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First – the boring stuff 

(a.k.a. the required disclaimers) 

 This presentation is not intended to provide 

legal advice or apply statutory or rule 

reporting requirements to specific scenarios 

 This presentation is intended to educate 

about changes in laws and rules of the Board 

related to reporting requirements 

 This presentation does not replace the need 

for social workers to read, or be familiar with, 

the actual text of board laws and rules on this 

or any other topic 
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Reporting Requirements –    

 The  Basic Stuff  

Basic types of reporting requirements: 

 Reporting requirements set by the Legislature  

 Reporting requirements by insurance carriers 

 Employer-specific reporting requirements 

 Social Work Board reporting requirements 

 Reporting Requirements on Applications for 

Licensure / Certification (including renewals) 

 Reporting Requirements in Licensing Board 

statutes and rules 

 Focus here is on Board-specific requirements 
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Reporting Requirements for Social 

Workers set by the Legislature 

 Elder Abuse Reporting Requirement 
 This requirement is not new - ORS 124.050 – 124.095 

 Violation of this reporting requirement is also a violation of Board 

ethics code (OAR 877-030-0040(2)(b)) 

 Child Abuse Reporting Requirement 
 This requirement is not new - ORS 419B.005 – 419B.050 

 Violation of this reporting requirement is also a violation of Board 

ethics code (OAR 877-030-0040(2)(b)) 

 Cross-Health Profession Unprofessional Conduct and 

Prohibited Conduct Reporting (ORS 676.150) 
 Requires report within 10 days by health board licensee of 

unprofessional or prohibited conduct by another health board 

licensee (see next page) 

4 Oregon State Board of Licensed Social Workers, February 7, 2013 



Cross-Health Profession Reporting 
ORS 676.150 / OAR 877-030-0040(2)(d) 

 Within 10 days to licensing board of the licensee who 

engaged in prohibited or unprofessional conduct 

 “Unprofessional conduct” means conduct unbecoming a licensee or 

detrimental to the best interests of the public, including conduct 

contrary to recognized standards of ethics of the licensee's 

profession or conduct that endangers the health, safety or welfare 

of a patient or client.  

 “Prohibited conduct” means conduct by a licensee that:  

 (i) Constitutes a criminal act against a patient or client; or  

 (ii) Constitutes a criminal act that creates a risk of harm to a 

patient or client.  

 Reporting Requirement does not apply if state or federal laws 

relating to confidentiality or the protection of health information 

prohibit disclosure of the conduct 

 Failure to report is subject to discipline and is Class A violation 

 

 

5 Oregon State Board of Licensed Social Workers, February 7, 2013 



Social Work Specific Reporting 

of Impairment and Unprofessional 

Conduct  / OAR 877-030-0040(2)(c) 

 Regulated social workers must report to the Board of 

Licensed Social Workers under OAR 877-030-0040(2)(c): 
“Unless state or federal laws relating to confidentiality or the protection of 

health information prohibit disclosure, a regulated social worker is required 

to report to the board any information the regulated social worker has that 

appears to show that a regulated social worker is or may be an impaired 

professional or may have engaged in unprofessional conduct according to 

the guidelines of the code of ethics, to the extent that disclosure does not 

conflict with the requirements of ORS 675.580. A regulated social worker is 

an impaired professional if the regulated social worker is unable to practice 

with professional skill and safety by reason of habitual or excessive use or 

abuse of drugs, alcohol or other substances that impair ability or by reason 

of a mental health disorder.” 

 Definition of impairment is updated and reflects a uniform 

definition applicable to all health boards (ORS 676.303(1)(b)) 

 ORS 675.580 refers to social work client confidentiality laws 
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Other Social Work Specific Conduct Reporting 

Requirements  in OAR 877-030-0040(2) 

 Regulated social workers must self-report, within 10 days, of 
(A) Being convicted of a misdemeanor or felony;  

 (B) Being arrested for a felony crime;  

 (C) Receiving notice of a civil lawsuit that names the regulated social worker as 

a defendant and makes allegations related to the regulated social worker’s 

practice of clinical social work or the regulated social worker’s license or 

certificate;  

 (D) Becoming an in-patient in a psychiatric hospital or psychiatric day treatment 

facility; or  

 (E) Receiving notice of a regulatory action related to the regulated social 

worker’s license or certificate.  

 Newer elements include time requirement reduction from 30 to 10 

days, to align the deadline for reporting with other conduct reporting 

requirements set by the Legislature, and limiting the civil law suit 

reporting specifically to law suits related to the social work practice 

 Legislature removed reporting requirement for arrest for misdemeanor 
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Conduct Reporting Requirements on 

Applications for new licensure or certification or 

renewal thereof 

 Regulated social workers must truthfully answer conduct related 

questions on applications for licensure or certification or renewal 

 Board has seen a rise in compliance cases where licensees fail 

to meet statutory or rule reporting requirements where reporting 

must occur within 10 days, and instead do not report the event 

until much later, when their application for renewal comes due 

(see disciplinary history report on Board web site for examples)  

 Board questions for licensure /certification application and 

renewal are broader than those that require immediate (within 

10 days) reporting based on explicit legislative authority 
 Example: The Legislature did not include in its re-write of criminal conduct reporting 

requirements the report of misdemeanor arrests, which removed the Board’s ability to 

find out quickly if a licensee has recurring issues with DUIIs, which can be an indicator 

of a potential impairment.  The Board however can - and does - still ask for this arrest 

information on applications for licensure or certification, or renewal thereof. 
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New Administrative Reporting 

Requirements as of January 1, 2013 

 What is “Administrative Reporting”? 

 Does not apply to conduct 

 Applies in addition to conduct reporting requirements 

 New Board Rule 877-001-0009 establishes that a 

regulated social worker must provide, and keep current 

(requirement to notify of changes within 30 days): 

 Name of record 

 Employer of record 

 Address of Record 

 Failure to comply is also a violation of Board Ethics 

code under 877-030-0040 
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Additional Notes regarding the 

Address Reporting Requirement 

 Address of Record is not determined by the Board, 

but chosen by the licensee, but licensee must keep 

that address current 

 Address of record serves as address where Board 

sends notices of renewals, investigations, or other 

correspondence 

 Licensee can choose employer address, home 

address or P.O. Box address to comply 

 Board is required to publish an address of record 

 This change adopts practice in place at other boards  

 Removes burden from Board staff to track down 

regulated social workers who cannot be contacted 
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Connecting the issues: LCSW late 

renewal fees and Address Reporting 

 The Board kept its word to not use the 2011 increase in late 

fees for LCSW licensure renewal as a revenue source - staff 

reaches out to those in danger of renewing late many times in 

writing and by phone 

 Success of the above depends on licensees keeping their 

contact information current 

 Keeping your contact information current is a basic component 

of your relationship with your board 

 3 licensing staff serving 5,000 licensees do not have time to 

track down incorrect contact information 

 The Board cannot accept responsibility for inability of a 

regulated social worker to keep contact information current with 

the Board office. 
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