
Minimum Wage
Agricultural employers must comply with

state laws regulating payment of mini-

mum wage, even if you work on a piece

rate or contract basis. (Some limited ex-

emptions from the requirement to pay the

minimum wage may apply. Contact BOLI

for more information.)

Overtime

If you are working in agriculture, your

employer does not have to pay you

“overtime” if you work more than 40

hours during a work week. Otherwise,

most workers must be paid one and one-

half times their regular pay for all time

worked over 40 hours in a work week.

Rest and Meal Periods

Most agricultural employees have the

right to receive rest and meal periods.

Meal periods of not less than 30 minutes

must be provided to employees who work

six or more hours in one work period.

Under exceptional circumstances an adult

employee may receive less than 30 contin-

uous minutes, relieved of all duties, how-

ever, the employer must pay for the entire

30 minutes.

Paid rest periods of at least 10 minutes for

adults (15 minutes for minors) must be

provided during each four hour work

period or major part of four hours worked.

Certain employers are required to provide

additional rest periods to employees to

express milk for a child.

Meal and rest periods may not be waived

or used to adjust working hours.

Notice of Working Conditions

Your employer must give you exact de-

tails about your salary and working condi-

tions in writing, and in your language.

You and your employer must both sign

this agreement.

Paydays

It is the employer’s responsibility to tell

you about the employer’s established

paydays. Paydays must be regular and not

exceed 35 days between paydays.

If the employer provides lodging, the

lodging must satisfy federal and state

requirements for health and sanitation.

An employee who is injured on the job is

entitled to prompt medical attention and

may file a claim for workers’ compensa-

tion benefits.

You have the legal right to receive your

wages regardless of your nationality or

legal status.

If your employer owes you money, you

have the right to file a wage claim with

the Bureau of Labor and Industries.

It is against the law for an employer to

discriminate or to take retaliatory action

against an employee who has presented a

claim or complaint, or who has participat-

ed in any cases concerning these laws.

Offices of the Oregon Bureau of Labor &

Industries:

* Portland:

800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1045

Portland, OR 97232

(971) 673-0761

* Salem:

3865 Wolverine St NE; E-1

Salem, OR 97305

(503) 378-3292

Eugene:

1400 Executive Parkway, Suite 200

Eugene, OR 97401

(541) 686-7623

TTY: 711

* Offices with Spanish speaking

personnel.

Every payday you must receive an item-

ized statement with your pay showing

how your wages were calculated, listing

your deductions and the name and address

of your employer.

You must approve most deductions from

your paycheck, with the exception of

those required by law, such as taxes.

Deductions must be for your benefit, not

your employer’s. For example, deductions

for tools the employer requires you to

have are illegal.

Other Rights

If a contractor has recruited and transport-

ed you for work and there is no work

available, he or she is responsible for

providing food and lodging without cost

to you until work becomes available.

The employer is responsible for keeping

records of the hours and days you work.

The bureau recommends that you keep

your own records of hours and days

worked.

Number Number
of Rest of Meal

Length of Breaks Periods
Work Period Required Required

2hrs or less 0 0
2hrs,1min-5hrs,59min 1 0
6hrs 1 1
6hrs,1min-10hrs 2 1
10hrs,1min-13hrs,59min 3 1
14hrs 3 1
14hrs,1min-18hrs 4 2
18hrs,1min-21hrs,59min 5 2
22hrs 5 3
22hrs,1min-24hrs 6 3

Rest Breaks: 10 minutes, paid
(15 minutes for minors)

Meal Periods: 30 minutes, unpaid
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Sueldo Mínimo

Los empleadores agrícolas deben cumplir con

las leyes estatales que regulan el pago de salario

mínimo, incluso si usted trabaja por pieza o por

contrato. (Algunas exenciones limitadas del

requisito para pagar el salario mínimo pueden

aplicar. Para más información contacte a BOLI.)

Sobre Tiempo

Si está trabajando en la agricultura, su emplea-

dor no tiene que pagar "tiempo y medio" si

trabaja más de 40 horas durante una semana de

trabajo. De lo contrario, la mayoría de los traba-

jadores deben ser pagados una vez y la mitad de

su salario regular por todo el tiempo trabajado

más de 40 horas en una semana de trabajo.

Períodos de Descanso

Se deben proporcionar periodos para comidas de

al menos 30 minutos a los empleados que traba-

jan seis o más horas en un periodo de trabajo.

Bajo ciertas circunstancias excepcionales un

empleado adulto puede recibir menos de 30

minutos continuos, liberado de todo deber, sin

embargo, el empleador debe pagarle al emplea-

do por los 30 minutos completos.

Se debe de proveer descansos de 10 minutos

para adultos (15 minutos para menores de edad)

cada cuatro horas de trabajo o la mayor parte de

cuatro horas trabajadas. Algunos empleadores

están requeridos a dar periodos de descanso

adicionales a sus empleadas, sin goce de sueldo,

para la extracción de leche para sus niños.

No se puede renunciar a los períodos de descan-

so, ni se pueden usar para ajustar las horas de

trabajo.

El Arreglo de Trabajo

Usted debe recibir detalles exactos sobre el

salario y las condiciones de trabajo por escrito

en su idioma. Este acuerdo debe estar firmado

tanto por el empleador como por el empleado.

Días de Pago

Es responsabilidad del empleador avisar a los

empleados del día de pago establecido por la

compañía. Los días de pago deben ser regulares

y nunca debe haber mas de 35 días por periodo.

Cada día de pago usted debe recibir un resumen

de pago que indique el salario pagado y la razón

de cada deducción y el nombre y la dirección

del empleador.

La mayoría de las deducciones (con la excep-

ción de las deducciones requeridas por ley-como

por ejemplo los impuestos) deben estar aproba-

das por escrito por el empleado, y tienen que ser

para beneficio del empleado. Las deducciones

haber presentado una queja o participado en

cualquier causa referente a estas leyes.

Oficinas de Departamento de Trabajo Del

Estado de Oregon:

*Portland:

800 NE Oregon St., #1045

Portland, OR 97232

(971) 673-0761

*Salem:

3865 Wolverine St NE; E-1

Salem, OR 97305

(503) 378-3292

Eugene:

1400 Executive Parkway, Suite 200

Eugene, OR 97401

(541) 686-7623

TTY: 711

*Oficinas con personal que habla español.

2hrs o menos 0 0
2hrs,1min-5hrs,59min 1 0
6hrs 1 1
6hrs,1min-10hrs 2 1
10hrs,1min-13hrs,59min 3 1
14hrs 3 1
14hrs,1min-18hrs 4 2
18hrs,1min-21hrs,59min 5 2
22hrs 5 3
22hrs,1min-24hrs 6 3

Descansos: 10 minutos, pagados
(15 minutos para menores
de edad)

Descansos

para comer: 30 minutos no pagados

para equipo requerido para el trabajo son ilega-

les.

Otros Derechos

Si un contratista lo ha reclutado y transportado

para trabajar y no hay trabajo disponible, él es

responsable de proveer comida, alojamiento,

etc., sin costo alguno para el empleado hasta que

haya trabajo disponible.

El empleador es responsable de mantener los

registros de horas y días trabajados. Se reco-

mienda que el empleado también mantenga

su propio registro de horas y días trabajados.

Si el empleador provee vivienda, tal vivienda

debe satisfacer los requisitos federales y estata-

les de salud e higiene.

Un empleado que se lastima en el trabajo debe

recibir atención médica inmediata y puede

presentar un reclamo para benéficos de compen-

sación para los trabajadores.

Usted tiene el derecho legal de recibir sus sala-

rios sin importar su origen nacional o estado

legal.

Si su empleador le debe dinero, usted tiene

derecho a presentar un reclamo de salarios ante

el Departamento de Trabajo e Industrias.

Es ilegal que los empleadores discriminen

contra una persona o traten con represalias por
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