination prompted additional research and consideration on the part of the Board and its legal counsel.   
  

At its Board meeting on November 20, 2009, the Board received  input from licensees and representatives of the 
Oregon Medical Board.  Upon further discussion and consideration, the Physical Therapist Licensing Board        
believes that the dry needling of trigger points is likely within the physical therapist scope of practice (excluding 
PTAs). The Board acknowledges that the dry needling of trigger points is an advanced intervention requiring post 
physical therapy graduate training and education.  
 

Further, the Board recommends that the Medical Board, including the Acupuncture Committee, the  Physical   
Therapy Board , the OPTA and the Oregon Medical Association, work in partnership to define a minimum       
competency by which a physical therapist can safely practice the intervention of dry needling of trigger points.  
  

In the interest of public safety, until specific training and education parameters can be determined, the 
Board strongly advises its licensees to not perform dry needling of trigger points at this time. 

BOARD STATEMENT REGARDING DRY NEEDLING   
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BOARD OFFICE  
SCHEDULED CLOSURES 

 

The State of Oregon has mandated 14 unpaid closure 
(furlough) days for state employees over the next 
two years.  On these days, the Board office will be 
closed to the public.   Dates for 2009-2010 are:  
 

• Thursday, December 24, 2009 
• Friday, March 19, 2010 
• Friday, April 16, 2010 
• Friday, June 18, 2010 
• Friday, August 20, 2010  
• Friday, September 17, 2010  
• Friday, November 26, 2010 
 

Additional closure dates will be posted on the Board 
website, as they are determined,. Please call ahead if 
you have a need to come to the Board office.   

 

THANK YOU TO THE 2009 
 RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

 

For several months, the volunteer members of the 
Rules Advisory Committee from across the state 
have met to assist the Board in clarifying , updating  
and/or adding proposed Administrative Rule         
language.  The Board expresses its sincere thanks to 
the following PT and PTA committee members who 
donated their valuable time, input and expertise:  
 

Brooke Collins, David Komeji, Dode Jackson, 
Donna Maebori, Dylan Hogan, Jaime Dutra, Jennifer 
Wood, Karen Gurske, Lisa Protsman, Maura Gabriel, 
Steve Alstot, Joana Freedman, Suzanne Maresh, Tim 
Esau, Lars Kellow.  The Board is also grateful to 
Diana Godwin, Attorney at Law, for her extensive 
work on this (and every preceding) committee.  
 


