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IT’S LICENSE RENEWAL TIME 
 

License renewal letters will be mailed to all licensees during the first two weeks 

of January.  If you do not receive a renewal letter by February 1st, please     

contact the Board. It is your responsibility to ensure that you renew your license 

on time. 
 

This year, the Board is again offering on-line renewals with no processing fee.  

The quickest way to renew is to complete the online renewal and pay online, 

however, the Board is providing 3 ways to renew your license:  
 

 OPTION #1 online renewal with electronic payment  

 OPTION #2 online renewal with subsequent manual payment  

 OPTION #3 request a paper renewal form & use manual payment          

 

 

CE REQUIRED FOR RENEWAL THIS YEAR  
 

In order to renew your license for 2012, you must attest to the completion of            

continuing education completed during current certification period of: 
 

 April 1, 2010 through March 31, 2012 
 

 PTs initially licensed before 4/1/11 will need to have completed 24 CE hours 

and PTAs will need to have completed 12 CE hours. 
 

 Licensees initially licensed after 4/1/11 will need to complete only 1/2 of the 

required CE. Courses taken anytime during the certification period can be 

applied, even if you were not yet licensed in Oregon. 
 

 Licensees initially licensed after 1/1/12 will not need to complete any CE for 

this certification period.  
 

Pain Management Requirement 
 

 Licensed prior to 4/1/08 - you have already completed this requirement. 
 

 Licensed between 4/1/08 and 3/31/10 - you must complete this requirement 

by 3/31/12.  Upon renewal, you will need to attest to completion of 7 hours 

of CE relating to pain (6 hours CE plus the 1 hour mandatory online course 

offered by the Oregon Pain Commission)   
 

 Licensed after 3/31/10 - you have 24 months from the first renewal of your 

license to complete this requirement  
 

Your initial licensure date will be provided on your renewal form 

mailto:patti.gustafson@state.or.us
mailto:sherri.paru@state.or.us
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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES HEARING 
 

A Public Hearing, regarding the Board’s proposed Administrative Rule changes, will be held at 8:30 am on    
Friday, January 20, 2012  in Room 445 of the Portland State Office Building, 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland, 
Oregon 97232. 
 

At the Hearing, the Board will welcome public testimony and comments on the proposed rules changes. If you 
would like to make comments but are unable to attend the meeting, you may submit written testimony or    
comments to the Board. All written testimony received in the Board office by 4:30 pm, Thursday, January 19, 
2012 will be presented at the hearing.  The Board appreciates and encourages all comments and suggestions 
from all interested parties.   
 

State law requires the Board to provide the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and the Statement of Need and 
Fiscal Impact. These documents and the full text version of the rule changes are available on the Board          
website: www.ptboard.state.or.us  

 

In October, 2011, the Board convened a Rules Advisory Committee made up of licensees and interested parties 

from across the state. The volunteer members of the committee met to assist the Board in clarifying, updating  

and/or adding proposed rule language regarding the following topics:  

 

 Extending the timeframe of a Temporary Permit for new graduates/first time test takers to 90 days from 60 

days to accommodate the new fixed date testing of the National PT Exam.  
 

 Amending the passing score criteria for applicants who took the National Examination prior to 1996.     

Allows an applicant who passed the exam for another state to obtain an Oregon license without meeting a 

specific score criteria.  
 

 Change the late charge for lapsed licenses to a single lapsed license fee, rather than charging a late fee for 

each year lapsed.  
 

 Broaden approved Continuing Education credit to allow credit for serving as a Clinical Instructor and for 

publishing articles in a peer-review journal  
 

 Add rules which publish the Board’s adopted civil penalty schedule for licensee’s practicing without a valid 

license and for licensee’s who fail to complete required continuing education. 
 

The full text version of  the proposed rule changes is posted on the Board website:  

www.ptboard.state.or.us 
 

The Board expresses its sincere thanks to the following PT , PTA and student committee members who do-

nated their valuable time, input and expertise by serving on the Rules Advisory Committee:  Tim Esau, Andrew 

Fifield, Kate Brady, Suzanne Baptista-Maresh, Jerimiah Moore, Dave Haglund, Ramona Horton, Amanda 

Wallinger, Beth Ann Thorpe, Wanda Crook, Deborah Bates, John Hakkila, Erin Horton, Karina Montgomery, 

Adam Paris, Sharla Smith, Ernie Sturzinger and Derek Stokes. The Board is also grateful to Diana Godwin,  

Attorney at Law for her extensive work on this committee.   
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NAME &  

LICENSE  NO.  

DATE OF 

ACTION  

ACTION TAKEN 

 

REASON FOR  

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

Kimberly Smith, PT 

License # 3309       

8/23/2011 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:       

$1000 Civil Penalty  

Practicing 9-12 months with               

a lapsed license  

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS SINCE PREVIOUS NEWSLETTER 

 

The Federation of State Board of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) now offers an online system for you to manage all aspects of 
your Continuing Education and Continuing Competence (CE/CC) licensure requirements.  This system seamlessly connects 
you with hundreds of CE/CC providers and physical therapy regulatory boards for purposes of sharing information about 
CE/CC courses and activities! 
 

The system is called aPTitude, and was built by the FSBPT for the purpose of advancing its continuing competence        
initiative and its mission of public protection.  It is also intended to be a comprehensive CE/CC resource to help you main-
tain compliance with your licensure requirements in all states.  
 

aPTitude is a COMPLETELY FREE, dynamic online system that: 
 

 Provides a single place to maintain your licensure information, keep a record of your CC/CE courses and activities, and 
securely store documentation for those activities; 
 

 Enables you to search for and find CC/CE offerings that meet your individual and specific needs; 
 

 Streamlines your planning and tracking of CC/CE activities to see how close you are to meeting your renewal                
requirements for one or many states; 
 

 Keeps you up-to-date with easy-to-understand information on all of your jurisdiction's CC/CE requirements, renewal 
dates and approved courses and activities; 
 

 Sends you reminders for license renewal and upcoming CC/CE compliance deadlines; and 
 

 Issues to you optional notifications on when new activities become available from your favorite CC/CE providers! 

In 2012, FSBPT will begin certifying CE/CC activities for purposes of recognition and acceptance across multiple physical    
therapy regulatory boards – completing your requirements for multiple states will soon be much easier. In addition, PTs and 
PTAs will be able to rate and post comments and feedback on CE/CC courses and activities for other aPTitude users to     
review and to assist in making informed choices. 

Go to http://www.fsbpt.org/aPTitude to complete your registration or for more information, contact the FSBPT Continu-
ing Competence Department at 703.299.3100, option 5, or aPTitude@fsbpt.org. 

FREE CE MANAGEMENT TOOL OFFERED BY THE FSBPT 

WELCOME TO NEW BOARD MEMBER, RUGGIERO CANIZARES, PT 
 

Ruggie has 26 years of experience practicing in various clinical settings.  He currently owns a private-practice clinic 
in Eugene and works part-time as a relief home health physical therapist for Sacred Heart Medical Center.  Ruggie 
is the first foreign educated Board member, graduating in 1986 from University of Santo Tomas in Manila,       
Philippines.  Ruggie is a Certified Manual Physical Therapist (CMPT) and holds an MBA degree from Northwest 
Christian University.  In his free time, Ruggie is actively  involved in volunteer work with Boy Scouts of America 
and loves to fly fish with his sons.  Welcome, Ruggie.  We are so pleased to have you on “Board”.  

https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude/
https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude/
http://www.fsbpt.org/
https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude/
http://www.fsbpt.org/aPTitude
mailto:aPTitude@fsbpt.org
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