839-009-0210

Definitions: OFLA

(1) “Alternate duty" means work assigned to an employee that may consist of:

(a) The employee's same duties worked on a different schedule; or

(b) Different duties worked on the same or different schedule.

(2) "Child," for the purposes of parental and sick child leave only (not for the purposes of
serious health condition leave), means a biological, adopted, foster or stepchild, the child
of an employee's same-gender domestic partner or a child with whom the employeeis or
was in arelationship of in loco parentis. The child must be:

(a) Under the age of 18; or

(b) An adult dependent child substantially limited by a physical or mental impairment as
defined by ORS 659A.104(1)(a), (3), and (4).

(3) "Covered employer" means any employer employing 25 or more persons in the state
of Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar work weeksin the
calendar year in which the leave is to be taken or in the calendar year immediately
preceding the year in which the leave is to be taken.

(4) "Domestic partner” means an individual joined in a domestic partnership.

(5) "Domestic partnership” for the purposes of ORS chapter 659A means two individuals
of the same sex who have received a Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership from
the State of Oregon in compliance with ORS 432.405(1) and rules adopted by the State
Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics.

(6) "Eligible employee” means an employee employed in the state of Oregon on the date
OFLA leave begins. For eigibility of employees reemployed following a period of
uniformed service, see subsections (c) and (d) of this section.

(a) For the purpose of taking parental leave, an employee must be employed by a covered
employer for at least 180 calendar days immediately preceding the date on which OFLA
leave begins.

(b) For purposes of taking all other types of OFLA leave, including pregnancy disability
leave, an employee must have worked for a covered employer for an average of at least
25 hours per week during the 180 calendar days immediately preceding the date OFLA
leave begins.

(A) In determining that an employee has been employed for the preceding 180 calendar
days, the employer must count the number of days an employee is maintained on the
payroll, including all time paid or unpaid. If an employee continues to be employed by a
successor in interest to the origina employer, the number of days worked are counted as
continuous employment by a single employer.

(B) In determining 25 hours average per week, the employer must count actual hours
worked using guidelines set out pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act (See 29 CFR 8
785).

(c) Thefederal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act, 38 USC 843
(USERRA) provides that an employee reemployed following a period of uniformed
serviceis entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the
employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and seniority-
based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee had
remained continuously employed. Federal Department of Labor regulation 20 CFR
§1002.210 provides that in determining entitlement to seniority and seniority-based rights



and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or necessitated by uniformed
serviceis not considered a break in employment. The rights and benefits protected by
USERRA upon reemployment include those provided by the employer and those required
by statute. Under USERRA, areemployed service member would be eligible for leave
under OFLA if the number of days and the number of hours of work for which the
service member was employed by the civilian employer, together with the number of
days and number of hours of work for which the service member would have been
employed by the civilian employer during the period of uniformed service, meet OFLA's
eligibility requirements. In the event that a service member is denied OFLA leave for
failing to satisfy the OFLA days and hours of work requirement due to absence from
employment necessitated by uniformed service, the service member may have a cause of
action under USERRA but not under OFLA.

NOTE: USERRA aso appliesto leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act
of 1993, 29 USC §2601-2654 (FMLA).

(d) ORS 659A.082—659A.088 provides that an employee reemployed following a period
of uniformed serviceis entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits
that the employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and
seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee
had remained continuously employed. In determining entitlement to seniority and
seniority-based rights and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or
necessitated by uniformed serviceis not considered a break in employment. If a
reemployed service member was eligible for leave under OFLA prior to the date
uniformed service began, OFLA's eligibility requirements are considered met.

(e) For the purpose of qualifying as an eligible employee, the employee need not work
solely in the state of Oregon.

(7) "Family member" means the spouse, same-gender domestic partner, custodial parent,
non-custodial parent, adoptive parent, foster parent, biologica parent, parent-in-law,
parent of same-gender domestic partner, grandparent or grandchild of the employee, or a
person with whom the employeeis or was in arelationship of in loco parentis. It also
includes the biological, adopted, foster or stepchild of an employee or the child of an
employee's same-gender domestic partner. For the purposes of OFLA, an employee's
child in any of these categories may be either aminor or an adult at the time serious
health condition leave is taken.

(8) "FMLA" isthe federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 USC 8§2601.

(9) “Foreseeable leave” means leave taken for a purpose set out in ORS 659A.159 that is
not “unforeseeable leave” as defined in OAR 839-009-0210(21).

(10) "Foster child" means a child, not adopted, but being reared as a result of legal
process, by a person other than the child's natural parent.

(11) "Gender" means an individual's assigned sex at birth, gender identity, or gender
expression.

(12) "Gender expression” means the manner in which an individual's gender identity is
expressed, including, but not limited to, through dress, appearance, manner, speech, or
lifestyle, whether or not that expression is different from that traditionally associated with
the individual's assigned sex at birth.



(13) "Gender identity" means an individual's gender-related identity, whether or not that
identity is different from that traditionally associated with the individual's assigned sex at
birth, including, but not limited to, a gender identity that is transgender or androgynous.
(14) "Hedlth care provider" means.

(a) A person who is primarily responsible for providing health care to an eligible
employee or afamily member of an eligible employee, who is performing within the
scope of the person’s professional license or certificate and who is.

(A) A physician licensed to practice medicine under ORS 677.110, including a doctor of
osteopathy;

(B) A podiatrist licensed under ORS 677.825;

(C) A dentist licensed under ORS 679.090;

(D) A psychologist licensed under ORS 675.030;

(E) An optometrist licensed under ORS 683.070;

(F) A naturopath licensed under ORS 685.080;

(G) A registered nurse licensed under ORS 678.050;

(H) A nurse practitioner certified under ORS 678.375;

(I) A direct entry midwife licensed under ORS 687.420;

(J) A licensed registered nurse who is certified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing as a
nurse midwife nurse practitioner;

(K) A regulated social worker authorized to practice regul ated social work under ORS
675.510 to 675.600;

(L) A chiropractic physician licensed under ORS 684.054, but only to the extent the
chiropractic physician provides treatment consisting of manua manipulation of the spine
to correct a subluxation demonstrated to exist by X-rays;

(M) A physician’s assistant licensed under ORS 677.512.

(b) A person who is primarily responsible for the treatment of an eligible employee or a
family member of an eligible employee solely through spiritual means, including but not
limited to a Christian Science practitioner.

(15) "In loco parentis' meansin the place of a parent, having financial or day-to-day
responsibility for the care of achild. A legal or biological relationship is not required.
(16) "Intermittent leave" means leave taken in multiple blocks of time and/or requiring an
altered or reduced work schedule.

(17) "OFLA" isthe Oregon Family Leave Act, ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186.

(18) "OFLA leave" means aleave of absence for purposes described in ORS 659A.159,
HB 2950, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) and OAR 839-009-0230(1) through (5).
Except that "OFLA leave" does not include |eave taken by an eligible employee who is
unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury, as defined in ORS 656.005,
unless the employee has refused a suitable offer of light duty or modified employment
under ORS 659A.043(3)(a)(D) or 659A.046(3)(d). See ORS 659A.162, OAR 839-006-
0131(2) and 839-006-0136(4).

(29) "OFLA leave year," for calculating the OFLA leave year entitlement, means a
calendar year (January to December), afixed 12-month period such as afiscal year, a 12-
month period measured forward from the date of the employee's first OFLA leave, or a
12-month period measured backward from the date the employee uses any OFLA leave.
The option selected must be applied to al employees. In the absence of an employer



policy or collective bargaining agreement defining how an OFLA leave year will be
measured, a calendar year will be used.

(20) "Serious health condition" means an illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental
condition of an employee or family member:

(a) That requiresinpatient carein amedical care facility such as a hospital, hospice or
residential facility such as a nursing home. When afamily member residesin along-term
residential care facility, leave applies only to:

(A) Transition periods spent moving the family member from one home or facility to
another, including time to make arrangements for such transitions,

(B) Transportation or other assistance required for afamily member to obtain care from a
physician; or

(C) Serious health conditions as described in (b) through (h) of section (20) of thisrule.
(b) That the treating health care provider judges to pose an imminent danger of death, or
that isterminal in prognosis with areasonable possibility of death in the near future;

(c) That requires constant or continuing care such as home care administered by a health
care professional;

(d) That involves a period of incapacity. Incapacity isthe inability to perform at least one
essential job function, or to attend school or perform regular daily activities for more than
three consecutive calendar days and any subsequent required treatment or recovery
period relating to the same condition. This incapacity must involve:

(A) Two or more treatments by a health care provider; or

(B) One treatment plus aregimen of continuing care.

(e) That resultsin aperiod of incapacity or treatment for a chronic serious health
condition that requires periodic visits for treatment by a health care provider, continues
over an extended period of time, and may cause episodic rather than a continuing period
of incapacity, such as asthma, diabetes or epilepsy;

(f) That involves permanent or long-term incapacity due to a condition for which
treatment may not be effective, such as Alzheimer's disease, a severe stroke or terminal
stages of adisease. The employee or family member must be under the continuing care of
a health care provider, but need not be receiving active treatment;

(9) That involves multiple treatments for restorative surgery or for a condition such as
chemotherapy for cancer, physical therapy for arthritis, or dialysis for kidney disease that
if not treated would likely result in incapacity of more than three days; or

(h) That involves any period of disability of afemale due to pregnancy or childbirth or
period of absence for prenatal care.

(21) “Unforeseeable leave” means leave taken as aresult of:

(a) An unexpected serious health condition of an employee or family member of an
employee; or

(b) An unexpected illness, injury or condition of a child of the employee that requires
home care; or

(c) A premature birth or a placement for adoption or foster care the exact date of which
cannot be previously determined with certainty.

(d) The death of afamily member.

(21) “Spouse” includes individuals in same sex marriages validly performed in other
jurisdictions.



Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805
Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150-659A.186, 659A.043, 659A.046, H.B. 2950, 77"
Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013); OAR 105-010-0018

839-009-0230

Purposesfor Taking OFLA Leave

Eligible employees may take OFLA leave for the purposes commonly referred to as
parental leave, serious health condition leave, pregnancy disability leave, sick child leave,
and the death of afamily member.

(1) Parental leave isleave taken to care for the employee's newborn, newly adopted or
newly placed foster child under 18 years of age or for a newly adopted or newly placed
foster child 18 years of age or older who is incapable of self care because of a physical or
mental impairment. It includes leave time to effectuate the legal process required for
placement of afoster child or the adoption of a child.

(2) Serious health condition leave is leave taken:

(a) To provide care for afamily member with a serious health condition as defined in
839-009-0210(20); or

(b) To recover from or seek treatment for a serious health condition that renders an
employee unable to perform at least one essential function of the employee's regular
position.

(3) Pregnancy disability leaveis leave taken by afemale employee for a disability related
to pregnancy or childbirth, occurring before or after the birth of the child, or for prenatal
care. Pregnancy disability leave is aform of serious health condition leave.

(4) Sick child leaveisleave taken to care for an employee's child suffering from an
illness or injury that requires home care but is not a serious health condition. An
employer is not required to grant leave for routine medical or dental appointments.

(5) Leave to deal with the death of afamily member isleave taken to attend the funeral or
aternative to afunera of the family member, to make arrangements necessitated by the
death of the family member, or to grieve the death of the family member.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186, H.B. 2950, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.
2013)

839-009-0240

Length of Leave and Other Conditions of OFLA Leave

(1) An igible employee is entitled to up to atotal of 12 weeks of OFLA leave in any
one-year period.

(2) In addition to the 12 weeks of leave authorized by ORS 659A.162 (1), afemale
eligible employee may take atotal of 12 weeks of |eave within the same leave year for an
illness, injury or condition related to pregnancy or childbirth that disables the employee
from performing any available job duties offered by the employer. The employee may
use all or part of the 12 weeks of leave authorized by ORS 659A.162(1) and all or part of
the 12 weeks of pregnancy disability leave in any order. The employee need not exhaust
either type of leave in order to use the other.

(3) An €eligible employee taking the entire 12 weeks of OFLA leave authorized by ORS
659A.162 (1) for parental leave may take an additional 12 weeks of sick child leave



within the same leave year. If the employee uses less than 12 weeks of parental |eave,
however, no additional sick child leave is available, except that the balance of the 12
weeks of OFLA leave authorized by ORS 659A.162 may be used for sick child leave or
for any OFLA leave purpose.

(4) A female eligible employee may take up to 36 weeks of OFLA leave in one leave
year that includes up to 12 weeks of pregnancy disability leave, 12 weeks of parental
leave, and up to 12 weeks of sick child leave.

(5) Ané€ligible employee may take up to 24 weeks of OFLA leave in one leave year
under the following circumstances:

(a) The employee takes 12 weeks of parental leave, followed by:

(b) Up to 12 weeks of sick child leave.

(6) An €ligible employee taking leave under HB 2950, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or 2013)
and OAR 839-009-0230(5) to deal with the death of afamily member is entitled to take
up to atotal of two weeks of OFLA leave for that purpose.

() An eligible employee is entitled to take up to two weeks of OFLA leave upon the
death of each family member of the employee within any one-year period, except that the
leave taken to deal with the deaths of family members may not exceed the total in ORS
659A.159(1) and subsection (1) of thisrule.

(b) A covered employer may not require an eligible employee to take multiple leave
periods concurrently if more than one family member of the employee dies during the
one year period. If multiple family members of an eligible employee die concurrently, an
eligible employee may take up to two weeks of |eave for the death of each family
member.

(c) All leave taken under HB 2950, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or 2013) and OAR 839-009-
0230(5) shall be counted toward the total period of OFLA leave authorized in ORS
659A.159(1) and subsection (1) of thisrule.

(d) All leave taken for the death of afamily member must be completed within 60 days of
the date on which the eligible employee receives notice of the death of the family
member. Notice of the death of afamily member may be by any means and from any
source.

(7) Two or more eligible employees who are family members of each other as defined in
OAR 839-009-0210(7), working for the same covered employer, may take OFLA leave
at the same time with that covered employer only under the following circumstances:

(a) One dligible family member needs to care for another eigible family member who is
suffering from a serious health condition;

(b) One digible family member needsto care for a child suffering from a serious or
nonserious health condition while another eligible family member is suffering from a
serious health condition;

(c) Two or more eligible family members are suffering from one or more serious health
conditions;

(d) The employer allows family members to take concurrent leave; or

(e) The eligible family members are taking leave described in HB 2950, 77th Leg., Reg.
Session (Or. 2013) and OAR 839-009-0230 (5).

(8) Unless the covered employer approves otherwise, parental |eave shall be taken in one
uninterrupted period, and shall be completed within 12 months of the birth, adoption or
placement of the child. An exception shall be made to alow intermittent parental leaveto



effectuate adoption or foster placement of the child. Parental leave taken to effectuate
adoption or foster placement of achild is part of the total amount of parental |eave
available to the employee, but need not be taken in one, uninterrupted period with any
remaining parental leave taken after the actual placement of the child.

(9) The birth, adoption or foster placement of multiple children at one time entitles the
employee to take only one 12-week period of parental leave.

(10) Sick child leave need not be provided to an eligible employee by a covered employer
if another family member of the child, including a non-custodial biological parent, is
willing and able to care for the child.

(11) A covered employer may not reduce the amount of OFLA leave availableto an
eligible employee under this section by any period the employee is unable to work
because of adisabling compensable injury as defined in ORS 656.005.

(a) If an employee uses OFLA leave for aworkplace injury pending acceptance of a
workers' compensation claim, upon acceptance of the claim any OFLA leave used for the
workplace injury must be restored to the employee. If the claim is denied, OFLA leave
will be deducted from the employee's entitlement.

(A) If the employer uses arolling forward leave year, afixed |eave year or a calendar
leave year, and aworker's compensation claim isfirst denied and then accepted, the
employer must restore any OFLA leave taken in the leave year in which the worker's
compensation claim is accepted.

(b) An employee must be eligible under OAR 839-009-0210(6) in order to use OFLA
leave following a period the employee is unable to work because of a disabling
compensableinjury as defined in ORS 656.005.

(12) Notwithstanding section (11) of thisrule, the employer may reduce the amount of
OFLA leave available to an eligible employee under this section by any period the
employee is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury as defined in ORS
656.005 after the employee has refused a suitable offer of light duty or modified
employment under ORS 659A.043(3)(a)(D) or 659A.046(3)(d). See ORS 659A.043(4),
659A.046(5), 659A.162, OAR 839-006-0131(2) and 839-006-0136(4).

(13)_For the purpose of intermittent leave, OFLA |leave entitlement is calculated for an
employee by multiplying the number of hours the employee normally works per week by
12. (For example, an employee normally employed to work 30 hours per week is entitled
to 12 times 30 hours, or atotal of 360 hours OFLA leave.)

(a) If an employee's schedule varies from week to week, a weekly average of the hours
worked over the 12 months worked prior to the beginning of the leave period must be
used for calculating the employee's normal work week. (For example, an employee
working an average of 25 hours per week is entitled to 12 times 25 hours, or atotal of
300 hours OFLA leave.)

(b) If an employee takes intermittent or reduced work schedule OFLA leave, only the
actual number of hours of leave taken may be counted toward the 12 weeks of OFLA
leave to which the employee is entitled.

(14) An employee who has previously qualified for and taken some portion of OFLA
leave must requalify as an "eligible employee” as defined in OAR 839-009-0210(6) each
time the employee begins additional OFLA leave within the same leave year. Exceptions:
(8) An employee who has been granted OFLA leave for aqualifying serious health
condition of the employee or family member need not requalify under OAR 839-009-



0210(6) each time the employee takes leave for the same individual and the same serious
health condition during the same leave year.

(b) A female eligible employee taking, in any order, some or al of 12 weeks of OFLA
pregnancy disability leave and some or all of 12 weeks of OFLA leave for any other
purpose, need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210(6) each time she takes OFLA
leave within the same leave year.

(c) An employee who has taken 12 weeks of OFLA parental leave, need not requalify
under OAR 839-009-0210(6) for up to an additional 12 weeks of leave within the same
leave year when used for the purposes of OFLA sick child leave.

(15) An exempt employeeis a salaried executive, administrative or professional
employee under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (see 29 CFR § 541 through
541.315) or the state minimum wage and overtime laws (ORS chapters 652 and 653).

(d) When OFLA leaveis aso covered by FMLA and the employee takes intermittent
leave in blocks of less than one day, the employer may reduce the employee's salary for
the part-day absence without the loss of the employee's exempt status in accordance with
OAR 839-020-0004(30)(a).

(b) When OFLA leaveisnot covered by FMLA (e.g., the employer has 25 to 49
employees, the leave istaken for asick child, for the serious health condition of a parent-
in-law, for the serious health condition of aregistered domestic partner or for the serious
health condition of aregistered domestic partner's parents), and the employee takes
intermittent leave in blocks of less than one day, an employer will jeopardize the
employee's exempt status if the employer reduces the employee's salary for the part-day
absence.

(16) The requirements of OFLA do not apply to any employer offering eligible
employees a nondiscriminatory cafeteria plan, as defined by section 125 of the Internal
Revenue Code of 1986, that provides as one of its options employee leave at least as
generous as the leave required by OFLA.

(17) ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 and these rules do not limit any right of an employeeto
any leave that is similar to the leave described in ORS 695A.159(1) and OAR 839-009-
0230 and to which the employee may be entitled under any agreement between the
employer and the employee, collective bargaining agreement or employer policy.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150-659A.186, 659A.043, 659A.046, H.B. 2950, 77"
Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013)

839-009-0250

OFLA Leave: Notice by Employee; Designation by Employer; Notice by Employer
Regarding Eligibility or Qualification

(1) Except in situations described in sections (2) and (3) of thisrule, a covered employer
may require an eligible employee to give 30 days written notice of the need for
foreseeable leave, including an explanation of the need for leave, before starting OFLA
leave. The employee is not required to specify that the request isfor OFLA leave.

(d) An employee able to give advance notice of the need to take OFLA leave must follow
the employer's known, reasonable and customary procedures for requesting any kind of
leave, absent unusual circumstances.



(b) An employer may request additional information to determine that a requested leave
qualifies for designation as OFLA leave, except in cases of parenta leave.

(c) The employer may provisionally designate an absence as OFLA leave until sufficient
information is received to make a determination. An employee who calls in sick without
providing further information will not be considered to have provided sufficient notice to
trigger an employer’ s obligations under OFLA.

(d) An employee on OFLA leave who needs to take more leave than originally authorized
must give the employer reasonable notice prior to the end of the authorized leave,
following the employer's known, reasonable and customary procedures for requesting any
kind of leave. However, when an authorized period of OFLA leave has ended and an
employee does not return to work, an employer having reason to believe the continuing
absence may qualify as OFLA leave must request additional information, and may not
treat a continuing absence as unauthorized unless requested information is not provided
or does not support OFLA qualification.

(2) When an employee is unable to give the employer 30 days notice but has some
advance notice of the need for leave, the employee must give the employer as much
advance notice asis practicable.

(3) When taking OFLA leave in an unforeseeabl e situation, an employee must give verbal
or written notice within 24 hours before or after commencement of the leave. This notice
may be given by any other person on behalf of an employee taking unforeseeable OFLA
leave. The employer may require written notice by the employee within three days of the
employee's return to work.

(4) If an employee failsto give notice as required by sections (1), (2), and (3) of thisrule
or the employer's policies:

(a) The employer may reduce the total period of unused OFLA leave by an amount no
greater than the number of days of |eave the employee has taken without providing timely
notice of leave. This reduction of leave may not exceed three weeks in a one-year leave
period (see ORS 659A.165(4); and

(b) The employee may also be subject to disciplinary action under an employer's
uniformly applied policy or practice. This practice must be consistent with the employer's
discipline for similar violations of comparable rules.

(c) A reduction of OFLA leave under this rule may not limit leave under HB 2950, 77"
Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) and OAR 839-009-0230(5) for the death of afamily
member.

(5) Except in the case of sick child leave and |eave for the death of afamily member,
when an employee requests OFLA leave, or when the employer acquires knowledge that
an employee's leave may be for an OFLA-qualifying reason, the employer must provide
the employee within five business days a written request for information to verify
whether the leave is OFLA-qualifying. Within five business days of receiving the
requested information, the employer must notify the employee whether or not the
employeeis eligible and qualifies to take OFLA |eave absent extenuating circumstances.
All OFLA absences for the same qualifying reason are considered a single leave event
and employee qualification asto that reason for leave does not change during the
applicable 12-month period unless the reason is no longer qualifying. If an employer
determines that an employee does not qualify for OFLA leave for the reason requested,
the employer must notify the employee in writing that the employee does not qualify.



(a) The written notice that the employee does not qualify must state that the employeeis
ineligible or the reason for requested |eave does not qualify for OFLA leave and at |east
one reason why the employee is not eligible or the reason does not qualify for leave.

(b) If an employer determines that an employee does not qualify for OFLA leave for the
reason requested because a medical verification is incomplete or insufficient, the written
notice that the employee does not qualify must state what additional informationis
required to make the verification complete or sufficient, and the employee must be
afforded a reasonable period of time to correct the deficiency.

(6) An employer may not request medical verification of the need for sick child leave
until after an employee’ s third occurrence of sick child leave in the same OFLA leave
year.

(7) When an employee fails to respond to reasonable employer requests for medical
verification of the employee’ s requested reason for leave to determine whether the leave
isOFLA qualifying, the employer may deny use of OFLA |eave until medical
verification is received.

(8) An employer may not request medical verification of the need for OFLA leave under
HB 2950, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) and OAR 839-009-0230(5) for the death of
afamily member.

(9) An employer may not reduce an employee's available OFLA leave or take
disciplinary action unless the employer has posted the required Bureau of Labor and
Industries Family Leave Act notice or the employer can otherwise establish that the
employee had actual knowledge of the notice requirement.

(10) Federal regulations prohibit reducing the leave period under FMLA, but allow an
employer to delay the start of leave because of improper notice (see 29 CFR Section
825.304).

(11) When an employeeis subject to both FMLA and OFLA, the employer must apply
the discipline available under (4)(a), (b) or (6) of thisrule that is most beneficial to the
employee'sindividual circumstances.

(12) An employee who refuses an offer of employment under ORS 659A.043(3)(a)(D) or
659A.046(3)(d) and who otherwise is entitled to OFLA leave under 659A.150 to
659A.186:

(a) Automatically commences a period of OFLA |eave upon refusing the offer of
employment; and

(b) Need not give notice to the employer that would otherwise be required by thisrule
that the employee is commencing a period of leave. See ORS 659A.162, OAR 839-006-
0131(2) and 839-006-0136(4).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150-659A.186, 659A.043, 659A.046, H.B. 2950, 77"
Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013)

839-009-0270

Job Protection

(1) An employer must restore an employee returning from OFLA leave, including
intermittent and alternative duty leave, to the employee's former position if the job till
exists, evenif it has been filled during the employee's OFLA leave. The former position
isthe position held by the employee at the time OFLA |eave began, regardless of whether
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the job has been renamed or reclassified. (For example, adelivery driver must be returned
to the same route, at the same rate of pay and benefits, driving the same truck, delivering
the same goods, on the same shift and working from the same location as when the driver
started OFLA leave.)

(2) Any worker hired during an eligible employee's |eave to perform the same work that
the eligible employee performed before the |eave was taken is a replacement worker.
When the eligible employee notifies the employer that the employeeis ready to return to
work, the employer must give that employee the opportunity to work any hours that the
replacement worker would otherwise have been scheduled to work.

(3) The employee is not entitled to return to the former position if the employee would
have been bumped if OFLA leave had not been taken.

(4) If the position held by the employee at the time OFLA leave began hasin fact been
eliminated and not merely renamed or reclassified, the employer must restore the
employee to any available, equivalent position.

() An available position is a position that is vacant or not permanently filled.

(b) An equivalent position is aposition that is the same as the former position in as many
aspects as possible. If an equivalent position is not available at the employee's former job
site, the employee may be restored to an equivalent position within 20 miles of the former
job site.

(5) Unless the terms of a collective bargaining agreement, other agreement or the
employer's policy provide otherwise:

(&) An employee on OFLA leave does not accrue seniority, production bonuses or other
benefits that would accrue while the employee is working;

(b) An employee has no greater right to ajob or other employment benefits than if the
employee had not taken OFLA leave; and

(c) An employee is subject to layoff the same as similarly situated employees not taking
OFLA leave.

(6) Except for benefits used while on OFLA leave, benefits an employee was entitled to
prior to starting OFLA leave must be restored in full upon the employee's return to work.
(For example, an employer's medical insurance requires athree-month waiting period for
health insurance coverage. An employee works seven months, takes OFLA |eave for 12
weeks and returns to work with health problems. The employee must be covered
immediately at the same level of coverage, with the same benefits as before the
commencement of the OFLA leave.) The benefits do not have to be restored, however, if
such benefits have been eliminated or changed for similarly situated employees. This
appliesto all benefit provisions.

(d) An employer electing to continue health or other insurance coverage for an employee
on OFLA leave may require that the employee pay only the same share of health or other
insurance premium during the leave that the employee paid prior to the leave.

(b) If an employee cannot or will not pay such costs, the employer may elect to
discontinue benefit coverage, unlessto do so would render the employer unable to restore
the employee to full benefit coverage as required in section (6) of thisrule.

(c) If an employer pays any portion of any employee's benefit coverage for employees on
non-OFLA leave, the employer electing to continue benefits during OFLA |eave must
pay that portion during OFLA leave.
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(d) If the employer pays (directly or indirectly, voluntarily or as required by state or
federal statute) any part of the employee's share of health or other insurance premium
while an employee is on OFLA leave, the employer may deduct up to 10 percent of the
employee's gross pay each pay period after the employee returns to work until the amount
isrepad.

(e) If an employee fails to return to work — unless the failure to return to work is because
of a serious health condition for which the employee would be entitled to OFLA leave or
another circumstance beyond the employee's control — the employer may recover the
employee's share of benefits paid by the employer. The employer may use any legal
means to collect the amount owed for the employee's share of benefits paid by the
employer, including deducting the amount from the employee's final paycheck.

(7) An employer may require an employee to follow the employer's established leave
policy regarding periodic reporting to the employer of the employee's current status.
Before restoring the employee to work after taking OFLA |eave for the employee's own
serious health condition, the employer may require the employee to present verification
from the employee's health care provider that the employee is able to resume work,
provided such requirement is applied pursuant to a uniformly applied practice or policy
of the employer.

(a) Pursuant to ORS 659A.168(1), the employer is responsible for any co-pay or other
out-of-pocket costs incurred by the employee in providing the verification.

(b) The employer may not require the employee to obtain a second opinion.

(8) If an employee gives unequivocal notice of intent not to return to work from OFLA
leave:

(a) The employee is entitled to compl ete the approved OFLA leave, providing that the
original need for OFLA leave till exists. The employee remains entitled to all the rights
and protections under OFLA, including but not limited to, the use of vacation, sick leave
and health benefits pursuant to OAR 839-009-0270 and 839-009-0280, except that:

(A) The employer's obligations under OFLA to restore the employee's position and to
restore benefits upon the completion of leave cease, except as required by federal
COBRA law, 29 USC 1161 et seq.; and

(B) The employer is not required to hold a position vacant or available for the employee
who gives unequivocal notice of intent not to return.

(9) An employer may not use the provisions of this section as a subterfuge to avoid the
employer's responsibilities under OFLA.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

839-009-0280

Use of Paid Leave: OFLA

(1) Except as provided in this rule or the terms of a collective bargaining agreement, an
agreement between the eligible employee and the covered employer, or an employer
policy, OFLA leaveis not required to be granted with pay.

(2) An employee eligible to take OFLA leaveis entitled to use accrued paid sick leave,
personal leave, vacation leave or any other paid leave that is offered in lieu of vacation
leave, during the period of OFLA leave. Asused in thisrule, accrued paid sick leave does
not include disability insurance or disability benefits.
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(3) An employer may require an employee to use accrued paid leave during OFLA leave
that would otherwise be unpaid, and may determine the order in which paid leaveisto be
used if to do so is consistent with a collective bargaining agreement or other written
agreement between the eligible employee and the covered employer or an employer
policy. The employer may exercise these prerogatives only if:

(a) Prior to the commencement of OFLA leave, the employer provides written notice to
the employee that accrued paid leave is to be used during OFLA leave; or

(b) Within five business days of the employee's notice of unforeseeable leave, the
employer provides written notice to the employee.

(4) An igible employee or covered employer may choose to have the employee's OFLA
leave run concurrently with atype of paid or unpaid leave not referenced in these rules,
as provided or allowed under an employer policy, except that a covered employer may
not reduce the amount of OFLA |eave available to an eligible employee by any period the
employee is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury which entitles the
employee to compensation from the covered employer. See 659A.162(6) and ORS
656.005.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.150 — 659A.186

Leavefor Victims of Domestic Violence, Harassment, Sexual Assault or Stalking

839-009-0325

Purpose and Scope: Rulesfor ORS 659A.270-.290

(1) The Civil Rights Division of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (“division”) enforces
ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 which require certain employers to grant leave for victims of
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking. These rules implement and
interpret ORS 659A.270 to 659A285.

(2) Thedivision enforces ORS 659A.290, requiring all employersto provide reasonable
safety accommodation (including use of available paid leave from employment) for, and
prohibiting discrimination or retaliation against, victims of domestic violence,
harassment, sexual assault or stalking. The rulesimplementing and interpreting ORS
659A.290 are found at OAR 839-005-0160 and 839-005-0170.

(3) ORS 659A.190 to 659A.198 provide for leave for crime victims to attend criminal
proceedings. The division does not have authority to enforce ORS 659A.190 to
659A.198.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285

839-009-0330

Prohibited Discrimination under ORS 659A.270-.290; Employer Notice Obligations
(2) It isan unlawful employment practice for an employer covered under ORS 659A.270
to 659A.285 to deny leave for victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or
stalking to an eligible employee or to discharge, threaten to discharge, demote, suspend
or in any manner discriminate or retaliate against an employee with regard to promotion,
compensation or other terms, conditions or privileges of employment because the
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employee inquires about, applies for, or takes leave as provided under ORS 659A.270 to
659A.285 for victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.

(2) It isan unlawful employment practice under ORS 659A.290 for any employer to
discriminate against an individual because an individual is avictim of domestic violence,
harassment, sexual assault or stalking. See OAR 839-005-0160 and 839-005-0170.

(3) Every employer covered under ORS 659A.270 to ORS 659A.285 shall keep
summaries of ORS 659A.270 to 695A.285 and summaries of all rules promulgated for
the enforcement of these statutes posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about
the premises where the employees of the covered employer are employed.

(a)Employers may download any number of summaries from the website of the Bureau
of Labor and Industries at no charge, or upon request of a printed copy from the bureau,
thefirst copy shall be furnished without charge.

(4) Upon request, the bureau shall furnish the complete text of all rules promulgated
pursuant to ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 to any employer without charge.

(5) A public employer, defined by H.B. 3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) asthe
State of Oregon, shall annually inform all employees of the provisions of 659A.290,
regarding reasonabl e saf ety accommodations.

(6) If apublic employer defined by H.B. 3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) asthe
State of Oregon, has knowledge, or reasonably should have knowledge, that an employee
isavictim of domestic violence, harassment, or stalking and that any direct or indirect
communication related to this victimization is made or attempted to be madein the
workplace to the eligible employee, the public employer shall immediately inform the
employee and offer to report the communication to law enforcement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 — 659A.285, H.B. 3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.
2013)

839-009-0340

Definitions: Leave under ORS 659A.270-.285

(1) "Covered employer" means an employer who employs 6 or more individualsin the
state of Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeksin
the year in which an eligible employee takes | eave under ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 for
victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking or in the year
immediately preceding the year in which an eligible employee takes the |eave.

(2) "Eligible employee" means an employee who is employed in the state of Oregon on
the date leave begins under ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 for victims of domestic violence,
harassment, sexual assault or stalking and is avictim of domestic violence, harassment,
sexual assault or stalking or isthe parent or guardian of aminor child or dependent who
isthe victim of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.

(3) "Dependent” includes an adult dependent child substantially limited by a physical or
mental impairment as defined by ORS 659A.104(1)(a), (3), and (4) or any adult of whom
the employee has guardianship.

(4) "Foster child" means a child, not adopted, but being reared as aresult of legal process,
by a person other than the child's natural parent.

(5) "Health care professional” means a physician or other health care practitioner who is
licensed, certified or otherwise authorized by law to provide health care services.
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(6) "Immediate family" means spouse, domestic partner, father, mother, sibling, child,
stepchild, grandparent, or any person who had the same primary residence as the victim
at the time of the domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.

(7) "In loco parentis’ means in the place of a parent, having financial or day-to-day
responsibility for the care of achild. A legal or biological relationship is not required.

(8) "Intermittent leave" means leave taken in multiple blocks of time and/or requiring an
altered or reduced work schedule.

(9) "Law enforcement officer" means all police, corrections, and parole and probation
officers who are included in the Public Safety Standards and Training Act as described in
ORS 181.610 and 181.651.

(10) "Minor child," means abiological, adopted, foster or stepchild, or a child with whom
the employee is or was in arelationship of in loco parentis. It aso includes the biological,
adopted, foster or stepchild of an employee's registered domestic partner. The minor child
must be under the age of 18.

(11) "Parent or guardian™ means a custodial parent, non-custodia parent, adoptive parent,
foster parent, biological parent or an employee who is or was in relationship of in loco
parentis with aminor child or a dependent with whom the employeeisor wasin a
relationship of in loco parentis.

(12) "Protective order" means an order authorized by ORS 30.866, 107.095(1)(c),
107.700 to 107.735, 124.005 to 124.040 or 163.730 to 163.750 or any other order that
restrains an individual from contact with an eligible employee or the employee's minor
child or dependent.

(13) “Public employer” for purposes of H.B.3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.2013) and
these rules means the State of Oregon.

(14) "Reasonable leave" means any amount of leave that does not cause an undue
hardship on a covered employer's business.

(15) “Spouse” includes individuals in same sex marriages validly performed in other
jurisdictions.

(16) "Victim of domestic violence" means:

(&) Anindividual who has been threatened with abuse or who isavictim of abuse, as
defined in ORS 107.705; or

(b) Any other person who has suffered financial, social, psychological or physical harm
asaresult of domestic violence committed against the victim as defined in (a), including
amember of the victim'simmediate family.

(c) In no event will the alleged perpetrator of the domestic violence be considered a
victim for the purposes of these rules.

(17) “Victim of harassment” means.

(&) Anindividual against whom harassment has been committed as described in Oregon’s
criminal code at ORS 166.065; or

(b) Any other person who has suffered financial, social, psychological or physical harm
asaresult of harassment committed against the victim as defined in subsection (a),
including amember of the victim's immediate family.

(c) In no event will the alleged perpetrator of the harassment be considered avictim for
the purposes of these rules.
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(18) "Victim services provider" means a prosecutor-based victim assistance program or a
nonprofit program offering safety planning, counseling, support or advocacy related to
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.

(29) "Victim of sexual assault" means:

(@) Anindividual against whom a sexual offense has been threatened or committed as
described in ORS 163.305 to 163.467 or 163.525; or

(b) Any other person who has suffered financial, social, psychological or physical harm
asaresult of asexual assault committed against the victim as defined in (@), including a
member of the victim'simmediate family.

(c) In no event will the alleged perpetrator of the sexual offense be considered avictim
for the purposes of these rules.

(20) "Victim of stalking” means:

(a) Anindividual against whom stalking has been threatened or committed as described
in ORS 163.732; or

(b) Any other person who has suffered financial, social, psychological or physical harm
as aresult of astalking committed against the victim as defined in (a), including a
member of the victim'simmediate family; or

(c) Anindividual who has obtained a court’ s stalking protective order or atemporary
court’s stalking protective order under ORS 30.866.

(d) In no event will the alleged perpetrator of the stalking be considered avictim for the
purposes of these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285, H.B. 3263 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.
2013); OAR 105-010-0018

839-009-0345

Purposesfor Taking Leave under ORS 659A.270-.285

A covered employer shall allow an eligible employee to take reasonable leave from
employment for any of the following purposes:

(1) To seek legal or law enforcement assistance or remedies to ensure the health and
safety of the eligible employee or the eligible employee's minor child or dependent,
including preparing for and participating in protective order proceedings or other civil or
criminal legal proceedings related to domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or
stalking.

(2) To seek medical treatment for or to recover from injuries caused by domestic violence
or harassment or sexual assault or stalking of the eligible employee or the eligible
employee's minor child or dependent.

(3) To obtain, or to assist the eligible employee's minor child or dependent in obtaining
counseling from alicensed menta health professional related to an experience of
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.

(4) To obtain services from avictim services provider for the eligible employee or the
eligible employee's minor child or dependent.

(5) Torelocate or take steps to secure an existing home to ensure the health and safety of
the eligible employee or the eligible employee's minor child or dependent. Relocate
includes:
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(a) Transition periods spent moving the eligible employee or the eligible employee's
minor child or dependent from one home or facility to another, including but not limited
to time to pack and make security or other arrangements for such transitions related to
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking;

(b) Transportation or other assistance required for an eligible employee or the eligible
employee's minor child or dependent related to the domestic violence, harassment, sexual
assault or stalking.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285

839-009-0362

Notice by Employee: Leave under ORS 659A.270-.285

(1) An eligible employee seeking leave under ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 for victims of
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking will give the covered employer
reasonabl e advance notice of the employee's intention to take leave unless giving the
advance notice is not feasible.

(2) When taking leave in an unanticipated or emergency situation, an eligible employee
must give ora or written notice as soon as is practicable. This notice may be given by any
other person on behalf of an eligible employee taking unanticipated |eave.

(3) An digible employee able to give advance notice of the need to take leave must
follow the covered employer's known, reasonable and customary procedures for
requesting any kind of leave;

(4) The covered employer may require the eligible employee to provide certification that:
(a) The eligible employee or the eligible employee's minor child or dependent isavictim
of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking as defined in OAR 839-009-
0340(14), (15), (16) and (17); and

(b) Theleavetaken isfor one of the purposesidentified in OAR 839-009-0345.

(5) Any of the following constitutes sufficient certification:

(a) A copy of apolice report indicating that the eligible employee or the eligible
employee's minor child or dependent was avictim or aleged victim of domestic violence,
harassment, sexual assault or stalking as defined in OAR 839-009-0340(14), (15), (16)
and (17); or

(b) A copy of aprotective order or other evidence from a court or attorney that the
eligible employee appeared in or is preparing for acivil or crimina proceeding related to
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking as defined in OAR 839-009-
0340(14), (15), (16) and (17); or

(c) Documentation from an attorney, law enforcement officer, health care professional,
licensed mental health professional or counselor, member of the clergy or victim services
provider that the eligible employee or the eligible employee's minor child or dependent is
undergoing treatment or counseling, obtaining services or relocating as a result of
domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking as defined in OAR 839-009-
0340(14), (15), (16) and (17).

(6) Consistent with ORS 659A.306, the covered employer must pay the cost of any
medical verification related to OAR 839-009-0345(1)(b) and (c) not covered by insurance
or other benefit plan.
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(7) The eligible employee will provide the certification within areasonable time after
receiving the covered employer's written request for the certification.

(8) The covered employer may provisionally designate an absence as leave under ORS
659A.270 to 659A.285 for victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or
stalking until sufficient certification is received, if requested, to make a determination.
(9) An digible employee on leave who needs to take more |eave than originally
authorized should give the covered employer notice as soon as is practicable prior to the
end of the authorized leave, following the covered employer's known, reasonable and
customary procedures for requesting any kind of leave. However, when an authorized
period of leave has ended and an eligible employee does not return to work, a covered
employer having reason to believe the continuing absence may qualify as leave under
ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 for victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault
or stalking may request additiona information. If the covered employer requests
additional information the eligible employee will provide the requested information as
soon as is practicable. The covered employer may not treat a continuing absence as
unauthorized unless requested information is not provided or does not support leave
qualification.

(20) All records and information kept by a covered employer regarding an eligible
employee's leave under ORS 659A.270 to 659A.285 for victims of domestic violence,
harassment, sexual assault or stalking, including the fact that the eligible employee has
requested or obtained such leave, are confidential and may not be rel eased without the
express permission of the eligible employee, unless otherwise required by law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285

839-009-0363

Use of Paid Leave: ORS 659A.270-.285

(1) Leaveisunpaid leave unless otherwise provided by:

(a) A collective bargaining agreement;

(b) Theterms of an agreement between the eligible employee and the covered employer;
or

(c) A covered employer's policy.

(2) An digible employee taking leave pursuant to an agreement between the eligible
employee and the covered employer, a collective bargaining agreement or a covered
employer policy may use any paid accrued vacation leave or may use any other paid
leave that is offered by the covered employer in lieu of vacation leave during the period
of leave.

(3) Subject to the terms of any agreement between the eligible employee and the covered
employer or the terms of a collective bargaining agreement or a covered employer policy,
the covered employer may determine the order in which paid accrued leave is to be used
when more than one type of paid accrued leave is available to the employee.

(4) An eligible employee of a public employer shall be granted leave with pay for the
purposesin ORS 659A.272 and OAR 839-009-0345.

(a) “Public employer” for purposes of H.B.3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.2013) and
this rule means the State of Oregon.
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(b) Leave with pay taken under this subsection isin addition to any vacation, sick,
personal business, or other forms of paid or unpaid leave available to the eligible
employee.

(c) The eligible employee must exhaust all other forms of paid |eave before the employee
may use the paid leave under this section.

(d) An €ligible employee may take up to 160 hours of leave with pay authorized by H.B.
3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or. 2013) in each calendar year.

(e) A covered employer shall alow an eligible employee who has exhausted the 160
hours of leave with pay authorized by H.B.3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session to take
reasonabl e additional unpaid leave for the purposesin ORS 659A.272 and OAR 839-009-
0345.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285, H.B. 3263, 77" Leg., Reg. Session (Or.
2013)

839-009-0380

Definitions: OMFLA

(2) “Active duty or call to active duty status’ means duty under a call or order to active
duty, or notification of an impending call or order to active duty, during a contingency
operation, pursuant to Title 10 of the United States Code.

(a) “Contingency operation” means a military operation that:

(A) Isdesignated by the Secretary of Defense as an operation in which members of the
armed forces are or may become involved in military actions, operations, or hostilities
against an enemy of the United States or against an opposing military force; or

(B) Resultsin the call or order to, or retention on, active duty of members of the
uniformed services under section 688, 12301(a), 12302, 12304, 12305, or 12406 of Title
10 of the United States Code, chapter 15 of Title 10 of the United States Code, or any
other provision of law during awar or during a national emergency declared by the
President or Congress. (See 10 U.S.C. 101(a)(13))

(2) “Covered employer” means:

(a) The state, and a department, agency, board or commission of the state; and

(b) A local government, including but not limited to a county, city, town, municipal
corporation, independent public corporation or political subdivision of the state.

(c) A person, firm, corporation, partnership, legal representative, or other business entity
that engages in any business, industry, profession, or activity in the state of Oregon and
that employs 25 or more individuals in the state of Oregon for each working day during
each of 20 or more calendar workweeks in the year in which an eligible employee takes
OMFLA leave or in the year immediately preceding the year in which an eligible
employee takes OMFLA leave;

(3) "Domestic partner” means an individual joined in a domestic partnership.

(4) "Domestic partnership” for the purposes of ORS chapter 659A means two individuals
of the same sex who have received a Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership from
the State of Oregon in compliance with ORS 432.405(1) and rules adopted by the State
Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics.

(5) “Eligible employee” means an individual who performs services for compensation for
an employer for an average of at least 20 hours per week and includes all individuals
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employed at any site owned or operated in Oregon by an employer, but does not include
independent contractors.

(a) In determining an average of at least 20 hours per week, the employer must count
actual hours worked using guidelines set out pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act.
(See 29 CFR § 785)

(b) For the purpose of qualifying as an eligible employee, the employee need not perform
services solely in the state of Oregon.

(c) Eligibility of employees reemployed following a period of uniformed service: The
federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act, 38 USC 43
(USERRA) provides that an employee reemployed following a period of uniformed
serviceis entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the
employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and seniority-
based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee had
remained continuously employed. Federal Department of Labor regulation 20 CFR
1002.210 provides that in determining entitlement to seniority and seniority-based rights
and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or necessitated by uniformed
service is not considered a break in employment. The rights and benefits protected by
USERRA upon reemployment include those provided by the employer and those required
by statute. Under USERRA, areemployed service member would be eligible for OMFLA
leave if the number of days and the number of hours of work for which the service
member was employed by the civilian employer, together with the number of days and
number of hours of work for which the service member would have been employed by
the civilian employer during the period of uniformed service, meet the ligibility
requirements of these rules. In the event that a service member is denied OMFLA leave
for failing to satisfy the days and hours of work requirement due to absence from
employment necessitated by uniformed service, the service member may have a cause of
action under USERRA but not under OMFLA.

(d) ORS 659A.082-659A.088 provides that an employee reemployed following a period
of uniformed service is entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits
that the employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and
seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee
had remained continuously employed. In determining entitlement to seniority and
seniority-based rights and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or
necessitated by uniformed serviceis not considered a break in employment. If a
reemployed service member was eligible for leave under OMFLA prior to the date
uniformed service began, OMFLA's dligibility requirements are considered met.

(6) "Intermittent leave" means leave taken in multiple blocks of time and/or requiring an
altered or reduced work schedule.

(7) “Period of Military Conflict” means a period of war:

(a) Declared by the United States Congress,

(b) Declared by executive order of the President of the United States; or

(c) In which areserve component of the Armed Forces of the United Statesis ordered to
active duty pursuant to Title 32 of the United States Code or section 12301 or 12302 of
Title 10 of the United States Code.

(7) “Spouse” includes individuals in same sex marriages validly performed in other
jurisdictions.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.093(6)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.090 - 659A.099; OAR 105-010-0018

839-009-0390

Length of Leave: OMFLA

(2) During a period of military conflict, an employee who is a spouse or domestic partner
of amember of the Armed Forces of the United States, the National Guard or the military
reserve forces of the United States who has been notified of an impending call or order to
active duty or who has been deployed, is entitled to atotal of 14 days of unpaid leave per
deployment that may be taken:

(a) After the military spouse or domestic partner has been notified of an impending call
or order to active duty and before deployment; and/or

(b) When the military spouse or domestic partner is on leave from deployment.

(2) The 14 day entitlement is per deployment. If multiple deployments occur in an
employee' s leave year, the employeeis entitled to use 14 days of Oregon Military Family
Leave Act (“OMFLA") leave for each deployment.

(3) The 14 days of unpaid leave to which the employeeis entitled are individual dayson
which the employee, if working their normal schedule, would otherwise perform services
for compensation for the employer. (Example: Employee normally works Monday
through Friday. Employeeis entitled to 14 days of leave, which if taken consecutively
would be Monday through Friday on two consecutive weeks plus Monday through
Thursday of the third week.)

(4) OMFLA leave need not be taken in one, uninterrupted period, but may be taken
intermittently.

(a) For the purpose of intermittent leave, OMFLA leave is calculated for an employee by
multiplying the number of hours the employee normally works per day by 14. (For
example, an employee normally employed to work eight hours per day is entitled to 14
times eight hours, or atotal of 112 hours of OMFLA leave.)

(b) If an employee’ s schedule varies from day to day, adaily average of the employee’s
hours must be used for calculating the employee’ s normal work day. For example, an
employee working an average of six hours per day is entitled to 14 times six hours, or a
total of 84 hours of OMFLA leave. An employee working an average of 10 hours per day
isentitled to 14 times 10 hours, or 140 hours.

(c) If an employee takes intermittent OMFLA leave, only the actual number of hours of
leave taken may be counted toward the hours of OMFLA leave to which the employeeis
entitled.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.093(6)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.090 - 659A.099

839-009-0430

Notice by Employee: OMFLA

(1) An €ligible employee seeking Oregon Military Family Leave must provide the
employer with notice of the intention to take leave within five business days of receiving
officia notice of an impending call or order to active duty or of aleave from deployment,
or as soon as is practicable when official noticeis provided fewer than five days before
commencement of the leave.
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(2) The active duty orders of a covered military member will generally specify if the
service member is serving in support of aperiod of military conflict by citation to the
relevant section of Title 10 of the United States Code and/or by reference to the specific
name of the military conflict (see OAR 839-009-0380(7)).

(3) An €eligible employee’ s notice of intention to take OMFLA leave must follow the
covered employer’s known, customary, and uniformly applied procedures for requesting
any kind of leave. A covered employer may provide an OMFLA leave request form. An
exampleisfound at Appendix A of thisrule.

(a) The covered employer may require in writing that the eligible employee provide a
photocopy of the service member’s orders to verify that the leave isfor the purpose
defined in OAR 839-009-0380(7).

(b) The eligible employee will provide any required photocopy of the service member’s
orders within a reasonable time after receiving the covered employer's written request.
(c) The covered employer may provisionally designate an absence as OMFLA leave until
any requested photocopy of the service member’s ordersis received.

ED. NOTE: ciick here for PDF copy of appendices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.093(6)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.090 - 659A.099
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