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STANDARD PROTOCOLS FOR
GENERAL CONSENT ORDERS

CIVIL PENALTIES

Licensee shall pay a $ civil penalty in the form of a cashier’s, bank, or official check,
made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry and delivered to the Board offices within
30 days of the effective date of the Order.

NOTE: The Board will allow licensed dentists a 30-day payment period for each
civil penalty increment of $2,500

NOTE: The Board will allow licensed dental hygienists a 30-day payment period
of each civil penalty increment of $500

RESTITUTION PAYMENTS

Licensee shall pay $____in restitution in the form of a cashier’s, bank, or official check
made payable to patient __ and delivered to the Board offices within 30 days of the
effective date of the Order.

NOTE: The Board will allow licensed dentists a 30-day payment period for each
restitution increment of $2,500

REIMBURSEMENT PAYMENTS

Licensee shall provide the Board with documentation verifying reimbursement payment
made to ___, the patient’s insurance carrier, within 30 days of the effective date of the
Order.

NOTE: The Board will allow licensed dentists a 30-day payment period for each
reimbursement increment of $2,500

CONTINUING EDUCATION — BOARD ORDERED

Licensee shall successfully complete _ hours of __ (OPTIONS: Board pre-approved,
hands-on, mentored), continuing education in the area of ____ within ___ (OPTIONS:
years, months) of the effective date of this Order, unless the Board grants an extension,
and advises the Licensee in writing. This ordered continuing education is in addition to
the continuing education required for the licensure period ___ (OPTIONS: April 1, XXX
to March 31, XXX OR October 1, XXX to September 30, XXX). As soon as possible
after completion of a Board ordered course, Licensee shall submit documentation to the
Board verifying completion of the course.



COMMUNITY SERVICE

Licensee shall provide ____ hours of Board approved community service within
(OPTIONS: years, months) of the effective date of this Order, unless the Board grants
an extension, and advises the Licensee in writing. The community service shall be pro
bono, and shall involve the Licensee providing direct dental care to patients. Licensee
shall submit documentation verifying completion of the community service within the
specified time allowed for the community service.

FALSE CERTIFICATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION

Licensee shall be reprimanded, pay a$____ ($2,000 for dentists OR $1,000 for dental
hygienists) civil penalty, complete ten hours of community service within 60 days and
complete the balance of the (40 OR 24) hours of continuing education for the
licensure period (4/1/-- to 3/31/-- OR 10/1/-- to 9/30/--), within 60 days of the effective
date of this Order. As soon as possible following completion of the continuing education
the Licensee shall provide the Board with documentation certifying the completion.

WORKING WITHOUT A CURRENT LICENSE

Licensee shall pay a$____ civil penalty in the form of a cashier’s, bank, or official check,
made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry and delivered to the Board offices within
30 days of the effective date of the Order.

NOTE: A licensed dentist, who worked any number of days without a license will
be issued a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action and offered a Consent Order
incorporating a reprimand and a $5,000 civil penalty.

NOTE: A licensed dental hygienist who worked any number of days without a
current license, will be issued a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action and
offered a Consent Order incorporating a reprimand and civil penalty of $2,500.

ALLOWING A PERSON TO PERFORM DUTIES FOR WHICH THE PERSON IS NOT
LICENSED OR CERTIFIED

Licensee shall pay a$____ civil penalty in the form of a cashier’s, bank, or official check,
made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry and delivered to the Board offices within
30 days of the effective date of the Order, unless the Board grants an extension, and
advises the Licensee in writing.

NOTE: The Licensee will be charged $2,000 for the first offense and $4,000 for
the second, and each subsequent offense.



FAILURE TO CONDUCT WEEKLY BIOLOGICAL TESTING OF STERILIZATION
DEVICES

Licensee shall paya$ ____ civil penalty in the form of a cashier’s, bank, or official check
made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry and delivered to the Board offices within

days of the effective date of the Order, complete ___ hours of Board approved
community service within (months, year) of the effective date of the Order, and,
for a period of one year of the effective date of the Order, submit, by the fifteenth of each
month, the results of the previous month’s weekly biological monitoring testing of
sterilization devices.

NOTE: Failure to do biological monitoring testing one to five times within a calendar
year will result in a Letter of Concern.

NOTE: Failure to do biological monitoring testing six to ten times within a calendar
year will result in the issuance of a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action and an
offer of a Consent Order incorporating a reprimand.

NOTE: Failure to do biological monitoring testing 11 to 20 times within a calendar
year will result in the issuance of a Notice and an offer of a Consent Order
incorporating a reprimand, a $3,000 civil penalty to be paid within 60 days, 20 hours
of Board approved community service to be completed within six months, and
monthly submission of spore testing results for a period of one year from the
effective date of the Order.

NOTE: Failure to do biological monitoring testing more than 20 times within a
calendar year will result in the issuance of a Notice and an offer of a Consent Order
incorporating a reprimand, a $6,000 civil penalty to be paid within 90 days, 40 hours
of Board approved community service to be completed within one year, and monthly
submission of spore testing results for a period of one year from the effective date of
the Order.



STANDARD PROTOCOLS FOR CONSENT ORDERS
SPECIFICALLY RELATED TO ALCOHOL ABUSE

ALCOHOL

Licensee shall, for an indefinite length of time, be subject to the following conditions of
this Consent Order:

Licensee shall not apply for relief from these conditions within five years of the effective
date of the Order, and then must do so in writing.

Licensee shall not use alcohol, controlled drugs, or mood altering substances at any
place or time unless prescribed by a licensed practitioner for a bona fide medical
condition and upon prior notice to the Board and care providers, except that prior notice
to the Board and care providers shall not be required in the case of a bona fide medical
emergency.

Licensee shall undergo an evaluation by a Board approved addictionologist or treatment
center within 30 days of the effective date of the Order and make the written evaluation
and treatment recommendations available to the Board.

Licensee shall adhere to, participate in, and complete all aspects of any and all
residential care programs, continuing care programs and recovery treatment plans
recommended by Board approved care providers and arrange for a written copy of all
plans, programs, and contracts to be provided to the Board within 30 days of the
effective date of this Order.

Licensee shall advise the Board, in writing, of any change or alteration to any residential
care programs, continuing care programs, and recovery treatment plans 14 days before
the change goes into effect.

Licensee shall instruct all health care providers participating in the residential, continuing
care, and recovery programs to respond promptly to any Oregon Board of Dentistry
inquiry concerning Licensee’s compliance with the treatment plan and to immediately
report to the Board, any positive test results or any substantial failure to fully participate
in the programs by the Licensee. Licensee shall instruct the foregoing professionals to
make written quarterly reports to the Board of Licensee’s progress and compliance with
the treatment programs.

Licensee shall waive any privilege with respect to any physical, psychiatric, or
psychological evaluation or treatment in favor of the Board for the purposes of
determining compliance with this Order, or the need to modify this Order, and shall
execute any waiver or release upon request of the Board.

Licensee shall submit to a Board approved, random, supervised, urinalysis testing
program, at Licensee’s expense, with the frequency of the testing to be determined by
the Board, but initially at a minimum of 24 random tests per year. Licensee shall arrange
for the results of all tests, both positive and negative, to be provided promptly to the
Board.



Licensee shall advise the Board, within 72 hours, of any alcohol, illegal or prescription
drug, or mind altering substance related relapse, any positive urinalysis test result, or
any substantial failure to participate in any recommended recovery program.

Licensee shall personally appear before the Board, or its designated representative(s),
at a frequency to be determined by the Board, but initially at a frequency of three times
per year.

Licensee shall, within three days, report the arrest for any misdemeanor or felony and,
within three days, report the conviction for any misdemeanor or felony.

Licensee shall assure that, at all times, the Board has the most current addresses and
telephone numbers for residences and offices.



STANDARD PROTOCOLS FOR CONSENT ORDERS
SPECIFICALLY RELATED TO SUBSTANCE ABUSE

DRUGS

Licensee shall, for an indefinite length of time, be subject to the following conditions of
this Consent Order:

Licensee shall not apply for relief from these conditions within five years of the
effective date of the Order and then must do so in writing.

Licensee shall not use controlled drugs or mind altering substances at any place or
time unless prescribed by a licensed practitioner for a bona fide medical condition
and upon prior notice to the Board and care providers, except that prior notice to the
Board and care providers shall not be required in the case of a bona fide medical
emergency.

NOTE: It may be appropriate to add “alcohol” to this condition.

Licensee shall undergo an evaluation by a Board approved addictionologist or
treatment center within 30 days of the effective date of the Order and make the
written evaluation and treatment recommendations available to the Board.

License shall adhere to, participate in, and complete all aspects of any and all
residential care programs, continuing care programs and recovery treatment plans
recommended by Board approved care providers and arrange for a written copy of
all plans, programs, and contracts to be provided to the Board within 30 days of the
effective date of the Order.

Licensee shall advise the Board, in writing, of any change or alteration to any
residential care programs, continuing care programs, and recovery treatment plans
14 days before the change goes into effect.

Licensee shall instruct all health care providers participating in the residential,
continuing care, and recovery programs to respond promptly to any Oregon Board of
Dentistry inquiry concerning Licensee’s compliance with the treatment plan and to
immediately report to the Board, any positive test results or any substantial failure to
fully participate in the programs by the Licensee. Licensee shall instruct the
foregoing professionals to make written quarterly reports to the Board of Licensee’s
progress and compliance with the treatment programs.

Licensee shall waive any privilege with respect to any physical, psychiatric, or
psychological evaluation or treatment in favor of the Board for the purposes of
determining compliance with this Order, or the need to modify this Order and shall
execute any waiver or release upon request of the Board.

Licensee shall submit to a Board approved, random, supervised, urinalysis testing
program, at Licensee’s expense, with the frequency of the testing to be determined
by the Board, but initially at a minimum of 24 random tests per year. Licensee shall



arrange for the results of all tests, both positive and negative, to be provided to the
Board.

Licensee shall advise the Board, within 72 hours, of any drug related relapse, any
positive urinalysis test result, or any substantial failure to participate in any
recommended recovery program.

Licensee shall personally appear before the Board, or its designated
representative(s), at a frequency to be determined by the Board, but initially at a
frequency of three times per year.

IF APPROPRIATE —

Licensee will not order or dispense any controlled substance, nor shall
Licensee store any controlled substance in his/her office.

Licensee shall immediately begin using pre-numbered triplicate
prescription pads for prescribing controlled substances. Said prescription
pads will be provided to the Licensee, at his/her expense, by the Board.
Said prescriptions shall be used in their numeric order. Prior to the 15"
day of each month, Licensee shall submit to the Board office, one copy of
each triplicate prescription used during the previous month. The
second copy to the triplicate set shall be maintained in the file of the
patient for whom the prescription was written. In the event of a telephone
prescription, Licensee shall submit two copies of the prescription to the
Board monthly. In the event any prescription is not used, Licensee shall
mark all three copies void and submit them to the Board monthly.

Licensee shall maintain a dental practice environment in which nitrous
oxide is not present or available for any purpose, or establish a Board
approved plan to assure that Licensee does not have singular access to
nitrous oxide. The Board must approve the proposed plan before
implementation.

Licensee shall immediately surrender his/her Drug Enforcement
Administration Registration.



STANDARD PROTOCOLS FORCONSENT ORDERS
SPECIFICALLY RELATED TO SEXUAL VIOLATIONS

SEX RELATED VIOLATIONS

Licensee shall, for an indefinite length of time, be subject to the following conditions of
this Consent Order:

Licensee shall not apply for relief from these conditions within five years of the
effective date of the Order, and then must do so in writing.

Licensee shall undergo an assessment by a Board approved evaluator, within 30
days of the effective date of the Order, and make the written evaluation and
treatment recommendations available to the Board.

Licensee shall adhere to, participate in, and complete all aspects of any and all
residential care programs, continuing care programs and recovery treatment plans
recommended by Board approved care providers and arrange for a written copy of
all plans, programs, and contracts to be provided to the Board within 30 days of the
effective date of the Order.

Licensee shall advise the Board, in writing, of any change or alteration to any
residential care programs, continuing care programs, and recovery treatment plans
14 days before the change goes into effect.

Licensee shall instruct all health care providers participating in the residential,
continuing care, and recovery programs to respond promptly to any Oregon Board of
Dentistry inquiry concerning Licensee’s compliance with the treatment plan and to
immediately report to the Board, any substantial failure to fully participate in the
programs by the Licensee. Licensee shall instruct the foregoing professionals to
make written quarterly reports to the Board of Licensee’s progress and compliance
with the treatment programs.

Licensee shall waive any privilege with respect to any physical, psychiatric, or
psychological evaluation or treatment in favor of the Board for the purposes of
determining compliance with this Order, or the need to modify this Order, and shall
execute any waiver or release upon request of the Board.

Licensee shall submit to a polygraph examination or plethysmograph examination, at
Licensee’s expense, at the direction of the Board or a counseling provider.

Licensee shall advise the Board, within 72 hours, of any substantial failure to
participate in any recommended recovery program.

Licensee shall personally appear before the Board, or its designated
representative(s), at a frequency to be determined by the Board, but initially at a
frequency of three times per year.



IF APPROPRIATE —

Require Licensee to advise his/her dental staff or his/her employer of the
terms of the Consent Order at least on an annual basis. Licensee shall
provide the Board with documentation attesting that each dental staff
member or employer reviewed the Consent Order. In the case of a
Licensee adding a new employee, the Licensee shall advise the individual
of the terms of the Consent Order on the first day of employment and
shall provide the Board with documentation attesting to that advice.



STANDARD PROTOCOLS FOR CONSENT ORDERS
REQUIRING CLOSE SUPERVISION

CLOSE SUPERVISION

a.

For a period of at least six months, Licensee shall only practice dentistry
in Oregon under the close supervision of a Board approved, Oregon
licensed dentist (Supervisor), in order to demonstrate that clinical skills
meet the standard of care. Periods of time Licensee does not practice
dentistry as a dentist in Oregon, shall not apply to reduction of the (six)
month requirement

Licensee will submit the names of any other supervising dentists for
Board approval. Licensee will immediately advise the Board of any
change in supervising dentists.

Licensee shall only treat patients when another Board approved
Supervisor is physically in the office and shall not be solely responsible
for emergent care.

The Supervisor will review and co-sign Licensee’s treatment plans,
treatment notes, and prescription orders.

Licensee will maintain a log of procedures performed by Licensee. The
log will include the patient's name, the date of treatment, and a brief
description of the procedure. The Supervisor will review and co-sign the
log. Prior to the 15" of each month, Licensee will submit the log of the
previous month’s treatments to the Board.

For a period of two weeks, or longer if deemed necessary by the
Supervisor, the Supervisor will examine the appropriate stages of dental
work performed by Licensee in order to determine clinical competence.

After two weeks, and for each month thereafter for a period of six months,
the Supervisor will submit a written report to the Board describing
Licensee’s level of clinical competence. At the end of six months, the
Supervisor, will submit a written report attesting to the level of Licensee’s
competency to practice dentistry in Oregon.

At the end of the restricted license period, the Board will re-evaluate the
status of Licensee’s dental license. At that time, the Board may extend
the restricted license period, lift the license restrictions, or take other
appropriate action.



STANDARD PROTOCOLS — DEFINITIONS

Group practice: On 10/10/08, the Board defined “group practice” as two or more
Oregon licensed dentists, one of which may be a respondent, practicing in the same
business entity and in the same physical location.

When ordering a licensee to practice only in a group practice, add the caveat, “Periods
of time Licensee is not practicing dentistry as a dentist in Oregon, shall not apply
to reduction of the (five year) requirement.

STANDARD PROTOCOLS - PARAGRAPHS

WHEREAS, based on the results of an investigation, the Board has filed a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action, dated XXX, and hereby incorporated by reference; and



APPROVAL OF
MINUTES



OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY
MINUTES
December 18, 2015

MEMBERS PRESENT: Alton Harvey Sr., President
Julie Ann Smith, D.D.S., M.D., MCR, Vice-President
Todd Beck, D.M.D.
Amy B. Fine, D.M.D.
Jonna E. Hongo, D.M.D.
Yadira Martinez, R.D.H.
James Morris
Alicia Riedman, R.D.H.
Brandon Schwindt, D.M.D.
Gary Underhill, D.M.D.

STAFF PRESENT: Stephen Prisby, Executive Director
Paul Kleinstub, D.D.S., M.S., Dental Director/Chief Investigator
Daryll Ross, Investigator (portion of meeting)
Harvey Wayson, Investigator (portion of meeting)
Teresa Haynes, Exam and Licensing Manager (portion of meeting)
Michelle Lawrence, D.M.D., Consultant (portion of meeting)
Daniel Blickenstaff, D.D.S., Consultant (portion of meeting)
Jessica Conway, Office Manager (portion of meeting)
Ingrid Nye, Office Specialist (portion of meeting)

ALSO PRESENT: Lori Lindley, Sr. Assistant Attorney General

VISITORS PRESENT: Heidi Jo Grubbs, R.D.H.; Kenneth Chung, ODA; Christina Swartz
Bodamer, ODA; Mary Harrison, ODAA; Anthony Medina, DAS;
Bruce Burton, D.M.D., ODA; Harold Hickok; Pamela Lynch, R.D.H.;
Kyle Johnstone, R.D.H., ODHA,; Caroline Maier, R.D.H.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by the President at 7:40 a.m. at the Board office;
1500 SW 1* Ave., Suite 770, Portland, Oregon.

NEW BUSINESS

MINUTES

Dr. Hongo moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the minutes of the October 30, 2015 Board
meeting be approved as amended reminding the public that prior to a Board meeting, there is a
public packet available with attachments of all relevant information to be reviewed at that Board
meeting, and those public packets are public records as well. The motion passed with Dr. Beck,
Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

Dr. Fine moved and Mr. Morris seconded that the minutes of the November 12, 2015 Special
Teleconference Board meeting be approved as presented. The motion passed with Dr. Beck,



Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

ASSOCIATION REPORTS

Oregon Dental Association

Dr. Bruce Burton reported that the sixth annual Mission of Mercy event served 1,090 patients, and
provided $900,000 worth of care. Christina Swartz Bodamer reported that the ODA’s peer review
program was seeking more volunteer dentists.

Oregon Dental Hygienists’ Association

Stephen Prisby stated that he spoke to Lynn Ironside and she was unable to attend the meeting
but had nothing to report at this time. Mr. Prisby welcomed the new President of the ODHA,
Cassie Button, R.D.H. Mr. Prisby reported that he presented at the ODHA conference on
November 13, 2015.

Oregon Dental Assistants Association
Ms. Mary Harrison reported that there were no registrations for the ODAA education seminar,
which was scheduled for December 5, 2015.

COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS

WREB Liaison Report
Dr. Jonna Hongo had nothing to report at this time. The next meeting is scheduled for
February, 2016.

AADB Liaison Report

Dr. Amy Fine was not able to attend the AADB meeting in Washington DC, and Ms. Yadira
Martinez reported on behalf of the Board members who attended the conference. The meeting
was educational and informative.

ADEX Liaison Report

Dr. Jonna Hongo reported that Mr. Alton Harvey was elected as a consumer member on the
Board of Directors, and that past Board member Dr. Patricia Parker was re-elected to her seat
on the Board of Directors.

CDCA Liaison Report

Dr. Amy Fine had nothing to report at this time. The CDCA annual meeting will be held January
14-16, 2016 in Orlando, Florida. Mr. Prisby requested the Board approve his attendance at the
annual conference. Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that his travel be approved.
The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms.
Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

Committee Meeting Dates
A Dental Hygiene committee meeting is scheduled for January 21, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. at the Board
office.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR’'S REPORT



Board Member & Staff Updates
Mr. Prisby introduced the new Office Specialist, Ingrid Nye. The new Dental Investigator position
interviews are in the final stages, tentative start date in January, 2016.

Budget Status Report

Mr. Prisby reviewed the latest budget report for the 2015 - 2017 Biennium. The report, which is
from July 1, 2015 through October 31, 2015, shows revenue of $660,714.35 and expenditures
of $383,794.53. Mr. Prisby said he would be happy to answer questions that the board
members have regarding the report.

Customer Service Survey Report

Mr. Prisby stated that he attached the legislatively mandated survey results from July 1, 2015 -
November 30, 2015, implementing our new online format and including comments received.
The results of the survey show that the OBD continues to receive positive ratings from the
majority of those that submit a survey.

Board and Staff Speaking Engagements

Mr. Prisby stated that he and Dr. Kleinstub gave a “Board Updates” and “Enforcements”
presentation to the Washington County Dental Society with DBIC on November 10, 2015 in
Beaverton.

Mr. Prisby stated that he gave a “Board Updates” presentation to the ODHA at their Convention
on November 13, 2015 at the Portland Airport Sheraton.

Mr. Prisby stated that he gave a “Board Updates” presentation to the Marion and Polk County
Dental Society with DBIC on December 4, 2015 in Salem.

Newsletter

Mr. Prisby stated that the next newsletter is being finalized and the plan is to have it available
and distributed before the end of the year.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

At the October 30" Board meeting, the staff was directed to research the rules regarding
Epinephrine (the EpiPen) for dental hygienists in emergency situations to have available in an
emergency kit. The Board discussed Oregon Pharmacy’s rule and the Oregon Health
Authority’s rules regarding epinephrine relevant to the discussion. It was determined that the
OHA has a pathway for dental hygienists to acquire EpiPens.

CORRESPONDENCE

James Brown Memo

December 2015 Dental Board letter from SRTA

ADEX Highlights 2015

OTHER BUSINESS

The Board Received a Request for Approval Dental Hygiene Restorative Curriculum -




Pima Medical Institute Dental — Hygiene Program. Dr. Beck moved and Dr. Smith seconded
that the Board approve the curriculum as presented. The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr.
Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

The Board Received a Reguest to amend a previously approved Dental Hygiene Restorative
Curriculum from Portland Community College. Dr. Smith moved and Ms. Martinez seconded
that the amended curriculum be approved as presented. The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr.
Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

The Board Received a Reguest for permission to take the Western Regional Dental
Examination - Silvia Amaya-Pajares, D.D.S., M.S. Dr. Hongo moved and Dr. Fine seconded
that the Board grant permission to take the examination. The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr.
Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

Ethics and Boundaries Assessment Services Inc. Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Fine
seconded that the Board use this assessment as a tool for discipline. The motion passed with
Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez
and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

ARTICLES AND NEWS OF INTEREST (no action necessary)

Bend Bulletin Article

ADEA Snapshot of Education

EXECUTIVE SESSION: The Board entered into Executive Session pursuant to ORS
192.606 (1)(f), (h) and (k); ORS 676.165; ORS 676.175 (1), and ORS 679.320 to review
records exempt from public disclosure, to review confidential investigatory materials and
investigatory information, and to consult with counsel.

PERSONAL APPEARANCES AND COMPLIANCE ISSUES

Licensee appeared pursuant to their Consent Order in case numbers 2013-0097, 2013-0119,
2014-0094.

LICENSING ISSUES

OPEN SESSION: The Board returned to Open Session.
CONSENT AGENDA

2016-0092 and 2016-0074 Dr. Smith moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that the above referenced
cases be closed with a finding of No Violation of the Dental Practice Act per the staff
recommendations. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr.
Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Dr. Schwindt
recused himself on case 2016-0092.



COMPLETED CASES

2015-0086, 2016-0080, 2015-0096, 2015-0075, 2016-0078, 2016-0069, 2016-0022 and 2016-
0041 Dr. Smith moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the above referenced cases be closed with a
finding of No Violation of the Dental Practice Act or No Further Action per the Board
recommendations. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr.
Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2014-0117

Dr. Beck moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of Concern
reminding Licensee to assure that the instructions for all prescriptions are documented, assure
that all subgingival cement is removed when cementing a crown onto an implant abutment, and
to assure that every autoclave is tested every week patients are treated, even when the
autoclave is not used that week. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr.
Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0090

Mr. Morris moved and Dr. Underhill seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of
Concern reminding Licensee to assure that he informs his patients of any less that optimal
outcomes of his dental treatment and to document the occurrences in the patient chart. The
motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms.
Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye

2014-0122

Ms. Riedman moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of
Concern reminding Licensee to assure that his documented informed consent is more thorough
when using the Herbst appliance on adults. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr.
Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Dr.
Schwindt recused himself.

2015-0072

Dr. Hongo moved and Dr. Underhill seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of
Concern reminding Licensee to assure that he fully documents dental diagnosis for prescribing
medications and documenting all radiographic findings. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr.
Beck, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting
aye. Dr. Fine recused herself.

Higbee, Max W., D.M.D. and Smith, Dane E., D.M.D. 2015-0079

Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the Board merge this case with case 2015-
0070, for Respondent #1 and issue a single Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action for both
cases, and offer the licensee a Consent Order in which the licensee would agree to be
reprimanded, to pay a $3,000 civil penalty to be paid within 60 days, 20 hours of Board
approved community service to be completed within six months, complete at least three hours
of Board approved CE in record keeping, make a restitution payment in the amount of $925.00
to patient TB per Board protocols, and monthly submission of spore testing results for a period
of one year from the effective date of the Order. For Respondent #2, close the matter with a
Letter of Concern addressing the issue of ensuring that all treatment provided to a patient is
completely and accurately documented in the patient records. The motion passed with Dr.



Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and
Dr. Underhill voting aye.

Higbee, Max W., D.M.D. 2015-0070

Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the Board merge this case with case 2015-
0079, for Respondent #1 and issue a single Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action for both
cases, and offer the licensee a Consent Order in which the licensee would agree to be
reprimanded, to pay a $3,000 civil penalty to be paid within 60 days, 20 hours of Board
approved community service to be completed within six months, complete at least three hours
of Board approved CE in record keeping, make a restitution payment in the amount of $925.00
to patient TB per Board protocols, and monthly submission of spore testing results for a period
of one year from the effective date of the Order. For Respondent #2, close the matter with a
Letter of Concern addressing the issue of ensuring that all treatment provided to a patient is
completely and accurately documented in the patient records. The motion passed with Dr.
Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and
Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0147

Ms. Martinez moved and Dr. Smith seconded that the Board close the matter with a strongly
worded Letter of Concern reminding Licensee to assure that he only provide treatment within the
scope of the practice of dentistry. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr.
Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman and Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

Olesberg, Dale J., D.M.D. 2015-0098

Dr. Beck moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board issue a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary
Action and offer Licensee a Consent Order incorporating a reprimand and a $3,000.00 civil
penalty, 20 hours of Board approved community service, and monthly submission of spore
testing results for a period of one year. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine,
Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Dr. Hongo
recused herself.

Pham, John, D.D.S. 2015-0045

Mr. Morris moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the Board issue a Notice of Proposed
Disciplinary Action and offer Licensee a Consent Order incorporating a reprimand and civil
penalty of $6,000.00, to be paid within 90 days, 40 hours of Board approved community service
to be completed within one year, take a Board approved class on record keeping, and monthly
submission of spore testing results for a period of one year from the effective date of the Order.
The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms.
Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0089

Dr. Schwindt moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board close the matter with Letter of
Concern addressing the issue of ensuring that when treatment is planned, there are diagnostic
images present to substantiate the planned treatment. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr.
Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye.

2014-0205
Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of
Concern addressing the issue of ensuring that adequate pre-treatment radiographs are available



prior to providing treatment. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr.
Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0076

Ms. Martinez moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that the Board close the matter with a Letter of
Concern reminding Licensee to ensure that documentation of heat sterilizer testing is done and
recorded on a weekly basis. The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr.
Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman and Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Dr. Smith
recused herself.

PREVIOUS CASES REQUIRING BOARD ACTION

2008-0013

Mr. Morris moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that the Board reaffirm Board action of October 30,
2015. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms.
Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Dr. Beck and Dr. Schwindt recused themselves.

Smith, Dane E., D.D.S. 2015-0073

Dr. Schwindt moved and Dr. Fine seconded that the Board reinstate Licensee’s dental hygiene
license providing she agree to the terms of a Consent Order incorporating the protocols to
protect the public and support her recovery and a requirement she enroll in HPSP. The motion
passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman,
Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

Hsu, Richard Pao-Yuan, D.M.D. 2015-0189

Ms. Riedman moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that the Board issue an Order of Dismissal
dismissing the Notice of Proposed License Revocation issued 7/3/15. The motion passed with
Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Mr. Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr.
Underhill voting aye. Dr. Schwindt recused himself.

2015-0181

Dr. Fine moved and Dr. Hongo seconded that the Board rescind the Board’s vote on October 30,
2015 to issue a Notice of Proposed License Revocation and close the case with No Further
Action. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr.
Morris, Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0153

Dr. Hongo moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the Board issue an Order of Dismissal dismissing
the Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action and close the matter with a Letter of Concern
reminding Licensee to assure that he not offer considerations in exchange for referrals. The
motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms.
Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

2015-0008

Dr. Underhill moved and Dr. Beck seconded that the Board affirm board action of October 30,
2015. The motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris,
Ms. Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION



Request for Oral and Maxillofacial Exam

Ms. Martinez moved and Dr. Schwindt seconded that the Board accept the request to allow Dr.
Jev Clark to take the Oral and Maxillofacial Exam in July pending staff and examiner availability.
The motion passed with Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Smith, Dr. Schwindt, Ms. Riedman,
Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye. Mr. Morris voted no.

Ratification of Licenses Issued

As authorized by the Board, licenses to practice dentistry and dental hygiene were issued to
applicants who fulfilled all routine licensure requirements. It is recommended the Board ratify
issuance of the following licenses. Complete application files will be available for review during the

Board meeting.

DENTAL HYGIENISTS

H7113 GAIL MARGARET JOHNSON, R.D.H. 10/22/2015
H7114 SARAH LYNN BOROWIAK, R.D.H. 10/22/2015
H7115 TIA M GLANDING, R.D.H. 10/22/2015
H7116 CALLY MARIE GRANT, R.D.H. 10/29/2015
H7117 SHANNON MICHIKO SAKATA, R.D.H. 10/29/2015
H7118 VANESSA R PLUNKETT, R.D.H. 10/29/2015
H7119 ADAM M MERRITT, R.D.H. 11/6/2015
H7120 BINA MISTRY, R.D.H. 11/10/2015
H7121 JACQUE'LINE MARIE MENDIOLA, R.D.H. 11/18/2015
H7122 MELISSA KAYE ALLEMAND, R.D.H. 11/18/2015
H7123 KYNA L CHILDS, R.D.H. 11/18/2015
H7124 SABRINA ROSE ANDRUS, R.D.H. 11/18/2015
H7125 ALESIA MARIE GREENE, R.D.H. 12/3/2015
H7126 SARAH A ROSS, R.D.H. 12/3/2015
H7127 DANIELLE MARIE DESHAYES, R.D.H. 12/3/2015
H7128 CORINNE MAUREEN SMITH, R.D.H. 12/4/2015
H7129 ANGELA M HERMANSEN, R.D.H. 12/7/2015
DENTISTS
D10366 JASMINE J CHA, D.D.S. 10/23/2015
D10367 MARK S CUSHING, D.D.S. 10/23/2015
D10368 IRAJ H KASIMI, D.M.D. 10/29/2015
D10369 LAUREN S BUSCH, D.D.S. 10/29/2015
D10371 JOHN K SULLIVAN, D.D.S. 11/6/2015
D10372 MELISSA M RAMSEY, D.D.S. 11/18/2015
D10373 LIN ZHU, D.D.S. 11/18/2015
D10374 CHARLES DANIEL KNECHTEL, D.D.S. 11/18/2015
D10375 DANA NGUYEN SCHMIDL, D.D.S. 11/19/2015
D10376 RARES N DECA, D.M.D. 12/3/2015
D10377 BEATRICE E DECA, D.M.D. 12/3/2015
D10378 LAUREN MWEBER, D.D.S. 12/3/2015
D10379 CRAIG ROSS ELGIN, D.M.D. 12/3/2015



D10380 ELIZABETH A MILLER, D.D.S. 12/3/2015

D10381 ALISHA J JAMES, D.D.S. 12/3/2015
D10382 JUNGHUN JI, D.D.S. 12/7/2015
D10383 CONG VO, D.D.S. 12/7/2015
D10366 JASMINE J CHA, D.D.S. 10/23/2015

Mr. Morris moved, and Dr. Fine seconded, that licenses issued be ratified as published. The
motion passed with Dr. Smith, Dr. Beck, Dr. Fine, Dr. Hongo, Dr. Schwindt, Mr. Morris, Ms.
Riedman, Ms. Martinez and Dr. Underhill voting aye.

Announcement
No announcements

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 1:35 pm. President Harvey stated that the next Board meeting
would take place February 19, 2016.

Alton Harvey Sr.
President
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| PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE s
.. Eva ACkIer DDS . E\’aacklev@lcloud com o

Happ\l NewYearfrom AADBI DA

As many of you know AADB had |ts 132“d Annual Meetmg in the great dlstrlct of Washmgton lL was well— L
attended and the program took advantage of belng in our nat|on 3 capstal Some of the hlghllghts of our
meeting mcluded VISIT.‘S from our Congressmen, Dr. Paul Gosar. and Dr. Brian Babln as well as mformatlon on -
the Federa) Trade Cornm|55|on lacensure issues and legtslatwe updates AADB contenues to utahze its members_-’}
in many capacmes through its many commlttees and | would personally like to thank those members that =
have shared their. time and talent on the program commlttee Stay tuned as I hear wonderful |deas rom;ng
forth for our future meetlngs R : : e e e RS

'l am excited to announce IRS approval for our AADB Foundation. This is a.project that was finished through ..
'-the contmued efforts of our Executive Director, Mr. Jim Tarrant. This will enable us to target areas of research
that will benefit our members and allow us to apply for the grants necessary to work on these spec:alty areas.
We alse-have a research committee that will help to identify which areas to choose. AADB continues to evolve_ '
with much of its communication and development through the vojunteer committee work from you, our -
members A complete list ofthese committees can be found on our websrte WWW. dentalboards org, under _ :-.
About AADB : L - A - '

The Assessment Serwces Program (ASP) has stayed busy throughout the year w;th :ts Expert Revrew RS
Assessment (ERA) and the Dentist- Professional Review and Evaluatlon Program {D-PREP) and recently has S
.added the third component of Remediation. State boards can now utilize the. services of the Universities that .
have developed a standardized intensive remediation program. These programs will ensure that the individual
‘has achieved the necessary remediation to enable him or her to return to active practice. We appreaate the
cooperatlon of the mstltutzons and thelr facuity to help-us facalltate this program natlonally

AADB contlnues to be a requested partner at Lhe table of many different natlonal groups Some of the toplcs
of dlscussmn mclude llcensure portability, ADA/DSO workgroup and possible development of an interstate
dental hcensure compact Our. membershtp contains a continuous national source of individuals that provide
the expert view of current and former state board members. Agaln we are grateful to ali our volunteers that
contmue to glve back to ouar professlon S SRR ' : '

And last, but not. least look for the unven:ng of our new web5|te We have contracted with an agency fo
perfect the necessary updatmg of our webs;te and it is due to be finished this spring. ‘At the last meeting, we
announced a contest to help us choose a new logo for the organization. Our hopes are to create a site that is
easy to navsgate and bnng more personal optlons to keep up with the information highway. Your board is
Ilstenmg to your requests and wants to remlnd you that there is a'membership directory under the Members
Only sect:on of the web5|te for personal use 50 that we may contact each other as conveniently as possnble

Our Msd~Year Meetmg is scheduled for Apnl 10 11 in Chicago. We have already secured some amazung
speakers to enllghten us. The program will be published in the near future on our website, so getyour
registration in soon. Hope to see you all thereI Back to top




American Association of Dental Boards

Meet your'__néw_ AADB Board members:
Dr Jilk Burns, Pres:dent—Elect : : L - : S -
Dr. Burnsis a Genera[ Dentist from Ind|ana who represents the North Caucus She served as

AADB Parliamentarlan and on the Bylaws Committee before eiectlon as. Presxdent Elect She ;
_practlces in Richmond IN - L L L S

Dr Robert Zena, Treasurer L i :

Dr. Zena represents. the South Cam.us He isa Prosthodontlst from Whltesburg, Kentucky and

Associate Clinical Professor, Postgraduate Prosthodontic Program, University of Louisville. He
. served on the AADB Program Commrttee and its Sponsorshlp Subcomm;ttee

.Mary Da\udson, RDH, MPH

Mary Davidson, RDH from The Dalles, Oregon represents the West Caucus and the Dental
Hygiene members. She has a Master of Public Health degree and served as a Dental Hygiene
Member of thé Oregon Board of Dentistry. She was Chair. of the AADB Membershlp Commlttee
and was a member of the Website Commlttee S

Issie .'ien_kin_s, JD, LL.Mm

Issie Jenkins, JD from Maryland represents the East Caucus and the perspective of the public
members. She served’in Senior Executive Service, United States Equal Employment Opportunity
.Commission, Washington, D.C. as General Counsel. Ms. Jenkins is a member of the Maryland
State Board of Dental Examiners {Maryland Governor’s Appointment). - '

Back to top




Stanwood Kanna, D.D.S., President

William Pappas, D.D.S., Vice-President
; ANV 4 = Jeffery Hartsog, D.M.D., Secretary
AMERICAN BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS, INC. Conrad McVea, lil, D.D.S., Treasurer

Bruce Barrette, D.D.S., Past President

December 17, 2015

Mr. Alton Harvey, President
Oregon Board of Dentistry
15005 SW Kingbird Dr.
Beaverton, OR 97007

Dear President Harvey:

The ADEX 2015 Annual Meeting is history and we are already planning for the ADEX 2016
Meeting on August 5, 6, 7, 2016 at the Doubletree Rosemont O’Hare.

A number of Bylaw changes were passed by the 2015 ADEX House of Representatives
that will have an impact on who attends future ADEX Meetings.
The first Bylaws change has to do with Conflict of Interest.

SECTION 5. Conflict of Interest. No Officer, Member Representative, Director, or
Member of any committee of the Corporation may be an Officer, Director, or Members of an
operational, governance, or policy-making committee of an organization that:

(a) Develops and administers licensure examinations which are substantially the
same as those developed by the Corporation; and
(b) Is not authorized to administer examinations developed by the Corporation.

For clarity, ADEX is a test development agency not a test administration agency. The
Commission on Dental Assessments (CDCA) and The Council of Interstate Testing (CITA)
are test administration agencies that currently administer the ADEX Examination.

Western Regional Boards (WREB), Central Regional Dental Testing Service, (CRDTS) and
Southern Regional Boards (SRTA) are both test development agencies and test
administration agencies.

To avoid any possible conflict of interest this new Bylaw does not allow an Officer, Director,
Member Representative, or Member of an operational, governance, or policy-making
committee of WREB, CRDTS, and SRTA, cannot serve in a similar capacity with ADEX
This does not mean that you cannot serve as an examiner with the test administration
agencies CDCA, CITA, WREB, CRDTS and SRTA as this is not a conflict of interest.

The next Bylaws change deals with the Membership of the ADEX Dental and Dental
Hygiene Examination Committees and the ADEX House of Representatives (ADEXHR).

Section 1. A. Each Member Board shall have one vote to cast on all matters
submitted for a vote of the Members. The vote shall be cast by a dentist representative
designated by each Member Board. Each dentist representative shall (i) be the member of
the Dental Examination Committee representing his or her Board; and (ii) shall be or has
been an active member of that Member Board. Member Boards will be entitled to vote on

matters related to the examination(s) that they accept.
P.0. Box 50718 o Mesa, AZ 85208
Telephone (503) 724-1104
ADEXOFFICE@aol.com
www,adex,org



Mr. Alton Harvey, President
December 17, 2015
Page 2

The 2016 ADEXHR Representatives will be the same person who currently serve as the
State Members of the ADEX Dental Examination Committee and District Representatives
to the ADEX Dentai Hygiene Examination Committee the Consumer District
Representatives that were selected by Districts at the 2015 ADEXHR.

This will mean that the ADEX jurisdictions will only select one person to serve on the ADEX
Dental Examination Committee and they will also be the State Representative to the
ADEXHR.

ADEX Dental Examination Members are selected by the Member Jurisdiction of ADEX and
they serve a three year term.

Your current ADEX Dental Examination Member is Dr. Jonno Hongo and the term will
expire at the ADEXHR 2015.

Please advise ADEX no later than March 1, 2016 who your ADEX Dental Examination
Committee Member will be.

Please send via e-mail to ADEXOFFICE@aol.com.

tf yo(l have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the e-mail address above or
call me at 503-724-1104

Y e
" Fairick U, Braaiz

, yg hief Operating Officer i
¢. Executive Director/Administrator

Current Dental Exam Committee Member



Dental Hygiene Committee Meeting
Minutes
January 21, 2016
Draft 1

MEMBERS PRESENT: Yadira Martinez, R.D.H., E.P.P., Chair
Amy Fine, D.M.D. (via telephone)
Alicia Riedman, R.D.H., E.P.P.
Wilber Ramirez-Rodriguez, R.D.H., E.P.P., ODHA Representative
Mary Harrison, E.F.D.A., E.F.O.D.A., ODAA Representative

STAFF PRESENT: Stephen Prisby, Executive Director
Paul Kleinstub, D.D.S., M.S., Dental Director/Chief Investigator
Teresa Haynes, Examination and Licensing Manager

ALSO PRESENT: Lori Lindley, Sr. Assistant Attorney General (via telephone)

BOARD MEMBER PRESENT: Alton Harvey, Sr., President

VISITORS PRESENT: llya Babiy, R.D.H., E.P.P., Mt. Hood Community College; Pamela
Lynch, R.D.H., E.P.P.; Heidi Jo Grubbs, R.D.H.; Lynn Ironside,
R.D.H., ODHA; Gail Aamodt, R.D.H., E.P.P., ODHA/Pacific
University; Kyle Johnstone, R.D.H., E.P.P., ODHA/Virginia Garcia,;
Rachel Broderick, CDA, EFDA, Dental Hygiene Student

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:05 p.m. at the Board office;
1500 SW 1% Ave., Suite 770, Portland, Oregon.

MINUTES

Ms. Harrison moved and Ms. Riedman seconded that the minutes of the September 11, 2014

Dental Hygiene Committee meeting be approved as presented. The motion passed with Dr.
Fine, Ms. Riedman, Mr. Ramirez-Rodriguez and Ms. Harrison voting aye.

OAR 818-042-0020 — Dentist and Dental Hygienist Responsibility:

The Committee reviewed and discussed how many dental assistants an Expanded Practice
Dental Hygienist can hire and supervise at given time. Dr. Fine moved and Ms. Harrison
seconded that the Committee refer the question to the Board for discussion. The motion passed
with Dr. Fine, Ms. Riedman, Mr. Ramirez-Rodriguez and Ms. Harrison voting aye.

818-042-0020

Dentist and Dental Hygienist Responsibility



(1) A dentist is responsible for assuring that a dental assistant has been properly
trained, has demonstrated proficiency, and is supervised in all the duties the
assistant performs in the dental office. Unless otherwise specified, dental
assistants shall work under indirect supervision in the dental office.

(2) A dental hygienist who works under general supervision may supervise a
dental assistant in the dental office if the dental assistant is rendering assistance
to the dental hygienist in providing dental hygiene services and the dentist is not
in the office to provide indirect supervision. A dental hygienist with an Expanded
Practice Permit may hire and supervise a dental assistant who will render
assistance to the dental hygienist in providing dental hygiene services.

(3) The supervising dentist or dental hygienist is responsible for assuring that all
required licenses, permits or certificates are current and posted in a conspicuous
place.

(4) Dental assistants who are in compliance with written training and screening
protocols adopted by the Board may perform oral health screenings under
general supervision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7)

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef.
6-1-04; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12

OAR 818-035-0025 - Prohibitions

The Committee reviewed and discussed the use of lasers by dental hygienists in periodontal
therapy. Dr. Kleinstub informed the Committee that under existing rules, there is no prohibition
using lasers while providing dental hygiene services.

818-035-0025

Prohibitions

A dental hygienist may not:

(1) Diagnose and treatment plan other than for dental hygiene services;

(2) Cut hard or soft tissue with the exception of root planing;

(3) Extract any tooth;

(4) Fit or adjust any correctional or prosthetic appliance except as provided by
OAR 818-035-0030(1)(h);

(5) Prescribe, administer or dispense any drugs except as provided by OAR 818-
035-0030, 818-035-0040, 818-026-0060(11) and 818-026-0070(11);

(6) Place, condense, carve or cement permanent restorations except as provided
in OAR 818-035-0072, or operatively prepare teeth;

(7) Irrigate or medicate canals; try in cones, or ream, file or fill canals;

(8) Use the behavior management techniques of Hand Over Mouth (HOM) or
Hand Over MouthAirway Restriction (HOMAR) on any patient.

(9) Place or remove healing caps or healing abutments, except under direct
supervision.

(10) Place implant impression copings, except under direct supervision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020(1)



Hist.: DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 7-
1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00
thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert.
ef. 1-1-02; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05,cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert.
ef. 5-1-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef.
11-15-11; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 1-2015(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 4-17-15 thru 10-13-15; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15

Ephinephrine (The EpiPen)

The Committee reviewed and discussed the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and the Oregon
Pharmacy Board'’s rules that describe a pathway to enable dental hygienists to obtain EpiPens
for their emergency Kkits.

OAR 818-042-0050 — Taking of X-Rays — Exposing Radiographs

Ms. Harrison moved and Ms. Riedman seconded that the Committee recommend that the Board
refer to the Rules Oversight Committee amending OAR 818-042-0050(2) to read:

818-042-0050

Taking of X-Rays — Exposing of Radiographs

(1) A dentist may authorize the following persons to place films, adjust equipment
preparatory to exposing films, and expose the films under general supervision:

(a) A dental assistant certified by the Board in radiologic proficiency; or

(b) A radiologic technologist licensed by the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging and
certified by the Oregon Board of Dentistry (OBD) who has completed ten (10) clock
hours in a Board approved dental radiology course and submitted a satisfactory full
mouth series of radiographs to the OBD.

(2) A dentist or dental hygienist may authorize a dental assistant who has completed a
course of

instruction approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, and who has passed the written
Dental Radiation Health and Safety Examination administered by the Dental Assisting
National Board, or comparable exam administered by any other testing entity authorized
by the Board, or other comparable requirements approved by the Oregon Board of
Dentistry to place films, adjust equipment preparatory to exposing films, and expose the
films under the indirect supervision of a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental assistant who
holds an Oregon Radiologic Proficiency Certificate. The dental assistant must
successfully complete the clinical examination within six months of the dentist_or dental
hygienist authorizing the assistant to take radiographs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7)

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 7-18-03;
OBD 4-2004, f.11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-
2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14;0BD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15

The motion passed with Dr. Fine, Ms. Riedman, Mr. Ramirez-Rodriguez and Ms. Harrison
voting aye.



OAR 333-028-0200-333-028-0280 —Certification for Local School Dental Sealant Programs
& SB 660

The Committee reviewed and discussed the Oregon Health Authority’s proposed rules and
Statutes regarding the Certification for Local School Dental Sealant Programs. Ms. Haynes
informed the Committee that the OHA is anticipating that they will be filing the proposed rules,
with a couple of minor changes, with the Secretary of State on January 29, 2016.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:37.
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EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR’S REPORT
February 19, 2016

Board Member & Staff Updates

I am happy to introduce Dr. Daniel Blickenstaff as the OBD’s new full time dental investigator.
Dr. Blickenstaff earned his undergraduate, graduate and dental degrees from The Ohio State
University. He had his own private practice for 37 years. He has been a Restorative Dentistry
Clinical Instructor at PCC for the last five years. He is a published author and has presented on
such diverse topics as TMJ and “What you need to know so that you don’t look stupid your first
day on the job.”

Congratulations to current Board Members, Dr. Julie Ann Smith, Dr. Todd Beck, past Board
President Dr. Norm Magnuson and other distinguished Oregon dentists on their induction into
the American College of Dentists as new Fellows on November 25, 2015, in Washington D.C.
They were also inducted as Fellows into the International College of Dentists at the same
meeting. Attachment #1

Legislation & Executive Order Updates

The short legislative session started February 1% and ends March 6™. | have listed proposed
legislation that will have a direct impact on the Board and other legislation that the Board may
find important. Additionally I included Governor Brown’s Executive Order # 16-06, and
subsequent audit report. Attachment #2

OBD Budget Status Report

Attached is the latest budget report for the 2015 - 2017 Biennium. This report, which is from July
1, 2015 through December 31, 2015, shows revenue of $696,191.02 and expenditures of
$559,370.68. If Board members have questions on this budget report format, please feel free to
ask me. Attachment #3

Customer Service Survey

Attached are the legislatively mandated survey results from July 1, 2015 — January 31, 2016,
and comments received. The results of the survey show that the OBD continues to receive
positive ratings from the majority of those that submit a survey. Attachment #4

Board and Staff Speaking Engagements
Teresa Haynes and | made a License Application Presentation to the graduating Dental
Hygiene Students at OIT in Klamath Falls on Monday, January 25, 2016.

2016 Dental License Renewal

Approximately 2,000 postcard notices were mailed to Oregon licensed dentists for the March
31, 2016 Renewal Cycle. | will provide an update to the Board on the number who have
renewed at the Board Meeting.

AADA & AADB Midyear Meetings

The midyear meetings are scheduled for April 10-12 in Chicago. The Joint Commission on
National Dental Examinations conducts an annual forum for representatives of state boards of
dentistry for the purpose of exchanging information about National Board Dental and Dental
Hygiene Examinations. The meeting will take place directly following the conclusion of the
AADB meeting. Dr. Todd Beck had agreed to attend and participate on behalf of the Board.

| request that the Board approve my attendance at the AADA & AADB Midyear meetings.
Action Requested




Board Social
Board members, staff and any interested parties are invited to attend a social gathering at Big
Al's in Beaverton which will occur after the Board meeting on February 19. A quorum of the

Board may be present.

Newsletter
The last newsletter was published in December. | anticipate the next edition going out in the
summer to incorporate the Board's Strategic Plan along with other important news and updates

relevant to our Licensees.



Up Front‘

American College of Dentists Inductees
4 " 1 o 2T

|

On November 5, 2015, the ACD inducted 284 new Fellows at the Grant Hyatt Washington, in
Washington, DC. Pictured here with Immediate Past Regent for Regency 8, Rickland Asai, DMD,
are this year’s new Fellows from left to right: Norman Magnuson, DDS; Frances Sunseri, DMD;
Kim Wright, DMD; Athena Bettger, DMD; and Todd Beck, DMD.

Attachment #1
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Legislation & Governor Brown Executive Order/SOS Audit Report Summaries

Attachments for each provided

House Bill 4016

Permits Oregon Board of Dentistry, Oregon Medical Board, Oregon State Board of Nursing and
State Board of Pharmacy to contract to establish impaired health professional program for
licensees of boards. Requires program to meet requirements for impaired health professional
program contracted for established by Oregon Health Authority.

House Bill 4095

Requires Oregon Board of Dentistry, upon request of individual who has been
disciplined by board, to remove from its website and other publicly accessible print and
electronic publications information related to disciplining individual if individual meets
certain criteria.

House Bill 4106

Prohibits state agency from relying only upon expediency, convenience, best interest of
public, general public need or speculation as basis for finding of prejudice that
authorizes temporary adoption, amendment or suspension of rule.

House Bill 4118
Allows person to contest civil penalty in circuit court.

House Bill 4130

Requires state agency public records policies, and public record retention schedules of state
agencies and political subdivisions of this state, to require retention of public records for a
minimum of two years. Requires public bodies to provide standardized acknowledgment of
receipt of requests for public records within five business days of receipt of request. Requires
public bodies to provide records, or to assert exemption from required disclosure, within 30 days
of receipt of request. Permits public body to exceed 30-day deadline if public body provides
requester with estimated time that records will be disclosed or exemptions claimed. Permits
requesters to petition for administrative or judicial review if public body fails to meet 30-day
deadline. Limits amounts public bodies with 10 or more full-time equivalent employees may
charge as fees for producing public records. Directs county clerks and city elections officers to
give notice to Secretary of State regarding petitions for county or local initiative measures, and
requires secretary to provide reasonable statewide notice of county or local initiative measures.
Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Secretary of State to implement statewide notice of
county or local initiative measures

Senate Bill 1504
Enacts interstate Physical Therapy Licensure Compact.

Senate Bill 1538

Requires state agencies to notify Legislative Fiscal Office promptly concerning information
security incidents and provide office with copies and report results of information security
assessments.
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Senate Bill 1579
Requires state agencies to provide summary of legal advice regarding validity or effect
of proposed rule or written order.

House Joint Resolution 201

Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution relating to legislative review of state
agency administrative rules. Provides that Legislative Assembly may require legislative
committees to review and approve administrative rules before rules or amendments
become effective. Provides that administrative rules adopted or amended by state
agencies after effective date of constitutional amendment have no force and effect unless
specified legislative committees approve rule or amendment, if approval is required by
law. Refers proposed amendment to people for their approval or rejection at next regular
general election.

Senate Joint Resolution 202

Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution to require Legislative Assembly to approve
each administrative rule or amendment of administrative rule adopted by executive
branch agency before taking effect. Authorizes Legislative Assembly to permit executive
branch agencies to adopt or amend rules that take effect immediately if emergency
conditions exist that satisfy criteria established by Legislative Assembly. Permits rule
adopted or amended on emergency basis to be in effect for no more than 12 calendar
months unless rule or amendment is approved by Legislative Assembly. Applies to rules that
are first adopted or amended on or after July 1, 2017. Refers proposed amendment to
people for their approval or rejection at next regular general election.

Governor Kate Brown’'s Executive Order # 16-06

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 16-06

PUBLIC RECORDS

Upon assuming the office of Governor in February 2015, I offered a package of
bills to the Legislative Assembly relating to ethics and governmental
accountability. A key component of that package was Senate Bill 9, which
mandated that an audit be conducted of state agencies’ responses Lo public records
requests with respect to issues of cost, timeliness and procedures. The Legislature
approved Senate Bill 9 and I signed it into law on June 15. 2015.

The Secretary of State’s Audits Division has conducted the audit required by
Senate Bill 9, and on November, 2015, released the audit results in a document
entitled “State Agencies Respond Well to Routine Public Records Requests, but
Struggle with Complex Requests and Emerging Technologies.” (The audit and the
audit results are hereinafter referred to collectively as the ““Audit.”) The Audit
examined a sampling of large, medium and small agencies and found that for the
most part Oregon state agencies handle routine requests well and struggle with
complex requests.
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Secretary of State Audit Report

Secretary of State Audit Report

Jeanne P. Atkins, Secretary of State

Gary Blackmer, Director, Audits Division

State Agencies Respond Well to Routine Public Records Requests, but
Struggle with Complex Requests and Emerging Technologies

Executive Summary

Oregon state agencies respond well to most public records requests for
routine information, but the infrequent complex requests produce
challenges. As a result, some requesters believe that agencies deliberately
discourage, delay, or block the release of public information.

The Department of Administrative Services should provide guidance and
training to help agencies develop procedures, and agencies should create
timeliness goals for responding to requests. Better monitoring, consistent
fees, use of technology, and third-party mediation could also help with the
retention and disclosure of public records and improve trust in Oregon’s
government.
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

A-Engrossed
House Bill 4016

Ordered by the House February 8
Including House Amendments dated February 8

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee
on Health Care)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure.

[Permits Oregon Board of Dentistry, Oregon Medical Board, Oregon State Board of Nursing and
State Board of Pharmacy to contract to establish impaired health professional program for licensees
of boards. Requires program to meet requirements for impaired health professional program contracted
for or established by Oregon Health Authority.]

Permits health profession licensing boards to establish or contract together to establish
impaired health professional program for licensees of boards. Permits boards to consult with
each other to adopt rules related to impaired health professional program. Establishes Im-
paired Health Professional Program Work Group to facilitate establishment and continuation
of impaired health professional program.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to impaired health professional programs; creating new provisions; amending ORS 676.190;
and declaring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 676.190 is amended to read:

676.190. (1) The [Oregon Health Authority shall]l health profession licensing boards may es-
tablish or contract to establish an impaired health professional program.

(2) A program established or contracted for under this section [The program] must:

(a) Enroll licensees of participating health profession licensing boards who have been diagnosed
with alcohol or substance abuse or a mental health disorder;

(b) Require that a licensee sign a written consent prior to enrollment in the program allowing
disclosure and exchange of information between the program, the licensee’s board, the licensee’s
employer, evaluators and treatment entities in compliance with ORS 179.505 and 42 C.F.R. part 2;

(c) Enter into diversion agreements with enrolled licensees;

(d) If the enrolled licensee has a direct supervisor, assess the ability of the direct supervisor to
supervise the licensee, including an assessment of any documentation of the direct supervisor’s
completion of specialized training;

(e) Report substantial noncompliance with a diversion agreement to a noncompliant licensee’s
board within one business day after the program learns of the substantial noncompliance; and

(f) At least weekly, submit to licensees’ boards:

(A) A list of licensees who were referred to the program by a health profession licensing board
and who are enrolled in the program; and

(B) A list of licensees who were referred to the program by a health profession licensing board

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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and who successfully complete the program.

[(2)] (8) The lists submitted under subsection [(1)()] (2)(f) of this section are exempt from dis-
closure as a public record under ORS 192.410 to 192.505.

[(3)] (4) When the program reports substantial noncompliance under subsection [(1)(e)] (2)(e) of
this section to a licensee’s board, the report must include:

(a) A description of the substantial noncompliance;

(b) A copy of a report from the independent third party who diagnosed the licensee under ORS
676.200 (2)(a) or subsection [(6)(a)] (7)(a) of this section stating the licensee’s diagnosis;

(c) A copy of the licensee’s diversion agreement; and

(d) The licensee’s employment status.

[(4)] () The program may not diagnose or treat licensees enrolled in the program.

[(5)] (6) The diversion agreement required by subsection [(1)] (2) of this section must:

(a) Require the licensee to consent to disclosure and exchange of information between the pro-
gram, the licensee’s board, the licensee’s employer, evaluators and treatment programs or providers,
in compliance with ORS 179.505 and 42 C.F.R. part 2;

(b) Require that the licensee comply continuously with the agreement for at least two years to
successfully complete the program;

(c) Require that the licensee abstain from mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially
addictive drugs, unless the drug is:

(A) Prescribed for a documented medical condition by a person authorized by law to prescribe
the drug to the licensee; and

(B) Approved by the program if the licensee’s board has granted the program that authority;

(d) Require the licensee to report use of mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially
addictive drugs within 24 hours;

(e) Require the licensee to agree to participate in a recommended treatment plan;

(f) Contain limits on the licensee’s practice of the licensee’s health profession;

(g) Require the licensee to submit to random drug or alcohol testing in accordance with federal
regulations, unless the licensee is diagnosed with solely a mental health disorder and the licensee’s
board does not otherwise require the licensee to submit to random drug or alcohol testing;

(h) Require the licensee to report to the program regarding the licensee’s compliance with the
agreement;

(i) Require the licensee to report any arrest for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime
to the program within three business days after the licensee is arrested or convicted;

(j) Require the licensee to report applications for licensure in other states, changes in employ-
ment and changes in practice setting; and

(k) Provide that the licensee is responsible for the cost of evaluations, toxicology testing and
treatment.

[(6)(a)] (7)(a) [If a health profession licensing board participating in the program establishes by
rule an option for self-referral to the program, a licensee of the health profession licensing board may
self-refer to the program.] A health profession licensing board may establish by rule an option
to permit licensees of the health profession licensing board to self-refer to the program.

(b) The program shall require a licensee who self-refers to the program to attest that the
licensee is not, to the best of the licensee’s knowledge, under investigation by the licensee’s board.
The program shall enroll the licensee on the date on which the licensee attests that the licensee,

to the best of the licensee’s knowledge, is not under investigation by the licensee’s board.

[2]
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(c) When a licensee self-refers to the program, the program shall:

(A) Require that an independent third party approved by the licensee’s board to evaluate alcohol
or substance abuse or mental health disorders evaluate the licensee for alcohol or substance abuse
or mental health disorders; and

(B) Investigate to determine whether the licensee’s practice while impaired has presented or
presents a danger to the public.

(d) When a licensee self-refers to the program, the program may not report the licensee’s en-
rollment in or successful completion of the program to the licensee’s board.

[(7) The authority shall adopt rules establishing a fee to be paid by the health profession licensing
boards participating in the program for administration of the program.]

[(8) The authority shall arrange for an independent third party to audit the program every four
years to ensure compliance with program guidelines. The authority shall report the results of the audit
to the Legislative Assembly, the Governor and the health profession licensing boards. The report may
not contain individually identifiable information about licensees.]

(8) The health profession licensing boards shall arrange for an independent third party
to conduct an audit every four years of an impaired health professional program for the
licensees of those health profession licensing boards to ensure compliance with program
guidelines. The health profession licensing boards shall report the results of the audit to the
Legislative Assembly in the manner provided by ORS 192.245 and to the Governor. The report
may not contain individually identifiable information about licensees.

(9) The [authority] health profession licensing boards, in consultation with one another,
may adopt rules to carry out this section.

SECTION 2. Section 3 of this 2016 Act is added to and made a part of ORS 676.185 to
676.200.

SECTION 3. (1) The Impaired Health Professional Program Work Group is established.

(2) The work group consists of the designees of any health profession licensing boards
that elect to establish or contract for an impaired health professional program as described
in ORS 676.190.

(3) The work group shall facilitate the establishment and continuation of the impaired
health professional program described in ORS 676.190.

(4) A majority of the members of the work group constitutes a quorum for the trans-
action of business.

(5) Official action by the work group requires the approval of a majority of the members
of the work group.

(6) The work group shall elect one of its members to serve as chairperson.

(7) The work group shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson
or of a majority of the members of the work group.

(8) The work group may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the work group.

(9) The Oregon Medical Board shall provide staff support to the work group.

(10) Members of the work group are not entitled to compensation, but may be reimbursed
for actual and necessary travel and other expenses incurred by them in the performance of
their official duties in the manner and amounts provided for in ORS 292.495. Claims for ex-
penses shall be paid out of funds appropriated to the health professional licensing board that
the member represents for purposes of the work group.

(11) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, are directed to assist

[3]
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the work group in the performance of duties of the work group and, to the extent permitted
by laws relating to confidentiality, to furnish information and advice the members of the
work group consider necessary to perform their duties.

SECTION 4. The amendments to ORS 676.190 by section 1 of this 2016 Act become oper-
ative on July 1, 2017.

SECTION 5. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.

[4]
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

House Bill 4095

Sponsored by Representative GILLIAM; Representative LIVELY, Senator GIROD (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Requires Oregon Board of Dentistry, upon request of individual who has been disciplined by
board, to remove from its website and other publicly accessible print and electronic publications
information related to disciplining individual if individual meets certain criteria.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to dentistry; and declaring an emergency.

Whereas the Oregon Board of Dentistry is responsible for the licensure and discipline of dental
professionals in this state; and

Whereas collaboration between the Oregon Board of Dentistry and other medical professional
boards in this state fosters productive and equitable discipline procedures among all medical pro-
fessions; and

Whereas communication between the Oregon Board of Dentistry and the Legislative Assembly
should be encouraged; now, therefore,

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of this 2016 Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 679.

SECTION 2. (1) Upon the request of an individual who has been disciplined by the Oregon
Board of Dentistry, the board shall remove from its website and other publicly accessible
print and electronic publications under the board’s control all information related to disci-
plining the individual under ORS 679.140 and any findings and conclusions made by the board
during the disciplinary proceeding, if:

(a) The request is made 10 years or more after the date on which any disciplinary sanc-
tion ended;

(b) The individual was not disciplined for financially or physically harming a patient;

(¢) The individual informed the board of the matter for which the individual was disci-
plined before the board received information about the matter or otherwise had knowledge
of the matter;

(d) The individual making the request, if the individual is or was a licensee, otherwise
remained in good standing with the board following the imposition of the disciplinary sanc-
tion; and

(e) The individual fully complied with all disciplinary sanctions imposed by the board.

(2) The board shall adopt by rule a process for making a request under this section.

SECTION 3. As soon as practicable after the effective date of this 2016 Act, the Oregon
Board of Dentistry shall:

(1) Provide notice to each individual licensed by the board under ORS chapter 679 of the

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.

LC 138

Attachment #2



<N O O W N =

HB 4095

process for making a request described in section 2 of this 2016 Act; and

(2) Provide public notice of the process for making a request under section 2 of this 2016
Act.

SECTION 4. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.

[2]
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Ore On Board of Dentistry
1500 SW 1st Ave. Ste 770
Portland, OR 97201-5837

(971) 673-3200
Fax: (971) 673-3202

Kate Brown, Governor

Testimony
On House Bill 4095
by
Stephen Prisby, Executive Director
Oregon Board of Dentistry

Before the

Health Committee on Health Care,
Wednesday, February 3, 2016

On behalf of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, | want to thank you for the opportunity to testify
regarding House Bill 4095.

The stated mission of the Oregon Board of Dentistry is to assure that the citizens of Oregon
receive the highest possible quality oral health care.

In keeping with that mission, | am presenting the following comments on House Bill 4095.
House Bill 4095 was first available for the Board to review last Thursday, January 28, 2016.
Copies of the legislation as introduced have been sent to all members of the Board. However,
for the Board to take an official position will require the Board to meet and discuss this
legislation, as well as any of the amendments that may be introduced or suggested at today’s
hearing. A meeting has not been able to take place.

OBD Staff and | have noted:

o Public Record Requests would still require us to provide public discipline information
even if as this legislation intends, we remove information and redact information from
past newsletters and board minutes that are posted on our website.

e The language in Section 2(d) references that a licensee remained in “good standing.”
The OBD does not define the term “good standing” in the Dental Practice Act.

e The Board of Dentistry would be the only health licensing board removing the names of
disciplined licensees from websites and other electronic publications.

e Governor Kate Brown recently issued Executive Order No.16-06 which addresses public
record policies and will impact our agency to enhance more transparency and
accessibility to Oregonians.

Last year 18 Health Boards (Medical, Nursing, Pharmacy, Dentistry, etc...) worked together
based on a directive from Representative Greenlick & Representative Hayden to see if the
boards could find and possibly propose a single way all boards would allow discipline
information to be available to the public and to see if after a certain timeframe, some discipline
would come off board websites. The boards are different, with different types of board orders
and actions, and different types of discipline. All 18 Health Boards leave discipline information
on their websites indefinitely. Some, like ours have a note to contact the board office, when
orders are withdrawn.

Attachment #2



To comply with HB 4095 would necessitate the OBD to reallocate our limited resources, of staff
time and money to fulfill what the legislation intends. It might appear to make the OBD look like
it is protecting certain Licensees by removing unflattering discipline information.

The charge from the Oregon Legislature ever since it created the Oregon Board of Dentistry in
1887 has always been for the continued protection of the public, and the Board and | take that
role very seriously.

The Board only posts disciplinary information on our website when both the Board has voted to
discipline a Licensee, and the consent order has been signed by the Licensee and the Board
President. Pursuant to ORS 676.175 Complaints and Investigations are not public records.

| have discussed this legislation with the ODA and shared it with the ODHA. | enjoy a good
working relationship with the leadership of both organizations and appreciate their feedback on
this and other legislation impacting our dentists and dental hygienists.

Therefore, the Board pledges to this Committee that it will work with all of the parties involved in
the development, as well as those that would be impacted by the passage of this legislation, to
help craft a piece of legislation that will be acceptable to all of the parties involved and promote
the Board’s mission to protect the public.

| would be happy to answer any of the Committee’s questions.
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

House Bill 4106

Sponsored by Representatives KENNEMER, GOMBERG; Representatives DAVIS, DOHERTY, EVANS, HOYLE,
HUFFMAN, KENY-GUYER, KOMP, MCLANE, PILUSO, SPRENGER, STARK, WEIDNER, WILSON, WITT,
Senators BEYER, BOQUIST (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Prohibits state agency from relying only upon expediency, convenience, best interest of public,
general public need or speculation as basis for finding of prejudice that authorizes temporary
adoption, amendment or suspension of rule.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to state agency adoption of temporary rules; amending ORS 183.335.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 183.335 is amended to read:

183.335. (1) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the agency shall give notice
of its intended action:

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the agency under ORS 183.341 (4), which pro-
vides a reasonable opportunity for interested persons to be notified of the agency’s proposed action;

(b) In the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date;

(c) At least 28 days before the effective date, to persons who have requested notice pursuant to
subsection (8) of this section; and

(d) Delivered only by electronic mail, at least 49 days before the effective date, to the persons
specified in subsection (15) of this section.

(2)(a) The notice required by subsection (1) of this section must include:

(A) A caption of not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the
agency’s intended action. The agency shall include the caption on each separate notice, statement,
certificate or other similar document related to the intended action.

(B) An objective, simple and understandable statement summarizing the subject matter and
purpose of the intended action in sufficient detail to inform a person that the person’s interests may
be affected, and the time, place and manner in which interested persons may present their views on
the intended action.

(b) The agency shall include with the notice of intended action given under subsection (1) of this
section:

(A) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon and bearing upon the
promulgation of the rule;

(B) A citation of the statute or other law the rule is intended to implement;

(C) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how the rule is intended to meet the
need;

(D) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any, prepared by or relied upon by

the agency in considering the need for and in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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at which those documents are available for public inspection. The list may be abbreviated if neces-
sary, and if so abbreviated there shall be identified the location of a complete list;

(E) A statement of fiscal impact identifying state agencies, units of local government and the
public that may be economically affected by the adoption, amendment or repeal of the rule and an
estimate of that economic impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public. In
considering the economic effect of the proposed action on the public, the agency shall utilize avail-
able information to project any significant economic effect of that action on businesses which shall
include a cost of compliance effect on small businesses affected. For an agency specified in ORS
183.530, the statement of fiscal impact shall also include a housing cost impact statement as de-
scribed in ORS 183.534;

(F) If an advisory committee is not appointed under the provisions of ORS 183.333, an explana-
tion as to why no advisory committee was used to assist the agency in drafting the rule; and

(G) A request for public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving
the rule’s substantive goals while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on business.

(c) The Secretary of State may omit the information submitted under paragraph (b) of this sub-
section from publication in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360.

(d) When providing notice of an intended action under subsection (1)(c) of this section, the
agency shall provide a copy of the rule that the agency proposes to adopt, amend or repeal, or an
explanation of how the person may acquire a copy of the rule. The copy of an amended rule shall
show all changes to the rule by striking through material to be deleted and underlining all new
material, or by any other method that clearly shows all new and deleted material.

(3)(a) When an agency proposes to adopt, amend or repeal a rule, it shall give interested persons
reasonable opportunity to submit data or views. Opportunity for oral hearing shall be granted upon
request received from 10 persons or from an association having not less than 10 members before the
earliest date that the rule could become effective after the giving of notice pursuant to subsection
(1) of this section. An agency holding a hearing upon a request made under this subsection shall give
notice of the hearing at least 21 days before the hearing to the person who has requested the
hearing, to persons who have requested notice pursuant to subsection (8) of this section and to the
persons specified in subsection (15) of this section. The agency shall publish notice of the hearing
in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 14 days before the hearing. The agency shall
consider fully any written or oral submission.

(b) If an agency is required to conduct an oral hearing under paragraph (a) of this subsection,
and the rule for which the hearing is to be conducted applies only to a limited geographical area
within this state, or affects only a limited geographical area within this state, the hearing shall be
conducted within the geographical area at the place most convenient for the majority of the resi-
dents within the geographical area. At least 14 days before a hearing conducted under this para-
graph, the agency shall publish notice of the hearing in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 and
in a newspaper of general circulation published within the geographical area that is affected by the
rule or to which the rule applies. If a newspaper of general circulation is not published within the
geographical area that is affected by the rule or to which the rule applies, the publication shall be
made in the newspaper of general circulation published closest to the geographical area.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, the Department of Corrections and the
State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision may adopt rules limiting participation by inmates
in the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule to written submissions.

(d) If requested by at least five persons before the earliest date that the rule could become ef-

[2]
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fective after the agency gives notice pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the agency shall
provide a statement that identifies the objective of the rule and a statement of how the agency will
subsequently determine whether the rule is in fact accomplishing that objective.

(e) An agency that receives data or views concerning proposed rules from interested persons
shall maintain a record of the data or views submitted. The record shall contain:

(A) All written materials submitted to an agency in response to a notice of intent to adopt,
amend or repeal a rule.

(B) A recording or summary of oral submissions received at hearings held for the purpose of
receiving those submissions.

(C) Any public comment received in response to the request made under subsection (2)(b)(G) of
this section and the agency’s response to that comment.

(D) Any statements provided by the agency under paragraph (d) of this subsection.

(4) Upon request of an interested person received before the earliest date that the rule could
become effective after the giving of notice pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the agency shall
postpone the date of its intended action no less than 21 nor more than 90 days in order to allow the
requesting person an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments concerning the proposed
action. Nothing in this subsection shall preclude an agency from adopting a temporary rule pursuant
to subsection (5) of this section.

(5) Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (4) of this section, an agency may adopt, amend or sus-
pend a rule without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that it finds
practicable, if the agency prepares:

(a) A statement of its findings demonstrating that its failure to act promptly will result in se-
rious prejudice to the public interest or the interest of the parties concerned and the specific rea-
sons for its findings of prejudice;

(b) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon and bearing upon the
promulgation of the rule;

(c) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how the rule is intended to meet the
need;

(d) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any, prepared by or relied upon by
the agency in considering the need for and in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location
at which those documents are available for public inspection; and

(e) For an agency specified in ORS 183.530, a housing cost impact statement as defined in ORS
183.534.

(6)(a) A rule adopted, amended or suspended under subsection (5) of this section is temporary
and may be effective for a period of not longer than 180 days. The adoption of a rule under this
subsection does not preclude the subsequent adoption of an identical rule under subsections (1) to
(4) of this section.

(b) A rule temporarily suspended shall regain effectiveness upon expiration of the temporary
period of suspension unless the rule is repealed under subsections (1) to (4) of this section.

(c) An agency may not rely only upon expediency, convenience, best interest of the pub-
lic, general public need or speculation as the basis for its findings of prejudice under sub-
section (5)(a) of this section.

(7) Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (4) of this section, an agency may amend a rule without
prior notice or hearing if the amendment is solely for the purpose of:

(a) Changing the name of an agency by reason of a name change prescribed by law;
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(b) Changing the name of a program, office or division within an agency as long as the change
in name does not have a substantive effect on the functions of the program, office or division;

(c) Correcting spelling;

(d) Correcting grammatical mistakes in a manner that does not alter the scope, application or
meaning of the rule;

(e) Correcting statutory or rule references; or

(f) Correcting addresses or telephone numbers referred to in the rules.

(8)(a) Any person may request in writing that an agency send to the person copies of the
agency’s notices of intended action issued under subsection (1) of this section. The person must
provide an address where the person elects to receive notices. The address provided may be a postal
mailing address or, if the agency provides notice by electronic mail, may be an electronic mailing
address.

(b) A request under this subsection must indicate that the person requests one of the following:

(A) The person may request that the agency mail paper copies of the proposed rule and other
information required by subsection (2) of this section to the postal mailing address.

(B) If the agency posts notices of intended action on a website, the person may request that the
agency mail the information required by subsection (2)(a) of this section to the postal mailing ad-
dress with a reference to the website where electronic copies of the proposed rule and other infor-
mation required by subsection (2) of this section are posted.

(C) The person may request that the agency electronically mail the information required by
subsection (2)(a) of this section to the electronic mailing address, and either provide electronic
copies of the proposed rule and other information required by subsection (2) of this section or pro-
vide a reference to a website where electronic copies of the proposed rule and other information
required by subsection (2) of this section are posted.

(c) Upon receipt of any request under this subsection, the agency shall acknowledge the request,
establish a mailing list and maintain a record of all mailings made pursuant to the request. Agen-
cies may establish procedures for establishing the mailing lists and keeping the mailing lists current.
Agencies by rule may establish fees necessary to defray the costs of mailings and maintenance of
the lists.

(d) Members of the Legislative Assembly who receive notices under subsection (15) of this sec-
tion may request that an agency furnish paper copies of the notices.

(9) This section does not apply to rules establishing an effective date for a previously effective
rule or establishing a period during which a provision of a previously effective rule will apply.

(10) This section does not apply to ORS 279.835 to 279.855, 279A.140 to 279A.161, 279A.250 to
279A.290, 279A.990, 279B.050 to 279B.085, 279B.200 to 279B.240, 279B.270, 279B.275, 279B.280,
279C.360, 279C.365, 279C.370, 279C.375, 279C.380, 279C.385, 279C.500 to 279C.530, 279C.540, 279C.545,
279C.550 to 279C.570, 279C.580, 279C.585, 279C.590, 279C.600 to 279C.625, 279C.650 to 279C.670 and
279C.800 to 279C.870 relating to public contracts and purchasing.

(11)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this subsection, a rule is not valid unless adopted
in substantial compliance with the provisions of this section in effect on the date that the notice
required under subsection (1) of this section is delivered to the Secretary of State for the purpose
of publication in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360.

(b) In addition to all other requirements with which rule adoptions must comply, a rule is not
valid if the rule has not been submitted to the Legislative Counsel in the manner required by ORS
183.715.
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(c) A rule is not subject to judicial review or other challenge by reason of failing to comply with
subsection (2)(a)(A) of this section.

(12)(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (11) of this section, but subject to paragraph
(b) of this subsection, an agency may correct its failure to substantially comply with the require-
ments of subsections (2) and (5) of this section in adoption of a rule by an amended filing, as long
as the noncompliance did not substantially prejudice the interests of persons to be affected by the
rule.

(b) An agency may use an amended filing to correct a failure to include a fiscal impact state-
ment in a notice of intended action, as required by subsection (2)(b)(E) of this section, or to correct
an inaccurate fiscal impact statement, only if the agency developed the fiscal impact statement with
the assistance of an advisory committee or fiscal impact advisory committee appointed under ORS
183.333.

(13) Unless otherwise provided by statute, the adoption, amendment or repeal of a rule by an
agency need not be based upon or supported by an evidentiary record.

(14) When an agency has established a deadline for comment on a proposed rule under the pro-
visions of subsection (3)(a) of this section, the agency may not extend that deadline for another
agency or person unless the extension applies equally to all interested agencies and persons. An
agency shall not consider any submission made by another agency after the final deadline has
passed.

(15) The notices required under subsections (1) and (3) of this section must be given by the
agency to the following persons:

(a) If the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal results from legislation that was passed
within two years before notice is given under subsection (1) of this section, notice shall be given to
the legislator who introduced the bill that subsequently was enacted into law, and to the chair or
cochairs of all committees that reported the bill out, except for those committees whose sole action
on the bill was referral to another committee.

(b) If the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal does not result from legislation that was
passed within two years before notice is given under subsection (1) of this section, notice shall be
given to the chair or cochairs of any interim or session committee with authority over the subject
matter of the rule.

(c) If notice cannot be given under paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection, notice shall be given
to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to the President of the Senate who are in office
on the date the notice is given.

(16)(a) Upon the request of a member of the Legislative Assembly or of a person who would be
affected by a proposed adoption, amendment or repeal, the committees receiving notice under sub-
section (15) of this section shall review the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal for compliance
with the legislation from which the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal results.

(b) The committees shall submit their comments on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal

to the agency proposing the adoption, amendment or repeal.
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

House Bill 4118

Sponsored by Representative HEARD (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Allows person to contest civil penalty in circuit court.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to appeals of agency orders; amending ORS 183.400, 183.415, 183.745, 418.993, 441.712,
443.795, 527.687, 536.905, 603.995, 616.997, 619.996, 621.995, 622.996, 625.995, 628.995, 632.995,
634.905, 635.995, 645.215, 673.732, 688.715, 689.832, 697.832, 704.900 and 822.080.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 183.745 is amended to read:

183.745. (1) Except as otherwise provided by law, an agency may [only] impose a civil penalty
only as provided in this section.

(2) A civil penalty imposed under this section shall become due and payable 10 days after the
order imposing the civil penalty becomes final by operation of law or on appeal. A person against
whom a civil penalty is to be imposed shall be served with a notice in the form provided in ORS
183.415. Service of the notice shall be accomplished in the manner provided by ORS 183.415.

(3) The person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 20 days from the date of service of
the notice provided for in subsection (2) of this section in which to [make written application for a
hearing] file an appeal of the order. The agency may by rule provide for a longer period of time
in which [application for a hearing may be made] an appeal may be filed. If [no application for a
hearing is made] the person does not file an appeal within the time allowed, the agency may make
a final order imposing the penalty. A final order entered under this subsection need not be delivered
or mailed to the person against whom the civil penalty is imposed.

[(4) Any person who makes application as provided for in subsection (3) of this section shall be
entitled to a hearing. The hearing shall be conducted as]

(4) A person may file an appeal:

(a) By requesting a contested case hearing pursuant to the applicable provisions of ORS
183.413 to 183.470I.1;

(b) If the order proposes a civil penalty of $10,000 or greater, by filing a petition for ju-
dicial review of the order in the appropriate circuit court; or

(¢) If the order proposes a civil penalty of less than $10,000, by commencing an action,
as provided in ORS 46.425, in the small claims department of the Circuit Court for Marion
County or the circuit court for the county in which the person resides or has a principal
place of business.

(5)(a) Judicial review of an order made after a hearing under subsection [(4)] (4)(a) of this sec-

tion shall be as provided in ORS 183.480 to 183.497 for judicial review of contested cases.

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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(b) Judicial review under subsection (4)(b) or (c) of this section shall be as provided in
ORS 183.484, 183.486, 183.490, 183.497 and 183.500 for judicial review of an order in other than
a contested case except that the petitioner has a right to a jury trial if the action is filed
pursuant to subsection (4)(b) of this section.

(6) When an order assessing a civil penalty under this section becomes final by operation of law
or on appeal, and the amount of penalty is not paid within 10 days after the order becomes final,
the order may be recorded with the county clerk in any county of this state. The clerk shall there-
upon record the name of the person incurring the penalty and the amount of the penalty in the
County Clerk Lien Record.

(7) This section does not apply to penalties:

(a) Imposed under the tax laws of this state;

(b) Imposed under the provisions of ORS 646.760 or 652.332;

(c) Imposed under the provisions of ORS chapter 654, 656 or 659A; or

(d) Imposed by the Public Utility Commission.

(8) This section creates no new authority in any agency to impose civil penalties.

(9) This section does not affect:

(a) Any right under any other law that an agency may have to bring an action in a court of this
state to recover a civil penalty; or

(b) The ability of an agency to collect a properly imposed civil penalty under the provisions of
ORS 305.830.

(10) The notice provided for in subsection (2) of this section may be made part of any other
notice served by the agency under ORS 183.415.

(11) Informal disposition of proceedings under this section, whether by stipulation, agreed
settlement, consent order or default, may be made at any time.

(12) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, recording an order in the County Clerk
Lien Record pursuant to the provisions of this section has the effect provided for in ORS 205.125
and 205.126, and the order may be enforced as provided in ORS 205.125 and 205.126.

(13) As used in this section:

(a) “Agency” has that meaning given in ORS 183.310.

(b) “Civil penalty” includes only those monetary penalties that are specifically denominated as
civil penalties by statute.

SECTION 2. ORS 183.400 is amended to read:

183.400. (1) The validity of any rule may be determined upon a petition by any person to the
Court of Appeals in the manner provided for review of orders in contested cases. The court shall
have jurisdiction to review the validity of the rule whether or not the petitioner has first requested
the agency to pass upon the validity of the rule in question, but not when the petitioner is a party
to an order or a contested case in which the validity of the rule may be determined by a court.

(2) The validity of any applicable rule may also be determined by a court, upon review of an
order in any manner provided by law or pursuant to ORS 183.480 or 183.745 or upon enforcement
of such rule or order in the manner provided by law.

(3) Judicial review of a rule shall be limited to an examination of:

(a) The rule under review;

(b) The statutory provisions authorizing the rule; and

(c) Copies of all documents necessary to demonstrate compliance with applicable rulemaking

procedures.
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(4) The court shall declare the rule invalid only if it finds that the rule:

(a) Violates constitutional provisions;

(b) Exceeds the statutory authority of the agency; or

(c) Was adopted without compliance with applicable rulemaking procedures.

(5) In the case of disputed allegations of irregularities in procedure which, if proved, would
warrant reversal or remand, the Court of Appeals may refer the allegations to a master appointed
by the court to take evidence and make findings of fact. The court’s review of the master’s findings
of fact shall be de novo on the evidence.

(6) The court shall not declare a rule invalid solely because it was adopted without compliance
with applicable rulemaking procedures after a period of two years after the date the rule was filed
in the office of the Secretary of State, if the agency attempted to comply with those procedures and
its failure to do so did not substantially prejudice the interests of the parties.

SECTION 3. ORS 183.415 is amended to read:

183.415. (1) The Legislative Assembly finds that persons affected by actions taken by state
agencies have a right to be informed of their rights and remedies with respect to the actions.

(2) In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for hearing after reasonable
notice, served personally or by registered or certified mail.

(3) Notice under this section must include:

(a) A statement of the party’s right to hearing, with a description of the procedure and time to
request a hearing, or a statement of the time and place of the hearing;

(b) A statement of the authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held;

(c) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes and rules involved,;

(d) A short and plain statement of the matters asserted or charged;

(e) A statement indicating whether and under what circumstances an order by default may be
entered; and

(f) A statement that active duty servicemembers have a right to stay proceedings under the
federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act and may contact the Oregon State Bar or the Oregon Mil-
itary Department for more information. The statement must include the toll-free telephone numbers
for the Oregon State Bar and the Oregon Military Department and the Internet address for the
United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance Legal Services Locator website.

(4) If a contested case order includes a civil penalty, the notice must include a statement
of the party’s rights under ORS 183.745.

SECTION 4. ORS 418.993 is amended to read:

418.993. (1) Any civil penalty under ORS 418.992 shall be imposed in the manner provided in
ORS 183.745.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the private child-caring agency to whom the notice is ad-
dressed shall have 10 days from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written applica-
tion for a hearing] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the Director of Human Services[.] in accordance with ORS
183.745 (4)(a); or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

SECTION 5. ORS 441.712 is amended to read:

441.712. (1) Any civil penalty under ORS 441.710 shall be imposed in the manner provided by
ORS 183.745.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 10 days
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from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing, in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a), before:

[(@)] (A) The Director of Human Services if the facility is a long term care facility, residential
care facility, residential training facility or residential training home; or

[(6)] (B) The Director of the Oregon Health Authority if the facility is a residential treatment
facility or residential treatment homel.]; or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

SECTION 6. ORS 443.795 is amended to read:

443.795. (1) Any civil penalty under ORS 443.790 shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 10 days
from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing, in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a), before the director of the
licensing agencyl.]; or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(3) If the person requests a hearing, the licensing agency shall conduct the hearing and issue
the final order within 180 days after any hearing request.

SECTION 7. ORS 527.687 is amended to read:

527.687. (1) Subject to the notice provisions of ORS 527.683, any civil penalty under ORS 527.992
shall be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 183.745.

(2) In no case shall a hearing requested under ORS 183.745 (4)(a) be held less than 45 days from
the date of service of the notice of penalty to allow the party to prepare testimony. The hearing
shall be held not more than 180 days following issuance of the notice unless all parties agree on an
extension.

(3) Hearings under this section shall be conducted by an administrative law judge assigned from
the Office of Administrative Hearings established under ORS 183.605.

(4) Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, all civil penalties recovered under ORS
527.610 to 527.770, 527.990 and 527.992 shall be paid to the General Fund.

(5) Civil penalties recovered under ORS 527.685 (5) shall be deposited in the State Forestry De-
partment Account under ORS 526.060 and used, consistently with ORS 527.690, by the State Forester
to reforest the land that is the subject of a violation of ORS 527.745 or rules for reforestation
adopted pursuant to ORS 527.745. Civil penalties described in this subsection that exceed the costs
of reforestation shall be paid to the General Fund.

SECTION 8. ORS 536.905 is amended to read:

536.905. (1) Any civil penalty under ORS 536.900 shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 10 days
from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the commission[.] in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a); or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

SECTION 9. ORS 603.995 is amended to read:

603.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 603.992, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of this chapter or of rules adopted
under this chapter. For the purposes of this section, each day a violation continues after the period
of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate violation unless the department
finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
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posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 10. ORS 616.997 is amended to read:

616.997. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190, 616.992 or 616.994, the State
Department of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of this chapter or of rules,
regulations or standards adopted under this chapter. For the purposes of this section, each day a
violation continues after the period of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate
violation unless the department finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe
a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 11. ORS 619.996 is amended to read:

619.996. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 619.993, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of this chapter or of rules adopted
under this chapter. For the purposes of this section, each day a violation continues after the period
of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate violation unless the department
finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-

dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
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civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 12. ORS 621.995 is amended to read:

621.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 621.991, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of ORS 621.056, 621.057, 621.062,
621.070, 621.072, 621.076, 621.084, 621.088, 621.117, 621.122, 621.124, 621.161, 621.166, 621.183, 621.198,
621.207, 621.226, 621.259, 621.335, 621.340, 621.345, 621.418, 621.445 or 621.730 or of rules, regulations
or standards adopted under ORS 621.060, 621.083, 621.096, 621.224 or 621.261. For the purposes of
this section, each day a violation continues after the period of time established for compliance shall
be considered a separate violation unless the department finds that a different period of time is more
appropriate to describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 13. ORS 622.996 is amended to read:

622.996. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 622.992, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of ORS 622.010 to 622.180 or of
rules adopted under ORS 622.180. For the purposes of this section, each day a violation continues
after the period of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate violation unless
the department finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe a specific vio-
lation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);

or
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(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 14. ORS 625.995 is amended to read:

625.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 625.990, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of ORS 625.010 to 625.270 or of
rules or regulations adopted under ORS 625.010 to 625.270. For the purposes of this section, each
day a violation continues after the period of time established for compliance shall be considered a
separate violation unless the department finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to
describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 15. ORS 628.995 is amended to read:

628.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 628.990, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of ORS 628.210 to 628.370 or of
rules or regulations adopted under ORS 628.210 to 628.370. For the purposes of this section, each
day a violation continues after the period of time established for compliance shall be considered a
separate violation unless the department finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to
describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 16. ORS 632.995 is amended to read:

632.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 632.990, the State De-
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partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of ORS 632.216, 632.226, 632.275
to 632.290, 632.450 to 632.490, 632.625, 632.705 to 632.815 or 632.900 to 632.985 or of rules adopted
under ORS 632.216, 632.226, 632.275 to 632.290, 632.450 to 632.490, 632.625, 632.705 to 632.815 or
632.900 to 632.985. For the purposes of this section, each day a violation continues after the period
of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate violation unless the department
finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe a specific violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 17. ORS 634.905 is amended to read:

634.905. (1) Any civil penalty under ORS 634.900 shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 10 days
from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the Director of Agriculture in accordance with ORS 183.745
(4)(a); or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(c).

SECTION 18. ORS 635.995 is amended to read:

635.995. (1) In addition to any penalty available under ORS 561.190 or 635.991, the State De-
partment of Agriculture may impose a civil penalty for a violation of this chapter or of rules or
regulations adopted under this chapter. For the purposes of this section, each day a violation con-
tinues after the period of time established for compliance shall be considered a separate violation
unless the department finds that a different period of time is more appropriate to describe a specific
violation event.

(2) The department may adopt rules establishing a schedule of civil penalties that may be im-
posed under this section. Civil penalties imposed under this section may not exceed $10,000 for each
violation.

(3) When the department imposes a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section, the de-
partment shall impose the penalty in the manner provided by ORS 183.745, except that the [written
application for a hearing must be received by the department] person to whom the notice is ad-
dressed must, no later than 10 days after the date of mailing or personal service of the notice of
civil penaltyl.], file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the department in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a);
or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) Moneys received by the department from civil penalties imposed under this section shall be
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deposited in the General Fund to the credit of the Department of Agriculture Account.

SECTION 19. ORS 645.215 is amended to read:

645.215. (1) [Except as provided in] Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, upon the entry of an order
under this chapter, the director shall promptly give to all interested persons notice of the order and
notice that a hearing will be held on the order if a written demand for a hearing is filed with the
director within 20 days after the date of service of the order.

(2) If timely demand for a hearing is filed, the director shall hold a hearing on the order as
provided by ORS chapter 183. In the absence of a timely demand for a hearing, no person shall be
entitled to judicial review of the order.

(3) After the hearing, the director shall enter a final order vacating, modifying or affirming the
order.

SECTION 20. ORS 673.732 is amended to read:

673.732. (1) [Except as provided in] Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, upon entry of a cease and
desist order under ORS 673.605 to 673.740, the State Board of Tax Practitioners shall promptly give
appropriate notice of the cease and desist order as provided in this section. The notice shall state
that a hearing will be held on the cease and desist order if written demand for a hearing is filed
with the board within 20 days after the date of service of the cease and desist order.

(2) If timely demand for a hearing is filed under subsection (1) of this section, the board shall
hold a contested case hearing on the cease and desist order as provided by ORS chapter 183. In the
event of a contested case hearing, the civil penalties assessed in the cease and desist order are
suspended until issuance of a final order, but the remaining provisions of the cease and desist order
shall remain in full force and effect until issuance of the final order. A person is not entitled to ju-
dicial review of a cease and desist order unless the person has made a timely demand for a hearing.

(3) After the hearing, the board shall enter a final order vacating, modifying or affirming the
cease and desist order.

(4) A person aggrieved by a cease and desist order of the board that was the subject of a timely
application for hearing shall be entitled to judicial review of the cease and desist order under ORS
chapter 183.

(5) A judgment of a reviewing court under ORS chapter 183 does not bar the board from there-
after vacating or modifying a cease and desist order involved in the proceeding for review, or en-
tering any new order, for a proper cause that was not decided by the reviewing court.

(6) The board may file an injunction against a person for failure to comply with a cease and
desist order.

SECTION 21. ORS 688.715 is amended to read:

688.715. The Health Licensing Office is granted authority to carry out the following duties:

(1) Adopt rules that are necessary to conduct business, carry out duties and administer the
provisions of ORS 688.701 to 688.734.

(2) Issue registrations, including temporary registrations, permits, waivers and other authori-
zations to practice athletic training as determined by the Board of Athletic Trainers.

(3) Authorize all necessary disbursements to carry out the provisions of ORS 688.701 to 688.734,
including but not limited to payment for necessary supplies, office equipment, books and expenses
for the conduct of examinations, payment for legal and investigative services rendered to the office
and such other expenditures as are provided for in ORS 688.701 to 688.734.

(4) Employ inspectors, examiners, special agents, investigators, clerical assistants and account-

ants as are necessary for the investigation and prosecution of alleged violations and the enforcement
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of ORS 688.701 to 688.734, and for such other purposes as the office may require. Nothing in ORS
688.701 to 688.734 shall be construed to prevent assistance being rendered by an employee of the
office in any hearing called by it. However, all obligations for salaries and expenses incurred under
ORS 688.701 to 688.734 shall be paid only from the fees accruing to the office under ORS 688.701 to
688.734.

(5) Provide the board with such administrative services and employees as the board requires to
carry out its duties.

(6) Maintain an accurate record of all proceedings of the board and of all its meetings, receipts
and disbursements, civil penalties and orders for violation of ORS 688.701 to 688.734, records for
registration to practice athletic training together with the addresses of those registered, and the
names of all persons whose registration has been subject to disciplinary action.

(7) Investigate complaints, take disciplinary action, including assessment of civil penalties, and
provide opportunity [for hearing] to file an appeal according to ORS 183.745.

(8) Administer oaths, issue notices and subpoenas in the name of the board, enforce subpoenas
in the manner authorized by ORS 183.440, hold hearings and perform such other acts as are rea-
sonably necessary to carry out duties of the board granted under ORS 688.701 to 688.734.

SECTION 22. ORS 689.832 is amended to read:

689.832. (1) In addition to any other liability or penalty provided by law, the State Board of
Pharmacy may impose a civil penalty for any violation of the provisions of this chapter or ORS
chapter 475 or any rule of the board. A civil penalty imposed under this subsection may not exceed
$1,000 for each violation by an individual and $10,000 for each violation by a drug outlet.

(2) All penalties recovered under this section shall be deposited into the State Board of Phar-
macy Account established in ORS 689.139.

(3) Any civil penalty under this section shall be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 183.745.

(4) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 10 days
from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for a hearing before the
board.] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the board in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a); or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

SECTION 23. ORS 697.832 is amended to read:

697.832. (1) In addition to any other liability or penalty provided by law, the Director of the
Department of Consumer and Business Services may impose a civil penalty on a person in an amount
not to exceed $5,000 for each violation of ORS 697.612 or 697.642 to 697.702, rules adopted under
ORS 697.632 or order issued under ORS 697.825.

(2) The director shall impose a civil penalty on a person under this section in the manner pro-
vided in ORS 183.745.

(3) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed has 10 days from
the date on which the notice was mailed in which to [apply for a hearing before the director.] file
an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing, in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a), before the director; or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(c).

(4) Paying or tendering payment for a civil penalty imposed under this section does not relieve
a person from the obligation to comply with the applicable statute or rule.

(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be paid into the State Treasury and credited

to the General Fund and are available for general governmental expenses.
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SECTION 24. ORS 704.900 is amended to read:

704.900. (1) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, the State Marine Board may im-
pose a civil penalty for failure to comply with ORS 704.020, 704.021, 704.065 or 704.070 or for vio-
lation of ORS 704.030.

(2) Any civil penalty under this section shall be imposed in the manner provided by ORS 183.745.

(3) Notwithstanding ORS 183.745, the person to whom the notice is addressed shall have 30 days
from the date of service of the notice in which to [make written application for a hearing before the
board.] file an appeal:

(a) Requesting a hearing before the board in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(a); or

(b) In circuit court in accordance with ORS 183.745 (4)(b) or (c).

(4) The board shall adopt rules implementing these provisions, including a schedule of civil
penalties. The civil penalty for each violation shall not exceed $500.

(5) A civil penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or reduced upon such terms and
conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public health and safety.

(6)(a) In imposing a penalty pursuant to the schedule adopted pursuant to this section, the board
shall consider the following factors:

(A) Any prior violations of ORS 704.020, 704.021, 704.030, 704.065 or 704.070.

(B) The immediacy and extent to which the violation threatens the public health or safety.

(b) The penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such terms and
conditions as the board determines to be proper and consistent with the public benefit. Upon the
request of the person incurring the penalty, the board shall consider evidence of the economic and
financial conditions of the person in determining whether a penalty shall be remitted or mitigated.

(7) All penalties recovered under this section shall be paid into the State Treasury and credited
to the Outfitters and Guides Account.

SECTION 25. ORS 822.080 is amended to read:

822.080. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, civil penalties under ORS 822.009
shall be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 183.745.

(2) An application for a hearing on a civil penalty imposed under ORS 822.009:

(a) Must be in writing;

(b) Must be postmarked or received by the Department of Transportation within 20 days from
the date of service of the notice provided for in ORS 183.745;

(c) Must state the name and address of the person requesting a hearing; and

(d) Must state the action being contested.

(3) Hearings on civil penalties imposed under ORS 822.009 shall be conducted by an adminis-
trative law judge assigned from the Office of Administrative Hearings established under ORS
183.605.

(4) The department may, at its option, assign any unpaid civil penalty to the Department of
Revenue for collection. The Department of Revenue shall deduct reasonable expenses from any
amounts collected.

(5) All civil penalties received under ORS 822.009 shall be paid into the State Treasury each
month and credited to the Department of Transportation Operating Fund established by ORS 184.642
(1) and (2).

[11]
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

House Bill 4130

Sponsored by Representative HOYLE (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Requires state agency public records policies, and public record retention schedules of state
agencies and political subdivisions of this state, to require retention of public records for a minimum
of two years.

Requires public bodies to provide standardized acknowledgment of receipt of requests for public
records within five business days of receipt of request. Requires public bodies to provide records,
or to assert exemption from required disclosure, within 30 days of receipt of request. Permits public
body to exceed 30-day deadline if public body provides requester with estimated time that records
will be disclosed or exemptions claimed. Permits requesters to petition for administrative or judicial
review if public body fails to meet 30-day deadline.

Limits amounts public bodies with 10 or more full-time equivalent employees may charge as fees
for producing public records.

Directs county clerks and city elections officers to give notice to Secretary of State regarding
petitions for county or local initiative measures, and requires secretary to provide reasonable
statewide notice of county or local initiative measures.

Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Secretary of State to implement statewide notice of
county or local initiative measures.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to transparency in governmental decision-making; creating new provisions; amending ORS
147.421, 171.427, 192.018, 192.105, 192.440, 192.450, 192.460, 192.465 and 802.183; and declaring an
emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

PUBLIC RECORDS RETENTION

SECTION 1. ORS 192.018 is amended to read:

192.018. (1) Each state agency shall have a written policy that sets forth the agency’s use, re-
tention and ownership of public records. The policy shall ensure that public records are being
maintained and managed consistently within the agency from the time of creation of a public record
to the time of final disposition of the public record.

(2) Each state agency shall submit the written policy and any subsequent amendment of the
policy to the State Archivist for approval before the policy takes effect or the amendment to the
policy takes effect.

(3) A written policy or amendment of the policy must provide for a retention period for
a public record that is at least two years in duration from the time the record is created or
comes into the possession of a custodian, as defined in ORS 192.410, until the record may be
destroyed.

SECTION 2. ORS 192.105 is amended to read:

192.105. (1)(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, the State Archivist may grant to public of-

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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ficials of the state or any political subdivision specific or continuing authorization for the retention
or disposition of public records that are in their custody, after the records have been in existence
for a specified period of time. In granting such authorization, the State Archivist shall consider the
value of the public records for legal, administrative or research purposes and shall establish rules
for procedure for the retention or disposition of the public records.

(b) The State Archivist may not grant authorization under this section for the de-
struction of a public record that has not been retained for a period of at least two years by
the public official who has the public record in custody.

(2)(a) The State Archivist shall provide instructions and forms for obtaining authorization. Upon
receipt of an authorization or upon the effective date of the applicable rule, a state official who has
public records in custody shall destroy or otherwise dispose of those records that are older than the
specified period of retention established by the authorization or rule. An official of a local govern-
ment may destroy such records if such destruction is consistent with the policy of the local gov-
ernment. No record of accounts or financial affairs subject to audit shall be destroyed until released
for destruction by the responsible auditor or representative of the auditor. If federal funds are in-
volved, records retention requirements of the United States Government must be observed. Each
state agency and political subdivision shall designate a records officer to coordinate its records
management program and to serve as liaison with the State Archivist. The county records officers
for the purposes of ORS 192.001, 192.050, 192.060, 192.105, 192.130, 357.825, 357.835 and 357.875 shall
be those officers identified in ORS 205.110. The State Archivist shall require periodic reports from
records officers about records management programs. The State Archivist may require state agency
records designated as inactive by the State Archivist to be transferred to the State Records Center,
pending the availability of space.

(b) The State Archivist shall determine which parts of a public record are acceptable for ad-
mission to the State Records Center and may require the state agency or governing body to cause
the unacceptable part to be removed before the record is submitted to the State Records Center.

(3) Authorizations granted prior to January 1, 1978, by any state agency, the State Archivist,
or any board of county commissioners, to state agencies, schools, school districts, soil and water
conservation districts, or county officials and offices shall remain in effect until they are adopted
or amended by the State Archivist.

(4) This section does not apply to legislative records, as defined in ORS 171.410.

SECTION 3. ORS 171.427 is amended to read:

171.427. The Legislative Administration Committee and State Archivist shall establish and from
time to time may revise a schedule that shall govern the retention and destruction or other dispo-
sition of legislative records delivered to and in the custody of the archivist under ORS 171.420 or
171.430 and of sound recordings retained by a committee under ORS 171.430 (2). The schedule agreed
upon by the committee and archivist shall:

(1) Be set forth in the rules and regulations issued by the archivist[.]; and

(2) Require legislative records to be retained for a period of at least two years.
PUBLIC RECORDS PRODUCTION
SECTION 4. ORS 192.440 is amended to read:

192.440. (1) The custodian of any public record that a person has a right to inspect shall give

the person, upon request:
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(a) A copy of the public record if the public record is of a nature permitting copying; or

(b) A reasonable opportunity to inspect or copy the public record.

(2) If a person makes a written request to inspect a public record or to receive a copy of a
public record, the public body receiving the request shall respond [as soon as practicable and without
unreasonable delay] within five business days of receipt of the request. The public body may re-
quest additional information or clarification from the requester for the purpose of expediting the
public body’s response to the request. The response of the public body must be in a standard form,
must acknowledge receipt of the request and must include one of the following:

(a) A statement that the public body does not possess, or is not the custodian of, the public re-
cord.

(b) Copies of all requested public records for which the public body does not claim an exemption
from disclosure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505.

(c) A statement that the public body is the custodian of at least some of the requested public
records, an estimate of the time the public body requires before the public records may be inspected
or copies of the records will be provided and an estimate of the fees that the requester must pay
under subsection [(4)] (5) of this section as a condition of receiving the public records.

(d) A statement that the public body is the custodian of at least some of the requested public
records and that an estimate of the time and fees for disclosure of the public records will be pro-
vided by the public body within a reasonable time.

(e) A statement that the public body is uncertain whether the public body possesses the public
record and that the public body will search for the record and make an appropriate response as soon
as practicable.

(f) A statement that state or federal law prohibits the public body from acknowledging whether
the record exists or that acknowledging whether the record exists would result in the loss of federal
benefits or other sanction. A statement under this paragraph must include a citation to the state
or federal law relied upon by the public body.

(3) A public body must within 30 days of receipt of the request:

(a) Produce all requested public records within the possession or custody of the public
body;

(b) Claim an exemption from disclosure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505 with respect to re-
quested records and explain with specificity the reason the exemption applies to the re-
quested records; or

(c) State that the public body is still gathering the requested records and provide an es-
timated date when the requested records will be ready for inspection or delivery to the re-
quester, or when the public body will be able to claim an exemption from disclosure of the
requested records.

[(3)] (4) If the public record is maintained in a machine readable or electronic form, the custo-
dian shall provide a copy of the public record in the form requested, if available. If the public record
is not available in the form requested, the custodian shall make the public record available in the
form in which the custodian maintains the public record.

[(4)(a)] (5)(a) The public body may establish fees reasonably calculated to reimburse the public
body for the public body’s actual cost of making public records available, including costs for sum-
marizing, compiling or tailoring the public records, either in organization or media, to meet the
person’s request.

(b) The public body may include in a fee established under paragraph (a) of this subsection the
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cost of time spent by an attorney for the public body in reviewing the public records, redacting
material from the public records or segregating the public records into exempt and nonexempt re-
cords. The public body may not include in a fee established under paragraph (a) of this subsection
the cost of time spent by an attorney for the public body in determining the application of the pro-
visions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505.

(¢) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection, a public body with 10 or more
full-time equivalent employees may not establish fees under this subsection in which a com-
ponent of the fee is the time of staff engaged in responding to the request that is calculated
at more than $30 per hour.

[(c)] (d) The public body may not establish a fee greater than $25 under this section unless the
public body first provides the requestor with a written notification of the estimated amount of the
fee and the requestor confirms that the requestor wants the public body to proceed with making the
public record available. Any period of time after the public body has supplied a written esti-
mate to a requester and before the requester confirms the requester’s interest in proceeding
with the request is not taken into account in determining the public body’s compliance with
deadlines established under subsection (3) of this section.

[(d)] (e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to [(¢)] (d) of this subsection, when the public records
are those filed with the Secretary of State under ORS chapter 79 or ORS 80.100 to 80.130, the fees
for furnishing copies, summaries or compilations of the public records are those established by the
Secretary of State by rule, under ORS chapter 79 or ORS 80.100 to 80.130.

[(5)] (6) The custodian of any public record may furnish copies without charge or at a substan-
tially reduced fee if the custodian determines that the waiver or reduction of fees is in the public
interest because making the record available primarily benefits the general public.

[(6)] (7) A person who believes that there has been an unreasonable denial of a fee waiver or
fee reduction may petition the Attorney General or the district attorney in the same manner as a
person petitions when inspection of a public record is denied under ORS 192.410 to 192.505. The
Attorney General, the district attorney and the court have the same authority in instances when a
fee waiver or reduction is denied as it has when inspection of a public record is denied.

[(7)] (8) A public body shall make available to the public a written procedure for making public
record requests that includes:

(a) The name of one or more persons to whom public record requests may be sent, with ad-
dresses; and

(b) The amounts of and the manner of calculating fees that the public body charges for re-
sponding to requests for public records.

[(8)] (9) This section does not apply to signatures of individuals submitted under ORS chapter
247 for purposes of registering to vote as provided in ORS 247.973.

SECTION 5. ORS 192.450 is amended to read:

192.450. (1) Subject to ORS 192.480 and subsection (4) of this section, any person denied the right
to inspect or to receive a copy of any public record of a state agency, or who has not received
copies of the requested records or an opportunity to inspect the requested records within 30
days of the request, may petition the Attorney General to review the public record to determine
if it may be withheld from public inspection or to determine if the agency is being unreasonably
slow in responding to the request. Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, the burden
is on the agency to sustain its action. Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, the At-

torney General shall issue an order denying or granting the petition, or denying it in part and
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granting it in part, within seven days from the day the Attorney General receives the petition.

(2) If the Attorney General grants the petition and orders the state agency to disclose the re-
cord, or if the Attorney General grants the petition in part and orders the state agency to disclose
a portion of the record, the state agency shall comply with the order in full within seven days after
issuance of the order, unless within the seven-day period it issues a notice of its intention to insti-
tute proceedings for injunctive or declaratory relief in the Circuit Court for Marion County or, as
provided in subsection (6) of this section, in the circuit court of the county where the record is held.
Copies of the notice shall be sent to the Attorney General and by certified mail to the petitioner
at the address shown on the petition. The state agency shall institute the proceedings within seven
days after it issues its notice of intention to do so. If the Attorney General denies the petition in
whole or in part, or if the state agency continues to withhold the record or a part of it
notwithstanding an order to disclose by the Attorney General, the person seeking disclosure may
institute such proceedings.

(3) The Attorney General shall serve as counsel for the state agency in a suit filed under sub-
section (2) of this section if the suit arises out of a determination by the Attorney General that the
public record should not be disclosed, or that a part of the public record should not be disclosed if
the state agency has fully complied with the order of the Attorney General requiring disclosure of
another part or parts of the public record, and in no other case. In any case in which the Attorney
General is prohibited from serving as counsel for the state agency, the agency may retain special
counsel.

(4) A person denied the right to inspect or to receive a copy of any public record of a health
professional regulatory board, as defined in ORS 676.160, that contains information concerning a
licensee or applicant, and petitioning the Attorney General to review the public record shall, on or
before the date of filing the petition with the Attorney General, send a copy of the petition by first
class mail to the health professional regulatory board. Not more than 48 hours after the board re-
ceives a copy of the petition, the board shall send a copy of the petition by first class mail to the
licensee or applicant who is the subject of any record for which disclosure is sought. When sending
a copy of the petition to the licensee or applicant, the board shall include a notice informing the
licensee or applicant that a written response by the licensee or applicant may be filed with the At-
torney General not later than seven days after the date that the notice was sent by the board. Im-
mediately upon receipt of any written response from the licensee or applicant, the Attorney General
shall send a copy of the response to the petitioner by first class mail.

(5) The person seeking disclosure of a public record of a health professional regulatory board,
as defined in ORS 676.160, that is confidential or exempt from disclosure under ORS 676.165 or
676.175, shall have the burden of demonstrating to the Attorney General by clear and convincing
evidence that the public interest in disclosure outweighs other interests in nondisclosure, including
but not limited to the public interest in nondisclosure. The Attorney General shall issue an order
denying or granting the petition, or denying or granting it in part, not later than the 15th day fol-
lowing the day that the Attorney General receives the petition. A copy of the Attorney General’s
order granting a petition or part of a petition shall be served by first class mail on the health pro-
fessional regulatory board, the petitioner and the licensee or applicant who is the subject of any
record ordered to be disclosed. The health professional regulatory board shall not disclose any re-
cord prior to the seventh day following the service of the Attorney General’s order on a licensee
or applicant entitled to receive notice under this subsection.

(6) If the Attorney General grants or denies the petition for a record of a health professional
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regulatory board, as defined in ORS 676.160, that contains information concerning a licensee or ap-
plicant, the board, a person denied the right to inspect or receive a copy of the record or the
licensee or applicant who is the subject of the record may institute proceedings for injunctive or
declaratory relief in the circuit court for the county where the public record is held. The party
seeking disclosure of the record shall have the burden of demonstrating by clear and convincing
evidence that the public interest in disclosure outweighs other interests in nondisclosure, including
but not limited to the public interest in nondisclosure.

(7) The Attorney General may comply with a request of a health professional regulatory board
to be represented by independent counsel in any proceeding under subsection (6) of this section.

SECTION 6. ORS 192.460 is amended to read:

192.460. (1) ORS 192.450 applies to the case of a person denied the right to inspect or to receive
a copy of any public record of a public body other than a state agency or when a public body is
being unreasonably slow in responding to the request, except that:

(a) The district attorney of the county in which the public body is located, or if it is located in
more than one county the district attorney of the county in which the administrative offices of the
public body are located, shall carry out the functions of the Attorney General,;

(b) Any suit filed must be filed in the circuit court for the county described in paragraph (a) of
this subsection; and

(c) The district attorney may not serve as counsel for the public body, in the cases permitted
under ORS 192.450 (3), unless the district attorney ordinarily serves as counsel for the public body.

(2) Disclosure of a record to the district attorney in compliance with subsection (1) of this sec-
tion does not waive any privilege or claim of privilege regarding the record or its contents.

(3) Disclosure of a record or part of a record as ordered by the district attorney is a compelled
disclosure for purposes of ORS 40.285.

SECTION 7. ORS 192.465 is amended to read:

192.465. (1) The failure of the Attorney General or district attorney to issue an order under ORS
192.450 or 192.460 denying, granting, or denying in part and granting in part, a petition to require
disclosure within seven days from the day of receipt of the petition shall be treated as an order
denying the petition for the purpose of determining whether a person may institute proceedings for
injunctive or declaratory relief under ORS 192.450 or 192.460.

(2) The failure of an elected official to [deny, grant, or deny in part and grant in part a request
to inspect or receive a copy of a public record within seven] issue a response described in ORS
192.440 (2) within five business days from the day of receipt of the request shall be treated as a
denial of the request for the purpose of determining whether a person may institute proceedings for
injunctive or declaratory relief under ORS 192.450 or 192.460.

(8) The failure of an elected official to provide a requester with copies of requested re-
cords, or an opportunity to inspect requested records, within 30 days of receipt of the request
shall be treated as a denial of the request for the purpose of determining whether a person

may institute proceedings for injunctive or declaratory relief under ORS 192.450 or 192.460.
NOTICE OF LOCAL INITIATIVES
SECTION 8. Section 9 of this 2016 Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 250.

SECTION 9. (1) Upon receiving a prospective petition for an initiative measure:
(a) Under ORS 250.165, the county clerk shall provide notice to the Secretary of State of
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the prospective petition for an initiative measure.

(b) Under ORS 250.265, the city elections officer shall provide notice to the Secretary of
State of the prospective petition for an initiative measure.

(2) Upon receipt of notice of a prospective petition for an initiative measure under sub-
section (1) of this section, the Secretary of State shall provide reasonable statewide notice
of the prospective petition for an initiative measure.

(3) Upon determining whether a prospective petition for an initiative measure:

(a) Meets the requirements of Article IV, section 1 (2)(d), and Article VI, section 10, of
the Oregon Constitution, the county clerk shall provide notice to the Secretary of State of
the clerk’s determination.

(b) Meets the requirements of Article IV, section 1 (2)(d) and (5), of the Oregon Consti-
tution, the city elections officer shall provide notice to the Secretary of State of the elections
officer’s determination.

(4) The Secretary of State shall provide reasonable statewide notice of determinations

made under subsection (3) of this section.

APPROPRIATION

SECTION 10. In addition to and not in lieu of any other appropriation, there is appro-
priated to the Secretary of State, for the biennium ending June 30, 2017, out of the General
Fund, the amount of $___ for the purpose of implementing the provisions of section 9
of this 2016 Act.

CONFORMING AMENDMENTS

SECTION 11. ORS 147.421 is amended to read:

147.421. (1) If a public body is the custodian of any of the following information, upon the re-
quest of the victim, the public body shall provide to the victim any of the following information of
which it is the custodian and that is about the defendant or convicted criminal:

(a) The conviction and sentence;

(b) Criminal history;

(c) Imprisonment; and

(d) Future release from physical custody.

(2) A public body, in its discretion, may provide the requested information by furnishing the
victim with copies of public records. The public body may charge the victim its actual cost for
making public records available as provided in ORS 192.440 [(4)] (5).

(3) As used in this section:

(a) “Criminal history” means a description of the prior arrests, convictions and sentences of the
person.

(b) “Future release” means the projected or scheduled date of release of the person from con-
finement, the name and location of the correctional facility from which the person is to be released
and the community where the person is scheduled to reside upon release.

(c) “Imprisonment” means the name and location of the correctional facility in which the person
is confined.

(d) “Public body” has the meaning given that term in ORS 192.410.
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SECTION 12. ORS 802.183 is amended to read:

802.183. (1) The Department of Transportation may establish fees reasonably calculated to re-
imburse it for its actual cost in making personal information available to a person or government
agency authorized under ORS 802.179 to obtain the information. Fees established under this sub-
section are subject to the provisions of ORS 192.440 [(4) to (6)] (5) to (7).

(2) The department may adopt rules specifying conditions that must be met by a person or gov-
ernment agency requesting personal information under ORS 802.179. Such conditions may include
but need not be limited to:

(a) Providing reasonable assurance of the identity of the requester;

(b) Providing reasonable assurance of the uses to which the personal information will be put, if
applicable;

(c) Showing that the individual whose personal information is to be disclosed has given permis-
sion for the disclosure, if permission is required; and

(d) Submitting a written request for the personal information in a form prescribed by the de-

partment.
CAPTIONS

SECTION 13. The unit captions used in this 2016 Act are provided only for the conven-
ience of the reader and do not become part of the statutory law of this state or express any

legislative intent in the enactment of this 2016 Act.

EMERGENCY CLAUSE

SECTION 14. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.

[8]
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

Senate Bill 1504

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with pre-
session filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request
of Senate Interim Committee on Health Care)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Enacts interstate Physical Therapy Licensure Compact.
Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to physical therapy; creating new provisions; amending ORS 688.110 and 688.160; and de-
claring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
SECTION 1. The provisions of the Physical Therapy Licensure Compact are as follows:

PHYSICAL THERAPY LICENSURE COMPACT

SECTION 1. PURPOSE
The purpose of this Compact is to facilitate interstate practice of physical therapy with

the goal of improving public access to physical therapy services. The practice of physical
therapy occurs in the state where the patient/client is located at the time of the
patient/client encounter. The Compact preserves the regulatory authority of states to pro-
tect public health and safety through the current system of state licensure.

This Compact is designed to achieve the following objectives:

1. Increase public access to physical therapy services by providing for the mutual recog-
nition of other member state licenses;

2. Enhance the states’ ability to protect the public’s health and safety;

3. Encourage the cooperation of member states in regulating multi-state physical therapy
practice;

4. Support spouses of relocating military members;

5. Enhance the exchange of licensure, investigative, and disciplinary information between
member states; and

6. Allow a remote state to hold a provider of services with a compact privilege in that
state accountable to that state’s practice standards.

SECTION 2. DEFINITIONS

As used in this Compact, and except as otherwise provided, the following definitions shall
apply:

1. “Active Duty Military” means full-time duty status in the active uniformed service of

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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the United States, including members of the National Guard and Reserve on active duty or-
ders pursuant to 10 U.S.C. Section 1209 and 1211.

2. “Adverse Action” means disciplinary action taken by a physical therapy licensing board
based upon misconduct, unacceptable performance, or a combination of both.

3. “Alternative Program” means a non-disciplinary monitoring or practice remediation
process approved by a physical therapy licensing board. This includes, but is not limited to,
substance abuse issues.

4. “Compact privilege” means the authorization granted by a remote state to allow a
licensee from another member state to practice as a physical therapist or work as a physical
therapist assistant in the remote state under its laws and rules. The practice of physical
therapy occurs in the member state where the patient/client is located at the time of the
patient/client encounter.

5. “Continuing competence” means a requirement, as a condition of license renewal, to
provide evidence of participation in, and/or completion of, educational and professional ac-
tivities relevant to practice or area of work.

6. “Data system” means a repository of information about licensees, including examina-
tion, licensure, investigative, compact privilege, and adverse action.

7. “Encumbered license” means a license that a physical therapy licensing board has
limited in any way.

8. “Executive Board” means a group of directors elected or appointed to act on behalf
of, and within the powers granted to them by, the Commission.

9. “Home state” means the member state that is the licensee’s primary state of resi-
dence.

10. “Investigative information” means information, records, and documents received or
generated by a physical therapy licensing board pursuant to an investigation.

11. “Jurisprudence Requirement” means the assessment of an individual’s knowledge of
the laws and rules governing the practice of physical therapy in a state.

12. “Licensee” means an individual who currently holds an authorization from the state
to practice as a physical therapist or to work as a physical therapist assistant.

13. “Member state” means a state that has enacted the Compact.

14. “Party state” means any member state in which a licensee holds a current license
or compact privilege or is applying for a license or compact privilege.

15. “Physical therapist” means an individual who is licensed by a state to practice phys-
ical therapy.

16. “Physical therapist assistant” means an individual who is licensed/certified by a state
and who assists the physical therapist in selected components of physical therapy.

17. “Physical therapy,” “physical therapy practice,” and “the practice of physical
therapy” mean the care and services provided by or under the direction and supervision of
a licensed physical therapist.

18. “Physical Therapy Compact Commission” or “Commission” means the national ad-
ministrative body whose membership consists of all states that have enacted the Compact.

19. “Physical therapy licensing board” or “licensing board” means the agency of a state
that is responsible for the licensing and regulation of physical therapists and physical ther-
apist assistants.

20. “Remote State” means a member state other than the home state, where a licensee
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is exercising or seeking to exercise the compact privilege.

21. “Rule” means a regulation, principle, or directive promulgated by the Commission
that has the force of law.

22, “State” means any state, commonwealth, district, or territory of the United States
of America that regulates the practice of physical therapy.

SECTION 3. STATE PARTICIPATION IN THE COMPACT

A. To participate in the Compact, a state must:

1. Participate fully in the Commission’s data system, including using the Commission’s
unique identifier as defined in rules;

2. Have a mechanism in place for receiving and investigating complaints about licensees;

3. Notify the Commission, in compliance with the terms of the Compact and rules, of any
adverse action or the availability of investigative information regarding a licensee;

4. Fully implement a criminal background check requirement, within a time frame es-
tablished by rule, by receiving the results of the Federal Bureau of Investigation record
search on criminal background checks and use the results in making licensure decisions in
accordance with Section 3.B.4.;

5. Comply with the rules of the Commission;

6. Utilize a recognized national examination as a requirement for licensure pursuant to
the rules of the Commission; and

7. Have continuing competence requirements as a condition for license renewal.

B. Upon adoption of this statute, the member state shall have the authority to obtain
biometric-based information from each physical therapy licensure applicant and submit this
information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a criminal background check in ac-
cordance with 28 U.S.C. §534 and 42 U.S.C. §14616.

C. A member state shall grant the compact privilege to a licensee holding a valid unen-
cumbered license in another member state in accordance with the terms of the Compact and
rules.

D. Member states may charge a fee for granting a compact privilege.

SECTION 4. COMPACT PRIVILEGE

A. To exercise the compact privilege under the terms and provisions of the Compact, the

licensee shall:

1. Hold a license in the home state;

2. Have no encumbrance on any state license;

3. Be eligible for a compact privilege in any member state in accordance with Section 4D,
G and H;

4. Have not had any adverse action against any license or compact privilege within the
previous 2 years;

5. Notify the Commission that the licensee is seeking the compact privilege within a re-
mote state(s);

6. Pay any applicable fees, including any state fee, for the compact privilege;

7. Meet any jurisprudence requirements established by the remote state(s) in which the
licensee is seeking a compact privilege; and

8. Report to the Commission adverse action taken by any non-member state within 30
days from the date the adverse action is taken.

B. The compact privilege is valid until the expiration date of the home license. The
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licensee must comply with the requirements of Section 4A to maintain the compact privilege
in the remote state.

C. A licensee providing physical therapy in a remote state under the compact privilege
shall function within the laws and regulations of the remote state.

D. A licensee providing physical therapy in a remote state is subject to that state’s reg-
ulatory authority. A remote state may, in accordance with due process and that state’s laws,
remove a licensee’s compact privilege in the remote state for a specific period of time, im-
pose fines, and/or take any other necessary actions to protect the health and safety of its
citizens. The licensee is not eligible for a compact privilege in any state until the specific
time for removal has passed and all fines are paid.

E. If a home state license is encumbered, the licensee shall lose the compact privilege in
any remote state until the following occur:

1. The home state license is no longer encumbered; and

2. Two years have elapsed from the date of the adverse action.

F. Once an encumbered license in the home state is restored to good standing, the
licensee must meet the requirements of Section 4A to obtain a compact privilege in any re-
mote state.

G. If a licensee’s compact privilege in any remote state is removed, the individual shall
lose the compact privilege in any remote state until the following occur:

1. The specific period of time for which the compact privilege was removed has ended;

2. All fines have been paid; and

3. Two years have elapsed from the date of the adverse action.

H. Once the requirements of Section 4G have been met, the license must meet the re-
quirements in Section 4A to obtain a compact privilege in a remote state.

SECTION 5. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL OR THEIR SPOUSES

A licensee who is active duty military or is the spouse of an individual who is active duty

military may designate one of the following as the home state:
A. Home of record;
B. Permanent Change of Station (PCS); or
C. State of current residence if it is different than the PCS state or home of record.
SECTION 6. ADVERSE ACTIONS

A. A home state shall have exclusive power to impose adverse action against a license

issued by the home state.

B. A home state may take adverse action based on the investigative information of a
remote state, so long as the home state follows its own procedures for imposing adverse
action.

C. Nothing in this Compact shall override a member state’s decision that participation
in an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action and that such participation
shall remain non-public if required by the member state’s laws. Member states must require
licensees who enter any alternative programs in lieu of discipline to agree not to practice in
any other member state during the term of the alternative program without prior authori-
zation from such other member state.

D. Any member state may investigate actual or alleged violations of the statutes and
rules authorizing the practice of physical therapy in any other member state in which a

physical therapist or physical therapist assistant holds a license or compact privilege.
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E. A remote state shall have the authority to:

1. Take adverse actions as set forth in Section 4D against a licensee’s compact privilege
in the state;

2. Issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and
testimony of witnesses, and the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a physical
therapy licensing board in a party state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses,
and/or the production of evidence from another party state, shall be enforced in the latter
state by any court of competent jurisdiction, according to the practice and procedure of that
court applicable to subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority
shall pay any witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service
statutes of the state where the witnesses and/or evidence are located; and

3. If otherwise permitted by state law, recover from the licensee the costs of investi-
gations and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against that
licensee.

F. Joint Investigations

1. In addition to the authority granted to a member state by its respective physical
therapy practice act or other applicable state law, a member state may participate with
other member states in joint investigations of licensees.

2. Member states shall share any investigative, litigation, or compliance materials in
furtherance of any joint or individual investigation initiated under the Compact.

SECTION 7. ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PHYSICAL THERAPY COMPACT COMMISSION

A. The Compact member states hereby create and establish a joint public agency known

as the Physical Therapy Compact Commission:

1. The Commission is an instrumentality of the Compact states.

2. Venue is proper and judicial proceedings by or against the Commission shall be brought
solely and exclusively in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal office of the
Commission is located. The Commission may waive venue and jurisdictional defenses to the
extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution proceedings.

3. Nothing in this Compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.

B. Membership, Voting, and Meetings

1. Each member state shall have and be limited to one (1) delegate selected by that
member state’s licensing board.

2. The delegate shall be a current member of the licensing board, who is a physical
therapist, physical therapist assistant, public member, or the board administrator.

3. Any delegate may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of the
state from which the delegate is appointed.

4, The member state board shall fill any vacancy occurring in the Commission.

5. Each delegate shall be entitled to one (1) vote with regard to the promulgation of rules
and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the business
and affairs of the Commission.

6. A delegate shall vote in person or by such other means as provided in the bylaws. The
bylaws may provide for delegates’ participation in meetings by telephone or other means of
communication.

7. The Commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional

meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws.
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C. The Commission shall have the following powers and duties:

1. Establish the fiscal year of the Commission;

2. Establish bylaws;

3. Maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws;

4. Meet and take such actions as are consistent with the provisions of this Compact and
the bylaws;

5. Promulgate uniform rules to facilitate and coordinate implementation and adminis-
tration of this Compact. The rules shall have the force and effect of law and shall be binding
in all member states;

6. Bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the Commission,
provided that the standing of any state physical therapy licensing board to sue or be sued
under applicable law shall not be affected;

7. Purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;

8. Borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including, but not limited to,
employees of a member state;

9. Hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant such
individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of the Compact, and to establish
the Commission’s personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest, quali-
fications of personnel, and other related personnel matters;

10. Accept any and all appropriate donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies,
materials and services, and to receive, utilize and dispose of the same; provided that at all
times the Commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety and/or conflict of interest;

11. Lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own, hold,
improve or use, any property, real, personal or mixed; provided that at all times the Com-
mission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;

12. Sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of any
property real, personal, or mixed;

13. Establish a budget and make expenditures;

14. Borrow money;

15. Appoint committees, including standing committees comprised of members, state
regulators, state legislators or their representatives, and consumer representatives, and
such other interested persons as may be designated in this Compact and the bylaws;

16. Provide and receive information from, and cooperate with, law enforcement agencies;

17. Establish and elect an Executive Board; and

18. Perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the
purposes of this Compact consistent with the state regulation of physical therapy licensure
and practice.

D. The Executive Board

The Executive Board shall have the power to act on behalf of the Commission according
to the terms of this Compact.

1. The Executive Board shall be comprised of nine members:

a. Seven voting members who are elected by the Commission from the current member-
ship of the Commission;

b. One ex-officio, nonvoting member from the recognized national physical therapy pro-

fessional association; and
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c. One ex-officio, nonvoting member from the recognized membership organization of the
physical therapy licensing boards.

2. The ex-officio members will be selected by their respective organizations.

3. The Commission may remove any member of the Executive Board as provided in by-
laws.

4. The Executive Board shall meet at least annually.

5. The Executive Board shall have the following Duties and responsibilities:

a. Recommend to the entire Commission changes to the rules or bylaws, changes to this
Compact legislation, fees paid by Compact member states such as annual dues, and any
commission Compact fee charged to licensees for the compact privilege;

b. Ensure Compact administration services are appropriately provided, contractual or
otherwise;

c. Prepare and recommend the budget;

d. Maintain financial records on behalf of the Commission;

e. Monitor Compact compliance of member states and provide compliance reports to the
Commission;

f. Establish additional committees as necessary; and

g. Other duties as provided in rules or bylaws.

E. Meetings of the Commission

1. All meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given
in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in Section 9.

2. The Commission or the Executive Board or other committees of the Commission may
convene in a closed, non-public meeting if the Commission or Executive Board or other
committees of the Commission must discuss:

a. Non-compliance of a member state with its obligations under the Compact;

b. The employment, compensation, discipline or other matters, practices or procedures
related to specific employees or other matters related to the Commission’s internal person-
nel practices and procedures;

c. Current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;

d. Negotiation of contracts for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods, services, or real
estate;

e. Accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;

f. Disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged
or confidential;

g. Disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a
clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;

h. Disclosure of investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes;

i. Disclosure of information related to any investigative reports prepared by or on behalf
of or for use of the Commission or other committee charged with responsibility of investi-
gation or determination of compliance issues pursuant to the Compact; or

j. Matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or member state statute.

3. If a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the
Commission’s legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and shall
reference each relevant exempting provision.

4. The Commission shall keep minutes that fully and clearly describe all matters dis-
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cussed in a meeting and shall provide a full and accurate summary of actions taken, and the
reasons therefore, including a description of the views expressed. All documents considered
in connection with an action shall be identified in such minutes. All minutes and documents
of a closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject to release by a majority vote of the
Commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.

F. Financing of the Commission

1. The Commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses of
its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities.

2. The Commission may accept any and all appropriate revenue sources, donations, and
grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and services.

3. The Commission may levy on and collect an annual assessment from each member
state or impose fees on other parties to cover the cost of the operations and activities of the
Commission and its staff, which must be in a total amount sufficient to cover its annual
budget as approved each year for which revenue is not provided by other sources. The ag-
gregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a formula to be determined
by the Commission, which shall promulgate a rule binding upon all member states.

4. The Commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds
adequate to meet the same; nor shall the Commission pledge the credit of any of the member
states, except by and with the authority of the member state.

5. The Commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The
receipts and disbursements of the Commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting
procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds
handled by the Commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public account-
ant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual report
of the Commission.

G. Qualified Immunity, Defense, and Indemnification

1. The members, officers, executive director, employees and representatives of the Com-
mission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official capacity,
for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil liability
caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error or omission that occurred, or that
the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred
within the scope of Commission employment, duties or responsibilities; provided that nothing
in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit and/or liability for
any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful or wanton miscon-
duct of that person.

2. The Commission shall defend any member, officer, executive director, employee or
representative of the Commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out
of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of Commission
employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the claim is made
had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of Commission employment,
duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit that
person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further, that the actual or al-
leged act, error, or omission did not result from that person’s intentional or willful or
wanton misconduct.

3. The Commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any member, officer, executive di-
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rector, employee, or representative of the Commission for the amount of any settlement or
judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act, error or
omission that occurred within the scope of Commission employment, duties, or responsibil-
ities, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of
Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged act,
error, or omission did not result from the intentional or willful or wanton misconduct of that
person.
SECTION 8. DATA SYSTEM

A. The Commission shall provide for the development, maintenance, and utilization of a

coordinated database and reporting system containing licensure, adverse action, and inves-
tigative information on all licensed individuals in member states.

B. Notwithstanding any other provision of state law to the contrary, a member state
shall submit a uniform data set to the data system on all individuals to whom this Compact
is applicable as required by the rules of the Commission, including:

1. Identifying information;

. Licensure data;
. Adverse actions against a license or compact privilege;

. Non-confidential information related to alternative program participation;

G = W N

. Any denial of application for licensure, and the reason(s) for such denial; and

6. Other information that may facilitate the administration of this Compact, as deter-
mined by the rules of the Commission.

C. Investigative information pertaining to a licensee in any member state will only be
available to other party states.

D. The Commission shall promptly notify all member states of any adverse action taken
against a licensee or an individual applying for a license. Adverse action information per-
taining to a licensee in any member state will be available to any other member state.

E. Member states contributing information to the data system may designate informa-
tion that may not be shared with the public without the express permission of the contrib-
uting state.

F. Any information submitted to the data system that is subsequently required to be
expunged by the laws of the member state contributing the information shall be removed
from the data system.

SECTION 9. RULEMAKING

A. The Commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set

forth in this Section and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become
binding as of the date specified in each rule or amendment.

B. If a majority of the legislatures of the member states rejects a rule, by enactment of
a statute or resolution in the same manner used to adopt the Compact within 4 years of the
date of adoption of the rule, then such rule shall have no further force and effect in any
member state.

C. Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of
the Commission.

D. Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the Commission, and
at least thirty (30) days in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and

voted upon, the Commission shall file a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:
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1. On the website of the Commission or other publicly accessible platform; and

2. On the website of each member state physical therapy licensing board or other publicly
accessible platform or the publication in which each state would otherwise publish proposed
rules.

E. The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking shall include:

1. The proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be consid-
ered and voted upon;

2. The text of the proposed rule or amendment and the reason for the proposed rule;

3. A request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and

4. The manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the Commission of their
intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.

F. Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the Commission shall allow persons to submit
written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.

G. The Commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a rule
or amendment if a hearing is requested by:

1. At least twenty-five (25) persons;

2. A state or federal governmental subdivision or agency; or

3. An association having at least twenty-five (25) members.

H. If a hearing is held on the proposed rule or amendment, the Commission shall publish
the place, time, and date of the scheduled public hearing. If the hearing is held via electronic
means, the Commission shall publish the mechanism for access to the electronic hearing.

1. All persons wishing to be heard at the hearing shall notify the executive director of
the Commission or other designated member in writing of their desire to appear and testify
at the hearing not less than five (5) business days before the scheduled date of the hearing.

2. Hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to com-
ment a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing.

3. All hearings will be recorded. A copy of the recording will be made available on re-
quest.

4. Nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each rule.
Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the Commission at hearings required by this
section.

I. Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled
hearing date if the hearing was not held, the Commission shall consider all written and oral
comments received.

J. If no written notice of intent to attend the public hearing by interested parties is re-
ceived, the Commission may proceed with promulgation of the proposed rule without a public
hearing.

K. The Commission shall, by majority vote of all members, take final action on the pro-
posed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the rulemaking
record and the full text of the rule.

L. Upon determination that an emergency exists, the Commission may consider and
adopt an emergency rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment, or hearing, provided
that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in the Compact and in this section shall be
retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later than ninety

(90) days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an emer-
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gency rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:

1. Meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;

2. Prevent a loss of Commission or member state funds;

3. Meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is established by
federal law or rule; or

4. Protect public health and safety.

M. The Commission or an authorized committee of the Commission may direct revisions
to a previously adopted rule or amendment for purposes of correcting typographical errors,
errors in format, errors in consistency, or grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions
shall be posted on the website of the Commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge
by any person for a period of thirty (30) days after posting. The revision may be challenged
only on grounds that the revision results in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall
be made in writing, and delivered to the chair of the Commission prior to the end of the
notice period. If no challenge is made, the revision will take effect without further action.
If the revision is challenged, the revision may not take effect without the approval of the
Commission.

SECTION 10. OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT

A. Oversight

1. The executive, legislative, and judicial branches of state government in each member

state shall enforce this Compact and take all actions necessary and appropriate to effectuate
the Compact’s purposes and intent. The provisions of this Compact and the rules
promulgated hereunder shall have standing as statutory law.

2. All courts shall take judicial notice of the Compact and the rules in any judicial or
administrative proceeding in a member state pertaining to the subject matter of this Com-
pact which may affect the powers, responsibilities or actions of the Commission.

3. The Commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any such proceeding,
and shall have standing to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide
service of process to the Commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the Com-
mission, this Compact, or promulgated rules.

B. Default, Technical Assistance, and Termination

1. If the Commission determines that a member state has defaulted in the performance
of its obligations or responsibilities under this Compact or the promulgated rules, the Com-
mission shall:

a. Provide written notice to the defaulting state and other member states of the nature
of the default, the proposed means of curing the default and/or any other action to be taken
by the Commission; and

b. Provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default.

2. If a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state may be terminated
from the Compact upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the member states, and all
rights, privileges and benefits conferred by this Compact may be terminated on the effective
date of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of obligations
or liabilities incurred during the period of default.

3. Termination of membership in the Compact shall be imposed only after all other means
of securing compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate shall

be given by the Commission to the governor, the majority and minority leaders of the de-
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faulting state’s legislature, and each of the member states.

4. A state that has been terminated is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and
liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination, including obligations that ex-
tend beyond the effective date of termination.

5. The Commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in de-
fault or that has been terminated from the Compact, unless agreed upon in writing between
the Commission and the defaulting state.

6. The defaulting state may appeal the action of the Commission by petitioning the U.S.
District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the Commission has
its principal offices. The prevailing member shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, in-
cluding reasonable attorney’s fees.

C. Dispute Resolution

1. Upon request by a member state, the Commission shall attempt to resolve disputes
related to the Compact that arise among member states and between member and non-
member states.

2. The Commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding
dispute resolution for disputes as appropriate.

D. Enforcement

1. The Commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the pro-
visions and rules of this Compact.

2. By majority vote, the Commission may initiate legal action in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the Commission has its
principal offices against a member state in default to enforce compliance with the provisions
of the Compact and its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both
injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing
member shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorney’s fees.

3. The remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the Commission. The
Commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.

SECTION 11. DATE OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION FOR
PHYSICAL THERAPY PRACTICE AND ASSOCIATED RULES, WITHDRAWAL, AND
AMENDMENT

A. The Compact shall come into effect on the date on which the Compact statute is en-

acted into law in the tenth member state. The provisions, which become effective at that
time, shall be limited to the powers granted to the Commission relating to assembly and the
promulgation of rules. Thereafter, the Commission shall meet and exercise rulemaking pow-
ers necessary to the implementation and administration of the Compact.

B. Any state that joins the Compact subsequent to the Commission’s initial adoption of
the rules shall be subject to the rules as they exist on the date on which the Compact be-
comes law in that state. Any rule that has been previously adopted by the Commission shall
have the full force and effect of law on the day the Compact becomes law in that state.

C. Any member state may withdraw from this Compact by enacting a statute repealing
the same.

1. A member state’s withdrawal shall not take effect until six (6) months after enactment
of the repealing statute.

2. Withdrawal shall not affect the continuing requirement of the withdrawing state’s
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physical therapy licensing board to comply with the investigative and adverse action report-
ing requirements of this act prior to the effective date of withdrawal.

D. Nothing contained in this Compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any
physical therapy licensure agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a member
state and a non-member state that does not conflict with the provisions of this Compact.

E. This Compact may be amended by the member states. No amendment to this Compact
shall become effective and binding upon any member state until it is enacted into the laws
of all member states.

SECTION 12. CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY

This Compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The

provisions of this Compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision
of this Compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the
United States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person or circumstance
is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this Compact and the applicability thereof to
any government, agency, person or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this Com-
pact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any party state, the Compact shall remain
in full force and effect as to the remaining party states and in full force and effect as to the

party state affected as to all severable matters.

SECTION 2. The Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon hereby ratifies the Physical
Therapy Licensure Compact set forth in section 1 of this 2016 Act.

SECTION 3. ORS 688.110 is amended to read:

688.110. (1) The Physical Therapist Licensing Board, in its discretion, may issue without exam-
ination a temporary permit to a person to practice as a physical therapist or to work as a physical
therapist assistant in this state if the person files an application for license as provided in ORS
688.040 or 688.080, and pays to the board at the time of filing the application the temporary permit
fee.

(2) A person holding a temporary permit may practice physical therapy only under the direction
of a physical therapist licensed under ORS 688.010 to 688.201.

(38) The temporary permit shall be granted for a period not to exceed three months. The board
may renew the temporary permit at its discretion for [an additional three months, but no longer] no
more than 90 days.

SECTION 4. ORS 688.160 is amended to read:

688.160. (1) The Physical Therapist Licensing Board operates as a semi-independent state agency
subject to ORS 182.456 to 182.472, for purposes of carrying out the provisions of ORS 688.010 to
688.201 and 688.990. The Physical Therapist Licensing Board consists of eight members appointed
by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate in the manner provided in ORS 171.562
and 171.565. All members of the board must be residents of this state. Of the members of the board:

(a) Five must be physical therapists who are Oregon residents, possess unrestricted licenses to
practice physical therapy in this state, have been practicing in this state for at least two years im-
mediately preceding their appointments and have been practicing in the field of physical therapy for
at least five years.

(b) One must be a licensed physical therapist assistant.

(c) Two must be public members who have an interest in consumer rights and who are not:

[13]
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(A) Otherwise eligible for appointment to the board; or

(B) The spouse, domestic partner, child, parent or sibling of a physical therapist or physical
therapist assistant.

(2)(a) Board members required to be physical therapists or physical therapist assistants may be
selected by the Governor from a list of three to five nominees for each vacancy, submitted by the
Oregon Physical Therapy Association.

(b) In selecting the members of the board, the Governor shall strive to balance the represen-
tation on the board according to:

(A) Geographic areas of this state; and

(B) Ethnic group.

(3)(a) The term of office of each member is four years, but a member serves at the pleasure of
the Governor. The terms must be staggered so that no more than three terms end each year. A
member is eligible for reappointment.

(b) In the event of a vacancy in the office of a member of the board other than by reason of the
expiration of a term, the Governor, not later than 90 days after the occurrence of the vacancy, shall
appoint a person to fill the vacancy for the unexpired term.

(c) A board member shall be removed immediately from the board if, during the member’s term,
the member:

(A) Is not a resident of this state;

(B) Has been absent from three consecutive board meetings, unless at least one absence is ex-
cused;

(C) Is not a licensed physical therapist or a retired physical therapist who was a licensed
physical therapist in good standing at the time of retirement, if the board member was appointed to
serve on the board as a physical therapist; or

(D) Is not a licensed physical therapist assistant or a retired physical therapist assistant who
was a licensed physical therapist assistant in good standing at the time of retirement, if the board
member was appointed to serve on the board as a retired physical therapist assistant.

(4) Each member of the board is entitled to compensation and expenses as provided in ORS
292.495. The board may provide by rule for compensation to board members for the performance of
official duties at a rate that is greater than the rate provided in ORS 292.495.

(5) A board member who acts within the scope of board duties, without malice and in reasonable
belief that the member’s action is warranted by law, is immune from civil liability.

(6) The board shall have power to:

(a) Establish matters of policy affecting administration of ORS 688.010 to 688.201;

(b) Provide for examinations for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants and adopt
passing scores for the examinations;

(c) Adopt rules necessary to carry out and enforce the provisions of ORS 688.010 to 688.201,;

(d) Establish standards and tests to determine the qualifications of applicants for licenses to
practice physical therapy in this state;

(e) Issue licenses to persons who meet the requirements of ORS 688.010 to 688.201;

(f) Adopt rules relating to the supervision and the duties of physical therapist aides who assist
in performing routine work under supervision;

(g) Adopt rules establishing minimum continuing [education] competency requirements for all
licensees;

(h) Exercise general supervision over the practice of physical therapy within this state;
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(i) Establish and collect fees for the application or examination for, or the renewal, rein-
statement or duplication of, a license under ORS 688.040, 688.080 or 688.100 or for the issuance of
a temporary permit under ORS 688.110; and

(j) Establish and collect fees to carry out and enforce the provisions of ORS 688.010 to 688.201.

(7) The board shall meet as determined by the board and at any other time at the call of the
board chairperson, who shall be elected by the members of the board. All members have equal voting
privileges.

(8) The board may appoint and fix the compensation of staff as necessary to carry out the op-
erations of the board.

(9) The board shall:

(a) Maintain a current list of all persons regulated under ORS 688.010 to 688.201, including the
persons’ names, current business and residential addresses, telephone numbers, electronic mail ad-
dresses and license numbers.

(b) Provide information to the public regarding the procedure for filing a complaint against a
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.

(c) Publish at least annually, and in a format or place determined by the board, final disciplinary
actions taken against physical therapists and physical therapist assistants and other information,
including rules, in order to guide physical therapists and physical therapist assistants regulated
pursuant to ORS 688.010 to 688.201.

SECTION 5. The amendments to ORS 688.110 and 688.160 by sections 3 and 4 of this 2016
Act apply to applications for licenses and permits received by the Physical Therapist Li-
censing Board, and licenses and permits issued or renewed by the board, on or after the ef-
fective date of this 2016 Act.

SECTION 6. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

Senate Bill 1538

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with pre-
session filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request
of Joint Interim Committee on Information Management and Technology)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Requires state agencies to notify Legislative Fiscal Office promptly concerning information se-
curity incidents and provide office with copies of and report results of information security assess-
ments.

Requires heads of certain state agencies to provide annual report concerning information secu-
rity to Joint Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technology.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to information security for the State of Oregon; and declaring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) As used in this section:

(a) “Information resources” means data and the means for storing, retrieving, connect-
ing or using data, including but not limited to records, files, databases, documents, software,
equipment and facilities that a state agency owns or leases.

(b) “Information security assessment” means:

(A) An organized method to determine a risk to or vulnerability of an information sys-
tem, including but not limited to:

(i) A risk assessment;

(ii) A vulnerability assessment; and

(iii) A security penetration test; and

(B) An independent examination and review of records, logs, policies, activities and
practices to:

(i) Assess whether a state agency’s information system is vulnerable to an information
security incident;

(ii) Ensure compliance with rules, policies, standards and procedures that the State Chief
Information Officer adopts or otherwise promulgates; and

(iii) Recommend necessary changes to a state agency’s information system, rules, poli-
cies, standards and procedures to ensure compliance and prevent information security inci-
dents.

(c) “Information security incident” means an incident in which:

(A) Access to, or viewing, copying, transmission, theft or usage of, a state agency’s
sensitive, protected or confidential information occurs without authorization from the state
agency;

(B) A failure of compliance with a state agency’s security or acceptable use policies or

practices occurs that could or does leave the state agency’s information system or informa-

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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tion resources vulnerable to access, viewing, copying, transmission, theft or usage without
authorization from the state agency; or

(C) A state agency’s information system or information resources become unavailable in
a reliable and timely manner to authorized individuals or organizations, or are modified or
deleted, under circumstances that the state agency does not plan or initiate.

(d) “Information system” means a system of computers and related hardware, software,
storage media and networks and any other means by which a state agency collects, uses or
manages the state agency’s information resources.

(e) “State agency” means an agency or instrumentality of this state the costs of which
are paid wholly or in part from funds held in the State Treasury, except:

(A) Public universities listed in ORS 352.002; and

(B) The Oregon State Lottery and entities with which the Oregon State Lottery has a
contract or agreement with respect to the Oregon State Lottery’s gaming systems or net-
works.

(2) A state agency shall promptly notify the Legislative Fiscal Office of an information
security incident and in the notification describe the actions the state agency has taken or
must reasonably take to prevent, mitigate or recover from damage to, unauthorized access
to, unauthorized modifications or deletions of or other impairments of the integrity of the
state agency’s information system or information resources.

(3) Each state agency shall periodically conduct, oversee or cooperate with an informa-
tion security assessment and shall provide the Legislative Fiscal Office with copies of and
report the results of the information security assessment of the state agency’s information
system or information resources within 30 days after the state agency receives the results
of the information security assessment.

(4)(a) The State Chief Information Officer, the Secretary of State, the State Treasurer,
the Attorney General, the State Court Administrator and the Legislative Administrator shall
each submit to, and present in an appropriate hearing or other proceeding before, the Joint
Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technology an annual report con-
cerning the security of the information systems and information resources over which the
State Chief Information Officer, the Secretary of State, the State Treasurer, the Attorney
General, the State Court Administrator or the Legislative Administrator has direct or su-
pervisory control.

(b) Notwithstanding ORS 192.660 (8), the Joint Legislative Audit Committee and the Joint
Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technology may hold executive ses-
sions under ORS 192.660 to consider or discuss reports, documents, testimony or other ma-
terials that are exempt from public disclosure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505 or to discuss
information about reviewing or approving programs related to information security.

(5)(a) The Legislative Fiscal Office shall use the notification the office receives under
subsection (2) of this section and the copies and reports the office receives under subsection
(8) of this section solely for the purpose of providing support and assistance to the Joint
Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technology and the Joint Legislative
Audit Committee.

(b)(A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, the Legislative Fiscal
Officer or an employee of the Legislative Fiscal Office may not reveal to any other person

the nature or contents of the notifications that the office receives under subsection (2) of
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this section or the copies and reports the office receives under subsection (3) of this section
to the extent that the notifications, copies or reports are exempt from disclosure under ORS
192.410 to 192.505.

(B) The Legislative Fiscal Officer or an employee of the Legislative Fiscal Office may
disclose the nature or contents of the notifications, copies or reports described in subpara-
graph (A) of this paragraph solely with the written consent of:

(i) The State Chief Information Officer, with respect to materials that a state agency
within the executive department, as defined in ORS 174.112, provided;

(ii) The Secretary of State, with respect to materials that the office of the Secretary of
State provided;

(iii) The State Treasurer, with respect to materials that the office of the State Treasurer
provided;

(iv) The Attorney General, with respect to materials that the Department of Justice
provided;

(v) The State Court Administrator, with respect to materials that a court or a state
agency within the judicial department, as defined in ORS 174.113, provided; or

(vi) The Legislative Administrator, with respect to materials that a state agency within
the legislative department, as defined in ORS 174.114, provided.

SECTION 2. (1) Section 1 of this 2016 Act becomes operative on July 1, 2016.

(2) A state agency may adopt rules and take any other action before the operative date
specified in subsection (1) of this section that is necessary to enable the state agency to ex-
ercise, on and after the operative date specified in subsection (1) of this section, all of the
duties, functions and powers conferred on the state agency by section 1 of this 2016 Act.

SECTION 3. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

Senate Bill 1579

Sponsored by Senators WHITSETT, COURTNEY; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BOQUIST, FERRIOLI, GIROD,
HANSELL, KNOPP, OLSEN, THOMSEN, Representative NEARMAN (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Requires state agencies to provide summary of legal advice regarding validity or effect of pro-
posed rule or written order.
Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to legal advice provided to state agencies; creating new provisions; amending ORS 183.335;
and declaring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 183.335 is amended to read:

183.335. (1) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the agency shall give notice
of its intended action:

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the agency under ORS 183.341 (4), which pro-
vides a reasonable opportunity for interested persons to be notified of the agency’s proposed action;

(b) In the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date;

(c) At least 28 days before the effective date, to persons who have requested notice pursuant to
subsection (8) of this section; and

(d) Delivered only by electronic mail, at least 49 days before the effective date, to the persons
specified in subsection (15) of this section.

(2)(a) The notice required by subsection (1) of this section must include:

(A) A caption of not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the
agency’s intended action. The agency shall include the caption on each separate notice, statement,
certificate or other similar document related to the intended action.

(B) An objective, simple and understandable statement summarizing the subject matter and
purpose of the intended action in sufficient detail to inform a person that the person’s interests may
be affected, and the time, place and manner in which interested persons may present their views on
the intended action.

(b) The agency shall include with the notice of intended action given under subsection (1) of this
section:

(A) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon and bearing upon the
promulgation of the rule;

(B) A citation of the statute or other law the rule is intended to implement;

(C) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how the rule is intended to meet the
need;

(D) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any, prepared by or relied upon by

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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the agency in considering the need for and in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location
at which those documents are available for public inspection. The list may be abbreviated if neces-
sary, and if so abbreviated there shall be identified the location of a complete list;

(E) A statement of fiscal impact identifying state agencies, units of local government and the
public that may be economically affected by the adoption, amendment or repeal of the rule and an
estimate of that economic impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public. In
considering the economic effect of the proposed action on the public, the agency shall utilize avail-
able information to project any significant economic effect of that action on businesses which shall
include a cost of compliance effect on small businesses affected. For an agency specified in ORS
183.530, the statement of fiscal impact shall also include a housing cost impact statement as de-
scribed in ORS 183.534;

(F) A summary of any legal advice received by the agency regarding the validity or effect
of the rule;

[(F)] (G) If an advisory committee is not appointed under the provisions of ORS 183.333, an ex-
planation as to why no advisory committee was used to assist the agency in drafting the rule; and

[(G)] (H) A request for public comment on whether other options should be considered for
achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on
business.

(c) The Secretary of State may omit the information submitted under paragraph (b) of this sub-
section from publication in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360.

(d) When providing notice of an intended action under subsection (1)(c) of this section, the
agency shall provide a copy of the rule that the agency proposes to adopt, amend or repeal, or an
explanation of how the person may acquire a copy of the rule. The copy of an amended rule shall
show all changes to the rule by striking through material to be deleted and underlining all new
material, or by any other method that clearly shows all new and deleted material.

(3)(a) When an agency proposes to adopt, amend or repeal a rule, it shall give interested persons
reasonable opportunity to submit data or views. Opportunity for oral hearing shall be granted upon
request received from 10 persons or from an association having not less than 10 members before the
earliest date that the rule could become effective after the giving of notice pursuant to subsection
(1) of this section. An agency holding a hearing upon a request made under this subsection shall give
notice of the hearing at least 21 days before the hearing to the person who has requested the
hearing, to persons who have requested notice pursuant to subsection (8) of this section and to the
persons specified in subsection (15) of this section. The agency shall publish notice of the hearing
in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 14 days before the hearing. The agency shall
consider fully any written or oral submission.

(b) If an agency is required to conduct an oral hearing under paragraph (a) of this subsection,
and the rule for which the hearing is to be conducted applies only to a limited geographical area
within this state, or affects only a limited geographical area within this state, the hearing shall be
conducted within the geographical area at the place most convenient for the majority of the resi-
dents within the geographical area. At least 14 days before a hearing conducted under this para-
graph, the agency shall publish notice of the hearing in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 and
in a newspaper of general circulation published within the geographical area that is affected by the
rule or to which the rule applies. If a newspaper of general circulation is not published within the
geographical area that is affected by the rule or to which the rule applies, the publication shall be

made in the newspaper of general circulation published closest to the geographical area.
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(¢) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, the Department of Corrections and the
State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision may adopt rules limiting participation by inmates
in the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule to written submissions.

(d) If requested by at least five persons before the earliest date that the rule could become ef-
fective after the agency gives notice pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the agency shall
provide a statement that identifies the objective of the rule and a statement of how the agency will
subsequently determine whether the rule is in fact accomplishing that objective.

(e) An agency that receives data or views concerning proposed rules from interested persons
shall maintain a record of the data or views submitted. The record shall contain:

(A) All written materials submitted to an agency in response to a notice of intent to adopt,
amend or repeal a rule.

(B) A recording or summary of oral submissions received at hearings held for the purpose of
receiving those submissions.

(C) Any public comment received in response to the request made under subsection [(2)(b)(G)]
(2)(b)(H) of this section and the agency’s response to that comment.

(D) Any statements provided by the agency under paragraph (d) of this subsection.

(4) Upon request of an interested person received before the earliest date that the rule could
become effective after the giving of notice pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the agency shall
postpone the date of its intended action no less than 21 nor more than 90 days in order to allow the
requesting person an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments concerning the proposed
action. Nothing in this subsection shall preclude an agency from adopting a temporary rule pursuant
to subsection (5) of this section.

(5) Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (4) of this section, an agency may adopt, amend or sus-
pend a rule without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that it finds
practicable, if the agency prepares:

(a) A statement of its findings that its failure to act promptly will result in serious prejudice to
the public interest or the interest of the parties concerned and the specific reasons for its findings
of prejudice;

(b) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon and bearing upon the
promulgation of the rule;

(c) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how the rule is intended to meet the
need;

(d) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any, prepared by or relied upon by
the agency in considering the need for and in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location
at which those documents are available for public inspection; and

(e) For an agency specified in ORS 183.530, a housing cost impact statement as defined in ORS
183.534.

(6)(a) A rule adopted, amended or suspended under subsection (5) of this section is temporary
and may be effective for a period of not longer than 180 days. The adoption of a rule under this
subsection does not preclude the subsequent adoption of an identical rule under subsections (1) to
(4) of this section.

(b) A rule temporarily suspended shall regain effectiveness upon expiration of the temporary
period of suspension unless the rule is repealed under subsections (1) to (4) of this section.

(7) Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (4) of this section, an agency may amend a rule without

prior notice or hearing if the amendment is solely for the purpose of:

[3]
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(a) Changing the name of an agency by reason of a name change prescribed by law;

(b) Changing the name of a program, office or division within an agency as long as the change
in name does not have a substantive effect on the functions of the program, office or division;

(c) Correcting spelling;

(d) Correcting grammatical mistakes in a manner that does not alter the scope, application or
meaning of the rule;

(e) Correcting statutory or rule references; or

(f) Correcting addresses or telephone numbers referred to in the rules.

(8)(a) Any person may request in writing that an agency send to the person copies of the
agency’s notices of intended action issued under subsection (1) of this section. The person must
provide an address where the person elects to receive notices. The address provided may be a postal
mailing address or, if the agency provides notice by electronic mail, may be an electronic mailing
address.

(b) A request under this subsection must indicate that the person requests one of the following:

(A) The person may request that the agency mail paper copies of the proposed rule and other
information required by subsection (2) of this section to the postal mailing address.

(B) If the agency posts notices of intended action on a website, the person may request that the
agency mail the information required by subsection (2)(a) of this section to the postal mailing ad-
dress with a reference to the website where electronic copies of the proposed rule and other infor-
mation required by subsection (2) of this section are posted.

(C) The person may request that the agency electronically mail the information required by
subsection (2)(a) of this section to the electronic mailing address, and either provide electronic
copies of the proposed rule and other information required by subsection (2) of this section or pro-
vide a reference to a website where electronic copies of the proposed rule and other information
required by subsection (2) of this section are posted.

(c) Upon receipt of any request under this subsection, the agency shall acknowledge the request,
establish a mailing list and maintain a record of all mailings made pursuant to the request. Agen-
cies may establish procedures for establishing the mailing lists and keeping the mailing lists current.
Agencies by rule may establish fees necessary to defray the costs of mailings and maintenance of
the lists.

(d) Members of the Legislative Assembly who receive notices under subsection (15) of this sec-
tion may request that an agency furnish paper copies of the notices.

(9) This section does not apply to rules establishing an effective date for a previously effective
rule or establishing a period during which a provision of a previously effective rule will apply.

(10) This section does not apply to ORS 279.835 to 279.855, 279A.140 to 279A.161, 279A.250 to
279A.290, 279A.990, 279B.050 to 279B.085, 279B.200 to 279B.240, 279B.270, 279B.275, 279B.280,
279C.360, 279C.365, 279C.370, 279C.375, 279C.380, 279C.385, 279C.500 to 279C.530, 279C.540, 279C.545,
279C.550 to 279C.570, 279C.580, 279C.585, 279C.590, 279C.600 to 279C.625, 279C.650 to 279C.670 and
279C.800 to 279C.870 relating to public contracts and purchasing.

(11)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this subsection, a rule is not valid unless adopted
in substantial compliance with the provisions of this section in effect on the date that the notice
required under subsection (1) of this section is delivered to the Secretary of State for the purpose
of publication in the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360.

(b) In addition to all other requirements with which rule adoptions must comply, a rule is not

valid if the rule has not been submitted to the Legislative Counsel in the manner required by ORS
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183.715.

(c) A rule is not subject to judicial review or other challenge by reason of failing to comply with
subsection (2)(a)(A) of this section.

(12)(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (11) of this section, but subject to paragraph
(b) of this subsection, an agency may correct its failure to substantially comply with the require-
ments of subsections (2) and (5) of this section in adoption of a rule by an amended filing, as long
as the noncompliance did not substantially prejudice the interests of persons to be affected by the
rule.

(b) An agency may use an amended filing to correct a failure to include a fiscal impact state-
ment in a notice of intended action, as required by subsection (2)(b)(E) of this section, or to correct
an inaccurate fiscal impact statement, only if the agency developed the fiscal impact statement with
the assistance of an advisory committee or fiscal impact advisory committee appointed under ORS
183.333.

(13) Unless otherwise provided by statute, the adoption, amendment or repeal of a rule by an
agency need not be based upon or supported by an evidentiary record.

(14) When an agency has established a deadline for comment on a proposed rule under the pro-
visions of subsection (3)(a) of this section, the agency may not extend that deadline for another
agency or person unless the extension applies equally to all interested agencies and persons. An
agency shall not consider any submission made by another agency after the final deadline has
passed.

(15) The notices required under subsections (1) and (3) of this section must be given by the
agency to the following persons:

(a) If the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal results from legislation that was passed
within two years before notice is given under subsection (1) of this section, notice shall be given to
the legislator who introduced the bill that subsequently was enacted into law, and to the chair or
cochairs of all committees that reported the bill out, except for those committees whose sole action
on the bill was referral to another committee.

(b) If the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal does not result from legislation that was
passed within two years before notice is given under subsection (1) of this section, notice shall be
given to the chair or cochairs of any interim or session committee with authority over the subject
matter of the rule.

(c) If notice cannot be given under paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection, notice shall be given
to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to the President of the Senate who are in office
on the date the notice is given.

(16)(a) Upon the request of a member of the Legislative Assembly or of a person who would be
affected by a proposed adoption, amendment or repeal, the committees receiving notice under sub-
section (15) of this section shall review the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal for compliance
with the legislation from which the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal results.

(b) The committees shall submit their comments on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal
to the agency proposing the adoption, amendment or repeal.

SECTION 2. Section 3 of this 2016 Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 183.

SECTION 3. An order expressed in writing by an agency must include a summary of any
legal advice received by the agency regarding the validity or effect of the order.

SECTION 4. (1) The amendments to ORS 183.335 by section 1 of this 2016 Act apply only

to notices of intended action given on or after the effective date of this 2016 Act.

[5]
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(2) Section 3 of this 2016 Act applies only to orders issued on or after the effective date
of this 2016 Act.

SECTION 5. This 2016 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2016 Act takes effect

on its passage.

[6]
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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2016 Regular Session

Senate Joint Resolution 202

Sponsored by Senator GIROD; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BOQUIST, FERRIOLI, HANSELL, KNOPP, KRUSE,
OLSEN, THATCHER, THOMSEN, WHITSETT (Presession filed.)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject
to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the
measure as introduced.

Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution to require Legislative Assembly to approve each
administrative rule or amendment of administrative rule adopted by executive branch agency before
taking effect. Authorizes Legislative Assembly to permit executive branch agencies to adopt or
amend rules that take effect immediately if emergency conditions exist that satisfy criteria estab-
lished by Legislative Assembly. Permits rule adopted or amended on emergency basis to be in effect
for no more than 12 calendar months unless rule or amendment is approved by Legislative Assembly.

Applies to rules that are first adopted or amended on or after July 1, 2017.

| Refers proposed amendment to people for their approval or rejection at next regular general
election.

JOINT RESOLUTION
Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:
PARAGRAPH 1. The Constitution of the State of Oregon is amended by creating new sections
5 and 5a to be added to and made a part of Article III, such sections to read:
SECTION 5. Notwithstanding section 1 of this Article, the Legislative Assembly may by

law require any administrative rule or amendment of an administrative rule that is adopted

by an Executive Branch agency:

(1) To be approved by joint resolution of the Legislative Assembly prior to taking effect;
or

(2) If the Executive Branch agency determines that the agency’s failure to act promptly
will result in serious prejudice to the public interest or the interest of the parties concerned
and the specific reasons for its findings of prejudice satisfy the conditions established by the
Legislative Assembly by law for the emergency adoption or amendment of a rule, to take
effect immediately following adoption of the rule or amendment but to be in effect for no
more than 12 calendar months before being approved by the Legislative Assembly.

SECTION 5a. (1) Section 5 of this Article applies to administrative rules that are first
adopted or amended by an Executive Branch agency on or after July 1, 2017.

(2) This section is repealed on June 30, 2019.

PARAGRAPH 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the
people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election held throughout
this state.

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.
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Office of the Governor

State of Oregon

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 16-06

PUBLIC RECORDS

Upon assuming the office of Governor in February 2015, I offered a package of
bills to the Legislative Assembly relating to ethics and governmental
accountability. A key component of that package was Senate Bill 9, which
mandated that an audit be conducted of state agencies’ responses to public records
requests with respect to issues of cost, timeliness and procedures. The Legislature
approved Senate Bill 9 and I signed it into law on June 15, 2015.

The Secretary of State’s Audits Division has conducted the audit required by
Senate Bill 9, and on November, 2015, released the audit results in a document
entitled “State Agencies Respond Well to Routine Public Records Requests, but
Struggle with Complex Requests and Emerging Technologies.” (The audit and the
audit results are hereinafter referred to collectively as the “Audit.”) The Audit
examined a sampling of large, medium and small agencies and found that for the
most part Oregon state agencies handle routine requests well and struggle with
complex requests.

The Audit also revealed other issues that affect agencies’ ability to respond to
requests such as retention policies, changing technologies and fee structures.

The Audit included specific recommendations, including a recommendation that
the Oregon Department of Administrative Services (“DAS”) create standardized
rates for copying and standardized rates for employee labor among state agencies in
order to resolve some of the inconsistency in public records requests fees statewide.

The Audit further recommended that DAS be empowered to provide guidance to
agencies regarding communication technologies as they relate to public records.

The Audit found, further, that the variation in responses to public records requests
is due, at least in part, to a lack of statewide policies and guidelines with regard to
record types created by emergent technology, a standardized fee structure, and
automated processes and procedures that make records retention arduous and
subjective.

It is also clear that as a result of the rise of modern communications technology, the
volume of records subject to search and potential legal review significantly impacts
the ability for an agency to respond in a timely manner and causes concern and
mistrust to grow in the public’s view.
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Office of the Governor

State of Oregon

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 16-06
PAGE TWO

The purpose of the Government of the State of Oregon is to serve the people of
Oregon. State government must therefore be open and transparent. All Oregonians
deserve full and complete information regarding the affairs of government and the
official acts of those who represent them as public officials and employees.

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY DIRECTED AND ORDERED:

| 1. DAS shall develop and promote model public records management policies,
approved by the State Archivist, for use by executive branch agencies no later
than June 30, 2016. All state agencies shall comply with ORS 192.018 within
90 days of DAS' promotion of model policies by either adopting the DAS
policy or modifying it to meet agency-specific records management needs.

2. DAS shall improve accessibility and government transparency by fully
implementing all of the recommendations outlined in the SOS audit, which are
incorporated herein. DAS shall work with and report to the Governor’s office
in the implementation of the audit recommendations. This work shall begin
immediately. The recommendations that shall be fully implemented include,
but are not limited to:

a. Streamlining and standardizing state agency processes and procedures
regarding responses to public records requests;

b. Working with state agencies to develop a standard protocol for tracking
public records requests, and documentation related to each request;

c. Developing uniform statewide standards and guidelines on agency fee
structures or charging policies; and
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Office of the Governor

State of Oregon

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 16-06
PAGE THREE |

d. Working with agencies to develop streamlined management processes,
administrative rules, and statewide policy guidance regarding internal
processes and procedures for records retention and management.

3. This Order shall remain in effect until it is otherwise modified, amended or
terminated.

2
Done at Salem, Oregon, this day of January, 2016.

Kate Brown
GOVERNOR

ATTEST:

Jeanne P. Atkins ‘
SECRETARY OF STATE
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State Agencies Respond Well to Routine Public Records Requests, but
Struggle with Complex Requests and Emerging Technologies

Executive Summary

Oregon state agencies respond well to most public records requests for
routine information, but the infrequent complex requests produce
challenges. As a result, some requesters believe that agencies deliberately
discourage, delay, or block the release of public information.

The Department of Administrative Services should provide guidance and
training to help agencies develop procedures, and agencies should create
timeliness goals for responding to requests. Better monitoring, consistent
fees, use of technology, and third-party mediation could also help with the
retention and disclosure of public records and improve trust in Oregon’s
government.

Oregon’s public records law was enacted in 1973. Known primarily as a law
of disclosure, the law grants all citizens within the state of Oregon the right
to inspect all records - with some exceptions.

When the law first passed, it included 16 classes of records that could be
exempt from disclosure for a total of 55 exemptions. Changes and revisions
since that time have raised the total number of exemptions in Oregon law
to more than 400. The intent, however, remains the same: that Oregon’s
government is accessible and transparent to its people.

For our audit, we examined nine agencies of varying sizes and missions to
capture a fuller picture of public records in Oregon state agencies. The nine
agencies were:

» The Department of Human Services

= The Oregon Employment Department

= The Department of Environmental Quality

= The Public Employees Retirement System

= The Oregon Liquor Control Commission

= The Oregon Department of Education

= The Oregon Real Estate Agency

» The Oregon State Board of Nursing

= The Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision
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Agencies handle routine requests well, struggle with complex ones

We found that public records requests generally fall into one of two
categories. The first is routine requests, or common requests for
information that agencies have easy and ready access to. These requests,
which generally make up 90 percent or more of an agency’s total requests,
can be fulfilled at little to no cost and within a couple of weeks.

The other category is non-routine or complex requests. These are
voluminous in scope, ask for “any and all” information, or are otherwise
complicated for an agency to complete. These are the requests that can take
weeks or months to fulfill and often at a high cost.

In the selected files we reviewed, we found no evidence to suggest that
agencies were regularly taking an unreasonably long time, or charging
unreasonably high fees, to respond to records requests. But when agencies
struggle to respond to complex, non-routine requests, it can foster
suspicion and distrust, which in turn can undermine the credibility and
transparency of both the agency and Oregon government.

To address this distrust, some states and provinces have established a
neutral, third-party entity that helps mediate disagreements between
requesters and agencies. An ombudsman or commission can help
determine when a request is too broad or when an agency is taking an
unreasonably long time to respond. Oregon has no such mechanism. The
Attorney General’s role is limited to denials based on exemptions and fee
waivers.

Agencies retain public records longer than required

It is important that agencies properly retain and manage their public
records so they can be efficiently located and disclosed in response to a
records request. To do this, agencies must follow their retention schedules
- guidelines, created and authorized by the Archives Division, that
determine how long certain records must be kept before they are
destroyed or transferred to the State Archives for permanent retention.

But we found that agencies are keeping too many records for too long,
resulting in a large volume of information. Some employees are too
cautious about accidentally deleting or losing track of a public record, and
so have a tendency to “keep everything.”

We found that better management tools and specific training on the issue
of record retention may help state employees better manage records. This
can reduce the volume of public information statewide and assist agencies
to more efficiently respond to public records requests.

Exemptions remain an issue and may require a closer look

Exemptions - those instances in which a record may be exempt from
disclosure - make up a major portion of Oregon’s public records law.
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Agencies generally understand which exemptions most commonly apply to
the records in their care. But due to the sheer number of exemptions in the
law, including how they are worded and where in statute they are located,
staff sometimes must consult with experts or the Department of Justice.

There is a perception among some requesters that agencies inappropriately
use exemptions to block the release of public information. Most of Oregon’s
exemptions are applied at the agency’s discretion. After weighing the public
interest, these records may be disclosed even if an exemption applies. The
exception is confidential information, which is legally prohibited from
release.

These issues regarding exemptions are not new. After a national report
gave Oregon a failing grade in government transparency eight years ago,
state officials closely examined the law and accepted feedback from
requesters and public officials. Their findings, published in 2010 as the
Attorney General’s Government Transparency Report, found that “Any
meaningful overhaul of Oregon’s public records law must reorganize and
make coherent sense of the numerous exemptions.”

A bill was subsequently introduced in the 2011 legislative session to
address some of these recommendations, but it failed to pass. A task force
was recently convened by the Attorney General to examine in greater detail
the issues of exemptions in Oregon law.

Variations in responses frustrate some requesters

Requesters expect their government will be transparent and open, that fees
charged for requests will be reasonable and records will be made available
as quickly as possible. They expect agencies that fail to do so will be held
accountable.

But variation among agencies’ responses to records requests - in both fees
and timeliness - can lead to confusion and frustration among requesters
when they are not sure what kind of response to expect.

Agencies charge differing fees to provide public information. This variation
extends to both the fees for copying costs and the charge for staff time to
respond to a request. Agencies charge anywhere from $0.05 to $0.25 per
page in copying costs, and from $15 to $40 per hour for staff time.

We also found a time variation among agencies in responding to requests,
due largely to the differences between routine and non-routine requests.
First, agencies have varying internal guidelines for what it means to be
timely, if they have any internal guidelines at all. Second, timeliness
depends largely on the type of request an agency receives. We found that
routine requests were fulfilled within 14 days, while non-routine requests
could take upwards of 265 days to fulfill.

We saw no evidence to suggest that adding a specific deadline in law would
positively affect agencies’ abilities to respond to requests in a timely
fashion. But agencies that set internal guidelines or goals to respond to
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requests hold themselves accountable to requesters while maintaining the
flexibility provided in Oregon law.

Agencies are not keeping up with changing technologies

Oregon’s public records law was updated in 2011 to extend the definition
of a public record to electronic or digital messages. Agencies have taken a
longer time to update their own policies to include emerging technologies
such as email, text, and instant messages.

More than half of the agencies we examined had policies to address email
as it relates to public records. But only one agency had specific language to
address the use of a personal or private email account in conducting the
public’s business. Only one agency had a policy to address the use of instant
messages, and no agencies had policies regarding text messages, as public
records.

A few agencies have adopted policies to address social media, which appear
to draw language from the Social Networking Media guide provided by the
Department of Administrative Services.

Technologies like those mentioned above have changed how government
and its agencies communicate with the public. Technology can also help
agencies improve transparency by being proactive and making information
available online. Several agencies have done so with commonly requested
information, which can help reduce the overall number of public records
requests.

Recommendations

Our recommendations are addressed to three groups: the Department of
Administrative Services (DAS), all state agencies, and the Oregon
Legislature.

We recommend the Department of Administrative Services create
statewide, standard rates for copying and rates for employee labor, to
resolve some of the inconsistency in public records requests fees statewide.
We also recommend they provide guidance to agencies regarding
communication technologies as they relate to public records, including
personal email, text and instant messages, and social media.

For agencies, we recommend they create policies and procedures to clearly
address communication technologies under the guidance of DAS. We also
recommend they adopt tools to help manage both record retention and
public records requests.

For the Legislature, we recommend they consider creating a neutral third-
party, such as an ombudsman, to mediate disputes between requesters and
agencies. We also encourage them to consider the forthcoming results from
the Attorney General’s task force for any recommended changes regarding
the public records law.

Attachment #2



For a complete list of our recommendations, see page 24 in this report.

Agency Response

The response from the Department of Administrative Services is attached
at the end of the report.
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Background

The origin of public records in Oregon

The definition of a public
record regarding disclosure:

Any writing that contains
information relating to the
conduct of the public’s
business, including but not
limited to court records,
mortgages, and deed
records, prepared, owned,
used or retained by a public
body regardless of physical
form or characteristics. ORS
192.410

The passage of Oregon’s public records law

The right to inspect public records in Oregon dates back to the early 1900s,
when the Legislature first enacted the statute granting citizens the right to
inspect public records. This right was subjected to three limitations:

» The inspection of records is to be for a lawful purpose.
» Inspection is to be conducted during business hours.

» Inspection should not interfere with the regular duties of the officer who
possessed the records.

But in putting the statute into practice, officials realized there were
circumstances that warranted certain limitations. This led to the
Legislature passing the 1973 Public Records Act.

The 1973 law gave citizens the right to inspect all records, with some
exceptions. Sixteen classes of records were exempted from disclosure for a
total of 55 exemptions, covering records such as accident reports, student
records, and personal information in which disclosure would result in an
invasion of privacy.

Passage of the 1973 law also gave citizens an avenue to obtain records they
believed belonged to the public. Anyone who is denied access to records
can petition the Attorney General or a district attorney for an order
requiring the public body to allow inspection.

The public records laws governing retention and disposition were
originally enacted in 1961. The 1973 law established the right of the public
to access those records.

The current public records law includes changes and additions made since
1973, but the intent of the law remains the same: that Oregon’s
government is accessible and transparent to its people.

Current laws regarding record retention, fees, timeliness, and exemptions

The current public records law includes an overview of how state agencies
should retain their records and how to respond to public records requests.
The law allows agencies to charge fees and set guidelines for turnaround
time. The law also identifies which records may be exempt from disclosure.

Agencies are required to maintain public records according to retention
schedules. Schedules are set based on the content of the record and not the
format in which it is recorded.

An agency is allowed to charge fees to recoup the actual cost of making
public records available. Fees may include the cost for summarizing,
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The definition of a public
record regarding retention:

Any information that is
prepared, owned, used or
retained by a state agency or
political subdivision; relates
to an activity, transaction or
function of the state agency
or political subdivision; and
is necessary to satisfy the
fiscal, legal, administrative
or historical policies,
requirements or needs of the
state agency or political
subdivision. ORS 192.005

compiling or tailoring the public records (either in organization or format)
to meet a person’s request. Fees may also cover the cost of time spent by an
attorney in reviewing and redacting requested records or identifying
exempt and non-exempt records. Agencies also have the ability to waive or
reduce these fees.

After an agency receives a public records request, it is required to respond
“as soon as practicable and without unreasonable delay.” Agencies must
acknowledge the receipt of the request.

The law lists records that are currently exempt from disclosure. These
include, but are not limited to, trade secrets, information relating to the
appraisal of real estate prior to its acquisition, and investigatory
information compiled for criminal law purposes. Other public records
exempt from disclosure include information of a personal nature such as
medical files or employee or volunteer Social Security numbers.

Most of these exemptions are considered conditional, meaning that a public
body is free to disclose a record or information even if an exemption
applies to the record. Agencies must consider the public interest when
determining if an exempt record should be disclosed.

Other records are always considered confidential, meaning that agencies
are legally prohibited from releasing that information. For example,
agencies are prohibited from releasing a public employee’s photo I.D. badge
or card without that employee’s written consent.

Overview of the process for requesting public records

A public records request can vary in formality, from a simple telephone call
to ask for a document to a composed letter that cites the public records law.
For the purposes of this audit, we refer to public records requests as those
that were documented as such by each agency.

Anyone can request public records by submitting a written request or
contacting the agency via telephone or in person. The request usually
includes a description of the information, the type of records, subject
matter, approximate dates the records were created, names of any people
involved, and contact information for the requester.

The custodian (public body mandated to create, maintain, care for or
control a public record) has the duty to make non-exempt public records
available for inspection and copying. The custodian receives a request,
reviews it, and retrieves the records and, if they are not exempt from
disclosure, provides the records to the requester.

Generally, a request that requires payment goes through the same process.
In the cases where a fee would exceed $25, the custodian must provide a
fee estimate to the requester before the information is retrieved. The
requester pays for the fees before records are disclosed.
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We asked nine agencies about the public records requests they received
between January 2014 and when we contacted them in the summer of
2015. Their responses varied, from one agency receiving approximately 49
requests in that timeframe to another receiving more than 10,000. Some
agency staff reported the number of requests for public records has
increased in recent years.

Our audit objective was to examine state agency retention and disclosure
practices concerning public records and the consistency among agencies in
complying with Oregon’s public records law. We focused on nine selected
agencies of varying sizes and missions.

The nine agencies were:

» The Department of Human Services

= The Oregon Employment Department

= The Department of Environmental Quality

= The Public Employees Retirement System

= The Oregon Liquor Control Commission

= The Oregon Department of Education

= The Oregon Real Estate Agency

= The Oregon State Board of Nursing

* The Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision
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Audit Results

Oregon state agencies are successfully complying with the public records
law in responding to routine requests for information. These requests are
common and can be fulfilled within a few days at little or no cost.

But agencies struggle to respond to the non-routine requests, which are
complex or voluminous in scope. These requests can take weeks or months
to fulfill, sometimes at a cost of hundreds of dollars.

We found that poor record retention management may contribute to
challenges in responding to records requests. We found that agencies are
keeping records for longer than the retention schedules require, resulting
in a high volume of public records that are difficult to efficiently manage.

Oregon has also failed to keep up with emerging technologies, such as text
and instant messages. Some agencies do not have policies in place to
address these technologies, nor do they have policies to govern the use of
private email accounts or devices when they are used for the public’s
business.

We identified a number of steps Oregon government and state agencies can
take to approach public records requests with greater accountability and
greater consistency.

How well agencies respond to requests depends on
how routine or complex the request is

Majority of requests are routine, easy to fulfill

When it comes to the vast majority of public records requests, agencies we
reviewed were successful in complying with the public records law.

The majority of the records requests agencies receive are routine. They are
simple, common and narrow in scope, often asking for one or two
documents. For example, more than half of the public records requests the
Public Employees Retirement System receives are from members asking to
see their own pension records.

The Department of Human Services considers 98 percent of its total
requests to be routine. At both the Oregon State Board of Nursing and the
Oregon Real Estate Agency, almost all of the total requests received are
considered routine.

Our file reviews showed these routine requests did not usually invoke
exemptions, if at all. They were often for records the agency had ready and
easy access to. Agencies were generally able to provide these records for
little or no costand within a couple of weeks, falling well within the scope
of the public records law’s “as soon as practicable and without
unreasonable delay” provision.
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The remaining small percent of non-routine requests are challenging for
agencies to fulfill, leading to a perception that agencies deliberately use
methods such as high fees and lengthy delays to avoid releasing records.

Non-routine, complex requests take longer, cost more

Non-routine requests are those that are unusually complicated, voluminous
or otherwise beyond the scope of what agencies typically see in a public
records request. These requests are frequently for large amounts of
information or for records spanning a lengthy period of time.

Our file reviews showed that many times, these requests begin with the
phrase “any and all.” They can include any and all documentation related to
a particular person or entity; often, the request is for any and all
correspondence related to a particular subject, including letters, memos,
and emails.

One such request was made of the Department of Human Services in April
2014, asking for an entire file related to the licensing of a nursing facility.
The request included evidence of any contested case involving the licensee,
transcriptions, audio records and any and all correspondence. It took the
agency 118 days - nearly four months - to fulfill this request, which
included removing exempted material, at a charge of $742 (down from the
initial estimate of about $1,000).

A request may also be complex if it is unique to an agency. The Oregon
Employment Department recently received a public records request that
included electronic correspondence - specifically, text messages. Staff told
us it was the first instance such a request had ever been made of the
agency.

Requests for information that may be exempt from disclosure can also be
challenging for an agency. Agency staff will sometimes consult with
attorneys to ensure such exemptions are properly applied; attorneys may
need to review documents for sensitive information prior to their release.
This extra attention can translate into longer wait times, higher fees for
more staff time, or additional attorney fees.

Because of the factors mentioned above, there is a perception among some
requesters that agencies could game the system. From their perspective,
silence from an agency may be suspicious. Requests for records that
contain sensitive information may take weeks to be released, leaving
requesters questioning the reason for the delay.

For this reason, the Attorney General has recommended that agencies keep
open lines of communication with the requester:

“Upon receiving a records request, review the request to see if it is
ambiguous, overly broad or misdirected. If so, contact the requester
for clarification ... A brief conversation with a requester can save
considerable time and expense in responding to records requests.”
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Journalists we spoke to cited both delays and high costs as frequent tools
they believe are used to block records requests. One journalist told us that
when he sees a high cost in response to a request, it makes him wonder
what the agency is hiding. Another said he was convinced agencies
deliberately delayed releasing records for their own benefit, fully aware of
the strict deadlines under which the media operate.

In our review of selected public records requests, we found no evidence to
suggest that agencies were employing these tactics. But when agencies
struggle to respond to complex, non-routine requests, it can foster
suspicion and distrust, which in turn can undermine the credibility and
transparency of both the agency and Oregon government.

Role of Attorney General is limited in mediating timeliness, fees

Requesters are limited in how to proceed if they are dissatisfied with an
agency’s response to a public records request.

In some instances, Oregon’s Attorney General may be petitioned to order
an agency to release public records. Beyond the Attorney General,
requesters may also choose to sue in court. However, the Attorney
General’s role extends only as far as denials of public records requests or
denials of fee waivers or reductions. Requesters who feel that an agency is
violating the “unreasonable delay” provision of Oregon law, or who feel
that an agency is charging prohibitively high fees, have no such avenue.

Several other jurisdictions have neutral, third-party entities that mediate
such disagreements between agencies and requesters. Connecticut has a
Freedom of Information Commission, which is a quasi-judicial commission
of nine members and 15 supporting staff, who respond to complaints about
public records. Complaints are resolved through the commission’s hearing
process.

In Washington, the Open Government Ombudsman assists both citizens
and public agencies to comply with the state Public Disclosure Act. The
ombudsman is a single individual appointed by the Attorney General.

British Columbia has an Information and Privacy Commissioner, who has
the power to investigate and mediate disputes over privacy and access to
information. The commissioner, with the assistance of an external six-
member advisory board, provides independent oversight and enforcement
of the province’s freedom of information laws.

Oregon currently has no such mechanism to help mediate disputes
between requesters and agencies over high fees or lengthy disclosure
timelines.

Agencies retain public records longer than required

Chapter 192 of Oregon law — more commonly known as the public records
law - begins with the subject of retention. “The records of the state and its
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political subdivisions are so interrelated and interdependent,” legislators
wrote, “that the decision as to what records are retained or destroyed is a
matter of statewide public policy.”

Those political subdivisions, defined in the law as “a city, county, district or
any other municipal or public corporation in this state,” include state
agencies.

The state and its political subdivisions, the law continues, have a
responsibility to “insure orderly retention and destruction of all public
records ... and to insure the preservation of public records of value for
administrative, legal and research purposes.”

But the challenges of manually managing electronic records, along with a
tendency to be too cautious, has led Oregon agencies to retain records for
longer than necessary, resulting in too many records that complicate
agency efforts to efficiently manage the public information with which they
have been entrusted.

Agencies must adhere to their retention schedules

Record retention schedules specify both the minimum and maximum
length of time that a public record must be kept to satisfy the
administrative, legal, fiscal and historical requirements of that record.

To that end, state agencies must also manage their record retention
processes, by doing the following:

» Ensure a reasonable level of protection for records.
» Comply with any applicable laws and policies.

» Maintain records in a manner that ensures timely, efficient and accurate
retrieval of needed information.

= Provide secure and appropriate disposition or destruction for records
that are no longer required to be kept.

This is achieved, in part, through the agency’s retention schedule - a
document that indicates how long specific records must be kept. Retention
schedules further specify what must happen to records at the end of that
period, including destruction or transfer to the State Archives.

Each agency has a retention schedule created and approved by the Oregon
State Archives. This schedule is the agency’s legal authorization to destroy
public records.

There is a general retention schedule that applies to records common to all
state agencies, plus agency-specific retention schedules that include
records unique to that agency. For example, at the Department of
Environmental Quality, air quality special projects records must be
retained for 10 years and then be destroyed.

Attachment #2



Agencies struggle with the volume of records

As important as retention schedules are, agency staff are not always
following them. Instead, many employees are keeping far more records
than necessary, complicating record management efforts.

In interviews, some employees told us they have a tendency to “hold on to
everything,” instead of destroying records that reach their disposition date.
In some instances, employees create duplicate copies of records by printing
off electronic records and keeping both, expressing distrust with electronic
storage systems.

Agency staff may worry about losing track of a public record or accidentally
destroying it too soon - actions that may have consequences. They may feel
it is safer to simply hold on to everything.

But it is equally important that agencies adhere to their retention
schedules, which includes destroying records at the appropriate date.
Without the appropriate destruction of records, agencies accumulate more
information they must manage, leading to this issue of volume.

Records retention is especially important in that it precedes records
disclosure. After all, agencies cannot respond to a public records request
and disclose records they do not have.

But they also cannot disclose records they cannot find. These large
amounts of information are challenging for agencies to manage efficiently,
particularly when trying to find among them a single record in response to
arecords request - like a needle in a haystack.

In fact, officials at both of the agencies with key public records
responsibilities - the Oregon State Archives and the Department of Justice -
said this tendency to stockpile records is one of Oregon’s biggest issues in
public records management.

Training, technology can streamline management efforts

Training is important for an organization’s development and success - both
for new employees and as a refresher for existing employees.

Agencies reported staff understood the significance of record retention.
Each agency had staff dedicated to the task of managing public records.
More than half of these employees had undergone training specific to
public record retention, whether it was provided internally or by the
Oregon State Archives.

However, as all state employees create public records in the course of their
duties, the obligation for proper record retention lies with each state
employee, not just a select few. We found that training on record retention
is not consistently given to all agency staff. As a result, agencies risk
noncompliance with retention schedules or internal policies and
procedures.
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Technology can be immensely beneficial to agencies as they manage
increasing amounts of public information. Digital storage can be easier and
more cost-efficient for an agency than keeping piles of boxes containing
thousands of papers. Computers can search more quickly for a single
document than a person can. And some software programs can
automatically destroy digital information or remind the user to do so when
the retention period has expired. As more records are being created
digitally, digital-only storage and retention solutions are necessary.

One such program is HP Records Management, or HPRM, a records
management program from Hewlett-Packard. The HPRM applies automatic
retention and disposition control to all records and indexes the content of
those records for searching, which can be helpful for responding to public
records requests.

According to the Oregon State Archivist, several agencies in Oregon already
use HPRM, formerly known as TRIM, or will be adopting it shortly,
including the Department of Administrative Services and the Department
of Environmental Quality. By purchasing the program in conjunction with
other state agencies, such as the Secretary of State, the cost to each agency
is approximately $37 per user per month.

Other agencies use other records management programs. For example, the
Public Employees Retirement System uses IBM FileNet instead of HPRM to
manage its records, including member and employer files.

However, agencies have differing needs for record management. A large
agency that is responsible for a large volume of confidential and private
information will have more records to manage than a smaller agency with
fewer records. Some technologies can be expensive and unwieldy, or
unable to securely store records with confidential information. Therefore,
agencies should proceed with care when selecting and implementing
record management programs.

In addition to helping agencies manage record retention, technology can be
beneficial to agencies in tracking the public records requests they receive
and how they respond to those requests.

Under a general retention schedule that applies to all state agencies,
agencies are required to retain for five years any requests for disclosure of
public records. They are also required to retain agency responses, including
approvals, denials, Attorney General Orders, and any correspondence.

Many agencies we reviewed maintain a log to help keep track of these
requests and their associated documentation. These logs vary in their
appearance and level of complexity, from team collaboration software tools
to simple spreadsheets. These logs can be useful in helping agencies keep
track not only of how timely they were in responding to a request, but also
of any documentation and correspondence associated with a request.
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Not all agencies maintain a log; others have a log, but don’t maintain it
consistently. Some logs we saw were more thorough and detailed than
others. And agencies that log requests differently within separate divisions
are not consistently logging requests agency-wide.

Exemptions remain an issue and may require a closer
look

A significant portion of Oregon’s public records law is devoted to
exemptions - meaning those instances in which a public record may be
exempt from disclosure due to the sensitive or private nature of
information it contains.

When the public records law was first enacted, it included only 55
exemptions. But over the years, the Legislature has gradually added more
exemptions to this list. Today, Oregon’s law contains more than 400
exemptions, scattered throughout various chapters and sections.

Compared to the federal public records law - the Freedom of Information
Act, or FOIA - and some other states, this number appears high. The FOIA
contains nine exemptions, while other states we examined had anywhere
from approximately 18 to 175 exemptions built into their laws.

Generally, agency staff told us they had a clear understanding of which
exemptions applied to most of their records. We found that most records, if
they were subject to an exemption, fell under one of just a few common
categories. For example, multiple agencies we visited said they had some
records subject to attorney-client confidentiality.

However, due to the vast number of exemptions in the law - including how
they are worded and where they are located - agency staff said they would
sometimes consult with internal experts or with the Department of Justice

to seek guidance on applying exemptions.

This process can delay the timeliness with which an agency responds to a
public records request; it can also increase the cost both to an agency and
to a requester. The more confusing the exemption, the greater the risk is
that a request will both take longer to fulfill and cost more.

There is a perception among some journalists that agencies already use
delays and high fees to limit access to public records. In addition to the
effect exemptions can have on these factors, there is also a perception
among some requesters that agencies improperly use exemptions
themselves to decline a request for a public record.

This perception may stem from the discretionary nature of most of
Oregon’s exemptions. As noted earlier, many records can be disclosed at an
agency’s discretion even if an exemption applies to that record.

In making that determination, agencies are required to weigh public
interests favoring nondisclosure against public interests favoring
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Variations in

disclosure, with a presumption toward disclosure - meaning the right of
the public to know what its government is doing on the job. The exception
is confidential information, which is legally prohibited from release.

However, it is not clear that agencies are weighing these competing
interests in determining whether or not to release a public record. In
interviews with agency staff, very few discussed weighing the public
interest. According to one Department of Justice official, some agencies may
misunderstand this conditional aspect of some of the law’s exemptions.

These difficulties surrounding the exemptions in Oregon’s public records
law are not new. In 2007, a national report that gave Oregon a failing grade
in terms of its government transparency spurred officials to take a closer
look at the law. Their findings, published in October 2010 as the Attorney
General’s Government Transparency Report, encouraged the Legislature to
make appropriate changes regarding timeliness, fees, and exemptions:

“The steady growth of exemptions is perhaps the most vexing
problem with the public records law. Not only are there too many
exemptions but they are haphazardly scattered throughout state law
and thus difficult to find. Seemingly similar types of information may
be subject to different rules depending on the particular language
adopted by the legislature in a particular case. Any meaningful
overhaul of Oregon’s public records law must reorganize and make
coherent sense of the numerous exemptions. Some exemptions
should be eliminated altogether.”

A bill was subsequently introduced during the 2011 legislative session to
address some of these recommendations, but it failed to pass. An earlier bill
introduced in 1993 that would have addressed exemptions also failed to
pass. It appears that these issues regarding exemptions, outlined years ago,
remain issues to this day.

We did not attempt to determine whether or not agencies are properly
applying exemptions, due in part to the efforts of a task force that the
Attorney General recently convened. Therefore, we did not draw any
conclusions or make recommendations regarding exemptions. The
Attorney General’s Public Records Law Reform Task Force plans to
examine the issue of exemptions in Oregon law in more detalil.

responses frustrate some requesters

At each of the agencies we reviewed, staff expressed their appreciation for
the flexibility built into Oregon’s public records law. It allows them to
balance the task of responding to records requests with their regular duties
to serve the public. Agencies are able to set policies and procedures that are
tailor-made for their individual missions and goals.

However, this flexibility has led to inconsistencies in how agencies are
responding to public records requests. Requesters have an expectation that
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state government will be accountable to the public, and that public
information will be made available within a reasonable time and for a
reasonable fee. When requesters are not sure what kind of response to
expect from an agency, it can lead to confusion and frustration.

A one-size-fits-all solution regarding cost or timeliness is problematic,
given the broad array of services within state and local governments. Prior
efforts by the Legislature to apply such a solution have been met with
resistance from local governments and smaller public bodies with limited
resources.

However, agencies can take certain steps to bring more consistency to the
process of disclosing public information.

Fees charged for material costs and staff time vary widely

Under Oregon law, agencies are allowed to establish fees reasonably
calculated to reimburse the agency for the actual cost of making public
records available. These fees can cover both the costs of any paper or
materials to provide copies of a record, as well as the staff time taken to
locate, compile, and provide the records.

Agencies are also required to establish fee schedules, which specify upfront
the amounts and manner of calculating fees in responding to requests for
public records.

The size and type of a records request will impact the fee an agency may
charge to produce it. But we found that even the manner of calculating fees
for such things as materials and staff time varies widely among agencies.

For instance, some agencies are charging $0.25 per page for copies, while
other agencies are charging only $0.05 per page.

Furthermore, some agencies provide a limited number of copies, upfront,
free of charge. For example, the Department of Human Services and the
Oregon Employment Department provide the first 10 pages free of charge,
and then at a cost of $0.25 for each page beyond that.

When agencies do not consistently offer these initial free copies, it can lead
to confusing variations in the cost for providing public records. It may
appear that agencies are arbitrarily charging or waiving fees.

But the greatest variation in costs was how much agencies are charging for
staff time. Much like the cost for materials, charges for staff time vary
widely - anywhere from $15 to $40 per hour. Some agencies charge for the
first 15 or 30 minutes of work. At other agencies, staff time is charged at
the individual employee’s hourly rate.

These variations have resulted in frustration and confusion for both agency
staff and requesters. The fees paid by a requester do not always cover the
cost of an employee’s time in searching for and compiling a record. Flat
rates such as $28 per hour for labor, for instance, do not take into account
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the variety in salaries among staff who are responding to records requests.
In some instances, agency staff expressed confusion over determining
when it is or is not appropriate to charge a requester for public
information.

Meanwhile, requesters may see widely different costs for similar requests
made of different agencies without understanding why. Journalists told us
that the fees agencies set seem arbitrary. Several journalists we spoke to
said that high fees had, at least once, stopped them from moving forward
with a public records request.

Response times for disclosing records vary by agency

Oregon’s public records law is vague in regards to timeliness. Rather than
setting a deadline for agencies to respond to a public records request, the
law states only that agencies “shall respond as soon as practicable and
without unreasonable delay.”

The Oregon Attorney General offers more specific guidelines to ensure that
public records are being released in a timely fashion:

“In the usual case, we think that it should be possible to make
requested records available within ten working days. We recognize
that in some cases more time - even significantly more time - may be
required.”

We found these ‘usual case’ requests - routine requests - were indeed
made available within a couple of weeks. It was the infrequent complex or
non-routine requests that required more time.

The flexibility in the law allows agencies to set their own goals and
guidelines regarding timeliness — as some agencies have. These deadlines
vary, but some of the agencies we examined have adopted the Attorney
General’s recommendation. For example, the Oregon Employment
Department, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, and the Board of
Parole and Post-Prison Supervision all have policies or goals to respond to
public records requests within 10 days.

Although Oregon’s flexible timeliness provision is not unique, many other
states have set stricter requirements within their laws. In Washington and
[llinois, for instance, agencies must respond to requests within five
business days.

However, we found no evidence, in Oregon or other states, to suggest that
implementing a deadline in law would speed up an agency’s response. This
is due largely to the differences between routine and non-routine requests.

Generally, agencies are already able to comply with routine requests within
the Attorney General’s recommended timeframe. Based on interviews,
available agency turnaround time calculation, and our own analysis of an
agency’s public records log, we found that agencies generally completed
routine requests within 14 days.
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It is the non-routine or complex requests that take significantly longer.
During our file reviews, we found instances where these requests can take
as few as 14 days or upwards of 265 days to fulfill.

To determine this information, we asked each agency to provide us a log or
tracking document for each request received between January 2014, and
when we contacted them in the summer of 2015.

Most agencies were able to provide us with a log. Two agencies tracked
requests individually by section or division and not agency-wide. Two
agencies had only recently begun keeping a log of the requests received;
those logs, therefore, did not date back to 2014. One agency did not log its
public records requests at all.

Only two agencies maintained or tracked in their logs enough data to allow
us to calculate timeliness in how the agency responded to all public records
requests: the Public Employees Retirement System and the Department of
Environmental Quality.

At the latter, employees regularly compile reports on the agency’s
timeliness. According to a recent staff report, more than 60 percent of
public records requests received from 2014 to the second quarter of 2015
were completed within seven days. These reports are useful management
tools for determining whether the agency is responding to requests in a
timely fashion and seeing where improvements may be needed.

For most agencies, we were unable to determine timeliness due to
insufficient data included in the logs. For example, several agencies did not
include any dates in their logs - such as a date when a request was received
or a date when the request was fulfilled. Other agencies said they did not
regularly log every single request that they received.

We also reviewed a selection of agencies’ files that related to public records
requests. These files generally included the initial request, any
correspondence the agency had with the requester, dates the request was
received, invoices showing fees charged and paid, and information about
what was requested.

To select files for these reviews, we asked agencies to identify requests that
took a long time to fulfill or resulted in a fee. We also reviewed a file that
we selected at random, in addition to the agency’s most recently completed
request. The file reviews provided us with a glimpse into the requests
agencies receive and how they responded.

Journalists told us they believe there is a problem with agencies taking too
long to release public records. They believe that, without specific deadlines,
agencies are not holding themselves accountable for responding to
requests in a timely fashion.

When agencies adopt their own policies to govern the timeliness for
disclosing a public record, they offer requesters a standard to which they
can be held accountable. But it also provides agencies with the same
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flexibility to handle complex or voluminous requests that is currently built
into Oregon’s public records law.

However, agencies should better monitor their own timeliness in
responding to public records requests to ensure compliance with internal
guidelines, hold themselves accountable to requesters, and identify areas
for improvement.

Agencies are struggling to keep up with changing
expectations and technologies

Since the initial passage of Oregon’s public records law, the Legislature
over the years has made several changes to update the language or add
more exemptions.

One such change, made in 2011, modified the definition of a public record
to include digital or electronic records.

But while the law has been updated, agency policy hasn’t necessarily
followed. When it comes to addressing the use of email, text or instant
messages and social media as public records, Oregon agencies have
struggled to keep up.

Agencies’ policies on email do not address private accounts, devices

Email is now widely accepted as a public record when state agencies use it
to conduct the public’s business.

More than half of the agencies we examined have already adopted specific
policies governing the retention and use of email as a public record to
ensure compliance with the law.

But not all agencies have these policies, or they may be unclear. This lack of
clarity may put an agency at risk of failing to retain some public
information, or failing to disclose it in response to a public records request.

Written policies can help prevent confusion and potential legal problems.
Policies and procedures within an agency can establish a high degree of
understanding, cooperation, and efficiency among employees.

Additionally, the distinction between public and private information in
emails and on private devices such as laptops, smartphones, and tablets, is
not always clear. Agencies and their employees face increasing confusion
over when an email is or is not a public record - and how to treat it
accordingly.

The new Governor recently adopted an email policy that clears up some of
this confusion:

“When the Office of the Governor receives a public records request or
valid subpoena, all official e-mail accounts and systems used for
official Office business are subject to search and production.”
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“To the extent that Office employees use personal e-mail addresses to
communicate about official matters (that is, to the extent public
records are associated with such addresses), those e-mails are
similarly subject to search and production. Office employees are
therefore strongly encouraged to engage in communications
regarding official business only on their official e-mail accounts. If
private accounts must be used, it is Office policy that employees copy
their official e-mail accounts on all such outgoing communications,
and forward any received messages on which their official e-mail
accounts are not copied.”

Of the agencies we examined, which did not include the Governor’s Office,
we found only one had adopted policies to specifically address the use of
private email in conducting the public’s business.

Agencies are slower to address text, instant messages

Beyond email, public employees may be increasingly using other
technologies to communicate - namely, text and instant messages. Similar
to email, these communications fall under the scope of public records law
when they are used in conducting the public’s business, and would require
disclosure in response to a public records request.

The Governor’s Office mitigates this risk by specifically addressing both
text and instant messages in its policy:

“Office of the Governor employees may use text messaging to
communicate factual and logistical information: (a) thatis nota
substantive part of the Office’s work, or (b) that has been
documented, or necessarily will be documented, in separate public
records. In the absence of separate documentation, Office employees
are not to use text messages for official purposes other than for
routine communications that do not meet the definition of a “public
record.” This Policy applies equally to an employee’s “official” mobile

phone or computer and to an employee’s “personal” mobile phone or
computer.”

We found that none of the agencies we examined had adopted clear policies
to specifically address the use and retention of text messages as public
records, and only the Department of Human Services (DHS) had a policy to
clearly address instant messages.

Some agencies have policies in place, such as DHS, that refer to “other
forms of electronic communications” as public records and may be
interpreted to include text messages. However, this policy could be refined
to include explicit guidance on the use and retention of text messages as
public record.

Additionally, some agencies, such as the Public Employees Retirement
System, told us they are in the process of trying some of these
communications, like instant messaging. Should the agency choose to adopt
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this form of communication, policies governing its use are anticipated to
follow.

Social media creates a public record gray area

The proliferation of social media is also transforming the way state and
local governments communicate with the public. Some Oregon agencies are
creating Twitter accounts, and even publishing videos to YouTube.

As with any other writing that pertains to the public’s business, these social
media postings are included in the umbrella of public records - even if they
consist only of 140 characters, as with Twitter.

Only a few agencies have established policies and procedures around social
media, to ensure their use aligns with the requirements of the public
records law.

Several of these policies appear to draw language from the Social
Networking Media guide published by the Oregon Department of
Administrative Services, which offers best practices on the use and
retention of social media.

The policy also identifies a potential risk associated with a public body’s
use of social media. For instance, posts made to Twitter under an agency’s
account may not belong to the agency, but to Twitter. However, under
Oregon’s public records law, the agency still maintains responsibility for
the information’s retention.

According to the Oregon State Archivist, this is one portion of the law that
has failed to keep up with emerging technologies. She noted that it is
considered a best practice for agencies to post only duplicate information,
so that they can maintain ownership of the original and compliance with
the law.

Conflicting expectations of transparency and privacy

Emerging technologies have also impacted two conflicting interests: an
increased expectation of transparency in our government, as well as an
increased expectation of privacy for the individuals it serves.

Requesters who ask for any and all correspondence expect an abundance of
information shedding light on conversations and decision-making that goes
into the public business. But those records must also be carefully vetted to
protect sensitive and confidential information - such as Social Security
numbers or attorney-client communications. Disclosure of such
confidential information has serious implications, even if it is done for the
sake of transparency.

One way agencies can improve transparency is to use technology to be
proactive, rather than reactive - that is, simply make public information
available upfront, rather than waiting for the public to ask for it. This is the
motivation behind Oregon’s Open Data Portal, located at data.oregon.gov.
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Several agencies have taken similar action. For example, the Oregon State
Board of Nursing posts several types of public information online, including
disciplinary actions against licensees. The Oregon Liquor Control
Commission posts information about licensed businesses and new license
applications it receives.

This kind of proactive accountability is beneficial both for agencies and for
requesters. Requesters are able to quickly and easily locate information,
eliminating the need for certain public records requests. Agencies, in turn,
receive fewer requests and are able to devote more time and resources to
unique requests or their other duties.

It does, however, come with its own risks. The Employment Department,
for example, told us it has considered putting some information online -
but certain information, due to confidentiality, simply cannot be posted.
Agencies must be careful about the records they post online to avoid
accidentally sharing sensitive or confidential information.
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Recommendations

To bring more consistency to agency responses to public records requests,
the Department of Administrative Services should provide statewide
guidance and training on:

» procedures for handling non-routine and complex public records
requests, including communicating with requesters regarding fees and
timelines;

» procedures for the use and retention of electronic communication,
including text and instant messaging as they relate to public records law;
and

» procedures for the use of personal devices and personal email accounts,
as they relate to public records law.

To address the variation in fees charged by state agencies, the Department
of Administrative Services should also consider:

» creating rates to charge for the cost of copies of public records; and

= identifying rates to charge for labor for state employees working on
public records requests.

To improve responses to public records requests, state agencies should
create policies and procedures based on the guidance to be provided by the
Department of Administrative Services, and:

= implement a record management program or process that fits the needs
of each agency (e.g. HPRM or another system);

= create goals for turnaround time that fit agencies’ processes based on
past experiences with responding to requests;

= create and keep a tracking mechanism, such as a log, to measure
adherence to turnaround time goals and to track documentation related
to each request; and

= identify frequently requested information and consider proactively
making the information available (e.g., posting more information on
agency website or the Oregon Transparency Website).

To address concerns regarding high fees and long turnaround times for
public records requests, the Oregon Legislature should:

= consider creating a third party, such as an ombudsman, to review
disputes over non-routine requests; and

= take into consideration the results of the Attorney General’s task force for
any recommended changes to the public records law.
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Objectives, Scope and Methodology

Our audit objective was to examine state agency retention and disclosure
practices concerning public records and the consistency among agencies in
complying with Oregon’s public records law. We focused our reviews on
nine selected agencies of varying sizes and missions.

The nine agencies were:

» The Department of Human Services

» The Oregon Employment Department

» The Department of Environmental Quality

* The Public Employees Retirement System

* The Oregon Liquor Control Commission

» The Oregon Department of Education

* The Oregon Real Estate Agency

* The Oregon State Board of Nursing

» The Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision

We also focused on public records requests received from January 2014 to
when we contacted the agencies in the summer of 2015. Our audit work did
not include reviews of local government agencies.

To address our audit objective, we reviewed Oregon'’s public records law
and Administrative Rules, agencies’ policies and procedures for record
retention and disclosure, and researched other states’ public records laws
for disclosing public records.

We interviewed at least one employee from each selected agency who was
knowledgeable about the agency’s retention and disclosure processes. We
also interviewed several public records requesters who are members of the
media to gain an understanding of their experiences with the records
request process.

We also conferred with the Oregon State Archives, which is a division of the
Secretary of State’s Office.

We obtained public records logs from the agencies and analyzed the logs for
timeliness, frequency of requests and the types of information requested.
We judgmentally selected a number of public records requests from the
logs for file reviews. We reviewed files for consistency in complying with
agencies’ policies and public records laws.

We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally
accepted government auditing standards. Those standards require that we
plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to
provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our
audit objective. We believe that the evidence obtained and reported
provides a reasonable basis to achieve our audit objective.
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Auditors from our office, who were not involved with the audit, reviewed
our report for accuracy, checking facts and conclusions against our
supporting evidence.
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II OregOn Department of Administrative Services

Office of the Chief Operating Officer
155 Cottage Street NE, U20

Salem, OR 97301

PHONE: 503-378-3104

FAX: 503-373-7643

Kate Brown, Governor

November 13, 2015

Gary Blackmer, Director

Audits Division

Office of the Secretary of State
255 Capitol Street NE, Suite 500
Salem, OR 97310

RE: Audit Report, State Agencies Respond Well to Routine Public Records Requests, but Struggle
with Complex Requests and Emerging Technologies

Dear Mr. Blackmer:

Thank you for providing the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) with the audit
report noted above. This audit, originally requested by Governor Brown, is very important, and
DAS and state agencies are ready to implement the recommendations. The report identified areas
where improvement is necessary to better and more consistently respond to non-routine and
complex public records requests. We appreciate the work of the Oregon Audits Division staff and
agree with the recommendations set forth.

Below you will find DAS’ response to the specific audit recommendations. Management
generally agrees with the recommendations. While DAS was not one of the agencies surveyed in
the audit, we understand we are being asked to respond because of our responsibility to provide
general oversight to state agencies. In anticipation of the release of this report, DAS has already
begun discussion with state agency leaders at the Enterprise Leadership Team about the need for
standardization of public records policies and processes that still meet individual agency business
needs.

Audits Division recommendation:

To bring more consistency to agency responses to public records requests, the
Department of Administrative Services should provide statewide guidance and
training on: procedures for handling non-routine and complex public records requests,
including communicating with requesters regarding fees and timelines; procedures for
the use and retention of electronic communication, including text and instant messaging
as they relate to public records law; and procedures for the use of personal devices and
personal email accounts, as they relate to public records law.

DAS’ Response:

Management generally agrees with the recommendations. Development of statewide
policy regarding text messages and social media is already underway in anticipation of needs
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identified by a new communications contract. DAS will work with the State Archivist to create a
menu of options to meet retention and disposition requirements that can be adopted based on
business needs.

In addition, the Department will provide clear guidance to state agencies to help ensure
accuracy and consistency in response to public records requests. DAS will convene agency public
information officers (P10s) to identify best practices and develop recommended policy and
procedure guidance to help agencies resolve barriers to effective response to non-routine and
complex public records requests. DAS will engage and coordinate with state agency leadership in
finalizing that policy guidance.

Audits Division recommendation:

To address the variation in fees charged by state agencies, the Department of
Administrative Services should also consider: creating rates to charge for the cost of
copies of public records; and identifying rates to charge for labor for state employees
working on public records requests.

DAS' Response:

Management generally agrees with the recommendation. As mentioned above, DAS and
the Enterprise Leadership Team are ready and willing to see standardization that still
accommodates agency business requirements. DAS will convene agency PIOs and business
managers to identify best practices and develop recommended policy guidance regarding
standardized fees and charges. DAS will work with agencies to ensure fees and charges are
appropriately levied in alignment with these guidelines.

Audits Division recommendation:

To improve responses to public records requests, state agencies should create
policies and procedures based on the guidance to be provided by the Department of
Administrative Services, and: implement a record management program or process
that fits the needs of each agency (e.g. HPRM or another system); create goals for
turnaround time that fit agencies’ processes based on past experiences with responding
to requests; create and keep a tracking mechanism, such as a log, to measure adherence
to turnaround time goals and to track documentation related to each request; and
identify frequently requested information and consider proactively making the
information available (e.g., posting more information on agency website or the Oregon
Transparency Website).

DAS' Response:

Management generally agrees with the recommendations. While these recommendations
are directed to state agencies in general, not DAS in specific, the Department will work closely
with agencies to make sure the recommendations are communicated to agencies along with DAS’
policy guidance.

DAS will work collaboratively with the Office of the State Chief Information Officer, the

Governor’s Office and the State Archivist to evaluate the feasibility of implementing a
technology solution to streamline and automate appropriate records management statewide. As
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an agency, DAS is testing HPRM in the office of the COO with the intent of expanding its use,
agency-wide, once testing is complete. DAS will create processes to evaluate effectiveness and
monitor performance and will share that information with other state agencies. Any statewide
solution will require careful planning and implementation.

Closing:

DAS management appreciates your audit team’s efforts and for the recommendations made
in the audit report. We look forward to working with the Secretary of State’s Audits Division along
with our statewide partners to improve responses to public records requests across the enterprise.
If you have any general questions about this response, please contact Zachary Gehringer, Chief
Audit Executive, at 503-378-3076.

Sincerely,

ik

Clyde Saiki
DAS Director and Chief Operating Officer

Cc:  Barry Pack, DAS Deputy Chief Operating Officer
George Naughton, DAS Chief Financial Officer
Madilyn Zike, DAS Chief Human Resources Officer
Zachary Gehringer, DAS Chief Audit Executive
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About the Secretary of State Audits Division

The Oregon Constitution provides that the Secretary of State shall be, by
virtue of her office, Auditor of Public Accounts. The Audits Division exists to
carry out this duty. The division reports to the elected Secretary of State
and is independent of other agencies within the Executive, Legislative, and
Judicial branches of Oregon government. The division audits all state
officers, agencies, boards, and commissions and oversees audits and
financial reporting for local governments.

Audit Team

William K. Garber, CGFM, MPA, Deputy Director
Sheronne Blasi, MPA, Audit Manager

Olivia M. Recheked, MPA, Senior Auditor
Caroline Zavitkovski, MPA, Senior Auditor

Laura Fosmire, MS, Staff Auditor

This report, a public record, is intended to promote the best possible
management of public resources. Copies may be obtained from:

website: sos.oregon.gov/audits
phone: 503-986-2255
mail: Oregon Audits Division

255 Capitol Street NE, Suite 500
Salem, Oregon 97310

The courtesies and cooperation extended by officials and employees of the
Department of Human Services, Oregon Employment Department,
Department of Environmental Quality, Oregon Liquor Control Commission,
Public Employees Retirement System, Oregon Department of Education,
Oregon Real Estate Agency, Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision
and Oregon State Board of Nursing during the course of this audit were
commendable and sincerely appreciated.
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Appn Year 2017
BOARD OF DENTISTRY
Fund 3400 BOARD OF DENTISTRY
For the Month of DECEMBER 2015

Prior Month Curfént Month Bien fo Date Financial Pian Unoblig

0205 OTHER BUSINESS LICENSES 623,277.00 16,130.00 639,407.00 3,141,258.00 2,501,852.00
0605 INTEREST AND INVESTMENTS 1,648.90 353,31 2,002.214 8,000.00 5,997.79
0975 OTHER REVENUE 8,024.81 857.50 8,882.31 55,001.00 46,118.69
0210 OTHER NONBUSINESS LICENSES AND FEES 2:250.00 v.0c 2,250.00 16,000.00 13,750.00
0505 FINES AND FORFEITS 34,670.00 2,830,00 37,500.00 756,000.00 37,500.00
0410 CHARGES FCR SERVICES ' 6,149.50 0.00 6,149.50 17,200.00 11,050.50

676,020.21 20,170.81 696,191.02  3,312,460.00 2,616,268.98

Prior Month Bien to Date

Current Month Financial Plan Unoblig
2443 TRANSFER OUT TO OREGON HEALTH AUTHORITY 0.00 0.00 0.00 216,000.00 216,000.00
0.00 0.00 0.00 216,000.00 216,000.00

iﬁDrJo}iM'dnfh Current Month Bieﬁ fo Date

Financial Plan Unablig

3270 " FLEXIBLE BENEFITS 39,911,17 8,830.24 48,741.414 244,224.00 195,482.59
3250 WORKERS' COMPENSATION ASSESSMENT 87.02 18.67 105.89 552.00 44611
3230 ’ SOCIAL SECURITY TAX 13,001.82 2,935.23 15,937.05 87,416.00 71,478.95
3221 PENSION BOND CONTRIBUTION 9,210.72 1,708,236 10,919.08 58,360.00 47,440.92
3220 PUBLIC EMPLOYES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM 24,946.61 5,052.23 23,998.84 168,815.00 138,816.16
3180 SHIFT DIFFERENTIAL | 16.38 0.00 18.38 0.00 -18.38
3170 OVERTIME PAYMENTS 976.99 0.00 976.99 3,771.00 2,794.0¢
3160 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENTS 1,652.65 8967.40 2,620.05 3,920.00 1,209.95
3110 CLASS/UNCLASS SALARY & PER DIEM 168,491.20 37,198.87 205,620.07 1,099,464.00 893,773.93
3260 MASS TRANSIT 978.71 205.47 1,182.18 6,6681.00 5,694.82
3210 ERB ASSESSMENT 46.08 9.60 55.68 352.00 298.32
3190 ALL OTHER DIFFERENTIAL . Q.00 0.00 0.00 35,483.00 35,483.00
: 259,319.35 56,926.27 316,24562  1,709,238.00  1,392,992,38

Prior Manth Currenf Month

Bien_to Date Finangial Plan Unoblig
4100 INSTATE TRAVEL 5,089.40 1,733.13 6,822.53 49,208.00 42,385.47
4300 PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 53,206.31 7.146.00 60,352.31 125,917.20 65,564.89
4150 EMPLOYEE TRAINING 5,632.56 1,935.49 7,568.05 68,577.04 61,008.99
4125 OUT-OF-STATE TRAVEL 0.00 000 0.00 oo0 Altachmepy#3
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4575
4425
4650
4200
4275
4250
4715
4400
4175
4225
4325
4375
4700
4475
4315

AGENCY PROGRAM RELATED SVCS & SUPP
FACILITIES RENT & TAXES

OTHER SERVICES AND SUPPLIES
TELECOMM/TECH SVC AND SUPPLIES
PUBLICITY & PUBLICATIONS

-DATA PROCESSING

IT EXPENDABLE PROPERTY

DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS

OFFICE EXPENSES

STATE GCVERNMENT SERVICE CHARGES
ATTORNEY GENERAL LEGAL FEES

EMPLOYEE RECRUITMENT AND DEVELOPMENT
EXPENDABLE PROPERTY $250-$5000
FACILITIES MAINTENANCE

[T PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

Prior Month
32,051.84

32,142.92
14,660.38
3,608.37
1,735,56
1,506.67
601.00
3,747.95
23,356.47
18,625.08
26,384.00
0.00

0,00

0.00
0.00

222,348.51

Current Month
0.00

6,466,25
1,468.26
166.96
84,57
307.00
0.00
615.00
833.54
30.35
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00

20,776.55

Bign to Date
32,051.84

38,609.17
16,128.64
3,765.33
1,820.13
1,813.67
601.00
4,362.95
24,190.01
18,665.43
26,384.00
0.00

0.00

0.00

0.00

243,125.06

Bien to Date

Financial Plan
165,516.01

154,455.00
71,185.81
23,155.99
13,500.00

5,412.00
5,421.00
1,043.96
84,561.00
39,124.99

" 224,149.00
655.00
5,421.00
542.00
52,460.00

1,091,605.00

Unoblig
133,464.17

145,845.83
55,057.17
19,390.66
"11,679.87
"4,598.33
' 4,820.00
3,318.99
60,370.99
20,469.56

197,765.00

655.00
5,421.00
542.00
52,480.00

848,479.94

Prior Month Current Month Financial Plan Unobiig
6443 DIST TO OREGON HEALTH AUTHORITY 0.00 0.00 000 18512800 185,126.00
0.00 0.00 0.00 185,128.00 185,128.00
| ] 3400 ‘
Monthly ActivitylBiennium Activity [Financial Plan
REVENUES REVENUE 20,170.81 696,191.02| 3,312,460.00
Total 20,170.81 696,191.02| 3,312,460.00
EXPENDITURES  PERSOMAL SERVICES 56,926.27 316,245.62|  1,709,238.00
SERVICESAND SUPPLIES 20,776.55 243,125.06|  1,091,605.00
SPECIAL PAYMENTS 0 0 185,128.00
Total 77,702.82 559,370.68| 2,985,971.00
TRANSFER OUT  TRANSFER OUT 0 0 216,000.00
Total 0 0 216,000.00
Agy834_Budget Dental Nov 15.bqy  01/25/ .. Page 2 of 2 Attachment,#3
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OBD

Showing Data for: OBD Time Period: Change View

Number of Responses: 58

Percent Rating Service Good or Excellent
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Availability

Overall Timeliness Accuracy Helpfulness Expertise of Info

Rating Totals By Question

Question Eggvs Poor Fair Good Excellent

Q1 6 6 3 16 27
Q2 6 6 5 14 27
Q3 10 4 8 9 27
Q4 10 4 4 13 27
Q5 7 8 7 10 26
Q6 6 5 7 15 25

Question #1: TIMELINESS: How would you rate the timeliness of services provided by the Oregon
Board of Dentistry?

Question #2: ACCURACY: How do you rate the ability of the Oregon Board of Dentistry to
provide services correctly the first time?

Question #3: HELPFULNESS: How do you rate the helpfulness of the Oregon Board of Dentistry
employees?

Question #4: EXPERTISE: How do you rate the knowledge and expertise of the Oregon Board of
Dentistry employees?

Question #5: AVAILABILITY OF INFORMATION: How do you rate the availability of information at
the Oregon Board of Dentistry?

Question #6: OVERALL SERVICE: How do you rate the overall quality of service provided by the Oregon Board of Dentistry?
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Comments Received

Posted

Comment

1/11/2016 9:05:02 PM

After 3 attempts to discuss the questions that | have to transfer my dental hygiene license, |
have had no success in contacting the professional that has the knowledge to help me.

1/10/2016 4:22:23 PM

| seem to get into the 15% random audit a lot

1/10/2016 4:22:17 PM

| seem to get into the 15% random audit a lot

12/22/2015 7:52:45 PM

I cannot open the newsletter. Also, | feel it was important see which professionals had violated
the rules. | cannot possibly look up every individual, so it is not helpful or informative any
more.

12/22/2015 6:18:02 PM

The mission statement of this agency has been to protect the public. Making it a challenge to
find the names of licensees that have been disciplined protects the licensee, not the public.

12/22/2015 1:55:25 PM

Other than license renewals, | have never had any dealings with the Board.

12/22/2015 1:14:42 PM

If the audits are random and only 15% than why am | being audited for 2 consecutive
renewals? Maybe they are alphabetically. You should change this to be more fair.

11/11/2015 9:03:10 PM

| appreciate all your help making this move easier
Thank you

Wendy

10/21/2015 7:09:40 AM

She just had to look |
me up to see where my license renewal was due.

10/21/2015 7:09:34 AM

She just had to look |
me up to see where my license renewal was due.

10/9/2015 11:53:53 AM

It took 3 phone calls to get the retirement form | needed. Ms Haynes quickly sent me an email
form, the previous office help apparently couldn't get the request taken care of at all

9/10/2015 7:03:31 PM

Teresa was very prompt about sending my receipt for my license. Thank you,
Barb

9/9/2015 7:47:23 PM

The board is not staffed sufficiently for investigators. Some cases take a year to resolve just
due to sheer case load. The data provided is not a clear data visual representation. It would be
great i

9/9/2015 4:00:35 PM

I would appreciate knowing what the mandatory five dollar workforce survey fee covers. A
survey, in my experience, should be a voluntary experience to receive the best results.

9/9/2015 3:59:04 PM

why is a notary involved? that step will inhibit many providers from signing up. | don't have to
have a notary for basically anything else these days.

9/9/2015 2:35:55 PM

I would like to see a response given when a provider gets their CE courses audited. A Pass for
all courses accepted or a Fail if they aren't-some type of follow up for all the info we send in.

9/9/2015 12:12:54 PM

I have tried to use the Prescription Drug Monitoring website a few times and find it Very
Difficult to Access patient information. Can you make more User Friendly?

9/1/2015 8:16:34 AM

I have called several times for licensing information. Each call, | received a warm, friendly
correct answer instantly. Refreshing that this caliber of service does exist somewhere in the
world.

8/7/2015 8:21:03 AM

You efficiently let us know of the meeting for rule changes, but what ARE the rule changes you
are considering? Please email us of the summary of the issues with links of information on each
issue.

8/5/2015 9:07:36 PM

Keep up the good work!

8/5/2015 5:22:46 PM

I am retired and won't be renewing my license.

8/4/2015 5:28:59 PM

End Tidal CO2 monitoring is unnecessary for enteral moderate sedation due to the fact that
patients do not enter into significant respiratory depression.

8/4/2015 11:57:17 AM

it is ridiculous you are charging hygienist a manditory 5.00 to take a survey. When | told the
dentist | work for that, he laughed. That is extorsion!!

8/4/2015 9:46:22 AM

Keep up the great work!

8/4/2015 7:22:27 AM

It would be nice if the Board of Dentistry would actually hire an Exceutive Director that had a
clue about dentistry!

8/4/2015 7:14:06 AM

Happy with obd services.

7/24/2015 2:57:17 PM

Teresa gave excellent service and helped me immediately. She went over an above the
expectation of service. She is knowledgeable, efficient and helpful. She helped me navigate the
Web site.

Attachment #4
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818-026-0070

General Anesthesia Permit

General anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.
(1) The Board shall issue a General Anesthesia Permit to an applicant who:

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;

(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, maintains a current
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)
certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated, and

(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria:

(A) Completion of an advanced training program in anesthesia and related subjects beyond the
undergraduate dental curriculum that satisfies the requirements described in the ADA Guidelines for
Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students (2007) consisting of a minimum of 2
years of a postgraduate anesthesia residency at the time training was commenced.

(B) Completion of any ADA accredited postdoctoral training program, including but not limited to Oral and
Maxillofacial Surgery, which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and
manage general anesthesia, commensurate with these Guidelines.

(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in general
anesthesia.

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use during
the procedure and during recovery:

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating table or in
an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least three individuals to freely move about the
patient;

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can
maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm
platform for the administration of basic life support;

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup
lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the event of a
general power failure;

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction
device which will function in the event of a general power failure;

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of
delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup
system;

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous
oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;



(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The
recovery area can be the operating room;

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter,
electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal
airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment; and

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs
used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, intravenous medications for treatment of cardiac
arrest, narcotic antagonist, antihistaminic, antiarrhythmics, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under general anesthesia, deep sedation,
moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.

(4) During the administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia, and at all times while the patient is
under deep sedation or general anesthesia, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a
current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory in
addition to the dentist performing the dental procedures.

(5) Before inducing deep sedation or general anesthesia the dentist who induces deep sedation or
general anesthesia shall:

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists Patient Physical
Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for general anesthesia or deep
sedation;

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to age
or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia.

(6) A patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall be visually monitored at all times, including
recovery phase. A dentist who induces deep sedation or general anesthesia or anesthesia monitor
trained in monitoring patients under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall monitor and record the
patient's condition on a contemporaneous record.

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows:

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring of their heart rate, heart rhythm, oxygen saturation levels
and respiration using pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal CO2 monitors.
The patient's blood pressure, heart rate and oxygen saturation shall be assessed every five minutes, and
shall be contemporaneously documented in the patient record. The record must also include
documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all medications administered with dosages,
time intervals and route of administration. The person administering the anesthesia and the person
monitoring the patient may not leave the patient while the patient is under deep sedation or general
anesthesia;

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for
transportation to recovery have been met.

(c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored, including the use of pulse oximetry, by an
individual trained to monitor patients recovering from general anesthesia.



(8) A dentist shall not release a patient who has undergone deep sedation or general anesthesia except
to the care of a responsible third party. When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist shall document
justification for its use and how the recovery plan was altered.

(9) The dentist shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines
and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and preoperative
psychological status;

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;

(d) The patient can sit up unaided;

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

(f) The patient does not have nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

(10) A discharge entry shall be made in the patient's record by the dentist indicating the patient's condition
upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was discharged.

(11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist, may introduce additional anesthetic
agents to an infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist.

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a General Anesthesia Permit, the permit holder must provide
documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current Advanced
Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)
certificate; and must complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas
every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of
monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain
current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education
hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-
0060.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative
correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; Administrative
correction 6-21-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05;
OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD
4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-
1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16



818-042-0115
Expanded Functions — Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant

(1) A dentist holding the appropriate anesthesia permit may verbally authorize a Certified Anesthesia
Dental Assistant to:

(a) Administer medications into an existing intravenous (IV) line of a patient under sedation or anesthesia
under direct visual supervision.

(b) Administer emergency medications to a patient in order to assist the licensee in an emergent situation
under direct visual supervision.

(2) A dentist holding the appropriate anesthesia permit may verbally authorize a Certified Anesthesia
Dental Assistant to dispense to a patient, oral medications that have been prepared by the dentist and
given to the anesthesia dental assistant by the supervising dentist for oral administration to a patient
under Indirect Supervision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020(1), 679.025(1) & 679.250(7)
Hist.: OBD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06
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AAFE 2120 South Green Road, Second Floor

South Euclid, OH 44121
AMERICAN ACADEMY
OF FACIAL ESTHETICS 800.952.0521 | WWW.FACIALESTHETICS.0RG

February 4, 2016
Dear Oregon Board of Dentistry,
I hope this letter finds you well.

By way of brief introduction, I am President of the American Academy of Facial
Esthetics (AAFE). The American Academy of Facial Esthetics is an educational
organization, which focuses on teaching non-surgical minimally invasive dental
procedures for both dental esthetic and dental therapeutic purposes in the oral and
maxillofacial region. The AAFE presents over 150 live patient courses a year in North
America on the use of facial injectables such as Botox and dermal fillers within the scope
of dental practice as well as hands-on courses on dental implants, bruxism therapy, dental
sleep medicine, TMJ/orofacial pain therapy, porcelain veneers, and other dental
procedures.

The AAFE has presented its live patient hands-on Botox and dermal filler training
at a number of large dental meetings around the United States including the ADA Annual
Meeting, the AGD Annual Session and many others. Additionally, please see the
attached document where you can see a list of over 50 dental universities and dental
society continuing education programs that have included Botox and dermal fillers
lectures and training in the last three years.

The use of Botox and dermal fillers by general dentists is now a normative dental
procedure, which is integrated into many dental treatment plans for both dental esthetic
and dental therapeutic uses. The Oregon Board of Dentistry is to be congratulated on
making Botox therapy available to dental patients.

I would like to ask the Board to consider addressing the use of dermal filler
therapy by Oregon dentists. Most dermal fillers are placed in the oral and peri-oral areas
which completely fit into the scope of dental practice of the Oregon Dental Practice Act.

The uses of dermal fillers in dentistry include and are not limited to:

Establishing proper lip and smile lines for phonetics and esthetic dentistry

Treatment of angular chelitis

Gummy smile treatment

Treatment of deficient interdental papilla (black triangles)

Volumizing lip volume for esthetic dentistry (non-surgical temporary lip enhancement,
not lip augmentation which is a surgical permanent procedure)

Adding lip and perioral volume for retention of removable prosthodontics



Page 2
Oregon Board of Dentistry

After working with so many state dental boards for a number of years, we all
know that the primary purpose of the state dental board is to protect the public. It has
been proven over the last 8 years that with proper training, general dentists can very
safely provide these services to their patients and have been doing so in the majority of
states. The attached article will demonstrate the range of dental uses for Botox and
dermal fillers.

Certainly, it is the Board’s prerogative to either consider a policy statement
regarding dermal filler therapy or do what most state dental boards have done in allowing
the use of dermal fillers in the oral and maxillofacial areas as these procedures are
already covered in the Dental Practice Act as long as the dentist has had appropriate
training in their use. The training standard in dentistry for dermal filler treatment is a 10
hour live patient training participation course.

Thank you for the consideration of this matter at the upcoming Board meeting.

Please let us know how else we may help the Oregon Board of Dentistry.

Sincerely Yours,
Louis Malcmacher DDS MAGD

President
American Academy of Facial Esthetics

LIM/kp
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Total Dental Aesthetics

INTRODUCTION

For years, those who teach aesthetic den-
tistry have given lip service (no pun intend-
ed) to the oral and maxillofacial areas sur-
rounding the teeth and the importance of
the extraoral soft tissue to aesthetic den-
tistry. I would like to challenge this thought
process and say that we as dental clinicians
and educators have been wrong for the last
30 years. The facial soft tissue is part and
parcel of aesthetic dentistry and is as impor-
tant or, dare I say, more important than the
teeth in delivering a great-looking smile.
Perhaps the patient has beautiful teeth with
the new crowns you placed and has maxil-
lary gingival excess (gummy smile); is that
all there is to aesthetic dentistry? Maybe
you have just placed and restored 6 anterior
implants, and then the patient leaves your
care with deficient lip volume and radial
lip-lines. Is that aesthetic dentistry? What is
the purpose of placing 20 veneers if patients
cannot show their teeth because they can’t
raise their upper lip? In the past few years,
with thousands of dentists being trained in
the use of nonsurgical, minimally invasive
facial injectables, such as Botox and dermal
fillers, dental aesthetic and dental therapeu-
tic (temporomandibular disorders, bruxism,
myofascial pain), treatment has changed
dentistry forever.

This article will present a case that
clearly demonstrates how the right choices
of dental technology, materials, and facial
injectables in the oral and maxillofacial
areas directly contribute to aesthetic den-
tistry in terms of function, smile-lines, lip-
lines, and phonetics. You will see that the
totality of intraoral and extraoral maxillo-
facial treatment is all truly aesthetic den-
tistry and with the right training, can be
performed by every general dentist.

CASE REPORT
A few years ago, this patient had 2 all-
ceramic crowns placed on her upper central
incisors. In addition, she also had veneers
placed on the upper and lower teeth (Figure
1). One day, she noticed that her upper left
central incisor crown (tooth No. 9) seemed
loose, and she came into the office with the
chief complaint that her tooth was “wig-
gly.” I touched the tooth and it was indeed
wiggly! A radiograph was taken and it was
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Figure 1. Patient presents with a loose crown on
upper left central incisor.

Figure 2. Horizontal
fracture apparent on
radiograph.

Figure 3. Implant
placed using conven-
tional techniques.

Figure 4. Deficient interdental papilla (black trian-
gles) as a result of implant surgery.

Figure 5. Dermal fillers used to restore interdental
volume and eliminate black triangles.

immediately clear that she had a horizontal
fracture (Figure 2). This tooth was obvious-
ly nonrestorable, so it was extracted and a
bone level implant was placed (Figure 3).
The implant was restored with a Procera

...treatment is all truly aesthetic
dentistry and with the right
training, can be performed by
every general dentist.

(Nobel Biocare) crown, and the patient
enjoyed newfound stability of this tooth.
What she did not enjoy was the creation of
deficient interdental papilla known as
“black triangles” (Figure 4). This is one of
the most frustrating aesthetic challenges
that can happen with any kind of implant
or crown and bridge procedure. An innova-
tive procedure, pioneered by this author
and the American Academy of Facial
Esthetics (facialesthetics.org), is using der-
mal fillers (Juvederm Ultra XC) to replace
volume to the interdental papilla to elimi-
nate black triangles (Figure 5).

One Thing Leads to Another

After this initial treatment, the patient
became interested in retreatment of her
crowns and veneers. The issues that she
complained about can be seen in Figure 6.
The new crown on the upper left central
incisor was a slightly darker shade than the
other teeth and, when she smiled fully, she
did not show as many teeth as she would
have liked. She also wanted whiter teeth.
The lower veneers were also chipping slow-
ly throughout the last few years (Figure 7)
and she had experienced annoying veneer
debonds that would have to be recemented
from time to time. She stated, “My lower
teeth look short and stubby.” This patient
also presented with a very deep overbite
(Figure 8).

I, along with anyone who has had prop-
er training in both oral and facial aesthetics,
can give you a new perspective as to what to
look for now in this kind of case, and how
the facial conditions observed here are part
of her dental aesthetic diagnosis and treat-
ment. Here is what I mean in this case, as
clearly demonstrated in Figure 6. Look at
this patient when she goes into her widest
smile. The buccal corridors in the bicuspid
region are hidden, preventing her from

continued on page 136
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continued from page 134

showing a full and aesthetic smile.
Because dental professionals are typi-
cally only focused on the dentition,
most dentists assume that the only
way to correct this is to restore the
bicuspids with crowns or veneers to
correct the buccal corridor deficiency.
On this patient, and those like her,
there are no dental solutions that
would solve this aesthetic challenge
because of the loss of midface volume.
Adding volume to her midface would
also correct the aesthetic relationship
of her upper lip and teeth. In a full
smile, the bottom of her upper lip
should straddle the gingival margins of
the upper central incisors. This was to
be part of our treatment plan as we
both restored her teeth and corrected
the volume deficiency.

Turning Back the Hands of Time
Itis going to happen to all of us. People
typically lose dermal collagen and
facial fat from approximately age 40
years and on, with accelerating
changes starting at about age 50 years.
This causes the oral and maxillofacial
areas to sag and drop. This patient is a
good example of this, and she demon-
strates this facial aging pattern clini-
cally by showing less of her upper
teeth and more of her lower teeth. Be-
cause of this natural aging progress,
she does not have the high cheek-
bones that she used to have, and she
also has deeper nasolabial folds; and
all of this contributes to the fact that

Figure 6. Smile is limited because of facial
aging.

Figure 9. Patient shows a much wider smile
after cheek and lower face volume
restoration with dermal fillers.
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People typically lose dermal collagen and facial fat from approximately age 40 years and
on....This causes the oral and maxillofacial areas to sag and drop.

her upper lip does not have the sup-
port it used to have and hides some of
her teeth, especially in the posterior
regions of her mouth. This challenge
in aesthetic dentistry cannot be solved
with restorative dentistry alone. Botox
and dermal fillers are necessary, in
addition to veneers, to solve the com-
bination of dental and facial aesthetic
challenges seen in this case.

Figure 9 shows the result using
Botox and dermal fillers to correct
muscular activity as well as the midfa-
cial volume loss. Her zygomatic areas
are now well supported and the vol-
ume restored. Now, she demonstrates
the proper aesthetic smile and lip-
lines when she is in function as
described above. Her nasolabial folds
demonstrate much less prominence,
and now her upper lip has the support
needed to show a wider smile. It is
important in treatment planning a
patient like this to have a well
thought out plan of coordinating the
soft-tissue treatment with the restora-
tive dentistry.

In this case, a total 2.4 mL of a cal-
cium hydroxylapatite dermal filler
(Radiesse) was placed in the left and
right zygomatic area, which supports
the nasolabial folds and the upper lip.
The nasolabial folds were treated with
a total of 1.9 mL of a hyaluronic acid
dermal filler (Juvederm Ultra XC) to

Figure 7. Close-up view shows significant
chipping of existing veneers made from a low
strength ceramic.

Figure 10. The central incisors have uneven
gingival margins.

restore them to more fullness and fur-
ther support the upper lip. This case
shows that treatment of this midface
area is as much a part of aesthetic and
therapeutic dentistry as is treating the
dentition.

Changing the Face Changes
the Smile
Veneer retreatment can now be
accomplished to complete the aes-
thetic dentistry. This patient can now
show more teeth and is ready for the
new veneers. Now we can properly
address the challenges discussed pre-
viously. One other issue that the
patient became concerned about is
this: the upper left central incisor had
a higher gingival margin than the
upper right central incisor because
that was the area where an implant
was placed (Figure 10). This challenge
would now be integrated into our
treatment plan. The treatment plan
consisted of 1o new veneers on the
upper teeth and 10 new veneers on the
lower teeth. The upper central inci-
sors, though, did produce a challenge.
Cutting off a Procera crown on a tooth
with an implant is no dentist’s idea of
fun in the office. As a matter of fact,
significant damage can be done to the
implant abutment, and it is not a wise
choice if other options are available. In
this case, we chose the option of bond-

Figure 8. Patient demonstrates a deep
overbite.

Figure 11. Prep guide used for minimal and
full veneer preparations.

ing a porcelain veneer onto the exist-
ing upper central incisor crowns in-
stead of trying to remove them. The
system we chose to use was Cristal
Veneers (Aurum Ceramics). Cristal
Veneers are the next generation of a
no-to-minimal preparation veneer sys-
tem with veneers that can be made as
thin as 0.3 mm and exhibit very high
strength and excellent aesthetics.
Cristal Veneers can also be made as
thick as any other veneer.

All of the previous veneers were
removed on the upper and lower
teeth, and minimally invasive prepa-
rations were done on all of the teeth
based on their treatment history. This
case would have multiple thicknesses
on every one of the veneers. Figure 11
shows the prep guide (Aurum Cera-
mics) and demonstrates the very min-
imal preparation on the 2 upper cen-
tral incisor crowns so that the Cristal
Veneers on these teeth will be approx-
imately 0.3 mm in thickness while
the veneers on the lateral incisors will
be anywhere between 2.5 mm to 3
mm in thickness. All of the other ve-
neers were of various thicknesses, as
well as you can imagine by also look-
ing at the lower no/minimal veneer
preparations of the lower teeth in
Figure 12.

At the veneer preparation ap-
pointment, the upper central incisor
gingival levels were addressed. A
hard- and soft-tissue laser (WaterLase
iPlus [BIOLASE]) was used on the up-
per right central incisor to perform
not only a gingivectomy, but also a
closed sulcus crown lengthening pro-
cedure to match the gingival height of
the upper left central incisor. The
closed sulcus crown lengthening pro-
cedure is easy to accomplish with the
proper technology and training. It can
be done very precisely and conserva-
tively with the WaterLase iPlus.
Because of the predictable nature of
this procedure, we were able to take
the final impression on the very same
day. You can see the teeth after prepa-
ration as well as after crown lengthen-
ing surgery in Figure 13. Because of
the surgical aspect, precise temporiza-
tion is especially crucial to make sure
the gingiva can heal properly at the
established gingival level. A new tem-
porary material Dentocrown (Itena
USA) was used because of its stability,



excellent gingival adaptation, and its
self-polishing abilities which pro-
mote gingival health, was used as the
temporary material of choice (Figure
14). The temporary performed very
well during the time needed for heal-
ing and veneer fabrication.

NOW THE BIG CHALLENGE

Now that the veneers were fabricated
and returned from the laboratory, the
real challenges began. Local anesthe-
sia was delivered and the temporaries
were removed. The laser bony crown
lengthening procedure was successful

Figure 12. Lower minimal veneer
preparations.

Figure 14. Temporization of case with a
unique temporary material (Dentocrown
[Itena USA]).

Figure 16. Knowledge of how to etch various
dental substrates is imperative.

Figure 18. Final Cristal veneers (Aurum
Ceramics). Note the even gingival margins on
central incisors.

AESTHETICS

and the excellent gingival health
(Figure 15) was a result of the laser
precision and the unique temporary
material used in this case.

Seating this case had a number of
challenges. The first challenge was
being able to effectively etch and
bond to a variety of dental surfaces
including enamel, dentin, cementum,
and porcelain. Figure 16 shows the
use of phosphoric acid etch on all
enamel, dentin, and cementum sur-
faces; and a 4% buffered hydrofluoric
acid etch Porcelain Etch (Ultradent
Products) on all porcelain surfaces.

Figure 13. Veneer preparations and precise
laser osseous closed sulcus crown
lengthening to even the gingival margins
(WaterLase iPlus [BIOLASE]).

Figure 15. Excellent gingival health can be
seen after temporary removal.

Figure 17. Proper acid etching achieved as
demonstrated by “frosty” appearance.

Figure 19. Total dental and facial aesthetics
completed with porcelain veneers, Botox, and
dermal fillers.
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...desthetic dentistry is not limited to only inside the oral

cavity as previously thought.

The effectiveness of the etchant mate-
rials used can be seen in Figure 17.
Silane was placed and thinned on the
porcelain surfaces and Iperbond Ultra
(Itena USA), a universal next genera-
tion bonding agent with excellent
bonding strengths to all dental sur-
faces and substrates including many
types of porcelains and zirconium,
was placed on all the etched surfaces.

Anyone who has ever placed
veneers with different thicknesses
knows the biggest challenge is trying
to match up the final shade. Seating
these veneers is very time consuming
in the office as the dentist is trying to
use different resin cement shades and
even different values of the resin
cement shade to achieve a color
match of all of the veneers. Personally,
I have always believed that this
should not be the dentist’s problem. It
should be the laboratory team’s re-
sponsibility if they have the aesthetic
expertise necessary and really under-
stand the ceramics that they are us-
ing. Cristal Veneers porcelain was
developed by Aurum Ceramics, giving
them the aesthetic expertise to under-
stand the optical qualities of the
porcelain as well as the different opac-
ities that will go into a challenging
veneer case such as this one. This case
came back to my office with all of the
different thicknesses of porcelain
veneers (and sometimes there are
even different thicknesses on the
same porcelain veneer), and because
of this laboratory’s expertise in pro-
ducing these veneers, I was able to
seat all of these veneers with one
shade of cement. It is a huge advan-
tage to have such a talented laborato-
ry team, and here is where your
choice of laboratories can make all of
the difference in the world in terms of
the ease of cementation, saving time,
and producing an aesthetic result that
you and the patient are proud of.

The chosen veneer shade was 020
for this case and the corresponding
cement was used. I used a light-curing
porcelain veneer cement (Nexus 3
[Kerr]) because of its ease of use, color
stability, and great texture for seating
any kind of veneer, whether thick or
thin. Figure 18 shows the veneers
cemented into place. The challenges
presented above have been addressed
completely. Look at the gingival mar-

gin of the upper right central incisor
as it now exactly matches the gingival
margin of the upper left central inci-
sor. Remember that the veneers on the
central incisors are approximately 0.3
mm and the rest of the veneers are
anywhere from 1.0 to 3.5 mm in thick-
ness and all of these veneers are the
exact same shade. There was absolute-
ly no need to try to use different
shades of cement to achieve a final
matching shade, but only one shade
of cement was used. Notice also that
the lower veneers now restore the
proper height to the teeth, and they
are no longer short and stubby, as the
patient complained about before.

Bonding veneers to existing porce-
lain crowns includes the use of a num-
ber of agents and a sequenced ap-
proach. (Please go to my Web site
commonsensedentistry.com for a full
step-by-step technique as how to bond
a porcelain veneer to an existing
porcelain crown.)

Figure 19 shows a very happy
patient who has been treated with
total facial aesthetics, and we have
addressed all of her concerns. The
final dental aesthetic and therapeutic
result is a combination of all of the
oral and maxillofacial treatment both
in and around the mouth. What is
interesting about this case and similar
treatment plans that include Botox,
dermal fillers, and dental materials, is
that the facial injectable treatment is
much easier to perform with proper
training.

CLOSING COMMENTS

This article clearly demonstrates that
aesthetic dentistry is not limited to
only inside the oral cavity as previ-
ously thought. Treatment of the oral
and maxillofacial areas with intrao-
ral treatment is true and total dental
aesthetics. 4

Dr. Malcmacher is a practicing general dentist
and an internationally known lecturer and au-
thor. He is president of the American Academy
of Facial Esthetics. His Web site, common-
sensedentistry.com, contains information
about his lecture schedule, live patient hands-
on Botox and dermal filler training courses,
Frontline TMJ/headaches/facial pain training
course, his resource list, and free monthly e-
newsletter. He can be reached at (800) 952-
0521 or at drlouis@facialesthetics.com.

Disclosure: Dr. Malcmacher is president of the
American Academy Facial Esthetics.

NOVEMBER 2013 « DENTISTRYTODAY.COM



AAFE

AMERICAN ACADEMY
OF FACIAL ESTHETICS

Dental education on Botox and dermal fillers for general dentists for

therapeutic and esthetic purposes in the oral and maxillofacial areas
2008 — 2015

This partial list includes continuing education dental lectures and/or hands-on training programs that have
been presented at the following dental universities (in residencies and continuing education courses for
general dentists) and at the following dental associations and societies:

UCLA School of Dentistry

USC School of Dentistry

UCSF School of Dentistry

UMDNI School of Dentistry

Loma Linda School of Dentistry

University of Washington School of Dentistry
University of Toronto School of Dentistry
University of Buffalo School of Dentistry

Iowa University Dental Society Meeting

Tufts University School of Dentistry

Boston University School of Dentistry

University of Michigan School of Dentistry
University of British Columbia School of Dentistry
Louisiana State University School of Dentistry
Nova Southeastern University School of Dentistry
University of Alabama School of Dentistry

Quebec Dental Association Annual Meeting
Arizona Dental Association Annual Meeting
Texas Dental Association Meeting

Florida Dental Association Annual Meeting
Valley Forge Dental Association Meeting
Greater Long Island Dental Meeting
Hinman Dental Meeting

New Orleans Dental Conference
Dentaltown Annual Meeting

New Jersey Academy of General Dentistry
Sacramento District Dental Society
Maryland State Dental Association Meeting
Michigan Dental Association Meeting
Northern Virginia Dental Association Meeting
Buffalo Niagara Dental Annual Meeting
Oregon Dental Association Annual Meeting

American Dental Association Annual Meeting
American Academy of Facial Esthetics
Academy of General Dentistry

American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry
California Dental Association Annual Meeting

Texas Academy of General Dentistry Annual Meeting
Ontario Academy of General Dentistry Annual Meeting
Alabama Academy of General Dentistry Annual Meeting
Pennsylvania Academy of General Dentistry

Illinois Academy of General Dentistry Annual Meeting

Greater New York Dental Annual Meeting
Chicago Dental Society Annual Meeting
Northeastern Regional Dental Association
Kentucky Dental Association Annual Meeting
North California Academy of General Dentistry
Indiana Dental Association

Wisconsin Dental Association Annual Meeting
American Association of Dental Boards

Beverly Hills Dental Study Club

Ohio Dental Association Annual Meeting
Maine Dental Association Annual Meeting
Detroit District Dental Society

Utah Academy of General Dentistry
Florida National Dental Congress

Hawaii Dental Association Annual Meeting
Yankee Dental Congress

The American Academy of Facial Esthetics trains dentists in the use of Botox and dermal fillers in the
oral and maxillofacial areas for dental esthetic and dental therapeutic uses. In the last 7 years, the
American Academy of Facial Esthetics has educated over 10,000 healthcare professionals including over
8000 dental professionals including general dental and dental specialty offices from all 50 states and 42
countries through over 150 live patient training courses a year which has been become the model and
standard for accepted dental education in these procedures.



GENERAL PROVISIONS

679.010 Definitions. As wused in this
chapter and ORS 680.010 to 680.205, unless
the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Dental assistant” means a person
who, under the supervision of a dentist, ren-
ders assistance to a dentist, dental hygienist,
dental technician or another dental assistant
or renders assistance under the supervision
of a dental hygienist providing dental hy-
giene.

(2) “Dental hygiene” means that portion
of dentistry that includes the rendering of
educational, preventive and therapeutic
dental services and diagnosis and treatment
planning for such services. “Dental hygiene”
includes, but is not limited to, scaling, root
planing, curettage, the application of
sealants and fluoride and any related intra-
oral or extraoral procedure required in the
performance of such services.

(3) “Dental hygienist” means a person
who, under the supervision of a dentist,
practices dental hygiene.

(4) “Dental technician” means that per-
son who, at the authorization of a dentist,
makes, provides, repairs or alters oral pros-
thetic appliances and other artificial materi-
als and devices which are returned to a
dentist and inserted into the human oral
cavity or which come in contact with its ad-
jacent structures and tissues.

(5) “Dentist” means a person who may
perform any intraoral or extraoral procedure
required in the practice of dentistry.

(6) “Dentist of record” means a dentist
that either authorizes treatment for, super-
vises treatment of or provides treatment for
a patient in a dental office or clinic owned
or operated by an institution as described in
ORS 679.020 (3).

(7) “Dentistry” means the healing art
which is concerned with the examination,
diagnosis, treatment planning, treatment,

care and prevention of conditions within the
human oral cavity and maxillofacial region
and conditions of adjacent or related tissues
and structures. The practice of dentistry in-
cludes but is not limited to the cutting, al-
tering, repairing, removing, replacing or
repositioning of hard or soft tissues and
other acts or procedures as determined by
the Oregon Board of Dentistry and included
in the curricula of dental schools accredited
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association, post-
graduate training programs or continuing
education courses.

(8) “Direct supervision” means super-
vision requiring that a dentist diagnose the
condition to be treated, that a dentist au-
thorize the procedure to be performed, and

that a dentist remain in the dental treatment
room while the procedures are performed.

(9) “Expanded practice dental hygienist”
means a dental hygienist who performs
dental hygiene services in accordance with

ORS 680.205 as authorized by an expanded
practice dental hygienist permit issued by
the board under ORS 680.200.

(10) “General supervision” means super-
vision requiring that a dentist authorize the
procedures by standing orders, practice
agreements or collaboration agreements, but
not requiring that a dentist be present when
the authorized procedures are performed.
The authorized procedures may also be per-
formedat a place other than the usual place
of practice of the dentist.

(11) “Indirect supervision” means super-
vision requiring that a dentist authorize the
procedures and that a dentist be on the

premises while the procedures are performed.
[Amended by 1983 c169 §1; 1997 c251 §4; 1999 c.188 8I;
2003 .83 §1; 2005 c52 §2; 2007 ¢.379 §1; 2011 c.716 §3; 2013
310 81]



DIVISION 12
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE

818-012-0005
Scope of Practice

(1) No dentist may perform any of the procedures
listed below:

(a) Rhinoplasty;

(b) Blepharoplasty;

(c) Rhydidectomy;

(d) Submental liposuction;

(e) Laser resurfacing;

(f) Browlift, either open or endoscopic technique;

(9) Platysmal muscle plication;

(h) Otoplasty;

(i) Dermabrasion;

(j) Lip augmentation;

(k) Hair transplantation, not as an isolated procedure
for male pattern baldness; and

(I) Harvesting bone extra orally for dental
procedures, including oral and maxillofacial
procedures.

(2) Unless the dentist:

(a) Has successfully completed a residency in Oral
and Maxillofacial Surgery accredited by the
American Dental Association, Commission on Dental
Accreditation (CODA), and

(b) Has successfully completed a clinical fellowship,
of at least one continuous year in duration, in esthetic
(cosmetic) surgery recognized by the American
Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons or by
the American Dental Association Commission on
Dental Accreditation, or

(c) Holds privileges either:

(A) Issued by a credentialing committee of a hospital
accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation
of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) to perform
these procedures in a hospital setting; or

(B) Issued by a credentialing committee for an
ambulatory surgical center licensed by the State of
Oregon and accredited by either the JCAHO or the
Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health
Care (AAAHC).

(3) A dentist may utilize Botulinum Toxin Type A to
treat a condition that is within the scope of the
practice of dentistry after completing a minimum of
16 hours in a hands on clinical course(s) in which the
provider is approved by the Academy of General
Dentistry Program Approval for Continuing
Education (AGD PACE) or by the American Dental
Association Continuing Education Recognition

Program (ADA CERP).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010(2), 679.140(1)(c),
679.140(2), 679.170(6) & 680.100

Hist.: OBD 6-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2013,

f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13,
cert. ef. 1-1-14; OBD 6-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-2014



HEALTH SYSTEMS DIVISION
| Office of the Chief Medical Officer ‘ a

Kate Brown, Governor

February 8, 2016 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 825

Portland, Oregon 97232
Voice: 971-673-0339

Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board Fax: 971-673-0231

Attention: Joe Finkbonner TTY:971-673-0372

Pam Johnson & Christina Peters

2121 SW Broadway Suite 300

Portland, Oregon 97201

RE: Dental Pilot Project Application #100, “Oregon Tribes Dental Health Aide Pilot Project,”
Approval with Addendum

Dear Mr. Finkbonner,

| am pleased to announce approval of the “Oregon Tribes Dental Health Aide Therapist Pilot
Project,” Dental Pilot Project Program Application #100 with Addendum received October 6,
2015.

This project will test, demonstrate and evaluate the role of Dental Health Aide Therapists
(DHAT) in the following areas:

e Develops new categories of dental health care personnel

e Teach new oral health care roles to previously untrained individuals

The Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board, as the project sponsor, is approved to
proceed with all of the concepts and pilot sites proposed in its application for DPP #100.

Your application to the Dental Pilot Project Program has been approved to operate from June
1, 2016 through May 31, 2021.

Project Approval Period: June 1, 2016 — May 31, 2021

Approved Project Sites:

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium Dental Health

Training/DidaCtiC Phase: Aide Training Program
Anchorage, Alaska: Year One
Bethel, Alaska: Year Two

e e Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua &

Utilization Phase: Siuslaw Indians: CTCLUSI Dental Clinic

e Coquille Indian Tribe: Coquille Indian Tribal Community
Health Center (CITCHC)




Any modifications to the approved project must be submitted in writing to the Oregon Health
Authority (OHA) Dental Pilot Project Program. Modifications require program approval prior to
implementation.

Oregon Administrative Rules, 333-010-0460

Modifications:

(1) Any modifications or additions to an approved project shall be submitted in writing to

program staff. Modifications include, but are not limited to the following:

(a) Changes in the scope or nature of the project. Changes in the scope or nature of the

project require program staff approval;

(b) Changes in selection criteria for trainees, supervisors, or employment/utilization sites;
and

(c) Changes in project staff or instructors.

(2) Changes in project staff or instructors do not require prior approval by program staff,
but shall be reported to the program staff within two weeks after the change occurs along
with the curriculum vitae for the new project staff and instructors.

(3) All other modifications require program staff approval prior to implementation.

The sponsor shall work with the OHA Dental Pilot Project Program to determine the scope and
timeline for data submission and reports during the initial six months of the pilot project.

e The Evaluation Plan is due to the program by July 1, 2016.
e Baseline data is due to the program by August 6, 2016.

Oregon Administrative Rules, 333-010-0435

Evaluation and Monitoring:

(1) Evaluation Plan. A sponsor of a dental pilot project must have an evaluation plan that
includes, but is not limited to the following:

(a) A description of the baseline data and information collected about the availability or
provision of oral health care delivery, or both, prior to utilization of the trainee;

(b) A description of baseline data and information to be collected about trainee
performance, acceptance among patient and community, and cost effectiveness;

(c) A description of methodology to be used in collecting and analyzing the data about
trainee performance, acceptance, and cost effectiveness; and

(d) A provision for reviewing and modifying objectives and methodology at least annually.

(2) Monitoring Plan. A sponsor of a dental pilot project must have a monitoring plan that
ensures at least quarterly monitoring and describes how the sponsor will monitor and
ensure:

(a) Patient safety;

(b) Trainee competency;

(c) Supervisor fulfillment of role and responsibilities; and

(d) Employment/utilization site compliance.

(3) Data. A sponsor’s evaluation and monitoring plans must describe:




(a) How data will be collected;
(b) How data will be monitored for completeness; and
(c) How data will be protected and secured.

(4) A sponsor must permit project staff or their designees to visit each
employment/utilization site at least monthly during the first six month period and at least
quarterly thereafter.

(5) A sponsor must provide a report of information requested by the program in a format
and timeframe requested.

(6) A sponsor must report adverse events to the program the day they occur.

The OHA Dental Pilot Project Program is responsible for monitoring approved pilot projects.
Program staff shall evaluate approved projects and the evaluation shall include, but is not
limited to, reviewing progress reports and conducting site visits. The Program is responsible for
ascertaining the progress of the project in meeting its stated objectives and in complying with
program statutes and regulations.

The OHA Dental Pilot Project Program will monitor DPP #100 through written reports and site
visit evaluations. In addition, we expect the Evaluation Committee to assist the Dental Pilot
Project Program with the monitoring and development of guidelines to strengthen protocols, if
possible, pursuant to their findings.

Oregon Administrative Rules, 333-010-0455

Program Responsibilities:

(1) Project evaluation. Program staff shall evaluate approved projects and the evaluation
shall include but is not limited to:

(a) Periodically requesting written information from the project, at least annually to
ascertain the progress of the project in meeting its stated objectives and in complying with
program statutes and regulations; and

(b) Periodic, but at least annual, site visits to project offices, locations, or both, where
trainees are being prepared or utilized.

(2) Site visits.

(a) Site visits shall include, but are not limited to:

(A) Determination that adequate patient safeguards are being utilized;

(B) Validation that the project is complying with the approved or amended application;
and

(C) Interviews with project participants and recipients of care.

(b) An interdisciplinary team composed of representatives of the dental boards,
professional organizations, and other state regulatory bodies may be invited to participate
in the site visit.

(c) Written notification of the date, purpose, and principal members of the site visit team
shall be sent to the project director at least 14 calendar days prior to the date of the site
visit.

(d) Plans to interview trainees, supervisors, and patients or to review patient records shall
be made in advance through the project director.




(e) An unannounced site visit may be conducted by program staff if program staff have
concerns about patient or trainee safety.

(f) A report of findings and an indication of pass or fail for site visits shall be prepared by
program staff and provided to the project director in written format within 60 calendar
days following a site visit.

The OHA Dental Pilot Project Program will work collaboratively with the Northwest Portland
Area Indian Health Board.

An Evaluation Committee will be developed to monitor and review the approved pilot project.
The Evaluation Committee is an interdisciplinary team composed of representatives of the
dental boards, professional organizations, other state regulatory bodies and interested parties
that have applied to participate in evaluating the approved project.

Ms. Sarah Kowalski will serve as the Project Coordinator and you may contact her with any
guestions at 971-673-1563 or sarah.e.kowalski@state.or.us.

Respectfully,

[ 1 QK

Bruce W. Austin, DMD
Oregon State Dental Director


mailto:sarah.e.kowalski@state.or.us

From: Paul Kleinstub

Sent: Monday, January 25, 2016 6:48 AM

To: Stephen Prisby

Subject: FW: Minimal Sedation Supervision in Dentistry

For Board consideration..

From: Beagle 3 [mailto:beagle3@outlook.com]

Sent: Sunday, January 24, 2016 6:55 PM

To: help@oregonconsumer.gov; attorneygeneral@doj.state.or.us; nbudnick@oregonian.com
Cc: Paul Kleinstub

Subject: Minimal Sedation Supervision in Dentistry

To Who It May Concern:

If you wish further information on the failure of the Oregon Dental Board to protect the dental health of
the citizens of Oregon, please feel free to contact me. The Dental Board has failed to act on their irregular
sedation regulations for more than 19 months!

Bobbie Marshall (beagle3@outlook.com)

From: Paul.Kleinstub@state.or.us

To: beagle3@outlook.com

CC: Teresa.Haynes@state.or.us; Stephen.Prisby@state.or.us
Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Date: Fri, 15 Jan 2016 15:46:16 +0000

Dear Ms. Marshall,

As you can see from the following minutes from the Board’s Anesthesia Committee meeting of August 27, 2014, your
concerns about minimal sedation were addressed, but it appears that you did not attend the meeting to express any
other concerns you had about any of the other anesthesia rules.

If you forward the details of your concerns to Governor Brown, Attorney General Rosenblum, and the
Oregonian instead of the Board, please also copy the details of your concerns to the Board.

If you still do not provide the Board with any other details of your concerns about the anesthesia rules, | will forward this
string of e-mails to the Board as your request for the Board to take action.

Anesthesia Committee Meeting

Minutes
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August 27, 2014

MEMBERS PRESENT: Julie Ann Smith, M.D., D.D.S., Chair
Brandon Schwindt, D.M.D.

Rodney Nichols, D.M.D.

Daniel Rawley, D.D.S

Mark Mutschler, D.D.S.

Jay Wylam, D.M.D. (portion of meeting left at 9:00 p.m.)

Normund Auzins, D.M.D.

Eric Downey, D.D.S. Ryan Allred, D.M.D.

STAFF PRESENT: Patrick D. Braatz, Executive Director
Lori Lindley, Sr. Assistant Attorney General

Paul Kleinstub, D.D.S., M.S., Dental Director/Chief Investigator
Stephen Prisby, Office Manager

Teresa Haynes, Licensing Manager

VISITORS PRESENT: Les Sturgis, CRNA,; Fariba Mutschler, D.D.S.; R. Dean Nyquist, D.M.D.; Michael
Bespaly, M.D., Anesthesiologist

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 7:00 p.m. at the Board office;

1500 SW 1st Ave., 7 Floor Conference Room, Portland, Oregon.

Minutes
Dr. Schwindt moved and Dr. Nichols seconded that the minutes of the February 26, 2014

Committee meeting be approved as amended. The motion passed with Dr. Schwindt, Dr. Nichols, Dr. Rawley,
Dr. Mutschler, Dr. Wylam, Dr. Auzins, Dr. Downey, and Dr. Allred voting aye.

Correspondence



The Committee reviewed and discussed correspondence from Ms. Bobbie Marshall regarding the definition
and route of administration of minimal sedation.

818-026-0010 — Definitions

Dr. Mutschler moved and Dr. Auzins seconded that the Committee recommend 818-026-0010 to the Rules
Oversight Committee as amended below. The motion passed with Dr. Schwindt, Dr. Nichols, Dr. Rawley, Dr.
Mutschler, Dr. Wylam, Dr. Auzins, Dr. Downey, and Dr. Allred voting aye.

Anesthesia Committee Meeting
August 27, 2014

Page 1 of 7

Attachment # 1

From: Beagle 3 [mailto:beagle3@outlook.com]

Sent: Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:05 PM

To: Paul Kleinstub

Cc: Stephen Prisby; Teresa Haynes; office@drjonnahongo.com; Julie Ann Smith D.D.S., M.D.
Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Dear Paul:

I have been sending YOU e-mails regarding the Oregon Dental Board's irregular sedation regulations since
June 17, 2014. You and the Board have FAILED to act on your irregular sedation regulations. | have also sent
my concerns to: Mr. Prisby,

Ms. Haynes, Mr. Braatz, Ms. Conway, Dr Hongo, and Dr. Smith.


mailto:beagle3@outlook.com
mailto:office@drjonnahongo.com

Do you want me to start sending my concerns to Govenor Brown, Attorney General Rosenblum, and to the
Oregonian ?

I have repeatedly been informed that my concerns were being reviewed by the Anesthesia Committee!
Meanwhile, patients are being exposed to sedation by untrained and unqualified dental professionals that the
Oregon Board of Dentistry allows to practice sedation because of "irregular sedation regulations".

What are you going to do about your irregular sedation regulations? You have had 19 months to get off your
ass and

review and correct your fucking regulations. | apologize for my language but I have been very patient with the
Board.

I have seen no movement by the Board to correct their irregular sedation regulations!

Bonnie Marshall

From: Paul.Kleinstub@state.or.us

To: beagle3@outlook.com

CC: Stephen.Prisby@state.or.us; Teresa.Haynes@state.or.us
Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Date: Thu, 14 Jan 2016 15:58:06 +0000

Just a thought...

How about documenting ALL of the irregular sedation regulations that you feel that the Board needs to address so that a
review of your concerns can be placed on the agenda for the next meeting of the Board’s Anesthesia Committee?

As you know, this is a public meeting that you could attend and also provide a forum to provide your insight on the
ongoing issues that you have been addressing.

From: Beagle 3 [mailto:beagle3@outlook.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 9:44 PM
To: Paul Kleinstub

Cc: Stephen Prisby; Teresa Haynes

Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision
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This fact has been known for several years and nothing has been done to protect the public!
Hygienists, who do not have minimal sedation permits, are allowed to work on minimally sedated patients
without direct

supervision from a permit holder!!!
On the other hand, a trained and licensed Oregon dentist who does not have a minimal sedation license is not
allowed

to practice dentistry under minimal sedation unless the permit holder is in the room--under direct
supervision!!!

In addition, your Dental Board allows other irregular sedation regulations to be practiced!! For example:
Under a minimal sedation permit, a dentist is allowed to use IM injections to sedate his patients!! However,
the
continuing education classes that teach minimal sedation DO NOT teach the IM route for minimal sedation!!!
Furthermore, all dental schools, the ADA, and all continuing education providers consider the IM route of
sedation to

WHY DOES THE OREGON DENTAL BOARD ALLOW THIS TO CONTINUE?
| suggest that the Dental Board re-evaluate their regulations ASAP.

Bobbie Marshall

From: Paul.Kleinstub@state.or.us

To: beagle3@outlook.com

CC: Stephen.Prisby@state.or.us; Teresa.Haynes@state.or.us
Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Date: Wed, 13 Jan 2016 20:25:16 +0000

Dear Ms. Marshall,

It appears that you are correct in your analysis of the disparity in the rules as far as the requirements for the presence of
the sedation provider in the treatment room while sedation is being provided during treatment, so the matter will be
referred to the Board’s Anesthesia Committee for further action.

Paul Kleinstub, D.D.S., M.S.
Dental Director/Chief Investigator
Oregon Board of Dentistry

1500 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 770
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Portland, OR 97201
Telephone (971) 673-3200

Fax (971) 673-3202

There are in nature neither rewards nor punishments - there are only consequences. Robert G. Ingersoll

Data Classification Level 4 - Restricted

This e-mail is intended for the named recipient only and may not be read, copied, discussed, or distributed by anyone
except the named recipient or the agent or employee of the named recipient upon the named recipient's directions.
The named recipient is responsible for the confidentiality of the message. Please notify the sender should any part of
the following document(s) fail to transmit correctly. Please destroy incorrectly transmitted documents immediately.

Your opinion matters. Please complete our Customer Satisfaction Survey at

http://obd.oregonsurveys.com/

From: Beagle 3 [mailto:beagle3@outlook.com]

Sent: Tuesday, January 12, 2016 10:31 PM

To: Paul Kleinstub; Teresa Haynes; Stephen Prisby; Jessica Conway
Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Dear Mr. Kleinstub:

Under rule 818-026-0055 (1) a dental hygienist can work on a patient who is under minimal sedation using:

"INDIRECT SUPERVISION"

Under rule 818-026-0080 (6) a dentist can work on a patient who is under minimal sedation ONLY when the"

"The qualified anesthesia provider who induces anesthesia shall monitor the patient's condition



http://obd.oregonsurveys.com/
mailto:beagle3@outlook.com

until the patient is discharged and record the patient's condition at discharge in the
patient's

dental record.."

These regulations refer to providers who do not have minimal sedation permits--but have a sedation permit
holder

induce the proper sedation level for them.

818-026-0055
Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal Sedation

(1) Under indirect supervision, dental hygiene procedures may be performed for a patient who is under
nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the following conditions:

818-026-0080

Standards Applicable When a Dentist Performs Dental Procedures and a Qualified Provider Induces
Anesthesia

(6) The qualified anesthesia provider who induces anesthesia shall monitor the patient's condition until the
patient is discharged and record the patient's condition at discharge in the patient's dental record as required
by the rules applicable to the level of anesthesia being induced. The anesthesia record shall be maintained in
the patient's dental record and is the responsibility of the dentist who is performing the dental procedures.

Please respond.

Thank you,

Bobbie Marshall



From: Paul.Kleinstub @state.or.us

To: beagle3@outlook.com

Subject: RE: Minimal Sedation Supervision
Date: Mon, 11 Jan 2016 15:02:28 +0000

Dear Ms. Marshall,

Which rule requires a dentist to have direct supervision?

From: Beagle 3 [mailto:beagle3@outlook.com]

Sent: Sunday, January 10, 2016 9:14 AM

To: Paul Kleinstub; Teresa Haynes; Stephen Prisby; Jessica Conway
Subject: FW: Minimal Sedation Supervision

| sent this e-mail 10 days ago and asked for an explanation of why the Dental Board of Oregon believes that a

dental hygienist is better qualified to treat a minimally sedated patient with indirect supervision, while a
dentist

is required to have direct supervision. | jhave not received a response!

Please send me an explanation.

Thank you,

Bobbie Marshall

From: beagle3@outlook.com

To: paul.kleinstub@state.or.us; teresa.haynes@state.or.us; stephen.prisby@state.or.us;
jessica.conway@state.or.us

Subject: Minimal Sedation Supervision

Date: Tue, 29 Dec 2015 23:54:37 -0800

Why does the Dental Board require that a dentist with a minimal sedation permit be present
at all times when he sedates a patient for another dentist who does not have a minimal sedation permit?
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In other words, by direct supervision!

On the other hand, why does the Dental Board require only indirect supervision when a dentist with a
minimal sedation permit sedates a patient for a hygienist?

It appears that the Dental Board believes that a hygienist is better qualified to treat a patient without
direct supervision while her patient is minimal sedated. It appears that the Dental Board believes that
a dentist is not qualified to treat a patient under minimal sedation unless there is direct supervision.
Please explain.

Thank you,

Bobbie Marshall



Stephen Prisby

Executive Director

Oregon Board of Dentistry

RE: Certification for Anesthesia Assistants

December 15, 2015

Dear Oregon Board of Dentistry:

I am writing as the current president and representative of the Oregon Society of Oral and
Maxiliofacial Surgeons regarding cur perceived ambiguity pertaining to the certification of a dental
assistant as an anesthesia assistant.

It has come to our attention that one of our members voluntarily called the board and requested
clarification on what is expected by the board to be compliant with regard to anesthesia assistants.
Following their inquiry, they promptly demanded their dental assistants to complete an application
for an anesthesia assistant certificate. Following that voluntary inquiry, they received notification
of investigation from the board with allegations of non-compliance. To our knowledge, all of the
assistants that perform advanced anesthesia assistance had received proper fraining and are
ceriified by either AAOMS or CALAOMS. As a society, we would prefer to establish more of a
collegial and collaborative relationship with the new leadership within the board.

Currently, there is statewide confusion amongst our membership as to whether an oral surgery
assistant who has been properly trained, completed one of the board approved anesthesia
assistant’s courses, and passed the examination, must register with the board for a certificate
designating them an “Anesthesia Assistant” prior to performing advanced anesthesia assistant
procedures.

Under the list of prohibited acts for a dental assistant includes the following language:
An assistant may not administer any medication. except for....

{11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist, may introduce
additional anesthetic agents to an infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a
dentist.

Many members perceive the phrase “adequate training” as reguiring certification from the
anesthesia courses, not as a mandate to apply for the anesthesia assistant cerfificate.

Moving forward, we are requesting clarification from the board on this issue and perhaps a change
of language in the ORS to remove ambiguity. Additionally, as a society, we respectfully request
the courtesy of communicating with the OSOMS when anesthesia related changes to ORS are
being considered by the anesthesia committee. We have a wealth of knowledge and experience

PO Box 3710 Wilsonville, OR 97070 (503)-594-0322



and are willing fo collaborate or advise the members of the anesthesia committee and board at
large.

| speak on behalf of all Oregon OMSs.and can assure you that we arepassionate about the safe
practice of surgery and anesthesia. Our goal is not only to be in.compliance, but more so to set the
standard in these areas.

The AAOMS office anesthesia evaluation program carried out by OSOMS ensures our assistants
are certified and our ability to maintain membership and malpractice insurance hinges on
successful maintenance of the OAE(Office Anesthesia Evaluation). The OAE program is also
recognized by the OBME as sufficient for compliance.

If the Board mandates the registration of OMS anesthesia assistants, then wevespectfully request
a period of time to ensure compliance of this regulation by our entire membership. We also
-request that our members who have been practicing safe cutpatient anesthesia according fo
AAOMS and the Office Anesthesia Evaluation Program have the opportunity to register their
anesthesia assistants without fear of reprisal. | can personally assure the board that OSOMS
board will communicate {o our members with vigor to ensure all cur members are.knowledgeable
to these regulatory changes.

Sincerely,

Brett A. Ueeck MD, DMD, FACS

President, Cregon Society of Oral-and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Diplomate American Board of OMS

Chief, Division of OMS, St. Vincent Hospital

Chair, OSCMS Committee on Anesthesia

PO Box 3710 Wilsonville, OR 97070 (503)-594-0322
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Tab 7. Request a letter be sent to WREB approving Sara Hill, R.D.H. to become WREB
Restorative Examiners

Pursuant to WREB’s requirements licensees who wish to become a WREB Examiner must be
approved by the State Board in which they practice. Ms. Sara Hill (Attachment 1) is requesting
the Board approve her to become WREB Restorative Examiner.

For All Other Practicing, Non-Educator Dentists and Dental Hygienists:

1) Provide a current CV

2) Provide 2 professional letters of recommendation including one letter from a current WREB
examiner

3) Be approved by the State Board in which they practice.

4) Must observe one WREB exam at own expense, with prior approval of the WREB office.
Observation includes participating in a full calibration day as well as one clinical day of the exam.
5) Be a licensed practitioner and actively practicing for 5 years in the state that is approving them.

Dental Hygiene Educators:
1) Receive a letter of approval as an examiner from the State Board in the state where they teach
and a recommendation from the Director or Program Chair of the school where they teach

OR
2) Have served on a WREB Committee and receive a recommendation from the Director or Program
Chair at the School where they teach.

AND
3) Must observe one WREB exam at their expense, with prior approval of the WREB office.
Observation includes participating in a full calibration day as well as one clinical day of the exam.

WREB does not guarantee that all designated examiners will be assigned to examine. WREB will
create teams in the manner that provides the most equitable balance among the key factors
considered in the examination assignment process.

Probationary Period

All examiners are considered to be probationary for the first year that they examine and may be
dismissed at any time without cause and at the discretion of WREB. Examiners will be notified if
issues arise that will cause WREB to discontinue using their services, such as failure to be prepared,
follow WREB criteria, or meet the minimum commitment for attendance at exams.



To:

Board Members

Oregon Board of Dentistry
1500 SW 1%t Avenue, Suite 770
Portland, OR 97201
971-673-3200

From:

Sara Hill, License #H6085
17275 SW Loma Vista Street
Aloha, OR 97007
sara.hillz@pcc.edu
503.860.7918

Dear Board Members:

January 4, 2016

I am writing to you requesting approval to become a WREB Examiner. I have been in

communication with WREB about becoming a Restorative Examiner since the summer of
2015, and they have requested I submit an application to them. As a dental hygiene educator,

they are asking for a letter of approval from the Board of Dentistry as part of my application

to be considered for this position.

I have been a part-time clinical instructor in Portland Community College’s Dental Hygiene
Program since January 2013. Each term I have taught Restorative to the second year dental
hygiene students amongst other varying clinics and labs. Currently, I am the lead instructor

for Restorative. I have included my current curriculum vitae for your review in consideration

of my approval.

I respectfully request the letter to be sent to my address to be included with additional
application materials for WREB. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any

questions or need any additional information.

Thank you for your consideration,

Sara J&

Sara Hill, BS, RDH, EPP




17275 SW Loma Vista St.
Aloha, Oregon 97007

Sara Hill, BS, RDH, EPP

sara.hills@pcc.edu
503.860.7918

Education:

Bachelor of Science, Dental Hygiene December 2012

Eastern Washington University, Washington

Honors Graduate

Associate of Applied Sciences, Dental Hygiene June 2on

Portland Community College, Oregon

Honors Graduate
Instructional Experience:

Fall 2015 — Present

Fall 2015

Fall 2014 - Present

Lead Instructor, Dental Hygiene Restorative

Portland Community College

In accordance with Course Content and Outcome Guidelines,
develop course framework including competencies, objectives,
patient care, assessments, mock examinations, and development of
clinical evaluation forms. Coordinate with instructional team on
calibration, weekly agenda, student progress and learning outcomes.

Clinical Dental Assisting Instructor

Portland Community College

Under direction of the Lead Dental Assisting Instructor, aid Dental
Assisting students while learning introductory clinical skills
including instrument identification, four-handed technique,
suctioning, patient management and amalgam procedures.

Continuing Education Instructor, Restorative Functions
Endorsement

Portland Community College CLIMB

In collaboration with Lead Dentist, instruct Registered Dental
Hygienists and Expanded Functions Dental Assistants on
restorative techniques on both dentoforms and patients. Teaching
methods include demonstrations, individualized coaching, mock
board examination and patient care,



Fall 2014, Fall 2015

Fall 2014 — Present

Summer 2014 - Present

Spring 2014 — Present

Annual Blood-Borne Pathogens Co-Trainer, Dental Department
Portland Community College

Collaborate with Co-Trainer to develop a presentation to the
Dental Department to meet current OHSA standards for blood-
borne pathogen and hazardous materials training as well as meet the
requirement for infection control training according to the Oregon
Board of Dentistry. Focus primarily on blood-borne pathogens and
infection control.

Restorative Coach, Dental Hygiene Restorative

Portland Community College

In groups of two, individually assess, collaborate and coach
students on restorative technique including materials handling,
placing, finishing and polishing both amalgam and composite
dentoform restorations on a weekly basis. Provide feedback and
individualized recommendations to assist the student in restorative
labs and continued skill improvement., Report progress of students
and outcome of sessions to Lead Instructor.

Dental Hygiene Restorative Coordinator

Portland Community College

Arrive early and stay late to assist with lab or clinic set-up and
break down, working with student Restorative Manager on a
rotating basis. Maintain hazardous waste records. Create and
maintain organizational system for restorative dental materials used
in lab and with patients. Order and receive materials as needed.
Create and maintain logs for student check-outs, orders, and Mock
Boards; candidate materials, exam forms, and examiner evaluations.
Set-up and break down for Mock Board examinations. Track
restorative treatment plans for the dental clinic, including new
treatment plans, treatment plan modifications, and completed
treatment in Restorative Clinic, Evaluate all chart documentation
completed during Restorative Clinic.

Radiology Lab Instructor

Portland Community College

Under direction of Lead Radiology Instructor, instruct students
on Radiology Lab processes, use of processors, radiographic
techniques on Dexter mannequins, reading and mounting films.
Give demonstrations, correct technique, and assess diagnostic

quality of films.



Spring 2014 — Present

Winter 2014 - Spring 2015

Fall 2013 - Present

Fall 2012 — Summer 2015

Fall so10 — Winter 2011

Clinical Dental Hygiene Instructor, Second Year Cohort
Portland Community College '
Following the guidance from the Lead Instructor, provide

clinical instruction to Second Year students during patient care.
Guide students as they begin taking radiographs on patients, learn
more advanced instrumentation, and see more complicated
medically and periodontally involved patients.

Community Rotations Instructor, Second Year Cohort

Portland Community College

Escort and oversee students providing dental hygiene services

while on community rotations at Love Inc. and Boys and Girls Club
of Salem as part of their Second Year Dental Hygiene Clinical
responsibilities. Ensure students are managing patients and
providing services appropriately, and facilitating working as a
cohesive part of a dental team while coaching and evaluating their
work.

Clinical Dental Hygiene Instructor, First Year Cohort

Portland Community College

Work with First Year students as they learn basie skills in
Dental Hygiene Pre-Clinic, and help them transition their
knowledge as they begin to see patients. Focus on managing the
dental operatory, ergonomics, infection control, basic
instrumentation, chart documentation and patient management.

Clinical Dental Hygiene Instructor, Dental Hygiene Restorative
Portland Community College

Following course design of Lead Instructor, provide instruction on
restorative instruments, armamentarium and placement techniques
for amalgam and composite materials on anterior and posterior
dentoform teeth. Teach high speed and slow speed handpiec:e use,
maintenance as well as finishing and polishing techniques. Work
with students on bur selection and manipulation, disposal and
replacement. Methods include demonstrations, coaching,
observation, evaluation, and feedback. Guide students as they
transition to patient care, assisting them with operatory set-up of
instruments and armamentarium, procedure steps, self-evaluation,
patient management and documentation.

Dental Hygiene Tutor, Kaiser Cohort

Portland Community College

As a Second Year Dental Hygiene Student, tutor Kaiser Cohort First
Year Students on First Year Dental Hygiene Theory by providing
condensed power point presentations, study handouts and original
mock examinations.




Professional Dental Experience:

May 2015 — Present

Mar 2015 — Present

Feb 2015 — Present

Dec 2014 — Mar 2015

On-Call Dental Hygienist, Dr. Gregory Alexander

Portland, Oregon

Work on an as-needed basis when permanent hygienists request
time off or are sick. Responsibilities include taking digital
radiographs, periodontal charting, dental prophylaxes, periodontal
maintenance, scaling and root planing, fluoride treatments, oral
hygiene instructions, dispensing appropriate home care aids,
documentation, break down and set up of operatory, infection
control, and working in collaboration with the dentist, dental
assistants and front office staff to meet patient needs.

Part Time Dental Hygienist, D1, Rachel Cole

Portland, Oregon

Responsibilities include taking digital radiographs, periodontal
charting, dental prophylaxes, periodontal maintenance, scaling and
root planing, fluoride treatments, seaiants, oral hygiene instructions,
dispensing appropriate home care aids, documentation, break down
and set up of operatory, infection control, scheduling and working in
collaboration with the dentist, dental assistants and front office staff
to create and follow office protocols and meet patient needs.

On-Call Dental Hygienist, Lake Grove Dental

Lake Oswego, Oregon

Work on an as-needed basis when permanent hygienists request
time off or are sick. Responsibilities include taking digital
radiographs, periodontal charting, dental prophylaxes, periodontal
maintenance, scaling and root planing, diagnodent, fluoride
treatments, oral hygiene instructions, dispensing appropriate home
care aids, documentation, break down and set up of operatory,
infection control, trimming study models, scheduling and working
in collaboration with the dentist, dental assistants and front office
staff to meet patient needs.

Temporary Hygienist, Various Offices

Portland Metro Area, Oregon

Work on an on-call basis to fill in at various dental offices to meet
staffing needs. Responsibilities include taking traditional and digital
radiographs, periodontal charting, dental prophylaxes, periodontal
maintenance, scaling and root planing, fluoride treatments, oral
hygiene instructions, dispensing appropriate home care aids,
documentation, break down and set up of operatory, infection
control, and working in collaboration with the dentist, dental
assistants and front office staff to meet patient needs.



Nov 2011 — Nov 2014

Aug 2011 — Oct 2011

Jun 2010 ~ Sep 2010

Jun 2010 - Aug 2010 &
May 2008 - Sep 2009

Sep 2006 — May 2008

Full Time Dental Hygienist, Dr. Alan Rosenberg

Portland, Oregon

Responsibilities include taking traditional radiographs, periodontal
charting, dental prophylaxes, periodontal maintenance, scaling and
root planing, fluoride treatments, sealants, oral hygiene instructions,
dispensing appropriate home care aids, documentation, break down
and set up of operatory, infection control, taking impressions,
sterilization, managing paper chart system, aid dental assistant as
needed with answering phones or dental insurance questions, and
working in collaboration with the dentist and dental assistant to
meet patient needs,

On-Call Dental Hygienist, Zehtab Family Dentistry

Lake Oswego, Oregon

Work on an as-needed basis to meet staffing needs. Responsibilities
include taking digital radiographs, periodontal charting, dental
prophylaxes, periodontal maintenance, scaling and root planing,
diagnodent, intraoral camera, velscope, fluoride treatments, oral
hygiene instructions, dispensing appropriate home care aids,
documentation, break down and set up of operatory, infection
control, reviewing treatment plans, scheduling and working in
collaboration with the dentist, dental assistants and front office staff
to meet patient needs.

Front Desk, Perio Aesthetics and Implantology

Beaverton, Oregon

Responsibilities include greeting patients, answering phones,
scheduling, reviewing treatment plans, billing insurance and
correspondence with referring offices. '

Front Desk, Zehtab Family Dentistry

Lake Oswego, Oregon

Responsibilities include greeting patients, answering phones,
scheduling, reviewing treatment plans, acquiring breakdown of
benefits from insurance, submitting pre-treatment estimates, billing
insurance, posting payments, and correspondence with referring
offices.

Front Desk, Gentech Dentist

Portland, Oregon

Responsibilities include greeting patients, answering phones,
scheduling, reviewing treatment plans, acquiring breakdown of
benefits from insurance, submitting pre-treatment estimates, billing
insurance, posting payments, making payment plans, creating
consent forms, and maintaining a recall system.




Community Dental Service:

November zo15

November 2013

May 2011 &
February 2011

April 2011

March 2011

January zom

November 2010

Mission of Mercy, Portland Oregon _

Mission of Mercy is an annual non-profit event held by the
Oregon Dental Association at the Oregon Convention Center
offering a variety of free dental services to underserved individuals
and families at no cost to them. As a hygienist, provided dental
debridements, prophylaxes and fluoride treatments.

Mission of Mercy, Portland Oregon
Administered local anesthesia after reviewing health history and
vitals for patients waiting to receive restorative dental services at no

chatge.

Boys and Girls Club, Salem Oregon

Salem location has a dental clinic that provides hygiene and
restorative services to school age children that demonstrate financial
need. As a student under the supervision of an instructor, provided
dental prophylaxes, radiographs, sealants and fluoride treatments.

Medical Teams International, Moroceli Honduras

As a student, traveled to Honduras with dentists, instructors and
classmates to collaborate with Honduran dentists working for
Cadena de Amor to provide free dental services to school age
children in a rural village. Performed screenings, prophylaxes,
fluoride treatments, sealants, and assisted dentists as needed during
restorative procedures.

Veteran's Administration, Portland Oregon

In the VA Dental Clinic, under supervision of an instructor,
provided dental services to Veterans including, prophylaxes,
periodontal maintenance, fluoride treatments and home care
instructions.

OHSU Russell Street Clinic, Portland Oregon
As a student working with OHSU dental students, provided hygiene
services to HIV/AIDS patients including prophylaxes, scaling and

root planing, periodontal maintenance and fluoride treatments.

Mission of Mercy, Portland Oregon
As a student, provide oral hygiene instructions to all patients of the
clinic prior to exiting the facility.




Licenses, Endorsements & Certifications:

Oregon Dental Flygiene License #I16085
Class I Nitrous Oxide Permit

Restorative Functions Endorsement
Local Anesthesia Endorsement

Expanded Practice Permit BLS for Healthcare Providers

Software Experience:

Eaglesoft Dentrix

Daisy Dental Icon

Open Dental Microsoft Word, Excel, Powerpoint
Google Docs

References:

Dr. Daniel Blickenstaff, DDS

Private Practice Dentist

Investigator, Oregon Board of Dentistry

Part-Time Clinic Dentist, Portland Community College

Continuing Education Instructor, Portland Community College CLIMB
daniel.blickenstaff@pcc.edu

503-860-1894

Cara Kao-Young, BS, RDH, EPP

Dental Hygiene Faculty, Portland Community College
ckaocyoun@pcc.edu

971-207-6558

Jill Lomax, CDA, COA, EFDA, EdM

Dental Assisting Faculty, Portland Community College
jillian.lomax@pcc.edu

503-984-2630

Monica Monsantofils, PG Dip DS, BSDH, RDH
Private Practice Iygienist

Clinical Educator, Dentsply International
monica.monsanto@mac.com

503-901-0397
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16. RATIFICATION OF LICENSES

As authorized by the Board, licenses to practice dentistry and dental hygiene were issued to
applicants who fulfilled all routine licensure requirements. It is recommended the Board ratify
issuance of the following licenses. Complete application files will be available for review during

the Board meeting.

DENTAL HYGIENISTS

H7130 SARAI MALUHIA FARR, R.D.H. 12/10/2015
H7131 JENNIFER R GRUZENSKY, R.D.H. 12/10/2015
H7132 HALEY MARIE BEVER, R.D.H. 12/17/2015
H7133 ANDRES GARCIA, R.D.H. 12/17/2015
H7134 MINDY S MEDINA, R.D.H. 12/24/2015
H7135 HEIDI CLAIRE LYNN DESMARAIS, R.D.H. 1/11/2016
H7136 BRANDI ROSE TARABOCHIA, R.D.H. 1/13/2016
H7137 SARAH MARIE SIELER, R.D.H. 1/13/2016
H7138 PATRICK S PORTER, R.D.H. 1/13/2016
H7139 TASHINA MARIE STOFFEL, R.D.H. 1/20/2016
H7140 AMANDA P KHAMPHILAVONG, R.D.H. 1/27/2016
H7141 DESIREE STARR FOWLER, R.D.H. 1/27/2016
H7142 OKSANA S SVIRZHEVSKIY, R.D.H. 1/27/2016
H7143 NICOLE M ULRICH, R.D.H. 2/3/2016
DENTISTS

D10384 SANDA M MOLDOVAN, D.D.S. 12/10/2015
D10385 STEPHEN ERIC STANLEY, D.M.D. 12/10/2015
D10386 JEFFREY ALLEN PACE, D.M.D. 12/10/2015
D10387 MICHAEL W YOUNG, D.D.S. 12/10/2015
D10388 RACHEL ELIZABETH WHITE, D.D.S. 12/24/2015
D10389 BRETT MUNRO STRONG, D.D.S. 1/20/2016
D10390 YUCHEN HU, D.M.D. 1/20/2016
D10391 VANESSA R AXELSEN, D.D.S. 1/21/2016
D10392 GLENN THOMAS ASHWORTH, D.D.S. 1/27/2016
D10393 BRIAN NGUYEN, D.M.D. 1/29/2016
D10394 DANIEL J LUNDQUIST, D.D.S. 2/3/2016
D10395 PATTON M MINKIN, D.D.S. 2/3/2016
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Sue Diciple Group

SERVICES AND MISSION

Sue Diciple Group is a professional firm that provides planning, board and organization
development, public involvement, and issue resolution services. For over 30 years we have
assisted clients to establish vibrant and effective organizations and sound collaborative
decision-making. Our professional mission is to facilitate positive change in organizations and
communities.

We provide an integrated offering of client-specific professional services in the areas of:
Strategic, and Operational Planning Public Participation

Board Development Needs Assessment

Issue Resolution Facilitation

Organization Development Communication Styles & Skills
Team-Building Collaborative Decision-Making

We provide comprehensive management and facilitation of complex planning, organization
development, and issue resolution projects in the private, public, and non-profit sectors. The
benefits we contribute include:

e Extensive process design experience, from project start-up through implementation
and final documentation.

e State-of-the-art group facilitation skKills.

o An ethical framework that fosters trust and collaboration among diverse parties.

e Experienced project support associates that can offer full-service professional and
administrative support for large-scale planning and organization development projects.

WORKSHOPS

High-Stakes Facilitation: An advanced skill-set training for facilitators who work in high stakes and
high conflicts arenas.

Design _and Facilitation of Collaborative Process: A workshop exploring the Discovery, Design,
Delivery and Documentation phases of facilitation, with a focus on 12 key indicators of good
collaborative process.

Collaboration & Closure - Group Decision-Making in Record Time: A program of practical skills,
practices and protocols to enable teams, boards, and task groups to conduct fair, timely and effective
group decisions.

Characteristics of Highly Effective Boards of Directors: A program and survey that enables
members to assess board practices and evaluate effectiveness based on 10 key dimensions.

Leadership and Communication Styles Workshops using the Kiersey Bates and Situational
Leadership models.

High Performance Team Assessment and Skill-Building: An assessment model that enables
teams to evaluate their own performance based on ten key indicators, and develop tools and
agreements for taking the team to the next performance level.

Customer_Service in_the Public Sphere: An interactive practicum for public sector staffpeople
whose citizen-facing jobs require positive interaction, engagement and problem-solving within the
boundaries of laws, regulations and mandates. The workshop applies techniques from conflict
resolution and retail disciplines with the objective of creating citizen satisfaction with the process and
interaction, even if their desired outcome could not be achieved. The practicum is rich in tools and
scripts for facilitating through conflict and for meeting service expectations.

The Work Re-Design Challenge: The Challenge uses the LEAN model of organization improvement
to provide workgroups of any size — teams, departments, companies — with a unique scenario and
framework in which to re-think assumptions about existing business processes and quickly design
new options that support business and customer needs.

Sue Diciple Group
www.suediciplegroup.com



http://www.suediciplegroup.com/

Principal Consultant: Sue Diciple

Sue Diciple is the principal consultant with Sue Diciple Group. The focus of her practice is the
design, facilitation, and project management of collaborative planning, organization
development and issue resolution processes. Her professional mission is to facilitate positive
change in communities and organizations.

In 1980 Sue was recruited by the State of Oregon community college system to participate in a
nationally recognized business development team. In private practice since 1984, Sue has
worked extensively with industry, community-based and non-profit organizations, and
government agencies in the areas of planning, organization development, leadership and
governance development, and issue resolution. She is widely recognized for her excellent
facilitation and conflict mediation skills based on 20 years of group process experience. She is
often called upon by agencies and stakeholders to facilitate some of the most complex and
controversial issues in the Northwest region and nationally.

Sue is the author of several innovative training and professional skills development programs,
including co-authorship of a program for experienced facilitators that features advanced tools
and techniques for high-conflict situations; and a workshop featuring practical skills to assist
teams, boards, and task groups to conduct fair, timely and effective group decisions.

Organizations that have utilized her planning and problem-solving services and featured her
workshops and facilitated worksessions include:

o The Offices of the Governors of Oregon, e Jantzen, Inc.

Colorado, and Hawaii e PacifiCorp
¢ Washington State Department of Ecology e Lightspeed Networks
e US Fish and Wildlife Service e Johnstone Supply
e US Department of Justice e Western Electric Coordinating Council (WECC)
e The Oregon Lottery e Cities of Portland, Corvallis, Gresham,
e Manhattan Neighborhood Network Wilsonville, Salem, McMinnville and Bend
e The Benton Foundation (OR); Richland, WA; Tucson, AZ; San
e Nike Francisco and Sacramento (CA), and the
e Tektronix Borough of Brooklyn (NY)
e Hewlett-Packard e Public power utilities and related service
e Northwest Natural Gas providers throughout the Northwest

Sue’s professional and volunteer experience in the field of public interest telecommunications
has led to leadership positions at local, state, and national levels. She served as project
manager for the Oregon Telecommunications Forum Council on behalf of the Office of the
Governor. She served for six years as the Board and Leadership Development Committee
Chair on the national Board of Directors of the Alliance for Community Media. She currently
serves as the Portland representative (and immediate past chair) to the Mt. Hood Cable
Regulatory Commission where she oversees franchise compliance and the allocation of over six
million dollars in technology grants annually to community-based organizations in the MHCRC
franchise area.

Sue has been a featured columnist with The Daily Journal of Commerce, focusing primarily on
planning and organizational development issues. She has taught professional development
courses as an adjunct faculty member, at Portland State University and Mt Hood Community
College. She is a member of the National Coalition for Dialog and Deliberations (NCDD), the
Alliance for Community Media (ACM), and the National Association of Telecommunications
Officers and Advisors (NATOA).

Sue Diciple Group
www.suediciplegroup.com
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Sample Relevant Experience
STRATEGIC PLANNING: PUBLIC AND PUBLICLY/MEMBER-OWNED SECTORS

Research, process design and facilitation of strategic planning, board development, operational planning
and team-building for the Boards of Directors, City Councils, and their staff members and stakeholders.

¢ The Oregon Board of Pharmacy

* The Coalition of Local Health Officials / Oregon
¢ Portland Community College

¢ City of McMinnville, Oregon

¢ City of Monmouth, Oregon

¢ City of Gresham, Oregon

¢ City of Glenwood Springs, Colorado

¢ City of Eugene, Oregon

* Oregon Forest Resources Institute

* The Oregon Lottery

* NorthWest Public Power Association (NWPPA)
* Western Electric Coordinating Council (WECC)
*  Public Power Council

* NW Energy Efficiency Alliance (NEEA)

* Ruralite Services Inc.

* PNGC Power

* Consumer-owned utilities throughout and beyond the Northwest (listed below):

Oregon: Washington: Idaho:
Blachly-Lane Electric Cooperative, Benton PUD, Fall River Electric Cooperative,
Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative, Benton REA, Clearwater Power Company,
Umatilla Electric Cooperative, Columbia REA Kootenai Electric Cooperative;
Douglas Electric Cooperative, Tanner Electric Cooperative, Northern Lights Inc.
Oregon Trail Electric Cooperative, = Grant County PUD, Nevada:
Wasco Electric Cooperative, Franklin PUD, Wells Rﬁral Electric Co-operative
Blachly Lane Electric Cooperative, = Skamania County PUD. P '
Tillamook PUD, Montana: Wyoming:
OR Rural Electric Co-op Assoc. Flathead Electric Cooperative, Lower Valley Energy.
Alaska: Beartooth Electric Cooperative, Hawaii:
Alaska Villages Electric Co-op. Glacier Electric Cooperative. Kaua'i Island Utility Cooperative.
Colorado: Indiana
Delta-Montrose REA. Clark County REA
PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES
Ms. Karen MacLean Ms. Morgan Cowling Mr. Dave Hagen
Administrative Director Executive Director CEO Clearwater Power
Oregon Board of Pharmacy Coalition of Local Health Officials Board Chair, PNGC Power
Karen.S.MaclLean@obop.net oregonclho@gmail.com dhagen@ClearwaterPower.com
971-673-0005 503-329-6923 208-798-5201

Sue Diciple Group
www.suediciplegroup.com
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