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ALL NEW RULES 

 

Oregon Department of Aviation 

OAR Chapter 738 

Division 140 

 

CIVIL PENALTIES 

738-140-0005 

Scope and Purpose 

(1) These rules are designed by the Oregon Department of Aviation to establish procedures and 

requirements for the administration and enforcement of civil penalties.  These rules are intended 

to explain the authority granted to the Director of the Department of Aviation by ORS 835.106 

and 835.112 et seq. The civil penalty authority described in these rules is in addition to other 

authorities and corrective actions available to the Director and the Department regarding 

violations of ORS chapter 837.  Civil penalties imposed under these rules apply to violations of 

ORS chapter 837 and associated rules, orders, or permits included in, implemented, or issued, in 

accordance with ORS 837.998 and 183.745. 

(2) At the Director’s discretion, imposition of a civil penalty may be waived when the 

responsible party responds with timely compliance or voluntary restitution.  If the timely 

compliance or restitution action(s) satisfy the Department, and the violation avoided long-term 

and irreversible impacts on public health, safety, welfare, and economic values of persons or 

property, then the Director may mitigate the consequences of the violation. 

(3) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 183.745. 

(4) The Department of Aviation may reduce any civil penalty provided for in this section on such 

terms as the department considers proper if: 

(a) The defendant admits the violations alleged in the notice and makes timely request for 

reduction of the penalty; or 

(b) The defendant submits to the department a written request for reduction of the penalty within 

15 days from the date the penalty order is served. 

(5) If the amount of such penalty is not paid to the department, the Attorney General, at the 

request of the department, shall bring an action in the name of the State of Oregon in the Circuit 

Court of Marion County to recover such penalty. The action shall not be commenced until after 

the time has expired for an appeal from the findings, conclusions and order of the department. In 

all such actions the procedure and rules of evidence shall be the same as an ordinary civil action 

except as otherwise provided in this chapter. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 835.035, 835.112, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 
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738-140-0010 

Definitions 

For purposes of 738-140-0005 through 738-140-0050, the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Aircraft” is a device that is used or intended to be used for flight in the air. 

(2) “Class A Violation” is an action or non-action in breach of a statute or rule that incurs a 

maximum fine of $2,000 for an individual and $4,000 for a corporation in accordance with ORS 

153.012. See also: ORS 153.018, 153.019, 153.021. 

(3) “Department” is the Oregon Department of Aviation.  

(4) “Director” is the Director of the Oregon Department of Aviation. 

(5) “Director’s delegate” is any person acting with sanction from and on behalf of the Director of 

the Department of Aviation.   

(6) “Intentional” is the deliberate or willful action or non-action of a person or entity.  

(7) “OAR” is the Oregon Administrative Rules. 

(8) “ORS” is the Oregon Revised Statutes. 

(9) “Violation” is a breach of a statute, rule, standard, or permit condition. 

(10) “Violator” is any person, entity, or public department that has breached a statute, rule, 

standard, or permit condition. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 153.022, 183.745, 835.035, 835.112, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 

 

738-140-0015 

Civil Penalty Policy 

Upon a determination that a violation has occurred, the Director or Director’s delegate may 

impose a civil penalty against the party responsible for the violation. The Director or Director’s 

delegate may waive or adjust any civil penalty as provided in OAR 738-140-0015, 738-140-

0020, or 738-140-0030. Imposing a civil penalty under these rules for a violation shall not 

preclude the Director or Director’s delegate from pursuing other regulatory or penalty actions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 153.022, 183.745, 835.035, 835.112, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 

 

738-140-0020 

Violations for Which a Civil Penalty May be Imposed 

The Department may impose a civil penalty for violations of any of the following statutes, 

administrative rules, or orders: 

(1) Intentional violation of any provision of ORS 837.020 or 837.025 concerning registration of 

pilots may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be determined using the 

formula described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine and shall be equal to 

$24.00; and “I” is the impact of the violation and shall be equal to 1. 
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Example of an intentional violation of ORS 837.020: If a pilot were to explicitly refuse to 

register with the Department, or if the pilot were to expressly state to the Department that he or 

she will not fly, and then the Department receives information that the pilot did fly, then the 

Department may impose a civil penalty under this rule. 

(2) Intentional violation of any provision of ORS 837.015 or 837.040 to 837.060 concerning 

registration of aircraft may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be determined 

using the formula described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine and shall be 

equal to $24.00; and “I” is the impact of the violation and, shall be equal to 1. 

Example of an intentional violation of ORS 837.015: If an aircraft owner were to explicitly 

refuse to register their aircraft with the Department, or if the aircraft owner were to expressly 

state to the Department that the aircraft will not fly, and then the Department receives 

information that the aircraft did fly, then the Department may impose a civil penalty under this 

rule. 

(3) Intentional violation of any provision of ORS 837.070 concerning notice of sale or transfer of 

registration of aircraft may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be determined 

using the formula described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine and shall be 

equal to $24.00; and “I” is the impact of the violation and, shall be equal to 1. 

Example: If an aircraft seller were to explicitly refuse to submit notice of sale or transfer of 

registration to the Department, or if the aircraft owner was aware of their obligation to submit an 

Oregon Aircraft Ownership Transfer Form to the Department and failed to do so, then the 

Department receives information that the aircraft was sold or transferred, then the Department 

may impose a civil penalty under this rule.   

(4) Intentional violation of any provision of ORS 837.075 concerning aircraft dealer’s license 

may incur a civil penalty. The amount of the penalty shall be determined using the formula 

described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine, and shall be equal to $24.00; and 

“I” is the impact of the violation and, shall be equal to 1. 

Example: If a person matching the description in OAR 738-005-0010(9) of an “Aircraft Dealer” 

intentionally refuses to submit an Oregon Aircraft Dealer’s License Application with the 

appropriate fee, and then the Department acquires evidence of aircraft dealing by that person, 

then the Department may impose a civil penalty under this rule. 

(5) Violation of any provision of ORS 837.080 concerning prohibited operation of aircraft may 

incur a minimum civil penalty of an amount computed using the formula described in OAR 738-

140-0030.  The “BF” is the base fine and shall be equal to $27.50.  In accordance with ORS 

837.998(2), the maximum civil penalty that may be imposed under this rule is $2,500 per 

violation.  Violations of ORS 837.080 may also be a Class B misdemeanor as per ORS 837.990.   

Example of a violation of ORS 837.080: if the Department were to receive information about a 

person operating an aircraft in a careless or reckless manner so as to endanger the life or property 

of another, or operating an aircraft under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or controlled 

substances, then the violator would incur a civil penalty under this rule.  

(6) Intentional Violation of any provision of ORS 837.085 concerning dropping articles without 

a permit issued by the Department may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be 

determined using the formula described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine and 

shall be equal to $8.00, and the maximum potential fine equal to $720. 
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Example: If the Department had issued a warning, fine, or citation to a pilot or passenger for a 

violation of ORS 837.085 on a previous occasion, and then the Department learns of a 

subsequent violation of ORS 837.085, then the violation is deemed intentional, and the pilot or 

passenger may incur a civil penalty under this rule. 

(7) Intentional violation of ORS 837.090 concerning landings under non-exigent circumstances 

on public highways, grounds, closed runways, or any other place where landing is impermissible 

may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be determined using the formula 

described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is the base fine, and shall be equal to $8.00. 

Example: If the a pilot has received information stating that a runway is closed, or that landing 

on a grass strip is impermissible, or if the pilot has violated ORS 837.090 previously, and then 

the Department receives information that the pilot did land on a closed runway or anywhere 

landing is impermissible, then the Department may impose a civil penalty under this rule. 

(8) Intentional violation of any provision of ORS 837.095 concerning flying over military 

establishments or taking photographs of a military establishment without permission from the 

person in command of the military establishment may incur a civil penalty.  The amount of the 

penalty shall be determined using the formula described in OAR 738-140-0030, where “BF” is 

the base fine and shall be equal to $8.00, and the maximum potential fine equal to $720.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 835.035, 835.112, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 

 

738-140-0025 

Intentional Violation of Public Body Registration of Unmanned Aircraft Systems Requirement 

Violation of any provision of ORS 837.360 concerning public body registration of unmanned 

aircraft systems may incur a civil penalty of an amount computed using the formula described in 

OAR 738-140-0030, whichever is greater, where “BF” is the base fine and shall be equal to 

$111.00.  The maximum civil penalty that may be imposed under these rules is $10,000. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 153.022, 183.745, 835.035, 835.112, 837.100, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 

 

738-140-0030 

Formula to Determine Amount of Civil penalty for Violations of Chapter 837 

P = BF x C x V x F x I, where: 

“P” is the amount of civil penalty in dollars; 

“BF” is the base fine, which shall be enumerated in the relevant rule; 

“C” indicates the level of cooperation of the responsible party in resolving the violation 

where: 

“C” will be equal to a value of 1 if the violator is highly cooperative, timely and diligent 

in applying the corrective measures directed by the Department; 

“C” will be equal to a value of 2 if the violator is moderately cooperative but either 
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failed to meet the time frame for correction or failed to apply the corrective measures 

directed by the Department, or; 

“C” will be equal to a value of 3 if the violator is uncooperative and failed to apply the 

corrective measures directed by the Department within the specified time frame. 

“V” indicates the number of prior violations. “V” shall not exceed a value of 5. 

“F” indicates the familiarity or prior experience with or knowledge of the statutes, rules, 

standards or other directives: 

“F” will be equal to a value of 1 if the responsible party had no prior familiarity, 

experience, or knowledge of the laws, rules, permits or standards, and; 

“F” will be equal to a value of 2 if the responsible party did have prior familiarity, 

experience, or knowledge of laws and regulations and knowingly violated those 

provisions. 

“I” indicates the impact of the violation on the public interest in safety, property, and 

community combined with the duration or permanency of the impact(s) from the 

violation as follows: 

“I” will be equal to a value of 1 if the violation has no impact, or only minor impact(s) 

on persons or property and the impact(s) of the violation will have a duration of less 

than one year. 

“I” will be equal to a value of 2 if the violation has moderate impact(s) on persons or 

property or the impact(s) of the violation will have moderate duration from one to three 

years; 

“I” will be equal to a value of 3 if the violation has major impact(s) on persons or 

property or the impact(s) of the violation will last more than three years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 835.035, 835.112, 837.998 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 837.005 through 837.998 

 

738-140-0035 

Notice of Violation 

(1) The agency’s notice of violation issued pursuant to ORS 183.415 shall include: 

(a) A caption with the name of the agency and the name of the person or agency to whom the 

notice is issued; 

(b) A short and plain statement of the matters asserted or charged and a reference to the 

particular sections of the statute and rules involved; 

(c) A statement of the party’s right to be represented by counsel and that legal aid organizations 

may be able to assist a party with limited financial resources; 

(d) A statement of the party’s right to a hearing; 

(e) A statement of the agency’s authority and jurisdiction to hold a hearing on the matters 

asserted or charged; and 
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(f) Either: 

(A) A statement of the procedure and time to request a hearing, the agency address to which a 

hearing request should be sent, and a statement that if a request for hearing is not received by the 

agency within the time stated in the notice the person will have waived the right to a hearing; or 

(B) A statement of the time and place of the hearing. 

(g) A statement indicating whether and under what circumstances an order by default may be 

entered. 

(2) A notice of violation may include either or both of the following: 

(a) A statement that the record of the proceeding to date, including information in the agency file 

or files on the subject of the violation and all materials submitted by the party, automatically 

becomes part of the violation record upon default for the purpose of proving a prima facie case; 

(b) A statement that a collaborative dispute resolution process is available as an alternative to a 

hearing, if requested within the time period stated in the notice, and that choosing such a process 

will not affect the right to a hearing if a hearing request is received by the agency within the time 

period stated in the notice and the matter is not resolved through the collaborative process. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 835.035, 835.112 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 835.035, 835.112 

 

738-140-0040 

Rights of Parties and Opportunity for Hearing 

(1) In addition to the information required to be given in writing under ORS 183.413(2) and 

183.415(2) and (3), before commencement of a hearing, the agency shall inform a party, if the 

party is an agency, corporation, or an unincorporated association, that such party must be 

represented by an attorney licensed in Oregon, unless statutes applicable to the contested case 

proceeding specifically provide otherwise. This information may be given orally or in writing. 

(2) Unless otherwise precluded by law, the agency and the parties may agree to use alternative 

methods of dispute resolution in contested case matters. Such alternative methods of resolution 

may include arbitration or any collaborative method designed to encourage the agency and the 

parties to work together to develop a mutually agreeable solution, such as negotiation, mediation, 

use of a facilitator or a neutral fact-finder or settlement conferences, but may not include 

arbitration that is binding on the agency. 

(3) Final disposition of contested cases may be by a final order following hearing or, unless 

precluded by law, by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or final order by default. A 

stipulation, agreed settlement or consent order disposing of a contested case must be in writing 

and signed by the party or parties. By signing such an agreement, the party or parties waive the 

right to a contested case hearing and to judicial review. The agency shall incorporate the 

disposition into a final order. A copy of any final order incorporating an agreement must be 

delivered or mailed to each party and, if a party is represented by an attorney, to the party’s 

attorney. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 835.035, 835.112  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 835.035, 835.112 


