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BOLI announces additional sick time related seminars for employers  
New seminars planned for Salem, Medford and Roseburg  

 
PORTLAND, OR—The Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) will conduct four additional sick time 
seminars in Salem, Roseburg and Medford for employers seeking to learn about requirements under 
Oregon’s new law. 
 
Passed by the 2015 Oregon Legislature, SB 454 expands access to sick time for hundreds of thousands of 
workers who currently do not have access to any paid time off when they’re ill or caring for a sick child 
or spouse.  
 
The new sick time seminars come in addition to 27 previously scheduled sessions taking place during the 
coming months. Employers can register online for the seminars or contact the agency to reserve a spot 
at bolita@boli.state.or.us. Attendance at each is $25.  
 
Sick leave seminar 1: Salem 
Date:   Friday, January 29 
Time:   9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 
Location:  Chemeketa Community College, Room 112 

4000 Lancaster Dr. NE  
Salem, OR 

 
Sick leave seminar 2: Salem 
Date:   Friday, February 5 
Time:   9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 
Location:  Chemeketa Community College, Room 112 

4000 Lancaster Dr. NE  
Salem, OR 

 
Sick leave seminar 3: Medford 
Date:   Wednesday, February 17, 2016 
Time:   9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 
Location:  City Hall, The Council Chambers (Suite 300) 

411 W 8th Street 
Medford, OR  

 
Sick leave seminar 4: Roseburg 
Date:   Thursday, February 18 
Time:   9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 

http://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/docs/2016%20Seminar%20Schedule.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/Pages/T_SEM_Taseminar.aspx
mailto:bolita@boli.state.or.us


 

 

Location:  Roseburg Public Safety Center, Umpqua Room 
700 SE Douglas Ave 
Roseburg, OR   

 
“BOLI’s compliance experts can help employers understand their requirements under Oregon’s new sick 
time law,” said Labor Commissioner Brad Avakian. “Our employer seminars and free technical assistance 
can serve as a resource for businesses around the state.” 
 
Employers can contact the agency’s Technical Assistance for Employers hotline with sick time or other 
employment questions at (971) 673-0824. 
 
Additional registration information can be found at 
http://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/Pages/T_SEM_Taseminar.aspx.  
 
Final rules for Oregon leave can be found online here. Additional fact sheets, sample sick time accrual 
notice templates, sick leave notice posters for employees (that, while not mandatory, can satisfy notice 
requirements) and other resources are also available from the agency’s Technical Assistance for 
Employers Program.  
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