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Statutory Construct prior to 2011

Title Protection only

Voluntary Licensure

 2 protected licenses / titles / clinical only

Clinical Social Work Associate (CSWA)

- agency-work only, under supervision,     

MSW level, precursor to LCSW

 Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

- independent clinical license
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Drivers for legislative action in 2009 

 Protect consumers – no licensure requirement for 

clinical work 

 Lack of authority over conduct of revoked licensees

 Oregon one of the last states to not have some form of 

licensure requirement for social work

 No licensing options for the large field of non-clinical 

social work

 Advocacy issue – lift image of the profession by 

restricting who can use the title “social worker” to those 

who have a degree in social work and are licensed

Board of Licensed Social Workers - April 6, 2011



What has changed?

Part 1 – Limited Practice Act
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 Practice Act = Mandatory Licensure for those 

who practice clinical social work only

 Practice Act regulates CONDUCT

 Anyone who engages in the conduct of 

practicing clinical social work must be licensed 

as a CSWA or LCSW or qualify for one of the 

exemptions from the licensure requirement

 LCSW and CSWA remain protected titles 

(practice act does not remove title protection)

 Change Effective January 1, 2011
Board of Licensed Social Workers - April 6, 2011



Exemptions to the Mandatory 

Licensure Requirement / Practice Act
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 Does not apply to non-clinical social work

 Exempts Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselors 

(CADCs) practicing within the scope of CADC

 Exempts QMHAs and QMHPs acting within the 

lawful scope of their employment or contract

 Exempts recognized members of the clergy who 

are acting in their ministerial capacity

 Exempts those who already hold a mental health 

licensure from a State of Oregon entity

 Graduate MSW students in clinical practicum
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What has changed?

Part 2 – New Non-Clinical Licenses

6

 Voluntary options for those not practicing clinical 

social work – not mandatory

 Title-Protected

 Registered Bachelor of Social Work (RBSW)

 Licensed Master of Social Work (LMSW)

 Available since January 1, 2011

 Applications down-loadable on-line

 Planned on-line application option as of June 2011

 (on-line application will be rolled out to all license types)

 Both options allow use of title “social worker”

Board of Licensed Social Workers - April 6, 2011



Part 2A – RBSW Program Specifics
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 Certification as a “Registered Bachelor of 

Social Work”

 Title-Protected

 Allows continued use of the title “social worker” 

 Requirements:
 BSW (CSWE accredited or in CSWE candidacy)

 Passage of national (ASWB) Bachelor exam (requirement 

waived until December 31, 2012)

 criminal background check

 Compliance with Board ethics code

 2-year certification with 20hour CE requirement
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Part 2B – LMSW Program Specifics
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 Licensed Master of Social Work (LMSW)

 Voluntary, title-protected, non-clinical license

 Allows use of the title “social worker”

 LMSW Program Requirements

 No practice experience or supervision required

 MSW from a CSWE-accredited school

 Passage of national (ASWB) Masters-level (non-clinical) 

exam (requirement waived until December 31, 2012)

 criminal background check

 Compliance with Board ethics code

 2-year certification with 30hour CE requirement
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Part 2C – Fees 
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 $ 50 Application Fee (LMSW & RBSW)

 Initial 2 year license:

 RBSW - $50

 LMSW - $100

 Existing fee for criminal background check applies ($50)

 Renewal of Licensure:

 RBSW - $100 / 2 year license

 LMSW - $200 / 2 year license

 LCSW and CSWA clinical program fees unchanged
 Exception: late fee for LCSW renewal increases to $200

 CSWA application fee remains at $150, initial CSWA at $60
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What else has changed?

Part 3 –“Social Worker” = Title Protected
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 Anyone using the title “social worker” must hold 

one of the four licenses offered by the Board:

RBSW, LMSW, CSWA, LMSW

 Does not prohibit the practice of non-clinical 

social work by those that are not licensed

 Title Protection does not regulate conduct

 Does not prohibit use of the educational title 

MSW or BSW by those that are not licensed
 No social worker “registry” – there is no requirement for all 

who practice social work to register with the Board
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I am a CSWA (or planning to apply) -

How does this impact me?
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 Impacts on CSWA program:

 Option to add LMSW as of January 1 2011

 No need to add LMSW in order to use title of “social 

worker” – the CSWA certification alone allows this

 No major changes to CSWA requirements

 Permission to sit for ASWB clinical exam will be 

permitted earlier in the program – after completion 

of 75 hours of supervision

 Access to LMSW with fees waived upon 

documented completion of 75 hours of supervision
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I am a LCSW –

How do current changes impact me??
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 Increase in late fee for renewal (to $200) to deter late 

renewals, and especially deter lapses, which will have much 

more serious consequences for licensees with the advent of 

the practice act

 Licensure cycle will remain annual. (The Board may in the future 

consider moving toward 2-year licensure, in line with the CE cycle.)

 No loss of licensure if not practicing clinical social work (laws 

and rules have changed, continuing education to maintain 

competency is still required)

 Help protect consumers by reporting to the Board those 

practicing clinically without a license

 Use of title “social worker” (as long as license is valid)

 On-line licensure renewal option going live on April 8, 2011 
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I am a QMHA or QMHP –

How does this impact me??
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 Designation regulated by DHS , not the Board

 ORS 430.610-695 – Board has no authority

 QMHA and QMHP designation is not a license,  

only applies in the workplace setting, and has 

no meaning outside the workplace

 QMHAs and QMHPs seeing clients outside 

their workplace at nights or on weekends may 

risk  Board action for unlicensed practice

 Exemption from licensure requirement does not 

permit use of “social worker” title
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I am a CADC –

How does this impact me??
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 Certification process authorized by DHS, not 

the Board

 ORS 409.410- 409.420 – Board has no authority

 Does not change the scope of CADC 

certification (no reductions or adds)

 No licensure requirement with the Board as 

long as conduct is within scope of CADC

 Exemption from licensure requirement does not 

permit CADCs to use “social worker” title
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I am an unlicensed MSW – must I 

become licensed?

CONDUCT TEST: 
If you engage in clinical social work, you must 

become licensed, unless an exemption 

applies

TITLE TEST: 
If you want to call yourself a “social worker” –

you must become licensed with the Board in 

any one of the four licensure options (RBSW, 

CSWA, LMSW, LCSW)
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I am a student in a BSW/MSW program 

– what is the impact on me?

 Do not use protected titles (social worker / RBSW / CSWA / 

LMSW / LCSW)  until you have license/certification in hand

 Apply for certification early

 If you plan on engaging in clinical social work after you 

graduate, you must become certificated as a CSWA after 

graduation before engaging in clinical work, unless an 

exemption applies

 If you want to call yourself a “social worker” – you must become 

licensed (CSWA/LMSW)

 If you are engaging in clinical social work as part of your MSW 

practicum, you are exempt from the clinical licensure 

requirement.  This exemption does not permit a MSW student to 

perform clinical work outside the MSW practicum
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I am faculty in a BSW/ MSW program –

how does this impact me?

 No use of title “social worker” unless you hold a Board license

 No licensure requirement for teaching clinical topics per se

 If you provide or supervise clinical social work services to a 

client, whether or not connected to your teaching work, you must 

become licensed unless an exemption applies to you

 Final Rules of the Board include language proposed by the 

Portland State University School of Social Work that clarifies 

that commonly used teaching tools such as role plays, process 

recordings, case discussions and or audio/video tapes of client 

interactions that do not involve provision of services to a live 

client do not constitute the practice of clinical social work.

17Board of Licensed Social Workers - April 6, 2011



Questions?
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 THANK YOU FOR YOUR QUESTIONS
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