
Oregon’s Minimum Wage for 2015 
BOLI’s Technical Assistance for Employers Program 

 
 
 
On January 1, the minimum wage in Oregon will increase to $9.25 per hour.   
 
The Oregon minimum wage rate is adjusted annually for inflation when there is a change in the 
consumer price index.  The law requires the Labor Commissioner to calculate the minimum wage by 
September 30 of each year for the following year.   
 
Some of the most common questions received by BOLI’s Technical Assistance for Employers Program: 
 
Do I have to post a new minimum wage poster? 
 
Yes.  All Oregon employers are required to post the 2015 minimum wage poster in a conspicuous and 
accessible place in or about the premises where the employees are employed.  The poster may be 
downloaded at no charge from the BOLI website at: 
http://www.oregon.gov/boli/WHD/pages/minimum_wage_posters.aspx 
 
Civil penalties may be assessed if a covered employer fails to comply with this posting requirement. 
 
My employees are paid on the 10th of each month.  Do I have to pay the new minimum wage since 
they are being paid in 2015? 
 
You must pay the 2015 minimum wage for all hours worked in January.  Hours worked in 2014 but not 
paid until 2015 may be paid at the 2014 minimum wage rate.  This means the employees may have two 
different wage rates on the paycheck, and employers must ensure overtime is calculated based on the 
weighted average for the workweek.  For information on calculating overtime, see our Fact Sheet at 
http://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/pages/t_faq_taovrtim.aspx.   
 
What if an employee works a graveyard shift on December 31?  What rate of pay does the employee 
earn? 
 
All time worked after midnight on December 31 must be paid at the 2015 minimum wage rate.  The 
employee may earn two different rates of pay for a single shift. 
 
I paid my employee $9.25 per hour in 2014 (15 cents above the minimum wage).  He claims that as 
of January 1, 2015, I will be legally obligated to pay him at least $9.40 per hour (15 cents above the 
new minimum wage).  Is this true?   
 
No.  The law only requires you to pay the minimum wage of $9.25 per hour as of January 1, 2015. Unless 
you have a contract or policy providing that you will pay more, only those employees who were working 
for less than $9.25 per hour are legally required to receive a raise. 
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