CHAPTER 109
(Rights of Minors)

109.610 Right to treatment for
venereal disease without parental consent.
(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of
law, a minor who may have come into
contact with any venereal disease may give
consent to the furnishing of hospital,
medical or surgical care related to the
diagnosis or treatment of such disease, if the
disease or condition is one which is required
by law or regulation adopted pursuant to law
to be reported to the local or state health
officer or board. Such consent shall not be
subject to disaffirmance because of
minority.

(2) The consent of the parent, parents, or
legal guardian of such minor shall not be
necessary to authorize such hospital,
medical or surgical care and without having
given consent the parent, parents, or legal
guardian shall not be liable for payment for
any such care rendered. [Formerly 109.105;
1977 ¢.303 §1]

109.620 [Formerly 109.115; repealed by
1973 ¢.827 §83]

109.630 [1971 ¢.726 §1; 1973 ¢.454 §1;
repealed by 1973 ¢.827 §83]

109.640 Right to medical or dental
treatment without parental consent;
provision of birth control information
and services to any person. Any physician
or nurse practitioner may provide birth
control information and services to any
person without regard to the age of the
person. A minor 15 years of age or older
may give consent to hospital care, medical
or surgical diagnosis or treatment by a
physician licensed by the Oregon Medical
Board, and dental or surgical diagnosis or
treatment by a dentist licensed by the
Oregon Board of Dentistry, without the
consent of a parent or guardian, except as
may be provided by ORS 109.660. A minor
15 years of age or older may give consent to
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diagnosis and treatment by a nurse
practitioner who is licensed by the Oregon
State Board of Nursing under ORS 678.375
and who is acting within the scope of
practice for a nurse practitioner, without the
consent of a parent or guardian of the minor,
[1971 c.381 §1; 2005 ¢.471 §7]

109.650 Disclosure without minor’s
consent and without liability. A hospital or
any physician, nurse practitioner or dentist
as described in ORS 109.640 may advise the
parent or parents or legal guardian of any
minor of the care, diagnosis or treatment or
the need for any treatment, without the
consent of the patient, and any hospital,
physician, nurse practitioner or dentist is not
liable for advising the parent, parents or
legal guardian without the consent of the
patient. [1971 ¢.381 §2; 2005 ¢.471 §8]

109.660 Construction. The provisions
of ORS 109.640, 109.650 and this section do
not amend or supersede the provisions of
ORS 109.610 or 435.435. [1971 ¢.381 §3;
1973 ¢.827 §16]

109.670 Right to donate blood. (1)
Any person 16 years of age or over may
donate blood to any blood program without
obtaining permission of a parent or
guardian.

(2) As used in subsection (1) of this
section, “blood program” means any
voluntary and noncompensatory program for
the drawing of blood which is approved by
the American Association of Blood Banks or
the American Red Cross. [1977 ¢.533 §1]

Note: 109.670 was enacted into law by
the Legislative Assembly but was not added
to or made a part of ORS chapter 109 or any
series therein by legislative action. See
Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.




109.672 Certain persons immune
from liability for providing care to minor.
(1) No person licensed, certified or
registered to practice a health care
profession or health care facility shall be
liable for damages in any civil action arising
out of the failure of the person or facility to
obtain the consent of a parent to the giving
of medical care or treatment to 2 minor child
of the parent if consent to the care has been
given by the other parent of the child.

(2) The immunity provided by
subsection (1) of this section shall apply
regardless of whether:

(a) The parents are married, unmarried
or separated at the time of consent or
treatment.

(b) The consenting parent is, or is not, a
custodial parent of the minor.

(c) The giving of consent by only one
parent is, or is not, in conformance with the
terms of any agreement between the parents,
any custody order or any judgment of
dissolution or separation.

(3) The immunity created by subsection
(1) of this section shall not apply if the
parental rights of the parent who gives
consent have been terminated pursuant to
ORS 419B.500 to 419B.524.

(4) For the purposes of this section,
“health care facility” means a facility as
defined in ORS 442.015 or any other entity
providing medical service. [Formerly
109.133; 1993 ¢.33 §296; 2003 ¢.576 §158]

109.675 Right to diagnosis or
treatment for mental or emotional
disorder or chemical dependency without
parental consent. (1) A minor 14 years of
age or older may obtain, without parental
knowledge or consent, outpatient diagnosis
or treatment of a mental or emotional
disorder or a chemical dependency,
excluding methadone maintenance, by a
physician licensed by the Oregon Medical
Board, a psychologist licensed by the State
Board of Psychologist Examiners, a nurse
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practitioner registered by the Oregon State
Board of Nursing, a clinical social worker
licensed by the State Board of Licensed
Social Workers or a community mental
health program established and operated
pursuant to ORS 430.620 when approved to
do so by the Oregon Health Authority
pursuant to rule.

(2) However, the person providing
treatment shall have the parents of the minor
involved before the end of treatment unless
the parents refuse or unless there are clear
clinical indications to the contrary, which
shall be documented in the treatment record.
The provisions of this subsection do not
apply to:

(a2) A minor who has been sexually
abused by a parent; or

(b) An emancipated minor, whether
emancipated under the provisions of ORS
109.510 and 109.520 or 419B.550 to
419B.558 or, for the purpose of this section
only, emancipated by virtue of having lived
apart from the parents or legal guardian
while being self-sustaining for a period of
90 days prior to obtaining treatment as
provided by this section. [1985 ¢.525 §1;
1989 ¢.721 §47; 1993 ¢.546 §137; 1997
.249 §38; 2009 c.442 §30; 2009 ¢.595 §71]

109.680 Disclosure without minor’s
consent; civil immunity. A physician,
psychologist, nurse practitioner, clinical
social worker licensed under ORS 675.530
or community mental health program
described in ORS 109.675 may advise the
parent or parents or legal guardian of any
minor described in ORS 109.675 of the
diagnosis or treatment whenever the
disclosure is clinically appropriate and will
serve the best interests of the minor’s
treatment because the minor’s condition has
deteriorated or the risk of a suicide attempt
has become such that inpatient treatment is
necessary, or the minor’s condition requires
detoxification in a residential or acute care
facility. If such disclosure is made, the




physician, psychologist, nurse practitioner,
clinical social worker licensed under ORS
675.530 or community mental health
program shall not be subject to any civil
liability for advising the parent, parents or
legal guardian without the consent of the
minor. {1985 ¢.525 §2; 1989 ¢.721 §48;
2009 c.442 §31; 2009 ¢.595 §72]

109.685 Person providing treatment
or diagnosis not subject to civil liability
for providing treatment or diagnosis
without consent of parent or guardian. A
physician, psychologist, nurse practitioner,
clinical social worker licensed under ORS
675.530 or community mental health
program described in ORS 109.675 who in
good faith provides diagnosis or treatment to
a minor as authorized by ORS 109.675 shall
not be subject to any civil liability for
providing such diagnosis or treatment
without consent of the parent or legal
guardian of the minor. [1985 ¢.525 §3; 1989
c.721 §49; 2009 c.442 §32; 2009 ¢.595 §73]
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